Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Belle Vue Royal Hotel 3 stars

Marine Terrace, Aberystwyth, SY23 2BA, United Kingdom

Review score

Based on 1165 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.2

  • Comfort

    7.7

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    7.3

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    9.6
    A great traditional hotel, right on the seafront.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing at all.

    The hotel is maintained very well and the rooms are exceptionally clean. The staff are wonderful looked after our every need. Good parking on site.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    7.9
    Pleasant stay in Aberystwith at the Belle Vue.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could not open the windows in our room but the fans made it cooler!

    We wanted a room with a seaview and they were willing to change our room to give us this. Our room was hot so they gave us fans to keep us cool! Friendly staff and comfortable stay.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    9.2
    Comfortable, breakfast was great.
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Getting into the building late at night was a pain. Sorry did not realise that door bell on top of red button. Kept pressing red button. Bit like staying at grandma’s, floorboards creak in corridor, shower is from hot/cold taps and every corridor is same. I got lost three times trying to find way back to reception from room 3. When you get to right stairs, the exit sign showing down is behind you. Could we have a reception down sign?

    The breakfast was really good and the girls (+barman on Sunday!) worked efficiently with a smile and can be busy. I was there for a graduation celebration over 2 days, somewhere comfortable to sleep and this did the trick with stunning views of beach from outside hotel.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    9.6
    Traditional Victorian seaside resort hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My scrambled eggs were too salty!! I’d rather have them plain above all if coupled with smoked salmon. Apart from that excellent breakfast

    Loved the location, the character of the building and the room size, absolutely huge! Very traditional decor but that’s what I personally prefer, comfortable and cosy. The bed, duvet and pillows were incredibly comfortable.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    5.4
    Basic - and certainly not for £105 for the room!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very dated and basic accommodation. Needs total update. Would book again. Welsh version of menu was very poor not even making sense!

    The view only - the whole hotel was dated tired not maintained properly - the staff were friendly but not trained well enough and seemed under pressure. Breakfast was good but had to ask for butter rather than margarine.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    9.6
    I have stayed here before,and always enjoy the Belle Vue Royal hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel could do with the addition of a lift to the upper floors.

    Wonderful location on the seafront. I had a lovely single room with a sea view. The staff were very helpful. The lounge and dining rooms are very comfortable,with fine views. Excellent breakfast! It is a traditional seaside hotel that has kept its character.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    6.7
    Room was spacious and very nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking was bad could not get a space for the car drove around for half an hour then had to walk about a mile back to hotel

    Room was spacious and very nice

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    5.8
    Great short break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our sea view room on the 2nd floor felt a little cramped and was very hot due to the marvellous weather we’ve been having.

    Location was brilliant with a great sea view. The room was very clean, as was the rest of the hotel. Staff were very helpful. The breakfast was very good - well cooked to order. Good range of food options available. Vibrant town. Lots of promenading down the seafront.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    7.5
    Nice sea view from restaurant and some rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    To expensive for that standard. On the second floor some workers was sooo loud when I slept. It was 7 o’clock...

    Nice sea view from restaurant and some rooms.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    7.1
    Dated and noisy
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The noise of floor boards and slamming fire doors (at 2 am) also some seagulls had taken up residence outside the window and were squarking all night.

    Position near to where we were visting

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    4.2
    An unpleasant stay I'll be pleased to forget
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I'm 62, I went to visit my son at university. When I came to leave the receptionist insited I'd had my son staying in my single room with me! TV not working. Noisy guests. Beside light to dim to read by. Management unapologetic. Badly managed with no concept of customer care.

    A good location just isn't enough

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    9.6
    Excellent. Thank you.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only downside for me was not being able to eat in the hotel in the evening. Nothing fancy. Just basic menu. As a lone female traveller, I am wary of walking around alone looking for a bar or restaurant to eat, and eating alone is less problematic in a hotel.

    Clean, comfortable, lovely staff and excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    9.2
    I enjoyed it.
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Neither of the windows opened, in the bedroom or bathroom. It was hot and stuffy in the rooms some of the time because of the heatwave outside!!! Two pillows would have been nicer than just one.

    The quiet position of my room at the back of the hotel

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    7.9
    If I had to do this over I would pick a front seaside room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is no view on the back side of the hotel. If going there, get a front room. The view alone would be worth the extra money.

    If I had to do this over I would pick a front seaside room. The view in the back of the hotel was non existent. The staff was very good (helped out where they could).

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    7.1
    It was a nice hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    just that it was too warm in the room

    It was a nice hotel. Very friendly and clean. Room was a bit small and hot needed a fan or air conditioning inside the room.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    9.6
    The breakfast was excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Directions to the car park where not obvious. With the weather being so hot was unable to open window in room.

    The breakfast was excellent. Very efficient and friendly staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    7.9
    Pleasant relaxing location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast could have been better. One slice of bacon, one egg and a hard piece of black pudding is not really adequate

    Excellent views and surprisingly quiet in the evening. Lovely big room. Intended staying one night, but changed it to 2.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    10
    Great place! Lovely hotel! Lovely staff!Great location!xxxx
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was an extra £12.00! That should have been encluded!A buffet breakfast would have been good as l don’t eat much!,,,So l couldn’t justify paying £12 for a small breakfast!plus l don’t eat much meat stuff!in fact hardly any at all!!

    The room we had was fab!The view was out of this world!We were very pleased with the location!Very close to the Pier and the town! Also very close to the beach! Shame about the stones on the beach and no sand!would have had a swim but was frightened of falling over as l am in my 60s!l am quite fit but not that fit!! The pub on the pier was brilliant and so close to our hotel ! Thankyou!xxxx

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    7.9
    Weather fantastic for a last minute break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Frosted glass on window and unable to reach to open window vent! However, this wouldn’t deter us from staying again and maybe having a sea view which wasn’t an option on this last minute booking.

    Location of hotel

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    9.6
    Lovely breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing.

    Lovely breakfast. Friendly staff. Worth paying extra for sea-view room. Dated bedromm decor and furniture. Nice lounge and breakfast room again, lovely sea views. Lovely location.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    9.6
    Lovely stay and will be back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hairdryer - cuts out too quickly (wife comment not mine)!

    Great location, clean room, efficient service and nice to have the option of breakfast or not with the price. Would definitely stay here again soon. Thank you.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    9.2
    Absolutely great. Would recommend it to anyone. The great weather helped.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The sloping floor! They didn't do evening meals.

    The sea view from our room - we had two amazing sunsets. The friendly and helpful staff. The roomy bedroom and comfortable bed. The breakfasts. The helpful recommendations of places to eat.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    7.5
    Lovely location and service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Trip was spoiled slightly by rowdy guests on room14, next to us. Came back around 1.30 am drunk falling and banging followed by about 1 hour of very loud drunken arguing then going back outside slaming doors on the way. However this didnt detract from the hotel service and location.

    Staff were very kind and polite Location was very good

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    9.2
    An excellent place for nearness to facilities and a comfortable place from which to see the sea.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It was a shame there was no restaurant other than for breakfast. We had coffee there and it was fine. There are eating places very near and there are a wide variety of them. There was also no lift.

    We had a sea view and it was excellent. My husband, who is disabled, was able to sit and see all that was going on along the promenade. Everything was to hand in the hotel and in Aberystwyth itself.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    8.3
    Many thanks for a fabulous stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was typical traditional seaside seafront and good overall though the curtains weren't hanging correctly on the rail and the shower wasn't particularly powerful but nothing that detracted from our stay.

    Good hotel in prime location on the promenade. We had a room with a great sea view as requested but unfortunately were kept awake by party revellers playing in the sea until 5am (though this isn't anything the hotel can control of course ... just something you might want to consider). Great breakfast. Friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    7.9
    Lovely hotel and staff but let down by the cheap room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room was outside of the range of the hotel WiFi, the TV did not work, and the walls / single glazed windows didn't stop any noise. This was the cheapest room available though so you get what you pay for!

    The room was clean, and the staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful. Great location. I expect my stay would have been a lot better if I had a different room - I would recommend this hotel, but only if booking a front (sea) facing room.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    7.1
    Very close to the shops, restaurants and sea front.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    They will not accommodate an early arrival; I arrived 20 minutes early and it was raining outside. View was of another building with a multi-coloured flashing light (unnoticeable when curtains closed).

    Very close to the shops, restaurants and sea front. Room very (too) large.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    8.3
    Generally comfortable.
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Too many notices with threats of fines for losing key, blocking WCs, smoking etc. I know that these all cause inconvenience and cost but it was off -putting to be faced with all this ; surely a note in the guest info file in the room would have been sufficient. A bedside lamp would have been helpful.

    Able to book a single room at short notice. Good breakfast with plenty of choice. Good location. Good bathroom which included a bath.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    8.3
    Initial room allocated was tiny with dark walls and bathroom...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Back rooms had bathroom type glass on opening the windows view was of close distance pigeon muck covered buildings so couldnt really have windows open

    Initial room allocated was tiny with dark walls and bathroom type glass windows with no nets, right next to the bed. Being a little chlostrophobic i rang reception and within 10mins we were shown 2, more spacious rooms with lighter decor and whilst the windows were similarly glazed, there were more of them and netted so were able to open then without the bad view. The breakfast was cooked beautifully and service was fast and friendly. Would definately stay again but secure a spacious room with a better view.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    7.5
    Regular visit to pick up student daughter. My stay was familiar and comfortable and relaxed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    It is not a dislike as such as I am used to the hotel but I know some people would be put off by the 'faded grandeur' of the place.

    The location is excellent being right on the seafront and the availability of on-site parking is a real benefit. The breakfast is worth having and staff are friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    7.5
    Fantastic breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was slanted which was not an issue however when in bed your feet feel above your head and felt uncomfortable would be better if beds were other way round

    Fantastic breakfast

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    9.2
    Great location, terrific staff, parking an issue
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    As this is a popular seaside resort, parking nearby during the day is quite difficult if you miss out on one of the few parking spaces that the hotel has in its lot.

    This hotel is very well run with efficient, helpful and friendly staff. We booked an ocean view twin room which was spacious, with a lounge and desk. The bathroom was also large and had a full bath. The hotel is old but very clean. Wifi connected quickly and worked perfectly. Large windows open fully so you can sit and watch the ocean and the sunset, but when closed are well sound-proofed. Excellent location for walking around the town, to castle ruins or to Cliff Railway.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    10
    Beautiful Sunset
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The location is spot on & the Hotel has lots of character. Lovely room massive bathroom. Well stocked bar & reasonable prices. Will be back again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    9.6
    great stay, weather was beautiful, what more could you want.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    liked everything

    We had a sea veiw room which was great, the bathroom looked much better than when we went last year, bed linen was good, our friend had a single room which was very nice and breakfast was excellent.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    8.8
    Restful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing to dislike

    The location and the value for money. The staff we met were very friendly and provided good service. The room we were in had great sea views and had been recently refurbished.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    7.9
    Enjoyable and comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    squeaky floors, kitchen closed, limited parking but we got a spot. Council had closed a number of roads for over 2 months so access was tricky, however the reception did their best to explain the access route with a map.

    The location of the hotel on the promenade combined with the heritage made this hotel interesting. Its about what we expected, everything worked ok, but consider it is being updated and when we booked we were unaware the dining options were limited. Breakfast was good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    7.9
    It was a lovely break and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay in Aberyswyth
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really, except would have loved a sea view at the hotel. Perhaps our own fault as it was a last minute booking.

    Friendliness of the local people. Lots of places to eat and lots of variety. All conveniently close to the hotel. Great shopping area too.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    8.8
    Excellent location, friendly staff, large room
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast not included, so room price expensive. Breakfast £10 - small portions for the cost and vegetarian option burnt/poor quality.

    Excellent location, friendly staff, large room

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    5.8
    Very disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very dated, thread bare furniture in room, bed that sloped so much that your feet are higher than your head (appreciate old property, but bed could have been levelled), no drinking water provided, only ONE pack of 'complimentary' biscuits rather than pk each (usual), appalling condition of bathroom (no excuse for mould and such disgusting and shoddily applied mastic), 'matching' bedsight lights gave out totally mismatched wattage of light, chewing gum worn into carpet! Only time ever, I have had full English breakfast when you could actually count the 5 TINY button mushrooms at a glance, very mean portions given. Although the bread/toast was beautiful and the waiters very good/pleasant. Paid £10 more than advertised on their own website so £20 off was given, but although I appreciate guests are needed to pay for the refurb, owners are doing themselves no favours by being so mean with the little things yet expecting the going rate when it comes to tariff! This is a bed and breakfast not a hotel as there is no functioning dining room, so we had to wonder the streets on a wet night for an evening meal!

    The view, IF you pay extra for it. Shower had good pressure.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    9.6
    A really comfortable stay for a lone traveler! Would definitely stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The music in the bar area probably wouldn't be to everyone's taste (I think it was just radio) but I'm sure they would have switched it if I'd asked.

    I stayed in a single room with a sea view and it was just right. Quiet and comfortable!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    8.3
    Location was excellent, room was a good size and bed was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking was a real hassle as no hotel parking was available, reception staff not particularly friendly, no lift and no hot water.

    Location was excellent, room was a good size and bed was comfortable. Restuarant staff were very friendly and breakfast was excellent.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    5.0
    Wouldn’t stay there again as complaints were dismissed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hygiene in the room was disappointing and the info on their website was untrue and therefore misleading. Facilities offered should be taken with a pinch of salt

    Breakfast was fine

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    7.9
    The location and the evening bar -good atmosphere
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The car park was reserved for a classic car rally and parking is almost impossible nearby. Some forewarning would have been good. I didn't like the signs threatening fines if I smoked in the room, blocked the toilet or lost my key.

    The location and the evening bar -good atmosphere

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    7.5
    The staff made it worth while .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Accepting its a 3 star seaside hotel rooms freshly decorated and of a good size but we were allocated a room out the back looking at run down buildings not pleasant. Not our first choice but booked because event held there. Hotel seems to be undergoing more refurbishment.

    The staff were excellent extremely friendly and helpful. We stayed with a classic car club and they did their utmost to reserve parking for us. Brilliant thank you.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    8.8
    A real good base for an Aberystwyth stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our trip coincided with a visit by the Classic Car Club, so hotel parking was at a premium.

    Excellent location, very light room with two sea view windows, very friendly, helpful staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    3.8
    poor
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom floor dirty, floorboards creaky, walls paper thin, woken by people walking in coridor early hours, woken early morning by motorbikes starting in the carpark as was next to our room, toilet didnt flush properly, bed was uncomfortable and even when i booked weeks in advance the hotel car park was full so had to park a good 10 minute walk away and carry the luggage poor hotel woudlnt stay or recommend.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    9.6
    We were especially impressed with the friendly and accommodating staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were lovely and upgraded us to a sea facing room upon request. They also looked after our bags as we explored the town the next day. The shower is worth a mention too as it’s powerful and great!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    7.9
    Bed was very comfy, but was a back of hotel bedroom, so...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was a problem at nights with a very noisy boiler below our room which would have disturbed our sleep. We asked receptionist to lower the temp at night time, which they kindly did ... and we enjoyed peaceful sleep. But the boiler had to be re set during daytime, noise continued. Main thing was though that at night it was quiet, but only because we had to request a reset of temp. If we hadnt the noise would have been too much. Suggest they get the services of a good plumber to correct this problem.

    Bed was very comfy, but was a back of hotel bedroom, so disappointed not to have a sea view at front. We were last minute booking, obviously they had sold out

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    9.6
    Overall a really enjoyable family weekend. Hotel was clean,staff were very friendly. Good breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking is very limited. You have to leave your keys at reception in case cars have to be moved. The central heating pipes made a frequent loud banging noise ,say every 20 minutes. Thankfully it did not disturb our sleep !!

    Great location on the sea front. nice eateries within walking distance. Funicular railway is about 800 metres away . Cafe on hill when you get to the top. Nice views over the town and bay.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    5.4
    Sea view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very disappointed this time round. Got a very small grubby room that was too hot and not cleaned properly. There was one chair that was very dirty. Lights on the walls didn't work. Remote was filthy. No food in the evening. Service was bad too.

    Sea view

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    7.5
    The belle vue is great, staff great, I have had better rooms.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room is in need of upgrade there are better rooms in the Belle Vue but comfortable ok.

    The Belle Vue is a great hotel - the room was at the back so you don't have the sea view and I guess that is why the room is in need of upgrade - but otherwise ok.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    10
    Nice hotel with friendly staff In a great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing other than the hotel is in need of some renovation in parts.

    The breakfast was first class and the room was clean and comfortable also the staff were friendly.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    8.8
    Great little find in fabulous location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The single room I was in was at the back of the property and looked on to a wall. Very dated and could do with refurbishment as the decor was very tired looking although the cleanliness made it more bearable. Material on chair in room was in poor condition. Small carpark was hard to get to at time of visit as all local roads were closed for repairs so I ended up street parking.

    Fabulous location directly across the road from the seafront. Spotlessly clean. Just around the corner from the town centre. The bar and dining room both had seaview. Excellent breakfast. Staff were very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    8.3
    Dropping off student and having a break at the same time
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    For a hotel today it lacks the finish which many chains have but you could say that gives it charm. While you can get (a very good) breakfast, at present the restaurant is out of action so no evening meal though that does mean one is forced to experience others. If the hotel wanted to offset the deficiencies of age the wi-fi could be considerably beefed up so that a good signal is accessible throughout the building.

    I like the Belle Vue because it is familiar, is right on the seafront and has its own parking.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    5.4
    Dreadful
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldn’t shower as I’m disabled and couldn’t get my legs over the bath didn’t have a disabled room had to go out looking for food as they didn’t serve after 6.30pm and when you’ve had a journey for 7hours you just like to get your room and freshen up and go down for dinner not the case.

    Bed comfortable

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    4.6
    Disappointing.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking was very awkward. There were no anti-seagull spikes on our balcony and we were disturbed by them. No dinner was available. More seriously, we were awoken at four am by drunken guests banging on our door. The night porter had allowed them in and had not escorted them to their floor. This was a serious failure of their duty of care. We will not stay at this hotel again.

    Seafront view

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    7.1
    Fantastic location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bedroom was cold during the evening, despite the heater controls full on, but no heating came on during my stay.

    The bed was comfortable, but the bedroom was very dated and was in need of decoration. I used the shower but the screen allowed the water to leak all over the floor.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    9.2
    Belle vue Great location and good value
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    For the price i cannot think of any real issues. So only minor things that could be improved are some areas are looking a bit tired shower head a bit blocked and some creaky floor boards.

    Good view and location I would definately stay there again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    9.6
    lovely friendly helpful staff fab view from the twin sea view windoow.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    the staff were very helpful and friendly this is the 9th time iv been to this hotel and i always take my mother and we always have an enjoyable time with friendly helpful staff .

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    8.3
    Staff were brilliant and treated us like royalty, made our...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Trying to find the car park, needed a sign directing you there, room was lovely but there was no heating and it was a long way to walk from reception

    Staff were brilliant and treated us like royalty, made our stay pleasant, the place was clean and tidy

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    10
    Great stay - highly recomment this area of Wales and this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No Irish Sea views from our room - forgot to request this option. But room was so nice and quiet for sleeping.

    The room and staff were great. The hotel is located right on the Irish Sea! Lovely. So close to all the amenities - short walk to everything.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    9.6
    Definitely more plusses than minuses for this very good value for money spot.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was slightly smaller than originally envisaged. That would be the only gripe. Travelling alone for a voluntary endeavour and two nights weren't at all bad, but the room could have been more spacious.

    The location on the beachfront was absolutely brilliant. The heating was not easy to turn down in the room, but it meant sleeping with the window slightly open and it was very relaxing to listen to the waves rolling in. Only thing that would probably be changed if visiting again is to opt for a room with a view of the ocean. It was only 20 pounds more to get that option (no guarantees that a room will have a beach view though - subject to availability) and it can only be worth the money. One more thing: the night manager/security person was truly delightful. A somewhat elderly gentleman, bless him, but he was so nice and welcoming. Ashamed to not have learned your name, but you sir, are a real gentleman, and surprisingly, one of the many highlights of the trip. Keep up the good work!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    9.2
    Third time I've stayed here recently and will be staying again soon!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Decor feels quite dated, very squeaky floorboards in the upstairs corridor too!

    Good value room, friendly staff. Bar is a nice place to have a quiet drink.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    10
    It was excellent in every way. The only thing that we have a problem with was the sat navigat
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing I didn't find i didn't dislike.

    The friendliness of the staff. The cleanliness of the entire hotel and the position of the hotel is located on the sea front is fantastic.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    10
    A great bank holiday visit made more enjoyable by my choice of hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No room in the hotel car park but I was advised by staff where the best places to park were.

    Friendly staff knowledgable about parking restrictions. The hotel is in an excellent location for all the attractions.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    7.5
    Hardworking staff but general state of the hotel was disappointing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    No clear view from bedroom. A large hotel that is in need of renovation.

    Friendly helpful staff. Secure car park. Pleasant breakfast room overlooking the bay. Excellent Greek restaurant recommended by staff.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    8.8
    It was clean and warm.
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower was very small and the door on the shower didn't open very far.

    It was clean and warm. It was modern yet vintage. It was overlooking the sea. It had parking facilities.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    8.8
    Very comfortable and relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel looking a little faded could do with a bit of modernisation and a lick of paint Excessively creaking floorboards

    Breakfast very good and staff lovely

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    3.8
    Breakfast choices were great food cooked to order and fresh
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Where do I start? Moved room upon arrival. New room had no heating so was absolutely freezing had to use the extra duvet in the wardrobe. Too cold to bath or shower. Bath and sink had mouldy grout light over bath room sink did not work. Just so so cold and I am disabled ♿ with my back. No disability alternative to anything available ie you had to use the stairs. As for private car parking what a joke, you parked your car and left the keys with the front desk so that they could move it. Never going to happen as I am sure my insurance would not cover that. On the second day at 5.30 they offered me a room with a second hotel miles away from the original hotel. This hotel is not fit for purpose and we only had £20 of our bill .

    Breakfast choices were great food cooked to order and fresh

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    7.5
    I liked the location and the breakfast. Didn't WOW me but was enough for a night's stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel was very warm, but an opened window in my room helped me sleep. Room was adequate for 1 night with all the basic amenities, but I wouldn't stay longer than that. Blanket was small, it covered me but couldn't be tucked in. The room was bit expensive for what I got and the time of year.

    The location was wonderful - great sea view. Bed seemed very wobbly, but I slept well despite that. Breakfast was plenty and tasty.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    5.4
    Location and see view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms very dated tired , paint flaking , wall paper peeling .ridiculously noisy fan in the bathroom . Blanket on bed all frayed .

    Location and see view

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    10
    They allowed me to cancel without charge when I couldn't...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    They allowed me to cancel without charge when I couldn't travel due to snow. My father is in hospital in Aberystwyth so I will be visiting frequently over the next few months. Allowing me to cancel my booking for free has guaranteed my repeat custom going forwards. Although the decor is quite old-fashioned, the hotel was pleasant, clean and good value. The bathroom was nice.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    6.3
    Shame the bed was awful as the rating would have been excellent!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    it was the worse bed I have ever slept on. The springs were actually protruding out of the mattress which kept waking me up as I was in pain!! I mentioned the mattress when I checked out and was told that my comments would be given to the manager. (FYI it was room 2!!!)

    The room was clean and spacious

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    9.2
    Brilliant hotel - don't eat at Light of India tho......
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    At a stretch I would say the tv didn't work well, and the room is small, but don't let that put you off.

    Best location, super-friendly staff, sound of the sea - just perfect

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    10
    Brilliant stay would come back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only thing we didn't like was been so close to the cleaners room quite noisy in a morning which woke us up

    Great size on the room, cleaned every day,staff were very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: