Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Bawn Lodge 3 stars

8 - 10 Hoole Road, Chester, CH2 3NH, United Kingdom

#12 of 35 B&Bs and Inns in Chester

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1080 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9

  • Comfort

    8.7

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    8.6

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    8.8

  • Free WiFi

    7.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    10
    Birmingham
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There wasn't much not to like.

    Room swa spotless and free tea, coffee and biscuits was a welcome addition. Staff were very friendly and helpful and the breakfast was spot on, variety of choice was excellent, i opted for a full English which was delicious and we will certainly recommend Bawn Lodge to our friends.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    5.0
    Poor ‘hotel’ good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfriendly staff Best described as noisy bar with accommodation Not even offered extra pot of tea or more toast (2 slices) including the egg on toast!

    Comfy small bed Fairly clean Excellent location with good local amenities

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    9.2
    Great location, friendly and helpful staff. Definitely would recommend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Underneath the beds could be cleaner. Cracked tile on bathroom floor could be replaced.

    Comfy beds. Large bath towels. Great size showers with good water pressure. Fans in room. Fridge in room. Friendly staff. Great food in onsite bar/restaurant. Large car park.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    9.2
    Good location, friendly staff and comfortable rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Attention to detail with cleaning such as the attack door on the bathroom and the window surrounds would have made cleanliness excellent

    Good location, friendly staff and comfortable rooms

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    10
    Great value for money. Lovely and clean. Good location from Chester centre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very hot but not the fault of the owners it was a very hot weekend! A fan was provided.

    Nice clean property and room. Friendly staff. Nice breakfast. Lovely big beer garden. About 15 mins walk into Chester.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    8.3
    Good location easy walk to the city centre
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very hot as no air con but then we are having unusually hot weather at the moment so shouldn’t normally be a problem

    Good location easy walk to the city centre

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    10
    I'll be back, won't bother looking at any other hotel in the area
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I believe it has gone through a recent refurb. Couldn't fault it in any way. Perfect location for Chester and the Zoo. Easy to find, free parking. Very friendly.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    9.6
    5* rating as far as we are concerned.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Leaving. Nothing we didn't like about our stay at The Bawn Lodge. We will definitely be staying again.

    Clean, spotlessly tidy, relaxing, easy walking to city centre 5 min to trainstation.Excellent breakfast and meals. Staff very pleasant and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    7.5
    everything ok for the purpose of our stay but would have prefered somewhere a bit more peaceful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our room was above the bar which was very busy & noisy it was open to the general public and was open until midnight, but to be fair the noise didn't go on much later than this. The hotel is on quite a busy road so quite a bit of traffic noise, the weather was very hot when we stayed which was great but we had to keep the window open which made the traffic noise much more noticeable. The bar served food and the menu looked nice but we decided not to eat there as it was very busy & loud. At breakfast we were only given one knife so we had to use it for our cooked breakfast and then for spreading the jam on the toast. It wasn't a major problem because we could wipe it on our napkin and I'm sure they would have given us another one had we of asked.

    The bed was nice & comfy. The bedroom & bathroom were clean, the towels were changed daily. The tea & coffee stuff was topped up daily. There was a fan in the room which was a great help at night as the weather was very hot. It was a short drive to city centre and there were a few restaurants & shops within walking distance. The purpose of our visit was to visit the city & the zoo and this is a good location for both. Usual stuff offered for breakfast, juice, cereals, choice of cooked, toast, tea, coffee etc

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    6.3
    Definitely not the Bawn ultimatum....
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Upon arrival there was no one to check us in at the reception.. we rang the bell twice.. and asked 3 members of staff if anyone was around.. we waited 15 mins for the guy to come. And after a long hot drive.. it's not what you want.. We were very nearly walking out and going else where... we've been travelling for 10 days and stopped in 8 hotels.. and this was the only one that we had to wait at reception.. non of the other staff had been trained.. I'm sorry.. but when the guy arrived at reception, he had a cocky attitude, and said he'd been in the loo... what for 15 mins!!. I'd already filled in the arrival form whilst waiting, so it was only a matter of someone showing us our room, telling us that breakfast was between 7 and 9.. not rocket science.. the guy proceeded to say that they like to know what time we'd want breakfast.. why??. It's between 7 & 9.. so we just make our way down.. but we said we'll be down for 8.30. Our room was tidy, hot and small.. but tidy.. the shelf in the shower was rusty.. the shower didn't have a pin in so when you turned it on it was red hot.. and turning it round to cold was mighty hard work.. when you eventually got it on to cold.. it pulseated through the pipes.. We had dinner at 6.. and it wasn't anything to right home about.. my boyfriend had pizza that looked well not appetizing, dry crust and not exceptional.. I had feta parcels, which were ok and then chillie tacos that came with chips, homemade chips.. and a little bit burnt.. Breakfast.. well considering we said we had to tell them what time we'd be down... cereals, juice and coffee were all lined up on the main bar.. the waitress was friendly.. asked if we want toast and for breakfast.. after asking us.. we waited 15 mins for the toast to come out, which wasn't overly warm then the breakfast arrived.. not the best.. a little bit greasy. Check out.. no one was there.. I rang the bell.. the chef/cleaner came...

    Location for Zoo...

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    6.5
    great breakfast /great location would consider staying again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very warm,fan circulated warm air,towel rail/floor tiles felt warm.Shower could not be regulated was very hot.Breakfast was 1st class, however being served in the bar is not an entirely suitable location for same. Pub very noisy , so earplugs should be provided for guests not availing of the pub facilities.

    Excellent location ,room was fine,tea/coffee making facility.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    7.5
    The evening meal we ordered was nice but breakfast was below average.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom would have been fine except the toilet seat was on the floor and no one came to fix it. In fact the lady who checked us out in the morning made a joke about it . We did not laugh!

    Beds were comfy.....Room was clean .

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    10
    Good location, easy access and parking, smart rooms, friendly staff and general all round good vibe.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I didn't eat in the evening so can't comment, breakfast was so so - other than that this place is great.

    Good location, easy access and parking, smart rooms, friendly staff and general all round good vibe.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    10
    Would recommend staying and would definitely stop there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    having to leave and come home.

    We did not use the wifi so cannot comment, food was good, location was perfect and the room was really comfy with a good shower, staff were all helpful and polite and car parking was handy as well.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    8.8
    Good food, nice staff, beautiful city, enjoyed our stay apart from very noisy room location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Room (9) we were given was situated above the Bar toilets. The constant banging of these doors when people entered followed by the sound of the hand dryers followed by the banging again when they left is absolutely horrendous. This got worse as the evening went on but was something that started at 7am and went on until about 11.30 pm

    Food was very good - except on last day breakfast when they changed to cheap, nasty sausages. location convenient for city centre. Staff were excellent - very friendly and helpful

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    9.2
    Comfortable and clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything was better than expected, photos on site didn’t do the hotel justice though I think it is being refurbished, very pleasantly surprised by the hotel

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    10
    We had no idea what to expect but were pleasantly surprised with the management, staff and food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was nothing we could find fault with.

    The hotel was very relaxed but very efficient. We changed rooms as we were at the front and it was a bit noisy from the road. The staff were very helpful with this and with all our dealings with them.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    8.3
    Good for a weekend stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Car parking was limited and had to park off-site on another street one evening, but this was affected by some building works on-site so likely to be only a short term issue. Also room was uncomfortably warm to sleep in, so had to leave windows open overnight, which led to noise issues. But these were relatively mild inconveniences which didn't detract from an enjoyable stay.

    Very convenient location for the weekend we were staying, and the staff were very pleasant and helpful. Food was good as well both in terms of breakfast and dinner.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    8.3
    This accommodation is big pub with lots of visitors, but our...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    All staff were works for Pub also, so always nobody was in reception. I had to press alarm whenever I had business in reception.

    This accommodation is big pub with lots of visitors, but our room was quite. Room was clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    8.3
    Great short break to celebrate my husbands birthday
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had to wait a long time for breakfast to be cooked but do appreciate meals cooked to order can lead to this compromise

    Lovely lunch in the beer garden at the front of the hotel. Big room with good facilities, especially the fridge. Vibrant bar

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    7.1
    Adequate
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check out , l tried to checkout three times before finding anyone at the desk, others were having the same problem. The breakfast was poor with cold dry bacon and they had run out of mushrooms.

    The cleanliness was good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    7.1
    Good weekend break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    friendly helpful staff,good choice of breakfast,nice clean room with comfy bed,although a very busy bar noise could not be heard from room at back of property(would be different in front room)

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    7.1
    Plenty of parking behind the Inn.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Right on the main road into Chester next to the pelican crossing which unfortunately was right outside my window (very muggy evening so had to have the window open).

    Plenty of parking behind the Inn. Excellent WiFi availability. The room was very clean and comfortable. Breakfast was good as well.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    8.8
    Excellent staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were so warm! No blinds/net on the massive window which looked out onto a main road.

    The manger who was working the weekend we stayed was so helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    10
    Good location and good value for money too.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The shower could have been a bit better as it could have been more powerful. It did its job but it took a long time to rinse long hair.

    Good value for money and the food was excellent at breakfast and in the evening.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    7.1
    Good location but very noisy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is very much a pub/bar first and accommodation second. It was noisy until late (although appreciate I was there over bank holiday and Champions League Final weekend) and my room must have been above the toilets given the noise of hand dryers constantly. They could also do with investing in soft close doors and/or cupboards downstairs to prevent the constant banging. Cooked breakfast was ok, a little small and greasy.

    Room was clean and comfy, staff were very welcoming. Breakfast selection was good. Really close to the station and great bus links to Cheshire Oaks and Chester Zoo.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    6.5
    REPAIRS OR RENOVATIONS SHOULD BE DONE OUT OF SEASON
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Banging with the doors being changed around us. Very, very noisy on Tuesday ( quiz night) English breakfast was not good. soggy undercooked hash browns , tasteless bacon, weird sausage.

    the room was clean.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    9.6
    A lovely stay all round friendly.....
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only bug bear was the constant door banging and a noise we couldn't work out what, but was was on and off all day and in early evening ...like a loud industrial vacuum cleaner blasting not sure , , we had had a long journey and wanted a nap but this wasn't possible. However we did have a good nights sleep :)

    The cleanliness excellent , food lots of choice ,the bed very comfy and pillows, prices for food and drink very reasonable,a good feeling when you walked in to the place,the young lady who booked us in was so cheery and helpful.....

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    6.7
    we liked that there was parking and it was convenient for...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    we hadn't realized that this lodge was a popular pub and it was very noisy until the early hours of the morning -- we had to get up at 5 so did not get much sleep -- disappointing -- we should have examined it more carefully. It was handy to get to the Manchester airport.

    we liked that there was parking and it was convenient for travel the next morning to the Manchester airport

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    6.7
    Staff worked well even though they were under staffed. Overall a pleasant stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed too hard. Very slow breakfast service on the first morning. (1 hour) Only one sauce bottle between all the tables.No table service for drinks only for food.

    Cleaner very nice,rooms very well kept.Good shower, really hot water from the sink as well.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    9.2
    Great B&B, highly recommend!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was early, could be a bit later. Room was too warm but there was a window to open.

    Bed was very comfortable. Shower was really good. Room very spacious. Great bar downstairs. Not too far from city centre.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    9.6
    Would definately recommeme. Perfect spot to access all areas
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were ok with the busyness of the hotel but for anyone who likes a quieter time check the race dates especially fri and sat

    Staff came in each day to change our towels and make the bed. They were also very friendly. Meals served during the day were excellent and good value fi

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    10
    Fabulous!!!!!
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All good👍

    Bought as a Christmas pressie for my Dad and Partner stayed Friday 11th May, for trip to Chester Races. Adam on the reception was excellent from the start, letting them check in at 11.30am and then getting them a taxi to the races, they were both very impressed with hotel and facilities and amazing hospitality by all staff at the hotel. A credit to the Hotel😉

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    8.8
    Good location for centre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small car park. Bedroom right next to outside drinking/smoking area so can be noisy.

    Friendly staff. Nice clean and comfortable. Walking distance to centre.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    10
    A Night Away With Friends.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property was so cosy, and had such a great atmosphere. The room was immaculate and very nicely presented. Would definitely recommend friends to stay when visiting. The staff were enthusiastic, and welcoming. My friend had never visited Chester before, and I wanted to show her “the ropes” before I returned to uni off my gap year - she was also very impressed and thought the property enhanced he overall-experience. Thank you very much.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    8.8
    Very pleased with our stay and would return
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The weather was great (no complaints!)but it meant we needed to have the bedroom windows open and we were overlooking the pub garden and above the bar. So probably not ideal if you have young children or want an early night.

    Large, clean and comfy room. The food was good and there was a varied menu on offer. Attractive and welcoming bar.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    9.6
    The staff were fantastic and really helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I personally found the bed to soft as I prefer a hard mattress. This is a personal preferenance and I would expect the vast majority of people to find it extremely comfortable.

    The staff were fantastic and really helpful. The property and rooms were clean, tidy and well maintained and well within walking distance of the town centre. The facilities at the property were great and the pub is excelleant and exceptionall busy with local resisdents. This did not disrupt our visit in anyway and I would certianly stay again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    10
    Enjoyed our time there happily return if we were in that neck of the woods
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Bawn Lodge was exceptionally clean and it was obvious staffed worked to achieve that. We had travelled by train and hotel was situated very near to station but was within easy walking distance of the centre. Good breakfast. facilities within the hotel were being upgraded but caused mimimal disruption to us as guests

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    10
    Well worth the money and friendly staff who could ask for more.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was nothing we did not like.

    We were made very welcome and the room was large and comfy. There is parking at the rear of the property. Located just a short distance from Chester City Centre ( about a mile ) The breakfast was very good, 8 choices of cereal, vegetarian if you want it, or you can have a full fry up, tea or coffee and toast white or brown. We will definitely go there again. I would recommend this place to anyone. If you go then you must visit Grosvenor Park but don`t forget to take Peanuts in there shells to feed the Squirrels, they will sit on your knee to get the nuts and then run off and bury them.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    8.8
    A great way to enjoy Chester which we hope to repeat soon.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff were very welcoming and helpful. Ideal location for walking into Chester and close to Motorway, so easy to get to. Good choice of well prepared food, and well stocked Bar.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    10
    I intend to return as I was born here and have never been. I want to learn about its history.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing I could see could be improved except that we arrived late morning and we could not book in until the afternoon but that was no problem...left luggage in the car and popped into the city. A taxi ride back from the Town Hall area was under four pound but worth it.

    Very friendly staff ....very nice young gent with toting a beard had a great smile and I felt very welcome...The food was great ...no need to look for anywhere else. The clientele were obviously at home.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    7.9
    Good set up of bar a dining downstairs.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was noisy as we heard traffic noise and music and crowd noise from the bar downstairs.

    Good set up of bar a dining downstairs. Breakfast was good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    7.9
    Good location, friendly staff, uncomfortable bed and a lot of noise could be heard from the bar.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was really uncomfortable so didn’t sleep well. Also could hear the noise from downstairs until late.

    Location and atmosphere. It was a sunny day and the garden was full.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    9.2
    Comfortable bed, lovely towels, great food, good location, free parking and pleasant staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Fixed TV sited on a wall that could not be viewed easily. Problem could be solved by putting it on a bracket that allowed angle to be moved. No towel rail in bathroom so had to put towel on floor when getting shower.

    Bed comfortable, breakfast good, dined at hotel on 3 evenings food very good! Room clean and quiet (at the back of hotel). Easy free parking. Although renovations taking place no noise until after 9.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    9.2
    Stayed for a weekend break and the location was excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing comes to mind.

    Very friendly, efficient staff, excellent food at a good price and good beer selection. Very busy all day which gave a great atmosphere.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    8.3
    Very nice overnight stay great to walk around Chester town shops lovely stroll down by the river.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing even the weather was good!

    I liked the fact it was a pub/restaurant/B/B. It was a 15 min walk into Chester, the staff were all very friendly, we will be back !

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    9.2
    Nice place shame about the noise.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy and loud music in the bar/dining room was very off-putting whilst having a meal ,could hear noise from the bar at night whilst in room

    Excellent location for Chester , good car parking , good outside facilities.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    4.2
    Very dissatisfied
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was very uncomfortable the room was very noisy the shower didn't work properly the soap dispensers were empty there was no remote for the television all in all didn't enjoy my stay at Bawn lodge

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    7.5
    Near the city centre, good accommodation and staff. Very noisy at weekends.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excessive noise! The noise from the bar downstairs was extremely loud. We stayed over the weekend and Friday night and Saturday night was bad. Bar closes at midnight but the noise from the staff cleaning up and their loud music continued to 1am. Asked to move to a quieter room and were told we were in one of the quiet rooms. Sunday night was fine and I assume during the week might be ok too, but if you want a quiet weekend you won’t get it here. Staff were friendly and accommodation was good, only issue was noise.

    The staff were really nice, food was good and good sized room and bathroom. 15 min walk to the city center.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    10
    Pleasant stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was building work going on which I would rather of been informed abou

    The location was brilliant a lovely little street just over the road and a ten min walk to chester

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    10
    Good value accommodation for a tourist city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was a bit skimpy ie one egg, one sausage...a child sized breakfast.

    Good room, big shower cubicle, good sized TV (they are sometimes tiny). Very clean, friendly staff. Close to city centre.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    10
    A perfect break away from home.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I liked everything I saw and can't think of anything to improve. The staff were exceptional even when they were really busy.

    Everything, the staff always helpful and friendly. The food was excellent, value for money. Would recommend to friends and hope to visit again.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    8.3
    In all fairness I was only there for a night and the staff were great. I would stay again.
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed was a little too soft for me but pillows were great. On a busy road so early morning traffic a bit of a nuisance.

    all staff were extremely helpful and friendly. My room was changed upon arrival as it was quiz night so would be quite noisy until 11pm and room was changed to a quieter one. Food was good pub food and breakfast brilliant selection.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    7.5
    One night stay
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room 2 bed mattress had deep dent in middle..

    Rooms have all comforts you're likely to need or want. Nicely decorated, everything in good working order and clean. Nice looking property, clearly popular and well visited. Good breakfast

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    7.5
    Good hotel in good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Building work going on right under our room until 7pm on first night and started at 8am next day. Breakfast waitress a little abrupt at weekend.

    Food good Room very clean

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    7.9
    Comfortable and well located hotel. Free parking at rear and free wi-fi. Booked room with b/fast inc
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We, personally, didn't have any problems checking in and out but several other guests did whilst we were there as the reception was not always attended, and the bell didn't help. We also had to negotiate loads of work vans and equipment as there were alterations going on that we were unaware of. Our car got covered in building dirt and dust. Would have been nice to be informed of workmen and building work going on so we could make other arrangements for our stay if necessary. Have to carry all the luggage through the bar to get to reception, which isn't great when it's busy.

    Free Wi-Fi, the bar and food, plus a quiz night if desired. Breakfast was good. Close to Chester and the Zoo. Good local shops and pubs around to add variety. Good value for money and a free car park at the rear.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    10
    not bad but not brilliant
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had room 9 above bar area and there was too much noise after 10 despite reception saying door would be closed. They did offer to swap rooms earlier but said it should be quiet later. Wrong

    Nice room, clean and tidy. Food very good if a little slow at dinner, but they were very busy. Nice breakfast.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    7.1
    Cheap hotel close to Chester ok for someone on a budget
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lot of renovation work being done which was not indicated when booking and did not at all like the cleaner sweeping up the cigarettes from outside and coming past our breakfast table with the dustpan

    The room clean and the bed was super comfortable nice tv and tea coffee facilities the staff were friendly easy stroll into Chester

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    8.8
    Perfect overnight stay for a visit to beautiful Chester.
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Outside the hotel is very light so could have done with blackout curtains. I found the pillow a bit resistant but then I’m used to feathers.

    All staff friendly, helpful and welcoming. Large warm, comfortable room with all facilities. I was worried about noise when I saw my room’s proximity to the road and busy bar but needn’t have... it was nice and quiet. Great breakfast. Wonderful shower!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    10
    Bawn lodge
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I have no complaints about this property

    Really nice staff, good size rooms, great shower, comfortable bed. Great breakfast in the morning. Short walk into Chester centre. Will book again

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    10
    Nice hotel close to the city, half the price of the other hotels
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Scraping the barrel a bit but some rooms maybe affected by the noise from bar.

    Nice hotel with a nice bar, located within walking distance of the city centre. Almost half the price of its local competitors.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    7.5
    Very comfortable, warm and clean rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only issue we had was other guests making noise leaving or returning in the evening which disturbed our sleep on the first night.

    Really nice breakfast cooked to order. Room was clean and comfortable. Great location for getting into city centre. Approx 20-30 min walk dependent in whether you take the canal route.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    10
    Very good experience,good value for money stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They need an all electric towel warmer in the bathroom,for heat in the bathroom and also to keep the towels dry.

    Lovely experience at this family owned hotel. All our dealings at this hotel were handled extremely professionally. Very polite and down to earth. All the meals were freshly cooked and all very tasty,and very well priced. Lovely experience. This hotel when totally finished with their on going improvements ,Will be second to none 😊😁😄

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    8.8
    We came away wanting to go back again...soon!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only one minor gripe and that was that the shower didn't get hot enough🙁

    Location,relaxed atmosphere,friendly staff,the bed was very comfortable,excellent value for money,real ales were a bonus

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    9.2
    Very pleasurable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had to carry bags from car round to front in the rain. Don't think it could be helped

    Extremely comfortable bed. Hot chocolate drink in room and cookies

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    10
    We had a lovely stay and enjoyed the Breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a bit noisy as we were above the bar but we were still able to sleep well.

    I really appreciated that they had gluten free options for me at breakfast.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    7.9
    Served its purpose for a one night stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Too much going on in breakfast with workmen backwards & forwards. Quite noisy. Bar being vacuumed underneath at 6 a.m.

    Nice bed and member of staff who checked us in was very friendly.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    10
    Great value highly recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Family Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to dislike!

    Excellent value for money, staff were great really friendly abd helpful. Location is fab clise enough to walk into Chester centre but also lots of fab little shops/cafes/pubs in Hoole just over the road from hotel. Bar at hotel is great bustling and lively with great service and tasty food.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    10
    Loved this place!!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mixed with modern rooms and classic look... The breakfast was brilliant... The staff were really friendly and welcoming and it was absolutely immaculate..and only a 10 minute walk to Chester Town centre... Definitely be coming here again 👍👍

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    8.8
    Very comfortable room in a hotel in a good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    While eating breakfast the cleaner was cleaning the tables in the bar(where breakfast was served). Beautiful breakfast with s smell of cleaning products in the background. Could have been done after everyone had eaten.

    Stayed in room 4. Really large double bed, spacious shower. Warm cosy room.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    7.1
    Ideal if you want to be in Hoole, rather than in central Chester.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Good breakfast - more than just the standard "Full English". Friendly staff. CAMRA quality real ales, changing from day to day. Although we did not intend to visit for the sake of the bar, it was a nice bonus.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    8.8
    Convenient and friendly stay!
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only issue I had was that the curtains are so thin, think tissue paper! I had a room on the road so all the light from the street lights poured in all night. Ask for a room at the back of the property, as apart from that the place is great!

    Very friendly place and convenient for Hoole and Chester!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    10
    Great experience, highly recommend it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hard to find fault but if I’m gonna be really picky there is a loose squeaky floor board above room 7! Nothing else to say.

    Comfortable well equipped room. Great facilities. Friendly staff. Lovely breakfast.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    10
    Excellent Value - Nice Room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maybe Reception area could be improved.

    Spotless Modern Room with good facilities, good breakfast and good location. Nice bar for quite drink. Pleasent Staff.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    10
    Great value for money and excellent staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This is the 2nd time we have stayed her now stay anywhere else. Its only a short walk into town and the bar area and food is always a bonus to come back to.

    Stayed in February 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: