Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Bedford Arms Hotel 3 stars

Chenies, Rickmansworth, WD3 6EQ, United Kingdom

#2 of 2 hotels in Rickmansworth

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 297 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    8.8

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    8.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    8.8
    But we enjoyed our stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I thought it was a little over priced for what you received. Plus driving to it is sometimes quote exciting.

    It is a little out in the country but the staff was very helpful and it had air-conditioning

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    7.5
    See above
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    See above

    We knew the Bedford Arms from years ago. Never stayed before as at that time we were local. Our room was a good size and gave a good first impression but it needed updating ( this could be done whilst still keeping the period ambiance). The bathroom was worn and the shower was poor for modern day expectations. Venetian blinds were bent and very old. Catches on window were broken. The bed was lovely and comfortable and the whole room and bathroom was clean. Generally the hotel needed a lot of TLC and reprinting. We were disappointed as we had paid £126 and felt it should have been better

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    10
    Wonderful staff and venue
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing at all to complain about!

    First off all, queries to the venue before we arrived were dealt with very promptly. When we arrived we wanted lunch but forgot it was father's day and it was fully booked and we hadn't reserved a table. Nevertheless the staff went out of their way to find us a table and lunch was truly excellent and good value. Our room was welcoming and very comfortable. We had a good night's sleep and a hearty breakfast in the morning. If we are in the area again this will be the place we will stay.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    9.6
    Pleasant Home Counties inn with good food and ambience within minutes of M25
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a room at the front (there are two) and there is noise from the outside tables in the evening. Might bother some.

    Pleasant pub/restaurant with good food, comfort and location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    9.6
    Another great stay at Yhe Bedford Arms
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parts of the room were a bit dusty. Wasn’t sure how long the free water in the glass bottle had been sitting there so didn’t drink it.

    We have been Staying here the last 9 years Since we last came (Oct 17) the room we stayed in (11 the same as before) had been tastefully redecorated. The damp patch on the ceiling and peeling paint had all gone so was a vast improvement. It’s in the Barn conversions which overlook the fields and we were delighted to see 3 horses outside our windows. The bar was lively and the food in the restaurant was as good as always and it was so nice to see Mimo again who works tirelessly to ensure you have a great dining experience. Well done the Bedford Arms and all its staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    6.3
    spoilt by the breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast was awful, there was three people taking breakfast whilst I was there and breakfast was served in warmers they were there for at least half and hour kept warm as with all the other hot food. There was about 20+ fried eggs being kept warm, the eggs I had were overcooked, yolks solid and rubbery. I have stayed there many times a few years ago and breakfast was freshly prepared, it used to be very good but breakfast has gone massivly doen hill.

    Location and old fashioned feel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    10
    Recommended - especially couples (of any age!)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Perhaps a cooler douve - but that is a personal thing...

    So nice to find something a bit different. Max. points on everything - room, dinner, breakfast - comfort and service. Well done to everyone...

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    9.6
    Lovely location and service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some light bulbs not working. Service slow at breakfast, but this has already been addressed by the hotel, who have been very attentive.

    Quiet room short distance from hotel. Lots of space, overlooking fields. Food was excellent as was service.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    7.5
    Family break to go to Harry Potter World
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We could have had more power points in the rooms, and the spare one in our room was in an awkward position for charging phone/iPad. We felt it would have been lovely if there had been a comfortable sitting area away from the bar/restaurant because we only had one chair in our room. We had DBB but I didn’t really understand how our bill was calculated.

    Rooms were clean and tidy. Our meals and the service at dinner and breakfast were very good.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    2.9
    Awful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dirty bathroom,room over kitchen,music being played in kitchen,noises revellers at 1am in car park. Miserable unhelpful staff especially waiters watch out for service charges

    Leaving

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    8.8
    Lovelly location, friendly staff, great food, comfortable room what more can you ask for.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Four Poster Bedroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Although the room we stayed in was lovely four poster and a huge jaccusi. Being quite short I found getting in and out quite difficult. The shower door ledge made it impossible to sit on the side aid getting out. Still we had a great laugh about it.

    The restaurant was excellent. We had dinner and went back for a family lunch the following day.Although very busy the staff found us a table for 7.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    7.1
    Good for an overnight stop
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was comfortable but dated, bathroom had all sorts of hairs in it on tiled floor, long black ones not cleaned that well. Soundproofing between walls and floor is non existent, you can your neighbours and diners below. Plenty of cobwebs in breakfast room.

    Breakfast was a little rushed and stopping at 9.30 on a Saturday is too early, no cooked breakfast menu, however the requested full English was excellent.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    5.4
    Booked a double but on arrival given a twin but the room...
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booked a double but on arrival given a twin but the room name given didn’t match the name on the key, also another guest who checked in late was given our door key and was able to enter our room Extremely over priced, the bathroom had brown stains on ththe ceiling from a previous leak and thand bath had mound around the bath, a bit of bleach wouldn’t go a miss Breakfast not included and totally not worth the £12.50, menus not available on the table some full English breakfasts has everything some didn’t, waited 20 minutes for a pit of tea. Not well organised at all

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    4.6
    Below average
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We didn't like the fact we had to wait a very long time for the smallest and very expensive breakfast £25 for 2 people. Which come out cold as well the cheap coffee constantly asking for the water jug and orange juice to be refilled. When booking the so called last room for £126 I checked 30mins later to find another room for £90 which apparently was the last room. So I did the same again and YES another room for £126 again. On the day of arrival as party of 7 whilst getting ready for a wedding another couple with us found a random guest coming out of there room as he was given the wrong key by the concierge/cleaner/chef who couldn't keep up with demand. Very disappointed with the whole experience.

    Nice bed and pillows and very clean hotel.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    8.3
    Good overall would recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Some decor in bathroom was a bit peeling and we struggled to find enough plugs for chargers/hairdryers etc.

    Breakfast/bar/restaurant all excellent. Staff superb. Plenty of parking.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    10
    As a small country hotel it was excellent, I would certainly like to come again.
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was nothing to say here.

    We were given a spacious room, elegantly and tastefully decorated with a large comfortable bed. The bathroom was excelllent wit plenty of hot water. The bars and restaurants were very nicely laid out, again attractively presented. Continental breakfast was fine - cooked breakfast available. It is all very reasonably priced too.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    6.3
    Great characterful building but way too noisy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Too noisy! - I know on Saturday nights hotels will always have big groups. However, no sleep until 6am is pushing it too far!

    This hotel has great character, I've stayed a number of times.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    7.1
    We have stayed before and certainly will do again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom way too warm. I couldn't find a way to turn it down. The milk in the room was off probably due to the heat in the room.

    Good atmosphere and helpful staff

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    6.7
    Nice hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some confussuion over payment for room paid twice and a refund was given and charged twice for dinner apart from mistakes on the bills ok

    A very nice hotel we had a very nice dinner in hotel in evening the room was warm and cosy can not comment on breakfast we did not stay for breakfast

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2017

    3.3
    Awful
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    On arrival I was given a room above the kitchen. The room felt like a sauna as I was unable to adjust the heat in the room, opening the window wasn't an option as the smell from outside would travel into my room. Did not manage to sleep at all

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    7.5
    I always enjoy staying here.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A smoother check in.

    The bed was so comfy, a great sleep. Didn't appreciate having to wait to check in whilst the receptionist finished her call, somebody else should have come to book me in as she was on a call to a customer (I think).

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    10
    Great!
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was really expensive.

    The rooms Wera stunning and fully fitted in all fancy stuff. The service during dinner was also excellent and the garden and seating area were beautiful!!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    3.8
    Expensive for what was no more than a bed and breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Arrived at 2.00pm needed to eat no food served had to go and find another pub for lunch Breakfast disappointing and very crowded had to sit alone in another room!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    10
    I was visiting my mums so decided to stay at a hotel instead and we thoroughly enjoyed it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only minor complaint we had was that I had booked a Twin but the bed hadn't been pulled apart, the bed was enormous so wasn't a problem and really couldn't be bothered to mention it as it was only for one night. Also, it wasn't very clear that you had a £50 budget for dinner which again wasn't the end of the world and would remember this for future stays.

    The food in the restaurant was delicious. We were looking forward to it so was relieved that it lived up to expectations. The room was lovely and spacious. The bathroom was again big and very clean. The staff were very friendly and will definitely come back again as Mum and I enjoy a nice stay in a hotel when I come down to visit her.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    7.9
    Great food and drink. Room needs improvement
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room 11 in the Annex was looking a bit tired and "shabby". Although the room was clean, different color paint on the walls and ceiling to cover up marks and possibly water damage plus pealing paint on the window seal didn't really justify the cost of the room. Reported on departure.

    Everyone was friendly. The Bar staff were nice Great food and service in the formal dining room restaurant

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    10
    Really hope to re-visit soon.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I loved the decor and ambience of the Bedford Arms. You felt you were in a large country house. Beds were really comfortable. Everyone was friendly and polite. Felt like we had a real country retreat.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    7.9
    Very good hotel. Good location, in a very pretty village, but close to shops around.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was no wardrobe in the room, but it had pretty little hooks on the wall for your hangers. Fine for one night. I ordered the kippers for breakfast and although they were ok, I would have expected fresh Kippers, not boil in the bag ones. Other than that, breakfast was good, with a good choice and very friendly staff. On the first day, Sunday, the weather was good so we had lunch in the garden which was very pretty. The roast lunch was superb! My husband had the beef pie which he said was extremely good.

    The room was very small, but pretty although could do with updating. The bathroom was very clean and fine but a little tired. There were signs saying that they are in the process of updating all the rooms, so that's good. I would definiteley stay again.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    9.6
    Wonderful hotel
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have appreciated air con, it was very warm in the bedroom.

    The hotel was really lovely, the room was both comfortable and attractive. Dinner and breakfast were both great and the location is fabulous.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    10
    Fantastic pre-wedding stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel made our stay for my wedding so special. The staff were very attentive and the rooms were very comfortable. They accommodated all our wedding preparations in the morning including hair and makeup. We couldn't have asked for a better place to stay to make me feel calm and relaxed before my wedding. Thank you Bedford Arms.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    10
    A Great Place To Stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Four Poster Bedroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    I can't find fault with the hotel and restaurant, it was a great choice for us.

    The staff were very welcoming and the facilities are very good. The pub restaurant had a lovely atmosphere and the food was delicious. The bed was very comfortable and the room was spacious and clean. The pub garden was pretty and the location is easy to find, with good parking. I had taken my son to visit Warner Studios nearby and I wanted a quality and relaxing hotel to come back to after walking around all afternoon. Altogether, this was a very good choice and an excellent evening away for us.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    7.9
    Oh, to be in the English countryside at the height of summer.
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A pity we weren't roomed in the main part of the hotel, instead of outside in a stable-like building at the side/back. I hate heavy, fire doors (but they are everywhere, aren't they? Hazardous for children, too, I'm sure).

    The village and surrounding countryside and the Chenies manor. The bed(s) were welcoming and very comfortable. The lamb at dinner was the best ever.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    5.8
    The fan which was much needed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were charged for breakfast although when we booked through booking.com it said breakfast was included. We didn't get a refund from the hotel so we won't be going back.

    The fan which was much needed. The seats in the garden.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    9.2
    Brilliant hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Four Poster Bedroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The carpet had marks on however this wasn't an issue.

    The bathroom and room where very nice and comfortable. This was an excellent hotel and I would definitely come back here.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    8.3
    Romantic Break for Anniversary
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Four Poster Bedroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only one set of towels in room - asked reception twice for another set but never materialised.

    Room was very nice with four poster bed and views out over fields. Restaurant and waiting staff were excellent.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    8.8
    Lovely hotel, great location, fantastic staff and very comfortable.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I have not stayed at The Bedford Arms for a few years and was delightfully pleased to go back. The staff have all changed and the atmosphere and the ambience was greatly improved. Rooms are very comfortable, beds good, food great and the services was first class - well done to the team at the Bedford - I will now be coming back.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    7.5
    My only criticism would be that breakfast stopped at 9.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My only criticism would be that breakfast stopped at 9.30am. We were advised that we needed to be in the dining room by just after 9 to be sure that food was still being served. I feel this is too early on a weekend morning. We had all been to a party the night before and not got back to the hotel until 1.30am. I think 10am would be more appropriate. The result was that we checked out of the hotel at 9.30 and went into Chorleywood for breakfast. We noticed others doing the same so really the hotel are losing out. Other than that our stay was lovely.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    7.5
    Thumbs up
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only really a couple of things, our room was above the kitchen/staff area, so it was noisy with banging & chitter chatter till gone 12.30pm. And being above the kitchen, the room was SO hot, windows were all open to no avail, fan was noisy. And that Sunday breakfast was too early, only till 9.30, would of been better to go on to 10.30 & still be plenty of time in between services.

    Great place to stay, as we were at a friends wedding. Staff helpful, as we booked cabs, allowed into our room early to change etc. All good. Lovely setting, gardens etc. Seemed popular with the locals too. Very pleased with our stay overall.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    8.8
    The Bedford arms was a great place to stay , staff great ,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Four Poster Bedroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Bedford arms was a great place to stay , staff great , room great the best was the jacuzzi bath enormous size . Room very comfortable the location was great what me and my fiancée was looking for . Not walking distance to local towns but only a 10 minute drive or taxi ride .

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    9.2
    Wouldn't return at current prices.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We thought it was a little overpriced,as the room was basic and on the small side.expensive breakfast, with which was nothing special.

    Location,very good staff.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    10
    Loved the setting, the rooms were in keeping with the spirit...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved the setting, the rooms were in keeping with the spirit of the building, staff were brilliant and the couple of meals that I had there were good.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    8.8
    Lovely Stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very good service It was a real treat to be served a freshly cooked hot breakfast and not have to queue for dried out food as happens in many hotels these days

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2017

    7.9
    Great for Micklefield Hall
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Don't be late for breakfast. A party turning up at 9.33am were refused cooked breakfasts.

    Great for a wedding at nearby Micklefield Hall. Didn't really spend much time in the hotel but it ticked all the boxes.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    10
    We would certainly recommend the Bedford Arms Hotel and will be staying there again, hopefully!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was only one waitress on duty for the breakfast on the Sunday morning. She did an excellent job but was rushed off her feet! That was my only criticism, but did not spoil our overall stay.

    Our stay was very good. The staff couldn't have been more helpful. I am recovering from a new knee and after the wedding ( lots of standing ) my knee was sore and swollen. My husband asked if it was possible to have an ice pack and this was produced readily without hesitation even though it was after 10pm. We were pleased and impressed.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    8.8
    Good hotel, Wifi very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Bed a bit to narrow, and white curtain in room 15 (smallest window had a tear in it) to many cushions on the bed. Breakfast was excellent, but main dinner not very refined.

    Very nice staff, friendly and helpful. Room easy to access, Very clean and good bathroom. No noise from road.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    10
    Wonderful place for rest and recuperation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The kettle was not cleaned and therefore I couldn't have tea or coffee.

    The bed was very comfortable and the WiFi worked really well despite being away from the main building. Even though the room allocated was near the parking lot, there wasn't any noise from late arrivals or departures of guests. The drinks provided were good. The food in the restaurant was exceptional. I would recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    9.2
    Good value and late check out a bonus.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very happy that a full cooked breakfast was delivered to the room, yet there is a homely feel to the place lacking from large Hotels you'd normally expect room service from. Was even happier that check-out was 11am (not the usual 10am I'm used to). I needed the extra hour after a late night tour of the Harry Potter studios; which this hotel is only 10mins away from by car.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2017

    7.1
    Bedford Arms
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Marked facilities down as can never seem to get into main restaurant due to "club dinners" Although polite, staff in the bar restaurant were quite slow. Waited over 30mins from finishing main course to having the plates cleared and then another 30 mins before taking dessert order then another 20 mins before dessert was served. I could understand if they were busy but standing around the bar talking doesn't give a good impression. Maybe because we

    The Annexe, ambience, food and drink. Polite, friendly staff.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    7.5
    Nice but basic country pub hotel
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was extremely over priced, very very basic. Which was a shame as the stay was nice but we felt robbed after breakfast.

    Nice bar & bar food

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2017

    10
    Friendly countryside retreat
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    no negatives

    Celebrated my aunt's 80th birthday. Staff very accommodating. Food delicious and room in coach house very nice with very comfortable bed.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2017

    5.4
    Pretty location but bedrooms are tired and worn out
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was impossible to have a shower or bath as the water pressure was non-existent and the pressure not enough the drive the water to the vertical shower head

    Nice sized room in a ground floor annex with a view of the country fields

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2017

    9.2
    Didn't want to leave the room!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Four Poster Bedroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    for better or for worse it's a little out of the way

    The four poster bedrooms also included a jacuzzi, I didn't realise that whilst I made the booking. Nice surprise

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2017

    8.3
    Great food, lovely hotel, nice rooms, efficient staff when...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wifi was slow, room was a little warm (we could have opened window!), staff were good but not excellent. On more than one occasion no one around / no proactivity, but it was busy.

    Great food, lovely hotel, nice rooms, efficient staff when we could grab them.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2017

    6.7
    Pet friendly
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food not served from 2.30 - 5.30. We had a long journey and we're starving, very old fashioned times, especially for hotel guests. Luckily after staff saying no, manager made it herself as no shops close by.

    Pet friendly

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2017

    10
    Good place to stay, great value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Good location, quiet room in annexe as requested, very comfy bed in spacious room. A proper bath and plenty of hot water, great after a long day. Staff friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2017

    9.2
    Gourmet Gastronomy
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I usually sleep in a double bed, but as we booked a twin room, this is not the fault of the hotel.

    Wonderfully welcoming receptionist, incredibly clean bedroom with powerful shower and nice little extras. Dining rooms and bar were all furnished to the highest standards, with lots of little touches of character, meaning you noticed new things all the time. Apparently it is a family business these days, and that explains why they work cohesively and take such pride in everything. The food was amazingly presented and tasted so great we couldn't resist having three courses each time, and we had a lovely waitress on the Sunday. Hard to fault it really.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2017

    7.1
    Great location / room - shame about lack of consideration by other guests.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Kept awake for most of the night by a screaming baby in the next room; Reading light didn't work; Unable to turn off 'audio description' on TV.

    Great location and comfortable room.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2017

    8.3
    Stayed here a few times and all great, as usual.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Stayed here a few times and all great, as usual. Want something more refined, ask for a room in the main building....like a bit more space, ask for the annexe ))

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2016

    9.2
    Stay here if you are looking for style
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to say we didn't like bed possibly a bit small Overall a great night

    Excellent menu food a joy to eat Great staff Good location

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2016

    6.3
    No croissants!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The food was OK but a bit ordinary and far too much salmon with the scrambled egg for breakfast for my taste. Not sure that all the tables laid up for meals a good thing -there should be one or two for just enjoying a drink.

    No croissants! Very attractive hotel and garden - must be lovely in the summer. Log fire lovely at this time of year and tasteful christmas decorations

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2016

    7.9
    great place to stay, classic English country hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    service at the bar was very slow, as they seemed distracted with big parties

    friendly guests , clean and comfy rooms generous with the tea bags and toiletries in the room. They had mugs and I love mugs!

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2016

    9.2
    Well placed comfortable hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The tables in the bar were all laid for eating although we simply wanted a drink!

    The staff were welcoming and efficient. The inclusive breakfast was excellent and individually cooked

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2016

    6.7
    Staff were friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    My bedroom was No 15 which is separate from the main building - requiring a walk in cold /wet weather. Noise : rooms are not sound proof. You can hear the water pipes in the adjacent rooms. Minor point : there is little space between the bed and the window, especially the curtain holder which sticks out at shoulder level : get neater holder - to avoid bumping into it.

    Staff were friendly and helpful. Heated floor in bathroom. Rather expensive.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2016

    7.5
    Great food & great staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booking made for the restaurant and then queen we turned up, being moved to the noisy bar to accommodate the "Rotary Club".

    Very pleasant staff Fast check in Comfortable Annex room Peace and quiet in the room Fast check out Fab food

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    10
    The perfect place for a weekend away
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Four Poster Bedroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A peaceful location with very friendly staff who make you feel really welcome. Fabulous bedroom, very good food and very good value. The perfect place to unwind.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2016

    5.0
    Stayed Thursday 13th October 2016 - Friends Get Together
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beans were dreadful at breakfast and they seem to skimp on the breakfast selection of fruit and cereal and had to ask several times to top up the organs juice jug. The waitresses were poor and miserable.

    Location, Duty Manager was pleasant.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2016

    9.6
    Excellent location and friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing although I thought that the breakfast at over 12 pounds was little expensive.

    We were made to feel at home from the moment we checked in. The staff were friendly and helpful and we could not have wished for a better place to stay.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2016

    5.0
    Nice location but attention to detail needed
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room needed dusting, thick layers of dust on pictures and mirrors. Kettle was unusable due to amount of lime scale inside. TV had audio description set to on so watching TVs was annoying to say the least, receptionist did offer to change my room but upon checking the tv issue was in all rooms, unfortunately she didn't know how to turn the audio off. On check out another receptionist said oh was that on again, we'll get that sorted (not in time for my stay though). Shower was very slow could do with de-scaling and not to make it sound all bad but the toilet needed flushing 2/3times to clear it.

    Location was nice and quiet

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2016

    9.6
    Peaceful location yet only short drive from M25
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    General cleanliness very good but to be picky there were in couple of cobwebs in the bathroom, and a little grubby around in taps in the bath.

    Extremely comfortable bed, and staff very helpful and efficient.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2016

    10
    Beautiful setting. Friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Four Poster Bedroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful setting. Very friendly and accommodating staff. We stayed for one night with our toddler. Great to get out of busy London and enjoy the local walks. Good quality menu and lots of different spaces for eating inside

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2016

    7.9
    A very English Small Country Hotel - quaint and comfortable
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The wine was not chilled and service slow. We checked out early and the tables laid but on only wanted a coffee, as we were pressed for time. We were told it could be charged to our room. Frankly - two cups of coffee! It was hardly going to break the bank. How nice would it have been is the lady had offered two coffees on the house!

    The poached eggs. The room - Lady Francis

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    6.7
    Shame about the no dinner Sunday's!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Four Poster Bedroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A few stains on the wall in our bathroom. The member of staff who checked us in didn't give us any info such as breakfast times or the fact that food finished at 4pm on a Sunday.

    The bedroom was a good size and the bed was very comfy. The breakfast was tasty - tastiest fried tomato I've had!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2016

    10
    Excellent value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, all superb Rooms are a little 'traditional' but were spotlessly clean and you wouldn't want to stay out of the buzzing bar anyway

    Great traditional pub atmosphere with excellent local food (mussels, fishcake and poached pear salad all a must try. Staff were very attentive, couldn't have been more helpful and took time to speak to us and our daughter

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2016

    8.8
    Lovely room, nice bar, lovely food, shockingly poor service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stayed for Sunday lunch **DONT** Lovely food but took 4.5 hours to serve us 3 courses with wrong items brought and others missing. Plenty of empty tables so it easy busy at all. No excuse and when challenged was met with shrugs.

    Lots of parking Beautiful grounds Really lovely large room with view over the fields

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2016

    2.9
    The worst hotel I have ever stayed in.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The worst hotel I have ever stayed in. The room was above the kitchen and stank of cooking fat all night and the next morning. This made my clothes and hair smell of cooking fat. The extractor fan in the kitchen was very loud and I was promised it would be turned off at 9.30pm when the kitchen finished cooking meals for dinner. At 10.30 it was still on and I was told that was because they were still serving desert! There were no hot deserts on the menu. The extractor was not switched off until 11pm. There was also a generator on all night so I could not sleep. The shower head was an old fashioned overhead design so could not be moved therefore I couldn't shower as I didn't want to get my hair wet. The toilet had to be flushed 3 times before it worked, every time. The staff were unhelpful and didn't care. The room was not fit for habitation.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2016

    9.6
    Worth it!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was only served until 9.30am.... At the weekend I'd usually expect breakfast available at least until 10.

    Amazing facilities in the bedroom - they thought of everything. And the quality of the room justified the price.

    Stayed in August 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: