Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

View vacation packages to

  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. UK hotel reviews
  3. Highlands hotel reviews
  4. Fort William hotel reviews
  5. Reviews of Bank Street Lodge

Reviews of Bank Street Lodge

Bank Street, Fort William, PH33 6AY, United Kingdom

#16 of 19 hotels in Fort William

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 968 hotel reviews

7.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.2

  • Comfort

    6.4

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    6.4

  • Staff

    7.9

  • Value for money

    6.7

  • Free WiFi

    8.4

Verified guest reviews from real Bookers

Real Bookers. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more– opens a dialog box
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: June 19, 2019

    6.7
    Relatively clean and centrally located.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Not the most comfortable beds. Could use a bit of updating. Great for backpackers, but maybe not the best for families.

    Relatively clean and centrally located. Rooms were a good size.

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: June 11, 2019

    9.2
    Fantastic but too short of a stay in Ft. William.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing. It was clean, safe, affordable and in a great location.

    Very helpful staff. We parked our car in the lot under the hotel and then walked to the train station and spent the day on the Jacobite (Harry Potter) steam train. On our return, we checked into the hotel and then walked to dinner. (We didn’t move our car until we left the next morning.) The hotel did our laundry for £5 a load, which was a wonderful bonus.

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: June 11, 2019

    10
    Booked for a night and our first time to stay in a “hostel”.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    None

    Booked for a night and our first time to stay in a “hostel”. Nice and friendly staff. The hostel sits in a small beautiful village and was impressed they have all what we need e.g clean towel and clean bathroom. Kettle etc. Clean common kitchen too

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: May 27, 2019

    10
    Coming from the states for the first time I was unsure about...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Coming from the states for the first time I was unsure about the location of things in Fort William. This is a fabulous location. Helpful staff and clean rooms! We were able to get to the train in 5 minutes. Hiking was easy to navigate from the Bank Street Lodge. No car was needed. Highly recommend for affordable travel!

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 21, 2019

    8.8
    Accommodation did what it said on the tin.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Duvet was a bit high tog. As room was warm and it's midge season (windows closed)I need a lighter one but that's just my personal preference.

    Central no fuss accommodation that we only needed to shower and sleep in. Up early next day so fitted the bill perfectly.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 16, 2019

    2.5
    The light in the bathroom didn’t work and the toilet didn’t...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The light in the bathroom didn’t work and the toilet didn’t flush when we mentioned it to front desk they acted as if we were the problem that didn’t know how to turn on a light or use a toilet were extremely rude about it. The beds only had 2 very flat pillows and the sheets were like plastic bags so uncomfortable. For 100 pounds not worth it at all would recommend spending the extra 30/40 pounds for something decent.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 2, 2019

    7.9
    Quite good for one night stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had round trip in Scotland and this booking was more expensive of all our bookings but with less comfort. So the quality and price ratio was poor. But possibly it is in the reason that Fort William is wery popular tourist location.

    In the center of Fort William. The room was clean and spacious.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 17, 2019

    7.1
    Central location but really hostel class accommodation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I expected a twin bed hotel room of a reasonable standard. Instead I got a twin bed room in a hostel - which looked a little run down and shabby. Parking posed a problem. I was led to believe free parking was available. Luckily it was off season so I was able to park in the Public car park after 6 pm. In summer it may be difficult to find a park.

    Adequate - Located centrally within city. Use of kitchen for food preparation and fridge useful.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: April 14, 2019

    7.5
    Property was good but can’t say the same thing about the staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We lost our diamond ring there, probably left in the room and was taken away by the cleaning person. When we returned to check the room, it was already cleaned and ring was missing.

    Property was good, met the expectations.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: March 5, 2019

    8.3
    It was central to Fort William and couldn't be faulted...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There wasn't anything amiss with the room apart from being a tad cold and took quite a while to warm through

    It was central to Fort William and couldn't be faulted for the money For a night or two stopover it's ideal

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: February 11, 2019

    10
    Great value, clean, quiet, strong shower.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Window was a bit drafty but the heaters worked well

    Great value, clean, quiet, strong shower. Really loved the kitchen and sitting area. Met some lovely people.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 5, 2019

    9.6
    Cheap and cheerful!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The flush on the toilet was really loud for about 2 mins after using it. So no flushing in the middle of the night! Other than that, the bank street lodge was great.

    Super friendly staff, great location and fantastic value for money.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 2, 2019

    9.6
    A great hostel with parking
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The noise easily travels through the walls so I'd recommend using earplugs in case others leave early

    The kitchen has electric hobs and an oven, also there is parking beneath the building

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: January 5, 2019

    4.6
    This was our worst accomodation and also one of the most...
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    This was our worst accomodation and also one of the most expensive. It’s super noisy, everything is old and barely working (almost had a fire during the night...) and the price make non sense for the quality... really disapointed

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 31, 2018

    7.5
    It’s ok 👍🏻
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    pass

    Hotel is dated but very clean which is great, a no thrills place. Prob better for backpackers, use of a kitchen but so has everyone else so there could be 6 people cooking in a small kitchen.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 22, 2018

    7.1
    Lady at the reception was very nice and breakfast staff as...
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The shower... no water pressure and only piping hot or cold. Room was nice and clean, but the bed sheets were smelly.

    Lady at the reception was very nice and breakfast staff as well.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: December 6, 2018

    10
    Totally exceeded my expectations for budget accommodation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Totally exceeded my expectations for budget accommodation. Will definitely return. Staff were fantastic, very friendly. Super little place smack bang in the centre of town..😀

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 6, 2018

    10
    Perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing to dislike.

    Everything was very clean, staff excellent. Perfect position in the city centre and parking available... Awesone value for money, can only recommend.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: November 29, 2018

    9.2
    Super friendly and welcoming staff, very comfortable bed,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The walls are quite literally paper thin and unfortunately the extractor fan in our bathroom sounded a bit dodge and so was very loud

    Super friendly and welcoming staff, very comfortable bed, great location, plenty of car parking. Would happily return

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 27, 2018

    8.8
    Good time in Fort William
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room is very big suitable for 4 people. The bed is good too. If you rent a car, this hotel have a large car park for free. It’s so good and Tesco Lotus is very near the hotel it’s easy to find something to eat!

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 11, 2018

    7.1
    Location was great, parking super handy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    When flushing the toilet it's like an aeroplane is taking off. Tried not to flush at night so not to wake other people in separate rooms.

    Location was great, parking super handy

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 9, 2018

    7.5
    A couple of lovely days in Fort William. Walks, the Jacobite Train - all great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I did notice that the fire exist stair wells had equipment stored in it. it didn't block completely but shouldn't be there. I mentioned this to management, as this is not right. Not sure if cleared out.

    Very close to the high street and facilities. Car parking was available but limited, else you had to pay in public carparks. No meals provided, but we useally eat at restaurants anyway. They provided a cheap but sufficient laundry service (5pounds for a bag) which was very handy for travellers.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 29, 2018

    4.6
    Good location to downtown.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The facility needs to be updated badly. There were spiders in the room and the window in the room did not close properly. Between the cold and the road noise, we checked out a day early. I was a very bad experience.

    Good location to downtown.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 21, 2018

    7.5
    located near the city centre, free parking opposite - if...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    the toilet wasn't working properly. They couldn't fix it. We didn't get another room but the keys to another room to use the toilet there;

    located near the city centre, free parking opposite - if your leaving early, quiet

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 6, 2018

    7.5
    Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very old. At least change the towels. They are from the eighties. I understand that fixing the hotel is expensive but at list buy new towels. There was a problem with hot water, so we took shower at the common shower.

    The house gave us back 20 bucks because of the hot water without asking. Nice.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: October 2, 2018

    6.3
    Staff all friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Heating cut out Stayed two nights l left a towel on the floor to be taken to be cleaned it was hung up again No tea spoons to take tea bags out Not a big deal but attention to detail Kettle had to go on Floor for plug Will not return

    Staff all friendly

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: September 29, 2018

    5.4
    Very disappointing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Decor very dated but understand it is being upgraded. White towels looked dirty. Shower door broken. Lock on room door spinning - left us feeling insecure. Bed not comfortable. The cost was high for no breakfast, but this would have been okay if the room was of a good standard. When we opened the door there were two men in our room taking measurements! This was a shock. Would not stay here again.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 23, 2018

    5.4
    We got a free parkinglot.
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Triple Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Flush was out of order. After recommended it twice, we got only a key for another room (shower out of order) to use the toilet. Whole lodge, especially our room, were musty with some mold. The showercabin was leaky, so we get a pont in front of it.

    We got a free parkinglot. Hotel is close to nice bars and shopping street.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 21, 2018

    6.3
    Good location - but needs some work. Not suitable for families.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The mattresses were old and uncomfortable. The rooms were noisy.

    The location was fantastic - just a few metres from the city centre. It was the only place we could find that we could spend a night (most places in Fort William had a 2 or 3 night minimum stay).

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: September 17, 2018

    9.6
    very comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Older seniors may find the slope to the lodge a little difficult if arriving on foot. Arriving by cab is no problem.

    Close to the station in town. No lift but helpful staff. Room on first floor. Some mountain backdrop to the town. My sister and I found the motel comfortable while en route. There is a restaurant at the foot of the lodge which opens in the evening. No breakfast but tea /coffee making facilities.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 12, 2018

    10
    Wouldn't hesitate to book again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Triple Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    Stayed overnight in family room, no complaints at all. Travelled by train; and was really handy for station and right in centre of town. Great location, great value for money accommodation.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 9, 2018

    4.6
    good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Terrible nights stay, the springs were sticking out the mattresses and digging in all night. We had to move the kettle onto floor to plug in and use and shower door was broken. Paid b and b/hotel prices for this room. Dissapointing. Car park is pay and display, had to run out in the morning and pay for a couple of hours.

    good location

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 5, 2018

    8.3
    Go for the view, stay for the food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    More pillows please. And when a room holds 5 people a lot more space for drying bath towels is an absolute must.

    Very central location and a terrific restaurant downstairs (The Stables).

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: August 22, 2018

    7.5
    Sufficient for a short stay at Fort William.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not soundproof at all, we could hear everything from the rooms next to ours. A renovation would be a good idea, but it is definitely sufficient for a short stay.

    Beautiful view of the church of the village from the room. Clean enough, with a big bed and a good Wifi connection. It is an old-fashioned hotel, suitable for a short stay at Fort William.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 20, 2018

    7.5
    Friendly, helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Parking was very tight. Kind of dreary. One room's shower didn't work.

    Friendly, helpful staff. Excellent location for train and pubs. Hostel style with kitchen and paid laundry.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 11, 2018

    7.9
    nice staff; adequate property
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A well run property; staff are really kind and helpful; it is clean despite the generally shabby look & feel; my friends found it unappealing, but it was adequate for our needs, and good value considering other options in Fort William; we used the property parking lot and it worked well - - there is a city parking lot across the way in case it is full; friends' room ran out of hot water but I showered just fine; location is excellent for the center of town, and close to a supermarket.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: August 6, 2018

    7.5
    Perfect location in the region.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The location is perfect: both for going into the city ( near the railway station) and exploring the region. It is an advantage that there is a 24/24h reception. And they have free and safe parking at the location.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: August 5, 2018

    8.8
    The room was clean and the location was perfect, very close...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The plumbing was very noisy the hande was loose on the door. Floor was also noisy. Maintenance issues need to be addressed

    The room was clean and the location was perfect, very close to the town centre. Free parking was provided.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: July 25, 2018

    7.1
    Value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It is very noisy, not only from the street but also from I think the waterpipes etc.

    The room was very clean. In general the hostel has definitely seen better days but everything is clean, including the bedroom. The staff is very friendly and helpful. Good location in the centre, close to public transport.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 25, 2018

    9.2
    Kiwis on tour
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very noisy doors think people slamming and talking loudly very early

    The laundry facility fantastic washed dried and folded for 5 pound. The proximity to the centre the free parking the staff are wonderful. The shower was great I got hot water but my husband got cold

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 23, 2018

    5.0
    There was no hot water in the morning when we wanted to have...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There was no hot water in the morning when we wanted to have a shower. When we asked the lady at reception, she wasn't very helpful. She had no idea what was going on and said we could use the communal showers instead, which wasn't great as we'd paid for an ensuite room. The hotel is very old and the staff not especially welcoming.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 16, 2018

    7.9
    It was a basic room in pricey Fort William and was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was a basic room in pricey Fort William and was everything that we needed for our one night stay during our road trip. The showers were tricky to control the water temperature and the plumbing pipes can be loud, but for the price, we were happy with our stay.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 12, 2018

    7.1
    Suited the purpose for an overnight stay and close to town and railway station. We had a pleasant st
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bunk beds not very comfy and for a family room there could have been more coat hangers supplied. A biscuit to go with tea coffee would have been nice for morning as food isn't available on the premises. Not very good if mobility is a problem as it is up a steep hill.

    The staff were very efficient and friendly

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 11, 2018

    7.1
    Hard bed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The beds were very hard and the pillows were lumpy & not at all comfortable.

    The location was excellent within easy reach of the High Street. The hotel was very clean & the staff were exceedingly friendly and helpful. Be cautious if older or a bit infirm - it is on a steep hill!!!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 1, 2018

    10
    Very enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The atmosphere and surroundings were excellent.the staff were very friendly and always there if you needed anything.the cleanliness was first class.location was perfect

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 27, 2018

    7.9
    Great value for a clena comfy nights sleep for 5 adults in a 6 bed room!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    Window opening over the bed at the head end, could do with a tilt window, but that's being really picky!

    Clean, comfy bunk house room, with en-suite, TV and tea\coffee which was a bonus!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 24, 2018

    7.5
    Great place for overnight stay, basic and comrtable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The noise! Was awakened by noise in the street and again by noisy guests leaving early in the morning. Ask for a quiet room.

    Location, convenience and value for money.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 24, 2018

    7.5
    One night in Fort William
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Central location but limiited facilities. A bit down at heel. Car parking underneath but a little cramped. OK place but not somewhere I'd go again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: June 22, 2018

    7.1
    It’s just ok, good price considering the location, I would...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Too old and well maintained, it seems a typical US motel.

    It’s just ok, good price considering the location, I would say a strategical place to wait for the connection.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 13, 2018

    7.1
    Suited us as was close to rail and bus station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    New pillows and mattress !

    Very convenient to the railway station. Kitchen for preparing tea, coffe and food. Dining room eating said food. Staff friendly

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 10, 2018

    7.1
    A useful overnighter. Handy to everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The pillows were too hard for us. We later found we could have requested softer ones. Worth checking before trying to sleep!

    Staff were friendly and helpful. Room was a good size. Building was older and more basic than the ad had us to expect.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 10, 2018

    4.2
    Last resort only and then you’d be better driving to the next town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Quadruple Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Grossly overpriced and over represented as worthy accommodation. Thank God we only paid for one night- the best thing about it was the road from Fortwilliam.

    Not much. The room, although extremely spartan, was at least clean

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 9, 2018

    5.8
    Budget hostel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    This is a hostel with some bare private rooms. This hotel should only appeal to those on a budget who would find it suitable. Linens and towels very thin. Hostel tenants cooking might offend most hotel guests.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 8, 2018

    6.7
    OK for a 1 night stay. Wouldn’t have wanted to stay any longer.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Hostel style accommodations, floors creaky, bed not very comfortable, had only 1 very flat pillow and 1 softer one. Towels well worn. Can hear guests I. Hallways and other rooms, not conducive to a very good night’s sleep.

    Location is perfect.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 1, 2018

    6.7
    It's a great location in Fort William, staff is nice and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It's a bit dated, not worth the price I paid IMO, sound insulation is terrible, I could hear even the slightest noise from the other rooms.

    It's a great location in Fort William, staff is nice and friendly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 29, 2018

    6.7
    It was a typical Hostel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The mattresses were saggy but okay for one night.

    The hostel is like every other hostel. We only stayed for one night and for that it was okay. The great thing was that we had our own bathroom and the view out of the window was awesome.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 29, 2018

    6.7
    Great if backpacking through.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    Extremely noisy most of the night and early morning. Very old building, floors, plumbing makes a lot of noise as people move about.

    Excellent central location. Very close to food, shopping, pubs.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 29, 2018

    6.7
    It was OK
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was no meals included, although we could have used the Kitchen. our room was not greatly situated, my husband & myself struggled with the stairs. It would have been better had there been a little side table, & lamp. We did have problems opening & locking the room door. overall it was ok, probably best for Backpackers.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 27, 2018

    9.6
    Was worth the stay for the price and just what we expected
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It was a bit noisy at night but only because of the fact it was the weekend but didn't upset us

    The fact I knew what to expect staff very friendly and helpful

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 17, 2018

    10
    Comfortable, good location, nice staff, dining room and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The only thing we didnt like was that we saw the clean towels on the floor in front of our door. There should be a basket or bags to put them into.

    Comfortable, good location, nice staff, dining room and kitchen avaiable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 13, 2018

    7.9
    In general I am satisfacted with the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Triple Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was quite cold, ispite on presence of radiator. I had to turn it off during the night, because it didn't look safe. But it become warm very fast, within 10-15 minutes, when you turn it on.

    In general I am satisfacted with the hotel. In comparison with other hotels in the UK for such a price it is very good (it was a room for 3). Room was clean and spaсious. The bathroom was OK, there were enough towels.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 10, 2018

    5.0
    Either should have been much cheaper in cost, or condition better for what was charged.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Quadruple Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Toilet did not flush well. Shower leaked all over bathroom floor. No soap dish or any place to put your shampoo. No hook for clothes in bathroom. Linens were very old and worn and discolored.

    The reservation system worked. Our room was available when we arrived.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 10, 2018

    4.6
    Basic hostel accommodation at guesthouse prices, very disappointed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very uncomfy mattresses and the pillows were hard solid lumps, very tired bedding. Creaky floors, thin walls...we could hear people next door snoring! Mould on walls, the smallest tv we have ever seen, and only 1 chair in our room. Warped lino in toilet, and mould on walls, small shower enclosure with luke warm trickle of water which didn’t drain away. The windows were draughty and curtains didn’t meet. Steep hill to get up to the front door.

    Not a lot....staff were friendly and room was clean!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 8, 2018

    8.3
    Great hostel, perfect for a group overnight stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    The lock on the door was broken. There was a knack to closing it which we couldn't figure out, so had to keep going down to ask the lady in reception to help.

    Well stocked kitchen - good fridge space and plenty of pots and pans, despite the room being a little small. Room larger than expected and clean, large bathroom also.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: April 26, 2018

    7.1
    Hostel accommodation in excellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Stayed here while walking Ben Nevis. The location is excellent. Near Main Street. Rooms are basic but adequate. I was expecting hostel accommodation so were not disappointed. The room was basic but clean. TV and tea making facilities. A good view of the loch. Shared kitchen available. Free parking on site which was handy.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 25, 2018

    7.9
    Conveniently located to town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    People travelling need a good nights sleep. Not possible on a very old, tired and thin mattress. They definately need renewing.

    Nice quiet room with view to the church. Close to the main shopping street and supermarkets etc. Room was big enough with a good size bathroom. In a tired state but clean

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 16, 2018

    10
    Great location for climbing Ben Nevis and central to Fort...
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Family Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Great location for climbing Ben Nevis and central to Fort William Facilities were just right for if you just wanted a bed for a couple of nights Clean and tidy with a great shower

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 14, 2018

    4.2
    Located near high street
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Uncomfortable and tiny bed even for someone 165cm tall. Hard pillows. Poor sound isolation. Dirty kitchen with very specific food smell all around.

    Located near high street WiFi was quite strong

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 11, 2018

    6.3
    I would recommend this place if you need a bed for a night. If you want comfort go elsewhere
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The shower in our room did not go above cold, when we told staff they weren't too concerned. The double mattress in room 20 has gone where it seems so soft as if the springs have failed. Staff not too friendly.

    We could all fit in the same room. Proximity to train station.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 10, 2018

    6.7
    good location, near to center, free parking, clean room
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    bed was very uncomfortable, the mattress was tough, drain in the toilet did not work, no breakfast included for such price

    good location, near to center, free parking, clean room

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 8, 2018

    6.3
    Great location but accomodation basic
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very basic, small room & a bit tired looking. The whole place could do with a spruce up! One of our party had to wait for a staff member to finish smoking in the shelter outside before she dealt with her.

    Great location for town centre and train station. Shower was good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 6, 2018

    10
    Perfect place for me and my brother in law to stay after a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Perfect place for me and my brother in law to stay after a few days snowboarding in glencoe and Nevis range. Probably wouldn’t take the Mrs there on a romantic getaway but perfect for us

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: April 6, 2018

    4.6
    Horrible, never again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    This is probably the worst hotel that we have ever visited. It is basically a hostel with hotel rooms. The room was difficult to heat with the electric wall radiators. The carpet was filthy and the linoleum in the bath was popped up. The shower had mold and hair in it. The towels were worn thin. You could feel the mattress springs and the pillows were cracker thin. The toilet would not flush without pumping it numerous times. We should have asked for a refund since there was a great hotel nearby with vacancies.

    The location and free parking where the only redeeming qualities.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 1, 2018

    5.0
    Basic hostel not a "lodge"
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    Much too expensive for the quality that was offered. We assume the rate was due to limited availability of rooms in town.

    This was listed as a hotel but is actually a hostel with very basic accommodations, hard mattresses, low-quality linens and towels, and a questionable shower. On the positive side it was clean and conveniently located in the heart of town. Very expensive for what we got.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 14, 2018

    7.9
    Not really cheap but it's OK
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    DISLIKES : -The "oldy" decoration -The obsolete mattress

    LIKES : -The kindness & the helpfulness of the staff -The carpet -The proximity to the center of the city -The free & near private parking -The cleanliness of the room & the bathroom -The non-smoking room -They accept American Express -The calm and the silence in the room

    Stayed in March 2018

Showing 1 - 75

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find something cheaper? We'll refund the difference!

Guests also reviewed these properties: