Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Barker Stakes Farm 4 stars

Lendales Lane, Pickering, YO18 8EE, United Kingdom

#7 of 17 B&Bs and Inns in Pickering

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 724 B&B reviews

9.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.6

  • Comfort

    9.5

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    9.6

  • Staff

    9.8

  • Value for money

    9.3

  • Free WiFi

    9.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing can improve on perfection.

    Everything about Barker stakes is excellent the owners Steve+ Sarah really care about their business and customers, they always go the extra mile to make everyone welcome.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults and 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!! At a push, and this is really at a push...(as is a personal preference) our room did not have a bath, which I enjoy having when away. Other lodges/rooms may have.

    Sarah and her family were very welcoming and great hosts. Great location for going to flamingo land, just a few minutes away. Lovely secluded country location.Room perfect size and immaculate. Bed was super comfy. Grounds perfectly kept and outdoor play area was great for the children. Bonus having TV with built in DVD player in kids room too. Breakfast lovely, could tell was all local produce and good amount of choice. Great stay, highly recommend!!!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room with Four-Poster Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved everything.

    Absolutely everything about this place was fantastic. Lovely room in a gorgeous location perfect for accessing walking routes and local towns. The hosts were absolutely lovely and breakfast was fab. Loved the little petting farm too :) We’ll definitely be back

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Have marked down on wifi as was available but poor but think that be due to location so probably best on offer.

    Just stayed here to go to flamingo land with our 5 year old. Stayed one night but was really lovely. Good accommodation, we were in b&b but still good to have kitchen facilities and opened into a nice courtyard and own seated area on the other side so was great and the lodges that were already booked up looked great. Lovely play area and animals for kids, would definitely recommend, excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    This farm is in a great spot for flamingo land which is where we were for 2 days. The couple who run it are so friendly and can’t do enough for you, check in etc was really good and they do a fab breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Lodge (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise of the transformer near the bins x

    Lovely place lovely people, I have already recommended them to my family and friends and they are planning a trip x

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wifi was very slow, Toilet seat was loose but the rest of the room was more than adequate.

    I found the stay very pleasant even if only for one night, lovely surroundings and very well run.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were in one of the cabins which allowed us to cook our own meals and was very private. Breakfast in the main house was lovely. Everyone was really friendly.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.. it was perfect.my parents stayed and loved it

    Booked for my parents and they raved about it. I didn't stay as it was a gift for my parents 50th Wedding Anniversary. they loved it and said they would recommend it and go again. they said the breakfast was huge and lovely.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family B&B Lodge
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely, quiet accommodation. Animals and play area were superb to facilitate an energetic 3 year old. Comfortable bed and friendly owners. Delicious breakfast. Weather added to the enjoyment. Perfect weekend away.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Property is so quiet and peaceful. There’s a play area for children, some alpacas, goats and ponies. Tea coffee facilities in the room, flat screen tv, mini fridge and a hairdryer. Bed was comfy and shower refreshing. Breakfast was great, with full English, selection of cereals, tea, coffee, juice, fruit and yoghurts. I would definitely recommend this place.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everthing.hopefully an anual trip super place great for our little boy.swing slide etc..really peaceful.owners couldnt do enough for us very helpful

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful property with nice clean rooms surrounded by countryside. Perfect unwind after a working day. Will go back for a break again. The staff were the perfect hosts and breakfast was amazing. Really glad I pick them

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I can't say that thete was anything that I didn't like.

    Views from the room were lovey, the owners were friendly and welcoming and the cooked breakfast was "yummy".

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I wish I could have stayed longer with you!

    Excellent place I will definitely return, lovely location, friendly owners and comfortable rooms with a delightful view.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Waterside Lodge (6 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The lodge is slightly remote and the access roads were in nasty condition after the recent bad winter weather. There are no local amenities within walking range.

    Very comfortable, well equipped lodge. Beds very comfortable, good bathrooms and very nice lounge area. The kids loved having a TV in each bedroom!! They also enjoyed the park/play barn, animals and DVD selection. Great location for exploring North Yorkshire - we visited York, Whitby (and Scarborough but would not recommend) and Roseberry Topping in the N York moors park. Lovely to be welcomed by a barn owl on our arrival!!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Pet Friendly
    • Stayed 1 night

    -Shower floor in our cabin was a tad slippery but easily fixed with bath mat. Otherwise no issues at all.

    -Warm and informative welcome. -Easy, free and safe on-site parking. -Pleasantly surprised by our "room" which turned out to be a cosy, warm and clean wood cabin with kitchenette, dining and living room, and bedroom with ensuite bathroom. -Comfortable bed. -Beautiful and calming farm location, even had a play area for kids and some animals (llamas, I think) to visit. -Excellent breakfast and service, catering to our dietary requirements.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Sorry, I can't think of anything.

    Convivial Host. A selection of DVDs and books are available along with the DVD television. The farm is a little way out of town but 10 to 15 minutes drive to choice of eateries - car parks in town are free after 1830.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bigger duvet would be helpful...would stop the fighting over it.

    The owners were really friendly and helpful. Good price for such a stunning and very quiet location. The rooms are like studio apartments. Superb breakfast, with plenty of options. Loved the kippers with brown bread. Coffee on tap.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The overall experience was fantastic the place is amazing, lovely to look out and see the animals. Even though it snowed it didn’t stop us from getting out.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults and 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was really spacious for 2 adults and 2 kids. Beds were great and staff very friendly. Plenty of activities to do for the kids. Breakfast was excellent and the play area and animals a good feature for the kids.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The owners were very friendly and welcoming and the Farm is in a beautiful location. We were there in in snow but can imagine its lovely to stay in the summer too. Our room had everything we needed including a fridge. Lots of choice for breakfast and that was great too. Highly recommended

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • One-Bedroom Chalet
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!!!!!

    Absolutely everything! There wasn't a thing we needed to bring apart from our own food, everything else was provided. The cleanliness was outstanding, I couldn't find anything wrong. The surroundings were so picturesque, with a few animals that would keep you company (we had a cat that came on a walk with us) Honestly, I'm a hard person to please but this place was immaculate!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family B&B Lodge
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lodge was really cosy (snowing outside) and well equipped. Ideal for family group - television in 2 rooms! Friendly. Plenty of parking. Lovely cooked breakfast in farmhouse.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family B&B Lodge
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The accommodation was more than perfect. The only thing that was missing was a couple of coat hooks

    Nothing was too much trouble. Fantastic owners who understand the needs of small children. They even made a fuss of my 4 year old daughter on her birthday by giving her a card and putting a banner and balloons up at breakfast. Will definitely go back.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    This B&B property was spot-on for a short break over the New Year holiday period. The owners were very welcoming and pleasant. Couldn't fault the property. The breakfast provided each morning was plentiful

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room with Four-Poster Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    Slightly difficult to find, it was dark and raining and we took two attempts to find the end of the lane. In daylight, or generally better conditions, this would have been a non issue, and is certainly not the fault of the property.

    Lovely large, clean, well decorated room with excellent facilities and a lovely clean, well appointed bathroom with large shower. Nothing whatsoever to complain about here. great breakfast and very nice, friendly hosts. Highly recommended.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lodge we stayed in was really good quality. It was very comfy. the bedroom & bathroom were new smart and it was all very clean. You could have done self catering & have everything you would need. we had the breakfast in the conservatory, it was very good, endless cups of coffee & tea. great hosts. we had a walk round & met the Alpaca.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was amazing. Brilliant property and very reasonably priced. Breakfast was exceptional. Staff were super nice. I have to travel often nearby for work so I will book this lovely hotel as often as I can.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room with Four-Poster Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    cant fault anything. only tiny niggle is can be hard to find it is down a long country lane and the turning can be easily missed. So anyone going needs to turn opposite the new housing development on the main road into Pickering. Great views when you reach BarkerStakes Farm

    our room number 6 was very comfortable and clean with French doors onto the decked area. The owners were friendly without been over friendly. Breakfast was very good plenty of choice. This is our second visit to Barker- stakes farm and will return again.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    Absolutely everything spot on! The hosts were incredible, good food, great price, beautiful location and spotless modern rooms. Thank you Sarah and Steve!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Pet Friendly
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We found the place very friendly and made to feel at home. Was a really nice stay.. comfortable and very warm and closey room. Breakfast was great! Sausages to die for! Would really recommended and definitely stay again if down that end!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Walls are paper thin if you're in the B&B - our neighbours weren't especially noisy, but I was still woken up at 7 a.m. because of how much could be heard next door. Disappointing for a break away.

    Nice welcome, excellent breakfast

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Small Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    If your asking to pick fault, that would be tricky but...room was a little cold on arrival and the window was tricky to shut, both minor irritations quickly fixed.Nothing to spoil our stay. Very friendly.Otherwise perfect.

    Outstanding breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Pet Friendly
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing at all to fault real value for money.

    The pet friendly room had all we required for our two night stay Comfy bed and a bonus of a sofa in the room makes a change from the normal chair And hard chair

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Waterside Silver (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stayed for ( unfortunately) just one night in a lodge over the pond. Fantastic place, great conditions, will definetly return to stay a bit longer. Congratulations to the owners for their achievement!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely nothing at all to dislike about this place unless you are a professional Whinger..

    The proprietors Steve and Sarah were very welcoming, and the cooked Yorkshire breakfasts were superb..We will definately stay at BSF again soon.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room wasn't as clean as I expected. Skirting boards very dirty with thick dust and items from previous occupants found down side of a bed in both the rooms we booked. Bedding and towels were clean. I did mention this at the time I was there but the owner said it was near the end of the season! Sorry but rooms should be cleaned properly after every visitor. That was the only thing we weren't happy with as the rest was good and the grandkids loved the animals and being there. One room was very small but it did say that in the description.

    Comfy bed. Fluffy towels. Family friendly.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Pet Friendly
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was small no bar option.

    Nice pleasant location nearby to pubs and shops in pickering, and good place to stay if visiting flamingo land through the day.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Pet Friendly
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing Absolutely perfect.

    A really well run establishment with very friendly hosts. Perfect for a break for us with our cocker spaniel. The breakfasts were excellent and really set us up for each day. We will definitely try to stay there again.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing we didn't like ...

    Accomodation ...lovely decor very cosy and warm room ...Great breakfast The park and facilities for children with animals too fab for children well..and adults ! ...........Hosts Steve and Sarah lovely and friendly .

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Waterside Silver (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location,Steve was a great host and the property was great- animals on site, lovely setting, clean and all the amenties you need. Would highly recommend!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Better clarity about breakfast not being included in what we thought was a B&B Booking. Poor roads in and out, but recognise is really just a farming road.

    The whole atmosphere, the associated animals, the variety of B&B and Self Catering, the breakfast, the helpfulness and knowledge of the proprietor.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Pet Friendly
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great pet friendly place to stay, the owner really friendly and a great breakfast to top if off, would really recommend it and we would like to go back again to stay.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We aren’t able to offer any issues we did not like

    Having your own self contained room gave one a higher level of privacy and with compact ensuite facilities meant one only had to traverse the external courtyard to reach the breakfast room. The hosts were so welcoming and very P ersonable

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Small Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was a little small and could have looked a little more polished but everything was there and working

    Amazing sausages! Really friendly hosts, lovely place

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The porch and windows lacked privacy

    We loved the family friendly atmosphere. Play area/ videos / games / farm animals and all out in the peaceful countryside

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cabin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing.

    Everything. The cabin room was lovely, the owners were warm and friendly. Breakfast was delicious with lots of choice. It was a joy to have the animals there.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The narrow country lane leading from the populated area to the farm could use improvement...well worn, potholes

    Excellent cooking of breakfast, terrific breakfast cereal buffet choices slso

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Small Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I don't normally give feedback via reviews. But I have to for barker stakes. It's the second time my son and I have stopped here and the atmosphere is so family friendly. Very well managed by very friendly people. We will be back soon.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    there is nothing not to like

    we loved everything about the place everyone is so friendly We had a lovely two day break if we go up that way again this is the first place we would look for to stay everything is so clean and we were made so welcome perfect thanks

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bed was very hard.

    We had a lovely 2 night stay. The accomodation was very nice & clean, owners were lovely and the breakfast was great. We would definately stay again.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family B&B Lodge
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lots of outside space with nice play area for children. Animals for the children to look at. Good range of accomodation. Friendly owners. Good quality breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Arrived a little bit before check-in but received warm welcome from Steve. Comfortable room, good facilities and beautiful property. It was lovely to be able to have a wander to see all the animals. Steve and sarah also put on a fantastic breakfast. Ideal for a country escape away from it all which is what we were looking for. We hope to stay again when we're next over that way.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing, all was great.

    The bed was very comfortable, the room was quite spacious & parking was only metres away. Sarah & Steve made me feel very welcome. The breakfast was really good, and the breakfast room was light & airy.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing I liked everything about it. I think they should get a donkey and a mini donkey but only because I love donkeys.

    I am so happy we found this property as we all enjoyed our short stay there, and are already planning a return trip. On arrival we was greeted my a friendly chap who showed us what we needed to know and advised about breakfast times. He showed us a collection of dvds that we could take back to our room if we wished which the kids was pleased with even tho it was to late for them to watch on. In the morning after a good nights sleep in a big comfy bed we had a look around at the animals which was fun and the kittens are so sweet.....I had to pat the kids down before we left to make sure we they had not smuggled one home with us!!! The breakfast was lovely and was taken in a nice light room that had a nice feel to it.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The access Road to the property was very uneven and rough so a slow drive was necessary. The French windows had no blinds only curtains, so anyone passing could see straight in. Closing the curtains during the day would make the room dark and was not practical.

    The accommodation was warm and comfortable. The bed was very comfortable, much more comfortable than many we have slept in whilst on holiday. The breakfasts were delicious, the cutlery and crockery of a high standard. The owners were very friendly and nothing was too much trouble.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room smelt a bit odd. The 9pm latest check in causes us some issues, as we were travelling a long way and had Friday evening traffic to contend with.

    Great place for kids, with some small farm animals, an outside play area and games. The breakfast was lovely and owners very friendly. The room was comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fact that I had only booked one night, it should have been longer, something I will put right in the future.

    Sarah and Steve were ideal hosts, there when you needed them, but not in your face, very helpful and attentive. The room was comfortable and spotless and my four year old grandson loved the animals and play area. Plenty of room to walk the dogs with a little fly fishing thrown in.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    My room was noisy. Located next to boiler? extractor fan? felt like being on board a ship with the engine room below. This noise did stop about 02: 00. This does appear petty but here goes. The pillows - covers or the pillows themselves had been treated with an very fragrant spray? softener? which I found overpowering. I meant to address this but after the fab breakfast it seemed picky.

    Immaculately kept fences, garden, out-buildings on the farm. Breakfast area and home cooked (to order) breakfast. Lovely surroundings in the quiet countryside. Top Tip - have your evening meal in town before returning to the farm. If you do venture out, have a designated driver who is confident on unlit single track bumpy roads.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Pet Friendly
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing I didn't like.

    The bed was great and the breakfast was the best anyone could want. There was plenty of choice and beautiful cooked to perfection.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family B&B Lodge
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bigger kitchen

    The farm and lodge was immaculate, breakfast wonderful, beds so cumfy could have slept for a week! !!!!! Our grandson loved everything, as we planned lots of trips all he could say was " can we go back to our lodge?" Can't give higher recommendation !! Wonderful, all we can think about is when can we go back

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Pet Friendly
    • Stayed 1 night

    The setting was gorgeous, the room with ensuite was just right, and the breakfast was delicious. We're already planning to book again and take some family members with us. Great location within easy reach of Pickering. Would recommend it highly.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Liked all of it but would say the park area looks a little neglected and needs looking at but everything else was fabulous.

    Excellent location. Lovely room and lovely seeing the animals everyday. The children loved it.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cabin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Can't blame the owners, but must say the journey home on bank holiday Monday was initially stressful - A64 - arghhh! Just like the M25 even at 10:15. Thankfully, the satnav directed us away from the notorious traffic jam. Tips for future visitors. Get the phone app 'TomTom Go' and pay for the live traffic updates. You can also set the route to 'winding route', which avoids all motorways and main roads. We managed to drive to Leeds through all the rolling hills and Yorkshire Dales avoiding the standstill on the A64; then we were on the M1 all the way down south, which was surprisingly flowing reasonably well.

    Ultra tranquil location, which is absolutely silent at night, being away from all road noise, planes, town louts, electrical generation and so forth... if you crave a very good sleep, then this is the place to stay. Coming from the south of England, I must say; what a breath of fresh air - literally! Places to visit close by: - Whitby, Rievaulx Abbey, Castle Howard, Dalby Forest, National Centre for Birds of Prey and so much more.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only cold water ran in shower shower. Apartment was up a steep flight of stairs. THE LOFT. Had I known I would have requested different as I have mobility issues.

    Lovely breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The bedroom was directly onto a lovely courtyard with your own seating area. The room was spacious and included a comfy setter plus a small fridge. The breakfasts were amazing and Steve and Sarah very friendly. They also have self catering facilities which we may use when in the area. An excellent location and facilities. Other people with children were very well catered for with a playground and animals.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family B&B Lodge
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is nothing to dislike at this property.

    The lodge was decorated and furnished to a high standard. The breakfast option was fantastic. The owners are very welcoming nothing is too much trouble. Our grandchildren loved it.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The noise of the central heating/hot water unit that divides room 1 and 2 prevented two of our number (3 in all) from having a good night's sleep. Upsetting, as they were the drivers for our journey south to near Dover.

    We were met by a very upbeat host.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family B&B Lodge
    • Stayed 1 night

    The wifi in our room was a little hit and miss.

    Great welcome, brilliant location and setting. Great selection for breakfast and very filling. Rooms and grounds very well maintained, their would of been plenty to see and do onsite if the weather had been kinder to us.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family B&B Lodge
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The curtains are too thin, they let in a lot of light , blackout blinds would be better as a suggestion

    Excellent location, excellent hosting by the owner and wife and all the team.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cabin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Can't fault a single thing at all!!!!!

    This was one of the best places we have stayed within the UK. Hosts that go out of their way to make you welcome, excellent location, superb breakfast, great accomodation. We will definitely stay here again when we are out that way.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family B&B Lodge
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There wasn't anything we disliked.

    The overall weekend was lovely. My kids aged 7 and 12 loved the play area and the animals. The staff were friendly and couldn't do enough for you. Is a perfect location for flamingo land no about than 15mins in a car. The accommodation is lovely and the breakfast was fab. Would definately stay again.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only downside was the weather, but we were warm and dry at our accommodation!

    The locality was ideal for our stay. Barker Stakes Farm is very dog friendly. The Lodge and it's facilities was first class. The proprietors were very welcoming and extremely friendly. They made us very welcome. We will definitely return.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing all was fantastic oops!!! Except it is quite a way to walk into Pickering you definitely need a car .but I think they need a bicycle hire .which would help as parking expensive .

    The owners and the animals on their farm .the breakfast was excellent.sarah is a sweetie pie and Steve is hilarious .never had such a fantastic breakfast yummy.

    Stayed in June 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: