Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Beeches

76 Selly Oak Road, Birmingham, B30 1LS, United Kingdom

#54 of 78 hotels in Birmingham

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 804 hotel reviews

7.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8

  • Comfort

    7.2

  • Location

    8

  • Facilities

    7.2

  • Staff

    8.2

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    7.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    7.9
    Nice sized room and bathroom, clean and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room - 3/4 size Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast buffet was average

    Nice sized room and bathroom, clean and comfortable. Pleasant surroundings. Conveniently close for where I was visiting my daughter at the university. Good value for money.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    8.3
    Everything we needed for a lads day out at the cricket.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The kitchen was under a bit of pressure at breakfast due to so many guests arriving at once, but they kept at it and came through for us in the end

    The Beeches isn't the Ritz, but that isn't why you would stay there. It's clean, comfortable and great value. Breakfast is a hot, buffet style offering, with as much as you can eat and very good quality. The staff are friendly and helpful and the 24 hour check-in is great if you are going to arrive late. It's a bit of a mish-mash of buildings but none the worse for that and ample parking is always a plus.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    7.1
    Plenty of space in communal areas.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Paper thin walls and very inconsiderate guests who slammed doors at all hours. Very small bedroom not really big enough to work in which was the main reason for the trip !

    Plenty of space in communal areas. Helpful staff

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    8.3
    Lovely hotel good location,
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Personally would have liked extra pillows.

    It was a really comfortable hotel with an excellent menu, pleasant staff and really useful for where I wanted to go, only 5 mins from my meeting. So others from my company staying there as well and would recommend it to others travelling to same destination

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    8.8
    Ate in the bar on the evening.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Ate in the bar on the evening...burger meal very fit for purpose. Breakfast was agreeable...I had fruit and an omelette so did not "fall into the sausage trap"! Reeption staff very good as were meal serving staff.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    8.3
    Great location for Cadburys World
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was dirty with hairs on the floor. Also our age was not appropriate to being put up in the attic of the hotel with no lifts. Rather hard work with bags of luggage.

    Very pleasant staff & so close to Cadburys world. With a pleasant walk through the park

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2018

    9.2
    It is a very quiet location, the staff couldn’t be more...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is a very quiet location, the staff couldn’t be more helpful. Not a typical tourist hotel, more a conference centre so not many guests at weekends but nevertheless clean and lovely staff

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    7.1
    It's got what you need.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The building is a little tired, but almost everything worked. Telly remote stopped working (batteries I suppose). Shower quite basic, but I could get clean.

    Friendly staff. Restaurant food was nice. Good location, plenty of parking, and near my room.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    8.3
    Good hotel with excellent food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is limited public transport and shops nearby, although we enjoyed a pleasant walk through Bournville.

    The evening meal (good value) and cooked breakfast were excellent and very well presented. The Beaches is located in the leafy suburb of Bournville.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    10
    Very pleased with it
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stayed here for a friend's wedding that was nearby. Just needed a cheap room basically, but I was surprised just how nice it was and how excellent the bang you get for your book. Really nice feel about the place, really enjoyed my stay

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    9.2
    Value for money in lovely location
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rooms are a bit tired and dated . Coffee at breakfast was self service from a filter pot and a bit weak.

    Excellent value for money, my room was clean, comfortable and quiet. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. WiFi worked perfectly in my room ( 106). The surroundings are lovely, the hotel is in a very quiet and peaceful part of Birmingham. I was visiting my daughter who is at the University of Birmingham and the location was ideal. Breakfast exceeded my expectations. Buffet items were good with fresh fruit and fresh pastries. Hot breakfast cooked to order and was excellent with a good choice including omelettes and scrambled egg with smoked salmon as well as usual cooked options.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    8.8
    Very good value. Good room. Good food. Mostly friendly helpful staff.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have liked to be able to park closer when loading and unloading car. No lift to our floor.

    Staff in the restaurant and bar were very friendly. Room was great for the price but had to walk up a lot of stairs. Food remarkably good for the price. Also did well over special diet.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    9.0
    Good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Though the hotel has its own restaurant, there are no external restaurants within walking distance.

    The hotel was in very pleasant surroundings. The staff were friendly and helpful. There was a large bar area to sit and relax.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    7.9
    A basic, cozy, clean place that fitted perfectly with being in a course. Depends on your purpose.
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My room was cozy but not big. The hotel is not like a fancy thing. There are varied room spaces, some are very small. SO check what is available. There was no a/c in the room and so at night it was sometimes a bit difficult to sleep, too hot. very much away from city centre. you need to walk 15 min to the train station then take the train for like 3 stops. or take a taxi.

    the staff were helpful. Food healthy and had options. Cozy. Away from any noise. very good if you want to attend a course or a meeting or an event. But definitely not one for outings or shopping. at first I thought it was not decorated as hotels are, but then I realized it was cozy, clean, the food was healthy and there were many options and I had everything I need. It was perfect for being in a training program. 5 min walk to Cadbury world

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    8.8
    Nice size room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed pillows a bit hard. Bed could have been bigger. Not hotel's fault but we woken up at 3.30 in the morning by guests next door. Banging doors and playing music. No respect for other guests!

    Nice size room. Breakfast very good and fresh. Staff helpful.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    5.4
    I'm sure, if I had asked I could have got a nicer room. I put up with it as I was barely there.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room was musty. The saniflo toilet was noisy. The room felt like a prison cell. The wardrobe looked like it had originally been a store cupboard. There were no lifts. The whole main building looked tired & dated.

    Only 10 mins from my relations

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    8.3
    Simple, but decent. Staff were superb.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff at reception were superb, and went above and beyond to make sure I was sorted out. Even went so far as to hold umbrellas over us as we scrambled to the taxi in a thunderstorm. Great service.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    10
    Nice place run by nice prople
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I asked for a room by number as I knew that it had WiFi, they sent me back a message saying it was booked but they would put me in another, also at arrival and check out the desk staff are really nice and very helpful. I have stayed here 6/7 times now and it’s constantly good customer service. It’s a very welcoming

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    4.2
    The Cadburys would be turning in their graves.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sadly we were awoken at 1am by the sound of loud music, laughing and footsteps coming from upstairs. We were awake then until 4am, sitting downstairs in the lounge. The occupants of the room upstairs checked in at midnight and left at 3am. During this time they drank copious amounts of vodka, inhaled laughing gas and had sex. It looked like it was being used as a brothel. We have photos. We were told that this only happens at weekends! We have asked for a refund and a cancellation of a future night, and are having a great deal of trouble getting anything. I am a pensioner and this event has seriously upset me. I really think people, especially families should think twice before booking here.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    7.9
    Lovely people, clean and quiet
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The fact it says disabled and isn't was the only thing i didn't like

    The staff were lovely and it was clean but it isn't suitable for disabled people i have mobility issues and getting the doors open the stairs/walk to the annex was difficult, otherwise lovely place

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    6.3
    Adequate but not special.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had a Double room in the outbuildings part on the ground floor. The room was OK and the shower etc were good but needs updating as soon as possible. What let the room down was the fact that the double bed was jammed up against the wall, so one person had to sleep next to the wall. Not very practical. !!

    Great location.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    7.5
    Clean & comfortable bedroom, also nice & quiet. Breakfast excellent.
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    I had to ask to be moved to another room on arrival. Although I booked a single room it was the size of a cupboard and in the roof space. Disappointed to be allocated the Hotel's worst room when I booked 3-4 weeks in advance and the Hotel was virtually empty. I was told that i was the only person at Breakfast the next morning, so why give me a cupboard? The new room was good, but the shower was very difficult to turn on and off. Stiff dials. i also have a disability and only have the use of one arm.

    Scrambled eggs & smoked salmon for breakfast. Quiet rooms in a peaceful area of B'ham. Bed clean & comfortable. Good to have tea/coffee facilities in bedroom.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    8.3
    Great hotel with helpful staff. Excellent value for money. A little inaccessible for non-drivers.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Television and other noises could be heard from the room below, above and both sides of my room. Lovely private bathroom, but the shower came out at a trickle at 05.30 in the morning. Only thing that marred my stay.

    Great hotel and conference centre with excellent facilities. Staff were friendly and helpful. My room was clean, comfortable and equipped with a kettle etc.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    7.9
    good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    breakfast finished at 9 but there is the option to buy it at the bar which we would have done if we knew this when booking in the hotel mainly deals with conferences ect but it was a good place to stay

    booked mainly for location ideal for exploring Bournville easy links to new street

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    7.1
    Good value for money, rooms basic.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Basic rooms (I was in a deluxe ), No air con or fans Very poor meal (other people's were better) Looks a bit tired.

    Well situated for where I needed to be the next morning. Very good value for money ..can't complain at the price. Plenty of parking. Staff friendly

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    9.2
    Easy, comfortable and welcoming
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Easy and comfortable to deal with. Most welcoming. Everything just as we needed and very close to where we needed to be for family. Clean and comfortable,restful and just as we wanted.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    7.9
    Good location, helpful staff, a quiet location but sound insulation between rooms poor
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed was a bit creaky and a man in the next door room was a very loud snorer. Sound insulation could be improved or if not full space out the rooms more

    Helpful staff

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    7.5
    Good place if you book something bigger than a single room and have a car.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Small room, the bed kept moving and the walls are paper-thin, so you can hear everything.

    Very clean and nice, quiet location, though 15 minutes walk to the next train station.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    8.8
    Good, clean, value for money hotel in a good location.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dinner was very slow and food was basic.

    Room was clean and everything worked.. All staff were friendly and polite. Fitness room was ideal for a quick work-out.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    9.2
    Good place to stay for business.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The Room was very dark and not very cozy. Only few decorations and not enough light.

    Very nice and competent staff. Very nicely situated in quiet, beautiful area. Very cozy lounge. Dinner could be bought at bar. Dinners were delicious and well prepared, as in a good restaurant.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    10
    The only thing the room could have done with was a fan or...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing the room could have done with was a fan or air conditioning however I fully appreciate the age of the building and why it may be unable to have air con but the offer of a fan would have been lovely as it was an extremely hot day and very hot night which made the room hot but apart from that minor thing everything was absolutely fabulous and food was amazing!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    8.8
    Really good for the price we paid. Have paid much more for worse.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All good

    Everything. The staff were friendly and accommodating. Had a balcony in my room which was lovely in such hot weather. Eggs at breakfast were freshly cooked so yolks had not gone hard. Nice selection of gin too!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    5.0
    Business trip Birmingham
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very bad WiFi connection in the room. Room was boiling hot, asked for a fan never got it. Only accessible by taxi, bus and train connection not convenient.

    Room was clean, breakfast was good as well.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    7.5
    Perfectly located for my needs.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very small and more like student accommodation than a hotel room in a conferencing hotel. The rooms lack any air conditioning and my y room was opressively hot all the time despite the provision of a fan that was dirty and dusty. The restaurant ebvironment was also rather refectory like and tired looking but the services and food were good.

    Perfectly located for my needs. Pleasant surrounding area with park opposite. Staff were cheerful and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    7.1
    Short and conveniant
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was too hot in the room, not a lot can be done about the weather but maybe offering a single sheet instead of a duvet or supplying a fan in each room might be a good idea

    The staff were helpful on check in

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    9.6
    Stayed 2 nights and served our needs very well. Will stay here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No bedside table on one side. No mains points next to the bed. Too many steps for handling cases even in the main part of the hotel.

    Breakfast was very good and provided a wide choice. Very quiet and quite pretty location, no road noise. Good parking.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    7.1
    A lovely area to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The layout of the main building was pretty complicated corridor after corridor up stair then down obviously extensions to original building The room wasn't service probably too far for the cleaner to bring her trolley .

    The blonde receptionist was very helpful and the night porter (bald chap) was pleasant the cleaner said a friendly good morning

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    8.8
    My dinner took a little while to come so chased it.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My dinner took a little while to come so chased it. I got a peculiar reply from the very young bar man about incentivising my dinner. I would have thought the tone of my voice and strange facial expression in replay to his answer would have got my message across. Just ask the chef where my dinner is! I should have asked for his name.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    8.8
    Offers Great Value for Money but Little Else ...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The single bed seemed quite basic - I was worried about rolling out of it - and the room was small. Facilities are adequate, though, given that it is conference centre accomodation rather than a hotel.

    It is what you would expect from a conference centre although the food is above average and I found the staff welcoming. I have stayed before and will do again. Suburban location with a large car park.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    7.5
    Bob on hotel, just a tad too hot
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Due to the unseasonably warm weather; the bedroom was uncomfortably hot and there was no fannage available to cool the room making the evening unbearable.

    Location was spot on for my needs. Lovely surroundings and a really nice hotel

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    6.3
    Good basic room, what I expected, decor tired but everything lovely and clean.
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room could do with a bit of a refresh as a bit 'tired' looking. Could do with a lamp on the bedside table rather than the odd spot light above the bed. Food wise not much choice in the way of light bites so could do with maybe more sandwich/salad offerings.

    Location excellent for what I needed. Room very clean, good towels, basic room overall but had everything I needed. Lovely setting and my room looked out over manicured lawns.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    8.8
    It was really central to where we needed to go.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The placing of the rooms, through seven doors and up and then down levels, with no lift

    It was really central to where we needed to go. Good breakfast and the bar has good options

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    9.2
    Very pleasant stay and would definitely book again.
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were very friendly and helpful right from the reception through to bar, restaurant and breakfast. Food was very good and beautifully presented. Room, though basic was clean, comfortable and more than adequate for our stay.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    5.4
    Not impressed !
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was too small , carpet had cornflakes on it, bed was narrow and uncomfortable, bathroom floor tiles were cracked. Tiny tv was all but useless. Unable to get a continental breakfast till 7am no cooked breakfast till 7.30am no tea or coffee available till 7.30 ! overall, not great .

    Friendly staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    9.2
    I loved the space, the old trees and the singing birds.
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room - 3/4 size Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    Confusing layout, maybe a map?

    Mobile phones have made some travellers thoughtless about making noise at night. "It's just the time when my friend in Paris is having his evening drink, I think I'll give him a ring and surprise him from Birmingham, then have a one hour conversation, really loud, lots of laughs as if I'm right there with him!" Completely oblivious to the fact that here in Birmingham your neighbours are going to bed after being up since 5.20 a.m. Fortunately the staff at the Beeches are very good at getting such neighbours to realise that maybe they should act as if there are people in the world other than them and their drinking friend in Paris.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    9.2
    Great for a short stay.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The shower, it lacked power, more of a dribble than a shower.

    The Beeches is a pleasant hotel. Clean and comfortable. My room was large and spacious and the towels and bedding were very clean. My only real negative about the room was the power of the shower, it lacked force and was more of a dribble than a shower, I like a powerful shower and the one in my room was far from powerful. The bed was comfortable and the hotel was silent at night, not disturbance from other guests in the corridor or from the TV in other rooms. The restaurant/ bar was good with a nice choice of drinks at a reasonable price, the food was a little pricey but it was hot and tasty. Breakfast was included in the price I paid for the room and there was a good choice, it arrived quickly and was hot and tasty also. Overall I would recommend the Beeches if you are visiting for a short stay.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    7.9
    Pleasant Stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only downfall was the wait for breakfast, which then lead us to rushing to ensure we got out of the room on time as check out is 10am! However the staff were really apologetic and the breakfast was lovely.

    The property was lovely, the room was spacious and clean, enough room for 2 people (we had a double) The bathroom was clean and roomy. The location was great as we had been to Cadbury World! Literally round the corner. We went into the city centre in the evening for dinner, the receptionist was super helpful and ordered us a taxi, quick and convenient.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    6.7
    Fine for a one-night stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel rooms were small chalets off main buildings and whole complex needed updating.

    Fine for a one-night stay. Location was excellent, close to the city but quiet and the staff were very friendly. Ample free parking and free wi-fi a bonus.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    9.2
    Basic, but clean and good value for money.
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The decor is tired and the room was a little noisy as we were near the road

    The location is great - in the pretty village of Bournville, basic, but good value for money, very helpful staff, ample parking, clean

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    4.6
    Run down - Used to be so much better
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    General state of repair throughout was very poor. Place looking grubby and run down. Male staff on reception on arrival was very grumpy. Not given any information about stay.

    Staff on reception in the morning were very pleasant (two ladies). The bedroom was clean and tidy

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    4.6
    I would probably look to book a more modern hotel for the same price
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast took 30 mins from ordering to receiving, breakfast food was poor. Bed was very small for a double, room was in need of TLC.

    Bar lounge area was pleasant.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    7.9
    Pretty good!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was a bit of a hike to my room, brought about by the fact that this place obviously wasn't designed as a hotel.

    This is a nice old building that has been converted into a hotel with conference facilities. It has been done nicely. Very clean, warm, and with friendly staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    8.3
    Staff very friendly
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Just needed a bed for the night, nothing else. Unfortunately one radiator was on full blast and couldn't be turned down. No chair at the desk - end of bed substituted as the room was very small and a chair wouldn't have fitted. Business Centre and wifi not used

    Comfortable bed

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    8.0
    Great location near Cadburys World.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Minor point - breakfast service was veryslow as only 1 chef in kitchen...... and 1 server in restaurant.

    Excellent and friendly staff. Within 10 minis walking distance to Cadburys World. Spacious room and comfortable bed

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    7.1
    The location suited my needs for a training course but I wont be returning.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The building itself is tired and in need of refurbishment. There was also no lift to all floors and carrying a suitcase up three flights of stairs was difficult. I wasn't aware I had to do this until I went to find my room.

    I needed an earlier breakfast and was accommodated straightaway. Staff were very friendly and helpful on reception and in the restaurant.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    9.2
    Beautiful house and gardens, large clean room room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    As far as I was concerned the only downside was that it was a four foot six bed, even though the room was perfectly big enough for a five-foot bed.

    The location, in Bournville village, is very good, and the value for money is excellent - it would be hard to beat. It's a no-frills place, but perfectly clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    9.2
    Excellent service and facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maybe more healthy bar snacks chips were lovely though also maybe biscuits in room with tea stuff

    Stayed few times so close to QE hospital where I visit and always friendly and comfortable.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    7.5
    A budget option in a handy location. Clean and tidy if a bit tired.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    You get what you pay for - was good value hotel.

    This was a basic hotel and ticked the boxes. Clean, local, safe. What more do you want for the price? I would compare it with travel lodge standard. Bit tired around the edges but clean, comfy and hot showers. And bonus of 11am check out on Sunday.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    9.6
    Easy to check in, lovely hotel, fab room. Great stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room - 3/4 size Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed in the room wasn't a fun size double. But that is the only dislike

    Loved the location of the hotel and the style of the building, size of the bedroom was fantastic

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    6.3
    Nice food, polite and friendly staff, but a very poor night's sleep.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    At around 4.00 am, we were woken by people walking upstairs. They were not being noisy, and were not shouting, but the floorboards creaked so much we heard every step, and we could not get to sleep till they had left. Also the mattress was hard. We had a very poor night's sleep, so we will not be staying with you again.

    The Breakfast was nice and the room was clean

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    7.5
    Overall a good experience - the staff at the bar on my second night ensured I was not overcharged ag
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I was charged £3.75 per pot of tea ( and I had 2 ) in the bar on the evening I arrived. I was too tired to argue as I had treked ( with a suitcase ) from Selly Oak train station in the snow.

    Staff at the reception and restaurant were friendly and helpful. Bar staff on my second night were approachable and listened to my concerns regarding the previous night.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    10
    Suited our needs ideally.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were accompanying a group of muddy 13 yr old rugby players who then had to be up for Hockey. Beeches was perfect. They all LOVED their ensuite rooms.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    2.5
    Not worth the money we had to pay £80 was lot of for horrible room
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room - 3/4 size Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was dirty,the carpet had big stains very dated room coffee in the room was horrible the bathrooms was set up for a disabled person the room was cold the bed was uncomfortable would I stay there again No

    Not a thing

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    7.9
    Budget hotel fair value
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room - 3/4 size Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    Would have liked bedside tables & lamps on both sides of bed & longish walk with stairs from reception to our room.

    Much bigger establishment than expected, spotlessly clean, lots of parking, wonderful bathroom

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    4.6
    Awful
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room - 3/4 size Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was noisy. Unclean, smelt of food along the carridors. Wasnt user friendly. Beds were too small. Only two pillows.

    Close to where i needed to be

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    8.8
    Good value overnight stay but not the best for food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room - 3/4 size Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    We decided to eat at the Beeches but the restaurant was closed on the evening of our stay, so food was served in the bar. That was OK, but the food was extremely disappointing. As well as some choices being unavailable, the food we had was not good. In particular my husband had to send his pudding back and ask for his money back as it was virtually inedible (sticky toffee and orange pudding with Cointreau pot - yes, sounds great. The reality was not great.)

    Good value for an overnight stay. Very clean and comfortable room, and a very good breakfast. Ideally placed to walk around Bournville and see the architecture, or to visit Cadbury World.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    8.3
    Generally good & would stay again,but room to make improvements
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Single room is compact to say the least, I'm small and found it cramped-you'd struggle if you were on the large size Soundproofing between bedrooms very poor you can hear everything,people talking,phoning&TV levels could do with being preset so that you don't have to listen to whatever the person next door is watching !

    Good location,easy to find, generally quiet area, standard of housekeeping excellent,pleasant staff,plenty of car parking

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    7.9
    The staff are always very friendly and helpful.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room - 3/4 size Bed
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The last 2 stays the mattress too hard for me. Need some memory foam toppers. Also the Wifi keeps dropping out.

    The staff are always very friendly and helpful. The hotel is situated in Bournville which is lovely and quiet, very leafy and only 2miles from University of Birmingham where I am studying.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    7.9
    Pleasent place to stay.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    I originally got a very small room with no space for a chair or table so it was difficult to do some work and there was no place to put your things on apart from the bed. The bed side table was entirely occupied by the hotel phone. There was a tea facility but the kettle lead was too short to reach the nearest socket, so I had to move the phone to put the kettle on the bedside table to boil water. Also there was no hot water in the hot water tap in the tiny boathroom sink. I turned the hot water tap fully but there was a little bit of explosive pressure and a drible and nothing came out. I reported it to the reception and was offered another room with hot water, which was good because it wouldn't been very nice to stay for 5 nights with no hot water in the sink particularly on cold days.

    Very friendly and comfortable place to stay. I had evening meals while I stayed. The food they serverd was excellent.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    7.5
    Nice quiet hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room - 3/4 size Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bed in the best rooms is a bit small and hard. Only two pillows given and only 1 set of towels. Bar didn't serve bitter on draft.

    quiet location and generally in very good condition. Has a gym on site with weights and machines which I thought was great and you can get access 24 x 7.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    7.5
    Friendly staff, good food. Too hot and bit dated and uncomfortable beds
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    See above

    Most staff very friendly. Lady at reception was particularly helpful and nice - think her name was Eva. Bar staff and kitchen staff also very nice. Great gluten free options overall. Lot of healthy option foods. Rooms and hallways far too hot. Made quite uncomfortable. Mattress very soft and flimsy. Pillows not great. Also sound proofing issue. Could hear guy snoring and TV on in neighbouring room affected my sleep a lot.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    5.4
    Friendly staff
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room - 3/4 size Bed
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had a long trek through a oddly laid out building to get to me life less room with a postage stamp size tv miles away from the bed. The cooked breakfast started at 7:30am not any good for somebody who had to start work at 8:30 am with a 40min drive.

    Friendly staff

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    3.3
    Disgraceful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room - 3/4 size Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    I booked a double exec room with a larger bed and the room we were given only had a 3/4 bed so I slept on the floor. I asked for a room close to reception as I had a heart condition and they gave me a room the furthest distance from reception (Room 211 around the bar, up two flights of stairs along corridors and then down stairs again and along another corridor.) When I complained the manager said, we are busy so what do you expect me to do about it. My advice is try giving a damn/

    Nothing

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    6.3
    A tiny room, with the shower in the bedroom, but it was good value.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I booked a single room, and the shower was in the bedroom, separated from the bed by a shower curtain. It was a single room, and was a good price, but I do prefer to have the shower in the bathroom! The room was only just big enough for me. The desk was too small to work on. You get what you pay for, but the room was very very small, and the shower was odd.

    The breakfast was good, it was good value, and the staff were friendly.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    7.9
    Generally good
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I booked two nights due to snow situation, and work locally at Cadbury's. After the second nights stay Saturday, I was due to work a Sunday night shift, so, according to the hotel's information was expected to check-out at 11.00 o'clock, so planned to sleep until 10.30, shower and leave. But at 10.05 I was called by the receptionist and informed that I should have checked out at 10.00. I promptly informer her to read her hotel's policy first before trying to bully me out of the room. I left at approx 10.45, the receptionist gave no apology, or offered me an option to extend my check out time. This issue dampened my stay, and although I probably will stop there again as it is convenient, I was not happy with here attitude or professionalism. After leaving I checked out the web site and found that it would have cost an extra £10 to extend my check out, of which I would have gladly paid to help my night shift preparation. In the future I will pre-book this option.

    Room clean and warm Food good price and quality. Staff generally good due to the snowy situation out side.

    Stayed in March 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: