Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Belgrave House 4 stars

Y Prom/marine Terrace, Aberystwyth, SY23 2AZ, United Kingdom

#19 of 20 B&Bs and Inns in Aberystwyth

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 464 hotel reviews

7.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.7

  • Comfort

    7.2

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    6.9

  • Staff

    8.2

  • Value for money

    7

  • Free WiFi

    7.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    9.6
    Very pleasant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast room a little tight on space, I might have chosen different furniture, and definitely nixed the slate place mats, which are noisy if anything knocks against them. But that would be nit-picking, for sure. It was fine.

    Friendly, obliging staff. Pleasant decor, roomy enough bathroom with good hot showers, and plentiful towels. Nice soaps/gels in bath. Nice selection of beverages in room. Also courtesy waters. Good fresh breakfast. Although the room wasn't sea view, the little lounge was, and it was nice to sip a glass of wine and watch the sun go down.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    8.5
    Very adequate for a one night stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My fault not theirs .... but no sea view. ANY view would have been nice!

    Help to carry small case up and down the stairs. A. Good supply of tea/coffee/ sugar/ biscuits ... AND a bottle of water. Extra stair down to breakfast basement , no problem for me but it might be for other older people ... BUT a very bright cheerful breakfast room. Pleasant choice of fruit, yoghurts and, of course, cooked breakfast. Very central location. Single room booked but. ,in, fact , I was given a small double on first floor.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    6.3
    It’s was just an okay place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was tired. For tight. Right next to kitchen and tables. People walking past can see into the room as you open the door. Really in need of a refurbishment. So expensive for what you get.

    The location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    10
    Excellent one night stay with two days on the beach as the weather was 30 degrees!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    parking could be a problem as no car park and on street parking limited but you can park 6pm-9am for free which worked for us

    we actually stayed at their sister hotel The four seasons so my review is based on there. Great extra large bed

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    6.7
    Reasonable guest house not a hotel. Overly priced for the type of service being offered.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There were no soap or shower toiletries put out in the bathroom area. There was no milk laid out for the complementary coffee making facilities in the bedroom. This would have been ok, if staff was available after 8:30pm and it was obvious that staff were not going to be around after that time! There were very little information provide in the bedrooms on who it contact and information generally about the hotel and the sister hotel that actually runs this hotel! There was also a KFC milkshake cup lying behind a the behind the bed, which hadn't been cleaned from last use, suggesting that management of the hotel is not very good. This is actually a hotel treated more like a hostel/guest house.

    The location of the hotel was convenient and the staff were definitely helpful

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    6.3
    Great location right on the front so got great views in the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sadly my room had damp in the ceiling and walls and the aerial cable socket was falling off the wall so affected the aerial. I had a double room as wanted a bigger bed but think I’d trip over the other person if 2 of us were in there! Bathroom very small and weird sliding door. Shower pressure wasn’t great and took a while to get hot water. I was on the 2nd floor in room 5 and good job I could get up the stairs.

    Great location right on the front so got great views in the morning, fabulous restaurants and chippy locally and the cutest cinema. The breakfast was good and the chef was really friendly. The room was clean and the bed comfy. Glad for the kettle and hairdryer!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    4.2
    Very small double room !!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very small to be called double room. The bed needs new head board, new upholstery chair, although not much room for a chair either !!! The carpet needs a good clean and the sliding door to the bathroom also needs new rails.

    The shower was very good and the breakfast was also very nice.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    7.1
    Lovely position
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was small and the en suite was tiny. Breakfast was ok, what there was was well cooked , however there was not a lot of it e.g no baked beans, mushrooms, hash browns or fried bread. There were only tinned tomatoes and no fresh tomatoes and I just felt they could have offered a bit more for the money.

    The bed was comfortable and the view of the bay was great. There was a range of teas and coffees in the room+ biscuits The staff were friendly and helpful

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    7.5
    Managed for 2 nights in cramped room, would not want to stay for a week.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tiny room, too small to walk round bed. Spiral staircase, 3 floors up from breakfast room, small car park may not be adequate at busy times. 5 mins walk from hotel.

    Friendly staff, freshly cooked breakfast. Clean room & linen.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    6.3
    The only member of staff we met on reception, was very...
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom too teeny tiny . Car parking nightmare. Having been lead to believe we could park near by, in actual fact we ended up getting on for a mile away . Having booked for breakfast , arrived back 9.00 pm to be given note (photo below ) saying cook, was ill, so would need to go to hotel 150 yards away .

    The only member of staff we met on reception, was very helpful. Lovely position overlooking the beach . Room fine, and fully stocked with tea coffee, hot chocolate and biscuits

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    7.1
    Over all enjoyed stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bathroom small and plumbing smell in morning.TV not able to get BBC . A.member of staff unable to put right. breakfast staff a little slapdash.

    Bed comfortable. Room large enough . View excellent .

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    9.2
    Fantastic sun sea and a very warm welcome.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only added extra would have been if the property had a bar. But otherwise excellent.

    Versatile convenient and well suited for two frail elderly people. Staff accomodated request for accessible room on ground floor. Ideal location for beach and town centre. clean and comfortable with lovely staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    5.0
    Disappointing for money spent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Website suggests a spacious room with a view over ocean.Our room was at the back of the building with a view of a derelict Rubbish filled alleyway. Bed was better as a single than for two persons. A noisy boiler in the bathroom kept us awake through the night. Very poor value for money, no wonder air bnb is doing so well

    Mary on reception was friendly, helpful and without her our review would be a lot worse. She was friendly,helpful and very knowledgeable. A true hero and asset to hotel

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    7.5
    Enjoyable but could be better.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    - No parking space. - Staff could have been slightly more welcoming (The friendliest staff member was a janitor. She was very friendly and helpful. The other staff members were not so much.)

    - Spaciousness of the room. - Location of the hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    4.6
    It's a shame. But wouldn't stay there again or any of his 'sister' hotels. The owner a greedy man.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The owner! He is rude and unprofessional. The hotel is very tired and needs a make over. Breakfast was OK but again, unprofessional in service.

    Mary...the amazingly wonderful receptionist...

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    5.4
    Very expensive uncomfortable night
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Got parking fine after being told by the lady on the desk to park there so no proper parking room very small large bathroom shower mixer rotten windows and junk yard view boiler in bedroom constantly blowing hot air into the room very hot and uncomfortable loud noise springs sticking up in the bed

    By the beach

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    8.3
    Would definitely go again , one nights stay is far too short
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tap on washing basin loose , room 2 seamed a bit small for double but cosy and compact

    Breakfast great! Staff helpful and friendly ,nice sea view with wifi and five minutes to town shops, and a nice shower to start your day

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    9.6
    Satisfied customer
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Needs a refrigerator. ..we were traveling and carrying fresh food. They did , however, store our fresh meat. :)

    Right on the sea. Great view and location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    8.3
    Relaxing and comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    T.V. rather small for such a large room

    Room was airy with good views of seafront Staff helpfull and polite Very adequate room fascilities Hotel quiet and peaceful

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    10
    Really friendly place worth a visit
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was close to everything especially the train station which is great if you’re coming by train, everyone was really nice and friendly- a lovely place to stay !

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    3.8
    Fawlty Towers without the humour.
    • Business trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had paid for breakfast, but there was noone there to take our instructions when we went back to reception as advised. We had a crisis in the evening, then discovered we were the only people in the whole place, not even a staff member on site. When we finally tracked someone down in another hotel, they said they couldn't contact the manager as he was away having dinner with his wife. I am Autistic and was relying on a carer who resorted to contacting the local police service due to concerns about security and crisis procedures. We had been locked out of our room during a crisis related to my Autism and waited over an hour for someone to help us. We had also been given a 2nd floor room, despite the fact that all other rooms were vacant, and the bathroom was barely large enough to get into. I had one hip touching the basin and the other touching the heated towel rail when I went to sit on the toilet. I could have been burned! Absolutely disgraceful and no consideration given to the distress caused. For £95, I think that is absolutely appalling 'service'. I would rather stay with the YHA. How can I obtain a refund, as the only person we saw said she didn't have the authority, and the person who did was unavailable.

    We only had to stay 1 night. The sea view. Nothing else.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    7.5
    Great seafront view.
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom drain was blocked, plumber didn't turn up so that was disappointing. Smell of smoking in the hotel in the evenings

    Excellent stuff Mary and Rechael particularly were so pleasant. They couldn't do enough for us.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    10
    If you like breathtaking scenery, great facilities and the best sunsets then head to Belgrave House.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The stay was too short and we'll have to drive over again from Cromer in Norfolk, a tidy 8hr 30mins with a couple of leg breaks. Worth it though.

    The casual self-service approach to breakfast was wonderful, no nonsense or pressure. The food available was very tasty, especially the bacon and mushrooms. The views from room 1 made the stay truly memorable, two sunsets out of three possibles = magical. Don't delay get booking.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    8.8
    Comfy bed, nice furnishings.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower pressure not great and kept turning from hot too cold but otherwise all good!

    Comfy bed, nice furnishings. Space for our dog outside the room although he preferred to sleep under our bed! Small room but everything available.Able to eat breakfast in the lounge so that the dog could be with us.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    10
    A perfect break
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing at all

    It was a perfect break for me and my son .very friendly very comfortable excellent location and a excellent breakfast I would recommend to anybody to stay here overall excellent

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    6.7
    Such lovely reception staff.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room 8 very drafty. Window shook all night with the strong wind. Making it impossible to sleep. Breakfast too basic. No fresh fruit. No porridge. No fresh coffee only instant. The tv in the room did not have a very good signal. Tv was intermittent so you couldn't watch it.

    Such lovely reception staff. Nice sea view. Great location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    6.3
    Lovely staff but disappointing room
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room itself was very cold when we arrived, which was a pain as our two young children were really tired. The television in the room didn’t work at all and the internet was poor so what was a small room for 4 people felt even smaller without any entertainment. There were no robes as described and the towels were ripped at the edges. Scaffolding spoilt the view. We had to wash baby bottles in a tiny bathroom sink- this room shouldn’t have been advertised/sold as appropriate to a family with such young children. Also, the room you eat breakfast in was freezing. A real disappointment for our first family holiday :(

    The receptionist was very warm and accommodating - really tried to help with some of the problems we had - although she couldn’t resolve the issues, she brought a bar of Chocolate for my daughter to apologise. Lovely of her but some sort of discount from the owner would have been preferred. The breakfast was well cooked

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    10
    Home from home it's like we belong there
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We don't like going home 😁

    Love the whole stay it's a great place and run by our favourite no1 receptionist Mary who always goes above and beyond to make us feel comfortable Thank you Mary x

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    3.8
    For £86.00 the room was shabby, massive carpet stains, windows filthy, though the shower area was o.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were booked in the Belgrave House, which had sea views. Whilst traveling down, received a phone call, saying they had issues with rooms. Basically we stayed in a different hotel, no sea view. A phone call or a even complimentary drink would have been nice for the inconvenience caused. Soon as we arrived we were asked for payment, nothing mentioned about the inconvenience. Pretty shabby really.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    8.8
    Really enjoyed it, will call again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff were extremely efficient and very cheerful and helpful. Location is great - on the sea front. Only a short walk to an excellent Italian restaurant

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    8.8
    Ideal for putting your head down for the night....ideal location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room could of been a bit cleaner.....dust on mirrors shelves and skirting.....small bar of soap found on floor by toilet cistern.....and a more openable window to allow airflow would of been nice

    Staff reall friendly and helpful.....location is perfect....watching the starlings arrive for the evening was the highlight

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    8.8
    Very cosy b & b in an excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was ok but a bit greasy.

    Location was perfect - ideal for town, pubs & restaurants & right next to the sea. Our room was spacious, comfy, relaxing & quiet. It was a very nice b & b.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    8.8
    Staff really nice and room nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only thing was I did ask for sea view room was told on Booking.com one available when got there it wasn’t a sea view but still a lovely room

    Bed was comfy

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    7.9
    Great location and views;
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room 8 was the tiniest room I have ever stayed in, low ceiling, never able to stand straight. No space to sit on the loo unless nearly doubled over because of lack of headspace, no space in shower cubicle to use the shower safely. Room 8 fit for purpose only for smaller, very agile people -- I am 6'2"

    Great location and views; clean; comfortable bed; ample coffee/sugar etc. in room kit.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    7.9
    Nice warm welcome Clean room well furnished
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was clean with nice furnishings however the plaster was coming off one of the bedroom walls Would have liked a sea view 😔

    The lady on reception was lovely The ladies on breakfast were great

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    5.0
    Nice stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast room very small and would of liked the breakfast ti be cooked to order. Also had informed them we would be paying cash on arrival and transaction was made on our card the morning of our stay without a message informing us.

    The room was lovely, seaview which was nice. Stayed on a very windy night which you could hear but did not bother us

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    7.5
    Good value for money for short stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Stayed at the single room which was at the top floor. Very poor wifi signal there.

    Excellent location. Very close to bus/rail stations. The breakfast was lovely in a cosy room. The room itself was very clean and tidy. The matress was bit too soft for my liking but that is just my personal opinion. No other issues with the room. For a 1-night stay it was lovely!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    10
    Helpful and welcoming lady at the reception.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, everything was ok

    Helpful and welcoming lady at the reception. Superb location and beautiful views from our room. Comfortable bed and neat room. Would go back again

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    8.3
    Great location, comfortable room, lovely stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast room was a little cramped. Our room had noticeable damage to the ceiling and walls, but it didn't affect our experience overall, could just use a bit of tlc.

    The bed was comfortable and the view was great. The room had everything we needed and was clean. The breakfast was also good.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    7.5
    loved the buffet breakfast I didnt actually stay at...
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking was a nightmare

    loved the buffet breakfast I didnt actually stay at Belgrave I was moved to Four Seasons due to a leak but got a free upgrade so very happy

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    5.8
    Fair although grateful for a good nights sleep. Receptionist great!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Stairway was a bit 'boarding house' dinghy - mainly because of the fire regulation Breakfast had been standing under heat lamps for too long

    Bed was quite comfortable Room was warm To be fair, it was last room available at top of house View was out to sea, but fairly small attic window I had a good nights sleep This applies to the Queensbridge Hotel, sister hotel to the Belgrave where I was originally booked but they had a roof problem. At least they found me a bed for the night.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    10
    Sea views and a lovely welcome
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking may be more difficult in season.

    We had an attic room with several beds and my son loved having his own space behind the dividing wall. Very comfortable and far exceeded my expectations

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2018

    9.6
    Really pleasant hotel!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only one thing was that I couldn't find any staff at breakfast time so didn't get any tea or toast with mine. Luckily there was some juice out and tea in my room so I didn't mind too much!

    The staff were really friendly and made me feel very welcome. The room was lovely and clean and I loved that I had a bath in my room! Really good coffee and tea facilities and the breakfast was nice with good choices :) bed comfy! Room was nice and warm. Thanks for a pleasant stay :)

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    10
    Good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was told breakfast was at 7am when I found the breakfast room a note on door said 8am on Saturday. No one around to ask so I had to leave without eating. Disappointed.

    Good location. Nice bedroom, good bathroom. Pleasent reception. Facilities in room very good.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    10
    Was amazing will be back in the new year as I go to aberwystwyth in my weekends as a treat
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having to go home

    Room was compact and Beaujolais very nice lovely sea view anthony lee loved it very much usually we stay at the gwesty cymru but now I know they have competition , really nice breakfast sausages were meaty and welsh yoghurt sellection,, diolch ❤️

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    7.1
    I would stay there again but would request the one and only room on the ground floor.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The mattress was really hard :( , and it's a shame there is no lift due to the age of the property and nowhere to situate it , so I found the stairs hard going.

    the cooked breakfast far exceeded my expectations , it was perfectly cooked and perfectly presented along with being very tasty indeed, also the young female cook was very friendly and helpful. It certainly was filling .

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    7.1
    Basic
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No hot water to have a bath!! Mirror hanging off wall, light in mirror faulty. Think rooms should be checked and make sure things work before hiring out rooms

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    8.8
    Great customer service, and the addition of hot chocolate...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My only critique would be that the double room I stayed in was a little on the small side, it may have been cramped with 2 people staying in it, but for just me it was absolutely fine!!

    Great customer service, and the addition of hot chocolate and biscuits in the room was a treat!!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    6.7
    Won’t be staying there again
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The height of the room had to stoop. The gaps around the door. The banging on the windows. The shower light not working and the water pressure was bad. Bed put in front of radiator. Putting an OAP on the third floor with no lift.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    10
    A really good experience and an excellent price too.
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Work being done on front of hotel, and opened curtains in morning and builders were on balcony outside the room.

    Staff and owner so helpful and pleasant, good breakfast. Fantastic view - 30m from sea across the road and it was a very windy night and the breakers were so impressive.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    8.3
    Fab birthday treat
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Radiators came on certain time evening and morning had no control to turn down low or off

    Excellent location on front and near all shops Loads of teas coffees bottle water

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    10
    Happy at the Belgrave
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can't think of anything. It was superb,

    Very nice bedroom overlooking the sea. All the facilities one would expect and bottled water was a bonus. Very good cooked breakfast

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    8.3
    Lovely location, nice room but some aspects let it down
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I had a single room which was right at the top, I think this is why the wifi signal was very weak and sometimes dropped out completely, a repeater is needed so those on the top floor can use wifi. Light in bathroom didn't work - this was replaced by my 2nd night but it stopped working again. Maybe invest in LEDs so they don't burn out so quickly? Also radiator TRV had fallen off so it was either full on (very hot) or off, hard to regulate room temperature. Breakfast was ok, bacon great, dodgy "sausages", no eggs. Single glazing so cold when it was windy.

    Lovely location right on the sea front, not far to walk to restaurants, rooms clean, nice décor, good price. Also with ensuite bathroom and accepts credit cards - both essential when travelling for work and some others in Aberystwyth don't have/do one or the other.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    6.7
    was good lady on reception went to the trouble to get the heating on for me after getting soaked
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could do with more fruit only grapefruit and prunes I like bigger choice as I dnt always have full English which I didn't have one on the departure day good selection of cerial could have done with weetabix

    We liked the fact the breakfast was self service and you could have as much or as little as you wanted good selection of yoghurts

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    7.9
    Overall happy to be there but some concerns, Please note no parking is provided
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    View was marred by heavy scaffolding ( we should have been warned of this). very few staff around. At times the place seemed deserted. Room was extremely cramped with tiny shower/loo almost impossible to get in and close sliding door!

    Location is everything! Staff were co operative and pleasant.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    7.9
    Very friendly staff and lovely breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wi fi signal was not very good, the handle came off on the bottom draw and the light in the bathroom broke.

    It had a view of the sea from my window

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    6.3
    Moral of the story, this is an ok budget bed and breakfast, but don't stay in room 6.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was very oddly proportioned, with a bathroom almost bigger than the bedroom (which was very cramped). The boiler was very noisy and was by the wall between the bathroom and the bedroom. It was the boiler for the whole floor, so we couldn't turn it off (both hot water and heating - so randomly came on through the night depending on who switched on a hot tap), and besides the actual hum of the pumps etc, it made some terrible loud vibrations when the taps were turned off after heating. Similarly poor then, was the mattress for the bed. It was so uncomfortable that I genuinely don't think I've ever had a worse nights sleep, and my wife agrees. It was a cheap pocket sprung mattress which was so thin that when I laid on it, i compressed the whole thing nearly flat to the bed base. I'm not a featherweight by any means at 16st, but I've never slept on a mattress so uncomfortable. This is not to mention the fact that the springs clunked and boinged every time either my wife or I moved in the night, waking the other up. Or the fact that the top of the mattress was so thin that I could feel each individual spring poking me in the back. Last thing to note was that the smell from the breakfast cooking filtered up through the entire building from the lower ground floor breakfast room. Now this might be great for some people, but the smell of burned/smoking cooking oil is not as pleasant as the taste of the food that's being cooked. Besides this, the room itself was well provisioned. Sadly though, not enough to distract from the obvious failings of the design of this room. We had friends staying in this place with us, and having looked at their rooms, we are certain that we drew the short straw. I can't comment on their mattresses, but the rooms themselves made much more sense. Moral of the story, don't stay in room 6.

    Breakfast was excellent - A full buffet cooked and continental breakfast with fresh coffee. Location was very convenient as well. Price was reasonable, but it was clear to see why it was cheap once we had stayed there.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    7.9
    Value for money in a nice place.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    'Free parking' meant at another hotel a couple of streets away. Breakfast wasn't very impressive and the shower was difficult to master.

    Location excellent. Room was very nice and spacious but it was up 3 flights of stairs- was a real work out just getting tto the room.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    3.8
    Sleepless due too wind howling through windows an blowing doors causing constant banging.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Felt abit mis-sold with the room because all rooms on booking.com site where spacious and modern, we ended up in a box room with windows that wouldnt shut properly so wasn't ideal for middle of November.

    Tbh only thing that was nice was our bathroom.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    7.1
    Sorry to say I was rather disappointed with Belgrave House especially as it had good reviews.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No lift so we we had to change rooms to one in the basement as my husband could not cope with the narrow, steep staircase to the third floor. The facilities were good but the room was very small with a struggle to walk around the end of the bed and the television on the wall. The breakfast room was also small and crowded and the breakfast mediocre. The parking facility was not available due to building work.

    Location was excellent - on the promenade. Staff friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    7.9
    Value for money, but could be better housekeeping
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They cleaned our room only on the first day, did not even come in for the remainder of the stay (4 nights total), to replenish tea/coffee or change sheets/towels. When I mentioned this to the Reception lady, she apologised and nothing was done about it. (Room was right in front of the main door & reception). Electric portable heater in the room was missing one ‘leg’, had to prop it up from the carpet floor with a door stop. Very noisy in the morning with the staff moving things around. Breakfast times are very limited, they close 9:30am.

    Close to the beach and amenities in Aberystwyth. Good value for money. Room had a very nice view to the ocean Very nice breakfast The room was very small, but very cosy. Staff were very nice as well

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    9.6
    Easy ,relaxing and value for money accomodation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Picture windows would benefit from lower portion being screened by net curtains to prevent being seen by passers-by.

    Huge comfy bed. Great location. Good wi-fi reception.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    5.8
    Interesting
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Changed our booking and had to share in a family room, room was ok except for very low headroom especially in the bathroom room 9 at the very top of the hotel

    On the seafront

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    9.2
    The cooked breakfast every day were excellent and vegetarian...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking outside the property was rather hit and miss. If you were lucky you found a space but I had to drive around for half an hour one evening to locate a space.

    The cooked breakfast every day were excellent and vegetarian sausages were provided despite y forgetting yo request them in advance.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    4.6
    Poor value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor value for money.This is not a hotel but a basic B&B. Shower thermostat NOT working- scalding water pushed out. Unknown man knocking on bedroom doors at 3:50am 5.11.17 asking for ‘Josh’ Where is hotel security implementation? Breakfast room in the basement - window below pavement level. Bedroom windows dirty, beach view obscured by scaffolding. Needed to use the additional electric heater in the room. This is not a boutique hotel as it’s own publicity says.....

    Location

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    6.7
    Fine
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stated on booking email free parking. That was on the road outside! After 9am you had 1 hour. Managed to find parking beyond the pier a few minutes walk away. Apart from that hotel beds comfy. Breakfast good. Would go again

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    7.9
    Enjoyed the break, would go again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed squeaked with every movement, but it was only for one night and as I had tired myself out and was exhausted it was only annoying until I fell asleep.

    Thoroughly enjoyed watching this waves break on the shore from my bedroom window, the hotel is situated in the middle of the beach front so had a wonderful view. The breakfast was included in the price and the range of items were impressive and tasty.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    7.5
    Parking poor although there was street parking was confusing...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking poor although there was street parking was confusing on where and how long you could stay. The girl on reception could not give us helful advice so although we enjoyed hotel would not stay again because of parking.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    7.5
    Basic, but decent value for money in nice location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's a bit cramped, with hardly room to stand in the bathroom, but just about adequate for my needs. No veggie option for cooked breakfast. Room was noisy on a blustery day, but I still slept well.

    Great location and helpful, pleasant staff. Good view of the seafront from my room. Decent breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    4.6
    Dissapointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We booked a family room with a sea view. What we got was a very cramped attic room (room 7) with a tiny sea view window, dirty toilet and rubbish on the floor. We didn't stay, and requested a refund. We were offered a room at a sister hotel (four seasons), which we agreed to view. It was much better so decided to stay there. Belgrave House was advertised as having parking on first come first serve basis, which consists of street parking outside the property for 1 hour.

    The lady on reception was very professional and courteous.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    7.1
    Good stay, clean rooms, lovely staff.
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Radiator wasn't working so a small heater was in the room but couldn't put it on because it kept sparking when switched on. Very little toilet roll had to use own tissue.

    Lovely staff, clean room, lovely breakfast, nice sized room for one person.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    4.2
    It suited the purpose but would not stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The self service breakfast was ok but the room was a bit cramped to enjoy it. The staff were not very 'clean' looking and it looked as though they had just fallen out of bed!

    The position of the accommodation suited us fine.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    4.2
    Unsatisfactory!!!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Toilet was dirty, shower was too small, no official parking, breakfast was dry and not nice, window catch broken so window held shut with folded magazine. No heater controls so couldn’t adjust temperature of heater.

    Leaving the following morning.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    2.5
    Disgusted
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything

    After spending few hours driving and over 100 miles we arrived at ty Belgrave house to be told they didn't have our booking via booking. Com the receptionist called manager who arrived few moments later was very rude lied saying they had no Internet to get our booking then asked us to email a copy of booking via email he claimed he was fully booked and wouldn't allow rooms for price of 59 pound which we got from booking. Com only excepts 95 pound a room we showed him our confirmed booking he continued to be rude and raise his voice then tyred to send us to one of his other hotels near expect us to pay nearly 45 more which was a disgrace not ruined our wend as it was our anniversary ended up driving bk home later to find out this man has bin convicted of similar things and we r disgusted that all booking sites still have this man's hotels on said sites when he treats people this way to obtain extra money for rooms purchased threw ur websites

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    8.8
    Good budget hotel in a great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, great budget hotel

    Great location,our room had a sea view literally across the street, larger than double bed, good selection for breakfast, we didn’t use the hotel parking, we used the overnight park on queens street,just up the prom from the hotel £3.40 for 24 hours.

    Stayed in October 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: