Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Beck Hall

Cove Road, Malham, BD23 4DJ, United Kingdom

#2 of 6 hotels in Malham

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 458 hotel reviews

9.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    9.2

  • Location

    9.8

  • Facilities

    9

  • Staff

    9.7

  • Value for money

    9

  • Free WiFi

    9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    8.3
    Doggy Heaven (or hell?)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No where without lots of dogs. I don’t mind dogs but they were everywhere including the snug at night, the restaurant and pooing on the lawns. Can’t blame the dogs but owners should be encouraged not to allow defacation on the lawn in full view of breakfast! Bathrooms tiny

    Location, in the village and easy access to walks. Showers were good and staff helpful and friendly. Mix of new and old. Great view of sleeping owl right outside window. Restaurant good apart from the excessive number of dogs at dinner and breakfast. Quiet.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    7.1
    This is a really great place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No hot water! We had cycled 50 miles and really needed a hot shower - unfortunately it transpired that there was a problem with the boiler for some of the rooms. A reduction was eventually given but we felt that we should have been informed that there was a problem and more should have been done rather than us having to bring it up at checkout. Other than that everything else was lovely.

    This is a really great place to stay. The rooms are really lovely and the breakfast was superb.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    9.5
    The location of the property was superb.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The location of the property was superb. Perfect location for exploring surrounding area. Even when we had a problem staff were on hand to rectify straight away.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    7.1
    Nice hotel, but room a big let down
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room (room 1) was nothing like the photos of classic rooms displayed on the website - very small and cramped and not particularly cosy. The shower was awful & kept either stopping or reducing to a trickle, before starting up again. Disappointing as we were expecting good things from this hotel, but we definitely wouldn't have booked it if we had seen the room we'd be getting.

    Lovely location in the heart of Malham with walks straight from the hotel. Very nice restaurant with quirky decorations and pretty views of the river - service and food in the restaurant were very good too. Extremely dog friendly and seeing so many dogs everywhere was a fun novelty (if you like dogs!). Breakfast was of a very high standard.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    9.6
    Dinner was good, location lovely
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast, fresh fruit, natural yoghourt and better quality muesli would be good. I don't eat a cooked breakfast. It would also be good if the coffee machine was turned on for breakfast.

    Dinner was good, location lovely

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    7.9
    Lovely location, food and staff, but rooms let it down.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with River View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The first room I had was supposed to be with a stream view, but because of the location of the window next to the external door to the annex, the blinds needed to be kept closed. So no stream view and light on during the day! They changed my room with no fuss. I found the bed uncomfortable and the overbed light was broken and they were seeking a repair. But that didn’t help me and so I couldnt read in bed. The hot water was also faulty, but they were trying their best to mend it and gave a discount without needing to be asked. Possibly this issues were just unfortunately. I felt there was a lack of storage in the room. Two people staying a week would not have been able to fully unpack. A chest of drawers would have helped. If you don’t actually have a dog, only book this hotel if you like dogs. They are everywhere!

    The location was great. The restaurant served a lovely breakfast. The evening meals were fresh, tasty and reasonably priced. The staff were delightful. I felt the rooms let it down.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2018

    7.5
    Stream side location is beautiful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed wasn’t particularly comfortable. Room doors didn’t seem to have soft close mechanisms so there was often loud slams which woke us up on several occasions. As dogs are allowed everywhere in the hotel, cleanliness suffered as a result.

    Stream side location is beautiful. Restaurant area is very well presented with doors opening out to the garden and stream. Log burner/ open fire. Very attentive staff for evening meal. Cosy snug.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    10
    Great hotel serving great food.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The car park was not clearly signposted.

    Very nice hotel with comfortable rooms, cosy guests only snug, and good restaurant serving locally sourced food.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    6.3
    Nice location, but an eccentric hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Car park not close, receptionist incompetent and disinterested. Hotel needs investment and then could live up to expectations

    Restaurant was in a lovely location by a stream, breakfast team excellent

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    9.2
    Lovely laid back tranquil atmosphere
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I personally don't like dogs this is my preference and my choice to stay here having been told that it's dog friendly. If you don't like dogs or have an issue with dogs then here is not the place for you. Again this is my personal thing I don't like dogs but I did enjoy my stay here. The only other thing I didn't like was sitting down to eat with swarms of flies and having to bat them away from your food and drink. I understand the location is by the river but perhaps the hotel could invest in a wall mounted UV fly killer that way they are showing interest in getting the problem solved.

    The staff are soo nice the food superb. A nice relaxing laid back feel. We will definetley be back!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    10
    Fabulous
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I should have booked 2 nights! Not just one.. no phone signal st all.. ( I'm not bothered but hubby was)

    The staff make a hotel and boy the staff are amazing here! Nothing was to much trouble, nothing was an imposition.. fabulous location, lovely food, dog friendly and super comfy bed. An hour in front of the fire in the snug and I was ready for my bed!!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    10
    Brilliant couple of days away...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Fabulous hotel, lovely location in a gorgeous village, by a stream. 10/10 for the staff, extremely dog friendly hotel and excellent restaurant.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    8.8
    Beckoning Hall
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Constant low level noise in our room and restaurant area could have been cleaner. At breakfast there were chips on the floor from previous evening.

    Loved being by the stream, the age of the building and room decoration. The staff were friendly and the breakfast good.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    10
    Great location and beautiful room with four poster bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All perfect

    Great location and beautiful room with four poster bed. Great setting overlooking the river. Food in the restaurant was delicious and great value for money! Couldn’t rate the place high enough. Just perfect

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    9.2
    Bech Hall Visit
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    What made this hotel was first the brilliant and friendly staff followed by the location which was a short walk from Malham cove, that was the main reason for the visit.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    7.5
    The new garden room & cheerful/quirky furnishings.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A greater selection of fruit & cereal choices at breakfast would be good, especially for those guests who don't want a cooked breakfast. There were just a few apples in a bowl.

    The new garden room & cheerful/quirky furnishings.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    9.2
    Wonderful location for some fabulous walks.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wonderful location for some fabulous walks. The hotel was lovely and the staff went out of their way to help us. Would definitely recommend and stay again.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2018

    10
    Lovely location friendly staff who understood the history of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to add here

    Lovely location friendly staff who understood the history of the hotel and proud of the new addition. They were attentive to your needs and conscious of visitors expectations of their service

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    10
    One word. BRILLIANT.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The approach for our age was a bit rough, but we managed with the help of the staff.

    The whole atmosphere was terrific, the bedroom we had was superb . The weather of course did make it excellant. The food was also very good along with the service, we could stay there again.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    9.2
    A very enjoyable stay at a lovely location. Great food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our ground floor room was very noisy with people walking around upstairs so we were woken up early. There was a small window in our room with no blind which let in lots of light very early in the morning. There was no mirror in the bedroom, only in the bathroom, so another would help when getting ready to go out. The room was lovely though. Very nicely furnished.

    The location is beautiful with the little stream trickling by. Being able to sit inside or outside to eat and drink was nice. The food was lovely and very well presented. The service was great.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    9.2
    A beautiful hotel in a beautiful part of Yorkshire with friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night

    I ordered pork with crispy crackling but no crackling was served and the pork was a very small portion, not value for money. There was no service check so no opportunity to mention it. We were allocated The Green room in the original building, lovely room with a four poster bed but it did not have a riverside view which we had booked. This room only has a small window that opens and on a hot day it is not adequate

    The staff were so friendly especially Chris who was so very friendly & helpful changing our room and locating a fan on a very hot day. The breakfast was first class with lovely locally sourced produce. The hotel has a lovely riverside location and plenty of tables and chairs to sit, eat & drink outside if you want.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    10
    Wonderful relaxing stay in a beautiful environment.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing!! Everything was great - Note for others, the Hotel is very dog friendly if this doesn't suit you then think carefully.

    Great hotel in a beautiful setting, amazingly friendly & helpful staff, excellent food (Both B&B & restaurant). Amazing views & walks; the hotel being right by the beck is a bonus. Highly Recommended.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    8.3
    Would we go back? Yes we would!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with River View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We found it difficult to park on arrival at the hotel car park, and even when we went for a drive out one evening only just managed to get the last space on return. We found the dinner menu a little limited for our liking with the nearby pubs being similar also.

    Beck Halls location is excellent for walkers and well behaved dogs (and their owners). Plenty of walks direct from the hotel itself. The hotel room was on the small side but was pleasent enough with a nice view over the beck.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    7.5
    As above
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with River View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As above

    Our first room was No6 oldest room 4 poster. We were moved as bed was too soft & rickety. I have had spinal surgery. We were moved to another room overlooking the rear river. The room had an excellent shower but the wood like floor needed mopping and the 4 poster bed stopped the central light from providing adequate lighting. App art from these issues and a lack of soft fruit and poor choice of cerise was an enjoyable stay

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    10
    A little piece of heaven
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perhaps a few more complementary toiletries would have been nice.

    I loved how the guest dogs were made to feel so special, as well as their humans. The setting next to a pretty beck in a beautiful valley is perfect. The staff are very friendly and the atmosphere is relaxed and comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    10
    Perfect doggy hotel :-)
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The midges on an evening

    Absolutely faultless staff, they went out of their way to be friendly and helpful, food was absolutely gorgeous and very reasonably priced. They made extra effort with our dog and made her feel just as at home as us, perfectly situated for some decent walks and local pubs, we will definitely be going back

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    7.9
    A bit expensive for what you got
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with River View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The building was a bit dated, I was expecting to stay in the new section of the hotel, so to avoid disappointment ensure you know which part of the building your stay is booked (there is an old section and new section). The advert also said it was situated next to a river but it was actually a stream!

    Staff were very friendly and helpful. Good food served in the restaurant. The garden was beautiful . It is located near some great walks in Malham, would highly recommend visiting the Malham Cove!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    10
    Lovely stay in a gem of a place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The surroundings were beautiful.The hotel was charming,[old meets new].The staff were lovely and could not do enough for you.The bed was very comfy.i had a really good sleep.The food was of a excellent standard.Overall me and my husband had a lovely overnight stay.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    10
    We were blessed with good weather but enjoyed an amazing short break.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not really much to say

    Fabulous location by the beck. Food very good and staff friendly. Convenient for walking and going into Malham centre. We would certainly go again and recommend to family and friends. A great find!!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    9.2
    Would definitely go back - great walking in fab location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with River View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    You had to like dogs and I do! But... all over the restaurant?

    Excellent menu and tasty food both sandwiches at lunch time and dinners. Very comfy beds, clean functional showers. Very helpful staff

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    8.8
    Magic of Malham
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cold shower room and bed was a bit uncomfortable.

    In a great location. Close to where we wanted to walk to. Room was a good size. Good size dining area. Vegan choices on the menu. Staff very helpful .

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    10
    A wonderful place to visit.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful riverside location. Comfortable, spotlessly clean rooms. Extremely welcoming, friendly and helpful staff. Lovely new restaurant, beautifully decorated with river views. All makes for a perfect,relaxing break.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    8.8
    Very comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Building work going on which we didn't realise as we booked late so still a bit of tidying up to do. Will be really nice when finished

    Beautiful setting next to a stream across a bridge Good breakfast. Staff very friendly and helpful

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    7.9
    Potentially a gem in the making.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with River View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel is currently undergoing modernisation which restricted the car park spaces.

    Hotel is in a beautiful area of the dales and village. Restaurant is very good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    10
    Dogs and people welcome and comfortable.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There really is nothing!

    I have been staying at Beck Hall for over 50 years. It has grown and changed but it remains one of my favourite places to stay. I took my friend this week with his dog and we were all very welcome and very comfortable. In spite of the building work the place retains the good feeling it had more than 50 years ago when I went there with my parents.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    8.8
    Great find, perfect for a dog friendly stay with great food and excellent location
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with River View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A minor point... Would have loved some draft beers.

    Location perfect, staff friendly likeable and proffesional, new restaurant decor/ setting lovely and the food was fabulous.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    7.9
    Pleasant and welcoming in a lovely location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was quite small with tiny sink. Though breakfast was nice, the evening meals were a bit disappointing.

    Some nice quirky features in the rooms. Nice flooring and modern bathroom.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    7.5
    Beautiful location. Will be much better once the renovations are complete.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The parking situation wasn't great however I'm sure that will be rectified once the renovations are done.

    Beautiful room and the sound of the stream was lovely and relaxing.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    9.2
    Ideally situated in the centre of Malham.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Snug was a bit small and seating is situated so everyone has to walk past to get to their room.

    Ideally situated in the centre of Malham. We stayed in room 2 which had plenty of room for two adults and two large dogs. Breakfast was lovely. Staff very friendly. Excellent place to stop with dogs, as they allowed everywhere you are.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    6.7
    Beck Hall, dog friendly hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was cramped when we also had two dogs with us. Lots of building work still underway. Honesty bar, which unfortunately was very small, which was also the access to the rooms. Dog friendly, which was great but not all dogs get on so became a bit stressful at times. Wouldn't recommend if you don't like dogs. The eating area was outside in a Yurt, which had been tastefully decorated, but with guests dogs allowed was a bit chaotic on a morning.

    Location and value for money. Bed and pillows comfortable. Good choice of cooked breakfast, but limited fruit and cereals

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    7.1
    Be lovely when it’s finished
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A lot of building work still saws ,mini dumpers,and lots of builders, I expected some work as it was explained there was major renovation work between December and April,we arrived the first of May and it wasn’t relaxing as I would expect. Room number 1 wasn’t really big enough for two adults and a medium sized dog as we had let the Hotel know in advance , there is also a fire door just outside the room which our dog barked at constantly, as it bangs shut very loud every time some one walks through

    The staff were very friendly, good breakfast in a very unusual Yurt

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    9.6
    Fantastic place and brilliant location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Liked the snug with cosy fire and dining in the yurt. The breakfast was great and the staff were very friendly and welcoming. The location was brilliant - next to the river, in the village and close to Malham Cove.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    7.5
    Would be super except for the building work
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Major building work at the Hotel is having an effect on comfort and service. No bar, just a basic honesty box system with drinks from fridge. No wardrobe in my room (Just hooks and a shelf) Rooms at back don't have a good view and our room window was close to a footpath (so not private)

    Location is super near the centre of Malham an overlooking the Beck (Stream) . Staff are efficient and friendly. Snug area is warm, friendly and historic.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    8.8
    Fabulous stay staff and location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having to leave ......

    The staff and welcome was excellent, we were made to feel comfortable and at home... and so was our dog. Brilliant staff would love to meet them all again at Beck Hall...

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    10
    So dog friendly, even when we turned up with our dog soaking...
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    So dog friendly, even when we turned up with our dog soaking and covered in mud we were welcomed and made to feel like he was just as much a guest as we were! Even though there are building works at the moment it didn’t impact the stay at all and we hardly noticed it was going on.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    9.2
    Loved the old reception area with open fire, wood panelling...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I guess compared to the rest of the place my room (5) had a bit less character.

    Loved the old reception area with open fire, wood panelling and honesty bar. Location by the stream is also really special.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    9.6
    Excellent accommodation, very friendly staff perfect location, very enjoyable stay,would stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn’t like the calor gas heaters in the yurt they gave off quite strong fumes. Thought the bridge was difficult to cross in rain would have felt more secure with hand rails on both sides

    We liked the quirkyness of the snug and our room combined with the modern aspects of the bathroom. Very clean and very warm

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    9.2
    Sweet, eccentric and friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a little cramped due to the lounge area being reduced during the refurbishment work.

    Entered by a little bridge over a Brook, the Beck hall quirkiness begins. The main building is old with steepish narrow stairs but a welcoming lounge with a wood fire and an honesty bar. Our room was nicely furnished with suitcase side tables, a usefully positioned coat rack and an en suite bathroom (shower) replete with toiletries. The welcome was completed by homemade truffles and fresh milk for our tea. Malham has some fantastic geological features for great walks and the hotel restaurant (temporarily located in a yurt) provided hearty veggie friendly sustenance for us to refuel after seeing them all. The staff were very friendly and I look forward to visiting again when the refurbish is completed and the hotel feels a bit more spacious. We don't have a dog but the dog friendly nature of beck hall was evidence of a laid back welcoming philosophy from which we certainly benefited.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    9.6
    A hotel that ticked all the boxes on our break in the dales.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing was below expectation!

    Great hotel, in a lovely location. All the staff were friendly and welcoming. Room was comfortable and a good size. We will definitely be returning.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    7.5
    Lovely setting, being renovated at the moment so that's probably why communal areas not very clean
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor Sunday roast, couldn't even cut the beef, hard roast potatoes. Poor breakfast, overcooked bacon and sausages. Not much of a selection of cereals or fresh fruits. No pastries. Cold coffee

    Very dog friendly, cosy room

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    10
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was comfortable but needed some sort of net curtain or blinds to allow privacy, as a path is accessed just 1 m from the window.

    We were very impressed with how every one kept things running so smoothly with the building work in progress. The yurt was a brilliant solution for breakfast and evening dining. Love the snug!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    9.2
    Quirky, whimsical and memorable!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed and room were comfortable. Service was fabulous. Hotel being extended so an unexpected building site. No dining room or bar - a yurt in the garden which was a little cold in February! It will be magnificent when it is completed.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    10
    A wounderfull 3 days escape to a beautiful part of Yorkshire and the hotel is 5 star me and my wife
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really it was a shame that the building work wasn't finished on the new extension and the refurb , but we will be back to check this out 😀

    We liked all what was on offer the food menu was good , staff excellent . The staff was really good with our 2 dogs , they spoilt them !!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    10
    We enjoyed it very much and are hoping to return later in the year.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We thought the prices of the drinks in the honesty bar in hotel were very expensive. £14 for a bottle of wine was too much for me and so we went without. Perhaps a little more choice with cheaper alternatives would have been better.

    The whole experience in this hotel. Staff were like old friends and could not do enough for you as a first time visitor. Dogs made to feel welcome too. The food was delicious and plenty of it. Room was very comfortable and bed too. All tea supplies were there aplenty. Hotel is in a great location too with plenty of walks nearby.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    9.6
    I loved that this place was dog friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was incredibly uncomfortable. My husband had the sleep on the floor because of it and the room was so hot even with the windows open. The bed had a very heavy winter bedding and I couldn't get comfortable either.

    I loved that this place was dog friendly. Made my husband very happy. The staff were fabulous from the get go. The food was great and the atmosphere felt like we were at home. Lovely place.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    9.6
    Charming, quaint and perfect for someone who needs some quiet time in the countryside.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food requires improvement. For the cost of the average main being £12 or more the food needs to have a home cooked authenticity that it doesn't have at the moment. It does not detract from the overall loveliness of the property and location, but it does stand out as a weak point.

    Lovely location, beautiful rooms and fantastic atmosphere.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    8.3
    Peaceful and relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately there was work going on but we knew this when we booked. Still excellent.

    Beautiful old building with quaint bridge crossing. The staff were lovely and the room was warm and comfortable. The bed was the best I have slept in.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    9.6
    Lovely comfy and cosy stay.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Currently conducting building work but yurt was fun.

    Loved the honestly bar in by the real fire. Comfy and cosy after a long walk Dog welcomed, with treats. Breakfast was really nice. Staff very friendly and helpful. Liked breakfast in the yurt.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2018

    10
    A perfect mid week get away
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room decor was lovely big comfy bed, perfect location, the snug is a great idea and having dinner in the yurt was lovely. Quick helpful friendly service

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    9.2
    clean comfy quaint room
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    better signage for the car park

    very clean and comfy bed, all staff helpful and they made me a tasty full English a little before time as I had to be away by 8;15 great complimentary chocolate truffles

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    10
    A little piece of heaven in Yorkshire :D
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing!

    This was our 4th visit to Beck Hall and we loved it! We keep coming back because it's our most favourite place and we're both so happy when we're there. Tastefully decorated and comfortable rooms, wonderful old feel about the property, kind staff and beautiful location by the stream. Even with the construction underway, this didn't bother us. In fact, it was lovely to have breakfast in the yurt! They've decorated it beautifully! The breakfast is always delicious.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2017

    9.6
    Perfect hotel, perfect location and super dog friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was building work going on but it didn't interfere with guests. But we knew that when we booked.

    Super dog friendly hotel. Staff were really welcoming and friendly. Perfect setting and location for sight seeing. Will definately be returning.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    9.2
    Area great for walking but would stay in different accommodation next time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Just didn't have that homely feel about it.

    The staff were very cheerful. Breakfast very nice. Room comfortable with nice decoration. Only downside for use is its very dog friendly.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    10
    Had an excellent night at Beck Hall with our two dogs.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Had an excellent night at Beck Hall with our two dogs. Lovely bedroom: very comfortable bed. Sofas in front of fire downstairs, dogs all over the place. It's exceptionally pet friendly, and the staff were very friendly and welcoming.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2017

    9.6
    Very relaxing
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Possibly closed their Secret Garden Bistro too early before the building work started. The Yurt is very good but heating is a concern.

    Our dog could go where we go.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    10
    Excellent, lovely place to stay, perfect location for pubs and local walks, we will be returning
    • With a pet
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I couldn't fault anything

    Very nice experience, friendly staff and a perfect lovely, clean location with everything you need plus very dog friendly.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    10
    Perfect weekend away, and looking forward to next autumn to do it again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    For us, we were happy with our short break, no dislikes at all.

    It was in a beautiful location and kept very clean. Even though it was dog friendly, there was no odour anywhere. The four poster bed was a lovely surprise and so comfy. We ate in the restaurant in the evening's because the food and service was excellent. Looking forward to a return visit next year and checking the refurbishment.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    9.2
    Top dog accommodation
    • With a pet
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Car park a bit muddy but not surprising with the work going on.

    soooo dog friendly. would have felt out of place if we hadnt brought our whippet. great room with four poster. excellent breky and even better evening meals. not cheap but worth it. Served in the yurt as the dinning room etc having a refurb. Friendly welcoming staff. Top marks. Great location with cove a short walk away.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    9.6
    Excellent location, friendly and efficient staff, good food
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Poor lighting from the car park to the hotel as we arrived after dark

    Staff were very friendly and efficient, rooms were comfortable and warm (maybe slightly too warm) Breakfast was good. We had an evening meal on the first night which was excellent. It wasn't a problem for us, but the hotel is marketed as "dog friendly" and it certainly was, so if you don't like dogs be wary.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    9.2
    Peaceful comfy retreat
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is a dog friendly hotel - I like dogs so it didn’t bother me, but when they say dog friendly they mean it!! be prepared for lots of dogs in the lounge, bedrooms and breakfast area. Breakfast was ok but I would have hoped for more for the price of the hotel. There was no fresh fruit or pastries or anything like that - just a small selection of cereal, yogurts and apples/bananas. Then there is the cooked breakfast which was fine - I had French toast one morning and it was not good at all. We had dinner later and it was lovely though!

    Lovely hotel in a perfect location! The setting by the stream is really nice and the bed was so comfortable. I liked the lounge area and the food in the restaurant at dinner was delicious. Malham is a really lovely place with lots to see nearby. The staff were very friendly and we really enjoyed our stay.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    8.8
    Comfy bed, very dog friendly, great location for walking...
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with River View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Access to the property. A better door on the green room as we were right next to the stairs.

    Comfy bed, very dog friendly, great location for walking from the doorstep.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    10
    Brilliant, I’ve been before and will definitely revisit
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The ducks where noisy things during the night, but how can you complain about that?

    Cosy clean rooms and very attentive staff ! Lovely touch having an honesty bar

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    9.2
    Lovely little hotel with fantastic, friendly staff and brilliant home made food!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with River View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff and hotel were fantastic, the food is gorgeous and it’s the perfect place for dog lovers. Unfortunately the radiator in the room didn’t work but they provided us with an oil heater and offered a room upgrade. We didn’t bother with the room upgrade mostly because I couldn’t be bothered to change rooms lol however once the oil heater got going the room was lovely and warm anyway :) Fantastic hotel, I will definitely be going back again but next time with the kids and dogs...

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    7.1
    Nice people, food and setting but fabric of the place needs attention
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The place needs quite a bit spending on it. Too much of it looks a bit tired or worse. Outdoor furniture needs sorting out. Toilets of dining room are pretty poor. We had a delux room but it had a bed seat that was cheap and starting to fall apart. Decor was poor in places - poor choice of combinations - walll paper and curtains no where near matching. Plastic plants.

    The staff are very good. Food is very good too. Setting is lovely. Snug lounge was lovely.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    10
    Very friendly, warm staff and atmosphere, enjoyed the lounge...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very friendly, warm staff and atmosphere, enjoyed the lounge and chatting to other guests. Lots of walks nearby and a beautiful and relaxing setting. The food was excellent.

    Stayed in November 2017

Showing 1 - 75