Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Belgrave Hotel 3 stars

9-13 Clapham Road, Lambeth, London, SW9 0JD, United Kingdom

#842 of 1,029 hotels in London

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1522 hotel reviews

7.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    6.9

  • Comfort

    6.5

  • Location

    7.8

  • Facilities

    6.4

  • Staff

    7.6

  • Value for money

    6.8

  • Free WiFi

    7.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2018

    7.5
    Good value for money
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was hot (I've had this issue before) which I suppose is to be expected without air con

    It's a good location for me, and it's good value for money

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2018

    5.8
    You get what u pay for, it worked for location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was smelly and dirty! There were dead flies on the walls mould all in the shower and the toilet didn’t work properly The beds were far too soft, the curtains didn’t fit the windows

    The convience of location to subway

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2018

    6.7
    Efficient friendly staff, location (2 mins from Oval tube...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room in need of refurbishment. Broken lights. Shower door replaced by curtain that didn't quite work. Ground floor room right over the northern line (so noisy)

    Efficient friendly staff, location (2 mins from Oval tube station)

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2018

    5.4
    Tiny car park which cost extra £15
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room wasn’t clean (marks on the door frame and ceiling from the drink or something dark) Flashing light in bathroom Tiny car park which cost extra £15

    Tiny car park which cost extra £15 Friendly and nice staff

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2018

    4.6
    Poor facilities good staff
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor décor, poor cleanliness, broken and worn furniture, poor lighting, broken light fittings, dusty curtains, noisy room, room smelled of smoke

    Staff were helpful

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2018

    8.8
    Good place for a short break
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was in a cramped room.

    The location is excellent and it is off the main road so it was quiet. The room was comfortable and I slept well there. The staff were friendly. Breakfast was OK; there was nutella. Easy to come and go as you please with a 24-hour desk.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2018

    7.1
    good hotel with great access to central london
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights

    breakfast needs to be improved, the croissants were the worst I ever had in my life. you can buy fresh decent pastry for less than a pound in supermarkets, they can surely do better

    well connected hotel, 2 minutes from Oval tube station. clean rooms, along the main road but still silent. helpful and friendly staff. beds were good, bathrooms clean.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2018

    3.3
    Never again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception told us wrong time for breakfast so we were kicked out after only having a bread roll. Bed really I comfy. Dirty tool, barely flushable toilet, and extremely hot. Barely slept.

    Kitchen staff were lovely

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2018

    8.3
    A convenient location to access the tube station. Friendly and helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We felt that the car park could have been a bit better, perhaps an even surface. For the price we paid to park we felt this was a bit high, however it was secure and we felt happy enough with the security to stay parked there while we explored London a bit more.

    Clean room and bathroom. Convenient location, close to tube stations. Easy check in and out. Breakfast just enough to start the day.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2018

    3.8
    one of the worst I have stayed in
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor small rooms, furniture looking like from a hostel, broken window, all noise from planes flying far high can be heard like they are flying just out of your window, so you can imagine what your sleep feels like. That's because the window is wide open all night, they dont even bother to fix a simple lock!

    Nothing apart from the location

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    5.0
    Ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast room was too small, there were more people than tables. The breakfast was very basic. Not enough for the amount of people. Hotel just generally grubby and ran down

    Good shower

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    7.5
    It was adequate and you get what you pay for.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very small and it was very noisy at night so I had to close all the windows. The breakfast left something to be desired ie.stale croissants.

    The bedding and towels were very clean. The sanitary ware was clean but the walls etc needed a clean.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    7.1
    location was accessible to the US embassy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    booked for 2 people but when we checked in the receptionist said was only booked for 1 people. had to pay extra for my partner but booking.com gave a refund

    location was accessible to the US embassy. only a few minutes walk from the bus stop and only 1 bus ride from the embassy

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    8.8
    The staff working during the Night was very kind, humble,...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was average, with average rooms, reception etc. The cleaners might have forgotten to give us the refreshments along with the Toiletries (Toilet Paper majorly).

    The staff working during the Night was very kind, humble, and well spoken. He helped us with everything. He made this stay more welcoming. The rooms were nice, and perfect to stay for that price in the zone 2 nearly central.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    6.7
    convenient and adequate
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I arrived in the evening after a long train journey from Scotland and struggled to get through the door with my suitcases and bags, the receptionist just sat and watched, I felt he could have helped me, the morning receptionist was very friendly and helpful

    I was a little surprised at the aesthetics in the hotel, I felt they were below standard...dirty carpets and woodwork etc, my room was very basic however for what I paid it was ok. The room was clean and the breakfast perfectly adequate

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    4.6
    Location was fantastic
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was coffee stains all over the bedroom wall. There was only 1 extremely thin pillow. The shower head was so mildewed that water just spouted everywhere rather than down.

    Location was fantastic

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    5.0
    The location is close to the oval
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It obviously was subject to a reasonable refurbishment at one point however any maintenance repairs are shabby to say the least with significant stains on the carpet not helping. Room size was small. Hotel serves breakfast only in a lorry driver canteen style dining area. Seating outside is in a wasteland

    The location is close to the oval

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    5.0
    Comfy, clean and met expectations.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower needs a face-lift! Nothing we didn't like - good value for money.

    Comfy, clean and met expectations. Breakfast was basic but adequate. Location good for the Oval and underground.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    2.9
    I like that breakfast was added to the price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I notice that their was dirt around the toilet in my room. I had a poor and time consuming check-in experience.

    I like that breakfast was added to the price.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    6.3
    Location (very close to Oval station)
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tv remote control was not available in the room when I arrived, and new one provided by the employees did not worked well. Room could be more clean.

    Location (very close to Oval station)

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    3.8
    I will never came back!
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunatly it was the dirtyest hotel we ever stays. The bad was uncomfortably. The chairs from breakfast room was dirty. And the room has a bad smell. The furniture was very old.

    The position was near the bus and undergroud stations. The peoples ar nice and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2018

    7.9
    good value for money
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The sound proof is not the best so all the steps and alarm form the room above could be eard on my room

    The location is always imprtant, so this hotel is bang on, close to vauxhal train station

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    5.8
    The room was adequate for a night’s stopover but I wouldn’t pick this hotel for the £89 we paid.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was small and in poor condition especially the bathroom. The toilet didn’t flush properly and the shower doors didn’t open enough to get in comfortably. Breakfast was adequate and a bonus.

    Location suited us very well. Nice toiletries provided and tea and coffee facilities in room.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    3.8
    First & last time.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room looks better in pictures than in real life. There was a broken bedside light. The receptionist presented attitude towards my guests & was also time consuming. I booked both a double room & a single room & there was no difference in room/bed size except price.. I might as well got two single rooms.

    It was good that breakfast is included in the price.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    9.2
    Staff produced a cup of hot chocolate, when it wants in the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It would be nice to have a secure storage for luggage after check out, when you ned to go to places

    Staff produced a cup of hot chocolate, when it wants in the room. For the Oval its a very good location

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    4.2
    Disappointing experience
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was not clean. Dusty surfaces. Spider webs. Filthy carpets. Very badly maintained room. Very dirty lift. I felt like I was in an Ethiopian hotel! 3rd world! In addition, the breakfast selection was poor. No hot breakfast.

    Proximity to the city. Staff are polite.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    6.3
    All good overall.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Basic breakfast, nothing cooked. Bed not firm enough. Basic facilities top notch. Decor needs attention

    Friendly staff and helpful,surrounding facilities including underground station minutes away.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    6.3
    no towels on 1st night ; breakfast room too small not good for vegan; noisy
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    cleanliness substandard Son stood on carpet nails between bedroom and bathroom as carpet frayed badly no towels in my room on arrival . Very noisy but not hotel's fault just sirens going off during night when there can't have been cars about

    not a lot, just somewhere to sleep staff friendly but when made a complaint they didn't do much and the asked or 1st aid box they didn't know how to open it , luckily I did

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    9.2
    Great location, great price , great staff.
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    For the price I paid to get a Hotel in that part of London in comparison to other hotels its hard to really be negative - the only thing I would have liked would have been a cooked breakfast as opposed to only having a continental style breakfast.

    I had to travel to the US Embassy and the location and cost was ideal. The Hotel just a short walk from the Oval Tube Station which was great. The staff are all friendly and very helpful and the rooms had everything you need for a short stay such as mine.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    6.7
    For the price the hotel is probably acceptable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    1) Shower mixing valve defective, not easy to regulate the proper temperature. 2) I have not seen room service on the 2nd day of my 3 days stay.

    I liked the breakfast, only continental was seen though, a reasonable assortment of juices, fruit, breads and pastry, sweets, butter and coffee. The double sized bed was comfortable. Personnel was kind and helpful - I had my safe fixed immediately when I reported it.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    2.5
    Low flexibility
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I could not assess the hotel at all because finally I had to change plans due to important personal reasons, but due to high resistance in understanding of customer problems I can assess customer focus of decision makers in staff as very low. I will not select this hotel for stay in future.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    8.3
    Very reasonable for the price.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very reasonable for the price. The facilities were basic, but to be expected given the price, the room was clean which is most important. A good location only a short walk from the oval underground station. Staff were extremely friendly.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    2.5
    N/A Did not stay there arrived and refused to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything we were under sold the accommodation we chose to leave shortly afterwards. And wanted a refund

    N/A Did not stay there arrived and refused to stay

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    7.1
    good value for money
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    In very hot summer days definitely AC required for the room on top floors as very uncomfortable to sleep over the night. Evan an portable AC will do the job as the little fan on the room didn`t help at all

    The location is the main thing. close to the job and the tube station.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    3.8
    Avoid (in Summer)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small room, extremely hot with only a desk fan (no air con), tired furniture, no bar fridge, tv remotr didn't work, etc. Area didn't offer much/dining options.

    How quick we could book out. Not a staff issue, purely owner/management.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    7.1
    Location is excellent.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was there during the heatwave and the room was stiflingly hot. No A/C or even a fan. Windows were wide open but no air coming in at all. It was like sleeping in a sauna!

    Location is excellent. I had a interview at the US embassy and this was a convenient hotel for that. It is also very close to a tube station.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    8.3
    Comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Weather was particularly hot and are room seemed 10 degrees hotter than outside.

    Staff were really helpful and friendly - room was small but had everything we needed.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    6.7
    A handy base but we didn't want to spend any more time in the hotel than we had to.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The complete lack of adornment - both in the bedroom and breakfast room. Outside was particularly grim - like being on a building site. The couple of bits of seating in the bedroom were very worn.

    Location - good for Kennington Park.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    3.8
    Easy acces to touristic areas in london
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel was dirty ( wash rooms, sheets, windows, floor). Il was so hot and the fan was not working, the personnel does'nt do anything to help. The breakfest was terrible, cheese was melted, little peperoni all sweaty, apple juce was hot, dust all over cafe machine. Hated the experience. I don't recommande at all

    Easy acces to touristic areas in london

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    9.0
    The staff, the breakfast and everything was really good
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a really noise road. We asked them for an interior room to solve it and they did not allowed it

    The staff, the breakfast and everything was really good

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    7.9
    - Good standard.
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldn't lock/close the bthrm window.. Summer time needs a standing fan instead of a table fan.

    - Good standard.. - Public transport to varies local attractions can be easily reached. - Near to the US Ambassy as transport wise to n fro.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    3.8
    Everyday we did not want to return to sleep in that place. Very uncomfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds. No air conditioning.was no clean..Room very small. Facilities deteriorated. Very uncomfortable. Would not recommend it to any one.

    Breakfast was reasonable

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    5.8
    too hot in the room
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No air conditioner in our room, so was extremely hot. Lots of dust in the room and not enough available electric sockets.

    Really nice staff in reception, very helpful.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    3.3
    Don’t bother staying here!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Where to start...with the temperature high, there was no air con. The fan barely worked so it was a hot night. The windows barely opened to let any air into the room. On walking into the bathroom the broken bin lid was on the floor and the toilet roll holder fell off the wall. The shower dripped all night causing a small flood on the bathroom floor. The blind in the bathroom was covered in paint and the blind didn’t move. In the room the leather on the chairs was all ripped. We were so unimpressed we didn’t even dare go to breakfast; we just left as soon as we’d packed our bags. Wish I’d taken pictures! Next time, I’ll just get the train home or find a decent hotel :-(

    Only the location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    7.5
    Perfectly happy with hotel - cleanliness, staff, breakfast...
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Car park was very small and just a piece of rough ground at the back for which we paid £15 pd. Price was fine considering the parking limitations of the area but car park a little difficult to manoeuvre in

    Perfectly happy with hotel - cleanliness, staff, breakfast etc Would recommend

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    6.5
    Good but expected bigger room for the price
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    See above

    Room was a lot smaller than expected for price £95/nt approx but staff friendly and bed very comfy. Bathroom could have been cleaner and tiny TV. Good location for travel - underground Oval 2 minutes away.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    9.2
    All in all a good value hotel - ok for a night or two.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were excessively hot, and the fan provided was most definitely needed! The bathroom was like stepping into a sauna - but temp outside was 30 degrees.

    The staff were extremely helpful and parking was secure (though very limited). The rooms contained all necessities. Liked the ironing board and the hairdryer too. Good variety of breakfast items served in a small but cooler room.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    7.1
    Great location for the Oval and perfectly fine for a couple of nights.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I had meeting in London on Tuesday and Thursday and was at The Oval for the England vs Australia game on Wednesday, so this was a perfect place to spend a couple of nights. Great location for the Oval - and can thoroughly recommend the Fentiman Arms (five minute walk) for food (and a great quiz night!). Ok - so the rooms are not great and the outside breakfast area looked a little like Beirut, but the guys on reception were very friendly and the bed was comfy - the shower took some adjusting but was fine. I'd stay here again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    5.0
    Location is good as it is opposite the Oval station, which...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Facilities were poor with broken shower door, broken fan and it is very noisy

    Location is good as it is opposite the Oval station, which is convenience.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    7.5
    Came quickly to fix the safe that we couldn't open as...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioning Broken toilet buttons Shower door broken

    Came quickly to fix the safe that we couldn't open as the magnet wasn't working. Rooms were clean and breakfast was ok

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    3.8
    The Grotty Hotel Stay
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was quite a grubby room, it needed a very good clean, everywhere. My Grandsons feet were filthy black from walking on the carpet. The room wasn't cleaned when we went out the next day either, because they said ; "I'd placed the sign as "do not disturb", which I hadn't and as I'd left the room key in reception when I went out, it was no excuse not to try and find out if there was anyone in the room. So on my return, I went back to smelly nappies!!!!! Apart from 2 members of staff, the rest lacked enthusiasm. Breakfast staff looked miserable and no high chair for little one, but one staff member suggested propping him up on cushions!!! I asked for more pillows on first night and it took them ages to find 1 extra, which wasn't satisfactory because there were 3 of us in the room. In the outside area it was a mess, cracked windows and bottles of weedkiller left lying around, good job my 2 year old was on a harness, otherwise he would have picked that up! When I checked out, there wasn't much help getting me a taxi. Only tried one taxi firm to be told I had to wait 45 minutes and should have pre-booked it the day before. So I walked with 2 small children and our luggage to find a taxi myself, asking which way to go to find a black cab, I was told by the train station. Which one I enquired and the receptionist said down there!! Bearing in mind I'd never stayed in that part of London, I hadn't a clue!!! I'm surprised he just about helped me down the stairs with the pram and not even a goodbye or I hope you enjoyed your stay!!!!!!!!!!

    Not a lot!!!!! I would have taken photographs of the room, but I had my mobile phone stolen, at the hospital I was attending with my Grandson, to top it all !!!!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    5.0
    For the amount of time we spent in the room it was adequate but improvements could be made.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the room could have had air conditioning and more attention to details e.g. the curtains. There was also no extra pillows and the ones provided were also very thin.

    The bathroom wasn't particularly clean and the towel rail was broken. The extractor fan didnt work so the bathroom steamed up a lot. The room was very small. There was no air conditioning and all that was provided was a small fan. The curtains were coming off the rails, the runners were broken and the windows were very hard to open. the staff however were very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    6.7
    Well positioned budget hotel but don't expect too much.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was a definite odour of cigarette smoke in the room, and it was a no smoking bedroom. Curtains didn't slide open. There was a bath but it was made unusable - so only a shower. Breakfast not good - croissants stale, orange juice not mixed, poor choice of cold meat & cheese.

    In great position for The Oval cricket ground. Plus nice pub & restaurant across the road. Sound proofing of the windows very good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    6.7
    Good for a business overnight stay if you're going to The Oval.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The toilet didn't flush and the cystern was dripping all night which kept me awake. The room was very hot and I couldn't see any way to make it cooler. I did open the window. No napkins at breakfast.

    The location for The Oval was fantastic. The room was basic but OK for a night.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    8.3
    A good inexpensive hotel within minutes of the city centre, and convenient for us visiting family
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We have stayed in the hotel several times before which speaks for itself but we were very pleased that this time a fan was provided. The hotel is very hot which I find difficult and impossible to sleep. The corridrors and reception are very hot too.

    The hotel is in an excellent position, only a couple on minutes from the tube and you can be in the city centre within 20 minutes. The staff in the hotel are friendly and helpful the bed was very comfortable the towels were changed daily. A fan was provided to keep the room cool because it would have been far too hot without it. The fan made all the difference in the world. The continental breakfast was good with something for everyone and plenty of it.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    4.6
    OK for short stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast served from 07:30 which is to late for most business travellers. Noisey bedroom and unable to move. Dirty shower. Would not provide a receipt for the carpark as they only except cash to use this facility!!!!!!

    Good location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    3.3
    Avoid this hotel!
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dreadful hotel. Stayed at 15 hotels on the last month, this was the worst by a long way. Rude manager who has kept money he should have refunded. Avoid go to embankment plaza much better rooms, location, hotel and staff for the same money.

    Nothing

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    7.1
    Clean, comfy, convenient
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My main criticisms would be that the entrance is not wheelchair accessible at all, and that the bath/shower would be difficult to get in and out of for anyone with mobility issues. Also, as a safety suggestion, reception should avoid announcing a solo traveler's room during check-in when other guests are lingering in the lobby.

    Genuinely not bad! Comfortable and clean bed, bigger room than expected, shower with hot water and good pressure, functional TV, very close to the Oval Tube station, and across the street from the Brown Derby and other local spots. I've paid more in London for a lot less!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    5.0
    We requested as double room and got a twin, there is no...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We requested as double room and got a twin, there is no cooked breakfast and the continental is very cheap. The staff in the dining area can't understand english and had to call another staff member from the kitchen.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    9.6
    Suited my purpose well
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    As above re shower.

    Didn't have breakfast so can't rate it. Everything else fine except would have liked instruction on how to get the shower to give me warm/ hot water

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    8.3
    I had a room on the third floor for this visit and it was...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I had a room on the third floor for this visit and it was really hot. However, the weather was hot and sticky anyway, and there was a fan in the room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    9.6
    Convenient for our purpose.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Front door looked less in keeping compared with the rest of the hotel.

    Close to American Embassy where we had a 6 am appointment. However, it was pouring with rain when we made the walk and a taxi was hard to find.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    9.2
    Good little hotel at reasonable prices
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to dislike. A more disability friendly step up to the reception would make it even better. The breakfast was a little basic however acceptable.

    Clean, tidy, well organised. Comfortable beds and room at sensible temperature. Overall a pleasant experience.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    6.7
    Conveniently located very close to the Oval Station,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Way too expensive for such a small and old room (but that could be due to the fact that I was there a week before the royal wedding)

    Conveniently located very close to the Oval Station, friendly staff, breakfast included (although I didn't have time to try it).

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    8.3
    Perfect location for the Moonwalk we attended on the 12 May
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Would have loved a hot breakfast and that breakfast would have been open longer than 9:30 on a Sunday

    Perfect location for the Moonwalk we attended on the 12 May

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    7.9
    We would use this Hotel again
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Elevator broken.

    The breakfast was lovely but as we used the Hotel to go to the O2 Academy, we were very hungover and would have loved a greasy fry up for an extra charge.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    9.2
    The bed was extremely comfy;
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very noisy outside, planes passing were loud (luckily it didn’t disturb sleep), the shower was very small and had to get member of staff to help get hot water working (they helped straight away though -very helpful and patient!). Hotel needed some cosmetic touch-ups in places, very basic and standard (but this was shown in price and had everything we needed for the night, so no complaints!)

    The bed was extremely comfy; the hotel and room appeared very clean; the continental breakfast had a great variety of choice; the staff were very friendly, attentive and helpful. Basics such as branded tea and coffee was available in the room, as well as WiFi. Location was a short walk to a tube station and lots of shops, very convenient. The room also felt very safe. Exactly what we needed for our 1 night stay.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    7.5
    Quiet room.
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Quiet room. Excellent location. No complaints. Just FYI - you cannot take your room key with you when you leave the premises but hey if you're worried - there's a safe in the room!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    2.5
    s_h_itest hotel ever, gid rid from the booking.
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the reception staff very bad, the whole hotel smelly, same as the room. nothing to eat for breakfast. the only thing they care about is how to take more money from the guests

    nothing like. all s_h_i_t

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    5.4
    Low cost comes at a price...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The breakfast is the most basic breakfast I've ever had in a hotel and not even very good. The single room I was in had windows that didn't properly close, and with pieces of the insulation on the windowborder missing. The noise at night was quite distracting. Even after complaining about this to the reception, nothing was done about it.

    The hotel is conveniently located near Oval station on the Northern line, so downtown London is just a few minutes on the underground away. But keep in mind it's in another zone, so you'll always be paying for two zones.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    3.8
    Probably wouldn't go back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Multiple broken things in the room, someone had to visit three times to fix the toilet flush which barely worked even when fixed. Bed was super soft, no do-not-disturb sign available in the room. My room was faced the street and was pretty noisy from traffic. Someone has to buzz you into the building 24/7 which was strange, surely a swipe card reader could be installed on the front door.

    Close to the Oval tube station which was pretty convenient. Room was clean enough.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    4.5
    Communication with the hotel management was very poor, we...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Communication with the hotel management was very poor, we wished to make a couple of small amendments to our booking, however despite contacting them via phone and email on over 4 occasions the “manager” was never available to speak, and the duty staff were extremely unhelpful and rude.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    3.8
    My 21st birthday
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was not clean, bed and furniture had scratches all over. The room was dark with one tiny window overlooking nowhere, was not allowed to be moved to another room, not coming back ever again, I was in awe of this hotel for years and it’s ideas but my experience was ruined

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    4.6
    Was okay! £99.00 for the night. Expensive for the poor service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was not told where breakfast would be or what times it was served. I had to ask. Only one key-card issued for a ‘twin room’ had to ask for another. No early morning call was offered. Beds were as soft as marshmallows. No spare pillows. Curtain was hanging off the rail.

    Location wasn’t too bad. 15 minute walk into Vauxhall. And 2 mins walk to Oval tube Excellent powerful shower!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    3.3
    Hell on earth, DON'T STAY HERE!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    where to begin..... we paid extra for breakfast however this wasnt monitored so anyone could have just gone to the bottom floor and had it! only 1 pillow per bed, wall had water running down it, window was screwed together with wooden blocks, bathroom looked as though never cleaned and needs a good renovation. towels were dirty so checked out early and booked in at the kings cross inn.

    Checking out!

    Stayed in March 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Belgrave Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: