Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Battlesteads 4 stars

Wark, Wark, NE48 3LS, United Kingdom

#2 of 3 hotels in Wark

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 443 hotel reviews

9.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.3

  • Comfort

    9.1

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    9

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    8.8

  • Free WiFi

    9.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    7.1
    The bedrooms were excellent, spacious, clean and with many...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The restaurant felt and looked dated though the food was excellent.

    The bedrooms were excellent, spacious, clean and with many extras. the staff were extremely pleasant, helpful and very professional. The observatory was a wonderful bonus and the talk was illuminating.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    7.5
    Quite nice stay but don't think we'll return there other than to visit the observatory.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Thought both the accommodation and food in restaurant VERY overpriced. Staff in restaurant seemed in a hurry to get us in and out quickly. If we visit that area again we would stay in the pub around the corner which was so much cheaper for both accommodation and food.

    Lovely location and the observatory is great and certainly worth a visit. Very nice bar area.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    10
    A very enjoyable, relaxed and comfortable few days....
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Only one disappointment worth mentioning was to do with breakfast, lovely homemade jams and local produce really deserve better than tasteless sliced bread! You have lovely bread in the evenings, surely you could make a bit more for the morning shift too? (We tried getting up earlier and earlier each day to see if we had just missed out but nope!).

    We enjoyed very good facilities in a nice quiet location with fantastic walks in the surrounding countryside. Our observatory experience was really informative, fascinating and a definite must that I would recommend to other guests. The evening meals in the restaurant were really fantastic, silky mushroom velouté to die for and the chocolate ganache dessert was the best pudding I've eaten anywhere I think! Special mention to Denisa, George, Barbora and Morag who were such attentive and helpful staff, I hope they got some time off as they seemed to be working every minute we were there! I hope we'll get a chance to stay with you again.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    6.3
    Location good, customer service training wouldn't go amiss.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mouldy fruit left in fridge. Used cleaning cloth left in the room. Some staff curt and we felt unsure about returning for a third visit.

    Great location

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    10
    It is a very accommodating hotel and nothing seems to be a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It is a very accommodating hotel and nothing seems to be a bother to them. We will be back. The food is very good with loads of choice and the rooms are more than enough to please anyone. every thing was good

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    9.6
    We really enjoyed our stay at Battlesteads!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I would off liked a more varied cheese selection.

    Room was beautiful and our bed very comfortable. Our meal at the restaurant was delicious and plenty of choices on the menu to choose from,the breakfast was also lovely. Wark is a lovely quiet place and we found it very relaxing.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    7.1
    A great location and comfy hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room seemed quite small for a family of 4. Breakfast service was poor one of the three days

    Bed was extra comfy and bathroom was spacious. Lots of free biscuits and breakfast was good

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    6.7
    Ok but felt like a training school for trainee hoteliers.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Faced by a giant cobweb when walking in the room. Staff member did not notice. Had to ask four times for coffee at breakfast (although one member of staff apologetic). No one took the time to notice that it was my partners special birthday. Who exactly is in charge?

    Food great. Observatory interesting.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    9.6
    Lovely hotel and our room was very comfortable and extremely...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nobody there to check.out. Rang bell several times. Finally located a member of staff who told me to just leave key on the desk. Later on when we returned in the evening just for a meal but not another night we were told we had left without paying. We felt very uncomfortable about that as we had assumed the money has been taken from our preauthorised card. Someone is needed on checkout duty.

    Lovely hotel and our room was very comfortable and extremely well fitted out. We were delighted with it. Very nice toiletries.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    10
    Friendly helpful staff, impressive restaurant, great real ale!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night

    Friendly staff, comfortable room and facilities. Great variety of beers and delicious food from the restaurant. Ample parking, and even an observatory onsite. Hopefully have a look in there next time I visit!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    9.2
    battlesteads stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    girls pull out beds were lovely. the "double" was two singles pushed together with a lumpy bed mattress topper on...totally let down as it looked amazingly comfy.

    excellent staff. beautiful family room

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    7.5
    Good location - nice hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room faced staff accommodation which was noisy until well after midnight. After complaining this was remedied for the second night. Some staff were very friendly others needed further training.

    Breakfast was good with a very good selection of local food.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2018

    10
    Everything, from arriving to leaving we were greeted by...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything, from arriving to leaving we were greeted by friendly staff and this continued with our stay, a special shout out to Morag who was great at her job and great with guests. Would definitely stay again.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    9.6
    highly recommended.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Amazing staff. We were hiking Hadrian's wall and were 5 miles from the hotel, with no buses running, and no taxi service, and someone from the hotel came and picked us up, and then dropped us back off on the hike route the next day. Amazing customer service that went above and beyond. Great rooms and great restaurant. Could have stayed a few extra days.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    9.6
    Lovely location, with friendly and helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lovely location, with friendly and helpful staff. Our stay coincided with their beer festival, which was a pleasant surprise. We would happily stay there again.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    9.6
    beautiful hotel in a wonderful setting surrounded by lovely countryside
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    there were many unavailable items on the menu and there seemed to be a preponderence of how our bill was to separated/paid which was inappropriate as we had not eaten yet.

    We stayed in room 15 which was beautiful and so comfortable, definitely worth the extra cost. The allocated space foe the evening meal was perfect for the event.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    6.3
    Amazing staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was incredibly small, we were using it as a family room for 2 adults and 2 children but would have still been small for 2 adults. The bathroom was awful and incredibly outdated, as well as being dirty. Food was massively overpriced.

    The staff were brilliant, especially George, but they were all were very friendly and very accommodating. The location was great for exploring Northumberland. Breakfast was lovely. The restaurant and bar area were very clean and tidy and nicely decorated.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    9.6
    A brilliant place to spend a few nights.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This hotel is everything we wanted but not as expected. It was better in all ways. The hospitality tray was really good apart from the usual tea and coffee tray it also included a caffetiere and the relevant coffee. Also a lovely bowl of fresh fruit very much appreciated. The biscuits were first class and kept in a glass jar for freshness. The staff were all pleasant and helpful and the beds were very comfortable and they had an over sheet which meant that we could sleep without the duvet. Apart from not being able to get a mobile connection everything was extremely good. They have a observatory but we did not use it this time , maybe next?.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    9.6
    The atmosphere and the ecological approach was refreshing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was some dust in the room on skirtings etc and a used food plate was left in the room. I believe it was a fruit plate that should have been replenished

    The atmosphere and the ecological approach was refreshing

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    10
    Excellent stay in a fabulous little hotel that has it all; even an observatory! Out of this world!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing - it’s damned near perfect!

    This hotel is a hidden gem. The location is fantastic for walking or just a quiet trip away. The rooms are beautifully decorated and very comfy and there are lovely eco toiletries in the bathroom. Plenty of lovely white towels too. The tea and coffee facilities in the room are also excellent with a good size cafetière and Ringtons tea and coffee, along with a jar containing three types of home made shortbread. The observatory is so interesting and run by local chaps who are so engaging. Even on a cloudy night there is still plenty to see and pass the time. The food at Battlesteads is out of this world. I can thoroughly recommend the battlesteads omelette for breakfast with local smoked Hake and cheddar! The full Northumbrian platter breakfast is a favourite with my partner too who thinks the bacon is the best he’s had anywhere! The first time we stayed we had a five course taster menu in the evening, which was simply wonderful. Staff are so friendly and helpful too and there is even a resident cat who sits on a bar stool of an evening. Just brilliant.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    5.4
    WHOLE PLACE A TRIUMPH OF GLOWING DESCRIPTION OVER DISAPPOINTING SUBSTANCE
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    FOOD WAS VERY DISAPPOINTING.CHOICE OF 7 STARTERS 2 INVOLVING GOATS CHEESE. I INVOLVING RABBIT.NOTHING I FANCIED. LAMB WHEN IT EVENTUALLY ARRIVED WAS FLAVOURLESS AND VERY DRY.

    REASONABLY QUIET

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    9.2
    Absolutely delightful, we hope to return soon:-)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The recycle bins in the hallway were not emptied (trivial but a bit annoying). Cannot really think of anything else not to like except we did turn the mattresses ourselves to make the bed even more comfy.

    Very spacious room, lovely gardens and general feel to the hotel. The (many) staff were very helpful and friendly. Food quality and the service were both outstanding. Fully support the green status and use of sustainable food and the home grown vegetables! A walk to the river in the local village was lovely and peaceful. A quality hotel that felt to be really good value for money, given the beautiful environs!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    7.1
    Comfortable stay but I don’t think I would return. There are other hotels in the price range offerin
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No food or snacks available after 3pm and before restaurant reopened for the evening As a guest there were no facilities for a late bar for residents

    The hotel stopped serving food at 3pm and there were very few shops nearby to eat. This should be highlighted so that customers are aware upon booking and can make arrangements to eat elsewhere on route.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    10
    Would return...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of phone signal.

    Beautiful hotel in a lovely rural village location with very attentive and helpful staff. Our family room was very clean, well appointed and extremely comfortable. The complimentary fruit in the room was a nice touch. The bar serves a reasonable selection of lagers and real ales and there is a lovely garden area to enjoy a drink in. The restaurant was lovely, and the freshly cooked breakfast was excellent. This hotel is a lovely place to go and get away from it all!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    6.3
    The accommodation was clean and well presented but the brusque staff let it down.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no option to have a bar snack in the evening if a large meal wasn’t required. We reported at reception that a cat kept climbing in our bedroom window and were told they knew and it was their cat.

    The breakfast was lovely and well presented. The cooked breakfast was freshly cooked.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    10
    We were allocated an outside cabin which was extremely...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We loved it all!

    We were allocated an outside cabin which was extremely spacious and contained everything we could have needed. Dinner in the restaurant was the most wonderful experience - the quality of the food was excellent.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    10
    We will definitely be back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was outstanding; both the bedroom and the bathroom were very large. The bed was comfy and we had loads of seating inside and out. The staff couldn’t have been more obliging and we would really recommend the home made orange marmalade gin!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    10
    Amazing, fantastic really enjoyable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing it a fabulous place.

    The Battlestead was fabulous. Very warm friendly atmosphere. Staff couldn't be more helpful. They were all lovely. The food was amazing and plenty of it. The chefs soups were to die for a taste sensation. I would recommend The Battlestead whole heartedly. As a pet friendly hotel Gilroy the cat is unique. I wanted to bring him home.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    8.3
    Brilliant brekkie!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The conservatory could have been cleaner, lots of dead flies on windowsills.

    Excellent location for exploring hadrians wall, superb value with an excellent breakfast!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    9.6
    We enjoyed our stay even better than our previous visit and will go again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Can't think of anything to complain about.

    Room was a good size and all was clean and looked good when we walked in. The bar staff were friendly and helpful like the rest of the staff. Food was excellent!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    9.2
    Wonderful, we definitely want to come back
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We loved our stay at the Battlesteads! Best breakfast I have had in the UK so far! The rooms are decorated individually and look great. There's everything you need and even more :-) we also enjoyed having a drink outside in the beautiful garden.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    5.4
    The room was well decorated and spacious with a lovely...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed in one of the lodge rooms and it was boiling hot, the hotel didn’t have a spare fan to cool the room down and the only suggestion was to leave the door wide open all night, which we obviously weren’t comfortable with. The bar staff were rude and made us feel extremely awkward while waiting for a table, when asking for simple things like bread or tap water in the restaurant It seemed like a massive chore for the staff who again were rude.

    The room was well decorated and spacious with a lovely bathroom. The outside seating area on the balcony was also a nice touch. The location was great for a walking holiday.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    9.6
    Fabulous stay in every way shape and form, highly recommend to others without hesitation
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing at all apart from we were unfortunately only able to stay one night

    Room 21 - Fabulous in every way from the dressing gowns, Jacuzzi bath, space in room, array of beverages, fruit in the room, dog treats and wonderful food in the restaurant - so much to say about our wonderful stay

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    6.3
    Room good .., welcome and atmosphere disappointing ... supper / tuna dish good .didnt feel special
    • Solo traveller
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Attitude waiting staff ..food available in room...atmosphere after refurb... now like a thousand others .... atmosphere at breakfast not special ... has changed since last visit and obvious refurb.,,,travel around uk/ abroad for work so have a perspective ...was special now feels functional...

    Room

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    10
    Beautiful property, lovely to sit in the garden in the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful property, lovely to sit in the garden in the afternoon sunshine. Staff all very polite and accomodating. Very comfortable place to stay, will stay again hopefully in this visit to UK, if not definatley the next as we would like to do their observatory.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    10
    Wonderful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The bed was very comfortable. The room was excellent. The restaurant and bar were beyond excellent. Delighted with our stay. Wish we could have stayed longer.❤️

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    8.3
    Good enough to want to return
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Scratched furniture

    Friendly welcome by Morag and all other staff although be nice when John learns to smile. Dee and Richard, your doing an amazing job well done. Excellent Restaurant for Breakfast and dinner. Very modest price for dinner and drinks Room and bathroom very clean although furniture a little worn, few scratches etc but not a deal breaker . Amazing Roman Forts nearby, Keilder Water, Great location for north west of England and only about 40 miles from Gretna Green. Amazing value for money on tasting menus especially with Wine flights as well. Impressive watching Eco warriors at work ! Awesome star gazing with observatory

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    10
    Village life
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was well off the beaten track but it gave us the opportunity to experience the village lifestyle. The dinner we had was excellent. Staff very friendly and a relaxing place to be.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    8.8
    Well worth staying here for food and relaxation and some great local walks that anyone can enjoy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Thunderstorms overnight

    Very friendly staff and great space to relax. Garden a lovely place to sit and chill out. Room was very clean and nice small touches of fruit, water, real coffee and home made biscuits. Restaurant food was very well prepared and great value

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    6.3
    Very comfortable but not luxury
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The back of the pub / hotel and car park needed tidied up. Luxury doesn’t usually include a view of beer kegs, cylinders etc. The garden and conservatory was an untidy hotch potch which spoilt the surroundings.

    Stayed in a luxury lodge. Clean and comfortable. Nice bed and bathroom

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    10
    will definetly be going back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    Excellent efficient and friendly staff. Food excellent and above what you would normally expect. Very good value for money. Taken their green creditientials very seriously

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    8.5
    Fine for a one night stay .We requested a quiet room and it was exactly that .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My casserole of rabbit was tough and tasteless ,but my husbands beef cheek casserole was most delicious .Paying £1 for tap water is a little strange .Whilst aware of the room price beforehand the bedroom we were allocated was not worth that price really .

    Location excellent for our travel but it has changed hands since we last visited it .

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    6.3
    the star gazing was amazing the food was not good at al. We loved our room but
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff were uninterested and blunt, especially the receptionist that greeted us. Room service is advertised until 11pm when I rung at 7:30pm to book food and drinks for 11pm I was told the kitchen shuts at 9:20 so they need to update there bedroom brochures. We were served food kindly at 11pm as we just wanted a sandwich and I was happy if the chef made it before they went home, but it didn't come with crisps as advertised and it cost around £6 if I remember correctly; they also forgot our drinks. We dinned on a set menu of 5 courses, it wasn't great, I don't want to be rude but as you can see from the portion sizes it was tiny hence the room service order. I've never left a restaurant hungry before. The beef and mash was a 'main course' and the dessert picture speaks for itself.

    our lodge room was lovely, I loved the Jacuzzi bath

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    10
    Perfect for a relaxing break in a beautiful setting with great food and stargazing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing could have been better.

    Everything was perfect. Food was out of this world! Staff were so friendly and couldn’t do enough for you AND they even have a resident cat who sits at the bar! Loved the observatory and the location is great for local walks.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    9.5
    Brilliant dog friendly stay with beautiful food, will definitely be back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    To be honest, I could not fault anything.

    Lovely friendly staff and very dog friendly, great check in experience, they even provided dog blankets/towel, treats, poo bags and little food gift :) Nice toiletries in the bathroom and very clean. Great bar area, again dog friendly and nice dining room/conservatory (where we had breakfast). You are even allowed to dine with your dog if you choose to.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    10
    Battlesteads has a lovely, warm welcoming feel to it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing to dislike!

    Battlesteads has a lovely, warm welcoming feel to it. We were greeted by a friendly staff member and shown to a lovely comfortable room where a good selection of hot drinks, biscuits, and fresh fruit awaited us (which we thought was a lovely touch) and complimentary eco friendly toiletries. We were there to take part in an 'Observatory Experience' with a 5 course tasting menu which was a birthday gift to me from our family. Although the weather was atrocious and we didn't get to sample the full Observatory Experience we'd hoped for, we still enjoyed the talk and learned quite a lot about the dark skies, we must try to return when the sky is set to be clearer! We also thoroughly enjoyed our meal, sampling delicious food we would not normally have chosen for ourselves, all beautifully presented, each course explained to us by very pleasant and attentive staff. The whole experience was most enjoyable, the owners Richard and Dee seem to put a lot of thought, love and pride into Battlesteads, and it clearly shows. We will return!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    6.3
    Pleasant building not value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room 12 disable bedroom was very smelly It smells of wet dog and give the room very unpleasant feeling The lady on reception changed are room to room 16 which was very nice The meal taster menu over cooked sea bass maybe take the skin off crisp it then the fish would be tender and not rock hard The wine tasting was not nice the wine was open and kept on the top of the fridge with lots of open bottles

    Bar area was lovely and comfortable

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    10
    Staff were attentive and welcoming.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff were attentive and welcoming. Staying at Battlesteads was everything we could have hoped for and more. Great locations with walks on the doorstep and plenty to see.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    10
    Really great hotel and food was superb
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Very nice room - large chalet described on booking.com as a superior room I liked that it was eco friendly- we had our own front door and terrace too

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    10
    Absolutely fantastic will definitely return
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wonderful room.Jaccuzi bath, terrace, fresh fruit in the room and homemade biscuits. Will definitely return. Want to go to the Battlesteads observatory!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    8.8
    Very good Inn with comfortable en-suite accommodation,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very good Inn with comfortable en-suite accommodation, friendly staff, good food and several real ales. Evening meal was excellent and good value. Breakfast service was a bit hit and miss ( had to ask for extra toast, hot food came out just as starting cereal, but good choice of cereals, fruit, marmalades, hot food and pleasant conservatory. Quiet location and spacious garden.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    10
    Out of this world!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints at all

    Beautiful. Large bedroom. Very nicely decorated, lovely furniture. Nice touch of a bowl of fruit for us. Service was very professional, welcoming and friendly. Food was absolutely delicious (5 course taster) wine was gorgeous too. Star gazing - superb!! Can’t say enough how much we enjoyed it, the staff were so knowledgable and we learned so much from them. Very much recommended, can’t wait to go again.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    10
    We stayed in a lodge which was excellent it a large living...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    We stayed in a lodge which was excellent it a large living area a huge B/Room with walk in shower & a Jaccuzi bath. Dressing gowns & Slippers were provided There was a small fridge with milk, fruit & bottled water. Tea, coffee,& hot choc. Provided The whole thing was 5 Star visit.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    8.3
    Staff behind the bar were very friendly and the breakfast...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There wasn't many photos of the room on the website. I booked a disabled access room only as it was the best price and not many rooms left (wasn't travelling with anyone disabled) so I knew it would be ground floor and and suitable for wheelchairs but didn't realise there would be a full disabled wet/room bathroom. It wasn't too much of a problem but if i had seen this in the photos online I would have probably paid more for a room with a nicer bathroom. Just a tip that there should be photos the website to show this.

    Staff behind the bar were very friendly and the breakfast was great (full English)

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    10
    We will be back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We have visited on a number of occasions and have never been disappointed. We find it difficult to make any negative comments about Battlesteads.

    Everything was perfect as usual. The staff are fantastic, nothing is too much trouble. The food was excellent, very well presented and hot. It never disappoints.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    9.6
    Fantastic food, fantastic hotel and a lovely observatory.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Like many hotels, they use two single mattreses instead of a double mattress on the bed, which I don't like.

    The food was fantastic! Battlesteads prides itself on being a green hotel, and they have a large set of solar panels to provide a lot of their power. They also have a lovely observatory with two massive telescopes, and run sessions there almost every night (although these would need booking in advance). The staff were all lovely, and the room was huge!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    10
    Great friendly and relaxed hotel with great food and cosy and welcoming atmosphere
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hardly anything really - would have been nice to see telescope as a guest even though organised event was full only thing

    Staff were great and the room was lovely - really appreciated the efforts to be a green hotel - lovely relaxed and friendly atmosphere too and fab food both at dinner and breakfast

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    7.5
    Relaxing break in quality accommodation with excellent food
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stale water smell in disabled shower. Not all staff as affable as they could be eg:checkout very matter of fact - didn't ask if everything ok/enjoy your stay etc

    Food was very good.Rabbit parfait - excellent.Good to see use of local seasonal produce both animal and veg.Enjoyed relaxed atmosphere , resident cat and well behaved dogs.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    9.6
    Excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was a gas problem on the Saturday morning so cooked breakfast choices were a bit limited, but it didn't cause us a problem.

    Food was superb even if we didn't have the tasting menu.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    9.2
    A most enjoyable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    The 5 couse tasting meal we had was very good-------as was the breakfast the following morning.The staff were all very friendly and helpful.Nothing was too much trouble

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2018

    10
    A great place to stay with the added bonus of the observatory.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night

    Dinner was a little later than booked which made getting to the astronomy talk a bit of a rush.

    The vegetarian tasting menu was superb. The astronomy talk in the observatory was fascinating and very informative. The telescope was amazing - state of the art! I liked the 'green' ethos of the hotel.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    10
    Fabulous
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little cloudy at observatory but nobody can predict that. Observatory team highly knowledgeable and filled the evening with amazing facts.

    Visited on a spur of the moment thing as wanted to go to the observatory. Have to say it was above our expectations. We we’re throughly spoilt. Accomdation amazing. We stayed in the lodges and wanted for nothing. Even our very own skylight to look at the stars. Main hotel and bar very beautifully decorated. And food was to die for! Compliments to the chef and catering team. We will be back!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    8.3
    Fabulous food. Brilliant night away.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dog friendly hotel which we knew about but a bit smelly and loud dogs every now and again.

    Food was fantastic and staff friendly and helpful. Massive room, exceptional value for money.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    8.8
    An enjoyable stay apart from feeling as if I was ripped off at checkout.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check in, assistant was really miserable. Also, I was quoted £80 for the room...online,but at checkout I was charged £100. I found this rather annoying to say the least, surely the price quoted should be the price to pay at checkout.

    Huge bedroom, huge bed, bathroom with 2 showers. Lovely breakfast and good service.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    9.6
    Comfortable stay and the observatory was a fantastic experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    homemade jams at breakfast were beautiful Evening meal 5 course tasting menu was amazing Good selection of toiletries in room Lots of space and the umbrella was a nice touch

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    10
    All Stars - the staff, the food, the cabin and the stargazing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautifully apportioned room, exceedingly clean, includes everything you could want for a comfortable stay: including a jacuzzi bath, king size bed and temperature control. The fruit bowl is a lovely touch too. The whole set up is ideal. The cabin rooms feel independent and private, but are just a very short walk back to the hotel/restaurant or up to the observatory. The food in the Battlesteads restaurant is amazing. Good, fresh food (including veg grown on the property) that is prepared to perfection. They were also able to cater for gluten free without any bother. The observatory is an amazing experience. We went to 2 talks and came away with our minds blown about the size of the universe, the distance of the stars and the sheer volume of galaxies that are out there. Lastly, the staff are all amazing. Warm, friendly and high standards at all times. In particular Morag who manages the bar, gives great tourist information and generally makes sure all your needs are being met. Amazing.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    10
    Comfortable, cosy and beautiful countryside escape
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our room was on the ground floor of the main building, near reception, which meant it was very noisy from quite early in the morning.

    Very large and comfortable bed Super helpful and friendly staff Excellent and beautiful location

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    6.3
    A disappointing, overpriced and underwhelming stay
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is a review in the telegraph which does a good job of summing up the experience of Battlesteads. I wish we had read it and then chosen not to stay. We were beyond disappointed with our initial room, the pictures are not reflective of the underwhelming decor. In no way does it reflect the price point for the rooms. The breakfast is a fairly dismal affair. Probably improved with small changes and fresher produce. The food overall was disappointing. The customer service needs vastly improving. Overall an expensive and disappointing stay for what should have been a special occasion. Which in itself was quite upsetting.

    There is an observatory on site. The female bar person made us feel very welcome.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    9.2
    Warm and friendly place to stay, cosy on a cold winters day.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Family room was quite small but at least they had gone to the effort to provide a family room option 😊

    Battlesteads provided a welcoming environment from the moment we walked through the door. Staff were friendly they had a cosy bar and provided beautiful meals

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    9.6
    Back in December with family. Looking forward to it already!
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Could do with secure indoor bike storage (minor gripe!).

    Everything! Staff brilliant, food outstanding, beer excellent, dog friendly. Really handy for Kielder, and right on Sandstone Trail MTB route.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    9.6
    We stayed and also had the dining experience and a visit to the observatory so an enjoyable break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I felt only the breakfast was a little lacking and the staff were so busy trying to satisfy everyones requests they could not do more

    The hotel had a nice feel to it and dining on the evening enjoyable -

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2017

    10
    This was one of the friendliest hotels that I have ever...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night

    This was one of the friendliest hotels that I have ever stayed in. The food in the restaurant was excellent and the breakfast was outstanding. I would thoroughly recommend Battlesteads for a short break.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    9.6
    Very relaxing, cosy comfort, in a beautiful lodge.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night

    The lodge was really hot overnight, even having turned off the heating before going to dinner. Bearing in mind, outside was cold and damp!

    The staff were very, very accommodating . Very friendly, but still professional. The lodge we stayed in was immaculate.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    9.6
    Loved the place and want to return with my wife so she can enjoy the ambiance.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having to leave, a) before the cooked breakfast time and b) after only one night! Minor point; if you need to depart early, sort out payment early as the reception staff leave before some have finished their meal. But that would not stop me from returning.

    Everything. The place, room, bar, restaurant in the hotel and the excellent staff. All very good and helpful.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    9.2
    Short stay whilst up to watch RAC Rally but would return for longer
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very comfortable, well-equipped room, friendly efficient staff, good food (breakfast amazing) and a great welcome for our dog Riley (towel, blankets, doggy bags, treats and food!)

    Stayed in November 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: