Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Belgrave Hotel

61 City Road, Chester, CH1 3AE, United Kingdom

#26 of 28 hotels in Chester

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1118 hotel reviews

7.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    6.8

  • Comfort

    6.3

  • Location

    8.3

  • Facilities

    5.8

  • Staff

    8

  • Value for money

    7.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    6.7
    Close to railway station. Basic but friendly. Met my requirements.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old hotel needing refurbishment. Adequate facilities but pretty basic for the price paid. The only reasonably priced hotel to be found in Chester on a Saturday on Racing weekend!,

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    7.5
    pleasant hotel, ideally located
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    coffee sachets in the room weren't the best. mattress was a little lumpy but it was only for one night so it was fine. Could you have done with more pillows as there were only two in the double room. We did ask for more but none were given

    location was good. close enough to walk in to the town without it being too close and too noisy, ideally located to train station

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    6.7
    Very basic accommodation but expected for the cheap price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Roller blind was broken, so it was either up completely or totally unravelled and you had to tuck it on the windowsill to keep the light out. No shampoo or shower gel in the bathroom, very little furnature but what there was needed replacing/repainting. Breakfast only served between 8am and 9am which seemed overly restrictive, especially on a weekend.

    Bed was comfortable, bathroom was clean, staff friendly and efficient at check-in.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    9.6
    Lovely hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were extremely helpful, very friendly and went above and beyond. Room was comfortable, clean and quiet. Definitely stay here again. Good value for money.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    5.4
    What a shame things let the place down.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room 2 is the size of a cupboard.. the shower is almost as big as the floor space of the room. The net curtains weren’t clean and were longer than the curtains. On moving the bedside cabinate, to use the plug, I uncovered someone’s supper of chips. Breakfast started at 8am. On our arrival, at the start time, the room was in darkness. We turned on lights. Advised to help ourselves, there was no cutlery. Had to eat cornflakes with a teaspoon before they went soggy. On the second morning having asked for poached egg on toast, I was brought fried eggs and bacon. The eggs had clearly been microwaved as they were like rubber.

    When we met staff, they were very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    8.8
    Good enough
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old and tired decor and furniture, but for the price, it didn’t affect our stay.

    Helpful Friendly staff. We were able to leave our bags with reception before and after checking out. Great location, very close to the train station and a short walk into town. Our en suite facilities were strange (the sink was next to the bed, and not in the same room as the toilet and shower) but clean.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    7.5
    good aprt from my other comments
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    curtains very light so I woke early as bed faced window ,only place to put toiletries etc was on the small Tv table , a small shelf is needed so items could be left out & not having to put away each time a double Rm may be better . The bathroom was very dark green tiled , l reported the shaving light not worki ng this would have given more light but wasn't done

    only one minute from station , quiet location , big wardrobe bedding & towels lovely &white extra tea & coffee provided Maria & her staff very friendly curtains

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    7.1
    Clean and comfortable but needs refurb.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No bar area, place was very dated and needed a facelift. Bathroom very small and dated, windows opened but didn’t close properly place just needs refurbishing

    The staff were very friendly. was in a good position for the railway station, a ten minute walk from the town centre, bedding clean.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    6.7
    Refurb needed
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very old fashioned. There was no hot water. The bed springs were coming through mattress. There was an awful smell in bathroom. I could hear the laundry being done late in evening. No lift for disabled.

    Staff helpful and friendly

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    9.2
    Great value
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I especially appreciated how the staff were all very helpful and friendly. The location is great, being a five minute walk to the train station. The mattresses were a little tired butvthe pillows were decent from Wilko. I didn't expect miracles for the price though. Very good value.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    8.3
    Stayed for 1 night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Stayed for 1 night. Very happy with the hotel, close to railway station en for the low price good decent quality en cleanlyness. Compared to more expensive hotels of course pretty basic, but that's in the price!! Good tea and coffee facilities and shower. Windows can open wide enough. No wardrobe but plenty of space, for me anyway. I also liked the character of the place, it's a bit dated but in a good way and I prefer that to very modern... I didn't have the breakfast so can't comment on that. No extra charge for storing your lugage after checkout. Friendly staff. If I ever visit Chester again, I will defenitely book here again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    5.4
    DON'T it doesn't matter how cheap it looks it isn't worth it
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room 26 stank of old smoke, windows held shut with screws, broken window panes, electrics with bare conductors in the bathroom, dirty bath, hair and dirt on the carpet - it is pretty grim!

    Good location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    5.8
    Staff were genuine/nice, convenient location; the right price, crap comforts, tired place.
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Furniture, hotel and system was very dated and tired looking. The bed was not comfortable and the bathroom did not have a proper shower head, it didn't have a fastener for the head so I had to hold it to shower and the toilet didn't flush ever on the first flush. As someone who cares for the environment and as someone who doesn't want the staff to have to see "left overs" this irritated me.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    9.2
    Great value, location, and friendly helpful staff :)
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mattresses a bit worn out, wish water were hotter, but to be fair, was up before six.

    The staff were friendly and very helpful, including letting us leave our bags behind even after checking out, as we were going to the Queen's walkabout in the town centre.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    8.8
    pleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    roller blinds that works

    handy to trains busses etc friendly staff hotel in need of update but clean and comfortable what more can you get for the price second time there and will be back hopefully next year great pub 200 yds away

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    3.3
    Nothing
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Decrepit, dirty, attic room with steep stairs, no lift, velux window with broken blind, shower covered with black mound, electric shower which alternated between freezing & scalding.

    Nothing

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    8.8
    Comfortable, would stay here again
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room needs updating, shower curtain clings to your body when you're trying to shower, carpets threadbare in some places. Whilst waiting by reception a member of staff came down the stairs and swore very loudly, this was unprofessional and could have offended a few people especially if there were children around to hear.

    Friendly staff, great location, appreciate the vegetarian option for breakfast which was very good, filter coffee available all day near reception, great shower but could do with being replaced with a shower cubicle rather than just have a shower curtain, comfortable bed, spotlessly clean, staff friendly and helpful

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    5.0
    Mediocre, but cheap enough for the night.
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower was awful, was not s proper shower for starters. Cleaning of room took far too long, upon arrival wr had an hour wait, then a further 20 minutes once we returned. Decor of room was old fashioned and curtains were beyond awful. Staff relatively friendly but seemed rude and abrupt at times. Cleaning staff were also abrupt due to their lack of english, however were apologetic for the wait.

    Good TV. Approved of desk and mirror. Relatively clean.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    7.9
    Great place for an overnighter if not too picky.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Personally mattress wasn’t the best and shower needs improving.

    Brilliant location, staff great, rooms did the job for an over night stay following a trip to the races. Shower wasn’t the best but worked.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    7.1
    Needs better internet connection ans thats it everything else is great
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I liked all the staff especially the Blonde lady didnt mind if i was late checking out and all the other staff are great and welcoming.

    Staff and hygiene

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    5.4
    Staff friendly, Hotel tired and in need of investment.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Website advertised bar inside hotel. Which was no longer open. Breakfast was advertised as a continental, however I had to pay a further £21 for three breakfasts. Door handle on door to room broken, hinges broken on the bathroom window and not able to open. Décor was washed out and patched up in many places. Room smelt damp.

    location and staff were very friendly

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    7.9
    Centrally located with parking not too far away.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Other guests. Homeless guests in hotel asking for help. Decor very tired looking.

    Central location in Chester. Close to restaurants and train station. Staff polite and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    4.6
    Very disappointing :never again at Belgrave hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower poor,very small and cramped, dribble of water,sealant dirty. Room decor dowdy,paper peeling in places.13 amp plug on wall loose. Window catch held on with elastic band. Hanging space for clothes but no wardrobe door. Sink in room has dirty sealant,could not remove plug,but water leaked out eventually; so wash first then clean your teeth. Reported sink plug ,but just the same after room serviced.Shaver light over sink not working. Television control unit caked with grime,and numbers illegible. Breakfast offered at £7 ,however board outside hotel says “breakfast £5.50”.

    Stall were courteous and helpful: supplied us with 2 pillows on request as one only each on bed.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    8.3
    Great location for walking round the city and within easy reach of Bars/Resturantes .
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Need new curtains in the bedroom ,blackout or thicker ones. Shower need updating though did give out hot water.

    Location and cost of room. Room was clean.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    7.5
    One night stay
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room wasnt ready at 1:30 when check in was 1 o'clock,wasnt advised about this and walked into my room to find towels on floor,full bin and beds that had been slept in and used mugs,very old decor in room but couldnt fault price and location,beds comfy and was clean after finally being ready,would stay again tho with freinds based on location and price,if going with family tho id recommend to stay in premier inn.

    Price,location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    5.0
    Staff and location were great but rooms need a re-vamp.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No shower in room, only a bath. I understand it's personal preference but a shower would be much better in a hotel. Curtains were falling down and didn't quite fit the window and are not black out at all so get woken up as soon as the sun rises. Little bit dusty, and needed a bit of a Hoover.

    Location was good, free parking outside over night between 6pm and 8am. Plenty of tea and coffee in the room

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    5.0
    Very dated and small. Good location.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Single room was tiny. Hardly any space. Wardrobe didn’t close properly with hangers. Shower room even smaller. Very dated and worn decor

    Good location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    5.8
    Appalling, will never stay here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was very dated, shower difficult to use, no heating, cracked washbasin, no doors on wardrobe, shower and toilet more like a cupboard, TV didn't work. Hotel generally looks run down. bar appears to permanently closed. More like a guest house than a hotel. Expected a lot better for £100 for one night excluding breakfast. Would have expected it to be as Premier Inn standard for that money

    Bed Linen & towels were clean

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    8.8
    Perfect location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 Bedroom Apartment with Kitchenette and Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bar was closed.

    Perfect location! We had the two bedroom apartement Perfect for us (5p) to a very good price (140GBP) walking distance to town center. Our room was also newely decorated

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    9.2
    Good location and good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 Bedroom Apartment with Kitchenette and Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booked the 2 bedroom apartment and we was pleasantly surprised by how big it was, it was also clean and had everything we needed. The decor is old fashioned but over all the room was great for the low price.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    7.9
    Pleasant stay for few days. Really nice staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The furniture is a little bit outdated.

    The staff is very friendly and polite. The hotel is clean and have really good location, specially if you plan to travel around - it is near to the railway station and the center is not far away.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    6.3
    Right location for the purposevof pur visit
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy. Could hear water running in pipes and flushed toilets from other rooms. The wall decos and carpets are out dated

    Right location for the purposevof pur visit

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    5.8
    Very unhappy with standard of hotel would not go back. Misleading on internet.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    room decoration was bad wallpaper brown stains in places the door to room had been filled looked like someone had smashed it from inside, the bathroom was very tatty the silicone seals were all dirty the seals around sink which was in main room and not in bathroom were all dirty and light above sink did not work , did not feel like i wanted to use shower as would come out dirtier than went in. I was also charged £65.00 per night for a double room when it clearly states on 2 boards outside hotel so was overcharged £10.00. for the period we stayed 2 nights.

    The bed was clean and confortable

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    7.5
    It was adequate for our weekend stay. Three stars.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The decor of the whole place could do with updating generally. The en-suite was very small.

    The beds were comfortable with clean sheets and towels were fluffy. The staff were very helpful. We found that the railway cafe nearby does great meals including breakfast, at very reasonable prices. Waitrose is 10 minute walk away. The city link bus goes from outside the railway station and runs frequently and only takes a few minutes to the main area.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    9.2
    Good price and location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No point commenting on little niggles - if everything was perfect it would have been out of my price range.

    Good price and location. Nice staff. Was clean and comfortable bed.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    9.6
    Loved it, we are returning next month :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It would of been nice if the bar was open.

    The room was very clean and comfortable, the bathroom was spotless, the gentleman who was working on reception and lovely and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    8.3
    Inexpensive place to stay near the station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I had missed a train, and needed a place to stay for the night. This is comfortable and near the station. It is old-fashioned and unrenovated, but is quiet and inexpensive. There is a 24-hour desk, and th staff were helpful in a very late check-in.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    2.5
    A complete waste of my money.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Got to the hotel, Got my room key. I asked, which way is room 2 please...His response "somewhere up there". Kettle was dirty, could not boil water for tea. Water wasn't warm enough; couldn't shower.

    Nothing!!!!!!!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    10
    Amazing
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 Bedroom Apartment with Kitchenette and Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The gentleman on reception was always smiling and very friendly.. I had organised a surprise hen party and asked that they didn’t go into the room and he didn’t give them the keys. very good value for money and would highly recommend and will be staying again. The staff was very helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    7.5
    Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ok it's not the smartest hotel but it serves a purpose.

    Good spot near the train station. Only a short walk to the centre and main sites. Reasonable price midweek for single room - would stay again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    5.4
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower was really bad! Cold and a trickle of water. Its such a shame that this hasn't been updated as it could be fab. Ok for what we paid

    The location was good. Staff seemed friendly

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    4.2
    Not suitable for disabled. Poor information & communication prior to booking. Pictures misleading.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I’d asked for ground floor room & advised one of guests needs crutches to get around during the booking. On arrival there was no local parking, stairs to the entrance and we had been allocated a room on second floor. We should have been contacted to say they didn’t have any suitable rooms and their bar facilities would be closed. Booking.com pictures were misleading.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    7.9
    Cheap and quirky, bit of a maze to find rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Radiator in bedroom did not seem to work, and the ones that did heat were switched off for some hours during the night. Base sheet on single bed was much too small, if you turn at all during sleep you will end up laying on the bare mattress. Continental breakfast was only served for one hour (8-9), though it wasn’t included in room rate so you’re not losing out if you miss it.

    Very convenient for the train station.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    6.7
    Need bar licence and food if only backs/sandwiches! Told 12 months ago bar was being refurbished!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No bar, no food. Windows in both bathrooms would not fully close. Next to no heat in radiator in early March. Kids running around corridors, doors being slammed. No chair/table in room to work on. Previous stay had this, now removed in favour of a small bench for kettle/cups. Pillows very thin.

    Convenient for train station, cheap, hot shower. Tv didnt work in first room so I was moved to another room. Guy on reception very helpful, checked tv in new room worked and carried my luggage.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    7.9
    Good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The building is quite old and the room had a rather interesting layout. Nothing special but it's OK if you want to stay in Chester for a night.

    It's really close to the train station. The staff was friendly and helpful, the room was warm.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    10
    Very warm cosy place Xx Thanks
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's cosy and quiet The beds are clean and comfy They Are Not Shy with the heating I had a lovely sleep due to that which some posh hotels can be loud cold As long as I get a good sleep for me it's 10/10 xx Location is fab Thanks

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    6.7
    Cheap and cheerful and very close to centre of Chester.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 Bedroom Apartment with Kitchenette and Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit shabby, some of the lights didn’t work or bulbs missing.

    Cheap and cheerful and very close to centre of Chester. Plenty of space in our rooms. Staff very friendly

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    5.4
    You get what you pay for
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower was stone cold - asked to change rooms but was told ‘we’re busy’ (although booking.com still had rooms available). Ran the shower for 10 mins = still stone cold so had to have a wash in the sink, using boiled water from the kettle. Room 17

    Location & price

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    4.2
    An experience never to be repeated
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was very tired and shabby. Cleanliness was very poor. Shower and toilet were dirty. Breakfast did not start until 8am a little ridiculous as needed to be left the hotel by 8am to attend training! (First time I’ve ever stayed where breakfast was served so late. There was no in house dining again something that is needed after a long day!

    The only plus was clean sheets!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    3.8
    Close to the station but otherwise no good points.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was quite shabby. A sign at reception said continental breakfast £5.50 pay at reception. I went down the first morning and tried to pay and they said they weren't doing it.

    Handy for the station.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    6.7
    You get what you pay for
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel is a bit outdated to be honest. bathroom facilities were not the best. Slanty roof was a tad incovenient for tall people also.

    Location and price were excellent!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    7.9
    Chester is well worth any visit and this is a good place to stay if you are on a budget.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Apart from what I mentioned above,very little.

    A pleasant stay in a very convenient position.The room could have had more cheerful decor but the staff were friendly and helpful and I appreciated the 24 hour reception!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    4.6
    If i have had option I would not have stayed
    • With a pet
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I thought British services and hotels were going to be better even at the cheapest hotel but it was not the case. I just stayed because I was forced to, I had no options.

    The only thing I enjoyed is that I was allowed to leave my baggages at reception.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    10
    Very enjoyable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast times could have gone on a little longer, not everyone wants to be down and finished by 9 o clock.

    The Staff were excellent, worth more than 10 out of 10

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    6.3
    Cheap but smelly
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    When we arrived there was a foul smell from the toilet. We complained to the manager who claimed it was the smell of the snow in the canal coming through the pipes!?! When we returned there was a strong smell of bleach in the bathroom to mask the smell. Some other friends stopped in a different room down the corridor but didn't have this smell.

    The location and price were good.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    6.3
    The room I had was better than the one I had before...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was no hot water in the shower in the evening but was piping hot in the morning.

    The room I had was better than the one I had before Christmas however, there was no hot water when I tried to take a shower in the evening. Room is clean and basic; location is excellent.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    8.8
    Exactly what was required, somewhere to sleep and wash. Small room sufficient for minimal needs
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dining room a bit gloomy, could have done with yogurt and fruit as part of breakfast.

    Friendliness, convenience of location, coffee in room, good towels, a window that opened.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    6.3
    Seems ideal for stag or hen parties on a budget just looking for somewhere to sleep.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was very small and decor dated. No car parking. Had to use the NCP a few streets away which is a pain if you carry a lot of luggage.

    Staff member on reception was pleasant enough and location was pretty central for everything.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    10
    I stayed at the Belgrave last year, and would certainly do so again - warmly recommended!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A bedside table might have been useful - but that is only a minor criticism, as the hotel was such good value.

    Very helpful staff, and excellent location - just a few minutes' walk from the railway station. I had a very comfortable stay, and it was useful to be able to leave my luggage as I was visiting the Zoo for Adopters' Day and needed to catch the train immediately afterwards.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    5.8
    Only stayed in room to sleep, place needs a complete refurb and maintenance man required.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Heating that could be controlled, I was given a pair of pliers to fix it !! New mattress with good springs. Shower head that could be fixed in one place. Window catch repaired, so it could be closed. Non working electric sockets.

    Location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    3.3
    My bed side unit was all sticky and not wiped clean upon...
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My bed side unit was all sticky and not wiped clean upon arrival.. Shower lacks any cleaning ability ie:power, heat, presentation 0.. Beds so basic makes a hostel look super!very friendly lady and young son I think Luke.. Gentleman spoke to day before arrival about payment taken was Snotty as HELL!!!!! WHY?! First rule dealing general public is.... Customer /guest Always right!!! Want future custom/business Learn this!!!! NO WONDER PAYMENT TAKEN BEFORE HAND, I'D IMAGINE DUE TO DAILY STRUGGLES TO PAY STAFF, AS NEVER FULLY BOOKED, BEING IN THE CONDITION IT WAS IN. NO TOILETRIES TO USE IN ROOM.. STRANGE WE FOUND ALSO.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    7.1
    Great location, good price but faulty shower made it extremely disappointing overall
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was freezing cold as radiators didn’t work (although there was a small heater provided which we had to leave on all night to try get warmth) room was at top of house, too bright as blinds didn’t stay down. Biggest gripe was that shower didn’t work.

    Great location, reasonable price, right by station plus short walk into city centre.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    8.3
    Great budget hotel
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There's no lift. The shower cubicle is the smallest I've ever seen.

    Close to the station, great value, within walking distance of Chester city centre. Staff helpful and friendly, room clean.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    9.2
    Very enjoyable but could be even better with a few minor tweaks here and there.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The central heating seemed to be on permanently, which aggravated an existing skin condition. I thought I'd managed to turn off the radiators but both were still pumping out heat most of the day. While I appreciate I booked a single room, my allocated accommodation was a little too bijou and compact, and as I'm 6'2", the space in which the bed was positioned didn't allow me much legroom. I have stayed here mostly at this time of the year and have had larger rooms, though I appreciate rooms are allocated in accordance with availability and demand. One further niggle, and it's only a minor one, is that the hotel bar was still "closed for refurbishment", much as it was at the same time last year, though on some of my earlier stays when it was up and running, it was an enjoyable and quiet place for a nightcap. . And finally..........if I stay at the Belgrave again, and in all likelihood I shall, it would be nice to have a shelf or a rack in the shower for shampoo/shower gel. Just a thought..........

    Proximity to the railway station and bus stop for travelling into Chester city centre. Friendly and obliging staff. This was possibly my sixth or seventh stay at this hotel - I wouldn't be a repeat customer if the hotel didn't meet with my approval in any way.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    6.3
    A good place to stop if you're on a budget. Staff polite. Close to Train Station and City Centre
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had a radiator leak which should have been spotted a lot earlier as it started to smell the room of damp. The place is very outdated and seriously need to upgrade as they are in a prime location. Disable access is zero and I personally had problems walking up to the 2nd floor. Our bed was very uncomfortable. I often awoke with the spings from the matteress sticking into my hip bones and certainly was painful in the morning.

    Staff where friendly and approachable. Problem with room sorted quickly (had to change room!). Right next to Train station and only moments walk away from City Centre.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    5.8
    Irrespective of price this was well below the standard expected by humans staying at the hotel.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was very poor... the hot water wasn't and the bathroom light didn't. The heating was stuck on minimal and I had to ask for extra blankets. I was provided with two extra manky quilts with no covers. The window was 'covered' by a poorly fitted roller blind that did nothing to stop the blinding of the street light directly outside. I had to make one of the blankets into a makeshift curtain. There was no headboard and the walls were artexed. Nice. Oh... and no corridor lights leading to the room. The toilets were out of order too near the reception. Overall it wasn't worth even the competitive price of £35.

    Location was the main redeeming feature though the staff were accommodating and friendly.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    8.8
    Excellent value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 Bedroom Apartment with Kitchenette and Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was all good

    Massive apartment for 6 people with a mini kitchen, large bathroom with shower. Old fashioned and a bit 'chintzy' but we loved it. Just a short walk to Chester centre, free parking outside 5pm to 9am and a car park across the road for £7 for 24 hours to use outside of these times. Free nice coffee at reception. We logged into the wifi for the hotel next door as it was a strong connection and no password required.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    5.4
    Poor hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was very annoyed to hear that wen we got to hotel to pay ad it was pay on arrival they had taken the whole payment out of my card account without me knowing. This was a pay on arrival I thought .

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    7.1
    The room was comfortable, a little dated , but it was quiet...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower was in need of an update

    The room was comfortable, a little dated , but it was quiet and had tea and coffee. It was a cheap rate and the room reflected the amount I paid

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    6.3
    Bare-bones and somewhat uncomfortable, but close to the station.
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The shower, which had no mounted tap or curtain, was either scalding or freezing. Breakfast was meagre. There was a nauseating wall-mounted fragrance dispenser in the room. Wi-fi was very spotty. Otherwise my stay was perfectly pleasant.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    9.6
    Perfect for a visit to Chester centre
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    residents need to leave their key at reception every time they leave the hotel

    The hotel was warm , had everything I needed and it all worked fine , it was close to where I was working and I got parked right at the door

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    5.8
    Bag storage would have been free if the hotel hadn't...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    You couldn't take your key out of the hotel so you had to wait at reception for somebody to arrive every time you wanted to get something out of your room. There was a very limited amout of local tourist information at the property (though a fair amount for attractions a few tens of miles away - but thought this was unusual for a hotel without a car park next to a train station where people would probably be staying in the city centre).

    Bag storage would have been free if the hotel hadn't been closing for Christmas on the day I checked out. It was very easy walking distance from the train station and also not too far from the city centre.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2017

    7.1
    Generally pleasant, except for room on the third floor. OK for those with a small bag.
    • Couple
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Double bed too small. No shower over bath. An extendable shower head would hv helped. Wifi in room poor. Room on the third floor for a 60+ adult with heavy luggage and no lift available, was a 'killer'. Was first shown to a room only suitable as a single. Finally got something more akin to a double.

    Convenient to station and city centre. Helen, on the evening shift, was most attentive, and did all she could to sort out the intitial problems. She even helped us up with our heavy luggage.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2017

    4.2
    Uncomfortable
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was bitterly cold, I needed to use my own sleeping bag beneath the bedding to keep warm in bed During a five night stay there was no towel change, after the third night I placed towels on the bathroom floor and upon my evening return the same towels had been placed on radiator The window covering was inadequate and not functional

    Good location

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2017

    5.8
    Very basic hotel depends on what you expect i would stop somewhere else
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having to hump 2 heavy suitcase up and down 2 long stairs.The decor needs to be up graded, room looked very tired no way to turn lights off from the side of the bed small shower and toilet room sink was inside room so when you need to wash your hands you had to come into the bedroom so everybody who used the room had not wash their hands before handling the door handle or other parts not good i

    Location to station

    Stayed in December 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: