Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis
  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. UK hotel reviews
  3. Cumbria B&B and inn reviews
  4. Ambleside B&B and inn reviews
  5. Reviews of Barnes Fell

Reviews of Barnes Fell 4 stars

Low Gale, Ambleside, LA22 0BD, United Kingdom

#6 of 48 B&Bs and Inns in Ambleside

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 147 hotel reviews

9.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.9

  • Comfort

    9.8

  • Location

    9.9

  • Facilities

    9.8

  • Staff

    9.9

  • Value for money

    9.6

  • Free WiFi

    9.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more- opens a dialog box
Write a review

Showing 1 – 75

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2018

    10
    Perfect stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Wansfell Double En-Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ethna was the best host you could hope for, welcoming and attentive from the moment we arrived until check - out. She provided excellent local knowledge and recommendations and made sure that we had everything we needed during our stay. The location was absolutely perfect, being less than a 2 minute walk to the centre of Ambleside, and perfectly placed for a number of beautiful walks. The room was spotlessly clean, well equipped and very cosy. 10/10 and will definitely be back again!

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2018

    10
    We had a great time - would definitely return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Fairfield Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing - wish I could have stayed longer

    The view from the lounge was amazing -fabulous mountain view. Ethna was very friendly and helpful. Having a car parking space was great. The apartment was spacious and spotless.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2018

    10
    Amazing host, amazing place to stay. PERFECT!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Fairfield Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A lot of attention to detail, fresh milk and hot chocolate provided. Everything was there, hairdryer, dressing gown the lot. Affordable and delightful!

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2018

    10
    A very enjoyable stay. Owner very helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Wansfell Double En-Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast not included in charge, but fully fitted kitchen enabled us to cater effectively for ourselves. Separate lounge, bedroom and kitchen provided very spacious accommodation, fitted to a high standard. Good views over the valley.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2018

    10
    Excellent and will rebook whenever we go back to Ambleside
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Wansfell Double En-Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    n/a

    Ethna went out of her way to ensure we had everything we needed and was always available to offer guidance on the town's facilities. The bed in the room was especially comfortable and we slept like babies! And the views.....spectacular!!

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2018

    10
    Peaceful & comfortable stay with beautiful views!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Loughrigg Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Ethna is a marvelous host who makes you feel special and very welcome in her home. Our room was spacious and cosy. Nicely decorated. Lovely roll top bath. The views from the windows are spectacular. Enjoyed the self catering nature of our stay here and the comfortable bed. Would happily return and recommend to friends.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2018

    10
    Great stay will hopefully be back soon .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Loughrigg Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was very comfortable . We loved the extra space with the living room and the views were brilliant . Also it’s in the centre so great for bars and restaurants . Also walks from the front door so you can leave your car .

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2018

    10
    Luxury, everything you need
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Loughrigg Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, brilliant value for money

    Gorgeous self catering space, beautifully decorated rooms. Felt really luxurious & spacious. Bonus of coffee machine which I hadn’t expected. Lots of attention to little details. Ethna couldn’t have been more accommodating providing lots of advice & recommendations for activities & places to eat. My girlfriend & I will definitely be back. Hidden gem in quiet spot five minutes walk from Ambleside village. Thanks for a lovely stay!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2018

    10
    Amazing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Wansfell Double En-Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely nothing

    Honestly can't rate this place enough, from the moment we walked through the door we were greeted by the lovely Ethna, who was amazing and attentive through out our stay, and was willing to offer help whenever we needed it! Our room was really nice and really clean and the bed was so comfortable, we never wanted to get out! When we did eventually move the location of Barnes fell is good with town being a 5 min stroll away! The room comes with a hair dryer and a heat mat for straighteners, which was handy because I had forgotten mine! We were given tea and coffee facilities, which came with little cakes which was a nice surprise along with the jar of sweets on the side of the bed! Honestly can not give this place a high enough review! she said she would even have us back despite breaking a lamp, which is good because we will definitely be back!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2018

    10
    An apartment I could easily live in
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Loughrigg Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The Loughrigg Suite we stayed in was amazing! It was like a home from home and the rooms were very spacious. You get a bedroom, kitchen, living room and bathroom all of which are separate rooms. The bed is very comfortable with more than enough pillows for anyone. The bedroom has enough storage with a wardrobe and drawers in all of the units. There's also a nice dressing table with mirror. If you open the window a tad you can enjoy the sound of the running water from the pond in the back garden. The kitchen has all of the appliances, cutlery, pots and pans, etc. you'll need. In fact the only thing you'd have to add to live in the suite full time would be a washing machine. No need to worry about having to do the washing up as there's a dishwasher. Ethna had kindly popped some fresh milk in the fridge for us on arrival so we could have a nice brew. The living room features a sofa, a table and chairs, a good size flat screen TV and some nice lamps which make the room cosy in the evening. In the bathroom not only do you get a spacious shower but a large roll-top bath which you can relax in, open the blinds and look out over the hills. Wi-Fi always worked great in the suite so if you're looking for a nice comfortable apartment to stay in while you're away on business it'd be the perfect place to pop your laptop on the dining table and do some work if you didn't want to sit in coffee shops all day. Likewise if you're looking for a couples getaway you can relax here without feeling the need to go out all day every day. Ambleside has a nice variety of shops, coffee shops/cafes, restaurants and pubs so there's always something to do any time of the day and a large variety of places to eat and drink. There's a Tesco Express in the town too so you can get any essentials you need. Ethna is a great host so if there's anything you need I'm sure she'll be able to point you in the right direction.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2018

    10
    Superb suite in the heart of ambleside
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Fairfield Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    I booked this place based on the reviews i had read and WOW its a hidden little gem! Perfect in every aspect with such wonderful hosts - location great, exceptionally well presented suite which had some fantastic little touches, very clean and inviting !

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    9.2
    Excellent location with a wonderful view, and very helpful owners.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Fairfield Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Excellent location with a wonderful view. The apartment was clean and well equipped. Above all, the owners were very friendly, helpful and exceptionally professional.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    9.2
    traveler
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Management notified me after we had already embarked upon our travels that cash would be the accepted form of payment. I missed out on credit card miles and we had to scramble to find ATM's that hadn't been exhausted of cash. Ambleside is not a big community.

    Great place if you don't mind walking up lots of stairs to get to rooms and to the facility itself.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    10
    Warm,friendly host who made sure we wanted for nothing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Wansfell Double En-Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked quite late and we were really impressed with the room. We had a lovely welcome by a host who went out of her way to make sure our stay was a pleasant one. We had off road parking too which was a bonus.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    10
    A fantastic place to stay in Ambleside!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Loughrigg Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This was the perfect place to stay in Ambleside, with great views of the town. After a long day’s walk, it was a pleasure to come back to the apartment, where our hostess Ethna would check in on us to see that we had everything we needed.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2018

    10
    Marvellous accommodation. Very central. Highly recommended.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Fairfield Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Exceptional accommodation. Exceeded our expectations. Ethna was a very welcoming host. Nothing was too much trouble. A very special place to celebrate our 30 Wedding Anniversary.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    10
    Ethna was a wonderful host who was always available to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Wansfell Double En-Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Ethna was a wonderful host who was always available to provide advice and an absolute pleasure to talk to. Room was very clean and comfortable with a calm atmosphere. We both thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would definitely book again.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    10
    A very warm and friendly place that I would visit again in a heartbeat!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I have nothing to complain about, which is unusual for me. The only thing that I would have liked was better weather!

    I loved our room and it exceeded what I imagined! There was a beautiful view from the rooms and Ethna was a delight to talk to and very helpful. There was no breakfast but we had a kitchenette and this actually gave us our freedom to work to our timetable! I wish we could have stayed a little longer and would definitely go back! We loved it!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    10
    Wonderful accommodation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Loughrigg Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Wonderful accommodation. Very clean and comfortable. We loved the view across Ambleside and the hills and mountains in the background. Highly recommended.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    10
    Had a fantastic time in Ambleside and the accommodation helped to make it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Wansfell Double En-Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location, the cleanliness and set up of the room, very well planned out. Very friendly owners , Ethan was very accommodating and a pleasure to talk too. Definitely would recommend and I’m sure we’ll be back next year.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    10
    Ethna is a wonderful host who gives us fabulous room as well...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Loughrigg Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Ethna is a wonderful host who gives us fabulous room as well as a feel-at-home hospitality. The apartment has all you need, a living room, a double bedroom, a kitchen, and a clean bathroom. All seems furnished recently. It only takes you two minute by walk to Amberside town centre. If there has to be something bad, I regretted I could not stay for some more days.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    10
    Fantastic accommodation and great hospitality, would definitely stay again and recommend to all.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Loughrigg Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We cannot think of anything we didn't like!

    We loved our stay in the Loughrigg Suite at Barnes Fell - clean, comfortable, good facilities and very nicely furnished, the views were fabulous, particularly from the roll top bath! Location was great - a short distance from town with all amenities and parking at the property was not a problem. Our wonderful host Ethna was friendly and informative, she made us feel very welcome and we enjoyed our chats. She also provides 'extras' such as milk, tea, coffee, dishwasher tablets, soap, etc, etc to ensure guests want for nothing at the start of their holiday, which was much appreciated. Thank you!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    10
    Excellent apartment, clean and well equipped.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Loughrigg Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Apartment was clean and well furnished. Separate lounge, bedroom, bathroom and well equipped compact kitchen. Lovely views over Ambleside. Landlady was very attentive and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    9.6
    Lovely little gem
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Fairfield Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were no major drawbacks or dislikes during our stay but, just for future guests, it might be helpful to have a few more cleaning products / materials in the kitchen (e.g. dish cloth, sponge, spare garbage bags, etc.). We asked for a dish sponge to clean a pan and we were very kindly and quickly provided with one.

    So quiet and peaceful and safe! A great location with direct access down into Ambleside. Parking available and great hospitality from Ethna. The views from our room were beautiful! The room was comfortable and the kitchen had everything we needed to make our own breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    10
    Wonderful stay here in the Fairfield Suite.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Fairfield Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wonderful stay here in the Fairfield Suite. The suite exceeded our expectation and it felt like home from home. The décor and furniture is all beautiful and the host left lots of little extras, which was great and well received. Views are fantastic and plenty of windows to see them!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    9.2
    Comfortable, convenient and fun!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Wansfell Double En-Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tea cups were small but we discussed this afterwards with Ethna and she would have been happy to change them.

    What a lovely place and Ethna is a wonderful host!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    10
    Exceptional!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Loughrigg Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I love how you can have views like these from the comfort of your roll-top bath & living room AND have the heart of Ambleside just a 5 minute stroll from your doorstep. The owners, Ethna and Nick, were very friendly and were always on hand for helpful advice and tips on what to do and where to go. We stayed in the Loughrigg Suite which takes up the top floor and I would highly recommend it. It has a modern kitchen, luxurious bathroom, cosy living room and a comfy bed. Ambleside has a lot to offer for tourists and this is an excellent location to enjoy them from.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    10
    Brilliant and relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Wansfell Double En-Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Really friendly, answered all our questions and really accommodating. Great location, close to the town centre but quiet and parking available. Fabulous stay!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    10
    The perfect getaway
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Loughrigg Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Barnes Fell is the ideal base for all exploration around Ambleside and local area. The apartment is well equipped with a brilliantly clean bathroom, comfortable lounge, modern kitchen and ample sized bedroom. Bath robes and towels were included. Views from every window are beautiful. Ethna (the owner) is ever so welcoming, kind and helpful. Having a car park space is a super bonus!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    10
    Wonderful stay with every convenience also a beautiful bath and bathrobes. Huge duvet was great too😊
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Loughrigg Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Fresh milk was left for us on arrival and there was a Bosh coffee machine with two latte capsules! Also a cafetière and some ground coffee. Excellent choice of teas even Twinings fruit! Nutella and marmalade also🙂 Everything was there for our comfort. Amazing stay⭐️

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    10
    Exceptional place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Fairfield Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything! Ethna is brilliant , really helpful. The room is exquisite, beautifully done and immaculate. You also have unlimited fantastic views. You are only a 2 minute walk into the centre of Ambleside where you will find countless great eateries and shops. Exceptional place and we will be back!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    10
    A great place to stay while exploring the central fells.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Fairfield Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, Barnes Fell exceeded our expectations.

    A brilliant location with parking. Very clean and fitted our requirements exactly. We could come and go as we pleased and the kitchen gave us the flexibility to have breakfast when we were ready. Great value for money.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    10
    Excellent,excellent,excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Wansfell Double En-Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having to leave

    Ethna the owner was the perfect host attentive nothing was too much trouble will definitely stay again. The apartment we were in was excellent.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    10
    Ideal location, excellent accommodation, very relaxing stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Wansfell Double En-Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wouldn't change anything

    Excellent hosts very helpful. Upgraded our room to a suite for no extra charge. The rooms were great , modern and spotlessly clean.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    10
    Great place to stay and value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Wansfell Double En-Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The location is close to Ambleside town centre, the room was really comfortable and Ethna (the owner) was lovely, and couldn't do enough for us to make sure we had a nice stay. Would definitely recommend Barns Fell to stay in Ambleside. Thank you, John and Zoe

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    10
    Perfect, whilst there, didn’t want to be anywhere else
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Loughrigg Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A gracious and lovely host overseeing a fabulous accommodation, great location with sweeping views over the hills, clean and comfortable living areas, mixed with tradition and modern, ensuring a very looked after experience, we enjoyed peace and comfort in an amazingly beautiful area, would highly recommend a stay here to chill and recharge

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    10
    Stay at barnes fell
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Fairfield Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's very central and a parking space provided. Ethan was very friendly and helpful. Apartment was lovely and comfortable and fresh flowers were a lovely little touch as was the wine and cakes that were left for us.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    10
    Second time we stayed here. Cos we love it the first time
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Loughrigg Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The neighbours are a bit twitchy if you stop outside their property, but they usually see that you are loading/unloading and go back to their business.

    We like the fact that it feels like our own apartment in the middle of Amberside. There is a secret car park, but you need to speak to Ethna (who is lovely) beforehand to get the location. It isn't far (1 minute walk), but we'd suggest unloading/loading baggage beforehand since the walk can be steep.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    10
    Lovely few days, would definitely recommend Barnes Fell.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Wansfell Double En-Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ethna was very friendly and considerate of our needs. She gave us a warm welcome and was available for any queries / additional information. A very comfortable room.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    10
    Weekend in the lakes
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Fairfield Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing all was great!

    What a fantastic find! We had a very relaxing and quiet stay in the apartment with lovely views of the mountains. It was spotlessly clean and everything was provided for a self catering weekend away. We would have stayed longer if we could.Our hosts made us feel so welcome and kept good care of us. Thank you! We will definitely return!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    10
    Absolutely loved it will definitely be staying here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Fairfield Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ethna was very friendly nothing was too much trouble the location was excellent. Right in the centre but on a quiet street and the views from the room window were amazing. Parking was no trouble. The apartment was lovely with lots of little extras provided, Such as tea, coffeee, hairdryer,shampoo, bath robes. This is the ideal break for anyone, whether you just want to relax, go for walks or enjoy the nightlife. We thoroughly enjoyed it and will definitely being going again. Highly recommended.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    10
    Barnes Fell is family run accommodation and they are very friendly and welcoming.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Wansfell Double En-Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing - it was wonderful accommodation.

    We originally booked a double room but when we arrived we were offered the apartment studio at no extra cost. This was a real treat and beautifully set out. The accommodation was bright and pristine clean and the views were spectacular.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    10
    Calm, peaceful, exactly as I’d hoped.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Loughrigg Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing was awful but Wi-fi was a little unpredictable and as it was at the top of the house there were a lot of stairs which I hadn’t realised when I booked. So not suitable if you are not fully mobile.

    Ethna was very welcoming and the property was exactly as advertised. Clean, modern, comfy bed and plenty of space. The bathroom is spectacular and the kitchenette perfectly adequate. It was good to have guaranteed parking close by too as it can be hard to find Parking. Excellent access to town too.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    10
    Perfect for a self-catering break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Loughrigg Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We stayed in the Loughrigg Apartment, which has everything you need for a self-catering break in the Lakes. - Very close to the centre of Ambleside (~4 minute walk). Great for all the restaurants, bars and cinema in the centre. - The location is very quiet and peaceful at night, while still being very close to town. - Free parking is very welcome (parking can be a pain in Ambleside) - Good shower and a really nice bath. Hot water was always available when we needed it. - Kitchen is well equipped for making your own breakfast, and preparing sandwiches for any activities while you're out (fridge, hob, toaster, microwave, dishwasher, pots and pans, crockery etc) - Heating works very well (in case you're concerned about the cold in the Winter) We prefer to make our own breakfasts in the morning, create and pack our own lunches and then relax at restaurants and bars in the evening. There's a co-op and a tesco express in the town centre for any bits you might need. For us, this apartment was perfect and provided everything we needed, including the option of Sofa and TV if the weather prevented us from exploring. Would we stay again? Absolutely.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    10
    A perfect base to explore Ambleside.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Loughrigg Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Ethna and Nick are fantastic hosts who genuinely want to make your stay as comfortable as possible. This wasn't hard as the accommodation was perfect and had every amenity we required. Looking forward to coming back. Many thanks, Martin and Linzi

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    9.6
    Very clean, bed very comfy, all appliances available,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Loughrigg Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very clean, bed very comfy, all appliances available, nothing was too much trouble for the host. Only a couple of minutes walk from the town centre. Quiet area.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    10
    Ethna was friendly and welcoming with oodles of positive...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Fairfield Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not much

    Ethna was friendly and welcoming with oodles of positive energy and helpful suggestions. An immaculate room with wonderful views and everything we needed. Parking was a breeze with Ambleside centre within a couple of minutes walk. Highly recommend it.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    10
    Very Happy and specially worth the 280 mile journey from south
    • Couple
    • Wansfell Double En-Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very homely and friendly place. Loved the location and Ethna was so kind and jolly, which made me and yasmin so welcome and happy. Would recommend this place to stay ..

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    10
    A wonderful place to stay in Ambleside.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Loughrigg Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very welcoming hosts, excellent location, we had everything we could have needed and couldn't have wished for a more comfortable stay. Fabulous views!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    10
    A lovely comfortable stay with wonderful views.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Fairfield Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We stayed in the Fairfield Apartment and it was everything we hoped for! An amazing view from the comfortable living room area. A very practical and well equipped kitchen with a dishwasher, two electric hobs, toaster, kettle, microwave and two cute bar stools to eat breakfast whilst admiring the views. Ethna was so helpful in making us feel welcome, once we arrived showed us around the apartment and put some fresh milk in the fridge to get us started. Ethna was around to answer any questions we had and even went to find two of her books on walks we could do. A lovely stay and we won't hesitate to go back and recommend to friends and family.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    10
    The views from Fairfield apartment are beautiful and you are...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Fairfield Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The views from Fairfield apartment are beautiful and you are minutes away from the centre of Ambleside. Everything was just perfect for us and we will no doubt return again. Thank you Ethna for being so friendly and welcoming.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    10
    Highly recommended - we will be back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Loughrigg Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Barnes Fell. It is well located for Ambleside's amenities whilst also being set in a quiet, elevated position affording fantastic views of Ambleside and the Fells beyond. Ethna was extremely welcoming and friendly without being intrusive. The apartment was well equipped and makes a great alternative to a traditional B and B or Hotel for those who want their own space.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    10
    The property is a short walk (2mins) from central town up a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Fairfield Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property is a short walk (2mins) from central town up a steep hill but it is totally worth it for the amazing views of the surrounding fells. Ethna was the perfect host, always available and more than happy to provide any information required. The Fairfield apartment is absolutely gorgeous, the photos don't do it justice. The private kitchenette was perfect for us wanting to make our own breakfasts and it was lovely being able to eat it at the breakfast bar looking out at the countryside. Would highly recommend this property.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    10
    A faultless comfy countryside retreat.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Loughrigg Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to dislike.

    Location great, very friendly helpful hosts,the accommodation was spotless and had everything we needed. Would certainly return. Many thanks to Ethna.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    10
    Superb with very welcoming hosts
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Fairfield Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Fabulous hosts, great location, (easy walk to all of the restaurants, shops etc) very easy to find, superb view from our room which was lovely and spacious, very willing to help with local knowledge etc, Would totally recommend for travellers to Ambleside

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    10
    Barnes Fell ; an unforgettable stay with a wonderful host.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Loughrigg Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing could have been better.

    Really clever and creative use of space with everything we needed, impeccably clean, lovely touch with bathrobes, a greeting card and fresh milk on arrival. Breathtaking views from the whole place but especially the bath, what a way to relax and unwind with a glass of something ice cold in a hot bath looking out at the whole of Ambleside and the stunning mountain tops and fells beyond. A warm welcome from Ethna our host; always delightful,available and helpful. Highly recommend this place to stay. No rush to have breakfast at a certain time allowing us to eat in Ambleside and support more local businesses. Just get booked up and experience luxury accommodation at very reasonable prices.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    7.5
    Nice view, just plan ahead for breakfast!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Wansfell Double En-Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Although it was stated on the booking that breakfast isn't included I didn't think it'd be a problem finding somewhere in Ambleside. On the weekends it's ok, but weekday mornings there were few places open before 10am - we walked around most of Ambleside looking. The larger apartment has a small kitchen but we didn't want to make meals, the smaller room we originally booked doesn't so it's something to consider.

    Nice view, large room.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    10
    A perfect (and slightly drizzly) long weekend in the Lake District.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Fairfield Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing.

    Ethna is absolutely lovely, couldn't have asked for a nicer host. The apartment was bright, cosy, comfy and clean. What more could you ask for?

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    10
    Perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Fairfield Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The apartment was spotless with fantastic views over Ambleside. Ethna was the perfect hostess - on hand if needed, without intruding. Will definitely return.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    10
    Barnes Fell.... Full marks 10/10...we will return
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Loughrigg Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing to dislike!

    Ethna made us very welcome,our apartment was immaculate,extremely comfortable,tastefully decorated and well equipped. It is central to Ambleside but in a peaceful elevated setting offering beautiful views .

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    10
    Amazing host and Apartment
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Loughrigg Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Beautiful apartment, stunning views, so clean, the bed was so comfy. The host goes above and beyond. We will be returning and would highly recommend this apartment, it's the best we have stayed in.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    10
    A perfect experience!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Wansfell Double En-Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I love this room soooo much!!!! The room is very comfortable and quiet. Ethna was helpful and kind. And the location was really nice as well, there were a lot of nice restaurant around the house.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    10
    A magic view in combination with a wonderful accommodation...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Fairfield Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing at all to complain about

    It was one of the best places I be ever been in my life... The owner was sooo friendly and nice to me and kind... The place was very clean and well made and a most amazing view in Theo's wonderful place callled Ambleside, in the Lake District... up in a modest Hill with wonderful access with the car or by foot... very best location... Thank you sooooo much

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    10
    Very warm welcome from Eithne who was extremely helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Loughrigg Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Very warm welcome from Eithne who was extremely helpful. Views of hills over housetops. Self catering, everything we needed. Self-contained, quiet.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    10
    Excellent stay with no complaints
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Wansfell Double En-Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The location of the property was excellent for what we wanted. Ethna, who owns the property was lovely with us and even bought me a birthday card. Will definitley return in the future.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    10
    Perfect place to stay in the Lakes
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Fairfield Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stayed here for 3 nights and it was absolute perfect! In a brilliant location, right in the heart of town but in a very quiet street with no traffic. You can literally walk out your door and walk into the countryside for hours on end with most walks starting from nearby. The "apartment" was a great size. Ethna the owner has cleverly converted her home so that you have a completely separate space with own bedroom, bathroom, living room and kitchen. We were so grateful of the extra space as it was raining a lot while we visited so we spent more time indoors than we normally would. The place was spotless although it is not serviced during your stay, however Ethna told us if we needed anything replenished or changed just to let her know. There was a complimentary bottle of wine and water in the fridge and Ethna even popped some fresh milk in the fridge so you could make a brew after your journey (tea and coffee were also provided). Ethna herself is very pleasant and strikes the perfect balance of friendly helpful hostess without being too intrusive. I would definitely recommend this place and we will stay here again next time we're in Ambleside.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    10
    could not fault anything, looking forward to going back soon.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Fairfield Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything, we were very lucky with the weather 3 days of sunshine, great digs with a great a welcome, after a full day of discovering so much to see and do easy to relax and get ready for the next day. Room was very spacious very clean and comfortable, home from home.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    9.6
    The view was fantastic, decor superb.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Fairfield Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I prefer a bathtub to a shower, that's just a personal preference & the hike to town was a bit of a hassle. Plus, with the hike to town & no breakfast, it was not as comfortable as it could have been. Even just adding some rolls & coffee(not instant) would be sufficient.

    The view was fantastic, decor superb. Very spacious.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    10
    Superb, will definitely stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Loughrigg Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing

    The location was superb!. So close to the centre of Ambleside, but high enough not to hear the noise. The view from our apartment was fantastic. Ethna was marvelous, telling us good places to visit and worrying about us. The apartment itself was lovely, with a nice relaxing bath after a long day walking. Parking wasn't a problem since we were early enough to get our own private spot, but I'd imagine if you were later you would have to park on the street (which isn't really a problem).

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    10
    Excellent find in Ambleside
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Fairfield Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just got back from a trip to Barnes Fell, the owner told me they've just recently refurbished and we were not disappointed! The suites are fab - ours had a spacious lounge area with gorgeous views over the hills, a lovely double bedroom, en suite bathroom & kitchen. The kitchen had everything you needed and was brand new. Everything was spotless & nothing was too much trouble for Ethna who was really helpful and gave us tips on good walks & restaurants. We'll definitely be back - little gem of a place!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    7.5
    A great place for a short stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Wansfell Double En-Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room was quite small and did not have any chairs or table. No breakfast provided!

    Perfect little shower, just press button to start. Big TV to watch from the bed. Lovely location just a few steps up hill from town centre.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2017

    9.6
    Wonderfully located Ambleside guesthouse
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Wansfell Double En-Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The property is right in the centre of Ambleside, accessed from the main drag by about 30 steps up, so perfect for walkers wanting to undertake walks nearby without the need for a car or use of public transport (Wansfell Pike and Loughrigg Fell are two options). Ethna who runs Barnes Fell is lovely, very welcoming and was on hand to provide guidance regarding suitable walks to match the weather (a bit rainy on my visit). She even lent me a few guide books for extra information. The room had been recently decorated and was clean and comfortable. Do note that some of the older reviews speak of food but this is a room only lodging and breakfast can be taken in one of the many cafes 5 minutes walk away. Daisy Cafe is good for a traditional cooked English breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    8.8
    A good, homely base from which to explore the Lake District
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Loughrigg Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    This is a very good place to stay. In a quiet location with lovely views across Lake Windermere to the hills beyond. The welcome was warm, friendly and helpful and in the privacy of the apartment we appreciated the freedom to self-cater.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    8.8
    Short relaxing stay in Ambleside
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Wansfell Double En-Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Good location - nice quiet area but still very close to the centre of Ambleside. Our host Ethna was lovely and made sure we were comfortable and even provided fresh milk and tea for us. Looking forward to a return trip!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2017

    9.2
    Beautiful view, great hosts.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Loughrigg Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Its a (tiny) bit of an trek up a steep staircase to get to the property, but this is nitpicking.

    Spectacular view over the town and surroundings. Fantastic service from Ethna, spacious and well-designed lodgings.

    Stayed in May 2017

Showing 1 – 75

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find cheaper? We'll refund the difference!

Guests also reviewed these properties: