Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Baytree House 4 stars

30 Lyndhurst Road, Lowestoft, NR32 4PD, United Kingdom

#20 of 32 hotels in Lowestoft

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 359 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    8.7

  • Location

    8.5

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    9.3

  • Value for money

    8.7

  • Free WiFi

    8.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    4.2
    Did not enjoy stay it was nothing like advertised have stayed in better places
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double En Suite Room (5)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast had parsley over it and it was a very small breakfast the bed was broken you cldnt open windows in room it seemed like the owner just wanted posh people in there we was to common for her

    The bath was the best thing

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    8.8
    Very pleasant place with nice staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Luxury En Suite Large Family Room (10)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    TV in room run on WiFi & kept loosing signal. Unable to watch World Cup highlights!

    The room was lovely despite the photos giving an impression that the room was much bigger. Delicious breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    8.8
    Great value B&B
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Ensuite Room (7)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Blind in the room didn't really block out the light so I woke up earlier than I wanted to

    Very friendly staff. Nice clean comfortable well equipped room

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    10
    I liked their home made banana bread - it was delicious.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double En Suite Ground Floor Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was nothing .

    I liked their home made banana bread - it was delicious. The room was lovely and the bed was very comfy. I enjoyed my stay here.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    7.1
    Very pleasant but could have been better.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double En Suite Room (5)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Parking.

    The owner was welcoming, helpful and friendly as were all the staff. Comfortable bed, shower lacked shelving for shampoo etc, otherwise fine. The toilet seat had a mind of it's own, and the wash basin in the bedroom would have benefited from a tap (spout) extension. The food was excellent, a breakfast menu to be recommended.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    6.7
    We book a family room for 4 and ended up with one double bed...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We book a family room for 4 and ended up with one double bed and one single. One of our kids had to sleep in a foldable bed added at the last minute. Not 100% to our standard in terms of cleanliness (bedding and shower)

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    9.6
    Home from home.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double En Suite Ground Floor Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wed site says that there is a private car park. Unfortunately you have to take pot luck in the street.

    This b&b has a very relaxed atmosphere, you are made to feel very welcome. A home from home. The breakfast is amazing served with homemade bread. I would definitely stay there again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    5.8
    Average
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double En Suite Room (5)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Instant coffee @ breakfast. No kettle in room, a pod machine which made making an ordinary cup of tea difficult. I wudnt rate as a luxury B&B but ok for a pit stop along the way

    Breakfast was very good & very nice bathroom with slipper bath

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    7.5
    It was ok for overnight stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Ensuite Room (7)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Roadside parking could be an issue. Sadly there was a problem with the provision of hot water which the host was most apologetic and my bill was reduced. The bathroom had a damp odour. The front porch was very shabby - not like the photo on webpage.

    Situated on a quiet residential road.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    9.6
    Great place to stay. Lovely breakfast.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double En Suite Room (5)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The loo made a funny loud noise from time to time. I was woken up too early because of light coming into the bedroom. Black out curtains would make the room much better.

    Nice room. Good firm mattress. Great breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    8.8
    Lovely , comfortable stay, would stay again..
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom (9)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing ...

    Booked single room, was given large family room with en suite for same price. Lovely Breakfast , Good Host , Good Location. Would stay again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    7.5
    It was friendly and comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    States on website there is a private car park which is wrong and also owner has dogs and they are free to run around which isn’t a problem for me but should be stated somewhere due to many others having fears or allergies.

    Owner is brilliant and very welcoming, nothing is too much for her.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    10
    Excellent very homely
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double En Suite Room (4)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lady of the house was lovely and welcoming. The breakfast was one of the best we’ve had in a long while. Unfortunately I bought some of the lady’s homemade chutney and left it there:-(

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    8.3
    Lovely property in a great location with friendly and helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Luxury En Suite Large Family Room (10)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Kept losing WiFi in the room and couldn’t get some main tv channels. A couple of the lovely breakfast options were not available.

    Size of the room and location of the property. The breakfast options with homemade breads sounded lovely.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    9.2
    Very comfortable and relaxed stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double En Suite Room (4)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would have liked an information pack in the bedroom to find out basic info

    The bed was so comfortable, I slept very well. Baytree House has such a relaxed feel about.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    10
    A treasure and I will go back regularly.
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Ensuite Room (7)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There wasn't anything that I didn't like.

    I liked the ambience, the fact that you could get an evening meal, that there was a bar and nothing was too much trouble. The proprietor was friendly and guests from outside came to eat and drink which made it better than being a B & B; this was particularly good for me as I was visiting alone.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    10
    A quirky, comfy home from home.
    • Solo traveller
    • Double En Suite Ground Floor Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/A

    Baytree House is a quirky and homely place. The hostess and staff are friendly and welcoming and as a solo traveller I felt at home there. They also provide a very tasty breakfast. The location is close to bus links and major roads and Lowestoft harbour is a 30 minute stroll away. The coastal walks around Gunton Cliff are gorgeous. Definitely on my list to revist.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    10
    We would definitely stay again, the homemade tomato and herb bread was excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom (8)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was lovely, comfortable bed, which I shared with my 6yr old granddaughter, she loved all the little finishing touches and the little black Pug we met at Breakfast!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    7.9
    Very pleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom (8)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room was lovely but in the clouds with steep stairs. We shared a bathroom/toilet which was not ideal. The bath was a stand alone roll top version with an attached shower. It was very high to get into. It was not easy to use the shower as there was no protective screen or curtain so the water went everywhere. Although the advert stated parking facilities, this was on the road and it was almost impossible to find anywhere to park

    The hotel was beautifully presented and wacky. It was stylish and immaculate.The owner was friendly and very helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    9.6
    Excellent, a good find, friendly, comfortable and value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double En Suite Ground Floor Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Heavy overnight winds caused central boiler to blow out, which resulted in a cold shower and no room heating early the next morning. However this was resolved, and the host was very apologetic. These things can happen, and would not prevent me staying again.

    Friendly host and staff, bed very comfy, room clean and a good cooked breakfast. We also had a good evening meal from a varied menu.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    9.6
    Quirky and lovely place
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Large En Suite Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The boiler broke down but this was nobody's fault and couldn't be helped. The staff were extremely apologetic and even gave us a bottle of wine and a load of homemade bread to leave with

    Lovely b&b, very clean and the staff were friendly. We had a large family room with private bathroom. The boiler blew whilst we were there so there was no heating during the night but the owner couldn't apologise enough. Breakfast was delicious and staff were very attentive. The place seemed busy and full. Would definitely return here

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    10
    Cosy place, comfy bed, good breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double En Suite Room (4)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The available parking is street parking outside, there is no space for a car park and the road outside can be busy as it is a residential street. Nothing the management can do about this so not a negative.

    Good place, we travel to Lowestoft regularly to see family we will probably stay here from now on. Good selection for Breakfast and bed was very comfy. Tassimo coffee machine in the room is a nice touch.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    5.0
    Room very cold, noisy hotel, dog hairs all around. One of my worst experinces regarding staying away
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom (8)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Far too much noise banging around just outside of room. Unable to get a decent rest - I am allergic to animals and unfortunately there were so many dogs in the guest house which set my allergy off. They were barking and running about. The room had traces of dog hair in it.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    5.4
    Was ok
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double En Suite Ground Floor Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was really cold first night , second night was lovely and snug. Walking too place was bit hard to find but not b&b fault .

    The lovely breakfast and room excellent size

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    7.5
    Quirky but lovely - staff and breakfast were both excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Large En Suite Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Property itself is a little run down, with minor renovation work still underway. Window in our room was broken and didn't close properly but heating kept on all night so that we weren't cold :)

    Price included cooked breakfast which was a real bonus for our hungry mob! Staff were excellent - very friendly & attentive

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    8.3
    Great stay, comfortable and clean b&b, really friendly owner.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Large En Suite Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No menu of what was on offer. Maybe fresh fruit produce and yoghurt could be offered as a healthy option?

    Friendly server with a smile, breakfast was cooked to perfection and nicely presented.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    6.7
    A very pleasant stay just a few things that need improving.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room 4 had a very uncomfortable double bed, loose floor boards & a very weak shower which made a very loud noise when in use.

    Room 5 & 6 were very comfortable. Good breakfast & hospitality.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    10
    Every thing about Bay tree is lovely, food was all home...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double En Suite Ground Floor Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The weather

    Every thing about Bay tree is lovely, food was all home cooked even the bread, the hostess was lovely and the b&b so comfortable and the rooms were exceptional clean, tidy all you need in a room tea coffee, wifi , digital TV and the bed wow 4poster bed and decorated to a high warm standard will definitely be going back

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    10
    Easy, friendly and a great breakfast.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double En Suite Room (5)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The landlord waited up for me as I was late arriving and the breakfast was excellent. Coffee machine in the room, comfortable and warm bed. No hassle. Just what I wanted.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    10
    Welcoming, homely, nice room, with lovely breakfast included.
    • Group
    • Double En Suite Room (4)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff and pugs gave us a warm welcome! We also loved the cute rabbit, guinea pigs and fish in the front garden. The Baytree is an interesting and lovely old Victorian house full of character, and only a very short walk to the sea front. We enjoyed the home made bread, and jams included with the breakfast. When there was a problem, it was sorted out very quickly. This is our third time back and we have recommended this unique place to others.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    10
    A real gem
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Ensuite Room (7)
    • Stayed 1 night

    On arrival, a fantastic greeting and led to an amazing room with a four poster plus a decanter of sherry. Nothing is overlooked. I had to leave very early and Mark was kind enough to get up early to give me an early breakfast.This was a memorable stay and I spent part of the day when delivering my training courses in Lowestoft and later Norwich to extol the virtues of Baytree.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    10
    Great hosts, great find as a base for exploring.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing significant.

    We stayed in the self-contained 2-double bedroom annexe with kitchenette, shower room, off-street parking and a bijou garden-room - a tremendous value-for-money base for exploring locally (Southward, Walberswick etc). Small-dog-friendly too. Located in a tidy residential part of Lowestoft, but within walking distance to the old High Street (sadly neglected but with just enough restaurants to cater en famille - recommendations from Warwick the owner of Bay Tree House.) Breakfast - probably the best and generous we've had - kippers, full english, etc - and, great value too.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    4.2
    Okay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Luxury En Suite Large Family Room (10)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The playstation was missing from the room. Did not have enough beds made up for us. When making 4th bed up, it fell and hurt my wives foot, and leg. The breakfast order was a disaster. Half of the drinks didn't arrive until the end. Wrong breakfast order. Toast was forgotten, and after chasing was delivered when we had almost finished everything else. Additional item delivered which asked to be removed. Outside looked like a tip/ jumble sale, old beds etc.

    Breakfast was nice, when it arrived

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    7.9
    Really quirky,lovely,would recommend and visit again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom (8)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hard bed.Very strong cooking smells.Towels/sheets a bit smelly.As though they were damp.Undersheet mattress cover too thin.

    Lovely owners/staff

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    10
    Good location to visit Suffolk.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Large En Suite Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The south beach is a long walk or drive but on street parking is okay to find.

    Good location to visit Suffolk. Lowestoft itself has excellent beaches. Baytree is a well cared for character property. breakfast had good options. Cooked breakfast option was well made and just the right amount.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    7.1
    Absolutely fine for the money but wouldn’t stay again.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment - Annex
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was in an annex which appeared to be a converted garage or similar and there were no windows other then velux windows in either bedroom so the space felt claustrophobic with very little air. No air conditioning.

    Close to my meeting.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    9.2
    Great little hotel, very friendly with comfortable beds and a good breakfast at a reasonable price!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Large En Suite Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There really was nothing to dislike about this hotel!

    Friendly and welcoming hotel, with good Breakfast, quiet location 10mins walk into Town. Very large room with comfortable beds. Reasonably clean, shower a bit grubby and a few loose bits in the room. Over all a good hotel though!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    10
    Lowestoft shenanigans
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Friendly staff, great location and facilities. Nice welcome and chat on checking out. Comfy rooms with good standard of decor. Parking right outside the annex a bonus.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    10
    A stylish and unique hotel with excellent service throughout. Thoroughly recommended.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double En Suite Room (5)
    • Stayed 1 night

    A lovely room with 4-poster bed, ornate bathroom and a lovely atmosphere. You can tell the hosts have spent time and consideration on the feel of the hotel. Really enjoyed the evening meal which was from a straightforward English menu offering choices for meat eaters and vegetarians.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    10
    We were made to feel very welcome at this comfortable and friendly hotel - lovely!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldn't fault it in any way !

    There were lots of little touches that made us feel very welcome; fresh flowers, sweets, sherry and quality boxes of toiletries in our room 😊

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    9.6
    Excellent hotel, and wonderful stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Large En Suite Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only thing we were a little disappointed in was location to beach- not as close as I thought it would be ( unless we missed a short cut ). But this was only a minor issue, as on the whole it really was a lovely hotel, and we would definitely book again and highly recommend!

    The staff were very helpful and friendly. The family room was lovely and exceeded expectations. Our girls (12 and 16) both enjoyed their stay, and were greeted with a tub of popcorn on arrival! Little touches like this are what children look back on with fond memories and very thoughtful. All in all, a wonderful stay, with added bonus of checkout being an hr later than the usual 10:00 am

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    7.1
    Comfortable and we'll priced, especially for summer!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment - Annex
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking space for the annex is tricky to negotiate and only space for one car

    We stopped in the annex which says sleeps 5, however that would have left us with no room as the 5th bed is a z bed and there was very little floor space if you take into consideration suitcases. However for four people it is perfectly fine. A short car journey into the main part of Lowestoft which is a lovely place.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    10
    Perfect holiday accommodation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment - Annex
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing , everything perfect

    We used the hotel annexe but have no complaints. NComfortable beds, very clean. The staff were lovely. Evening meal was good and big portions. The cakes were delicious. Overall a very pleasant stay , will certainly go back .

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    7.9
    Lovely Victorian villa close to sea front
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double En Suite Room (4)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Broken things patched rather than fixed or sometimes left broken. Electrical installation relies rather too much on multiway extensions. Breakfast staff not even arriving until after breakfast should have started. Some of the fabric is a bit old (the bed sheets are always good though). Can't think of anything else wrong!

    Home made bread and preserves are lovely. Late Victorian villa with many original features. Impressive furniture pieces mainly Louis style (not Victorian!) Friendly host tries to accommodate requests. Very well cleaned, even under the beds and the tops of picture frames. We've visited this place many times, which probably tells you all you really need to know.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    7.5
    The staff were very accommodating, helpful and friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double En Suite Ground Floor Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The home made bread - would have preferred fresh shop bought- can understand why they usually serve it toasted. Rest of food was fine.

    The staff were very accommodating, helpful and friendly. There was a nice area where you could sit outside and the bar had reasonable prices.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    7.1
    Nice b&b in good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double En Suite Room (4)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were all very polite but the younger staff really wasn't very experienced, made mistakes with our food & wasn't sure how to work the bar

    Property is near the beach

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    10
    Such a warm welcome to a hotel with so much character!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Large En Suite Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was lovely to stay in a property with so much character and we were given such a warm welcome. The small animals outside the entrance were an added bonus for my young daughters and they loved the pugs (who I hasten to add made no noise whatsoever, in fact it was a surprise to learn of their presence just as we were leaving).

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    6.3
    Breakfast room and you could sit outside
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Large En Suite Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Other guests arguing at 7.45am in there room.Pillows to bumpy.The room only set up for 3 people when there was 4.People smoking in the outside seating so couldn't have breakfast out there.The street it was on was rough looking.

    Breakfast room and you could sit outside

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    9.6
    Lovely, quiet hotel with friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Luxury En Suite Large Family Room (10)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    If I had to pick faults; stairs are steep, was challenging with the baby as there's no elevator. Shower pump was a bit loud. Location is a bit of a walk to the main beach.

    Very clean, staff are really friendly and helpful, quiet location, family room was great size, well equipped, good for families, comfortable, lovely food.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    4.2
    Did not live up to the advertising!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double En Suite Ground Floor Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Work left unfinished in the bathroom, a ceiling light dangling by its wires, wires sticking out from the wall, exposed gripper rod on the floor outside the bathroom as the carpet wasn't properly affixed. A monstrosity of a projector TV from the 90's dominated the room which was not focused correctly leaving a migraine inducing blurred image. Then in the morning no hot water! Never again!

    Not a lot!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2017

    9.6
    Great B&B!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Large En Suite Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No onsite parking but only a minor point as plenty of on street parking available

    Friendly welcome, very comfortable room and excellent Breakfast, would definitely stay there again.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    8.8
    The owner was very patient and understanding of the fact...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment - Annex
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The owner was very patient and understanding of the fact that we arrived much later than planned due to a horrendous flight delay. He stayed up until after midnight to ensure we could get in which was very much appreciated. The accommodation was perfect for our needs and breakfast was lovely. Would definitely stay again.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    3.3
    Do not use room 7
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Ensuite Room (7)
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was no water pressure or water in the shower it was a trickle not enough water to brush your teeth from the sink the bed was creaky and every time I turned over I woke up, the window couldn't be closed and it was cracked with a hole in it.

    It was near my mum's house so I didn't have to travel far to visit her.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    7.5
    charming rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Ensuite Room (7)
    • Stayed 1 night

    view from room was non existent. and turns out i was put in wrong room. and there was food in one of the drawers. lack of plugs. but extension cable was provided

    room was really spacious and well decorated. tea and coffee making facilities in room. towels were lovely and fluffy. breakfast was great.plenty of choice and all freshly made

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    9.2
    Lovely stopover in Lowestoft
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double En Suite Room (5)
    • Stayed 1 night

    A little dated and the full English breakfast didn't come with beans

    The staff were very friendly and welcoming. The lady gave us a choice of 2 rooms to stay in. Had everything we needed. Really comfy bed. The dining room was lovely and we loved the welsh dresser with the juices and cereal on, it was a nice vintage touch.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    6.3
    Spent a lot more money than hoped 2 pay,4 I thought was a character hotel, though was just uncared4
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double En Suite Ground Floor Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ground floor room meant creaky wooden floor meant you heard people going from kitchen to dining room from about 5.30am Large room which couldn't get warm as heating didn't seem to work at same time each night & no one around at 11pm, generally everything was a bit of a facade, heavy curtains at window were faded & i had to struggle to close as bedroom was on road, ground level & needed privacy, windows esp at top were very dirty cobwebs upon cobwebs & mouldy. Non of the booking sites mentioned a £5 charge each day for cooked breakfast, which i had been looking forward to, small boxes of cereal or 2 others brought out in bowl each day, toast & brioche rolls do not to be make a continental breakfast even.

    Comfy bed, though could do with new duvet shower easy to use with pull down seat if needed. Staff were friendly & attentive

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2017

    10
    Wonderful place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Large En Suite Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    That we had to leave

    The staff were amazing so accommodating and friendly, my mum lost her voice so they made her a lemon, honey and ginger drink to make her feel better.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2017

    9.2
    Very clean and friendly hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Luxury En Suite Large Family Room (10)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Toilet when flushed made a rather loud noise and there is no parking. Breakfast is served little late had to put in a special request to bring it forward by 15 min.

    Very clean and friendly hotel. We arrived late in the night but the host organised the keys for us. The room was very spacious,clean and with good views.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2017

    8.8
    Comfortable, quiet and reasonably clean with very friendly staff and excellent breakfast !!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Ensuite Room (7)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Creaky Bed!! Hot Water took forever to come thru... Curtains were hard work to open and close as access wasn't good and curtains were very heavy...

    Friendliness of Staff/Owners Facilities in Room were excellent Very Quiet at night...Very Important to me

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    10
    Wow - Amazing Value for such a lovely stay with brilliant hosts
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I can't pick faults

    Lovely B&B! The rooms were very nicely decorated with very comfortable beds. Homely with added glam. The owner does some amazing home-cooked food and desserts. Really delicious! The portions are huge too. Can't beat well-cooked grub next to the roasting fire. Children were more than welcomed. The hosts are just wonderful! Very friendly and accomodating. Unbeatable value for money here. Also, the dress agency boutique in the B&B has lots of pretty designer clothes including plenty of true plus sizes. Would definitely stay again and highly recommend. Free parking and free cupcakes in the lobby were a bonus.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    4.2
    rubbish
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything not at all like it says in the description they expected 3children to sleep in one bed which wouldnt work as 2 were teens and the other a toddler not good at all

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    9.6
    Quaint, unusual furnishings, very comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double En Suite Room (5)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking was a problem and in the street, I should have checked the web site better.

    The bed was very comfortable, the ensuite room was, retro and chintzy. Breakfast was good, service with a smile. The house also contains a dress selling facility, the outside front was pretty and exposed to the street with a seating area. The back garden was a "work in progress".

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2017

    9.2
    Lovely hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Large En Suite Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lowestoft was a bit run down so unfortunately we wouldn't return to that area

    Staff were lovely and the owner they were very accommodating nothing was Too much trouble

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2017

    10
    We stayed in the annexe had all we needed and a bit of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment - Annex
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed in the annexe had all we needed and a bit of privacy with own parking. The homeowners were lovely and also arranged a light lunch for a wake very accommodating and helpful friendly staff. Would definitely book there again

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2017

    9.6
    Great hospitality and wonderful food!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double En Suite Ground Floor Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I was lucky to have a double room with en suite but understand the single accommodation does not have en suite. I would not have stayed under those circumstances.

    Great hospitality and wonderful food! I had two very tasty and well cooked breakfasts and locals tell me the home made pies served there are lovely.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    6.3
    Nice food, good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double En Suite Ground Floor Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mattress was uncomfortable so we didn't sleep well , Few things broken in our bathroom ( toilet roll holder , tap ) Not the best welcome when we arrived Dated / scruffy decor in the room

    Nice food, good location

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2017

    9.6
    Very pleased!
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    You can't argue with the cost of this place because you get really good quality for a cheap price.The staff were very friendly and helpful. All round very good b&b.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2017

    10
    A cute and Homely place perfect for all
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Luxury En Suite Large Family Room (10)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing everything was to our liking

    It's was perfect little place to stay with a friendly environment and was very accommodating to us with our 2 year old. The lady who has ran it for many years has made a very good mark if she was to leave it would be hard to carry on her work

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2017

    10
    Brilliant stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Large En Suite Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    When asked about free parking when booking it should really state it's free parking anyway as you have to park on the street and we did have to park far away in the rain with two kiddies.

    Everything such a nice b and b after a stressful week.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2017

    9.2
    The Most Easterly B&B in the UK?
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Ensuite Room (7)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Set in a quiet location yet close to the A12 and the impressive Lowestoft beach! Minutes from Ness Point, the Most Easterly Place in the UK. Lovely comfortable room with character, friendly staff and a super breakfast to start the day.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2017

    9.2
    Nice quiet lolcation on virtually on cliffs very good location north of town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double En Suite Room (5)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The problem is that it has to compete with places like Premier Inn and Travelodge both of which are fairly nearby. But by the time you add £18 to a minimum £35 stay in others you are not far different especially for a single person.

    excellent non greasy breakfast. Steff also does all sorts of meals "home- cooked". So much better than the PI or TL corporate much of a muchness cooking.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2017

    10
    Lovely rooms, great breakfast and brilliant staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double En Suite Room (4)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wouldn't change a thing

    Lovely rooms, great breakfast and brilliant staff.. Free cupcakes in reception when you get back after an night out are always a bonus.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2017

    9.6
    Friendly, characterful guest house.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Ensuite Room (7)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Water pressure in shower room was a little low, but owners explained en-suites are all being updated.

    All foods were freshly cooked and delicious. Guests' bar and dining room were very warm & welcoming.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2017

    10
    Fab sleep in a comfy bed nice and warm and lovely clean room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double En Suite Room (4)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Fab sleep in a comfy bed nice and warm and lovely clean room. Wonderful place to stay - very friendly landlady and a great team. Breakfast was just simply the best !

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2016

    10
    Enjoyable relaxing and so great hardly left room. Xxx
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Luxury En Suite Large Family Room (10)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    On Web said no pets. Left my kitten alone. Obviously bit surprised to see rabbit n guinea pigs. Plus dogs. So maybe cats a no go. Was sad couldn't bring tilly.

    I loved my whole stay. Wish I'd asked hosts name but I've already booked to come back. Staff beautiful people. Friendly and understanding.

    Stayed in December 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: