Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

Reviews of The Ben Doran Guest House This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

11 Mayfield Gardens, Newington, Newington, Edinburgh, EH9 2AX, United Kingdom

#119 of 185 B&Bs and inns in Edinburgh

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 260 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8

  • Location

    8

  • Facilities

    7.8

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    7.9

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: July 16, 2018

    7.1
    Nice building, good bed, decent breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Ensuite Double
    • Stayed 1 night

    We booked a room with a large bed, however were assigned a room with a small bed first. Only after a discussion with the manager we were allowed to switch rooms.

    Nice building, good bed, decent breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 28, 2018

    4.6
    Needs refurbishment
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double, Shared Bath
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Quite far from centre Room on the main road extremely loud (windows don't close properly) Warm/cold taps are separate and very tiny (annoying)

    Nice old style interior Rich breakfast (although always the same for the 3 nights we were there)

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 25, 2018

    7.9
    Warm, friendly and engaging staff. Character accommodation - you know you are in Scotland :-)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were at the top of the building (two big flights of stairs) and this was problematic for my wife who has a knee injury.

    The accommodation has real "character".

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: May 31, 2018

    8.8
    Breakfast was spot on !
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Ensuite Double
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was absolutely amazing ! Bed was comfy, room clean and big enough with a lovely decorated bathroom. We adored the Victorian style of the house.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 26, 2018

    7.5
    Many thanks for allowing me to park my car for an extra day.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Single, Shared Bath
    • Stayed 7 nights

    No dislikes. Everything was to my complete satisfaction

    I really appreciated the quietness and peace. Breakfast was really quickly and efficiently served. Bed very comfortable. If back in Edinburgh I will certainly book again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: April 29, 2018

    8.3
    DVD player didn’t work in room (although not a problem)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    DVD player didn’t work in room (although not a problem) Strange smell in room, we were in executive room in the basement (quite off putting to walk into)

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 18, 2018

    7.5
    Pleasant but for the price we paid could have been better.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Ensuite Double
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No choice of eggs at breakfast only hard boiled. Hotel is situated on a busy main road which can be quite noisy at night. Room walls are quite thin we were disturbed by neighbour snoring all night.

    Nice clean room with good size bathroom. Friendly staff who allowed us to check in a bit earlier than planned. Regular buses into city centre.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: March 15, 2018

    9.6
    Like home
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Ensuite Double
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Shower pressure was poor but it was nothing horrible.

    - the host was very kind and helpful - room was comfy and clean, made up beautifully each day - location is very good - you can walk to city centre We felt here like at home.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: February 21, 2018

    9.6
    Beautiful building, great staff, great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Ensuite Double
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The WiFi conked out sometimes but there are two networks to connect to. Breakfast and check out were a little early but we managed ok.

    The spiral staircase was amazing and the staff were really friendly without being in your face. Everything was just a bus, Uber or walk away!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 17, 2018

    8.8
    It was a lovely B&B, it is our second stay here! Ideal location for Edinburgh. We really enjoyed it!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Ensuite Double
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Perhaps breakfast could have been served until 9.30 or 10 so that we can have a little lie in on our holiday! The shower was a bit tricky to manage, it went very hot and cold quickly and not much power.

    A great choice of breakfast Room’s were made up beautifully each day Really comfy bed and pillows Friendly staff

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: January 26, 2018

    8.8
    Staff were lovely and friendly, room was excellent (exec dbl & en-suite) breakfast not bad.
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Postcode takes you to a tiny lane behind the house, the entrance is actually on the main road (Minto Road). There was a slight reservation by the guest house manager who was very nervous about the fact we had an Registered Assistance Dog but she called the owner and he said no problem. We were told parking was not a problem as they have space for 3 cars at the front. Which was fine until we got back from the hospital late and there were 3 cars there already, so we had no choice but to park with the car half on the pavement, we had no idea how to get the back gates open and it was really late. Breakfast was Ok and is only between 8-9 am compared to our last guest house which was 7.30 - 9.30 am. It was self service but when we got there on the first morning at 8.40 am there was hardly anything left so i asked if they had got any eggs, to go with the bacon & sausage, the girl did make them specially for us, but not the point if breakfast is not supposed to finish till 9 am!! Maybe making fresh to order would be better. Didn't like being called when we were in the room to tell me they had been told my card was not valid - very embarrassing, while i was trying to sort out i got a call back to say it had been sorted they had been given the wrong numbers!!!

    We were unsure what to expect going by some of the previous comments on Travelzoo. The house is the most amazing Georgian house and has a beautiful sweeping staircase. The room was really really lovely, loads of space, the en-suite was spotlessly clean (paid extra to have en-suite), the decor a little old fashioned but the bed was really comfy and the room was spotless. We would recommend Ben Doran to anyone and already have to a lot of our friends and on Facebook.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 12, 2018

    10
    Nice wee B and B. Friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We arrived at the Ben Doran 2 hours before check in. The staff were happy for me to leave my car there so we could explore Edinburgh. We booked this room at a rate of £36 per room and included breakfast. We booked the executive room. Room was big with small En suite. Bed is two twins put together however when sleeping you can’t tell. Staff were friendly and polite. You get what you pay for and I would stay again.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: December 27, 2017

    4.6
    Basic with good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double, Shared Bath
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Decor and size of room/ facilities were a little lack-luster. Didnt seem like 4 star. Breakfast was basic could have tasted fresher.Wouldn't choose to stay again as preference something more modern looking and better value for money.

    Liked the location and guest house was warm and comfortable

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 20, 2017

    10
    My one night stay in Edinburgh was in a proper guesthouse.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Single, Shared Bath
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was only 1 TV channel available.

    The property very clean throughout. The bedlinen was carefully made up and the bathroom facilities immaculate. The breakfast was beautifully presented in an unfussy way and the hot food was hot with a wide selection of foods. The seating was well laid out with good space between the tables. An excellent guesthouse.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 15, 2017

    9.2
    Great value, good service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bad slightly softer

    Friendly reception, warm and welcoming. Room spacious - bed was firm rather than forgiving. Excellent breakfast, help yourself to full cooked breakfast, refills and more toast offered. Excellent value for money.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 13, 2017

    10
    Great value hotel with excellent services
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double, Shared Bath
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Um , perhaps they can do something with the pressure of the shower, sometimes it can feels as weak as raindrops....

    The staff tried really hard to make you feel home. Breakfasts and services was great. With a hint of classical music they play in the morning, everything is just perfect.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 4, 2017

    8.3
    The Ben Doran Guest House is close enough to Edinburgh for you to walk into.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Ensuite Double
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I didn’t like that there is a 3% charge if you pay by card. The breakfast is buffet style not made to order.

    There was a bus stop outside with plenty of buses into the town. The owners were very friendly. The bed was large. There was plenty of tea/coffee with extra outside of the room. Toiletries and tissues were provided.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 3, 2017

    8.8
    Okay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double, Shared Bath
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Being charged 3% surcharge for paying by debit card. We're were not informed about this until it was time to pay. I've never been charged 3% for using a debit card in my life. I am still totally confused as to why they charge it as no explanation was given. I would have recommended this guest house, however due to the cheeky extra charge, I would no longer recommend as I feel it makes them a little sneaky and untrustworthy.

    Staff were very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: November 29, 2017

    8.8
    Very helpful staff and big, comfortable room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Ensuite Double
    • Stayed 1 night

    Shower pressure was very poor. Some veggie sausages/veggie alternatives would have been nice at breakfast.

    Very helpful staff and big, comfortable room. Breakfast was pretty good and they cooked scrambled eggs to order. On site parking in small car park is a bonus. Although some cars were boxed due to size/layout of parking site. If you're going out for the day, staff will take your car key in order to move your car if blocking in another guest. Alternatively, they will call you to do so yourself if you are in your room.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 27, 2017

    7.5
    Pleasant stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Ensuite Double
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Booked into a deluxe room but it didn't appear to be. Shower cubicle very small. Both mornings ran out of breakfast items. Didn't appear to cater for the amount of rooms.

    Staff were friendly. B and b very clean. easy access to city centre as opposite a bus stop but also walking distance.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 26, 2017

    10
    Christmas market
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing really negative to say...unless your a snob its a great wee place for a stay .

    Parking available ,bus stop to city centre right outside , clean and friendly .

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: October 29, 2017

    5.8
    Only two parking spaces.
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Deluxe Ensuite Double
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Only two parking spaces. Creaky floor boards. Woken at 7:30 with loud piano music. Shower extremely small. Room in need of upgrading, and this was the superior room. Dirty carpet. Chair was dirty and old. Dead fly in the kettle. Breakfast very underwhelming, cheap quality food. The woman serving the breakfast ignored our table. Would not return.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: September 29, 2017

    9.6
    A very clean and well maintained place -a pleasure to stay in
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double, Shared Bath
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms we got were with sharing bathrooms (own fault while booking) Tea and Coffee could be in the rooms rather than in the common area

    The hosts were very polite, helpful and pleasant people. The property is well located and is immaculately clean and well maintained. Breakfast served was sumptuous and very well prepared. It was a pleasure staying at the property.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 5, 2017

    9.6
    Ideal accommodation for a few days with a good quality money balance
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was an additional 3% charge if you wanted to pay by card and they didn't tell us until we arrived.

    Amazing B&B with a perfect location close to the centre and very confi bed and facilities

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: August 31, 2017

    6.7
    Adequate for purpose but comparatively expensive.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Ensuite Double
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom facilities lacked any shelving to both the shower cubicle and wash hand basin. The decorations are very dated. The bed was not the most comfortable, mattress too soft but with a very hard edge. No guide on using tv. No little extras such as a box of tissues or bottled water. On cost for using credit card for payment.

    Location was good. Bed linen and towels were very fresh.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 15, 2017

    7.9
    An excellent weekend, lovely clean B&B very close to all of the attractions.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Ensuite Double
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Although there was a good selection at breakfast, including fruit, cereals and yoghurt, the hot selection was all pre-cooked and the only eggs available were hard boiled. Based on the cost of this B&B I would have expected breakfast cooked to order with a choice of eggs.

    The staff were all very welcoming and friendly, we were provided with a list of the buses and a map of the area. The cleanliness of the B&B was superb throughout. Although a little way out it was only a steady 30 minute walk into the main area of Edinburgh and there were plenty of buses if you didn't fancy the walk.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 11, 2017

    6.3
    Very poor value for money with electrical safety issues
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Ensuite Double
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Overall, the room we stayed in was somewhat drab and tired, although it was clean and had fresh bed linen. It was disappointing to be told that there was a 3% surcharge for payment by credit card. Not enough room in the dining room to accommodate all guests at once. Very poor quality breakfast and had to specifically ask for a fried egg. Mains plug on hair drier hanging off and the electric shower case was also not secured properly. To be fair the hair drier was replaced immediately, but the shower case was not touched, despite informing the staff. In my opinion, at £185+ per night it represented very poor value for money.

    Friendly, welcoming staff. Location - Bus stop into Edinburgh right opposite. Car parking on forecourt. Huge comfortable bed.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 4, 2017

    7.5
    Birthday treat
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Music 1st thing a bit much at 7-15 playing piano music steam from the breakfast buffet as I opened it burnt my wrist

    Lovely big bed and lovely room loved it

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 1, 2017

    7.5
    Pleasant, comfortable accommodation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Ensuite Double
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Sadly the breakfast was poor, cooked in advance and kept warm. They state full Scottish, but it falls far short of that. Coffee tasted as though it was instant. Big pot of tea only had one tea bag in it. staff seemed reluctant to engage with guests. Our room had a dated feel to it, both decor and furnishings.

    Extra tea and coffee supplies on the landing should you run out of anything in your room. Friendly host.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 11, 2017

    5.0
    Overpriced & not near centre
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Ensuite Double
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It's over priced & we paid for breakfast wich was between 8am & 9.30am we went down at 9am it was a buffet style breakfast there was nothing left. I would not recommend or use this hotel again.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: May 30, 2017

    4.2
    Disappointed, pricey but hey - ho, that's Edinburgh
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double, Shared Bath
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast time 8 to 9 could be longer Only boiled eggs on offer, no choice, but they fried me one on request Full Scottish Breakfast - NOT Bathroom disappointed Parking in front of house small and full

    Reasonably comfortable bed.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 28, 2017

    9.6
    very happy till the day of departing
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Single, Shared Bath
    • Stayed 7 nights

    I was too I could not park on the last day and was advised to park in a back street in one of the parking bays, when I returned I had got a parking ticket of £60 as it was residential parking only, I contact the guest house and was told to speak to the council, no sympathy at all

    it was hot and fresh and all ways on time but I could have wish they could start a bit earlier

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 19, 2017

    7.9
    Convenient and comfortable
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Single, Shared Bath
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wifi didn`t work in my room, so I had to work from the dining area. There were no vegetables for breakfast (except mushrooms in the full English breakfast). The room shared a shower with another 2-3 rooms and I would have preferred my own (the showers were very clean though).

    I liked the room itself, it was small but with its own sink and on the sunny side. The staff were friendly. The accommodation was near a big road with good links to the city center, the Holyrood park was a walking distance and I think some business/shopping center was 10 minutes down the road.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 10, 2017

    8.3
    Friendly and welcoming.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Ensuite Double
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Wifi was temperamental on the top floor where we were based

    The lady who did front of house was really friendly and helpful. When we were going on an early morning trip before breakfast was served she packed us up a generous picnic to take with us on the train

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 9, 2017

    6.3
    Handy for the Queens Hall
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Ensuite Double
    • Stayed 1 night

    The shower was a trickle totally unsuitable for washing hair; there was no mirror near an electrical point; wakened twice during the night by people banging door of communal bathroom; breakfast was poor - although we were immediately offered tea/coffee and toast nothing else was mentioned, we then enquired if we just helped ourselves and did so but the selection was very limited. Another guest told us later that if you wanted an egg you had to order it. Staff could have been more informative.

    Bright sunny room although a little dated, very clean, lovely dishes and cutlery in breakfast room.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 8, 2017

    8.3
    Nice and clean hotel with friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double, Shared Bath
    • Stayed 4 nights

    It is about a 20 - 25 min walk to the city center from the hotel. Although this is not very far away, the hotel is clearly located in the more sub-urban part of town where there aren't many activities in the evening. Our room was at the street side, which was rather noisy in the evening / night, due to poor isolation. For a light sleeper, this might be a less confortable.

    We really liked the that the staff was friendly and helpful, and that the hotel and our room was very clean! Also the breakfast was very enjoyable, with a proper English breakfast being served.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: April 13, 2017

    6.3
    It was ok for one night but wouldn't stay there again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Ensuite Double
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Was charged a fee for paying by debit card. Was unaware of that beforehand. Was very unhappy about that. Parking space for 6 cars only and that is with one parked in front of the other, so if you want out you have to go looking for other person to move their car.

    Bed was comfortable and everything was clean

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: March 28, 2017

    9.6
    Very happy with our 3 night stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Ensuite Double
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Our double room was lovely and well maintained and the entrance hall really impressive with the sweeping staircase. Breakfast was delicious and there was lots of choice. The staff were pleasant and polite. We had no problem getting into the centre of Edinburgh as there is a bus stop just across the road which provides a reliable and cheap bus service. Just need to remember to have the right fare as no change is given on any of the buses. Was just right for our requirements and we really enjoyed our three night stay.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: March 17, 2017

    7.9
    Overall, good for stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No lift for people with knee pain that is pity. Paid by card but were asked for surcharged 3£ more which never happened before. When check-in we were suggested by reception that we could left car parking at hotel car park for some hours the second day after Checkout, that could make our city center visit lot more easier, but the owner didn't seem to want to help. So, paid some extra pounds and were hurried to get driving away.

    Not too far from city center.The room is tidy and and clean, the room size is huge big. The breakfast is nice.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: March 16, 2017

    8.8
    Loved my stay here
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Ensuite Double
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    Staff were so kind and helpful Location is very good - you can walk to city centre and various attractions as long as you have a map Loads of eateries nearby Really clean and cosy I would definitely recommend this guest house.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: February 26, 2017

    7.9
    Chic, elegant B&B with fantastic staff and breakfast!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Ensuite Double
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The only negative on the stay was that the shower had no pressure and was difficult to use. There was a bath but had low pressure as well!

    Staff were lovely, very accomadating. Breakfast was lovely. The room was very chic and elegant. Would defo stay again, however please note that when it says Deluxe room this mean Standard as Deluxe is the entry level room they have.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: February 21, 2017

    4.6
    Nice bed
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Single, Shared Bath
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was upset of shared bathroom. In the booking offer WAS NOT REPORTED that I have to share the bathroom with 5 other rooms!!!!!!! Actually there are often written "SHARED" bathroom in booking.com hotel offers but mostly (according to my experience) the shared bathroom was meant that the bathroom is shared with that only one rookm were I have stayed. With The Ben Doran Guest House I was very dissatisfied because that is signed as a 4-stars hotel and there are shared bathrooms???? In a 4-stars hotel is it IMPOSSIBLE! to share a bathroom with other 5(!!!!) rooms!! I have to request a compensation for that room because for 48 GBP was it too expensive (because of that shared bathroom). My dissatisfaction was because of that issue too high so I absolutely do not recommend that hotel to my friends or other travellers.

    Nice bed

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: January 14, 2017

    5.4
    Two nights in winter.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Ensuite Double
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There was an option, when booking, for a standard double bed or an extra large. I opted for the extra large but got a standard double. No heating in en suite bathroom. Room was cramped. Cob webs hanging from the ceiling. Breakfast was good but could have done with cooked tomatoes and poached/fried eggs to go with the bacon, sausage, and black pudding.

    The warmth as you entered the building as it was freezing outside. Deli Diner nearby was excellent.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: January 8, 2017

    7.5
    Clean within was walking distance (25 minutes) to main...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Extraction fan in bathroom very noisy. A freshly cooked breakfast to order would have been appreciated

    Clean within was walking distance (25 minutes) to main centre. On a bus route

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: January 3, 2017

    9.2
    Charming
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double, Shared Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I'm surprised at some of the complaints and ponder what was expected? Its a charming B&B with a bus stop directly across to go to and from places. Information given for traveling tourists, available packed lunches and helpful staff if you do have questions that don't patronise you, simply help you and smile. If anything my only complaint is that I had to leave the comthy bed!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: November 5, 2016

    8.3
    Friendliness of staff and helpfulness booking taxis etc.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Breakfast limited to 8am-9am.when on holiday like to relax and not have to be timed. But it was an excellent breakfast.

    Friendliness of staff and helpfulness booking taxis etc.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: October 22, 2016

    10
    Amazing cosy place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Ensuite Double
    • Stayed 1 night

    Amazing little gem. In a really nice part of the city. Rooms are very clean and just lovely. Really nice that it was possible to get vegetarian breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: October 4, 2016

    7.9
    quaint b&b
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double, Shared Bath
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed was very hard and looked like a small double bed, not much room to try and get comfy. Freshly cooked breakfast instead of buffet would have been nicer. Bit dried out and little choice, scrambled egg or no egg

    The location was fine. Nice room although very dated. Well equipped. Staff very nice.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: October 2, 2016

    7.1
    Nice stay but knowledge-less staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The fact that our advance request was accepted but totally ignored. When we asked for the manager to complain we found it was him we were talking to. He was asking us what vegans eat as if he could satisfy our need for a vegan breakfast, which had been booked, without any knowledge of what a vegan ate. No soy milk. Beans mushrooms and tomatoes and bread was all. No effort or planning. We will be claiming a full refund.

    Nothing except the staffs belated inadequate efforts.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: September 6, 2016

    5.0
    The gentleman help us up with the bags.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double, Shared Bath
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The shower was cold, Sunday morning breakfast the man keep coming in checking on what were eating and counting the cutlery made my mother uncomfortable that she didn't eat much. We were only there about 20 top he came in 15 times.

    The gentleman help us up with the bags.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: August 29, 2016

    5.4
    It is the same price as other rooms,252 for 2nights ,but we...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It is the same price as other rooms,252 for 2nights ,but we even didn't know it is a basement before check in. The room haven't good light ,smells like to be wet.The tube sounds loudly when it was used and the water press is unstable !

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: August 22, 2016

    8.8
    The bed was really comfortable, and plenty of refreshments...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Single, Shared Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Shower took 10 minutes to run warm, carparking is very restricted to 3 vehicles if any more you have to leave your keys so cars can be moved. Limited menu is quite expensive,but is good to have.

    The bed was really comfortable, and plenty of refreshments available, also breakfast was very good and high quality.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: August 17, 2016

    7.9
    Review of Edinburgh Stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Single, Shared Bath
    • Stayed 2 nights

    1. Wifi on the second floor is weak, which can be a bother. 2. I had a bathroom outside so the single room was quite small.

    The location is very good as the city centre is a walkable distance. The staff is friendly and courteous and they were able to give me a room earlier than their usual time when I requested them to.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: June 12, 2018

    10
    Comfortable three nights spent at this Guest House.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Single, Shared Bath
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Lots of choice for breakfast, laid out on a serve yourself basis, you can eat as much as you want. Coffee is very good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 11, 2018

    7.9
    Great breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing great hotel

    Great breakfast

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: May 16, 2018

    7.1
    Location was lovely, a short (really easy) bus ride into the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Location was lovely, a short (really easy) bus ride into the middle of town.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 15, 2018

    9.2
    Good value for money just outside the city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Ensuite Double
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There are a lot of stairs so pack light!

    Good breakfast included, cute and comfy rooms and peaceful, quiet night’s sleep.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 14, 2018

    9.2
    A great value for money friendly & comfortable place to stay in a beautiful historic city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Ensuite Double
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Excellent location, room & breakfast. Just a short walk to Arthur's Seat & into the city centre.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 13, 2018

    8.3
    perfect breakfast, beautiful decoration
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Ensuite Double
    • Stayed 2 nights

    One of the two mattress seemed to be old/not in its original shape

    perfect breakfast, beautiful decoration

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: May 1, 2018

    7.5
    Was alright for work purpose, but not for a holiday stop
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double, Shared Bath
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Parking & the room was small

    Location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 30, 2018

    10
    Loved it, if we come to Edinburgh again, would love to stay there again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I would love to have the breakfast later 😉

    Awesome comfy bed 👌🏼

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 9, 2018

    7.5
    Lovely breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Ensuite Double
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lovely breakfast

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: March 31, 2018

    8.3
    Very friendly staff and great breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Ensuite Double
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    All the doors were very noisy when closing.

    Coffee and tea stations on each floor

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 26, 2018

    8.8
    Close enough to be easy for getting in and out of town, parking no problem and a very pleasant stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double, Shared Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nice comfortable and clean accommodation with friendly staff.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 24, 2018

    9.6
    Comfortable within easy reach of restaurants,shopping centre and a reasonable walk to town centre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Ensuite Double
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    As above needs a new carpet.

    Staff very friendly and helpful. Breakfast excellent. Room could do with a new carpet otherwise very comfortable.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 4, 2018

    8.3
    Perfect for a short tourist stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Single, Shared Bath
    • Stayed 1 night

    An extra blanket for the cold winter night would have been welcome.

    Delicious breakfast, comfortable bed and clean bathroom. Very happy.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 4, 2018

    10
    Everything was amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double, Shared Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Everything was amazing.. the staff really nice.. Everything was clean and comfortable..

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 7, 2018

    7.5
    Friendly staff clean and tidy everything i needed and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Ensuite Double
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Shower not the best

    Friendly staff clean and tidy everything i needed and reasonable price big shout out to alexandra

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 5, 2018

    5.8
    Disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double, Shared Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Man at property very rude breakfast was poor beds hard

    It was very clean

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: December 17, 2017

    9.6
    Confortable and causy
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Single, Shared Bath
    • Stayed 5 nights

    A little bit noisy during the night due to main road proximity

    Gorgeous breakfast, Management courtesy, very clean and well mantained

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: November 22, 2017

    7.9
    Cozy room, nice stuff, delicious breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double, Shared Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It is not in the city centre, but the neighbourhood is OK

    Nice stuff, delicious breakfast, cozy room

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 6, 2017

    9.6
    Perfectly comfortable. Good value for money. Friendly helpful staff
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Single, Shared Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Decor rather dated.

    Comfortable bed. Friendly helpful staff. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: October 23, 2017

    7.5
    Easy to walk to maintain areas
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nice and quiet area and parking

    Easy to walk to maintain areas

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 2, 2017

    7.9
    Staff were nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Single, Shared Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Clean and quiet

    Staff were nice

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 1, 2017

    7.5
    Perfectly acceptable accommodation
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Single, Shared Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Shared bathroom but it was clean. High ceilings in rooms, Victorian property, felt spacious. Good for a one night stay. Breakfast nice.

    Stayed in September 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse The Ben Doran Guest House Traveler Photo Gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: