Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Beech House Hotel 4 stars

60 Bath Road, Reading, RG30 2AY, United Kingdom

Review score

Based on 469 hotel reviews

9.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.5

  • Comfort

    9.2

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    8.8

  • Staff

    9.7

  • Value for money

    9

  • Free WiFi

    8.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    10
    Lovely Edwardian hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very pleasant stay in this lovely old Edwardian property. The staff were very friendly and obliging, the accommodation was clean and comfortable and it's well located. There is a full English breakfast available, the garden is lovely and there is a pub opposite that offers good meals. All in all it was perfect for my needs and I would certainly stay again. Thoroughly recommended.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    10
    First time back in our home town for 12 years, so the hotel helped to added to our experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We would really have to nit pick to comment, so no comment.

    Excellent choice of breakfast, English breakfast cooked to order, so it was always hot. Room spotlessly clean. Plenty of tea,coffee and milk portions. Good internet connection .very convenient for town centre and motorway.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    3.8
    Disappointing Service
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    After a 3 hour drive we just wanted to relax and watch some tv as it was late. TV in our room wasn’t working, went back down stairs and was given new batteries for remote but still didn’t work. Room was warm so put the fan on but that didn’t work either. We were told on arrival that if we wanted breakfast we could let them know in the morning........went down stairs in the morning and were told we couldn’t have breakfast as we hadn’t prebooked it?! Surely a hotel is capable of cooking up two extra breakfasts......but apparently not.

    Location is good and central, building itself is very nice.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    9.6
    The hosts were remarkably helpful and friendly, and created...
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    The hosts were remarkably helpful and friendly, and created a calm and most welcoming atmosphere. Plenty of space, including the use of a lovely garden and comfortable waiting room.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    10
    Beech House Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dining area 1980’s dated, but very clean and homely.

    Spacious and clean. Staff very attentive and friendly. They went out their way to ensure we had a room available early morning of arrival, so we could change into costume for Reading Carnival.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    9.2
    Lovely and quiet, staff really friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to dislike.

    Lovely and quiet, staff really friendly. This hotel has a really personal touch and much nicer than the big faceless chain hotels. I would definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    10
    Very accommodating owners.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast from 7am so if starting early might be a problem. Owners were very good and accommodating to make sure I could have breakfast was were in reality serving from about 0650. NOT REALLY A NEGATIVE

    Very accommodating owners. Clean and comfortable hotel in a good location for easy access to the centre of town.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    9.6
    All was good, with meticulous attention to detail.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    All was good, with meticulous attention to detail. We appreciated help with late checkin. We noticed that the bed was made up with sheets and blankets rather than duvets, which is unusual these days and was rather nice for a change. And were amused by three different patterns of wallpaper in our bedroom.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    9.2
    Excellent place to stay while visiting Reading.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There was nothing that I did not like. The hotel is on the west side of Reading and I was working on the east side (University of Reading): I was glad that I brought my bike, since it was a bit too far to walk and the traffic was quite busy.

    Very comfortable room in a nicely appointed hotel. Good breakfast, very friendly staff. Good price for this location. I would come back if working in Reading again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    9.6
    Affordable luxury
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing superb

    King room huge. Spotless room and bathroom. Parking on site. Staff very helpful assisting with luggage, orientation to hotel facilities and info about local transport and evening dining option. Breakfast excellent, good options and cooked to order. All the staff lovely. Very welcoming.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    9.6
    Excellent value for money !
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really

    Very courteous staff ! Asked for a single room but was given a small double next to my daughter and son in law which was really nice. Bathroom was so clean you could have eaten on the floor. Lovely breakfast. Would stay again if in Reading

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    10
    Outstanding.
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Faultless. I genuinely can't think of one single thing that could have been improved.

    The staff were exceptional. I was upgraded to executive suite which was a lovely surprise. Decor, upkeep, cleanliness, staff all outstanding. I literally can't rate this place highly enough. What an amazing find! Best value for money I have ever found.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    10
    Excellent place, beautiful house!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was slightly too warm but nothing major.

    Breakfast was lovely, room was very comfortable. Staff were very attentive especially with our 7 month old.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    8.8
    A very warm welcome, thanks
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Shower / bathroom was a little dated but honestly the amazing staff make up for any shortfalls.

    Amazing customer service, the team here go above and beyond. Great boutique style hotel, very clean.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    9.2
    Go-to choice in Reading
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing

    A very lovely boutique-type hotel with beautifully decorated unique large rooms and good breakfast. Why go to big names when the Beech House is so much better

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    10
    Attending a family wedding & really pleased we decided to stay here.
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No negatives at all.

    Excellent staff / very friendly & couldn't do enough for you. Ample parking & hotel really well laid out & clean. Lovely bedroom. Really good breakfast with plenty of choice. We would highly recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    10
    excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Can't think of anything

    Everything couldn't be better, bed comfortable, breakfast everything anyone should need and couldn't be cleaner, I haven't stayed anywhere better for cleanliness

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    9.6
    Would recommend the Beech house excellent, thankyou very much.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nice warm welcome, excellent service, room nice lighting could have been better, breakfast was superb the service was A1 all the staff had a smile on there faces.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    10
    Great staff in a lovely hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was nothing to dislike.

    The hotel was excellent and we would go there again if we visit Reading again. The staff was great and polite, food and service was great.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    9.2
    Friendly, very clean and comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    If I'm being really picky, shower a bit fiddly to turn on and shower head wobbly in its holder, but these were very minor issues.

    The hotel had listened to feedback from my previous stay and had addressed minor issues I raised - can't ask more than that. Very comfortable stay. Would recommend.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    8.3
    Pleasant restful break. Enjoyed a peaceful breakfast and a late departure.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Traffic noise. Widen the breakfast offer to include fish. Wifi just ok. Newspaper in guest room? No clock radio alarm which is always nice. Fresh milk in room would have been a real bonus.

    Large room, nice bed. Helpful staff on arrival late at night assisted with luggage. Attentive staff at breakfast. Poached eggs excellent. Nice guest sitting room. My biggest yardstick of a good hotel is that they make the toast and serve it in a rack.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    10
    Very difficult to find fault.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Try as I might, I'm finding it difficult to find fault.

    Every aspect of my stay was precisely what I was looking for. One of the most comfortable nights sleep in a long while.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    9.2
    I generally stay in large hotels, this was a suprisingly lovely stay!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bedrooms are slightly dated.

    The staff were fantastic - nothing was too much trouble. The breakfast was lovely and I really appreciate the beautiful white table cloth! Excellent value for money for a small independent hotel!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    8.3
    Size of the room
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    For my work, the location is not ideal, due to the traffic in the morning, but would stay again if a more local offering is not avalable

    Size of the room

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    10
    Made working away from home a little more bearable
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely nothing!

    Professional service, very, very accommodating nothing was too much trouble, lovely and warm room if a little old fashioned this only added to the overall charm.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    10
    Very enjoyable and just what you need on a business trip.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing.

    Staff very welcoming and attentive. Hotel and rooms very clean and comfortable. Also very warm. Jenny the waitress from Spain was very good and and I enjoyed listening to her Spanish guitar music while eating breakfast. Plenty of car parking space and only 20 minute walk to the centre of Reading

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    9.6
    Great Stay for 4 nights and well looked after. Big thank you to the Beech House Hotel and Staff
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing to add really except perhaps an honesty bar may be useful in one of the lounge areas.

    The staff are excellent and attention to detail far exceeds even some of the finest hotels. The location is spot on if you like to be just out of town. On the bus route so trips to and from the centre is excellent. The rooms are well furnished and roomy. Hotel itself is a good layout in regards to where you meet for breakfast which is excellent by the way and where you relax for a coffee in either of the two lounges. Tea and Coffee available not only in the rooms but also in the lounges. Thoroughly recommend this hotel, I believe it is the best small hotel in Reading.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    7.9
    Spotlessly clean and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Easier adjustment for heating would be helpful. Room was too hot for my comfort. Breakfast served on cold plate so it got cold very quickly.

    Room spacious. Bed very comfortable. Breakfast good choice and cooked to order.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    9.2
    Very comfortable and clean, but a little dated.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rather old fashioned heavy furniture in our room, a little dated perhaps? The choice of "continental breakfast" was poor, but understandable at this low season time of year (waste control). Non of the "prepared" fruit was fresh, all tinned. Just a choice of a fresh apple or a banana. The fruit juices were not freshly squeezed (once again, waste control probably at this time of year?)

    It was very clean everywhere, if not a little dated in decor

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    10
    The hotel is spotlessly clean, the staff are very friendly and helpful and the location is great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff were extremely friendly and couldn't have been more attentive and friendly. The breakfast was excellent and the location was perfect for us.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    10
    All in all, absolutely nothing to complain about. I had a great stay, keep doing what you're doing!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast variety might be slightly improved.

    Very cozy atmosphere, warm and friendly. Great care is taken by the staff, that all guest requirements are fulfilled to the highest detail.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    9.6
    We enjoyed our stay very much, and were welcomed ,A
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower in the bathroom could do with updating, otherwise no complaints ,

    Good customer service , Wonderful breakfast , Good parking, Warm and cosy room, a lot of attention to detail .

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    10
    Our second stay here.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our second stay here....love the character of the period property and that it's an independent hotel and not part of a chain geared at the corporate market. The staff remembered us from our previous visit the month before and greeted us warmly but professionally. We will definitely be coming back

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2017

    10
    Excellent stay.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing here not to like.

    Nice room a little on the hot side for me though. Great welcome, by the owner. Breakfast was really good and plenty to eat with more tea if its wanted. Certainly stay here again.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    9.6
    Very nice place, Would definitely return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Could do with some pastries and croissants for breakfast and natural yogurt to go with fruit.

    Staff were very helpful and attentive. Room was clean and very comfortable. A very relaxed stay.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    10
    Coulnt fault it would stay there again if in the area
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed was hard but this is only my opinion some may like it that way

    Staff were really attentive and gave good advice with regards traffic problems in the reading area and how much time I would need to allow in order to get to my appointment on time. Breakfast staff were excellent

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    9.6
    Tailored service
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    - owners/in-charge personnel offers outstanding, personally tailored service -familiar, relaxed atmosphere -baby friendly (cot provided without extra charge) -attention to details -tasty FE Breakfast -free parking in front of the hotel

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    9.6
    Great hotel, delicious breakfast!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I am personally not a great fan of deep carpets in Hotels and would prefere other floors.

    The breakfast was delicious, the room was big, including a tea / coffee maker, nice beds and furniture. Eventhough our room was in the front of the house, orientated to the street it was not loud at all. I could recommend everyone to stay at the Beech House Hotel.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    10
    Wonderful stay in a quiet location just outside town centre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Impeccable welcome and service. Lovely single room with comy bed. Bathroom with shower a delight. Breakfast superb. So good I stayed another night. I have no hesitation in recommending this hotel.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    7.5
    A nice hotel, although somewhat old-fasioned
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was a bit like travelling into the past: Hairdryer mounted on the wall (nowhere near a mirror) "Flowery everything" decoration Soap wrapped in clingfilm Instant coffee in room An electric "power shower" - works well, but very little water comes out.

    Everyone was very friendly and helpful Everything was very clean The wifi works well lovely building

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    9.6
    Shower was very efficient and plenty of hot water.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed was comfy, but for really top marks I would have liked a duvet and a mattress topper. The only other thing I would mention would be the hairdryer was sited out of reach of a mirror when using it.

    Shower was very efficient and plenty of hot water. Room had everything needed and there was a bonus of a sitting room if we had been there longer. Breakfast was excellent and staff friendly.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    10
    Loved the place and people and the garden out back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing to dislike.

    The place was lovely, an early century home that was done up with taste and in period time. Yet it was very comfortable for today taste. The owner and staff were excellent and went above and beyond to help with bus transportation etc...

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    10
    Comfortable quiet accommodation with superb service & great value
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was perfect.

    The service by the staff was excellent. Very friendly & helpful. We arrived after midnight, but staff stayed up to welcome us. Despite being near the main road, the rooms were very quiet. Superb breakfast choice.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    10
    Excellent, will definitely return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very helpful and attentive staff. Hotel has lots of character, is clean, and obviously well looked after. Plenty of well laid out on-site parking. Great breakfast. Highly recommended.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    7.9
    Surprisingly quiet for an urban location and convenient for getting into central Reading
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bed was lumpy and uncomfortable. Also it was very soft, which may suit some people, but not me. Being charged extra for breakfast.

    I was made very welcome and the hotel was immaculately clean. The breakfast was very good. The room was surprisingly quiet considering it was near a main road and quite close to the centre of Reading.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    9.2
    Convenient location, lovely gardens and very friendly staff
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wi fi intermittent at best. Shame they don't offer dinner as nearby Beefeater is atrocious!

    A lovely old property with very attentive staff, very clean and comfortable, decor a little dated if you're comparing to boutique style hotels but this is more small country house with the advantage of being in town. Rooms are very quiet given that it is situated on a main road.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    10
    Very enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    It was immaculate. The staff were friendly. Bed was very comfortable. we were out at Reading festival most of the time and slept like a log when we got back. Perfect for our needs.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    6.7
    Respectable but dull.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Furnishings and fittings were dated and our room dingy. Somewhat depressing ambiance. Didn't stay for breakfast but the tables looked oddly-spaced.

    The staff were friendly and efficient. Public areas are pleasant but old fashioned. Our room was spotless.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    10
    Best hotel ever
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Greeted when arrived and taken to my room, and shown around the hotel, by wonderful staff, they went out there way to make sure i had a pleasant stay, and helped an fb printed out the root to the festival I was going to, my room was so beautiful and clean, comfortable beds and a amazing shower, breakfast was very satisfying and a good choice, full English plus continental choices aswell, the garden was beautiful mature well kept, with a nice sheltered smoking area, the sitting room was a lovely touch aswell, just opposite is a beefeater where we had our evening meal, highly recommended the little treasure, an fb will be going back there next year 100%

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    9.6
    Very comfortable, perfect bedroom, lovely breakfast and staff extremely friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The check in process was very thorough and welcoming. Our bedroom was large and very comfortable. Breakfast was lovely and all the staff were so friendly. I requested an earlier check in by email and the hotel replied quickly to say that was fine. Reception booked a taxi for us on arrival and helped us to get cases from the car. I would definitely recommend and stay again.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    8.8
    Absolutely spot on
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Very decent sized room, with a comfy bed, and an excellent breakfast. Excellent value too. It was a last minute booking and a really good place to stay.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    10
    Excellent property
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely peaceful property. Staff around if you needed anything. A big plus two easy chairs in hotel room. Most places only have one. Don't know where they think the two guest sit.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    8.8
    Lovely guest house with character
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I originally thought the building needed an update but I actually think it has a charm that an update would ruin.

    I liked the the feel of the guest house. The staff were very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    9.6
    The staff were most helpful and the breakfast was just as nice as the last time I booked there.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Someone, presumably a previous guest, had left ear wax on the wallpaper opposite the bed. The Shower was not the easiest to operate.

    Staff were extremely helpful.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    9.2
    Comfortable and quiet.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly and helpful staff. The room was clean and had all we required for a comfortable stay. Excellent breakfast. Our third visit and would certainly return again.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2017

    9.6
    Great place to stay - spacious, comfortable, clean and friendly.
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Cleanliness, good sized room and bathroom, quiet, lovely garden, everything you want for a comfortable night, warm welcome and nothing too much trouble. Plenty of choice for breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2017

    9.2
    Quiet location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Quiet location. Very well appointed bathroom and a decent size for a single room in the UK. Heating was on unlike so many other places in June in the UK.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    7.5
    Well presented hotel.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Well presented hotel. Lovely ground floor room overlooking small garden. Free coffee machine available to guests - nice touch, in addition to tea/coffee in room. Courteous staff.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    9.2
    Thanks Beech House!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Easy to find (even when you're jet lagged after a VERY long flight having arrived at Heathrow only a couple of hours beforehand!) Great parking. Very friendly welcoming manager, nothing too much trouble. A feeling of stepping straight into the UK experience in a traditional grand house. Comfortable bed, a good sleep, wonderful home cooked breakfast and one is ready to face the world again. Thanks, Beech House!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    9.6
    Gem of a hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Entrance to room/suite maybe a little open/exposed.

    Lovely hotel, superb room and staff extra attentive and friendly. Large, comfy bed and big bathroom. Really enjoyed our stay !

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    9.6
    Lovely quiet & relaxing quality hotel
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No bar or restaurant, but...then again it probs wouldn't be so quiet & relaxing if they were present. Not such a big deal as there is a Beefeater restaurant straight across the road. May be nice to be able to have a nightcap sometimes though.

    Lovely quiet & relaxing hotel. Parking & wifi excellent. Staff very helpful, friendly and professional at all times. Room & bed bigger than expected; en-suite a good size too. Very clean hotel - everywhere. Breakfast & service outstanding...juice & continental as well as full English breakfast with fresh ingredients cooked to perfection. Very good choice of everything. Proper linen on tables. Breakfast room looks out onto garden which would be nice in good weather. Tea/coffee bar room available to guests at all times - to make tea/coffee etc. Lovely furnishings in sitting room/public areas. Bus stop into town 1 min walk from front door.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    7.5
    The varitety of breakfast: fruits, cereals & the full...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I found strange to find the hairdryer in the room because in my country It is common to have It in the bathroom, this way I had to disturb when somebody was sleeping.

    The varitety of breakfast: fruits, cereals & the full breakfast with other possible options, and the most we enjoied was the extra large Bed. The room was really comfortable and specially the cleaning was perfect.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2017

    9.2
    Really enjoyable, thank you!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Thanks for a lovely, comfortable stay and a great night's sleep. The quiet location was exactly what I hoped for but an easy distance from town. Staff were lovely and helpful and breakfast was perfect!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    7.9
    Recommended
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    They did not change towels as I hanged "Make Up Room Shield" on door at second day of my stay. I have to use the same towlels for three days. It is not a professional approach from hotel staff side. Breakfast don't have too much variety. The staff should be little more friendly and should at least pass smile during conversion. They were too much serious.

    Clean Room. Location (near to railway station, can be approached by bus in 10 min).

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2017

    10
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No negatives from us!

    top notch all round- nice welcome and friendly staff throughout- good breakfast . Bus stop one minute walk away, (choice of 3 buses) and barely five mins into town centre (return Bus stop is by St Mary's Church in Reading ) and stops outside BnB- Beefeater Restaurant opposite and Tesco Express one/two mins (drive) down the road Excellent breakfast (and choice) in a lovely room- Restaurant standards

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2017

    10
    Lovely small hotel.
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    On arrival, friendly greeting and recognition from a previous visit. Very comfortable room and en suite which was spotlessly clean. Efficient service at breakfast with ample variety.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    8.8
    Lovely stay in Beech house hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only complaint I have was that the mattress on the bed was too hard .

    The hotel was very clean the staff were very friendly and the location was handy for bus routes to the town centre.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2017

    9.6
    Perfect
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Peaceful, comfortable & clean Hotel throughout. A tasty, freshly cooked breakfast and excellent service from all staff members. Very reasonable prices.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    7.5
    Overall very nice hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed and pillows very hard.

    Lovely quaint hotel. Staff excellent. Very polite and attentive. Rooms extremely clean. Breakfast very good with choice of several hot and cold options.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    9.2
    If I'm in Reading again i would go back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Minor repairs needed in the room is knob missing from draw

    The room was spacious clean and bed comfortable. Owner was attentive and made us feel welcome. Breakfast was lovely and set us up for the day.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2017

    9.2
    Comfortable, convenient and good value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mattress could have been slightly more comfortable.

    Staff were friendly, polite and descreet. Room was clean, quiet and pleasant to be in. Off road free parking. Convenient for town and access to M4.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2017

    7.9
    Clean room, friendly staff, good location, plenty of tea...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room had two mirrors but not one by hair dryer, breakfast disappointing as could have been hotter and on cold plates.

    Clean room, friendly staff, good location, plenty of tea bags, coffee and milk in room.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2017

    10
    Perfect for business travel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Would have preferred a duvet to the bedding provided - just feels more hygienic :-)

    Great location and a Beefeater right opposite - perfect for business travel in Reading

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    9.6
    Brilliant service
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Welcoming staff , nice clean and comfortable room, extra pillows, clean bathroom, very good breakfast cooked at your wish. Free parking, close to city centre.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2017

    8.8
    First class service
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent service - front door opened as I arrived, bag carried to room and early breakfast & checkout organised. Charming breakfast room - salt & pepper mills on each table & proper napkins; pretty garden

    Stayed in March 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: