Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Bannatyne Hotel Durham

Eden Terrace, Durham, DH1 2HJ, United Kingdom

#6 of 13 hotels in Durham

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1082 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.2

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    7.8

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    7.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    4.6
    Not worth the price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortuatley the night that we stayed (on the first floor opposite hotel reception) there was a group of men & women arguing for hours, they were very loud and the staff didn’t say a word to them. This kept me and a couple of other people using the hotel up most of the night. Staff weren’t very polite and we were made to feel like children, asked for a taxi number (as this hotel is quite far away from Durham city centre) and we were told in a rude manor “there’s cards over there”. There was a few stains on the bedding and the shower screen wasn’t big enough so the water constantly flooded out of the shower tray.

    The bedroon was very spacious.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    7.1
    staff were very helpful and pleasant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    original room was good but someone had obviously been smoking in it as there was ash on the window cill and the smell was terrible, however the staff allocated us another room immediately .

    staff were very helpful and pleasant.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    8.3
    Good room. Great food. Welcoming staff.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was nothing that stood out as wrong or bad. The only comment would be a swivel mount for the TV if I am working at the desk. Other than that the experience was great.

    The staff, they make the place. At reception the check in was great, staff member was welcoming and helpful. The facilities where I had food, the staff member was again welcoming and helpful. Overall a great hotel that is ideally suited for Durham which provides great facilities and reasonably priced food.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    7.5
    Arrived before 9 was sent over to health club to eat as no...
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Arrived before 9 was sent over to health club to eat as no facilities in hotel. Got into health club at 2045 ish to be told food finished and sent toward kfc.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    9.5
    Cheap and convenient, with plenty parking and health club next door for breakfast or meals.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Horrible lighting. 2 recessed lights in ceiling above bed, no bedside lights. Very dark unless you put on the harsh overhead lights. The room was fine and this spoilt it.

    Very comfortable bed, pleasant room.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    8.3
    Very good stay. No frills but excellent value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Slightly noisy bathroom extractor fan but it did it's job well and could be switched off when not required. Location is outside Durham but ok with a car.

    Excellent staff in the hotel reception and cafe (located in separate fitness centre). Very friendly. Breakfasts very simple (nothing fancy) but perfectly adequate for us. Served quickly and with a smile. Other meals similar. Didn't try gym equipment or pool but it looked good. Hotel facilites, again simple but modern & clean. Bed & pillows good.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    9.2
    Durham is a lovely city and in easy reach by public transport from this hotel, staff v. informative
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    when room service had been the milk used was not replaced. a Fridge would have been v useful. No drawers to place clothing in.

    Bed comfy, room clean.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    8.3
    Excellent place to stay to visit this lovely City.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No information in the rom (see above)

    Excellent location for a visit to Durham. Good car park and a bus every 10 minutes into the City. Very clean and comfortable room. Bar/cafe available free in the centre No information in the room. This would have been very helpful. E.g. Check-out time. Bus time table, City map, detail about use of the Bar/cafe. Etc etc. Yes I could go down and ask at the dest, but it would be better to have it in the room and would be very easy to do.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    10
    Excellent !!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Honestly there wasn't anything we didn't like !!!

    Great location for the wedding we attended at ramside hall. Staff were brilliant especially the daytime lady on reception. So pleasant and helpful . Rooms were comfortable and spacious. Definitely will be returning

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    10
    Bed was really comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noting I didn't like

    Bed was really comfortable. Was really nice room, very smart. I asked for a bottle of wine to be in a ice bucket for when we got there and was not expecting it but was there so really surprised!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    5.0
    Was probably once ok but needs so serious attention now
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Oh dear, all a bit tired. The double bed was 2 singles pushed together but not securely, and was like sleeping on a lumpy pillow. The head board was so old, it was shedding bits onto the pillows and sheets

    Good location and bathroom clean

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    9.6
    Ideal location for visiting nearby elderly relative and keeping up with training program.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Footpath blocked, but this was not the hotel's fault.

    Reception staff was very helpful. Access to health club a big plus. Room was spacious and simply furnished.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    9.6
    Comfortable, Lodge-like Accommodation with Great People
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Every time I stay here, there always seems to be one, small, irritating thing. This time, the toilet didn’t flush properly!

    Location of the hotel is perfect for those wishing to visit locations around Durham. The staff are always brilliant.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    7.5
    Good clean property I asked for a refurbished room which...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sink in our disabled bathroom was tiny,

    Good clean property I asked for a refurbished room which they changed us too, it was the disabled one but very large.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    6.7
    very friendly gentleman at reception
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    heater in the bathroom burned my back after showering. the heater turns on when lights are on so be very careful when getting out of the shower. tea mugs had lipstick marks on them.

    very friendly gentleman at reception

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    10
    Bannatyne hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would like to see hair dryers and iron in the rooms, also tea bags and herbal or fruit teas because not every one drink coffee.

    Where the hotel is situated, very clean and spacious rooms. Friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    10
    Amazing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We loved our stay here. Hotel beautiful staff are all lovely and helpful there was one particular lady on reception who made our stay from start to finish. Would recommend to anyone.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    10
    Good location straight off the A1, handy as there was a...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good location straight off the A1, handy as there was a retail park almost next door! Good pub 5mins walk around the corner for food. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Would stay here again.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    7.5
    July 2018
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The toilet did not flush properly, you spent a good 2 mins trying to flush it ! The light in the bathroom over the sink didn’t work , so you had to keep the door open to see what you were doing . I did speak to the front desk about the issues , the lady was very nice , and had us look at another room . The other room the headboard was all ripped . So we decided not to move . When I asked about using the health club , we were told that there was a £10 charge per day , as we had booked through booking . Com , and not directly through them . Sorry but I am not paying £10 a day to use the facility !!! That would be £40 for 4 days . my membership at my gym is less than that a month and it’s unlimited use .

    Good location , local bus stop , 2 min walk from hotel . Beds comfortable . Breakfast is not included in the price , you can go to the health club next door , food was good , staff were very nice . The staff at the hotel were very nice and always made us feel welcome .

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    7.5
    Low cost...with no added extras
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Expensive to use the gym and spa for one night ....no food in the hotel.. just at the spa.. no complimentary individual shampoo/body wash in the en -suite ...toilet seat only fixed at one end ...cleaner said this had been reported before but not attended to..!!

    Quietness..

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    8.3
    Clean and modern in a good location. £5 in a taxi to the market square.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lobby was a bit tired looking - but i believe its being overhauled this week!

    Clean and modern. Staff were great and very accommodating. Special mention to Colin who was very helpful when sorting a booking error. Mood lighting in the room was a cool touch - as was the modern bathroom.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    9.6
    Can't wait to spend another trip to Durham and Bannatyne,s.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very hot....but that was really to do with the exceptionally hot weather....a fan would have helped..didn't ask staff they probably would have found one they were so helpful particularly the reception staff.

    Comfy beds and food very reasonably priced as well as good quality. Staff at the Hotel and Spa were very friendly and helpful. Intend to use the hotel again when next visit the lovely city of Durham.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    3.8
    More basic than hotels such as Premier Inn, Holiday Inn, Travel lodge and more expensive too!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The entrance doesn’t look inviting. Lounge very basic and tired looking. There is no bar area, just a larger pump on the reception desk. Poor choice of drinks and pricey too considering the surroundings. Need to be double jointed to get the toilet tissue, that’s when you eventually find where it is. Two booked into room but not two of everything provided. Only one glass for instance. Carpet looking extremely worn and dirty. At least three large burn marks on it from iron. It looked awful!

    Nothing other than the breakfast in the gym

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    7.1
    Was told I could use the spa facilities included if i had...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was told I could use the spa facilities included if i had booked direct for same price. Bathroom lights were so dim it was difficult to shave. No phone in room so couldn't arrange an alarm call, and no charge point for my mobile. Maybe could have got alarm call at reception but was late and usual to call down?

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    6.3
    The hotel delivered what we needed, but the staff made it better. Good people!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room. It was a decent size and the bathroom was good as was the bed and clean linen. However the carpet next to the bed was grubby (sticky) and the "sofa" had what looked like "human stains" on it!

    The staff were extra friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    6.3
    Greeted by a man who was helping the receptionist.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Better quality decor, fixtures and fittings although i believe this is being updated. Lack of engagement from reception. Location a little way from city as a result cot a lot in taxi fares

    Greeted by a man who was helping the receptionist. Althoug helpful didnt explain how to insert the card key resulting in me going back down to check. Room clean and tidy.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    8.8
    Very nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower water temperature changed from hot to cold throughout but nothing too drastic.

    Comfy beds, clean rooms, modern bathroom, powerful shower, tv, basic amenities; hand soap, shampoo&conditioner, hairdryer, bus stop very close.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    6.7
    Fit for purpose to attend a uni graduation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No aircon. The location right beside the very busy & noisy A1; not good on a hot night when you have to have the windows open. Bed not remade after our first night.

    The reception staff were very friendly & helpful. The rooms have had a makeover since our last visit & looked/felt better.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    8.8
    Comfortable, good value for an overnight stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed could have been more comfortable- mattress was a bit lumpy!

    Very helpful staff and clean, comfortable room with excellent shower. We were upgraded to Premium, which was a nice surprise!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    7.5
    Rooms were like any other chain but clean and comfortable -...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No air con which in this heat wave is a must. Room v hot so not good for sleeping. My husband ended up having a cool shower at 1 am or we had to go to the Spa facilities to cool down. Location on outskirts of Durham wasn't ideal as it meant taxis in and out for our daughter's graduation.

    Rooms were like any other chain but clean and comfortable - good shower in bathroom. Staff in both hotel and Spa were very friendly and efficient. Food we had in the Spa restaurant was good and value for money.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    6.3
    staff on reception very nice and helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the door key didnt work as the door lock was faulty. wasted a lot of time having to get it reset. room 25 and the bed head was disgusting. well overdue a refurbishment

    staff on reception very nice and helpful

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    5.4
    Night time noisy all during the night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Night time noisy all during the night. Complained on first morning got breakfast vouchers but it was cold. This was after being moved from even noisier room first.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    3.8
    Book somewhere else its horrible
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The nasty Formica in the tiny bathroom was chipped, the shower was mouldy and black around the seals, the room was large but the two singles were shoved together, there was a brown velour sofa thing that was stained and disgusting. The Formica shelves were chipped and yellowing, the kettle didn’t boil the water. It was very hot but we couldn’t leave the windows open as the road noise was deafening. WE could not wait to leave. I am so surprised Duncan Nannatyne would put his name to this shabby dated flea pit, I be he has never stayed there.

    The staff could not be faulted they tried their hardest in a very dated shabby run down hotel they deserve better.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    9.2
    Room was large, comfy big bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    In need of a revamp, quite basic.

    Room was large, comfy big bed. Friendly staff, reception bar available 24hrs with small selection of beers & wines (in the individual 187ml bottles £4.90). Very convenient for visiting my friend.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    7.5
    Average
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No a lot of facilities at the hotel had to go to the fitness centre to eat, which for a fitness centre the food choice was not that healthy

    Friendly staff

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    7.9
    It was a very comfortable stay for the price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The carpet was well worn in certain areas and the room had a slight musty smell.

    The bed was very comfortable and the room was spacious. There was plenty of storage space space.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    8.3
    Great value, great location and really comfortable. I would definitely stay there again
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Curtains were thin and let in the sunlight. I need a dark bedroom to sleep in, so this woke me up at 5.30am and I had to hunt out a sleep mask :-(

    Beds were really comfy and the shower was hot and powerful - two essentials when travelling on business !

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    10
    Fantastic break!
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent all round experience really, was very happy to be able to use the spa facilities as part of our package and the location was only 1.5miles out of the centre.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    7.1
    Okay for the price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The kettle didn't work properly, kept starting and stopping, the staff wasn't that welcoming or friendly.

    Decent size room, the bed is comfy and had a good night sleep!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    10
    Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing the help of the staff 5 star

    Good hotel and very friendly staff the room was ok but next time will ask for a refurbished room was great, this made the room we had look dated, shame we had not seen on arrival

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    4.6
    Overpriced disappointment
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Broke tv/dirty shower/ broken wood glued badly/ headboard all ripped /dated design. Worst place one stayed for one night costing 65.50!

    Staff were faultless. Very warming/ polite/ helpful

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    5.8
    Staff were friendly and helpful- let us borrow an umbrella...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Toilet was broken and shampoo was empty when we arrived and wasn’t filled the next day either. There was no air con so it was really hot at night.

    Staff were friendly and helpful- let us borrow an umbrella when it was pouring it down! The location was very close to Durham and had parking which was great.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    9.6
    Very friendly and helpful staff in all areas of Hotel and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We prefer lighter TOG quilt and cooler room at night.

    Very friendly and helpful staff in all areas of Hotel and Cafe. Good food in Cafe, rooms very clean. Very conveniently placed for buses into Durham, close to shops. Perfect for our stay.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    5.8
    Could do better
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room scruffy, and some debris left by previous occupants still under the sofa - not cleaned very well. Cafe in the club next door didn’t have much of the menu available, so had to go to elsewhere.

    Location was good, pillows suited

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    9.6
    We had a great time
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Booking wasn't clear whether you had booked direct with the hotel or through an agency. I thought I had booked direct with the hotel on their website only to find I had booked through bookings.com????

    Fantastic staff and help with getting around and using the spa etc

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    8.3
    Nice place, but need to examine all the features in advance
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Note that if you book the hotel directly with them - spa and breakfast are free. Spa does not provide anything except towels, so you cannot actually use it unless you have slippers with you (or you do not go for a massage).

    Very good rooms, excellent restaurant, very helpful staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    5.4
    Average. Staff super and very helpful. The smell in the rooms and dust was not pleasant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room didn't smell very clean and was extremely dusty and the carpet dirty. I was disappointed to have to pay £10 to use the gym facilities as I had understood these to be free. There was nowhere outside to sit and have a drink or coffee despite there being quite a lot of ground around the hotel and health club. The sun was shining so this was very disappointing.

    The staff were super. A good location for Durham City Centre. A nice health club attached to the hotel with good facilities

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    6.3
    Have to ask oneself if Duncan Bannantyne ever stayed here.. Answer is NO!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    expensive as a Travellodge. TV remote control kept turning to mute. stains on brown sofa and bed runner. restaurant at nearby Spa only sold chicken curries and bean burgers... not very spa friendly. impersonal bar in reception. knocking shop for those on hen and stag dos in Durham. half the rooms cordoned off for refurbishment.

    easy location to travel. easy to find from the A1M.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    9.6
    Just our pace - relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    PG tips t bags I didn’t like them but everything else was spot on

    Very friendly and knowledgeable receptionist. Nothing was too much bother. Ideal location would definitely go back

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    3.8
    Worst value for money I have ever had
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was terrible. The pool/breakfast area is just an open to the public leisure centre not attached to the hotel. Stag dos and screaming families, very odd combo. It's not near the city centre so be prepared to pay 10 pound each way in taxis.

    Nothing. We left a day early knowing we would lose 70 pound.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    6.7
    It was quite spacious room with extra cot for my son.
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Toilet did not have a ventilation and it was continously flushing even after 20 mins or so, we have to call the reception to get it fixed.

    It was quite spacious room with extra cot for my son. Beds were comfortable and spacious and clean.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    6.3
    Good location to A1, little tired looking but ok.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No net/blinds at window so had to keep curtains closed as I over looked car park. Was woke several times by the noise of upstairs guests. Also bit of a party going on across the landing but in fairness the staff delt with it - twice. Guessing that’s weekends in a hotel!...

    Reception staff were lovely.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    7.9
    Book direct as you get use of faciliteis at gym free ,,...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Toilet no wirking properley

    Book direct as you get use of faciliteis at gym free ,, chargable with bookin .com Theres a fantastic pubask at desk ! serving amazing home cooked grub ,, best iv e had in a a pub for ages . Dont get a starter as you get plenty and quality . Only couple hundred yards away .

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    4.2
    Cheap service for a nice hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Services was awful, reception Margaret was rude

    The dinner was nice, but I asked for room services and they just bought me the food no cutlery, or anything

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    5.4
    Lack of attention to room let the hotel down
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    House keeping staff had not checked room had been made ready no shower or hand wash or sanitary bags We stayed for two nights an no one changed dirty cups made bed or put more milk in room for tea

    Checking staff were frindly an helpful when there was no soap in shower or for hand washing

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    9.2
    great, but not enough sound proofing
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the only problem i found with it, is that you could hear everything!, there was someone walking around in the room above quite early in the morning and quite late into the night and it kept us up as we could hear footsteps quite loudly

    The hotel was clean, staff was friendly, would stay again

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    10
    Relaxing weekends are what we work for!
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    You only get free use if you book direct with them, not through booking sites like booking.com like you used to.

    Close enough to town and had spa next door. Staff and service is always brilliant.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    8.3
    Good value for money accommodation but could do with a restaurant.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Dining facilities in the evening are not great. It is a cafe rather than a restaurant.

    All of the staff were excellent. Could not fault them at all. Breakfast was also excellent.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    10
    Excellent all round no complaints.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cannot think of anything.

    The location of the hotel was great the staff are really helpful and friendly and the facilities available next door are fantastic.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    9.2
    superb value for money, will definitely be back
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the dining area is outside from the sleeping quarters

    the bed was so soft and comfortable, the staff, especially carl the receptionist, were friendly and accommodating. the breakfast was five star, hot and filling.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    9.6
    very good.....couldn't fault the hotel at all.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    everything was first class for me our family, and guests.

    excellent stay......great reception..... a shower, warm room , comfortable bed.....food at the health spar restaurant excellent.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2018

    8.0
    An on site restaurant rather than having to treck across to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    An on site restaurant rather than having to treck across to the keep fit club( where the food is only "okay") would greatly increase the appeal of this hotel

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    8.8
    Comfy bed, pillows.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Scuffs and marks on walls. Couple on the mattress sheet. Leather coming away on bed backboard. Didn't mind those so much, but DID mind *ridiculously LOUD* housekeeping staff making a racket gossiping throughout the floor. Even with a 'Do Not Disturb' sign on the outside door handle, and a late checkout time (which perhaps they should be informed with in future, if they're not already), I didn't get the lie-in I was hoping for. That was the only negative.

    Comfy bed, pillows. Very good bathroom. Adequate space.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2017

    9.6
    Lovely hotel and staff would definitely stay here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The man on the reception desk was very kind and went out of his way to help us in any way he could. The spa and swimming pool facilities were 10 out of 10 wish we could of stayed longer.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    7.9
    The staff team are great here and definitely make up for the building and facilities!
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel was not the cleanest or most up market looking inside and the food and health facilities weren't in the same building so not the easiest to access.

    The staff were very friendly - And the shower powerful and warm

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    7.9
    Did what it said on the tin : clean , efficient , warm , lovely bathroom
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lighting & noise from room above TV's should have an 'auto cut out unless confirmed@ to stop others leaving tv's on when thye fall asleep

    Bed large and linen crisp

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    7.5
    quite non descript but staff very friendly
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location description I did not have breakfast so no recommendation there

    I could not rate this as Durham not driving it is a bit in the middle of nowhere and location far from SCENIC !! in the middle of an industrial shopping park

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    10
    brilliant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothing everything first class

    could not fault anything room comfy and spotlessly clean coldest night of winter and we had to turn heating off it was so warm staff were very helpful nothing any trouble to them gym and food a great extra will use again

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    10
    Excellent all aspects of my stay exceeded all levels.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    N/A

    very friendly,clean and professional staff were very happy to help in every situation.Premier inn should look at the service that has been given by Bannatyne ...Well done !!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    5.8
    It served a purpose and staff could not have been nicer.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel would have been fine if we were paying about half of the rate of £85 per room but it was not worth that rate in respect to decor and maintenance overall. We were given a disabled room which was big but the bathroom hard to use and the shower area to be honest a bit grotty. The TV really didn't switch on properly, took ages to sort out.

    The staff were very friendly and helpful. THe beds were clean and comfortable. Parking very easy and convenient. Breakfast in leisure centre opposite was decent.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    8.8
    Return visit didn`t dissapoint.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    Situation, very close to Belmont Park & Ride, which makes it great for exploring Durham City. Also easy to get to the coast at Seaham. Good breakfast and helpful staff.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    5.0
    Near to the A1M and to a stop for buses to the city centre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My room was on the ground floor and next to the outside smoking area so I had noise until late. Expensive for what it offers.

    Near to the A1M and to a stop for buses to the city centre. The room was clean and the bed very comfortable.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2017

    10
    Shopping and sightseeing break
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to complain about

    We have stayed at this hotel before. Situated very well for local buses shops etc. The facilities where excellent and the staff very helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    6.7
    A very clean, acceptable and well priced hotel but not one to lounge about in.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No ambiance in the communal area. Not obvious that this is separate from the gym which is where breakfast is available. We went into Durham instead. Gym usage must be paid for if booked on Booking.com. We might have gone for a quick swim but as this would have cost us £40 we didn’t bother, perhaps we would then have spent more in the gym on refreshments-policy review in order perhaps ?

    Quite good value for money.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    5.8
    I will not visit again this hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Location. No free WiFi No access to health/spa facility as booked through Booking.com rather than directly through the hotel

    Clean, comfortable, good welcoming and help from the staff and the presence of the holy bible, so I could read and relax.

    Stayed in November 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: