Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Beansheaf Hotel 4 stars

Malton Road, Pickering, YO17 6UE, United Kingdom

#17 of 17 B&Bs and Inns in Pickering

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 342 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    8.3

  • Location

    8.1

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    8.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Décor a little tired. Could do with a little sprucing up.

    Good location for exploring both inland and the coast. Very friendly and pleasant staff. Very clean and food very nice.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A great 10-nights stay! Lovely staff, very clean room, and excellent food. Even if you don’t have a car, the Coastline bus stop is conveniently just outside.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We had two big mastiffs and they were so welcoming towards them. The food is excellent! The wife and husband who own the hotel are so lovely and made us feel really happy to stay. It was so clean and they would make the bed each day. We definitely want to book again but stay longer this time!! P.s their black pudding is amazing!!!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The ensuite shower room was a little tight and as I have mobility problems I found the step up into the shower very difficult but otherwise no problems

    Ground floor rooms. exceptionally clean. Room and hotel smelt fresh and clean. Staff very welcoming.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Situated on main road traffic a tad noisy at times

    Clean, nice setting good parking. Amazing staff so friendly great restaurant bar food and drink, breakfast top drawer

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very disappointed to find that room rate as quoted didn't include 20% VAT

    Food and service excellent. Very friendly nothing too much trouble. Hence excellent.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room had an electric shower with little power so functional but not a good shower.

    The staff were very friendly and accommodating. The hotel itself was a little tired but clean. We had 2 nights there - dining in one evening and the breakfast and dinner were excellent.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The rooms need some decorating and the shower could do with modernising.

    We stayed here to attend a wedding about 30 minutes away. We had a coach to the wedding so the location fitted with this. The room was comfy and warm and the bed was comfy. Our room was in need of a little TLC and the shower wasn't powerful at all. The blind at the window was really crooked and there was quite a bit of condensation. Outside road noise prevented an easy drop off to sleep. Evening meal and cooked breakfast in the morning both lovely and the staff were friendly and accommodating. Would I stay again - possibly.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room had the feel of a bed sit - walls were dirty, chair and bench table were grubby, the bathroom had black damp patches on the ceiling. Could hear guests in the room beneath my room talking, even though the volume of the TV was at a reasonable level. Snoring from the room below disturbed my sleep.

    Room was warm.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This is an older type property and evidence of flaking paint and mildew mould in the bathroom. Suspect coming to the end of the season and would hope that these would be dealt with over the winter,

    rooms at the back of the hotel are quieter from traffic noise. Comfortable mattress. Limited options for vegetarians for evening meal. I opted for Vegetarian Burger and was pleasantly surprised as to how good the burger and accompaniments were.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Whole of Hotel needs to be redecorating. All carpets badly stained all need cleaning. Attention to detail on cleaning, curtains full of dust extractor in bathroom full of dust. Furniture needs recovering in whole of Hotel badly marked

    Staff lovely, bed comfy, nice big room all facilities. Nice view from room

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing as it was a perfect stay.

    The style of hotel was beautiful and the rooms spotless and large, lovely and friendly. Great breakfast and meals. Would highly recommend it.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Disappointed that breakfast wasn't included in the price of the room.

    Lovely, cosy room. Very clean. Plenty of parking. Friendly staff. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The address on Booking.com was misleading as we expected it to be actually in Pickering instead of 2 miles away. We now realise it is classed as Kirkby Misperton but Booking.com doesn't make that very clear and, if it had, we would have chosen alternative accommodation.

    The bedroom was clean and tidy. Breakfast was extra but good value. Parking was plentiful. The bar was a nice unexpected bonus.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We both had kippers for breakfast one morning, which proved to be a severe disappointment, as they were extremely overcooked and had the consistency of shoe leather. One of the WC's in the gents lavatory near the bar did not appear to have been cleaned during our 2 night stay. Dead insects on floor of shower.

    Large bedroom. Good cooked breakfast (the full English) Good quality of evening meals. Pleasant proprietors and staff. A fairly quiet and private hotel, despite the main road. Hotel was easy to find on the main road South of Pickering. Lots of information leaflets in reception with suggested places to visit.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing really just the breakfast being inclusive like the other places I stay in the area.

    stayed there previously with my partner.Location,and general alround facilities suit perfectly.Good breakfast but could be included in price. That is the only reason I dont stay more often.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Duvet far too thick/too hot. No website?

    Very helpful staff allowed us to store mountain bikes in a secure room. Good size rooms. Allows pet dog.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Functional but could do with some new carpets in the bedroom and a tidy up of the building on the outside.

    The restaurant was good for our evening meal, nice food at reasonable prices.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No negatives for here

    Room clean and spacious, good parking for our motorcycle.( just outside our ground floor room Bus stop just outside hotel, staff helpful with bus times Kippers where lovely, cooked breakfast was good Recommend the Bay Horse pub in Pickering for real ales and food If you want Indian Spice 4 u, in Pickering , book first!!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room a bit small. Some refurbishment done but more needed. On main road so could be noisy.

    Very friendly owners and staff. Convenient for local theme park though that was not my reason for being there. I used it as a base to tour the moors and dales on my motorcycle.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing to dislike!

    We had a warm welcome and nothing was too much trouble! Very accommodating! Had 2 nights stay and paid extra for the breakfasts - I hardly had any breakfast on both days and they noticed. They deducted that fact from my bill! Nice that they notice the finer details of their customers! Would stay there again in a heartbeat!!! Within walking distance of Flamingo Land (or a quick bus ride with the bus stop right outside).

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No complaints at all.

    Very impressed. Attractive building with hanging flower display outside. Ample parking. Easy to find on the main road. Extremely well run and every detail has been attended to. It seemed to be newly reburbished throughout with new paint and carpets and automatic lighting. Very clean, neat and comfortable rooms. Breakfast was superb and very briskly served.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel was quite isolated, too far from Pickering centre. (Approx 2.5miles). Stayed the day after our wedding so was hoping to have a meal and a few drinks. Also felt it was far too expensive for what we got, £75 room only did not reflect value for money.

    Rooms were comfortable and clean and well stocked.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower wasn't the best. Food only served at breakfast and dinner.

    Good location. Ample parking. Cosy room. Interior kept to a high standard. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    see above

    Clean tidy place ,very pleasant staff and the food was very satisfactory ,however I would have liked more beans with my breakfast .I got a very meagre spoonful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hosts Andrew and Joanne went out of there way to accommodate our needs. The evening meals we ordered were superb, as was the breakfast the following morning.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room could have been aired before allowing guests in.

    the staff were very friendly, welcoming and attentive. the food was good too. couldn't fault them on that! This was our second visit and would stay again in the future.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was mould in the shower which could have been remove with a bit of scrubbing and bleach.

    Lovely breakfast with kippers. Very warm welcome from staff. Our dog was made welcome and there was a big area at the rear of the building where we were able to exercise her.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast times were very fixed so not early enough for our stay

    My friends told me the food was lovely but I didn't arrive till after dinner, very short stay but lovely, would stay again

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Do not let this put you off as there is no traffic at night .Hotel is next to a main road , we were at the back of the building so couldn't hear the traffic but could feel it..

    Breakfast was really good Excellent value for money Staff very nice Lots of parking Bed very big and comfortable Was given a discount for the fire alarm going off in the early hours

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was adequate, nothing more. I expected the Inn to be in the centre of the town, not on the outskirts. Evening meal was very good, but breakfast was poor.

    Staff were good and accommodating.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    My room was absolutely fine - at the back of the hotel - but you need to be aware that the main Malton to Pickering road is busy!

    Very obliging and friendly staff. Comfy bed. Had a very good evening meal in the restaurant - simple but well cooked. Would stay again.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was very little that could have been made better....the Bean Sheaf is just a small country hotel with very comfortable beds and a tea and coffee facilities in the room. Perhaps the breakfast times could have been 30 minutes longer in the morning but we made it with plenty of time to spare.

    The night time meal with friends was delicious with ample portions as was the next morning's breakfast with very light and fluffy scrambled eggs. The Full English with extra toast was no bother at all for the chef. The bar at night was quiet but had atmosphere with the very friendly staff.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The wifi was slow, the traffic along the road was fast and noisy, especially in the morning as there was a car rally further up the road and people were rushing to the showground. The cost of the breakfast £7.50 per person was a bit high for those like us who only wanted cereal,tea and toast.

    The receptionist was very pleasant when we arrived, showing us to our room, the rest of the staff were friendly and helpful . Our evening meal was very good and the breakfast was plentiful for those who wanted a full cooked breakfast. Checking in and out was fast, easy and efficient.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Disliked the moth in the walk-in wardrobe. The double bed was very hard and uncomfortable to sleep on. Single bed mattress was very soft and my daughter found it comfortable to sleep on. The room was relatively clean, but had big stains on the carpet. The pillows and bed cushions reeked of stale sweat, and I had a poor nights sleep due to being uncomfortable. I covered the pillows with the towels from the bathroom. The pillows were VERY flat and obviously require replacing and/or laundering. The duvet covers did also smell and should have been freshly laundered before accommodating guests. Toilet bowl was dirty...required bleach.

    The staff were very welcoming and friendly. My children loved the Wi-fi! The room was at the front of the hotel, with a beautiful view. The traffic was very noisy as there was no double glazing. The food exceeded our expectations and was reasonably priced. The bath was huge and was wonderful to relax in. The shower was powerful and hot. The towel heater on the wall in the bathroom was loose and required fixing correctly.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not very friendly staff when we checked in or serving in the bar on the night. Too far away from the town to go somewhere else after a drink, the hotel was a bit tiered. The bar and hotel was empty.

    Breakfast was amazing and really friendly staff in the morning

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No decaffeinated tea available - preferred for health reasons Paintwork could do with freshening up.

    Friendly staff and excellent dinner and breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I think the hotel should offer a B&B price when advertising rather than a price for the room only. The breakfast is a real plus at this hotel and only an extra £7.50 per person, is not unreasonable.

    Comfortable room - great full English breakfast - would certainly stay again! Lots of parking at close proximity to the hotel. Good location for Pickering and travels around the North Yorks district - by car. Recommended

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The exterior of the hotel is horrible! Even worse at the rear - which was our outlook. Must put lots of people off.

    Hotel was clean and comfortable and the staff were friendly and very helpful.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed in room number 6 and felt that the shower temp was not as hot as we would have liked it, luke warm may need to be looked at but other then that i would stay again and recommned it to friends and family

    The staff there were excellent, very friendly and made you feel welcome. The room was spacious, perfect for a short trip away, with the basic bathroom facilities.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It isn't walking distance from anywhere so a car is needed. Spent a fortune on taxis there and back. Flamingo land is a £5 taxi away but 40 mins to walk. Pickering is around £8 taxi away and malton £16

    Very nice rooms lovely beds and clean bathrooms. Staff were very friendly and allowed us to keep our heavy bags in a spare room while we were out for the day even though we had checked out that morning but we're not leaving till the night time

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Blind in the room require changing, requires replacement light bulbs

    Friendly staff, nice place, ckean and tidy. Good food and drink. Ideal location for the event i did.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    personal choice only my wife does not have good balance and the re are no handles on the bath at all

    the food was good and good value for money and very clean

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower was a trickle although water nice and hot . Could do with a refub in corridor areas and rooms in terms of paint work - but a minor niggle really .

    The food is excellent and reasonably priced. Staff very friendly and helpful. Restaurant and bar area is well decorated and comfy. Plenty of parking.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    This is the second time we have stayed and loved every minute. The staff are really friendly, the hotel is clean and comfortable. We stayed in for the evening meal this time which was a good decision. Everything was freshly made from, homemade soup to the homemade steak pies which had just come out of the oven. We are already planning our return.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower not very powerful

    Very good hotel with friendly staff. Bedroom was good and a very comfortable bed.negative only small one was the shower not very powerful. Restaurant very good with a good choice

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    i will not hear a bad word again the beansheaf or its staff

    everything aboutthe beansheaf this great what more couldyou asked for from the brillant welcome to great food and they remember younot many places can do that

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower in the room not power full was an electric one The double bed was not comfy And the tv was small in the room

    Nice clean hotel The road outside was a little load at night Food was good And staff friendly

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The corridors to the rooms need a lick of paint.

    The bed was really comfy. The breakfast was delicious, nicest black pudding I have ever had! Staff really helpful and friendly, we arrived early and they swapped a ready room so we could check in earlier! The place was really cosy and had a lovely feel.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shelf provided as work area/ dressing table very dated, windows single glazed and condensation meant windowsill in bathroom was very wet. Radiator in bathroom worked but room still cold, also no handgrip in shower. Refurbishment would make a big difference.

    Food was well cooked and plentiful and staff very friendly and accommodating. Towels and bed linen clean and good quality. Tea/coffee etc well stocked and nice biscuits.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bedrooms and to a lesser extent the public rooms need redecoration. Its stuck in a bit of a late 80s time warp.

    The service and evening meal were good. It was peaceful.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The décor could do with a spruce up

    The staff were very friendly and accommodating, breakfast was lovely and cooked to order. Bedding was clean and room was tidy with tea, coffee and biscuits.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pillows could have been better on the bed but the bed itself was comfy.

    Menu for evening dinner was excellent range of choice and cooked perfectly.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was adequate but shower cleanliness needs some attention around the tray re black mould

    Excellent breakfast. Wonderful staff. Very comfortable. Very helpful with my late booking

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothing

    great staff could not have been more freindly,nothing to much trouble, food of top quality,baked mushroom very good one of the best starters i have eaten,very accomidating for our dog as well.hope to go back next year

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I should have asked for a back bedroom as noise from road early mornong/ late evening took some getting used to but other than this very happy.

    The extra large bed,bathroom facilities great,the staff were excellant in all corners of the business always on hand to answer any questions or give tips on nearby sites to see.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The draft from the windows as they're not double glazed had to take our 2 year old out the cot n in to the bed because he was so cold as tge cot could only go next to the window

    Lovely hotel staff were so friendly n great with our 2 year old. Food was lovely and it was a 2 min drive from flamingo land 😊

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Shower drains were a bit wiffy! But I reported this to reception when I checked out and they promised to deal with it.

    A pleasant hotel with views of nearby open countryside from my bedroom window

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of Internet wifi so slow food only served till 8:00 and room was a little tired!

    Love the room tho hotel and rooms are a little run down and needs a lick of paint or a refurb

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room damp affecting clothes. Cleaning poor. A daddy-long-legs (dead) hanging on net curtain not moved over three days. Droppings on windowsill also not moved. Hair drier did not work. Furnishings tired.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Place from outside is a little run down but don't let this put you off. Would also benefit from a fresh lick of paint as scuffs on walls etc.

    Evening meals & breakfast were excellent, freshly prepared & homemade. We were well impressed with the taste, quality & price. Clean rooms with plenty tea/coffee. Great base for our 2 days in North Yorkshire. Dog friendly hotel was one of the reasons we picked this hotel & would stay again.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cosmetics of the room, loose toilet roll holder, sticky toilet flush system and the bath plug needs putting onto the chain

    The staff were absolutely amazing, very chatty and kept our son entertained as well including him in everything throughout our stay. The upgrade was fantastic and very appreciated

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Decor could do with a lick of paint , cup stains on bedside cabinets , someone had actually written on ours at some point .

    The bed was huge and extremely comfortable

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very clean room but about ready for redecorating.

    Food was of a very high quality, well cooked and pesented. The steak was delicous and the Whitby kippers were excellent. Staff were pleasant and helpful. Room was clean and comfortable but about ready for redecorating.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would be much better if there was a beer garden or some where u can sit outside and have some drinks where kids can run around as there is a lot of land out the back to do this. And food on a night was served to late for our young family so had to go else where to eat.

    Was in a ideal location for us to visit flimingo land.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Could do with a lick of paint here and there, our single rooms were a bit scruffy really. Although very clean. Comfy beds and good bedding.

    The food was great. Much of it home cooked and fresh. The sausages were good local meaty ones in my sausage and mash. The passionfruit and mango cheesecake I had twice it was so delicious. We ended up eating there in the evening for the whole of our stay. The bar area is very relaxing and homely. Family run, staff very friendly and obliging. Very easy to find on the main road and it was quiet at night.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The outside seating area was a little rundown and untidy which did let down the gorgeous summer evening.

    The friendliness of the staff was second to none and we were made very welcome with our 3 children. The evening meal was absolutely beautiful and we all had different on each nights stay . We did however think the price of the breakfast was a little too expensive especially when there was only 1 of us had the FULL English.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Situation. Too close to busy road. continuous sound of traffic made it very difficult to sleep. No air conditioning so had to leave the windows open so were unable to shut out the traffic noise.

    Staff were welcoming,pleasant and helpful. Room was clean. Bed was very comfortable.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed mattress felt cheap and not very comfortable. Old windows not secure. Cheap carpet and badly strained carpet. Heated towel rail inadequate.

    Had one good evening meal. Good location.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The outside area needed attention and better furniture.

    The staff were really nice, pleasant and efficient. The food was plentiful and good value,service was good.Rooms nice.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were disappointed we did not get room service after the first night.

    Andrew and Colin have good relational skills. They sincerely welcomed us. The whole experience is pleasant and gastronomically delightful. We extended our stay to two days! Guests from Down Under.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could do with a lick of paint in places and a tidy up around the back and outside.

    Friendly and helpful staff, excellent breakfast. Comfortable bed, shower and a couple cups of tea, ideal.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The close proximity to Pickering

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Think it needs refurbished and dogs can stay here which can be noisy

    Good parking friendly staff

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely and homely

    Stayed in June 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: