Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Bessemer Hotel 3 stars

Hermon Close, Merthyr Tydfil, CF48 3DP, United Kingdom

#3 of 6 hotels in Merthyr Tydfil

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 412 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    8.1

  • Location

    7.8

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    8.4

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    9.6
    Amazing hotel, carvary is a must
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleaner left room unlocked and unattended. Whether it was 2-3mins long was not happy about it. Nothing was took. Just a reall shame it happened otherwise would say best hotel we have stayed in.

    Carvary amazing, breakfast free with stay. Location in a good place. Will stay again.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    9.2
    Merthyr Tydfil
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quite difficult to find not the hotels fault but naming of the road. 3 parts to the road. Need number.

    Staff very helpful and friendly. Room was clean and bathroom had both bath and shower.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    7.9
    Apart from below very noce hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast could have more selection like fruit and pastries also they could do with more disabled rooms as they inly have 1

    Apart from below very noce hotel

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2018

    5.4
    Breakfast was nice, also the hotel was clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel photos are not quite the same as the room you are in, also hotel is tired and needs updating. Hotel location is on the edge of a housing estate,our room over looked rear gardens. Floor boards creak in the two rooms we booked along with the room next door, this did keep us awake during the night. We arrived on the Sunday expecting to eat there in the evening. Kitchen closes on Sundays at 5pm

    Breakfast was nice, also the hotel was clean.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    4.2
    Dislikes and likes
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The creakiness when you walk about. It also disturbs next door rooms. It could be modernised and the upholstery cleaning in the dining areas

    The breakfast was very nice.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    7.1
    Only stayed the one night but that bed was enough .
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Single bed in room 205 blooming awful creaks and shakes when you turn over the base and mattress are past there sell by date . Guest in room 204 when walking in his room the floor boards were creaking in ours felt like we were in the same room !

    Cleanliness & friendliness of staff

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    9.6
    Lovely newly refurbished room, excellent value for money and friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing for the price. Extremely good value for money.

    This was such a cute little hotel with a newly refurbished room. The décor was very glamorous, clean and spacious. The bed was very comfortable and it was quiet. It's extremely good value for money and a short drive to the town of Merthyr Tydfil. The parking at the hotel is excellent. I loved coming home to the spa bath after a long day hiking. Having breakfast included was also excellent.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    7.5
    Excellent carvery at night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Noise from kitchen fan, couldn't open window because of the noise and smell of cooking

    Excellent carvery at night. good modern rooms with every facility

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    9.5
    Lovely hotel, pleasant welcoming staff, room excellent value, spotlessly clean, restaurant great
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Floor boards were very creaky and very noisy when walking across room. One light not working in vanity unit next to wardrobe. 2nd room not re furbished to nearly the standard of the first room.

    Booked two rooms, one was pure luxury with excellent bathroom, jacuzzi bath and even glowing stars on the ceiling at night!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    5.4
    Cheap and cheerful but not a good sleep
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very noisy place. Not people but incredibly creaky floors and a loud extractor fan which was like a generator. I had a rubbish night's sleep as a result.

    Friendly staff

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    7.5
    Not too far from the city center.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although breakfast was included, a warm English breakfast was not suggested to us and we had to specifically ask for it because the buffet was very limited. Outdated interior.

    Not too far from the city center. Free parking.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    10
    Stayed there whilst attending Steelhouse Festival. Will definitely stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing

    The room was lovely and the bed was very comfortable. Lovely hot shower too. The breakfast was also excellent and we would definitely stay there again if we were in the area.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    4.6
    Not recommended if you are a light sleeper ! Only went here as Travel Lodge fully booked !!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    All of it ! Grumpy abrupt staff member , Soiled coverlet on bed we took off as duvet underneath.VERY NOISY fan for kitchens right outside our window so could not keep open .When asked if it would be turned off it seemed as if the volume only had been turned down and we were woken next morning at it being turned on at a ridiculous hour. Lamp just to the left of our window outside lite the room up like Blackpool Illuminations . Also creaking floorboards were heard constantly . TV was minuscule. Dining room was not pleasant it was like sitting in a box . Cleaners in the room on arriving back from breakfast this was not needed for a 2 night stay.

    The shower was the best thing it was fantastic ! Bed was comfortable but not the best

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    10
    Our stay in Wales
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing we liked everything oh except the key card had a game with it

    It was great location parking excellent all easy assess to rooms. Really lovely helpful staff nothing was to much trouble. Stay again and recommend

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    7.9
    Very relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a wedding on and some of the party had children and they were running up and down the corridor most of the evening past our bedroom.

    The staff were more than helpful, and the Sunday carvery was amazing

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    5.0
    Room was not up to previous standards and a cup of tea bad...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was not up to previous standards and a cup of tea bad been dropped behind the bedside table which was still there including cup and tea bag staining the floor. We have stayed there before in another room which we couldn’t fault but this room was not up to scratch and would have to think twice about staying there again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    4.2
    Little sleep, and the hassle of changing rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The first room was really noisy from the kitchen fans, and very dirty so we asked to be moved to another room, which was a lot better, but the bed could do with an update, as my husband and I kept rolling into the middle. On the night we stopped there was a wedding reception,with a very noisy disco playing until 12pm, we were only made aware of this when we had paid for the room. I think on booking we should have been made aware of the wedding reception and the potential noise.

    The breakfast was very good, and the staff did their best in the hotel to keep guests happy.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    9.6
    Nostalgia Visit.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nit picking, we would say the location in an housing estate and industrial area. Otherwise there was nothing to dislike.

    The accommodation was great. The staff were truly excellent, nothing was to difficult for them. Some other hotels etc could learn lessons from them.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    7.5
    Well located, friendly place!
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed and pillows were a little uncomfortable...

    Comfortable, decent facilities, great service! Bed & pillows were not great but it was so hot that I don't think that was solely to blame. Would use again, just would not be my first choice... Breakfast and service were great!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    5.8
    Would look for something different.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant staff were not careful, messed up orders of dessert and gave us wrong drink which seemed to be out dated. There was not hot water at the evening and sound isolation was horrible.

    Desert and breakfast

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    7.1
    Not bad for the price. Nothing to write home about!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The floors creaked badly. Could hear everyone walking around in adjacent rooms, as well as ours. Room was very warm. Needed a room fan.

    The food was excellent and good value for the money.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    2.5
    Full of inconvenience
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The carpets and the bed covers were stained also the entry cards did not work properly we had been locked out our room several times in the day and had to wait for 35 mins late in the night to get in because even the night manager couldn’t open the door and he had to call someone to come and get the door opened. The breakfast was appalling with beans cold and straight from the can also instead of fresh tomatoes they splashed half a plum tomato in sauce can , the cooking one, on the plate and was cold. The sausages were very bad in taste.

    Private parking which gets locked at night and smoking terrace

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    8.3
    Friendly staff bizarre hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I feel bad because the hotel is fine its just the décor is very dated. It felt like a working mans club canteen rather than a hotel dining room, and in the dining and bar areas and it has the most unusual cage arrangement near to the breakfast/dinner bar.

    The property is clean the staff are friendly and there is good parking.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    9.6
    Over all excellent place we had lovely time
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Well we did inform hotel by emai that we are vegan and vegetarian but The cooked brecfast was not catered for vegan or vagetarian we ended up eating toasts and fresh orange juice same for lunch so just had chips some garlick bread but however this was served nicely with salad 😟 Oh lovely outdoor is for smokers I had to keep on moving away ☹️

    The staff were friendly very welcoming the room was very clean our room had a double and a single bed but still had lots of room to move around with chairs to sit tea & coffee making facilities with little biscuits very homely Room view was of back car park but very quite and peaceful The view and area is lovely you can explore with or without car further There is lovely indoor seating the breakfast was basic outdoor seating is good 😊👍😟

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    8.3
    Clean and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was at back and due to hot weather had window open overnight. Ventilation fans down below were noisy all night. A fan in the room would be useful.

    Clean and comfortable. Staff friendly. Adequate breakfast and good carvery.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    8.8
    Excellent hard working staff team.
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Paper thin walls . Insulation of walls AND floors needed. Noise from kitchen fans does go off at a reasonable time but the bathroom fan just carries on and only stops when the key card is removed. Nothing written down about this . I had requested a quiet space if events were happening bit had not thought about machine noises .

    Excellent hard working staff team. Friendly and helpful. Impressive multi tasking. Kitchen staff in their greens good for confidence . Spacious public areas and feeling a small part of someone else's celebrations.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    10
    First stay in Merthyr Tydfil - happy we chose The Bessemer!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were very helpful, good sized clean room, similar in standard and facilities to a Travelodge/Premier Inn style hotel but with a more personal touch. Good breakfast too!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    5.0
    Not cheerful
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was lumpy and uncomfortable. Tipped one way and I fell out on to my recent surgery site. Floorboads squeak and our neighbours were up all night for both nights. No sleep. When we complained we got Sorry. No discount or refund.

    Food

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    10
    Nice and clean with friendly staff and a decent breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice and clean with friendly staff and a decent breakfast. Stayed for a weekend while at bike park wales.secure storage for bikes in hotel as a added bonus. Will use again for next visit

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    10
    We would recommend to any group walking in the arera (Brecon Beacons)
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Don't be put off by the location (edge of residential area)... a cab into town (if required) is easy (you can walk down but its uphill all the way back)

    the hotel was large, clean and comfortable ... the food was great the staff (in particular the manageress Janie) couldn't do enough for us

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    3.8
    Very dissappointed no hot water
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no hot water in the rooms I booked the honeymoon suite and a normal room. Very disappointed with the managers response when told about no hot water. There was no effort made by staff to make honeymoon suite special. I asked for petals and champagne and it wasn't done.

    Breakfast

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    7.9
    Fist time at this hotel, very friendly staff and nice and...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room a little dated here and there but clean and comfortable.

    Fist time at this hotel, very friendly staff and nice and clean surroundings. Dinner menu very good, breakfast not up to scratch in my opinion. I would stay here again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    7.9
    Good sized room with desk so plenty of space to work.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rather restricted menu for evening meals. Although it is a new building the floorboards are very creaky so you can hear your neighbours moving about.

    Good sized room with desk so plenty of space to work. Comfortable bed and good shower.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    5.8
    excellent for one night stop over
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    let down by location which was overlook by trading estate and housing estate.. but to be fair that is not the hotel fault.

    nice hotel clean and rooms and bar area and restaurant is well presented and reasonable priced

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    10
    Excellent and if in the area again will not hesitate to stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    We were greeted at reception by friendly staff who gave us all the info,action we required for our stay. We ate in the restaurant, the starters were excellent and the carvery was brilliant.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    5.4
    It was clean and wouldn’t stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was rock hard , the noise from kitchen fan stopped sleep and woke you and reported it twice , carvery was below standard burnt potatoes Brussels sprouts in Bain Marie floating in a mill pond . Couldn’t check in as couldn’t get in main door apparently you have to go through bar on a Sunday ...awkward when bar is busy .parking terrible for Disabled.

    It was clean sandwich’s ordered at tea time good value

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    9.2
    Economical hotel with great food and service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was no shampoo!! There was a lot of noise due to creaking of the wooden floors.

    Excellent arrangement at the restaurant to call the waiter/waitress by ringing the bell. Manager Janie was particularly efficient and managed the restaurant and checkin process fast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    6.3
    Good location - nearby to main road.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No clear hotel name sign when approaching car park. Thin mattress on bed - not much better than sleeping on the floor. No vegetarian full breakfast.

    Good location - nearby to main road. Plenty of parking. Friendly staff. Budget hotel.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    7.1
    Ok for an
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cold room, window didn’t shut properly and really cold bathroom. Shower not that hot and bathroom smelt odd. Breakfast was ok, bizarre layout thought I was in a nursing home. Delay in answering bell at front desk. Beds not comfy and headboard broken.

    Staff were nice, carvery was lovely.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    8.3
    Food good, Comfortable rooms.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Seemed to be a noise from the aircon outside the window which was annoying at times.

    Food good, Comfortable rooms. Good Wi-fi for working in the evening in room.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    5.4
    Never stay there again
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Facilities poor I.e. Informed the hotel prior to arriving that partner was gluten free, however, they still didn't cater for her, breakfast was extremely poor quality (very greasy), cups for hot drink where size of egg cup and staff weren't bothered in helping.

    Very clean and presentable

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    7.5
    Overall ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No staff we were Stood outside A long time trying to get in no instruction Floors were noisy and room Walls Paper thin could here next doors tv at 03.15

    Room was nice comfortable

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    5.4
    Never again my back was in a lot of pain from the bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed in my room was broken. The carpet was dirty but it was vacuumed,overall the place was dated and in need of a Total refurbish. The bathroom had been updated.

    Staff were lovely. Breakfast was nice.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    9.6
    Came away smiling the hotel and staff were very warm and welcoming.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    When we were there it was very cold weather the decking outside was frozen and very slippy which we didnt realise till we were walking on it. There was a warning sign which we discovered in the morning on the other side of the hotel.

    Comfortble warm and welcoming, very clean and peaceful hotel. We will be using this hotel again! Breakfast excellent, good quality bacon eggs and sausage used, well cooked and tasty. Lovely caring staff interested and wanting our stay tobe good.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    10
    EXELLENT
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Just that I seemed to worry that I had booked it twice.

    We really enjoyed every minute of our stay.the staff were like friends, really helpful. the room was like home very warm clean. The bathroom and towels were exellent..tea and coffee facilities in the room.........a lovely breakfast with toast cereals juice ,yogurts very very good. plenty of everything. We would not look for anywhere else in future just book at THE BESSEMER it is the best.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    8.3
    Very good will stay again for sure
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing we found to spoil our brief stay

    Great value Nice breakfast Let us in early to change for funeral we were attending Will stay again sometime use the bar and restaurant and then be able to rate them too :)

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    3.8
    I'm not likely to stay again.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The mattress needs to be replaced it was very bad. I little more attention to cleanliness and comfortable bed would have made the stay far more enjoyable and comfortable.

    The parking was great.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    7.1
    Generally fine. Food nice. Staff helpful.
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The heating was turned off around 10pm. It was a particularly cold day and radiator difficult to adjust and front panel loose. Would have preferred more controlable heating.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    7.5
    Lovely hotel with very nice staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No food in the daytime we had to g the Harvester for lunch.lovey

    Loved the company of my family at your hotel. We did look forward to lunch but no food. Rooms really comfoftable staff very friendly and accommodating.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    8.8
    Good hotel with a pleasant charm.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The floor squeaking and the separators in the restaurant.

    The style of the hotel and the personnel was very cordial and educated. Parking is no problem and the hotel is just a few metres away from the town centre though there is nothing special to visit. The carvery was fine.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    6.7
    Basic, Cheap and cheerful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only issue was the rooms are quite old and noisy with squeaky floor boards and thin walls etc... Plus we had some dirty water out of the tops in the bathroom. Although for the price, good value if you just want a stop over.

    Excellent food, had the carvary... really nice. Bar, restaurant and service was very good.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    8.3
    Comfortable stay! Good value for money! Food okay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast was okay, but could be better and offer more items. The dinner was okay too, but could be better and offer more than just one lamb dinner option (its Wales!). The bar should keep some local brew.

    Comfortable stay! Good value for money! Clean rooms and facilities! Friendly staff with lovely Welsh accent! There is something about the place and the people that makes you feel at ease very quickly! The soup of the day was lovely and so was the potato with cheese and bacon starter! Free parking and Wifi!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    9.6
    Pleasant evening in Merthyr Tydfil.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Liked everthing well enough.

    Decor in some places like the stairwell was exquisite. Staff very patient and helpful. Good delicious - wonderful carvery.f

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    10
    Relaxing stay and a good night's sleep
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    As far as I am concerned nothing was disliked

    The price for a night's stay , the friendly staff , the food was excellent and not over priced and the comfort of the hotel

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    8.8
    Far exceeded our expectations!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing!

    At this low price and in Merthyr, we were very pleasantly surprised indeed. Very good free parking, quick registration, room of a good size and very comfortable with a decent view. Enjoyed dinner in their large and very busy restaurant (popular with the locals) where the food was good and at a very reasonable price.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    8.3
    Beds were not the best quality also too many beds in the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds were not the best quality also too many beds in the room. 1 double and 2 singles bed for a couple were a bit much made movement a bit restricted.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    9.2
    well maintained and very nice staff and food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    situation of property a little tricky but not too bad(steep hill),the staff were very friendly .the food was excellent and tasty,the room was extremely nice the beds were very comfortable .

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    7.1
    pleasant stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    not close to shops or restaurants- have to travel out.

    We had a pleasant stay whilst exploring the Brecon Beacons, friendly and welcoming staff. Clean room and breakfast was average.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    7.9
    A good stay at a good price
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The tap wear in the bathroom was difficult to turn off with wet hands (why do they design round knobs?) and the plumbing was noisy.

    The hotel was well out of the downtown area but of a good size and comfortable. They served a very nice carvery at a reasonable price and an excellent breakfast was included in the room price.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    10
    very enjoyable, great base for our trip, with great food, excellent team and good location, we will
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing as everything was excellent

    Central location was perfect for our visit, the hotel was very clean the staff were all excellent, very friendly and nothing was too much trouble. Food very good, and the choice was brill.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    9.2
    Excellent value for money, very clean!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lovely room, good size, good value and very clean. The bed was ultra comfortable, good pillows too. Nice extras such as tissues and soaps. This hotel definitely exceeded my expectations considering the area and price I paid, would definitely stay again. Plenty of parking, always a bonus!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2017

    7.9
    Very good stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bedroom was a good size with plenty of storage space. There is a lift if stairs are difficult. There is also a ramp from car park to reception if steps are difficult to use. The carvery was very good.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    9.6
    Good stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Receptionist Could have acknowledged our existence . Merthyr Tydfil town centre is not a nice place on a Saturday night. And not many eating places open or have tables available.

    Barman was friendly. Receptionist was surly.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    9.2
    good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our room was above kitchen so when room got to warm and we opened the window the noise from the kitchen vents was loud and the room quickly stank of cooking.

    Large room, comfy bed. Food was lovely and staff friendly.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    8.3
    Very good value for money, clean and comfortable, staff were...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    As I travelled by train it was quite a long walk from the station (although could have got a taxi)

    Very good value for money, clean and comfortable, staff were friendly, proper fried breakfast included.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    7.1
    Nice hotel but busy
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel had a 50th birthday and a wedding reception when we arrived (Sat night). No parking at hotel. GPS took us through a very rough part of town to get there but there is a better way we found in the morning.

    Great staff, full restaurant on site. Even with parties in progress it was very quiet.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    9.6
    Great value.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great value. Safe parking, excellent staff. We needed an early breakfast on a Sunday morning which was no problem for them. Would happily book there again.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    7.5
    Feedback
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Extremely noisy floors, couldn't sleep comfortably because of people walking in the next door seems to move furniture and floors. Very loud creaky and room 203 is directly above the kitchen extractor fans which didn't switch off until it's gone past midnight. Small sized television.

    Good sized room, nice and clean bathroom.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    10
    Great Hotel very well priced
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could not fault the Hotel or it's staff at all Okay maybe the carvery could have been better ..... good selection of meat spoilt by soggy Brussels; soft roast potatoes and tasteless cauliflower cheese which had cheese going rubbery

    Great place to stay lovely room and bathroom was exceptionally clean. Staff very helpful and friendly..all of them Hotel is kept immaculately and the smell of polish was lovely in the reception area Fantastic breakfast... bacon lovely and thick and very tasty lovely freshly cooked. Coffee was of a good quality which was a great start to the day Good location and plenty of on-site parking Lift in the Hotel Access for wheel chair users in to the Hotel

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    7.1
    The location was interesting, with splendid historic photos...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location was difficult to find as we ended up approaching by a different road to that initially indicated.

    The location was interesting, with splendid historic photos of the area.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    5.0
    Basic, tired, in need of upgrading and bringing into the 21st century.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed not comfortable, breakfast was grim. Worst scrambled eggs I have had in my life, cheap brown bread, margarine, tasteless eggs. Noticed the property only has a rating of 3 on the food hygiene standard sign on the hotel door. Not a good first impression

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    9.6
    A great, comfortable stay and I look forward to a return visit.
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    The staff were truly welcoming. The food is great value for money...and tasty too. The room was very comfortable. I can find no reason to say anything negative, and therefore if I find myself in the south of the Brecon Beacons again I shall use this hotel once more.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    10
    Beautiful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We didnt know how to use the steam presser so an iron would have been better.

    The staff were very friendly. The rooms wer specious and had everything basic. Easy layout.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    7.5
    Overall our stay wasn't too bad.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed for 1 night this time and was put in room 202 which I would not recommend it's over some bins and the noise at night was awful, we think it could have been the air conditioning running or some sort of machine running so if we were to have stayed longer we would have asked to be moved.

    The hotel was in a good location to visit family, this is the third stay we have been here and the food in the evening wasn't up to scratch, I ordered scampi which was good but the chips were awful and noticed that the vegetables were all in water which didn't look good so wasn't very impressed. The breakfast was good.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    10
    Mountain walking Pen Y Fan
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff were excellent nothing was to much trouble. The hotel was a bit dated it terms of decor but it was clean the rooms were a good size and the food was good.

    Stayed in May 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: