Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Bear Crickhowell 3 stars

High Street, Crickhowell, NP8 1BW, United Kingdom

#7 of 12 hotels in Crickhowell

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 357 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    8.8

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    8.6

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    8.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Leaving the key on display in reception, advertising we were out. No deadlock on the room door.

    Lovely decor in the room, great food and ambiance in the bar. Friendly and keen to help bar and waiting staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was a little too soft but that's just personal preference and a tad small

    The room was spotless Nicely decorated The shower was amazing The staff were wonderful and nothing was too much trouble for them

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had small room three flights up and far from facilities. The inn was undergoing renovation and our window faced onto a noisy busy road. The facade was also covered in scaffolding with further noise and intrusion from the men at work

    Breakfast and dinner fine. Staff very pleasant

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very warm in this particular room (in loft space) but were left a very large fan which was much appreciated.

    Beautiful, comfortable and very clean room. Professional but friendly staff and great food.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The toaster was challenging at breakfast! Only toasted one side of the bread and there was a big party in at the same time, so lots of waiting to use it. But, the cooked breakfast was delicious!

    lovely room! Really comfy and airy! the token chocolate left on the bed was a thoughtful touch.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was not up to the normal standard of cleanliness. Half used toiletries, tissue box left with two issues inside. Very poor. Breakfast was unsatisfactory, clearly had been reheated and not freshly cooked. My breakfast was cold when it arrived at the table and the breakfast staff were unhelpful.

    The bed was comfortable and the location great.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The tv in out room did not work. Would have been nice to catch the weather for the following days walk

    Friendly staff amazing good honest food. Just what you need after a day on the beacons

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking was difficult. Very popular hotel leading to parking issues.

    The room and bathroom were immaculate. The hotel historic and rustic but lovely. Staff brilliant.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The walls are a bit thin in the courtyard rooms but if you close the loo door, all is fine.

    lovely place with lovely staff - could not have been any better!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was a bit too soft and was very small for two adults! Also don't understand why the booking was made for one person in each of the two rooms booked instead of two in each. And then I had to pay extra to add a guest in each room.

    Gorgeous old hotel with all the mod cons. Service was good and food was delicious. Well situated to explore the area.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Whilst the room was comfortable, it was a little on the small side and I found the room heating too hot with no way to turn it down.

    Fantastic hospitality from the great hotel. Staff were really helpful and the breakfast and evening meal was really good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    See above-also no sign to reception so we waited for ages at a busy bar and were made to feel unwelcome because we hadn’t gone straight away to a hidden reception in a side office

    The bed was amazing but the room noisy in the court yard with staff driving off at end of shift and staff arriving at the start of their shift in the early morning

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed a bit too squishy for me but that's personal taste so won't hold it against them!

    Comfortable room in the courtyard. Good food, cosy bar, friendly staff, great location.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was surprised that we weren’t given the WiFi password or check out time when we were showed to our room.

    Beautiful room and village. Exceptional customer service from staff (Especially Caesar and the breakfast staff) We were practically snowed in and the restaurant with all the candles was very romantic. The food was really yummy too.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bit of a draught around window seat so a few more seats around the open fire would have been ideal!

    Lovely Quirky, homely feel, friendly staff, lovely room and amazing food! Defo stay again!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have loved to have stayed in bed in the morning a bit longer but breakfast was until 9.30 so had to get up in case we missed it

    The room was big but was very cosy The evening meal in the Bear was gorgeous. Loved breakfast in the morning too

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms in need of updating . The full cooked breakfast had obviously been pre cooked bacon was hard . I had an english muffin with scrambled eggs which was lovely .

    Very busy pub. food was great. The hotel side of the pub rooms were tired and in need of updating.Its clearly a very popular place for walkers .Its very dog friendly .

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The whole package

    It lovely from outside For £118 I wanted a shower it was poor worse than poor no hot water as boiler was defective would I stay again no Do I have experience in hotels I’ve worked away for 25 yrs so as a treat to my girlfriend we went we stayed we left disappointed I’m so glad I never trod in the dog mess at the bottom of our steps outside room31 Mr Jenkins

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was nothing to complain about. We receive excellent service from a very friendly team of staff.

    Welcome on arrival was excellent. Room was very clean, couldn't be faulted. Staff very attentive to any questions or requests. Loved it. Would recommend The Bear , as they ticked all the boxes.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unable to find any faults.

    Good breakfast and good bar meals in the evening of Sunday.Good selection of beers and wines.Very enjoyable stay and a lovely log fire.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I would love to come and help to make the wine list a little more adventurous - the menu deserves some great wines to complement the food. Happy to make suggestions via email too as I will be writing up this trip in my blog.

    Lovely Garden Room with very comfy bed and immaculately clean bath with power shower. The renowned breakfast more than lived up to its reputation. Tried both the bar area and the restaurant over two nights. Amazing menu, the fillet steak is a carnivore's delight. The perfect winter weekend break.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    shown to a cramped table in the restaurant when there were clearly other un-occupied tables available. Food wasn't presented hot at supper or the following morning at breakfast. Also no reserved parking for residents meaning we had to park down the road and struggle several hundred yards with our luggage.

    Plus points were..... lovely room and super helpful friendly staff

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We ate in the restaurant,very good service and the food was very good.However, £7.50p for desert was expensive and wasn't particularly good value for money.

    Great location, right in the centre, but still quiet in the room. Helpful and friendly staff ,clean and warm rooms. Excellent venue.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Often long queues at the bar.

    I have stayed here many times in the past, a comfortable old coaching inn. Very nice public areas, the bar, one of the best in the country. I arrived at 11:30 am and the receptionist picked up the phone and asked for my room to be ready as a priority, which it was 20mins later! Room very warm and comfortable. The food, for breakfast and in the restaurant is very good.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Wardrobe needs replacing in our room. Coat hooks behind the door would be helpful.

    New mattress made the difference in our room. All the staff are excellent, well trained, friendly, professional and could not have been better. The food is of the highest quality from an excellent kitchen and chef.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Excellent stay staff were really helpful and a special thank you to a young lad named Toby for providing excellent restaurant and breakfast service .

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unfortunately it was a very busy time and the staff seemed a little tired generally, although the bar and restaurant staff were efficient and pleasant enough. At check out there were folks arguing about their bill, so things were obviously tense , and lengthier than expected. The lights in our room were a little odd sometimes as there seemed to be an intermittent lighting fault.

    The Christmas decorations and feel to the pub was lovely. The food at dinner and breakfast good and the overall ambience lovely for the time of year. Room clean,comfy and spacious.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I booked a standard room and we were given a small standard. The difference in room price was refunded.

    Hotel was beautifully decorated. The food in the restaurant at dinner was lovely.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms did tend to sound a bit busy outside but did quieten down later in the evening

    Great food as usual an the staff as usual were great, we often go to the bar for meals during the spring and summer and never been disappointed, thank you for a great stay

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I can not think of a single thing.

    The Bear hotel is extremely well run, with very efficient and polite staff, excellent food and nothing too much trouble. The Christmas decorations were beautiful and the whole ambience of the hotel was warm and cozy, making you feel very festive, we just loved our overnight stay and would recommend this Hotel

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location for walking tabletop mountain and stayang in the centre of town. Food was great in the bar and with a lovely atmosphere, really recommend it

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The coffee making fascilities in rooms are the usual 3 small packets of Nescafe and tea and 4 small milks which are never sufficent whether 4 or 5 star hotels but this seems to be the standard , so we bring a small cafetier and do our own

    The breakfast was from a menu and served by attentive waitress and plenty of coffee and very very nice in lovely room.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cooked breakfast served before we’d finished our cereals, therefore they went cold by the time we ate them ! Bed far too soft for our comfort!

    Beautiful friendly hotel and staff. Perfect location.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Stayed here many times as its convenient for visiting friends - the downsides are creaky floorboards and standard small double beds but the upsides are good food and a nice bar - This is an old stagecoach inn pictureesque and always busy.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The floor boards are abit creekie and you can here everyone walking past the room

    The food was amazing here! And our room was very cosy and cute! Definitely stay here again

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. All great.

    The Bear is the most cosy, friendly place. Excellent food, utterly beautiful surroundings. I've been enjoying it for years and have never had less than a lovely time.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bed was very comfortable, the shower was efficient, the room was quite large and tastefully furnished. It was an ideal base for walks and hikes of different levels. There were at least four different alternatives for energetic or strenous walks. Breakfast was excellent and varied.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast menu was good and there was a great choice, but things were a bit lukewarm. There was a shower over the bath - a grab rail of some kind would have been appreciated to help those a bit unsteady on their feet. The entrance to the car park and the space available are a bit tight especially if the hotel is full.

    The room was excellent and the bed very comfortable. The room we had necessitated a walk across the car park to get to the breakfast/bar - it didn't rain, so no problem. It's an old building and full of twists and turns, but this adds to rather than detracts from its charm.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Halls an stairs at little dated. Car park restraints.

    Staff courteous and friendly, room modern and clean, breakfast and restaurant food good. Bar and restaurant prices reasonable. Agreed to return the phone charger I left behind without quibble. Would use again

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Its an ancient coaching hotel, but sound insulation between rooms reflects that. Not all the rooms are clearly signed / numbered.

    Full of character. Good restaurant, excellent breakfast, really friendly and welcoming staff.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was honestly nothing not to like.

    Beautiful surroundings, lovely homemade food and great staff. Our room was lovely and spotless with a comfortable bed! It was great for having a beer and just as great to sit in the beautiful gardens with a coffee. We only stayed over for one evening but wished it had been longer, we will definately return and we have recommended it to all our friends and family.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I paid over £100 for a double room so expected something special but sadly disappointed. Room was the standard of a mid priced boarding house. Tired & dated. the The bath was a mini bath so no way i could have a proper soak!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was awful. Mattress should have been changed many years ago. Would absolutely not recommend accommodation. Room needed an entire refurb.

    Food and staff are fabulous

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The convenience of the place in the middle of the town, which offsets its difficulty of access. The staff were attentive, nevertheless created a relaxed atmosphere.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Minor details to improve. The bed in room 9 was incredibly soft, we prefer a firmer mattress. I love grapefruit for breakfast and is usually present at most breakfast buffets.

    The stay was excellent. We loved the upgrade to the better room and the manner in which this was done. The furnishings were beautiful and we loved the ambiance of the pub/accommodation.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    noisy shower went from hot too cold toilet wouldnt flush food not worth the money had better from marks and spencer complained and they were rude and didnt want to know disgusted

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We didn't like he fact that we could here the people in the room next to us talking we was in room 33 and they were in 34 and they was talking so loudly you could almost here there conversations the wall must be quite thin I guess but that all we didn't like as it kept us awake for ages

    The food was excellent and we was served very quickly the staff were all very friendly and helpful we definitely would stay here again when we come back to this area

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were in a corner room, which was very hot and had a view of the car park and the kitchen with all the strand and noises.

    The breakfast choices are excellent, beautifully served and off a high standard.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The windows to the bedroom overlooking the front main road were small and could not be opened. Also properties across the road could look in. Locality of hotel not ideal

    Room was lovely and had character, excellent bathroom facilities and morning breakfast was very nice.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great location for a selection of walks in the most stunning surroundings. Crickhowell itself is a lovely large village with a relaxed and welcoming feel. Hotel is large but cosy. Little bars and choice of bar food or restaurant (same menu). Nothing too fancy but a good choice of food and drink plus a lovely garden to relax in.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Welcome was in no way warm or friendly. No hot water on arrival. Room comfortable but small and not the charming inn style you might have been led to believe from the website.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were staying for 2 nights and there were a group of guest that were VERY noisy and kept us awake until very late. I understand this was not necessarily the vault of the hotel but if there had been a night porter they could have asked the guests to be more considerate. My only other criticism is that the lighting in our room was very dark during the day and we had to have the lights on. Apart from these points everything else was great

    The staff and facilities and food were excellent.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The service was really bad in the bar and restaurant, the room was very old and tatty, there was no sound proofing in between the rooms so I couldn't get to sleep until 2.30am and the doors were very creeky and loud. When I told reception they said they would make sure we stayed in a re-decorated room next time but didn't offer any sort of discount. We've stayed in places 40% cheaper than this and had a much better experience, really disappointed!

    The asparagus I had at dinner

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff really warm & friendly and helpful. The hotel restaurant produced fine & tasty food. Crickhowell is a lovely town set in beautiful countryside. Ideal for walking or touring. The Bear hotel is highly recommended.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed was a little soft for us, but this is all down to preference. The room and corridor doors were on springs so there was some noise as they shut when guests arrived back after midnight.

    The staff were particularly helpful when we arrived before lunch and they made sure the room was available for us to change and drop our bags off. The bathroom was well designed and, whilst not large, did not feel at all cramped. The breakfast choice was lovely and, again the staff were available for us to eat a little earlier.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Being very critical, breakfast could have been hotter on first morning.

    It made a bit of luxury at the end of a holiday to stay in a place we always enjoy. Staff excellent and very friendly. Being very

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I didn't really like anything and will never go or stay there again. The room was also very dirty and dark.

    DO NOT STAY HERE. There was no space to park, breakfast was served so early that it was impossible to get up at that time, they don't serve food in the evenings, and they've charged me for extras I haven't authorized so now I have to contact my credit card company. I have never had such a big issue with a hotel before. The staff didn't welcome at all, felt like I was a hindrance because they had a big wedding on. It was an expensive room.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Slightly disappointing bar menu. Not great value for money or choice. Better choice in the evening.

    Lush bed! So comfy! Very dog friendly! Lovely ambiance!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Fantastic staff who were all so friendly and helpful, couldn't rate our stay highly enough. We had a lovely steak in the restaurant which had a lovely vibe and atmosphere!! We had such a relaxing stay, Thank you Bear x

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Managed to squeeze into car park but others not so lucky. Small car would be an advantage!

    Breakfast cooked to order, good range of options. Lots of character, and very interesting old building.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bigger carpark; we found a space each day but some manoeuvring needed.

    Very friendly staff. Relaxed atmosphere. All services efficiently provided. Charming old coaching inn....an attractive p, historic building.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    See comments above regarding the room.

    The bedroom no 28 was extremely noisy located beside a store room, close to the kitchen, and where the staff / people were coming and going throughout the night. I did explain this to the reception staff the next morning, only to be advised that they would not put us in this room next time.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi a little difficult to connect but sorted quickly.

    A very friendly, very efficient and individual hotel with fast service, excellent locally sourced food and lots of staff available. Comfortable rooms, good bathrooms and very, very dog friendly. Centrally situated in an attractive small town with some unusual shops and lovely views. Bar always full but service immediate and atmosphere warm and relaxed.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing of a major dislike.

    Great friendly atmosphere in bar with lovely wood beams and open fire. Excellent beer being Rev James. Breakfast was awesome.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    If I am being picky I would suggest that the tables should be bigger for breakfast .....to save having to balance the toast rack on the marmalades !!

    Great Hotel with super rooms in the courtyard. Had dinner on two nights and the quality was superb. Perfect location for either local walks or short drive into the high areas of Brecon Beacons for walking.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The doorway heights, the fact that its like a maze and it takes you a while to find the exit as well as your room. No or not enough signs!! Rooms are charming but dated. The beds are short for doubles and the pillows are hard, gave us both sore necks. Breakfast is standard, a lot of talk about local produce but the taste overall and selection including how attentive the staff are is lacking. Price seems high for what you get here, I feel the quicker more larger branded hotels come to the area the better as I feel the hotels in this area are complacent due to lack of competition.

    The Character of the building, the location.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast could have been a little later maybe up to 10.00 am so we could have had more of a lie in

    The bed was so comfy and it was lovely and warm in the room Facilities to make tea and coffee. Everything we needed was within walking distance fab location.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower room very small and heating didn't work very well. Pillows too firm and could smell food in the bedroom early in the morning.

    Character-full building. Good food and service. Excellent location.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Like - love the bar but always have and was quite happy eating there alone.

    I think there are far too many cushions on the bed. It must slow down the staff each day and was very irritating. where is one supposed to put them? - sorry this was what i didn't like

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some issues with both heating and plumbing during our two night stay but staff were helpful and, with plumbers arriving the day we departed, they promised to have it fixed.

    Good place - comfortable room (some small issues in our room but the other 2 rooms our friends were in were fine), good food, good beer and helpful staff, just what you need!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Later breakfast option would be nice

    The most dog (and people) friendly hotel we have stayed at. Staff are professional but relaxed and very friendly and the food is excellent. Well-kept local beer and an unusual and extensive wine list. Rooms are lovely and have great showers. One of the best old pubs in Wales.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beautiful floral arrangements are always a pleasure to see. The cheery breakfast staff. The gardens. The brass rails. So shiny. The evening meals in the dining room are always special with the use of their ingredients.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room 28 was above the kitchen so is very noisy, fixtures and fittings are dated and needs a larger sized bed. Samall double was too small

    Food was excellent as always staff were brilliant as well

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant service could have been better. There were plenty of waiting staff but were not well coordinated. We had to ask several times for things and were served by at least 4 different people. Breakfast serving staff were much better.

    Lovely room, atmosphere and location

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was too hot, managed to turn off heating but had trouble opening the window. Comfort level would have been excellent if it wasn't for this little problem.

    Lovely hotel, lovely location, great staff and fab food.

    Stayed in December 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: