Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

Reviews of The Beeches Hotel This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

42 Waltham Rd, Scartho, Grimsby, DN33 2LX, United Kingdom

#7 of 8 hotels in Grimsby

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 554 hotel reviews

7.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.4

  • Comfort

    7.2

  • Location

    7.9

  • Facilities

    6.7

  • Staff

    7.6

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    6.2

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: July 16, 2018

    4.6
    Never again
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The staff was rude and kept us waiting half an hour to go clean the room after our check in time and made uncomfortable remarks about the state of the room.

    It was a cheap bed for the night

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 16, 2018

    7.9
    You should look for a new manager
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    When we checked in a lovely lass at the reception gave us a local taxi number, we tried ringing it didn't work so decided to go ask at the reception to ring for us as we had to be out at a baby shower.. so as we got downstairs no 9ne was to be seen so we stood and waited, with that this fella came walking out the other room and just stood there looking at us, we didn't realise he worked there as he didn't have a name tag on and he came walking out the bar area so we thought he was someone staying there, with that he said what!! So we just looked at him as we thought he was just a drunk fella... then he carried on and said well cone on what! You here for a party or to Check in or something .. so we replied we're just waiting for the receptionist, he then looked at us with a face on pointing up and down his self and said yeah me! So we apologised and said oh sorry didn't realise you was the receptionist, he then said really snotty back well no I'm the manager so what do you want!!.... he was very rude and made us feel very uncomfortable, maybe if he went behind the reception desk we would off realised but he didn't. The rest of the staff was great and couldn't fault them but I think 'the manager' needs a lesson on how to speak to the guest!

    The breakfast was lovely and apart from the manager the rest of the staff made us feel welcome.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 13, 2018

    7.5
    Good budget hotel, friendly staff and well cooked food.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The towels although clean are a little thin and rough. Again small touches like soft towels make a huge difference.

    Ive stayed here a few times whilst traveling for work because its a good budget hotel. I prefer the deluxe room for the extra few pounds as you have more space and they tend to be quieter rooms. Dont be put off by the poor reviews, admittedly parts of the hotel could do with a bit of TLC especially replacing stained carpets or even deep cleaning them but in fairness ive never found my room to be dirty. Its is basic without the little luxurys you get in pricey hotels but you do get what you pay for. Staff are really friendly and the breakfast was really well cooked and enjoyable to eat without costing a fourtune.I think an extra person to help serve in the morning would be beneficial as the woman who served me seemed to be doing everything

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 10, 2018

    3.3
    The pictures below are the towel which was hanging from the...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The pictures below are the towel which was hanging from the bathroom door, when I checked in! I showed it to the receptionist and called booking.com, hope they have taken some action. This is a disgrace.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: July 4, 2018

    4.6
    The young man who was in the bar Wez was an absolute joy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The carpet room 8 was stained, the mattress needed replacing and the shower was uninviting. Although the breakfast indicated on the notice board from 6am, the person who checked us in ,the acting manager made it clear not to think about breakfast until 8.30

    The young man who was in the bar Wez was an absolute joy.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 4, 2018

    6.7
    adequate
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the whole place looks tired inside and the outside area also. no bulb in the bedside light and staff made no effort to find one just said they were on order could have bought one from the shop across the road!

    comfortable bed good shower served the purpose

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 2, 2018

    5.4
    All ways make sure you have have proof of payment??????
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Poor management. Said I had not paid. When paid through pay pal. Management complaining about booking. Com. Manager like basil faulty.

    Lovely room clean towels

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 2, 2018

    4.6
    We arrived 8pm Friday.
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We arrived 8pm Friday. We were checked in by a gentleman. He took our payment and walked away didn’t advise where we had to go to find out room, just left us to find our own way. We walked into the room and it was very very hot. No fan available in the room only 1 pillow on the bed. Another guests clothes in the wardrobe. We were leaving the room shortly after and found the door wouldn’t lock so asked at reception the gent then had to try 3 other keys that apparently were “identical” but yet only 1 worked. They didn’t inform me it was the master key. So there for the next day no maid service could access the room. There was no waste bin in the room, tea and coffee facilities but no tea spoons. The second day breakfast wasn’t available early enough for us so couldn’t use the facilities which was inconvenient. We wouldn’t book here again as for the price we paid we could get something much more.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 2, 2018

    7.9
    What I was looking for.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The carpets were a bit tired looking but don’t think that the present owners have owned it very long and that it is a work in progresss

    Friendly staff on reception. Location for Grimsby and cleethorpes. Both rooms booked were close to each other.th

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 1, 2018

    3.3
    A very understanding and helpful receptionist.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A very rude and impolite manager. It was my second stay there. they offered me room 5 which had a very big ugly damp satin on the ceiling. I requested the receptionist to change my room as I did not liked it, the manager, with our speaking with me and asking the problem, when upstairs and said the room is in good condition, and when I said not in my opinion, he rudely said for 50£ a night what you expect! when they changed my room the second room had blood stained towels hanging form the back of bath room door. I called receptionist and told her, I also send the pictures to booking.com. That hotel is a poor hostel, nothing like 3 stars hotel.

    A very understanding and helpful receptionist.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: July 1, 2018

    8.8
    It was a great low budget room.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Tap connector in the shower was broken and leaked onto the bathroom floor. (reported on check out) The Room was just big enough and good for the money. However, I would have rated higher with more space, as that would have exceeded my expectations.

    It was a great low budget room. I only needed one night away, and it was comfortable and clean.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 29, 2018

    7.5
    A night in Scartho
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Attention to detail Towels missing in one room Restaurant not open in evening Owners leave it all to staff to do Poor window closures and problems with locks

    Nice rooms and bathroom Wayne very helpful on reception

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 28, 2018

    7.1
    Good simple budget hotel in safe part of Grimsby
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    OK overall. Mattress and towels not in first flush of youth. Could pick up a few Brownie points with extra glasses, functioning TV remote and a general spruce up, but would happily book again

    We use this hotel when we visit a relative and it's in a convenient and safe location. The Beeches has changed hands over the years but still offers good sized ,clean, quiet rooms at a good price. We don't bother with breakfast so can't comment on the catering.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 28, 2018

    3.3
    Nothing
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Terrible customer service manger was abrupt on arrival and quiet nasty, then went on to having no hot water and the iron had no plug, Complaints dealt with in a very unprofessional manner and the whole experience was bazaar never go here

    Nothing

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 27, 2018

    3.8
    Could have been better.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Disgusting,dirty state of shower room..Staff reaction ambivalent when we asked for alternative,even if cost more.D

    I Comfortable bed , spotless linen and towels.Free Wi fi. This Could have been a reasonable stay but AVOID ROOM 5 if offered..

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 20, 2018

    7.5
    Location good, our second visit.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Location good, our second visit. Cheap and cheerful accommodation. Beds comfortable and clean rooms. Breakfast excellent again. Served with a smile. Staff are friendly.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 11, 2018

    7.1
    It was nice and clean and comfortable. Friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The price should include breakfast otherwise the hotel was too pricey for room alone. Breakfast was really nice tho. Think hotel a little too much for where it is. Mattress could be upgraded

    It was very comfortable and clean

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 11, 2018

    4.6
    NEVER AGAIN
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The night porter was drunk and passed out in the only lounge snored so loudly I went to bed because the tv could not even block out the noise on the other evenings the only people in the lunge were the staff and they took up all the comfortable sheets leaving guests to be uncomfortable. The night. Porter was also a bit over friendly.

    There was absolutely nothing to like

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 5, 2018

    6.7
    Disappointing but staff did try be helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Ensuite sink blocked, shower mat dirty, had to remove hair from shower outlet. Issues reported to staff twice but no action taken. Decorations generally tired and in need of refurbishment. No one available to settle outstanding bill when checking out (!)

    Staff very friendly and helpful. Food good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: June 5, 2018

    3.3
    Terrabul if we had of a got there sooner we would of a come home
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    When we got to the room it was really dirty had not been hovered or polished she admitted to us that they’d been busy and did not get round to it the tv remote was broke had to keep getting out of bed to change Chanel and bedding was dirty and stained so I asked them to change it very uncomfortable mattress springs and buttons sticking in you all night horrabul experiance

    We got there to be met with I had to pay more money to them becourse I had a disabled room booked and they put us up stairs I’m in a wheel chair carnt walk

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 3, 2018

    10
    Good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The Room we were in was a bit tired but excellent value for money. Very Clean and good beds. Room key was a bit tricky to master locking room.

    Good location. A good Local pub two minutes walk away. Bus to town centre if you don’t want to drive. After reading other reviews on meals, which were not favourable,decided not to eat evening meal here but took a chance on the breakfast. It was excellent, so don’t be put off booking food. On a main road with local shops opposite , we were in front bedroom, extremely surprised how quiet it was, with windows open. Staff friendly. Would definitely stay again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: May 30, 2018

    6.7
    A fairly comfortable, conveniently located and reasonably priced hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bedroom very cold on the first night especially as I was unable to turn on the heating. Also mattress a bit too firm for me.

    Very helpful staff and good breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 30, 2018

    6.3
    We will not return
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We arrived and found a box of rubbish left in our room. We had one tea cup also. I took the box to reception and the lady there found me 2 new cups. My husband then went to have a bath, there were only 1 bath and 1 hand towel, 2 pillows and the remote control was not working. We went to the bar, there was no Bacardi, no pineapple or orange juice. We went out and could not get back into the hotel as the buzzer was not working. In the morning we realised that there is a number above the door. There was also no hairdryer in the room and no Wi-Fi. That is no use at all. Overall we were not happy

    Not a lot

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 28, 2018

    9.6
    I'll be back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The only small negative thing was that the grounds could be better tended .

    Very very clean and tidy. Plus the staff were very very attentive and helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 24, 2018

    4.6
    Awful stay, couldn't wait to leave, Wetherspoons every time from now on, and cheaper,
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I would have got a better night sleep by sleeping on the floor, the bed was so hard I was aching all day, for £45 for the stay was too much, got a room for 2nd night at Wetherspoons £39 and brilliant

    Looked great from the outside, that's as good as it got,

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: May 20, 2018

    6.0
    The bed was a small double and we both felt the springs...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bed was a small double and we both felt the springs through the mattress. The reception staff were pleasant but i didn't want to get into conflict over the bed when they asked if everything was ok.however, with the Beeches reputation we were expecting better.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 18, 2018

    5.0
    Locals were surprised that we had chosen this hotel !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The whole hotel is sad and run down, it has potential but has been neglected. We had room 8 which was incredibly small, the bathroom was very poor. The biggest thing in the room was the 1.7Ltr Kettle.

    Location good, staff helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 16, 2018

    6.7
    Room was bright and airy, comfortable clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We had requested deluxe room. It would have been lovely to have choice of toiletries, even soap, more than 2 quite small towels between 2. Full English breakfast was fine but we missed a breakfast bar with fruit juices, fruit salad, cereals etc. It was value for money but it could have offered just a little more to attract us back.

    Room was bright and airy, comfortable clean. Very helpful young man on reception in the evening.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 14, 2018

    7.9
    Almost good value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    They have a policy whereby you have to pay extra for children's beds in a family room when you check in. Booking.com mislead me on this. A room for 3 should include beds for 3.

    Clean, modern room, staff helpfully.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 14, 2018

    9.2
    Excellent value for money in clean, comfortable accommodation!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was only one cup in our room on the drinks tray on arrival. I asked the receptionist to have one sent to our room as we were going out for the evening. It never appeared! The reception wasn't manned on our return so nobody to ask. It was a bit annoying as made morning cuppa difficult! My husband has a walking disability and although there was no lift there were rails on either side of wide well carpeted stairs.

    Clean comfortable, well appointed room with toiletries provided. Good parking facilities. Welcoming staff and most excellent value for money . Quiet location yet within easy reach of Grimsby/Cleethorpes!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 14, 2018

    5.4
    Dreadful
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Having booked for 2 adults and 1 child under 6 (who was supposed to be free) we were charged an extra £5 for a bed for the child. The additional 'bed' wouldn't have been fit for a concentration camp

    Breakfast was due to begin at 7am. We came down at 8.05 and was told the manager would be in 5 minutes for cooked breakfasts. 20 minutes later we left as nobody arrived and we were due to attend a christening

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 3, 2018

    7.9
    Great value for money with lots of food options nearby
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bathrooms were a bit old - the toilets didn't flush too well at times!

    Great proximity to some local shops and pubs, in a quieter area of town.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 26, 2018

    5.4
    Having stayed at the property some 18 months before this...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff availability and service. Receptionist. Bar staff/waiter/ess

    Having stayed at the property some 18 months before this stay was much less pleasant. Less staff available and less welcoming. Service was poor, unable to check out properly as no staff and doors locked. Had to put key through letter box and text the night number. Hardly any towels provided despite booking for my partner, myself and child.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 23, 2018

    6.7
    Booked because it had a restaurant.
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Booked because it had a restaurant. Restaurant closed on night we arrived, because of wedding. Had to go looking for other places to dine in very busy area. Should have informed us when booking. Very disappointed.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 22, 2018

    4.6
    just clean but would not stop there again or recomened them sorry
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    no lift working but my fault as did not say about my disabierty but it sais catered for disabled so felt i did not have to room door lock only worked when it wanted to the your many was not that helpful watch us stugle up the stairs with our luggege as new what our situasion was evert time you moved in bed it moved so stop you sleeping well toilet did not flush proprely well at breakfast lac of comunicasion on there part we was in room 7

    that it was clean

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 22, 2018

    6.3
    I like the hotel - great potential but more attention to detail is needed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Very poor security - my bedroom door was left ajar, unlocked and with the key on the outside of the door for at least 9 hours. The outside door of the hotel was difficult to shut and so remained unlocked all the time. During my stay there I didn't need a key to get into the hotel. Lack of visible staff made the security problem even worse. The room was cleaned only once during the 5 night stay.

    The price, partking and the hotel itself.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 10, 2018

    7.1
    Good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Beds were really hard and stains on sheet. Head staff on entrance was a bit abrupt around the whole breakfast arrangement, however the young lady who originally greeted us was pleasant.

    Prices were really good for the location. Accomodating when putting the children in the room next door.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 9, 2018

    10
    Well situated for our rugby tounament at the club around the corner. Every thing we required & more.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    On this occasion, we were very pleased with every aspect of our stay.

    Location was excellent, twin room clean & great value for money. Breakfast was well cooked and plentiful. When I asked for orange juice, we saw the waitress go out to buy some locally and return minutes later. Great service. Nothing too much trouble.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 6, 2018

    8.8
    I understand that the hotel has changed hands since we last stopped but overall, would recommend it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Appreciable drain smell due to ventilation fan being switched off, but sorted once the fan was on. Problem with bedside light fitting being broken. We would have been offered another room , but the hotel was full.

    Friendly and helpful staff. Excellent breakfast with good coffee - very good value for money. Nicely decorated and clean.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 3, 2018

    5.0
    will probably look somewhere else
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No coffee, tea, juices or cereals to help yourself to at breakfast. We were not asked what we wanted to eat for breakfasts, two full English breakfasts were brought out to us, one of us is a vegetarian so that was interesting.

    Overall standard was OK, staff we're friendly when you could find them.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 2, 2018

    3.8
    Do not stay here
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Everything do not stay here kept awake till 3am with the noise no breakfast despite requesting the night before , no food and I had a 2 year old with me

    Nothing

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 29, 2018

    10
    Despite some earlier negative reviews, I found the hotel more than satisfactory in all departments.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Remote control for TV did not work - reported it to reception and manageress was already aware! Found door to my room open when I returned to it one evening (cleaner had evidently failed to close after cleaning). Fortunately nothing taken!

    I was upgraded from a standard to a deluxe room because my brother was also staying at the hotel. Peaceful location at the back of the hotel. Good breakfast (poached eggs and bacon on toast). Very friendly staff.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 28, 2018

    7.5
    good hotel for short stay however rooms are small for the price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Our last 2 times we had stayed we paid £30 and our room was very spacious and the bed was a very big too. However this time we paid £45 and the bed was a lot smaller and so was the room. There was also a lot of mould in and around the shower this time around.

    The bed was really comfortable

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 23, 2018

    7.9
    Good location and clean. A good budget hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The current managers started in November and are leaving on Monday. This leaves some uncertainty over future standards . The bed was quite hard

    Breakfast was good. Room was cleaned every day and tea and milk replenished. Staff very helpful and friendly

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 19, 2018

    5.0
    There was a fusty smell throughout the hotel including our...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There was a fusty smell throughout the hotel including our room... stains on the bedsheets.. staff were nowhere to be seen but it was adequate for the one night stay

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 17, 2018

    6.7
    Good value basic accommodation with welcoming & helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Breakfast not included in room rate No shaver socket in bathroom

    Helpful and welcoming staff. Basic room but clean and quiet Lovely cafe (Poppins, Mendip Ave) just around the corner for amazing late breakfast and lunch Good accessible location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 14, 2018

    9.6
    The friendliest hotel in Grimsby
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    After having memory foam mattress at home and in The Premier Inn where we usually stay I found it hard to sleep all night.I told the manager and they are intending to change this when they have the funds from the owner. It would improve their ratings

    Comfortable and bright room with two lovely windows and private view

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 13, 2018

    9.6
    nice and warm
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    location for us to the sea, on this occasion we had 3 grandchilden with us

    welcoming staff, spacious and warm rooms, nice breakfast, a short drive to cleathorpes we would book again,very good value.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 7, 2018

    8.8
    Breakfast was all freshly cooked and very good value for...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    New owners have not been at the hotel long. Rooms still need a little updating eg carpets but hopefully this will come in time.

    Breakfast was all freshly cooked and very good value for money.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 6, 2018

    7.9
    Overall it was a good and nice stay.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The mixer for hot and cold water of the basin was not good. Rather there was no mixer, two separate taps for it. A bit annoying especially when you don't want too hot or cold water.

    A good comfy bed, nice clean room with very little noise from the neighbourhood. The receptionist received us with an open smile, her attitude was very soft and gentle. She made us feel at home.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 25, 2018

    4.2
    you pay for what you get
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Marks on the pillows and sheets. A huge brown stain on the under part of the bed spread. The staff didn't tell me how to turn the heating on and spent the first night very cold. The shower and bath didn't work as it was faulty. hot water nearly burned me in the shower when it did finally work but had fluctuating temperature.

    The room size

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 22, 2018

    7.5
    As i stay here quiet often the only plus is the cost.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    some guests thought it would be good to be up shouting and swearing at midnight without any care for other guests. Not sure if the staff where aware of this or did anything to stop it.

    internet access in room 6 was fine

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 14, 2018

    6.7
    Budget hotel Budget quality.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There were ants all over the bar but didn't particularly bother me. Bed wasn't particularly comfy and the room was very small, but for the price you can't expect too much.

    The price.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 8, 2018

    3.3
    Will not stay again, quite sad as historically when run by other owners, it was excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Well, where do I start? Reception minus a receptionist, apart from the cleaning utensils and cold mug of coffee on the counter. Waited then a rather dishevelled person arrived, checked the computer, took the payment and handed us a key, with instructions, that was it. Room was above the entrance ergo noise. The (large) room, in need of some serious redecorating (ceiling stains, bathroom walls and skirting similar, industrial toilet roll dispenser, no mixer tap, shower suffering from age - hot/cold on/off, poor flow etc) floor was flexible and noisy, lighting was an issue (lamps out, bedside, dressing table mirror, shower room) but when I mentioned this to reception they were unable to rectify due to it being the weekend and they would be unable to get an electrician i.e. no housekeeper. Shower extractor fan had been turned off at the wall by someone but as it ran on for over a minute after the shower room was depowered, maybe understandable. Bed was made but pillows were 'flat' when used. No instruction booklet for the room, bedside radio was broken, television was approx' a 12" screen, pointless when in bed unless you had binoculars. Outside night time entrance security door never locked/closed, also returned to room one day and found room unlocked. Room overlooked the car park and beyond (doctor surgery car park) but had no privacy curtaining when opening the main curtains. Outside areas, gardens, fencing, road and pathways were as tatty and unkempt as the interior.

    Apart from the price and the location, nothing.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 6, 2018

    6.7
    Hotel was ok shame about hospitality of certain member of staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Asked for a local restaurant as they had a function on so their restaurant was closed and she advised me I would need to go into Grimsby but luckily another lady came in and advised me of somewhere around the corner, much closer and with a young child and the late time much more acceptable. Upon driving around the next day I found another 2 local pubs which she could have recommended.

    Overall this hotel is ok, comfy beds, a bit noisy when they have a private function, just a shame about the woman who checked us in certainly not made to feel welcome...think she would benefit from going on a hospitality course The saving grace was the man and woman who checked us out much more polite and hospitable

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: January 14, 2018

    7.9
    Quiet & cheap.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very small room. Reception on t.v. wasn't consistent. Shower was very slippery (no antislip mat or grooves). Mattress was clearly old & could feel dips in it. Carpet had various stains on.

    Location. Layout. Quiet.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 7, 2018

    7.9
    Friendly staff .
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    That breakfast wasn't included for the price of a room .location abit to far out from town centre

    Friendly staff .comfy bed. Room was nice .food was nice .polite staff .making sure u was ok and could have a conversation with them which is good cause it shows they are easy to talk to. Chef made changes on my meal for me which was good as I can only eat certain food

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: December 29, 2017

    8.8
    Great Christmas Break
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rooms are comfy and value for money as we got a deal for £45 per night. Don't think at the minute it commands are larger price. Breakfast was adequate and fair for £5.95 but could have been a bit more. Hosts were fantastic and very helpful.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 22, 2017

    5.0
    appalong state of the electrics
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    As above we were moved due to the state of the electrics which could have killed someone

    Staff were very helpful given the shocking state of the electrics. We were moved to 3 different rooms out of a 4 night stay.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 18, 2017

    9.2
    Lovely hosts nice hotel in a lovely Village
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The rooms are a bit dated and the owner is aware that some work is needed. The bedroom lock is the old fashioned key type and is a bit difficult to open/close. It would be nice to have a variety of teas with a biscuit in the room. The current bog standard tea was a cheap quality which did not impress my husband. Get some PG!

    The hosts were welcoming and really helpful. Changed us to ground floor as we had heavy luggage and also helped us carry it!! Nice cosy dining room and lovely cooked breakfast with lots of choice. Bar served nice wine and was nice to sit. Owners have only just taken over this and already have made a difference. Bedroom was large with big bathroom with good shower and bath. Scar tho village is a lovely area. Shop across the road and nice pub 10 minutes walk

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 16, 2017

    9.6
    comfortable and met our needs
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    remote control did not work so hassle getting out of bed to change channels on tv also always had to ask for more drinks sachets especially when we had jsut arrived that bit disappointing.

    Friendly clean and reasonably priced.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 15, 2017

    5.4
    Little investment could make it good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Beds uncomfortable, room not cleaned thoroughly. Tired decor, worn out bed and largest bedside lamps ever. Also, no mixer tap in the bathroom, impossible to wash your hands properly.

    Friendly staff, warm

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 13, 2017

    7.5
    Pleasantly surprised given some of the recent reviews we had read.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel shows all the signs of the neglect it has experienced of late. The carpet in the bedroom could do with cleaning or replacing and the mould in the grouting round the bath and shower needs to be dealt with as it lets down an otherwise spotless bathroom. A couple of bedside lights would make life easier but for the money we paid, £45 per night for a double room, 2 people staying, we had not complaints.

    The staff were very friendly and helpful. Honest about the difficulties they were encountering, new managers only four days in job. The room was warm with windows that opened. We had a clean, comfortable bed, flat screen TV, tea/coffee making facilities and a larger than average bathroom. The new managers are already making a positive difference.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: December 11, 2017

    6.3
    Could have been better!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The main window/fire escape was broken. It was in a permanent open way. A member of staff was able to tape up the window. To keep the cold out. He had reported this but on a Sunday evening was not able to get anyone out. We asked for an alternative room but they were fully booked.

    Clean and close to M190. Staff are helpful.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 11, 2017

    6.7
    Did not have any food there but reception was very obliging...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    a few faults in the room tv remote didn't work, overhead mirror light in bathroom faulty, no bulb in bedside light the housekeeping staff failed to notice my do not disturb sign on the door and entered my room without knocking and I was extremely upset as I was undressed I reported this to the hotel and they apologised but felt they did take into account how upset I was

    Did not have any food there but reception was very obliging with providing extra tea bags etc when they ran out

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 10, 2017

    10
    Perfect
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There was nothing I could say that was negative.

    Staff were professional and welcoming. I had a wonderfully hot bath and could see the TV too! Slept wonderfully well.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 7, 2017

    6.7
    nice quiet night
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    remote control didn't work for the television. hot tap was loose on the bathroom sink with the cold tap running hot for a period of time!

    room 1 has good access to the free wifi. room was well lit, with good access to tea & coffee

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 1, 2017

    7.9
    I have reduced my original rating because of the...
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I have reduced my original rating because of the ridiculously inflated words used by this site to label the numbers. The stay was overall just fine, not "fabulous". Good friendly hotel.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 28, 2017

    9.6
    Enjoyed our short stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Spotless throughout, comfortable bed. Great breakfast, cooked just the way we wanted. Bathroom was well lit with a good light above the mirror ( essential for a very short sighted woman to put on her make up! )

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 27, 2017

    8.3
    Have stayed there before under different management, the new owners are a great improvement
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    New owners having just arrived a week ago found some facilities needing attention. Some redecoration will be needed, and more staff to cater for what is hoped to be improvements in the catering and bar facilities.

    Very friendly, good accommodation, good location, reasonable pricing. New owners trying to improve facilities etc.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 23, 2017

    8.8
    Good value and comfortable hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Good value for money, bedroom comfortable, large bathroom and plenty of hot water. The staff were very helpful throughout - would recommend and definitely use again. Thank you.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 20, 2017

    8.3
    Clean, comfortable, friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Rooms need updating making over as they are well worn but I think that is reflected in the price overall they are clean. Free juice with the children’s breakfast would have been good but fair enough if you had tea and coffee then charge.

    The breakfast were good for the money! Plenty of it on the large breakfast. The staff were friendly and helpful

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 18, 2017

    6.3
    Was comfortable enough for what we needed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room lovely and warm, if anything too warm however window would not open. Fan in bathroom was loud and stayed running for some time after light switched off. Could also hear fans from other rooms, in the quietness of the night. Shower & bathroom need some TLC.

    Helpful friendly staff

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 13, 2017

    5.8
    Not terrible but not great .. needs a bit of tweaking in some areas
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I booked the room for 1 adult and 2 children understanding that there would be a put you up bed The lady at reception told me there was only a double bed and it would be £5 for a camp bed ... when the camp bed arrived the mattress was extremely thin and the bed was very poor condition, so much so that the 6 yr old refused to sleep on it as it was wobbly 3 yr old slept on it however we all woke up every time she moved as it made such a terrible noise I asked to book breakfast and was told no breakfast available as the fridge was broken !!! There was a very small amount of loo roll left in the dispenser ( thank goodness for the part box of tissues on the wall ) On check out there was no body on reception I have the keys to a lady who was to all intents and purposes a visitor to the hotel too ( she was drinking coffee with other people , no name badge , casual clothing , nothing to indicate she was staff ) I did not pay for the camp bed and would not have if I had been asked to

    Ground floor room in a quiet part of the hotel

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 13, 2017

    2.9
    We have stayed here many times before and had a good experience however this time was not.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were told on arrive when we asked what time was breakfast that they were not serving breakfast as the kitchens where closed. We reserved a deluxe room, however it was very basic we mismatching furniture, only one bedside light, cobwebs in the bathroom, hairs in the sink and bath, a remote control that was not programmed to the TV also the bedding was grubby and the bottom of the divan was exposed. When we checked out in the morning we waiting for 10 minutes for a member of staff and dispute hunting around the whole of the bottom floor we could not locate one member of staff.

    Unfortunately nothing except the location. It was not a good experience, we were advised they are in the middle of new owners taking over and in my opinion should not be trading until they are ready to service customers.

    Stayed in November 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: