Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Bannatyne Spa Hotel 4 stars

Battle Road, Hastings, TN38 8EA, United Kingdom

#2 of 7 hotels in Hastings

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 650 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.8

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    8.6

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    7.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    On our first night my mother ordered her meal at 9.25pm and my wife and I ordered our meal at 9.31pm but were told the kitchen was closed and the three of us had to go out for dinner. It was one bad experience against an otherwise very good experience

    Staff went out of their way to be lovely and made extra little efforts to make our stay enjoyable.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The customer service at adjoining health club

    Great customer service at the hotel! Slightly disappointed that did not extend to the adjoining Bannatyne Health Club though...

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel staff were friendly and the hotel was beautiful we came for my husbands 40th with a group of 8 and we had such a lovely time in the gardens. We will defiantly be going back

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel was quite corporate rather than having a luxury feel. We had paid for a deluxe room and were originally given a ground floor room basically in the car park with no bath. We requested to change and were moved up a floor. The room was much better but, having had a sneaky peak into the other rooms, there seems to be very little difference between them so I wish we hadn't paid the extra for a deluxe room. The bed was comfortable but was clearly two singles pushed together rather than a kingsize bed which was a bit annoying. At a spa hotel, I would normally expect little treats like nice soaps and a toiletry basket, but there was very little of an "above and beyond" nature. There were no robes in the room - you have to specifically request them at reception. Our spa treatments were very good, but both of our therapists started trying to sell the products while the treatments were still happening. The hotel claims to have a tennis court but this is not at all usable so don't pick it because you want to play tennis!

    The breakfast was delicious (although a bit cheeky to charge extra for specialist coffees) and the food in both the bar area and the restaurant was very good - a good range of choice and value for money. Our room was a great size and the spa had very good facilities, including a nice outdoor area where you can sit in the sun. The gardens to the hotel were pretty and nice to sit in for breakfast. The sofas are a nice added touch - a good place to relax straight after breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We only spent one night there and we can’t fault anything. Happily recommending this place.

    Food and service was excellent. Lovely staff that is always ready to help.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing we didn't like. The only downside was that you have to it £10 per person for the spa. Disappointing to hear we could have got a cheaper deal NOT going with booking.com and getting the spa for nothing. Another lesson learnt through booking.com.

    Beautiful grounds and friendly staff. Clean room and good breakfast

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room quite cold until heating kicked in Restaurant very warm at breakfast Needs a little attention to detail on the walls unpainrted plaster on the wall

    Bed comfy Breakfast lovely

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a 3 course meal in the restaurant in the evening but my wife and father had the vegetarian meal (Artichoke heart) but both really didn’t enjoy it or felt it filled them up. They didn’t say anything to me at the time as they didn’t want to make a fuss. A real shame as we chose the hotel because it was close to my fathers who lives in Hastings.

    The grounds and the staff where excellent. You could see they were all well drilled and took pride in their work.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The spa was in a separate building.Thought it was unacceptable to be asked to pay £10pp to use the spa facilities when it should be free for hotel guests as it is in other hotels that have spa & leisure access

    Lovely room. Good comfortable sized bed. Hotel set in lovely grounds. Very pleadant & helpful receptionists

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Insufficient lighting in the bedroom.

    The bed was very soft and caused me to have severe back ache the next day. We had asked in advance for soya milk and vegan breakfast but this wasn't confirmed prior to our arrival. However there were plenty of choices at breakfast. It would have been a nice touch to have soya milk in our room with tea making facilities.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This is not a SPA hotel. This is a nice hotel but there is no SPA. There is a possibility to use a sports club nearby. But it doesnt have a nice, calming SPA atmosphere. There was a loud music and everybody could use it so it was very busy. Children are not allowed to use the swimming pool before 3.pm. So if you after a nice spa where you can walk around in your white robe and slippers, this is not the one. This is a quite nice wedding venue. If you want peace for the night, book rooms facing the car park. Others have a bar and right under the windows. We had to change a sheet in the bedroom as the one we had was covered with hair. It did not look like someone has slept there but the sheet was so dirty. They brought us a new sheet and blanket upon request.

    The staff was very friendly. Really nice people and trying hard. They were nice and let me change to a room away from noise and smoke ( above the bar) to the other side of the hotel. Breakfast was very good and we really enjoyed sitting in the garden and enjoying sunshine. The location was perfect for us. I also enjoyed that is was so quiet around there ( if you sleep towards the right side of the hotel) and the air was so fresh. Beautiful garden.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didnt enjoy the food we ate in the bar, I had chicken burger and chunky chips some chips weren’t cooked

    The best was very comfortable and had a large bathroom

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    2 dogs barking loudly at 0640. Appeared to come from adjacent stables. Nevertheless I would still recommend the hotel.

    Very modern and clean room. Staff very friendly and attentive. Facilities outstanding.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The front entrance was not very obvious, needs to be made more of a feature, be more welcoming.

    Easy to get to, in a lovely setting with views over grounds. Has character bit modern & up to date inside. Rooms are a very good size, plenty of room.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had dinner at the restaurant but the bread was frozen in the middle (which we didn't bother changing) and the bill came out at 3 courses rather than 2. Also I think we ended up paying for 3 drinks rather than 2.

    Staff were very polite and friendly and the spa was very good.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fact we paid £130 for the room then had to pay extra to use the spa. Which then I felt like I paid £10 for a swimming pool. Wasn’t a very relaxing “spa”. The breakfast also didn’t offer fried eggs.

    Our room was a lovely size.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The evening meal really wasn’t to standard and wasn’t value for money at all. But the breakfast was very good.

    Bed was amazing and the staff were friendly and very helpful

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Myroom was no 7 and apperantely the extraction for the kitchen was passing under it, the room was very noisy until 1 am in the morning and the extraction started again at the early hours of the morning around 6 am. I was given a kind 20% discount but I would rather had a good night sleep.

    The hotel was excellent location and the restaurant was also very nice

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    My husband is also diabetic and the menu was limited for no carb choices. The fact that we would have had to go outside onto the terrace and around in pouring rain in order to get to the restaurant. In the room, some of the lights only switched off at the lamp with switches on the floor which could not be reached by a wheelchair user.

    My husband is in a wheelchair and the staff went out of the way to arrange eating facilities in the bar because entry to the restaurant required going out of the hotel and around the terrace . The staff went out of the way to be helpful. The room is really wheelchair friendly with an excellent wetroom and wide areas around the beds and between the furniture. The decor was lovely.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Spa and leisure building 5 minute walk across a car park. Sauna not working. Changing rooms and spa could be kept cleaner Asked for black pudding at breakfast and was given 1 tiny, lonely pudding on a big plate. I shouldn’t think Duncan would be impressed with that.

    Room was decent and facilities good

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant. The quality of the meal I was served was not to standard. It has to be said though that the staff did apologise and tried to rectify the situation.

    The executive room was a good size and had character. The furnishings were lovely and room facilities clean and comfortable. Bar food at lunchtime was excellent. Staff were helpful and pleasant.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The extractor fan in the bathroom was exceptionally loud. Wouldn’t be able to have a relaxing bath in there sadly.

    Lovely food and friendly staff. Hotel was clean throughout.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staircase behind reception was a little tatty. Otherwise, the hotel was comfortable and had character.

    Excellent evening meal and breakfast. Really friendly and helpful staff, even though it was clear that several were still in training. Pool was great!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were staying in the hotel but our function was in the large suite in the gardens. The weather was foul so it would have been useful if the walkway was lit and also covered.

    The cosiness and warmth of the room and the standard of the bathroom

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No robes or slippers. Not much choice on the bar menu for vegetarians.

    Lovely room with really comfy bed. Great bar and breakfast staff. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was disappointed with the bar area, it did not reflect the grandeur of the outside of the building nor my expectations based on the overall look of the website. It was not in keeping with the decor of the bedrooms or hallways upstairs. The food was very disappointing, both I and the table next to me sent our food back to the kitchen as it was not as described on the menu.

    The bedroom was cosy and well equipped. The staff were extremely friendly. Lovely toiletries provided.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the cost of the food. TV a bit small. Spa quite limited (but ok).

    Staff very helpful, room comfortable, and nice outlook to garden. Availability of spa was good.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We didn’t like the hidden extra charges for hiring robes/towels for the spa.

    We stayed in an executive room which was very spacious and luxurious. Breakfast was fab with lots of selection.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool was very busy and the Spa was too busy to book any treatments. Also was not clear that you had to pay a supplement to use swimming area when booking

    Nice bar and restaurant with good food

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds were very uncomfortable For £150 a night expected more comfort and at least good tea coffee hot chocolate rather then the run of the mill Nescafé and tea. No little quirky freebies we all love :-( heating on full blast all night which meant having to have windows open and listen to the annoying neighbours dog bark min constantly fall through the night, as well as the generator directly under the bedroom window :-(

    The staff in the hotel were wonderful , pleasant and very helpful

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Inclusive use of the pool and steam rooms would have been nice rather than £10 per person per visit. Saying that the cost was not excessive and treatments could be booked if desired.

    Staff were very, very helpful and ready to do whatever was required. Check in was easy and swift and the room clean and of a nice standard. The quality of food was great and the spa facilities great.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Both nights kept awake by dog in the very near vacinity barking majority of night. The room was A little too hot through night,could not asjust radiator, needed window open but all we heard was the dog.

    A very friendly, clean & welcoming place to stay, staff couldnt do enough for you.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food was expensive plus a 12.5% gratuity!! For a bar meal! Obviously the captive audience pay it or drive 15 mins to civilization. Breakfast was in the main Luke warm served on cold plates

    Decent overnight stay in. 3.5 star hotel with 5 star food pricing

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Having to pay extra for pool/spa.

    Lovely executive room and friendly staff. Food in restaurant was excellent and at a sensible price. Only down side is to be aware that access to the Spa facilities is not included if you book through a 3rd party and so there is a charge of £10 per person per day to use them. Book direct with Bannatyne and entry is included.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    The view was so beautiful, the restaurant was very nice , the bathroom was quite space. nice breakfast, specially the omelet was very delicious. I love the steam room, swimming pool and the staff are very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Opened a bar tab, so media people could have coffee etc, on leaving the hotel we were accused of leaving without paying by a bar man. Instead of checking first that we had paid his colleagues, very rude and insulting!!!

    The location is great, the staff bent over backwards to accommodate our needs which were out of the ordinary because of press interviews etc

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a lot of wind. And the bathroom door kept on banging. But my husband put on a pa per and it stoped. The rest were fantastic.

    Service outstanding, the place very clean and the beds very comfortable I slept like a baby. The breakfast was outstanding staffordable very helpful the location was fantastic. I mean we really enjoyed. We had the party there, the food was fantast the venue, yeah it was all to worth travelling for. Thank you so much. This is the second time I have travelled with my kids, but they did not want to leave. 😂😂😂

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast on Boxing Day wasn't as good as breakfast on Christmas day, but it was still good, just they'd set the bar high the day before!

    This was mine & my Husband's first Christmas away. I did feel guilty that staff were having to work so that we could have a Christmas break, but they were all super friendly, helpful and cheerful. I am Vegan, and was worried what I'd be served on Christmas Day, but they provided a specific Vegan alternative, and it was delicious. The room was gorgeous, plenty of parking.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    food in restaurant was poor afternoon tea every thing must of been kept in fridge. as the cakes were soggy and the sandwiches went hard after being in the fresh air Dinner french onion soup tasted like a beef stock cube that had dissolved properly. breakfast avaerage

    hotel really good apart from the food

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No complaints except room was a little cold on arrival but we soon turned air conditioning off.

    Bedroom large and comfy and obviously suitable for disabled which suited me even though I hadn't requested such. Well equipped with little extras.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were asked if we wanted a newspaper in the morning and it didn’t materialise. We also felt like we’d been put in the ‘booking.com’ room -the tile in the bathroom was cracked and the bath itself was chipped.

    Nice food in the restaurant - both breakfast and dinner. The bed was comfortable. Nice quiet location too. Staff were generally helpful.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No hot water - had to boil kettles for a bath! Very tepid shower in the morning. Room 7 - quite noisy with passers by in the morning.

    Lovely breakfast. Helpful, friendly staff.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really disappointed with the spa experience. We booked through voucher and paid £99 for two. This included a 30 min back massage and 15 min facial. We booked for 11.30 and got there at 11.25. We had firms to fill in and had to send the email over which could have been done after. They told us we had eaten in to our time and only had enough time for a quick back and shoulders and mini facial or just a back massage. They then finished 6 mins early. Overall not pleased. The hotel itself was good though.

    Great breakfast? Friendly staff.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dirty marks on carpet-including in the hallway. Curtain pole not straight in the room. Bar area feels like you're on show and is very echoed with the wooden floor. No real relaxing area downstairs. Also as staff I was told on more than one occasion(including coming in and talking to the receptionist) i would receive staff discount, but at check out was only then told as it had been booked through booking.com I can not get it

    Nice spacious bathroom, working lifts

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No hot water in the morning.

    Not much. The grounds are very nice - but we were not staying in the grounds. A good breakfast was served, the evening meal less so.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Scant bathroom supplies. Complete lack of ambience in the bar area. Surcharge for use of Spa facilities.

    Very comfortable super king bed. Original building and gardens are moderately interesting.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Apart from the very minor issue of the eggs I loved the experience. Staff were all very polite and respectful.

    We enjoyed staying at the hotel and everything was tip top however there was only scrambled eggs available with the other breakfast items and most hotels give you the option of fried eggs. I am aware that I could have asked for fried eggs to be cooked separately.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Cleaning could be better, mould on the window.

    The room was very comfortable. Bar was very good. Food was amazing,lots of variety. I only came across one grumpy person at breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Slow to serve even a bottle of water which never arrived at dinner after 3 requests and poached eggs when already finished breakfast!

    Nice facilities and food

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This was our second time of staying here. A perfect weekend getaway from the city with relaxation at spa, quiet room and delicious breakfast. Green surroundings and peace! Hastings is just 3 miles away - you can stroll and enjoy seafood there by day. Traveling by car is recommended.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The devet cover was to heavy so I was a bit hot in the night

    The breakfast was amazing tasty and lots to choose from all the juices tasted great and the pastries was superb

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the price is too much for what it is, the room is cold, the shower is luke warm, the spa, the swimming pool area, is small, noowhere to sit, only a couple of chairs around, difficult to breathe , no fresh air, we could not stay there more than 1 minute, it was impossible to breathe inside the pool area

    Staff is very friendly, the gym was good

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room cold , flies on my pillow . I ate in restaurant first steak sent back as cooked well done and asked for medium rare , asked for some mustard and two jars of dejion were plonked in front of me and no words were spoken and walked of ,this was not like my previous visits i have always had a very good experience .

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Spa was not actually attached to hotel so there was a walk outside to a sports centre to the spa facilities. This was not clear before we went and was not ideal as it was drizzling when we went to use the facilities. Also, the reception was not always manned as there were not enough staff.

    The breakfast was magnificent and all rooms we saw were very clean and tidy. Staff were very friendly and helpful. The bedroom was very comfortable and the bathroom was lovely.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I can honestly say there wasn't anything that caused me to even think of moaning in this beautifully situated hotel with wonderful grounds.

    One of the most comfortable and clean hotels I have ever stayed in with a spacious room and excellent food. Every member of staff were friendly, helpful and always wore a smile. I cant wait to go back.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The wet room was rather a failure. Showering meant the whole bathroom was flooded. Given that this was a bathroom for a disabled person, having a soaking wet floor would be very dangerous for a person with restricted movement.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing which we didn't like...

    Like almost everything. No interference, peaceful, staff was wonderful, great garden to relax, room was clean and tidy & breakfast good as we expected. Many Thank....

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    we loved everything

    breakfast was good except I found mould on the bread just as I was about to eat it but the staff were very good about it and so am I, no complaint. I will be back .

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Shower was not hot - in one room this corrected after a few minutes, in the other we had it went up to temperature for a couple of minutes then tepid again, and never improved - plus a knob was missing on one of the controls making it hard to turn on and off. This just shouldn't happen in a 4* hotel.

    Nice staff and comfortable rooms, lovely breakfast with a good range of food available.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    • Group
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Two single mattresses pushed together arrrr.

    Apple pastries at breakfast , amazing. The staff very welcoming and always happy to help. I booked private dining for 10 pax for my husbands 50th birthday, Kim really looked after us.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was nice but a bit dark because of large tree outside window, possibly just the location of our room and other rooms don't have the same problem.

    Lovely gardens and conservatory where breakfast was served. Nice to sit and enjoy a drink in the sunshine.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    found the communal parts of the hotel to be tired - in need of attention - worn and marked chairs, chipped and damaged bar, etc. As booked via Booking. Com not entitled to complimentary access to the spa

    The rooms were of a good quality

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The water temperature was terrible and could not regulate it it was scalding hot could not shower on the last day and a fried who stayed in a room on the ground floor could not use his shower as it was freezing. When we asked the staff what was going on they said they always have trouble with water pressure. If they got that sorted it would be lovely it ruined the experience sadly

    Location was perfect lovely big rooms

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The carpet in our room wasnt well fitted to the floor, and slightly baggy. This made it easy to be tripped up on. And also the floor boards in our room would creak all the time. One more thing was the toilet seemed as though it was coming off the wall everytime you sat down!

    The size of the bed was better than expected, huge!! All staff members were so friendly and lovely. Shower temp was good too.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Grand Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was a wedding going on which took over the bar area so it was noisy and hard to get a drink. We ended up back in our room having a cup of tea sat in the arm chairs which were very comfy.

    We stayed for my Mum's 70th birthday. We arranged for a room with easy access and found we'd been given one on the ground floor which was perfect. The staff were friendly and helpful. We enjoyed our breakfasts and evening meal - Mum's dessert turned up on a plate decorated with "Happy Birthday" which she loved.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Grand Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I think it was the manager or similar position was overly rude on numerous occasions and overheard swearing a number of times in front of children

    All staff were excellent and I hope banatynes understand how lucky they are to have such a good team!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perhaps some kind of security or someone on duty needed at night. Our trip was ruined by other guests who were allowed to run riot all night inside & outside of the hotel & we got no sleep!

    Hotel & staff were great, very friendly. Food in Maxine's excellent.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had to wait over an hour for some lunch. Unacceptable especially when you are very hungry! Also we stayed in room 9 which although comfortable, there was a number of noticeable stains on the carpet!

    Beautiful bathroom!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    We met my brother and sister in law there as it was a great place to meet and have a meal which we enjoyed very much. Our room was nice and big and the bed was very comfortable.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Grand Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Level of decor was very shabby (paintjob in the bathroom was slapdash) - Ive seen better in a Travelodge. Very limited choice on room service menu. Furniture in our room was cheap, sparse, poorly laid out. The carpet in the hallway was very badly wrinkled - looked terrible. No flannels - they had to hunt high and low to provide one with a big black mark on it. For the 4-star price, we didn't get a 4-star experience.

    The building and gardens looked impressive. Beds were comfy and the staff were helpful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unusable wifi. Grumpy staff, felt I should have been treated better for paying so much. Restaurant staff were very poor and the manager was very grumpy indeed. The lunch food was quite disappointing. Booking.com should make few for spa more obvious- this is free if you book directly.

    Spacious, nice room and bathroom. Excellent breakfast. Lovely grounds with luxurious sofa loungers.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food good, restaurant evening meals excellent especially the choice for a gluten/dairy intolerant guest. Best choice and best meals for this person in our group that they have had for many years. Comfortable, attractive very clean rooms. Lovely gardens and grounds. Excellent bar area, and outside terrace. Bar food very good. Very good atmosphere in the hotel, nothing to much trouble . A really positive experience for all of our group.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was too hot, no obvious reason why. Portion sizes in restaurant were quite small.

    OK, but a bit basic. The choice of pastries was croissants.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There's very little negative I could comment on, as our stay really was that good. Being picky, there was a chip out of the bath, and a bit of the wood work around the bath had come away from damp

    Everything about our stay lived up to expectations. The beds and pillows where all levels of comfortable, with a fluffy duvet to top it off. It was a dream getting into the bed. The room was a good size, with a nice sized bathroom (and a big bath) lots mirrors, black out curtains, and a nice outlook.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Extras if booked through Booking.com - fee for using hotel facilities. Tennis court had no net Flaking paint on windows. Just needs a bit of effort to be good.

    Wooden sash windows. Big room. Good bathroom. Car parking

    Stayed in July 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: