Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Beech Hill House B & B

Witherslack, Grange Over Sands, LA11 6RH, United Kingdom

#4 of 18 hotels in Grange Over Sands

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 89 B&B reviews

9.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.8

  • Comfort

    9.7

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    9.7

  • Staff

    9.8

  • Value for money

    9.4

  • Free WiFi

    8.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    10
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • (3) - King-Size En Suite Double
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing !

    The hosts provided everything and more that you could want when traveling. Breakfast was delicious! We booked dog friendly accommodation but didn’t bring the dog with us. The most dog friendly place we have ever visited. would highly recommend.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    10
    We stayed in the Garden Room which had patio doors and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • (1) - King-Size En-Suite Double
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    We stayed in the Garden Room which had patio doors and it's own balcony. It was lovely being able to sit outside in the warm weather with a glass of wine in the evening and a cuppa in the morning. We liked the fact that we could walk to the local pub for a few drinks and a good evening meal. The highlight had to be the breakfast - we could order the exact items we wanted and the quality and cooking of it was excellent. We both agreed that it was the best breakfast we had ever had!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    9.6
    Short stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • (2) - King-Size En-Suite Double
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only half an hour breakfast slot.

    Quiet. Located off main road so easy access to all parts of the Lake District. The room was very spacious and very clean. En-suite was spotless. The menu for breakfast was really good. Nothing was too much trouble for the owners.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    10
    The breakfast was amazing, the bed was really comfy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • (2) - King-Size En-Suite Double
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast was amazing, the bed was really comfy. The owners were very friendly and nothing was too much trouble. There was even a sewing kit in the room. Lovely little touches. Would definitely recommend and would definitely go back again. The Derby Arms pub is 100 yards away and the food is amazing.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    10
    Lovely b&b will definitely stay there again and will recommend!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • (2) - King-Size En-Suite Double
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I can’t fault this place at all!!

    The owner that we spoke to was lovely she couldn’t do enough for us. They provide dvds and board games. The room was lovely and big and the bed was super comfy! They had lots of dogs!! The breakfast that was on offer was really tasty. The whole place was lovely and clean.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    10
    Very dog friendly, everything was absolutely spotless, the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • (1) - King-Size En-Suite Double
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can’t think of anything bad.

    Very dog friendly, everything was absolutely spotless, the breakfast was delicious and the owners are lovely people. Nice location, even though it is near a busy road we couldn’t hear any noise it didn’t affect us at all. Loads of nice little touches like a glass of sherry on arrival in the room and a doggy basket, we would definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    10
    Fully happy with our stay at Beech Hill House, thank you.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • (1) - King-Size En-Suite Double
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not applicable.

    The welcome we received on arrival and we were looked after. Will definitely recommend it to our friends and book again when in the area. A lovely stay.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    10
    We had it all and more!
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • (1) - King-Size En-Suite Double
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    We loved everything! Very dog friendly. Amazing big bed, nice design, access to the garden from the room that our dog loved a lot!, collecton of dvds and books, tea and coffee facilities and sweets and welcome drinks. Good selection of breakfast. Warm and cosy place where you feel like home.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    10
    The most relaxing and comfortable stay I have ever enjoyed with the dog.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • (2) - King-Size En-Suite Double
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was all good

    The place was immaculate, clean and comfortable. The bonus was for dog owners, when it says pet friendly it means just that not merely tolerant. Nothing lacking for human or canine. Lovely breakfast freshly cooked to order as well as excellent choice of cereals, juices, jams etc.ii

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    9.6
    Would stay again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • (1) - King-Size En-Suite Double
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fence could use a little more security for dogs.

    Very warm welcome, awesome owners, had everything we could have needed, fantastic breakfast, great location for exploring lakes and peninsulas.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    8.8
    Every need had been catered for with all sorts of thoughtful...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • (3) - King-Size En Suite Double
    • Stayed 1 night

    Although keeping the window shut really helped, we had not realised how close to the highway it was and thus the road noise which went late and started early was very noticable. Also apart from the one (good) pub there is nothing else close by.

    Every need had been catered for with all sorts of thoughtful inclusions - even a welcome drink. Good breakfast, separate sitting area downstairs if wanted.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    8.8
    Great breakfast, homely stay, very comfortable room and nice...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • (3) - King-Size En Suite Double
    • Stayed 1 night

    Dog-focussed B&B - great for dog lovers, and not a problem if you don't mind them but if you're not a fan then this is probably not the place for you

    Great breakfast, homely stay, very comfortable room and nice pub just a minute's walk away

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    10
    Can't go wrong for the price and location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • (2) - King-Size En-Suite Double
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The level of noise was so quiet you wouldn't know you were near the main road The pub down the road served some of the best food we've had in a long time and the hosts were so lovely and accommodating and served an amazing cooked breakfast Room was a good size with a great selection of DVDs, books and music

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    9.2
    Best dog friendly b&b ever!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • (2) - King-Size En-Suite Double
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pub down the lane very busy so knowing to book in advance would have been useful, not a criticism just a bit of extra info

    Really friendly staff Dog made very welcome

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    9.6
    Perfect location, very quite and comfy room with huge bed...
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • (2) - King-Size En-Suite Double
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect location, very quite and comfy room with huge bed for better relaxation, en-suite. Tasty breakfasts with proper cumbrian sausages. Very friendly and carrying hosts. Great environment to walk, close to Ulverstone I would recommend this as little escape from city noise to regain own balance.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    10
    grange over sands easter tour
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • (3) - King-Size En Suite Double
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothings at all everything perfect

    everthing clean room friendly hosts ie jenny and stuart excellent breakfast choice great location nothing to much to ask for and a lot more provided luxury bed and breakfast would recomand to everybody

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2017

    10
    Probably the best 'dog friendly' B & B we have stayed
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • (3) - King-Size En Suite Double
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing not to like. Mr and Mrs Scott were excellent hosts.

    Everything was first class. Could not fault anything and would definitely return and recommend. If you have a dog then this is the place to stay near to the Lakes.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2017

    9.6
    Nice little touches.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • (1) - King-Size En-Suite Double
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No shower in our room but happy to get a bath instead...not really a negative but sure it would disappoint some.

    Nice little touches. Friendly owners.would recommend

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2016

    10
    Jen gives a no fuss but very warm welcome in a great house and great breakfasts too.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • (3) - King-Size En Suite Double
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A calm and no fuss but very friendly welcome. Great choice at Breakfast. Beautiful house and feel to rooms. Warm and Cosy. Bathroom large and lovely. Expect a natural, quiet but warm welcome with no real fuss as Jens been in the trade for years and knows exactly what she's doing - and makes a hard job look easy. Thank you both, from James (woodbending course)

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2016

    9.2
    Anyone who doesn`t like this establishment must be very hard to please!
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • (2) - King-Size En-Suite Double
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Purely from a personal point of view the only very slight problem was the fact that as the hotel is built on a sloping site there are several stone steps leading up to, and adjacent to the front gate - these proved just a little tricky for my wife to negotiate, but to be fair it must said that she does actually suffer from very bad knees. The reasonably fit amongst us would probably not even notice these steps at all.. (our little dog didn`t as she flew up them!) Stone steps or not we wouldn`t hesitate to revisit - its a smashing B&B!

    The hotel, though a little off our originally intended track, is excellent, as are the very friendly proprietors who provide their guests with all the home comforts, including lashings of hot water: copious amounts of freshly laundered towels each day, and plenty of in-house toiletries such as shampoo and soap. The rooms are spotlessly clean and are fully kitted out with all mod-con`s, and, whilst not absolutely massive are perfectly adequate both for guest`s and their pets who, are also very well catered for. The breakfast and its presentation are truly excellent and worthy of many West End hotel`s who, no doubt, would charge many times that which is the going rate at Beech Hill House!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2016

    9.5
    Cartmel racing weekend
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rooms very good on the whole. One slight problem for my room was only a hand held shower over the bath which was a problem for me being very tall.

    Close to Pub. Nice accomodation with lovely breakfast. Nice sitting area outside with picnic benches.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2016

    9.6
    Friendly, comfortable and immaculate, would recommend highly.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • (2) - King-Size En-Suite Double
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can't think of anything I would change.

    Extras for dog such as towels, treats and fluffy blankets . Welcome basket with tea coffe etc and a nice touch of a glass of sherry And chocolate on arrival.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    9.6
    Amazing dog friendly b&b!
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • (3) - King-Size En Suite Double
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was wonderful!

    This place is amazing! The staff are wonderful dog lovers, the rooms are so well equipt and the breakfast was perfect. Lovely pub next door too! Wouldn't hesitate booking this place again.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2016

    5.4
    Lovely host, lovely b&b...but
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • (3) - King-Size En Suite Double
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This b&b is very dog friendly. I am a dog person but it took me a while to get to sleep because of the other guests dog barking into the night. And The it smelt of dogs. Also not good if you have allergies either. The guests dog also accompanied them at breakfast which I felt was a bit unhygienic... The b&b is next to the motorway so beware if your a light sleeper like me! And there's a cattle grid right by it that you can hear cars go over. I had to shut the windows (in this heat) because of the noise. I understand there's nothing you they can do about the location, but the fact it's marked as "great location" is a bit misleading, especially if you've travelled to get away from noise. I found hairs in the bath (had to clean it before use) and some weird black markings in bath too... Also Dog hairs on my side plate at breakfast. And a dogs bone under my bed. I was actually close to leaving in the night as I couldn't settle. I know I could of mentioned all of this but I didn't want to feel awkward and was polite! Please do not be offended by my review, I know it can be disheartening and I commend you for your help to the greyhounds trust... you seemed like a really lovely person and I do understand some things I've mentioned can't be changed. But I do think that there needs to be more detail of the location on booking.com, an the fact there are actually dogs living at the b&b as I'm sure it would be a bit of a surprise to someone scared of dogs! Just more like an animal rescue than b&b. sorry

    Breakfast was nice, room had everything you need and bathroom had excellent toiletries. Room was well decorated. Spacious walk in closet. Lots of things at breakfast to choose from. Host was very friendly and welcoming.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    10
    Outstanding dog friendly and welcoming retreat
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • (3) - King-Size En Suite Double
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing at all

    The level of detail was fantastic, every little thing had been considered and an outstanding breakfast. Superb.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    9.6
    Will definitely stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • (3) - King-Size En Suite Double
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything. Comfy bed, lovely bathroom, excellent breakfast and the hosts were lovely. Nothing was too much trouble.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    10
    Clean, Friendly,.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean, Friendly,. Couldn't fault it

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    10
    a most enjoyable and relaxing weekend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • (3) - King-Size En Suite Double
    • Stayed 2 nights

    well appointed room, friendly owner, excellent breakfast

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    10
    Very enjoyable stay, would stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • (1) - King-Size En-Suite Double
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was excellent

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    10
    Excellent! Staying again on return journey
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • (3) - King-Size En Suite Double
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very comfortable room with everything thought of for us and our dog ! Superb breakfast too !

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    10
    Amazing ... home from home!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • (2) - King-Size En-Suite Double
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything .... especially that it is THE most dog friendly accommodation we've ever stayed in@

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    10
    fantastic hosts lovely place couldn't ask for more and really good value
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • (3) - King-Size En Suite Double
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    nothing what so ever !!

    location was perfect for us and a lovely homely feel to it

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    10
    Brilliant, so friendly and welcoming. We will definately return. Room 2 was lovely.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • (2) - King-Size En-Suite Double
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Earlier check in and later check out time

    Everything, even our dog had a little gift basket. Lots of extras that you do not get at a 5*.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    10
    I would definitely use this B&B again and recommend it to friends and family !
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • (2) - King-Size En-Suite Double
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No issues

    The quality and choice was superb !

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    8.3
    Very pleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • (1) - King-Size En-Suite Double
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed

    Breakfast

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    9.6
    Couldn't find the 2-pin adaptor for electric razor.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • (2) - King-Size En-Suite Double
    • Stayed 1 night

    Couldn't find the 2-pin adaptor for electric razor. It may have been there but not obvious.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    9.2
    Extra touches flannels other toiletries a handy smallfridge...
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • (3) - King-Size En Suite Double
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Extra touches flannels other toiletries a handy smallfridge in bedroom for own drinks

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    10
    excellent B&B ih and amazing breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • (3) - King-Size En Suite Double
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I can't think of anything haha

    There wasn't anything to dislike

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    10
    A little gem
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • (1) - King-Size En-Suite Double
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Faultless.

    The very dog-friendliness , warm welcome, useful local information and all the things you need for a short stay...well thought out!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    10
    Excellent stay
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • (3) - King-Size En Suite Double
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    10
    Very nice people nothing was too much trouble
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • (3) - King-Size En Suite Double
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Just a great place. Attention to detail was good

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    10
    Lovely place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • (3) - King-Size En Suite Double
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Very clean and lots of effort put into ensuring that guests have everything they need. Large spacious bathroom. Breakfast is really good too.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    10
    Dog friendly
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • (1) - King-Size En-Suite Double
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dog friendly

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    9.6
    Very good for a short term stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent breakfast, room really big.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    10
    Location, comfortable, lovely breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • (1) - King-Size En-Suite Double
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location, comfortable, lovely breakfast

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    10
    COMPLETLEY RELAXING AND EXCELLENT SERVICE.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • (1) - King-Size En-Suite Double
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I dont know how you could improve as everything was BRILLIANT!

    Breakfast was excellent and the atmosphere was very relaxing.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    9.6
    Everything
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • (2) - King-Size En-Suite Double
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2017

    10
    Very nice B&B would defenetly recommend
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • (1) - King-Size En-Suite Double
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi was little hit and miss, but not a real issue as we were out most of the day.

    Very dog friendly and ideal location

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2017

    9.6
    Great place to stop for the South Lakes.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • (3) - King-Size En Suite Double
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    Very friendly and welcoming.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2016

    10
    Nice rooms caring staff
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • (3) - King-Size En Suite Double
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The friendliness of staff Jenny is an excellent host and the Derby arms pub with great food and lots of surrouding countryside

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    10
    GREAT
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • (2) - King-Size En-Suite Double
    • Stayed 1 night

    N/A

    WANTED FOR NOTHING

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2016

    8.3
    were made to feel welcome
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    local pub not very clean - sticky tables

    everything possible provided - e.g. books, DVDs, biscuits etc etc.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2016

    9.6
    Smashing. Great pub 50yds away. Would definitely go back !
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • (3) - King-Size En Suite Double
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast a bit later

    Really really dog friendly

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2016

    8.8
    Great breakfast, lovely garden, friendly owner
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • (2) - King-Size En-Suite Double
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    As it is agreyhound rescue home the doggy smell may be offputting

    Great breakfast, lovely garden, friendly owner

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    8.3
    Prefect for an overnight stay
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • (1) - King-Size En-Suite Double
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing comes to mind

    The breakfast was excellent

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2016

    9.6
    Excellent breakfast, spacious room, really great pub serving...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • (3) - King-Size En Suite Double
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little too close to main road.

    Excellent breakfast, spacious room, really great pub serving food up the road. Lovely hosts.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2016

    9.6
    Excellent B&B
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • (1) - King-Size En-Suite Double
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect location for a trip to the Lakes. Accommodation was ace and owners were very attentive.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    10
    was good and relaxing and so friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • (3) - King-Size En Suite Double
    • Stayed 2 nights

    it was all good and a wide choice

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    9.6
    Fabulous
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • (2) - King-Size En-Suite Double
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We didn't like leaving lol

    Everything was at a high quality and we really enjoyed our time there definitely goin back again.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2016

    10
    what a place to stay wonderful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • (3) - King-Size En Suite Double
    • Stayed 2 nights

    breakfast was excellent service was amazing would recommend to friends

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2016

    9.6
    Comfy room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Only negative was it being very close to a busy road although didn't bother us.

    Comfy room. Friendly hosts. Breakfast was fab. Would recommend staying here..

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2016

    9.6
    Everything was really wonderful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I can't find a thing!

    Everything was really wonderful. Choice at breakfast would suit anyone and was beautifully served. Welcome sherry and chocolate just one thoughtful touch of many. Owners interested in us without being intrusive.

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2016

    10
    Superb!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing. Everything was great.

    Superb! The lovely couple that hosted us were amazingly nice. We were welcomed to our room where we found the highest attention to detail we have seen, we even had a nice welcoming shery waiting for us! Wee badger ( our terrier) was welcomed with his own bowl, biscuits and towels! Amazing shower. We loved the breakfast cooked to order from an impressive range. Excellent stay. We loved it. We had dinner at the pub down the road, one minute walk. Food was great and atmosphere awesome. Dog allowed too! There is a wee nature reserve just next to the pub. So we took badger for his run there. We saw deer and a sparrow hawk. Awesome!

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2015

    10
    Exceeded our expectations with a welcome of sherry &...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Exceeded our expectations with a welcome of sherry & chocolate for us & treats for our 2 dogs. Most welcoming & friendly with stunning accommodation & delicious breakfast with a pub two minutes walk away serving amazing food for our evening meal.

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2015

    10
    No complaints at all.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No complaints at all. Host greeted us and gave us lots of information. Lovely spacious room with every possible thing thought of. Very homely. We chose to have continental breakfast in the room rather than the cooked breakfast which was lovely.

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2015

    10
    The b & b is very clean,the breakfast is brilliant with...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Couldn't fault anything.

    The b & b is very clean,the breakfast is brilliant with plenty to choose from . Although it is near a busy road there is hardly any noise and the greyhounds that are fostered here are quiet as mice! Hosts are very fiendly and always make it an enjoyable visit.

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2015

    7.9
    breakfast could not be faulted it was superb I tried a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    the bathroom only had a shower attachment to the bath I have only one arm and found it difficult

    breakfast could not be faulted it was superb I tried a different breakfast every day for 4 days and all were excellent

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2015

    9.6
    Jenny and Stuart have thought of everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Jenny and Stuart have thought of everything. There is nothing you could want for, that they haven't already provided for you. Very impressed, and very helpful and friendly. Beautiful Breakfast as well. Highly recommend.

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2015

    9.6
    Had a wonderful 2 day-stay at this B&B.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Had a wonderful 2 day-stay at this B&B. The room is big with a balcony and bathroom with all amenities you could think of. The hosts Jenny and Stuart are very helpful and pleasant. Excellent breakfasts cooked to order. Extraordinarily pet friendly.

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2015

    10
    Lovely bedroom with decked outside area, ideal for the dog...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Lovely bedroom with decked outside area, ideal for the dog and own access to room. Excellent breakfast and lovely host,even gave us dog training tips.

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2015

    9.6
    Our bedroom was lovely with every care given to every...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Not really a bad experience, but house just close to the busy dual carriageway.

    Our bedroom was lovely with every care given to every possible need. The breakfast was excellent, with great choices. Our hosts were friendly and helpful.

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2015

    9.2
    We loved our stay here, we felt very welcome and they had...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The decor was a bit dated and smelt a little of dogs but other than that you would never have known they had dogs!

    We loved our stay here, we felt very welcome and they had everything we needed and it was very clean!

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2015

    10
    The room was spacious and comfortable, the bathroom was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room was spacious and comfortable, the bathroom was amazing as it was modern and also spacious with having a dog we were able to put her in there for the night. The breakfast was delicious too and the staff were very friendly! Ideal location, close to Kendal, the lakes, Yorkshire dales and the coast!

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2015

    6.7
    Excellent bathroom.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location. Just off a seemingly busy dual carriage way, adjacent to a cattle grid, and from the farm across the road, a strong smell of manure in the air.

    Excellent bathroom.

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2015

    7.1
    The people were lovely;
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room a bit cluttered; bed a touch hard; house close to A590 - not obtrusive with windows closed but could be in summer

    The people were lovely; the breakfast really good

There are also 26 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: