Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Ben Lawers Hotel 3 stars

A827, Lawers, PH15 2PA, United Kingdom

#2 of 2 hotels in Lawers

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 229 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.3

  • Comfort

    8.1

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    7.7

  • Staff

    8.2

  • Value for money

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Large Family Room (Room 4)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I orginally booked the family room for 2 guests but a week or so after another friend decided to join us. I called the venue to confirm if 3 ppl on the booking would be fine. A lady answered and said it was totally fine. But when we arrived at the destination and checked in which happended to be in the dinning hall/bar the manager who did'nt really introduce himself starting telling me i only booked for 2 ppl and there was going to be an extra charge- I explained my phone call and he basically told me its impossible as he only anwers the phone. So after a few explanations in front of a crowded dinning hall who were all sitting watching the show -I decided to just let it go and just pay the extra as it wasnt the end of the world but just wanted to end the conversation given our audience. The converation really could not have taken place where it did. It was more his attitude towards us and his insistance that I never called! On check out He did charge us an extra child price instead but then still brought up and approached the phone call situation with a fierce denial that none of his staff took my call. I really dont think that i would travel to a hotel in the middle of nowhere and try "wing it" with an extra guest and risk not having a place to sleep for the 3 person in my group. I just feel he had a serious condecending approach and this happened even with our meals as he served us. Perhaps he was having a busy week but his hot and cold approach was really off putting. And it's always the first impressions that count. We didnt feel welcome at all and put a real damper on our road trip.

    The view of the loch

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room (Room 1)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff were friendly and the room was very nice. There is a bar area with outside seating and food served. Everyone was friendly and the locals happy to chat. The room was very nice and comfortable and the bathroom had everything that we needed. Selection of shower gels, shampoo etc, with a bath, with shower. Very happy with the room and the comfortable chairs. The view was so nice over the loch and over the country side. received a warm welcome and the evening meal was very nice. Breakfast was also a well cooked meal and left full ready for the day out. This would be a good place to stay in the winter with the fires on in the bar and enjoying the food. Would be happy to come back here again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Just the shower didn´t work properly but that wasn´t a big deal :-)

    The host was very friendly and the place so beautiful. I highly recommend this accomodation.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room (Room 1)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room (as much of the hotel) face the road rather than the loch. This wasn't very clear in the description. We were made to feel we had to have dinner as soon as we arrived as there was a band playing that night. My partner had the fish and chips which was amazing. I had cajun chicken which wasn't very nice. The room was ok and in the morning at check out we were massively overcharged which the owner then did then come after us to amend however he still seemed confused by how much we should pay. It was not the best start to our Scottish trip (the rest of which was fabulous)

    The Fish and Chips

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room (Room 1)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    The hotel was stunning from the time you entered the foyer. Suite, staff the meal were all first class. Will definitely come again if the opportunity arises.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Compact Double Room (Room 3)
    • Stayed 1 night

    This was a very friendly little hotel, with amazing food and a superb bar. Paul and Dee are lovely people and go out of their way to make you feel at home. Will definitely be back for a visit.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Compact Double Room (Room 3)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing I can pick apart are the pillows in the room, I like firm ones but there were soft .

    The owner was very attentive and talkative. Overall a very good hotel :-)

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Compact Double Room (Room 3)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    I loved this wee hotel..Was amazing waking up to spectacular views across the mountain range. The room was cosy and clean and the bed was super comfortable. The hospitality was great. Friendly family that own it who gave us some advice about walking in the area. The food was to die for. Had the steak pie and it was a huge portion and so tasty..the cheesecake was to die for. Seasonally being a cream egg one due to the Easter weekend. Breakfast was fresh and tasty and plentiful. Lots of new born lambs nearby which was amazing too. Spectacular views over the loch and a pretty good pint too. Will be back. Highly recommend.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room (Room 1)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location, a stunning setting and great owners who looked after us and gave us some tips on walking routes for the area. The food and drink was also brilliant and great value, the fish and chips in particular was huge. We really enjoyed being there and neither of us wanted to come home!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Compact Double Room (Room 3)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food was poor. Arrived at 130 pm and requested early check in. Refused, told 4 pm. Hotel empty. Drove to local pub til 4. Not offered use of lounge. Amazed.

    Location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room (Room 1)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Food was excellent , good choice and large portions, Paul and Dee were great hosts and couldn’t do enough to help.Our dog was made to feel very welcome , our 3night break was perfect , would definitely book again .

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double En Suite (Room 2)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Proprietors over slept in the morning, no one available to cook breakfast, or check us out. They eventually answered phone at 12.30 pm so we could arrange to pay for meal we had previous evening. Not happy

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Compact Double Room (Room 3)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bedroom was well equipped and the hotel was nice and tidy. There were fireplaces in some of the downstairs public rooms which were lit, which made it really cosy. We liked the small living room with games, books etc. We arrived on a night when there was live music playing, so we went downstairs for that and really had a good night. Great atmosphere in the bar and the food was good quality. Slept like a dream and really enjoyed the breakfast in the morning!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Compact Double Room (Room 3)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A lovely, cosy and quiet location with beautiful views. Near the Old Lawers village ruins and Ben Lawers, outstanding panorama on Loch Tay... and a warm welcome. We hope to visit again soon!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room (Room 1)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ok.I'm a big guy, there's no getting away from that, but the toilet in room 1 is a ridiculously tight fit. I go away a hell of a lot and this is the first time I've ever struggled at home or abroad.

    The bed was comfortable and the shower was good. The food is a little pricey but when you see the size of the meals it's understandable.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double En Suite (Room 2)
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was a little bit of mould/damp on the ceiling in the shower.

    On the main road so great stop off when travelling around. Lovely view from our room over the Loch. Nicely styled room. Everything very clean. Nice restaurant and bar. We'd stay there again.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double En Suite (Room 2)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing .

    Paul and D thank you so much for making us feel so at home. We enjoyed our chats and would like to have stayed longer. We will just have to plan on coming back. Our dog made it through surgery and thank you again for helping us contact my daughter to check on him. Great service. Wonderful hosts. Good food.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double En Suite (Room 2)
    • Stayed 1 night

    fantastic place to explore trails around loch and that's probably what most of the guest is doing there. View from the hills is amazing also it is a bit historic place too. Near by are remains of the old village, beautiful area.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No wifi available but I was aware of that before I booked.

    Fabulous location. Room was very comfortable and beautifully decorated. The food was excellent.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Family Room (Room 4)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The man & his wife who run it were overworked; they did everything, and I mean everything, 17 hrs a day, 7 days/week without anyone at all to help and it shows. I don't like to stay somewhere where I feel sorry for the people running it. Breakfast was OK but could have been more generous (included just one egg, one small sausage, small rasher etc, no yoghurts, bread rolls croissants etc that I could see, no-one asked if it was OK) while the orange juice, which I had to drain from the bottom of a big decanter, tasted a bit off. B/fast times, only 8-9, a bit restrictive for a hotel. Also, the 'superior' room with loch view etc was block booked all year (and next); I can't blame the business for taking a good contract but that non-availability and the above probably dissuades us from returning in the future.

    Thre location was wonderful as always - we have stayed several times before in previous years. The dinner was excellent and good-size portions. Good to know they are now open all year.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Compact Double Room (Room 3)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had to come home.Nothing not to like...

    Paul at Ben lawers hotel was very welcoming and the location is second to none.Food is fantastic value for money..

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Large Family Room (Room 4)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The mattress was extremely soft which was fine for me but my husband found it a little too soft for his liking!

    Very comfy bed and only 5 minutes drive from the starting carpark for Ben Lawers

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 4 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only thing was that breakfast was only cooked up to 9am meaning we had to get up a bit earlier than we would have preferred after a late night.

    You would find it difficult to get a nicer place for the price we paid. We went to a wedding locally, so, left our bags at the hotel before the wedding and were offered the chance at 12.30 pm to use the rooms before the wedding. We returned at mid-night to very comfortable rooms and slept well in comfortable beds. Views are first class, over Loch Tay and mountains. Breakfast was cooked for individual taste in the morning and was fine. Altogether a good atmosphere and nice place to stay for a great price.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Compact Double Room (Room 3)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    -

    Very calm location, nice owner, cozy room, great cooked breakfast. There's a nice short walk to the lake that starts just at the hotel, also some bigger walks just nearby. We also had dinner at the downstairs pub one night which was very good. Outstanding value for money, in most of the other places we stayed in Scotland we paid more for much much less.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room (Room 1)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The food available onsite was outstanding! The room was very comfortable and clean. The view was fantastic. There is a village ruin from the Highland Clearances a short walk away. The room contained a book with a lot of local information and history.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double En Suite (Room 2)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Paul's effort at breakfast, and his malt of the month

    Very approachable couple,willing to help you. Comfortable room and breakfast cooked to perfection

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Compact Double Room (Room 3)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing really- it is a bit out of the way so dont expect anything in the way of night life.

    Very good value hotel , good food and clean comfortable room.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double En Suite (Room 2)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A restricted view from the room but around the hotel the views were fantastic. For a small highland hotel it was just what I expected . These hotels have a charm and are sometimes tired but this one was fairly up to date . It was certainly clean and confortable.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double En Suite (Room 2)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The décor is a little tired, but it is a Walkers Hotel - was not expecting the Ritz.

    This is a lovely little Hotel, ideal for Walkers, clean comfortable rooms and friendly staff. Fantastic location. Restaurant serves very good home cooked pub food, and plenty of it! Real Ale, nice wine and very good value for money. Will be back.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Compact Double Room (Room 3)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was great and we really enjoyed having dinner at Ben Lawyers. The issue we had was regarding the noise of the bar downstairs. We went down 3 times to ask the owner to turn the music down but the noise in the room was unacceptable. The bar was open till 2:30am and that is when we finally got some sleep. There was no acknowledgement the following morning and was denied by the owner.

    location and breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Compact Double Room (Room 3)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Radio 1 on at tea time!

    Friendly welcoming staff. Cosy surroundings with log fire in the lounge and bar areas. Stunning views of Loch Tay and surrounding mountains.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double En Suite (Room 2)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was cold, could try a heated towel rail to heat the bathroom.

    The owners and locals were very welcoming and friendly, the log fires were very homely and relaxing after a day out good place to chill out, breakfast was excellent, rooms very clean and comfy bed.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Compact Double Room (Room 3)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed was really soft, but that may be personal preference.

    The food for dinner was incredible. The Room was cosy, and the whole vibe was incredibly relaxing.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Compact Double Room (Room 3)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No issues whatsoever. Wifi would have been a plus though.

    Arrived late, owners reopened kitchen so I could have food. Helpful with directions in the morning.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room (Room 1)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were rude and unpleasant. Food was overpriced, cheap and cold and breakfast wasnthe worse I have ever had.

    The location of the hotel has amazing veiws

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Compact Double Room (Room 3)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only downside was having to share a table at breakfast with another couple. There were plenty of tables but none of us were given a choice as only 2 tables were set and there were 4 rooms. We are sociable people but we like our own space and we wouldn't choose to sit in a cafe or a restaurant at a table with people we don't know so don't think we should be expected to share a table in a hotel.

    Lovely quaint hotel in a beautiful setting overlooking Loch Tay. The owner was very friendly and helpful. The food in the evening and breakfast were both delicious!

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double En Suite (Room 2)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cold water tap not working shower took long time to regulate dim lighting musty carpets in hallway and sitting rooms had to share a table with other couple at breakfast

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2016

    • Group
    • 4 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The proprietor, Paul was the rudest man I've ever met in any establishment. Our stay at the Ben Lawers hotel was the only negative aspect of an otherwise perfect wedding. He couldn't have been more unhelpful, rude or unfriendly if he'd done a masters degree in it. He turned away one of our wedding party guests at 2am, whose key we'd left in the room for him, he is 88 years old. Shameful. So we paid for a room that was empty. After friends joined us and paid for breakfast, he locked the front door so they were unable to re-enter and use the facilities. Our wedding, reception and after party were not at the hotel, we were barely there and always quiet and courteous yet our presence seemed to get on his nerves. By the end of the weekend I couldn't look at him, he made me feel physically ill. Hope he finds a new career really soon, a prison guard perhaps. I've always loved that hotel but would never set foot in it again while he is there.

    The only good thing was the location.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Compact Double Room (Room 3)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very difficult to get out of both sides of the double bed in the very small room. Mould in shower. It was a very disappointing greeting when we arrived. A general lack of awareness of customer service prevailed

    Location, quiet lounge area available as well as the bar and restaurant area

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Compact Double Room (Room 3)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the manager was the worst host ive ever come across dog friendly never ive a large lab and the manager hated him from the time we entered the hotel untill we left. after a over 2 hour drive we arrived at 12 noon too be advised the hotel on a friday did not open until 12.30 pm and we were advised checkin time was 4 pm. breakfast was the worst ive ever seen no choice porridge fresh fruit or grapefruit and only fried eggs no scrambled poached boiled ect no extra coffee only 1 cup no extra toast only one slice and the managers appearance was second too dismal and too be told on saturday after we had been up in the highland in wind and rain that they were busy and only time left for evening meal was after 9 pm and if we were coming too eat too leave the dog in our room . i do not recommend a stay at this hotel at all .

    nothing at all worst hotel ive ever stayed in

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Compact Double Room (Room 3)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly owners, really interested in getting things right and nothing was to much trouble for them. Room was very clean and had good facilities. Only downside was hairdryer, which was a typical hotel dryer with limited capabilities, however did not impact stay and most people bring there own nowadays, but was good for a back up! Food was also really good homemade chips, good portion size.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Family Room (Room 4)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The place is run most of the day by a single person, the boss, who was the unfriendliest and rudest person we met while travelling in Scotland for 10 days. As we stepped in he "greeted" us by waving his hands like a maniac shouting that we had parked our car under a No Parking sign. (It was pouring with rain and we had parked parallel to a wall on the side of the hotel. We just hadn't noticed the hand written sign). As my partner spelled "I'm sorry" he disappeared and for a few moments we just stood there wondering "what was that"! Then a very young lady appeared without A SINGLE HELLO OR SMILE and showed us to our room. The place has unkempt and dirty common areas. Smelled a horrible mixture of paint, diesel gas, fried food... My advice: don't waste your money there!

    Location

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Compact Double Room (Room 3)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked through booking.com to include dinner. To our surprise we could have ordered the dinner straight from the menu at lower cost. We felt deceived with this. The owner was unwilling to show any flexibility because we had booked the dinner in advance. We think the dinner option should be removed from the booking site. The owner admitted the charge was based on the previous owners menu and prices.

    Dinner was good, decent portions and tasty. Breakfast was also very good. Wines were reasonably priced although limited choice.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Compact Double Room (Room 3)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not a lot, small hotel in a great location, friendly staff. We'd repeat.

    Very clean, charming staff excellent breakfast. Beautiful location, no internet GREAT!!!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Compact Double Room (Room 3)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly atmosphere. Comfortable bed. The room was very clean and fresh. Beautiful view of Loch Tay. A very charming hotel. Good pub food with big portions suitable for hikers.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Family Room (Room 4)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom a bit tired - but perfectly adequate.

    The proprietor seemed committed to making the hotel a worthwhile place to stay. Meals very good - excellent for vegetarians as well.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room (Room 1)
    • Stayed 1 night

    No Wifi, shower only did warm and cooking.

    The lasagne in the restaurant was very good. The hotel overlooks Loch Tay. The room was comfy and has everything you expect from a hotel room.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double En Suite (Room 2)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    there was nothing we did not like

    everything was perfect location was ideal for us made very welcome with our little dog staff were lovely and courteous

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double En Suite (Room 2)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would be good if wifi was available, though equally was fine to be offline for a couple of days!

    Pet friendly, very comfortable and great breakfast. Good location for exploring the surrounding area with fantastic scenery.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Compact Double Room (Room 3)
    • Stayed 1 night

    We stayed An Stuc (compact double). The bed was really comfortable and décor really nice. The staff are very friendly and the food good. An ideal base for our walking break.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double En Suite (Room 2)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    none

    location.the offer of packed lunch for people off out before 8am

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Couple
    • Large Family Room (Room 4)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    lovely breakfast

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double En Suite (Room 2)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No faults

    Great food and drink. Peaceful and remote

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Compact Double Room (Room 3)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    skimpy breakfast, 1 sausage,1 slice bacon, half tomato, and 3 small mushrooms

    evening meals were scrumptious, huge portions, and well cooked

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room (Room 1)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    nothing

    views from room were excellent

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room (Room 1)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location. Views. Oldy world feel - I doubt if there was one right angle in room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double En Suite (Room 2)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No wifi

    Really tasty food came quickly, hotel has lovely homely feel. Staff very friendly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Compact Double Room (Room 3)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff couldn’t have tried harder to be helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room (Room 1)
    • Stayed 1 night

    extra comfy bed

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Compact Double Room (Room 3)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent food!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Compact Double Room (Room 3)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff not very welcoming or helpful. Food disappointing.... we have stayed here before and it used to be much better

    Location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Compact Double Room (Room 3)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The owners are lovely, very dog friendly, beautiful rooms, lovely meals and very quiet would defiantly recommend. Kim

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Compact Double Room (Room 3)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No wifi during our stay

    Adorable hotel, friendly low-key manager who prepared all our meals for us

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Compact Double Room (Room 3)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Would have been ideal to get in at 9.00am when I arrived but wasn't open.

    Excellent dinner and breakfast

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Family Room (Room 4)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Paul and Dee are very friendly, we were made to feel welcome, served great food and enjoyed their company at the bar

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Compact Double Room (Room 3)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of wifi

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double En Suite (Room 2)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Caring and considerate, in attractive countryside. We would return.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Compact Double Room (Room 3)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing special just a nice place for one night.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Compact Double Room (Room 3)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was pleasant .An enjoyable visit.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Compact Double Room (Room 3)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very cramped bedroom and very small ensuite. No hot water in shower in the morning because it was already used to fill bath in another room.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Compact Double Room (Room 3)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We had an enjoyable stay and would gladly come back.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Compact Double Room (Room 3)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Cleaniness, especially the bathroom and the sheets. The smell in the hotel was not pleasant.

    The shower provided a good water pressure!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Compact Double Room (Room 3)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    Great hosts, beautiful rooms and delicious food. The beds are really comfortable! The surroundings is magnificent! Recommend it!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Compact Double Room (Room 3)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bedroom and toilet was a a bit cramped.

    Good location, comfy and warm atmosphere - nice views and close to many attraction.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double En Suite (Room 2)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were extremely friendly and helpful and the hotel had a wonderful relaxing atmosphere.

    Stayed in July 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: