Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Beechfield House 4 stars

Beechfield House, , Beanacre, SN12 7PU, United Kingdom

#1 of 1 hotels in Beanacre

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 428 hotel reviews

9.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.4

  • Comfort

    9.2

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    9

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    9.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing - all was fantastic

    The facilities were wonderful and well thought out! The staff were the main selling point - the receptionist on the Friday was wonderful very professional, friendly and smart. The manager over the weekend was efficient professional and friendly. All the waiters and bar staff were fantastic particularly the young men who were obviously well trained, professional and friendly and it was this aspect that made our stay extra special and the main reason we would recommend it to others

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Club Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were friendly, helpful and efficient, location is beautiful, the hotel is stunning, the room had all we needed and more and the bed was so very comfortable. We came for friends' wedding but would love to return to explore the area.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Club Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had asked for a twin bedded room this had not been organised by the time we arrived and was only done at 7pm when they turned down the bed. Bathroom radiator on full blast and it was like a sauna and no ventilation. Breakfast was poor. Overcooked egg and bacon. If the food at dinner is cooked by the same people wouldn't bother to try it. Room was very noisy. Could hear the people above us very clearly whoever did the conversion should be fired. Would not recommend this hotel at all.

    Their pillows and they bed was comfotable

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Club Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was the most uplifting experience just driving up the house with its grounds. Loved the welcome and genuine concern that we were happy. The room was good as I requested a joining room as my parents are elderly, and my mum is disabled. So there needed to check on them. The hotel staff were excellent The food was high quality and very tasty. My dad loved the swimming pool, we made use of it on the day we arrived. Overall an excellent stay and will be going back.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Grand Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The dinner service could do with a bit of polishing! We had not booked the restraunt one evening, so asked for a bar snack. It seemed a real effort to get a light meal.

    The room was very spacious with a very, very comfortable bed. Lovely view from the windows. Food was execelent and good portions. The open air, heated pool was a real treat. It made the Hotel something unique.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Club Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Small country house hotel which isn't pretentious but comfortable and relaxing. Having the pool was a bonus. Bathroom was excellent with decent shower. Location was great, near Avebury and just outside Bath. We would definitely stay again. Great for families or couples alike.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Club Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The dinner and lunch menu do not change. If you stay more than 1 day, you have the same menu every day.

    I loved the property. Laura was amazing and dealt professionally in dealing wirh the problem we had. The people who served dinner and breakfast were lovely. The breakfast was delicious and substantial. The dinner was tasty. I highly recommend this property.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Club Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only negative point would be that the evening meal was a bit more expensive than we expected.

    The outdoor pool was lovely and warm and the breakfast was really nice.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rude member of staff didn’t have time for us even though we paid over £200 for the night and thought our dog was vermin. Staff generally v unwelcoming - more interested in a group of tourists unfortunately. For a supposed dog friendly hotel - not very dog friendly.

    Lovely location, room v clean, food overpriced.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not much... if I were being really picky I’d say that the breakfast was the only ‘mhhh’ moment. They were very busy; full English was hot and fine; buffet was minimal; nothing earth shattering which felt a little underwhelming- but perhaps that’s because everything else was so beautiful...

    Grounds and pool lovely. Main house was beautiful. Our room was with the gods, but bed was comfy and it was clean.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Making a charge of £15 for a travel cot in the room ? I think it would be ok if it was a proper cot as we normally find in hotels No fridge in our room

    The hotel is run very well & all of the staff are so professional & friendly - we haven’t come across hotel staff as amazing as they all are !

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Club Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor lighting in bathroom.Impossible to see well to make up or shave. A grab rail over the bath would have been useful.D

    Room delightful and bed very comfortable.Staff are very pleasant and efficient

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Club Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sometimes the plumbing had a bit of trouble.

    Heated Swimming pool. Lots of fuss made of our dog. Private dining for dog owners not just making do in the bar. Dog bed and water bowl provided in bedroom.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Club Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    afternoon tea is served in the two small lounges which is a shame really because staying guests are rarely able to get a seat to relax and read in these communal rooms because of the popularity of the tea

    very lovely relaxing hotel, have stayed a couple of times the food is excellent, fish and chips are best ever so too the gammon, egg and chips excellent selection of newspapers and magazines for guests to read - if you can get a seat in the two small lounges!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Club Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a transformer on the wall of Holly room. The high pitch noise coming from it can only be heard at night. I had to sleep with a pillow on my head.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Club Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Given the on-line description and price we expected a decent size room. It was tiny. Twin beds had to be pushed tightly together, with two chairs in the room there was zero floor space. Our floor boards creaked every time the people in the next room walked around, and we could hear their conversations.

    An excellent big bathroom.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some road noise

    Probably the best country house we have stayed at. The whole property was interesting and very well maintained. Room was spacious with a wonderful view. Dinner was absolutely excellent

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Grand Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room could have benefited from Air conditioning or some form of temperature control.

    Lovely comfortable bed, stunning room and view across the front of the grounds, facilities were perfect for the stay. I would definitely stay here again with no complaints.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Club Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We stayed in the coach house part of the hotel. The room was lovely and warm. It was very clean and the beds were comfortable. We had dinner and breakfast. Both were superb :)

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Club Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We didn't like the seating process for breakfast or dinner. Staff make it too complicated, more about what works for them than what suits guests. Bit formal. Staff are not unfriendly but scarcely engage with guests. More food choices would be helpful, particularly if you are staying more than one night.

    The room was spacious, clean and very comfortable. The food is of a high standard but main meals from the a la carte are expensive and not substantial enough unless you are having a starter or dessert.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Club Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The House White was undrinkable, but our choice of dinner wine was excellent. The hot water was only warm in the bath in the evening.

    Elegant rooms, beautiful starched white table linen. Very good service at all times. Outside there are very nice well-kept grounds with some amazing trees!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Club Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The evening meal could have been a lot better considering the prices. My wife and I ordered the steaks, and both ordered them medium. Both were extremely well done. My wife ordered new potatoes and veg instead of the Chips and salad. Her meal came out with the Chips and Salad and the potatoes and veg. Not really expected from this class of restaurant. I ordered the Cheese and Biscuits. It came with only one type of Biscuit, and no other choice. Our stay was for a special occasion, and the meal put a bit of a downer on it. The breakfast was excellent.

    Excellent service from he staff.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing - the huge fob on the room key?

    Superbly grand hotel with huge comfy beds, spacious rooms with high ceilings. Ample parking and extensive grounds. Excellent dining and lounge facilities. Accommodating and attentive staff. Faultless and easy to recommend.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Club Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food prices were not great, but the food was still good. Would have liked more headroom in the shower but it’s 100% not a fault it was a lovely room in just trying to find faults.

    Bed was so comfy and the room kept its period features. The building was grand and it was a lovely stay.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Car park lighting was non-existent. Dining room was a bit lifeless, needed some piped jazz music and some between table decorations/plants etc. Real log fires would have been nice rather than the gas ones.

    Staff friendly and efficient, food good. Location convenient for our planned visits to nearby venues.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    1) At the breakfast at the first day there was no menu at the table, so we did not know the options for breakfast and nobody bother to offer us anything else, so we had what was available at the opened buffet. Actually the breakfast was very good - but found it out only on the second morning 2) Though the room looked clean, there was so much dust under the bed.... I guess nobody cleaned there for months

    The building itself and the interior is very cosy, home-like, all made with taste. I like the the everything in the look and feel is very British. Breakfast is good, reception lady is very helpful - she offered help in booking the dinner for us and gave good recommendations

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Club Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was perfect for us with our dogs, on the ground floor, easy access to the car. The hotel allowed us to dine with our dogs in the bar area which was fantastic. Lovely hotel.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Club Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Felt a bit pushed out as I’ve been asked to eat at the bar as no space available in the main restaurant!

    Nice parking area, great venue, warm atmosphere

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Club Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were absolutely fantastic, always accomodating and willing to help which added a real personal touch to our stay. The pictures of this beautiful location, in a grand country house filled with history, speak for themselves, but the personal touches and friendly service really added the finishing touch to a great trip.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Club Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We arrived around 6:00pm but because of the lack of lighting in the car park - it meant it was difficult to locate a space. The property could definitely benefit from some outside spot lights. Upon arriving in our room, we were disappointed to find that it was smaller then what we were expecting - especially after having stayed at a similar establishment the night prior, which was £20.00 less and offered far more space. I ran a bath which I was looking forward too after having had a long day on our feet but after getting in, quickly noticed that the plug was broken and all the water drained away! When trying to fix it, both of the dials fell off the wall! We also struggled to maintain a nice temperature in the room - it was either stifling hot (which caused a lot of condensation on the windows) or freezing cold. The layout of the room also didn't seem to make a lot of sense, on my partners side, you had to climb over a chair to get into bed because it was so tight and the bath tub - whilst the room looked large - was small and pokey. We just didn't feel they'd utilized the space fully. Breakfast was underwhelming with the sausages and bacon looking anemic and the french toast was pretty bland and tasteless. It's a real shame because the hotel had a lot of potential - the staff were very friendly and the building itself was beautiful but the room and the food let it down greatly. Unfortunately, we wouldn't choose to stay here again.

    The building itself was stunning and the staff were very friendly and attentive.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Grand Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    They had several large parties in which meant that we were are delayed being taken to our table in the restaurant

    Staff friendly particularly Neil the Assistant bar and restaurant Manager

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Club Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Leaving...

    Beechfield House is the perfect balance of class, warmth and comfort. It was our first night in a hotel with our nine-month old daughter. The room was spacious (easily accommodating our travel cot) and the staff couldn't have been more patient and helpful...even with the baby carnage caused by a croissant at breakfast! We'll be frequent returners.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Club Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No 24hr reception.

    Staff especially Freya amazingly helpful. Special occasion birthday stay. Upgraded room really made us feel special. Will definately return again. Also toilets very clean and in excellent condition as was the rest of the building and grounds.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Club Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I booked a couple massages - a big reason for the visit - however I was told upon arrival they they were cancelled due to the masseur being away, something I was not informed about in the build up to our visit.

    Nice hotel in a picturesque location. The food was very nice, although a little small in portion size and the breakfast in the room was spot on.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Club Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We had unaccompanied children staying in the room opposite who played music past midnight and slammed doors. Not exactly ideal. Also a choice of pillows would be good as I am not a big fan of feather.

    Food was great. Staff were extremely helpful. Lovely atmosphere.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The children beds were not very comfortable. After complaining, the staff did try to make them better, but still, they really were uncomfortable.

    Excellent family friendly country hotel. Beautiful building in lush green surroundings. Staff was very warm and welcoming and there is a room where the children can play various board games and have some sweets. Very recommended for a family holiday around Bath.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The health spa was under renovation, and I could not have treatment.

    The staff made us feel welcomed.. I particularly liked the dinner which was served in a private room for the family celebration.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It's a shame there isn't more/better access to country walks in the area, although that isn't the fault of the hotel.

    The rooms were spacious, and in excellent condition. The staff were superb, very accommodating to every request, and always put the customer experience first. We really enjoyed our short stay.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Somewhat disappointed with the dining. The dining room felt a little make shift and not the right ambiance. The food was ok but just quite meet the expectations anticipated or advertised.

    Good sized and comfortable rooms.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was very cold. We was provided a plug in oil heater after a few times of mentioning the temperature of the room. We discussed our only concern at check out and was informed there were problems with the heating. Although it would of been nice to know this when the issue arose (from when we was telling them our room was very cold after our check in) we were still happy with our stay and would definitely return! We appreciate these things can happen, it was the start of the days turning colder so it was only fair to accept any such problems. It's the way people deal with it that makes or breaks, our experience was very good!

    Afternoon tea was delightful and the kitchen accommodated our requirements to the T. The evening steak meal was top class, cooked to perfection. Wonderful experience.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beautiful hotel. A stately property with a lot of character. Very charming. We stayed in a large and well-equipped room with a cozy bed. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Great food and drinks.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Club Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/A

    Excellent service Friendly and helpful staff Excellent food / tasting menu is Michelin star standard :) Rooms superb and good housekeeping Easy car parking Beautiful well kept grounds Close to National Trust village of Lacock

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    I would have liked to have disposable slippers in the bedroom, and a small face towel The heating was on, and the bedroom was a little too warm and we had to open windows during the night.

    Lovely location, and the hotel was an intimate size, not too grand but furnished in good taste. It was great to dine in a private room for my birthday dinner with the family (8 of us, including 2 grandchildren). The food was beautifully presented and very tasty.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Club Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    At £27 for a main course, we felt that dinner was expensive but we would have paid it every night had the menu been more interesting. There was very little choice. I had the best chips I have had in my life but the steak was really tough. We had dinner only once for that reason but we would have liked to eat in every night.

    Bed and breakfast were excellent and staff were superb but it is quite isolated and we were disappointed by the dinner menu.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Club Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel advertises it is pet friendly, we were allowed in the bar area but told only until it became busy, as my sister had her dog. We refused dinner as we would of been placed in a corridor area which was pleasant as you could look onto the garden but felt as though you were isolated. Breakfast was also set up in this area and we ate alone as no other travellers had dogs. We also requested twin beds and were given a double bed and then charged 15 pounds for the dog, I think it would of been nice if the hotel deducted this charge as a good will gesture.

    The setting is stunning and the hotel beautifully kept , the staff were very pleasant and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Dinner portions in the restaurant were extremely meagre, although of good quality, and was over priced for what was served. Consequently after the first night we sought alternative venues for dinner.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    When we checked out, all the room charge had been already taken from my credit card as I was the one who made the booking. I was advised to sort it out within family, but we wanted to pay separately as my family were all from outside the country and did not have much cash with them. I wish they asked before putting all the charge in my credit card.

    Hotel and its garden were so pretty. The garden was very well maintained, natural, relaxing and very English. All my family got really impressed with everything - rooms, restaurant, lounge with fireplace and garden. Staff were all nice, helpful and friendly. It was a bit too cold to swim in outdoor swimming pool (even though it was heated), but it was big and clean. Our kids really enjoyed playing in the football pitch next to the swimming pool! Also there were some jigsaw puzzles and board games for guests in the sitting area. I could manage to please both my parents and kids perfectly and am really satisfied!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing!

    This hotel allows you a nineteenth-century countryside experience with all the luxury this experience can afford. The building is historical yet it is very well equipped and convenient. Its owners have managed to preserve the historic feel of it while making sure guests get all the comfort they need. The staff is very friendly and welcoming. The comfy room we got was spotless and spacious (we were a family of 5). Breakfast is freshly cooked everyday. Dinner is divine. The service is excellent and indulging. Staff are very polite and friendly. Location is half an hour drive from Stonehenge and Bath. Very much recommended!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Club Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing ... it was all very good.

    Great room (named 'Oak') over looking the fields and pool. Tastefully decorated with quirky vintage Roberts radio and sumptuous bed linen. Very attentive service from helpful staff. Loved the relaxed, sophisticated and welcoming atmosphere. Enjoyed the gorgeous well kept grounds, pretty flowers, seating areas and the delicious breakfast. The outdoor pool was exceptionally clean, heated and it proved to be a real treat .

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Grand Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    If we had to find one thing we'd have changed, we'd have preferred to dine outside as it was a simply beautiful summer evening. Coming from Australia, we couldn't understand why they weren't offering this option, as no rain was forecast, and it was very warm inside.

    Very friendly and attentive staff. Our room (Cedar) was spacious and comfortable. G&T's were happily delivered to the pool which made for a relaxing afternoon after a long drive. Lunch in the bar and dinner in the restaurant were both very good. Would stay again.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Club Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was a beautiful morning, asked could we have breakfast outside. Was told no, "we don't serve breakfast outside." Instead we had to have breakfast in what I would describe as a "hospital waiting room". Napkins were paper, which was a surprise! Stayed in the Holly room, it was very dark and could not open the windows! Atmosphere was a bit staid.

    Grounds were very nice! Staff were friendly, helpful for the most part.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Dinner on the first night of stay was 'pretty bad'; very expensive for very little food. Cold plate, vegetable inedible. Fish (salted cod) tasted like someone had shortcut the recipe and just stuck the two inch fish in a bowl of intense salt. Not much alternative for vegetarian! Young children shouting and making noise before 7 am - very close to our bedroom door! Dog yapping down the corridor - in the bedroom!!!! Overall - I found it expensive - considering the prestigious house and location, I expected a lot better

    Staff were exceptionally efficient and courteous at all times

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Club Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Meal service- the food is great but they do get busy with outside parties and that slowed down our service a bit. It was fine but they might add another kitchen staff to allow for faster service when they're so busy. The WIFI and/or telcom signal isn't always great - so if you're going there and need to work, you may have to do a bit in the garden -- which is lovely.

    This is a gorgeous estate very close to Bath and the environs. I don't think that there is a "bad" room in this place but I would opt for one of the corner rooms (so you have windows on two sides) or one of the balcony rooms when I stay again. The staff are wonderful and the grounds are gorgeous. There's a very excellent wine list (and a cozy bar) and the staff really go out of their way to make you comfortable - very charming group. The pool is nice for a plunge.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Club Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom was large and it did have room for a separate shower cubicle rather than shower over bath - this is the only mild criticism.

    Bedroom very comfortable. Larger than expected with a lovely outlook over garden and outdoor swimming pool which was an unexpected bonus after a day travelling in the car. Good food and for dinner could choose between a 5 course tasting menu or a la carte.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No air conditioning. Open windows and fans were not enough to rid the rooms of stale air. Unpleasant faint smell as if carpets needed replacing. Very uncomfortable sofa bed provided as a third bed in room. Staff tried hard but seemed a bit untrained/inexperienced. Witnessed supervisor chastising serving staff for customer service which seemed a bit ironic.

    Nice breakfast. Helpful front desk.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were particularly impressed with the way that the staff anticipated our needs, for example as there was a group of 8 us they laid up a table in the restaurant for us even though we had chosen to eat from the bar menu. They also laid up a room for 12 of us to eat breakfast together. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff, they were attentive, flexible and helpful - people always make the place! The peach and raspberry soufflé was amazing! What we enjoyed most was 2 early morning swims in the heated outside pool, just fabulous with the steam rising through the mist, quite magical.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant menu was a little limited for children, although they loved their pudding. Saying that i thoroughly enjoyed my meal

    Loved the heated pool, the gardens and our room. And the bonus of being able to bring out puppies with us. Could of happily stayed at the hotel and not left

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The evening meal menu never changes (or didn't during our 3 days stay). As the main restaurant menu was very limited this became quite boring. There isn't enough room to sit in the evenings. The bar and the lounge were choices, but they were full of people having cream teas, or some other group food activity. We were particularly upset to hear about the hotel underpaying the minimum wage to some staff, as reported in the newspaper. The complimentary Wiltshire Times newspaper was left in the rooms. Staff were overheard giving instructions to remove all the newspapers!!

    The place had lots of character. Staff were very nice and helpful. Breakfasts were good, but evening meals choice is very limited.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Small bath with shower over and no safety grab rails. Would be better with a large shower.

    Good breakfast choice and a vary clean and well presented hotel.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Club Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Absolute luxury just wish I didn't have to work and leave the sanctuary. Children and husband loved their downtime - swimming and playing croquet. We ate in the restaurant - expensive but lovely food beautifully prepared a great experience for all

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Club Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    When we booked in May 2 doubles, the Hotel didn't tell about a room with 3 beds - what the Hotel has in fact. After we arrived we asked whether we could book a room with 3 beds, the clerk immediately said they could give us the room but had to charge the second room - it came too sudden ... the rooms have been located in the adjacent building, low ceilings, small size. During the night in one room the fire alarm box started blinking due to low battery, the steps from the upper floor rooms could be heard due to inefficient floor isolation. After turning on the lights in the bathroom the ventilation started and lasted for 10 minutes after switching off the lights. The price for the 2 rooms has been by far the highest during a 3 weeks traveling in Scotland, Ireland and England and the worst value for the money. Cappuccino/Latte Macchiato cost extra for breakfast. Our complaints in the morning about the disturbed night we had were of no interest as the management didn't call as promised by the clerk.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant would be better concentrating on simple good quality food from local produce. Menu was overly fussy. More could be made of the local heritage decor wise as well (artwork was old pictures of London, some Wiltshire history would add to the hotel's character for example)

    Friendly staff. comfortable room . Beautiful location. Lovely pool.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    very big room. nice to be in the garden for chatting. very comfortable place. I loved to visit Lacock near the house where is the site for filming Downton Abbey, Harry Potter... very convenient to visit Cotswalds.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Club Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was nothing to not like about Beechfield House. It is a top property with staff who are extremely well trained and know their job.

    Full breakfast was wonderful I am gluten free and allergic to Mushrooms and shellfish and I was very impressed with the service received and the fact that our waitress new about my special dietary requirements. Nothing was too much trouble.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Club Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food was poor value for money. The restaurant did not match the quality of the hotel. Food is over priced and a bit too experimental. There is very little choice on the restaurant menu, no dish of the day and it's not particularly well presented. They may have been too busy preparing for the wedding next day. Best idea is to stay at the hotel and go up the road to Lacock to eat. Breakfast however was good.

    Room was very good, lovely grounds, good facilities. Well set up and well organised. Very welcoming staff. A really comfortable place to stay but obviously geared up for weddings especially at the weekend. A good size heated swimming pool makes it a great family location.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Club Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bedroom rather dark and over-equipped with furniture. Radio didn't work.

    Helpful receptionist accompanied us to room. Breakfast good, cooked to order, excellent hot filter coffee. Very efficient and friendly manageress, Very pleasant outside courtyard adjacent swimming pool with comfortable seating.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Club Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Due to the changeable weather an indoor pool area would have been beneficial for us.

    The rooms were comfy and clean and there was a power shower in the bathroom. Breakfast was made to order so was fresh and hot. The staff were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Club Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing about the hotel, it was Booking.com that caused a few issues. The hotel fixed it.

    Booking.com had not given the correct information to the hotel, so for a moment we were concerned but the brilliant young lady who was new (I wish I had noted her name) sorted everything out beautifully. Not only that when we had questions about the local village she couldn't answer because she was new, but by the time we passed the desk again, she had googled the answer and given us all the answers we required. We also saw her dealing with another customer who had a child and was telling her all the great things to do on their outing. All in all a very impressive young lady, which reflected very well on the hotel.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Purely from a personal viewpoint I would have liked to have dinner in the restaurant at an earlier time

    Breakfast was very enjoyable and the service was attentive and pleasant

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Club Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    Excellent for everything. One of the best hotels I've stayed in. Nice atmosphere and wonderful building and surrounding grounds. Heated outdoor swimming pool in lovely gardens is a an exceptional bonus. Will definitely look to stay there again

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Club Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Half the meal. The flower beds in the garden should be planted up and cared for as the gardens have the potential to be magnificent.

    The meal was unfortunately a bit disappointing. I loved my goats cheese starter and veg gnocchi but my daughter had a disappointing tomato starter and a very bland salt cod.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Club Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Grounds needed some work. The shower curtain was useless and should be a glass door. The ceiling needed soundproofing could hear people above. Its just a bit expensive for what it is,

    Staff were superb. A pretty building. A nice atmosphere.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Club Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was pretty disappointing. Was meant to come with fried bread and black pudding. Was informed by waiter, after having enquired, that kitchen had run out of both (they told us they had not run out of bread, however). Reported this to reception on check-out, who agreed that this was a tad bizarre (!) and they would take this up with kitchen staff. Breakfast costs £15 to non-residents - would not have paid this. However this did not spoil what was a very pleasant stay overall.

    Pool, bed, room, service, cream tea, grounds were beautiful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Club Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    If there had been a pen in my room I would have filled out the questionnaire left in my room. As no pen was provided andI did not have one on me I left it blank.

    Breakfast was brilliant. I changed the set menu a lot for my cooked breakfast. It was not a problem. It arrived quickly after I had ordered it.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Club Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a really odd smell in the corridor outside our room, we stayed in Magnolia. A tiny detail that didn't affect our room, but it was quite off-putting.

    Very warm welcome on arrival, swimming pool very clean and good temperature, room lovely and spacious, bathroom very clean with great shower pressure, good breakfast with attentive staff.

    Stayed in July 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: