Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Bank House Guest House

88 high street, Coldstream, td124ag, United Kingdom

#4 of 5 hotels in Coldstream

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 28 hotel reviews

6.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.3

  • Comfort

    7.1

  • Location

    7.7

  • Facilities

    6.1

  • Staff

    6.4

  • Value for money

    6.2

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 25

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    5.8
    Very thankful for the late night check in - 10 pm.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom is shared with one other room, so not too big a deal and it is big. The ensuite room doesn’t have the river view. The entrance lobby had an unpleasant smell. No breakfast offered, and not much choice down the road, as the recommended cafe was closed on a Monday.

    Very thankful for the late night check in - 10 pm. Big room with a lovely view of the Tweed River. Comfortable bed, but in hot weather it would be great to have a top sheet as the synthetic duvet is too warm.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    7.5
    It was fine and we loved the area. Lucky there was a public car park next door!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We thought we had booked B&B via booking.com - but found out after we'd booked that there was no breakfast, and when we arrived there were no en-suite facilities. Fortunately we shared the bathroom with our traveling companions. No on-site parking.

    Fantastic building in a very convenient location with great views over the river.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    6.7
    The location is good.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a shared bathroom but didn’t need to share as no other guest at the time. We didn’t realise there was no breakfast but facilities to make some microwave meals if you wanted. I don’t think it was clear until after we booked through this site that there was no breakfast so perhaps this could be clearer.

    The location is good. The view from our rooms were great as we requested a river view. The bed was really comfortable and we had a great nights sleep. The shower was great

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    10
    Excellent value, welcoming hosts, great position in town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mhairi and Ged gave us a very warm welcome . We had the privacy to come and go as we pleased and they were always on hand to answer questions. It was a very relaxed atmosphere. The beds were super comfy and the children loved watching a well placed TV in bed. Often when we all stay in a hotel we are crammed like sardines into a room with the youngest on the floor but there were two double beds and a single so we were all happy. I also really liked the decoration- really tasteful and individual. 5 meters across the road is a great pub where we ate both nights. Just out the back of the house was a lovely 2.5 mile walk by the river. We’re looking forward to returning in the summer.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2017

    2.9
    Avoid this B&B like the plague!
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We booked a Bed and Breakfast, we received a Bed (No Breakfast), we booked two rooms for our team whom were working locally (installing equipment outside all day) external temp was 0 Deg C, so very cold, looking forward to a nice warm experience at the Bank B&B. Came into hotel at 6pm to frosty reception, bedrooms were equally frosty at 3 Deg C, with a small electric room heater in each room which was switched off. Even after running the heater all night it was still only 14 Deg C in the bedroom in the morning. Next day we left to get Breakfast else where and to work, came in at 6pm, guess what despite the external temperatures still being 0 Deg C, they had turned the heater off so came into a very cold room once again, not only this there was NO hot water for a shower...!!! The team were well chuffed with the experience NOT.

    Grand Building, central location

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    6.3
    Good location in Coldstream and comfortable accommodation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were booked into the guest house but the owners contacted us just beforehand and farmed us out to their holiday cottage and holiday flat. We never met the owners. It was not clear from the booking.com form that breakfast was not included, this only became clear after we had booked. We also were not really impressed with having to pay the whole cost up front and it not being refundable under any circumstances.

    Good location in Coldstream and comfortable accommodation.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    4.2
    I will not book again through booking.com as the rooms are NOT as advertised.
    • With a pet
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    nearly 50 stairs up to the room with no lift was ridiculous and should have been warned of. The "private" parking turned out to be a public car park next door to the property which as I wanted to sleep dogs in the van in safety was not what I wanted. The rooms stated they had baths/shower but one of the rooms was not en-suite as we had been led to believe from the description and in-fact the day before we arrived I had an e-mail advising I could opt for a shared bathroom in both rooms for the same cost!!!! enabling the en-suite to be allocated to someone else! I had booked a room which I thought was for 1-2 adults but it had 3 beds and a child's cot in it and as a stop over for a family this room might be ok but for me it was not what I expected as it was described as a superior suite, although fortunately with the choice of beds I was able to move from the one with the springs gone!. We also was assured a meal could easily be obtained from the pub over the road only to find this only had 1-2 small tables and was nearly always booked so if booking you need to bring your own food also the fridge in the room was not even plugged in for our arrival and it was a hot day!

    The shower was very good

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2016

    3.8
    Not what we expected
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    We paid £10 extra for a superior suite & got a family attic room with 2 double beds ,1 single & a cot. There was only a free standing heater that was set at 25c but the room was only 11c when we arrived left heater on all night & it only managed 16c it felt even colder. We did not get undressed at bed time. there was tea coffee but no milk & if we hadn't paid we wouldn't have stayed. The parking was on a short stay car park at the side of the property.

    Room clean & nice ensuite.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2016

    3.8
    Do not visit this place until it has been re checkef
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    no kitchen dangerous kettle cooking area no dining area no desk no heating owner did not know who we were on arrival did not haveen suite so we're given the only one with esuite whichhadfour beds and acotinit would not recommend this place to anyone has it been se by boking. com?e no instructions eve nt of fire all roo s at top of house with no visible means of escape

    No

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    6.7
    Comfortable enough but inconvenient having to go out for breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our welcome was less than friendly (treated like children) and when I booked it was not clear that breakfast was unavailable on the premises.

    The extra space we had in a room obviously designed to cater for more than two.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    5.4
    Not to be repeated
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Think that there should be transparency re shared bathroom and many flights of stairs.We are elderly but fit it would have been a disaster had we been in any way frail.

    Had to drag luggage up to attic bedroom which was very nice but shared bathroom.Told to go out and buy milk for tea and no breakfast.Sorry but felt that at _£85 it was a rip off

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2016

    7.9
    Liked the view from bedroom of the river and the room was a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were rushed in a bit but it was during an important local occasion

    Liked the view from bedroom of the river and the room was a good size with cutlery for eating

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2016

    9.6
    The Bank Guest House, Coldstream.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very comfortably bed but either the headboard or frame squeaked with every movement. So would wake up every time we moved. Just a little attention would make it perfect.

    Good spacious room. Tea and coffee provided but no milk. Realised it was all set up for self catering but a little milk would have meant we could have had a drink before bed. Back of the house has the most fabulous view. The lady of the house gave us a warm and friendly welcome. Offered to show us alertnative rooms because we turned up unexpectedly with our grandson.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2016

    4.2
    Totally inadequate, the room had a view, but nothing else to offer.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No breakfast. Shared bathroom when we expected en-suite. The room, in the attic, was comfortless, bare floorboards making the room look like a garret! We never saw the proprietor after initial arrival. I would strongly advise you check thoroughly any properties before advertising them on your website. Extremely disappointed. Will be very wary of booking through you again.

    The view.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    6.3
    Ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shared bathroom which was not disclosed in the description of the hotel

    Room was very nice.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    10
    Fab Place!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything! Modern, clean, beautiful views!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    9.6
    Great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The view!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    10
    Most enjoyable
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very good shower

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    5.0
    Eccentric but in exactly the location I needed.
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No ensuite and no breakfast available for £80 in Coldstream is not a bargain.

    Room was spacious

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    10
    Beautiful, comfortable stay and I got to know the cat very well 😊
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    I loved that the room looked straight onto the River Tweed and the again of the property.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    8.8
    Amazing views from room.
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Amazing views from room. Lovely art work.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    6.7
    The little fridge/freezer was great.
    • With a pet
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The little fridge/freezer was great. View from the window is lovely. Room spacious. Tea/coffee electric kettle.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2017

    7.5
    Interesting property
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Convenient location for brief family visit

    Stayed in May 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2016

    9.6
    The views from the bedroom windows to the river and the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The views from the bedroom windows to the river and the cheviot hills. Fantastic character and charm to the building, loved the mix of the old and new throughout.

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2016

    7.1
    Decor, furnishings and bedding
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Stairs. not en suite

    Decor, furnishings and bedding

There are also 5 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 25