Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis
  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. UK hotel reviews
  3. Devon hotel reviews
  4. Moretonhampstead hotel reviews
  5. Reviews of Belmont

Reviews of Belmont

43 Ford Street, Moretonhampstead, TQ13 8LN, United Kingdom

#4 of 10 hotels in Moretonhampstead

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 81 B&B reviews

9.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.8

  • Comfort

    9.6

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    9.4

  • Staff

    9.7

  • Value for money

    9.4

  • Free WiFi

    9.4

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more– opens a dialog box
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 53

  • Reviewed: June 3, 2018

    7.5
    Excellent breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Private bathroom turned out to be across the hall. Private usage perhaps but not what we were expecting

    Excellent breakfast. Big comfortable bed in bright and airy room

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: May 29, 2018

    9.2
    Best B&B we have stayed at.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing - it was all good.

    The rooms are very comfortable and are a nice size. Each has en-suite shower / loo except room 1 which has a luxury bathroom accross the landing. Owner was very accomodating and also cooked a fantastic breakfast for us each morning. Even contacted us beforehand to ask if we had any particular requests. There's no car parking at the B&B but the town car park is very close and is free overnight until 9.00 am.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 17, 2018

    10
    An enjoyable stay in a small peaceful town with good amenities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing. All was as advertised.

    The room was very comfortable and decorated to match the building with fascinating pictures on walls. The bathroom was exceptional. Breakfast included a variety of tasty homemade jams and marmalade.The owner was very helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: April 6, 2018

    10
    Comfy and relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No faults.

    The host, Antony, was very friendly and accommodating. The room was very clean and cosy. The food was amazing and Antony went above and beyond to fulfill our breakfast request. The location is also great with several attractions nearby.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: February 20, 2018

    9.6
    Ticked every box for us.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Well equipped immaculate room with comfortable bed and great en suite. Host was attentive to all our needs but totally unobtrusive. Breakfast was well cooked and generous with plenty of choices. Easy 2 minute walk from a free car park to substitute for none at the property, and drop off at front for luggage.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: November 27, 2017

    10
    Calm, peace, friendly and an amazing breakfast! What more do you need?
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Antony was an amazing host, he greeted us with a smile & full of information. A delightful chap! The house is beautiful, full of wonderful knick knacks and history, you could spend hours pouring over everything there. The bed was very comfy and the breakfast was amazing. To add to this, we had an emergency and had to rush off to hospital, Antony could not have been more amazing if he tried and offered to help where he could. We arrived back at 530am and slept later than breakfast was booked, we got up and still had breakfast available. We will be back - this time without causing or having any stress and worry! Would most definitely recommend the Belmont.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 16, 2017

    10
    We could not be more fulsome in our praise.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing

    We liked everything: the place was warm and comfortable, the food was good, the owner was helpful without being intrusive and the décor was pleasing. Our room had 27 pictures all of which we found worth looking at. I could go on but you must get the gist.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: October 16, 2017

    10
    Supremely comfortable and stylish B&B in the beautiful town of Moretonhampstead.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    This is a true boutique B&B. It's comfortable, stylish, beautifully furnished and tastefully decorated - perhaps almost too much as I was always a bit nervous of knocking into something. Fantastic attention to detail - so everything is top quality. Anthony the owner is extremely helpful and the breakfast was one of the best I've eaten. Value for money!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: October 9, 2017

    9.6
    A superbly comfortable stay in a beautiful villiage with an extremely attentive host.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It can't be helped given the B&Bs rural village location but the 3-5min walk in the drizzle to the car park was a bit of a drag with a case & coats. Parking is very reasonably priced though (£3.50 per day) and there's plenty of it.

    The room was comfortable, quiet & dark for a very restful nights sleep and the homemade jams & marmalade at breakfast were such a treat! Anthony was an attentive host and very accommodating of a vegetarian breakfast request.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: September 22, 2017

    4.2
    The double room itself was of a good size and the large bed...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The set-up was not really suitable at all. The separate bathroom was across the main staircase There were curtains strung across the stairs up to the second floor and one of the other rooms had curtains around it and its separate bathroom. Very odd and not really acceptable these days. This arrangement was not advertised on the hotel website otherwise we would never have booked the hotel. Our room was at the front of the building on the main road in Moretonhampstead and was noisy withe traffic from about 6am We cancelled our second night there as a result of the above.

    The double room itself was of a good size and the large bed was very comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 22, 2017

    10
    Fab
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing lol

    The bed was sumptuous and linen towels were white and fluffy and breakfast was amazeballs Anthony the host was a lovely man helpful chatty and welcoming

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 2, 2017

    9.6
    Anthony was friendly and attentive.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Lack of parking and some road noise

    Anthony was friendly and attentive. Lovely breakfasts and super clean and comfortable room, would love to stay again, and would happily recommend. Excellent value for money!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 14, 2017

    10
    I would not hesitate to return. Wonderful!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I would be hard-pressed to find something I didn't like. It did rain a little while we were in town. But, I wouldn't blame that on the host.

    Upscale decor and immaculately clean. Could ot have been happier. The host was extremely helpful. Parking was about a five minute walk, but safe and trouble-free. GREAT little village.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: August 7, 2017

    10
    Belmont a hidden treasure
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    From the moment we arrived to departure Anthony was kind and helpful, bed was really comfy and the full English was amazing and all from the local butchery...I would highly recommend this guest house.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 3, 2017

    9.2
    A Lovely, homely base to explore Dartmoor.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The lack of parking is a minor problem but a public car park is nearby....don't let it put you off!

    A comfortable & homely environment; beautifully furnished & spotlessly clean.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: August 3, 2017

    10
    Won't hesitate to go back to the Belmont
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Belmont. The service we received was excellent thanks to Antony! He certainly can run a mighty fine place to stay!! Great finishing touches such as breakfast cooked to your liking with a huge cafetière of fabulous coffee to an abundance of freshly laundered towels. Antony is a delight and so is the Belmont!!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: June 16, 2017

    8.3
    Would recommend,,lovely stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No parking, although there was parking in side road nearby, so not a hinder at all. We could not arrive until 5pm, which was a bit of a shame

    Lovely breakfast,and could not do enough, had fresh milk in room, and water. very clean and comfortable

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 4, 2017

    10
    short but happy stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The place was very comfortable and easy to find. Anthony was very friendly and happy to give us some local advise. The horse inn was a great place for dinner.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 30, 2017

    10
    Loved the room .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Loved the room . So English with painting and little touches here and there. Toiletries to use if required and hairdryer. Tea/coffee/chocolate making in the room. Fresh milk available if required. The choice for breakfast was wonderful....Cereals plenty. Cooked breakfast a huge choice of what you could have using local products. Home-made jams/marmalade. And as much tea/filtered coffee that you want. Nothing was too much trouble. The only thing that was needed was a night light in the downstairs as we didn't get home to late and it was dark.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 27, 2017

    10
    Top quality accommodation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Really enjoyed our stay- found the White Hart for dinner and enjoyed walking around this charming village. In the morning we had an EXCELLENT breakfast with lots of personal touches that would make us rate this one of the best B&Bs at which we've stayed.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 16, 2017

    10
    Great stay in a lovely part of the world
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not sure how the bacon was cooked. Maybe it could be grilled or fried?

    Lots of interesting artwork in a beautiful b&b with everything you could need supplied, and Anthony was a great host. The location was excellent for exploring Dartmoor.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 12, 2017

    10
    Excellent location to explore Dartmoor
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Our host Antony was incredibly helpful and wanted to go out of his way to help make our stay perfect. The room was excellent, and our bed was probably the most comfortable bed I've ever slept in!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: April 10, 2017

    10
    Overall it was a very nice experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Overall it was a very nice experience. The house itself was beautiful and well decorated. The owners were very friendly and the rooms were amazing! Breakfast was very nice as well! Well positioned near cafes and pubs. I would definitely visit again.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: February 26, 2017

    9.2
    Lovely spot on edge of Dartmoor
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unfortunately no off site parking connected to the property but several areas within a short walking distance

    House and room lovely and clean, excellent host in Anthony. Lots of extra touches - fresh flowers in the room, good local knowledge. Freshly cooked breakfast. Warm and comfortable. Short walk into local shops, pubs restaurants etc. The Union pub excellent food all freshly prepared and large portions, friendly locals

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: January 9, 2017

    10
    We were upgraded to the largest room which was filled with...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We were upgraded to the largest room which was filled with charm and character and had a beautiful ensuite bathroom. Breakfast in the morning was delicious, lots of options to choose from and tailored to our requests, thoroughly enjoyed it!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: December 11, 2018

    10
    Most enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very comfortable nights sleep. Most delicious breakfast. Really nice guy who owns the place. I would stay again.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: October 20, 2018

    9.6
    Very clean and tidy.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very clean and tidy. Food was good. Service was good. The room was excellent and the bathroom was nice too. I would definitely stay again.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: August 28, 2018

    10
    Lovely room and breakfast was delicious lots of quality food...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Lovely room and breakfast was delicious lots of quality food and drinks.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: July 26, 2018

    7.1
    #A good stay, would come again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room a little small

    Wonderful breakfast,comfy bed. Shame about car parking facilities, but worked out ok in the end

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 21, 2018

    9.6
    beautiful quiet home
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Comfy beds & Excellent breakfast

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 14, 2018

    10
    we felt warmly welcomed and enjoyed our stay in this beautiful place - the breakfast was excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    kindest hospitality, beautiful rooms, the best breakfast ever.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: June 28, 2018

    10
    The stay was brilliant
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    Excellent service, breakfast was really good. Location was good. Really comfortable beds and bathroom was really nice.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 11, 2018

    10
    Beautiful house, friendly and accommodating host. Great stay!
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Beautiful house, friendly and accommodating host. Great stay!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 7, 2018

    8.8
    No parking at the property.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No parking at the property. We had to park in a council car park at £3.20 for a day.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: May 9, 2018

    10
    Very friendly and comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very friendly and comfortable Will definitely recommend 😀😳

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: April 16, 2018

    10
    Did not expect to have to pay cash.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Did not expect to have to pay cash.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 5, 2018

    10
    Home from home
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not a standard B&B but a homely place with great decor and lots of little touches. Would not hesitate to stay here again.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 24, 2018

    10
    A great few days away will be back there again soon.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bed was extremely comfortable and the private bathroom superb. The host was very friendly and helpful and served up a great breakfast.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: December 18, 2017

    10
    Charming host.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Charming host. Immaculate property. Super location and sumptuous breakfast.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 5, 2017

    10
    One night stop mortonhamstead
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Really clean and comfy amazing breakfast

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: November 4, 2017

    10
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very comfortable, excellent breakfast, warm friendly welcome, accommodation beautifully decorated.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: September 10, 2017

    10
    Belmont
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Excellent hospitality.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 31, 2017

    6.3
    Decent accommodation, host attentive
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Car parking poor, a long walk to use a local authority car park Imagine it very difficult in wet weather

    Decent accommodation, host attentive

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 26, 2017

    10
    Perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    Everything.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 24, 2017

    10
    Room was lovely really big and great bed
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room was lovely really big and great bed

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: August 7, 2017

    9.2
    Excellent breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No parking facilities - had to park in the public car park

    Excellent breakfast

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 22, 2017

    10
    Excellent B&B in great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Can't think of anything

    Clean & comfortable bedroom, very quiet location, excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 19, 2017

    9.2
    Very comfortable and clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Not the easiest to find, very small sign.

    Very comfortable and clean. Awesome breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 17, 2017

    10
    Nice host, great room and comfy bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nice host, great room and comfy bed. Lovely breakfast too!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 11, 2017

    10
    Outstanding accommodation & delightful home
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It was a shame there was no immediate parking

    Everything anyone could want was provided & welcome was lovely

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: June 9, 2017

    10
    The best bed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No offscreen parking

    Very comfortable bed, ensuite, the best breakfast, close to eateries,big room and knowledgeable host

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: May 26, 2017

    10
    Great place. Great host.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Antony was an excellent host. The room was lovely. The breakfast was very good and plentiful. The bed was comfortable. The towels were luxurious.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: March 13, 2017

    10
    Wonderful weekend break, great B and B and Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was amazing-best cooked breakfast. Anthony could not do enough for us-we stayed for 2 nights and would stay again.

    Stayed in March 2017

There are also 13 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 53