Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Bessiestown Country Guesthouse 5 stars

Catlowdy, Longtown, Carlisle, Penton, CA6 5QP , United Kingdom

#1 of 1 hotels in Penton

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 81 hotel reviews

9.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.9

  • Comfort

    9.8

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    9.6

  • Staff

    9.7

  • Value for money

    9.6

  • Free WiFi

    7.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stayed here 10 years ago when last in UK and came back again. Margaret is all class and a wonderful host, Jack is a real character and they both make you super welcome. Great location for Hadrians Wall. A definite must to stay at.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The proprietor kindly helped me to find alternative accommodation and paid for the difference, which was much appreciated. However, this situation should never have arisen. Better admin checks and safeguards are required.

    I can’t review the quality of the accommodation as I arrived after an eight hour drive to discover that there was no room for me! The proprietor said that he had not received my booking made through booking.com I’ve travelled around the world making reservations through various booking agencies and have never had this happen before.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 4 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. I don't have anything bad to say about this hotel. Try it for yourself?

    I can't fault the property or the hospitality from the owners. Amazing breakfast, rooms, beds and perfect just to get away from day to day stress. I would recommend to anyone looking for a accommodation! The hard working family made us feel at home and comfortable around all the house.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was alone and had to leave very early in the morning and the owner was incredibly helpful to make sure I still had a good breakfast, so he put me in the cottage with its own kitchen (and lounge) with a ideal spread of cereals, yoghurt, milk, bread and jams so that I could prepare it myself. Lovely rooms, all spotless.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Shower
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Bit of a tight entry, especially for large cars, and lighting outside at night was not great on walking from room to car.

    Extremely friendly hosts and every aspect of the stay was to a very high standard. It is isolated - very little within walking distance - but that seclusion will be welcome to many people. Couldn't believe that in todays world the bar was operated on an honesty principle!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The offer of an evening meal on arrival at a very reasonable price. The added bonus of having a delightful afternoon tea (all home made items for both the evening meal and the afternoon tea)

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Such a warm welcome from my hosts. Thank you. I made a last minute booking and did not regret my change of plan. Everything in the room was absolutely spotless, facilities were excellent and the location is beautiful. I cannot recommend Bessietown enough.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was perfect and we will definitely stay again.

    This is beyond excellent accommodation; immaculate, tasteful and spotlessly clean. Our room was actually an annexe cottage with two bedrooms, bathroom and living area. The owners are warm friendly people and nothing is too much trouble to ensure that their guests gave a perfect stay. It was very interesting to watch farm equipment in operation in the surrounding fields too.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    I we were to rate this accommodation out of ten we would give it a 10 +++. Jack and Margaret were fabulous hosts catering for our every need. The accommodation itself was beautifully appointed and the home cooking was excellent. If you are looking for a quiet country getaway in a beautiful setting then this is the place. We most certainly intend to return soon as two nights were not long enough.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    I could not find a single thing that I didn't like about the accommodation.

    The owners have obviously made every effort to go that extra distance to make everyone's stay as comfortable as possible. Little details, such as bathroom toiletries, unlimited supply of tea and coffee with fresh milk in rooms, excellent wifi, even an honesty bar so that if you have trouble sleeping, you can get yourself a nightcap in the lounge. Superb breakfast, sourced with local produce, guaranteed to set you up for the day. A choice of continental style, with cereal, fruit, bread and cheeses or a full english cooked breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We were very well satisfied - so no negative comments.

    A wonderful place to stay for a peaceful and relaxing break. Owners very obliging and all our needs were ably catered for. Evening meal was most welcome, extremely tasty and very nicely presented. We would certainly recommend this B&B and hope to return.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    we are vegans, and we told the guesthouse this on our booking with booking.com, but they didn't seem very aware of what a vegan was. If they were unsure of what to give us for breakfast, they could have contacted us before our arrival to ask us. Or it could be mentioned on booking.com that this guesthouse is not suitable for different diets. What if I had been a coeliac, would they have known what to give me? That could prove quite dangerous.

    the fact that it was a two tier apartment, overlooking the countryside, the two cats that greeted us, the cleanliness, and the fact it felt you were in the middle of nowhere! perfect for de stressing!!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We loved everything, here was nothing to dislike at all. The location, comfort and decor of our accommodation was faultless, the breakfast was excellent and the owners were friendly and helpful. Thank you for lovely stay. We would certainly stay there again when in that part of the world.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Choose this venue because it was advertised as having bar, restaurant and laundry facilities, however when we got there it was a private bar with beer that looked like it had come off the arch. The restaurant was non existence, for when we ask about dinner that night they told us, town was only fifteen to twenty minutes away. Last was the laundry, when asked to use the whashing machine we got a surprised look and then was told it costs £5 to use, which we did not have a problem with, however After cleaning out horse hair from the machine we got our clothes washed.

    It was very quiet.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booking.com website for making our booking was very poor. Despite my search being for two adults I ended up mistakenly booking for 1 person. Fortunately, I was able to contact the owner who kindly resolved the situation.

    The owners had put a lot of thought and effort in trying to make our stay good in every way and there were lots of nice touches.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi is poor in room but that's it. Didn't bother me as you can sit in a nice big living room/conservatory

    Everything is perfect at this place can not recommend this place enough. Super clean quiet and a great place to get a great nights sleep

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were upgraded to a comfortable, clean and well equipped apartment in the converted barn. The very pleasant owners provided us with a sumptuous breakfast with lots of choice. We were only staying for one night to pick up a new puppy but it would have been a perfect place to stay for a week and explore the area.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing. Everything was great.

    What a wonderful place this is, a bit tough to find, but let the GPS guide you. Beautiful setting, wonderful staff. Bedrooms were super comfortable, breakfast was great. Jack and Margaret were such terrific hosts, we'd definitely go back again. (Thanks for the directions to the GB Antiques place in Lancaster, it was great (and huge!).)

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Disappointing that free wifi is advertised but signal is bad and was unable to do any work on my iPad. Mobile signal also poor.

    Comfortable bed and big tv. . Liked the fresh milk to have with coffee/tea

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room different from what was booked I booked a twin room but fortunately I contacted the property directly before arrival and was informed that they only had a family room left double bed and a single bed in an adjoining room which was not ideal but was not a problem for a one night stay. The room also had slopping roof not a problem for me but my husband had to be careful

    Welcome was lovely the owner was great. Although the location was a bit isolated it was very tranquil The breakfast was also very good.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was great,food and accommodation excellent. We were put in a cottage which was unexpected and very well equipped with lovely decor. The hosts were friendly and helpful and made us feel very welcome. Ideal location for star-gazing.Would love to return!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Shower
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing could have been better.

    Extremely comfortable bed, well appointed room, exceptionally clean with good quality bedding. Excellent choice of fresh local produce for a hot or cold breakfast. Owners and all staff extremely friendly and welcoming.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The owners were amazing and went out of their way to help us even down to arranging a mini bus to take a group of us into Carlisle for Rod Stewart concert. Super friendly and beautiful accommodation in a tranquil setting.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The warm welcome, the morning banter at breakfast, the dovecote we stayed in, the fridge with fresh milk for our cup of teas in our room, the peace and tranquillity and the sense of well being we came away with and most of all our hosts.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The porridge was wonderful,served with cream and honey just the way I like it

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location, views, quietness, peaceful

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Freshly prepared and cooked breakfast was just wonderful. Anything I asked for was readily provided Friendly and attentive hosts

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    5 star

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Excellent breakfast, including vegetarian. Delightful setting. Friendly and very helpful hosts.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No evening meal available due to function.

    Very friendly, welcoming hosts and a clean comfortable room.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly owners and welcoming x excellent location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Welcoming hosts. Comfortable place to stay.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing...it was the best B&B we have ever stayed in

    Everything about this place

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No wifi that I knew about

    Incredibly friendly owners Top service and customer care Will definitely return

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Peace and quiet

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    host and Hostess were really helpful and pleasant and made us feel welcome. facilities excellent and will be back in the future.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. Everything was great.

    Bed was very comfy. Eton Mess for evening dessert was the best my wife has tasted in many years.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff have a "quirky" sense of humour. Might not work with non-Brits.

    Very good breakfast. Very comfortable room.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything was absolutely perfect. Shame we were only there for 1 night

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everyone we met was very welcoming and friendly, this is a lovely warm comfy place to stay; as a bonus the views around the property are fabulous.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything. This place is stunning. The place is spotless clean. Very warm welcome. Room is so comfortable . Can't not fault this place

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellently fitted rooms, with everything you would require. Great breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Honeymoon Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    A great suite of rooms, huge comfy bed,great food friendly helpful staff

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really ...

    It was superb overall ... and the porridge was out of this world.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Shower
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing

    It was excellent unable to fault it, even had it's own resident comedian,lovely Ladies and beautiful red setters!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very nice and spacious accommodation.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hosts treated everyone like old friends with good humour and happy disposition.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Very clean and well kept

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Shower
    • Stayed 4 nights

    so well run so friendly 5 star

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    They had thought of everything you might need

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff very friendly. Very comfortable. Lovely breakfast

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Owners couldn't do enough to make your stay comfortable. Accommodation superb with excellent breakfast

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Excellent Facilities

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The friendly yet professional approach of the owners.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothing

    Friendly staff, great breakfast and comfy beds

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    As good as it gets this place is a must when traveling north or south to relax and enjoy the journey

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Our third time to stay at Bessiestown in six years and everything was excellent - again. What a wonderful base for exploring the Borders area! We recommend highly and will be back.

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2015

    • Solo traveller

    Having to leave!

    The whole thing. The property, its location, Jack and Margaret who were SO friendly and accommodating, the breakfast (FAB! though you need to persuade Jack that ketchup is a valuable additive!)

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    They made us feel like family. The best B&B I have ever been too and will definetly visit again. All the staff are very frienly. Jack and Margaret are the sweetest people I have ever met.

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The TV and bedside lamp didn't work in our room and also the lamp in my sons room didn't work. My daughter's bed wasn't made properly and we couldn't get any wifi.

    Staff were friendly and accommodating

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    I have just spent there one night (August 2015). We were three of us and the B&B was a great place to stay. The staff was extremely kind and very helpful.

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Lovely location - really out in the sticks with lovely views across farmland out the back. Very friendly owner got me fixed up very quickly and recommended a nice local pub for dinner as I arrived late. Room was perfect, I was freezing after being on my motorbike for hours but got really warm quickly due to heater on wall. Missed breakfast as had to leave very early but sure it would've been great.

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Wifi didnt work in the bedroom but wasnt a problem to me :-)

    I felt welcome from the moment i arrived. The room was stunning and very clean. Breakfast was very nice and all staff were so helpful.

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Nothing.

    The facilities were excellent, very clean , comfortable and finished to a high standard. The owners/staff were very accommodating, made you feel most welcome, would certainly visit and stay again.

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I booked this on behalf of my parents as a last minute mini break. They loved the views and tranquillity but also loved that it wasn't too far to drive into Carlisle and surrounding areas. The pre booked evening meal was also a very good quality which they thoroughly enjoyed.

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Please replace the mattress - too soft!

    Suite. Dinner. Breakfast. Owners. So much nicer than an hotel - even the cats were very friendly! Great location - peaceful countryside. Well worth the detour.

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Nothing i cannot say a bad word about it

    Staff were so welcome and friendly when we arrived ,jack walked us around the hotel ,the room we he gave us was the best iv stayed in and iv been in a lot of hotels in my time,i give it 10/10

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    nothing to dislike

    Just everything was 1st class

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2016

    • Business trip
    • Group

    Nothing

    Every aspect amazing

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Great breakfast, comfy bed, friendly and helpful staff

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2016

    • Couple

    Nothing

    Lovely friendly people really helpful and kind.

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The owners were so friendly and the breakfast in the morning was outstanding!

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Exceptionally friendly and a beautiful location

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The rooms were very clean and comfortable. The breakfast was excellent. Staff welcoming and friendly.

There are also 15 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Bessiestown Country Guesthouse traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: