Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Consort Hotel 3 stars

Brampton Road,Thurcroft, Rotherham, S66 9JA, United Kingdom

#7 of 11 hotels in Rotherham

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1123 hotel reviews

7.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8

  • Comfort

    7.8

  • Location

    7.6

  • Facilities

    7.2

  • Staff

    8.1

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    6.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    For some reason they've put the prices up on the rooms just after my stay, this place used to be really good value for money but now the prices are way too high, not many people seemed happy about this and there were only 2 people booked in after the price went up - seems like a bad move. For the same price now there are many more hotels in Rotherham with more facilities at the same cost. Hope they change their mind in future.

    Food is excellent, beds really comfy, quiet location, friendly staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When we arrived there were only 2 members of staff the receptionist & what we thought was the caretaker who turned out to be the new Manager having driven up from London that day. Apparently taking ovef from a Manager who had only ladted 4 days & who had taken codes for security doors etc and passwords for email access etc. Our booking had not been loaded on to the system even. We were expecting breakfast as part of the package...it wasn't even continental basically cereal & toast juice tea & coffee. The bowls were dirty as were the cutlery. There were no cups & no teaspoons & the Manager, now in his suit was going backwards & forwards to the kitchen with ni real foresight as to what was missing. In 2 words Faulty Towers...the place is being run on a shoe string & the rooms are in diar need of an upgrade. Our beds were very comfy & the linen clean but the nets at the window were filthy & the shower leaked from under the bath & wet the floor significantly. There was a wedding on whilst we were there & having a drink in reception a bar man talking to the receptionist & Manager was saying how he just wanted to go home, how long he'd been at work etc for all to hear. The next morning on leaving there were several women in pyjamas & slippers smoking at the main entrance....not really something you want to see at 10am in the morning!

    Nothing

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    After many years I see a decline in quality: mistake with the reservation, no soap for the shower, steak was of low quality (1/4 uneatable). Most disappointing was the poor limited breakfast.

    Good and clean room. Good personal service of staff that knows me.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was very pokey, the restaurant was dirty, the bar was not stocked at all. We paid and booked for two nights however left after the first night and booked at the Ibis (Accor Hotel) which was far superior. Very short staffed, breakfast was woeful.

    The staff were very helpful, however they were extremely short staffed.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    •Hairs And spiderwebs everywhere in the room •Didn't get a wifi code •No air con remote •The TV had to be retuned every time I turned it on • constant humming noise •not a friendly welcome, with few work spoken •didn't dare stop for breakfast

    Close to motorway!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    After selling my house i was left in limbo... All the staff at the consort looked after me and made my 11 day stay amazing... I can not thank them enough for an amazing break

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was really noisy from outside traffic on busy road, you could hear people in rooms next door, the TV was like 5 miles away from bed and tiny, it wouldn't work off remote or switch on from on off switch on TV first time, it had a delay and came on its self 10 15 minutes later, and management knew it didn't work, shower screen didn't have seal at base so floor got soaked, breakfast wasn't anything special.

    Bed was nice and comfy and plenty of parking.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    no air con although its advertised it has. when asked why they just said open a window filthy conditions cracked sink in half and just glued back together no trained bar staff i had to show them how to pull a pint then got another pint with cigrette wrappers in the glass tables were disgusting beer mats stuck to them due to the stickyness refused to eat there to avoid ilness no tv in one room the worse hotel ive ever stayed at avoid avoid avoid

    nothing

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    This Hotel was at one time a GREAT place to stay, now no welcome , no teaspoons with cups anywhere, breakfast buffet bar very poor, very little staff on. I have been coming to this hotel for years and it break's my heart to see it in the state. PLEASE, PLEASE, DO SOMETHING ABOUT IT.

    NOT A THING

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was really surprised to see how big the room was. Also, the breakfast was really tasty and I really appreciate that even if I was a bit late for breakfast they still served me with a smile on their face. The staff were really friendly and helpful. I will definitely go back there in the future.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was a huge disappointment. No yoghurt or fresh fruit as stated on the menu. The presentation of cereals, juice etc was like walking in to a half empty larder. We later found out fruit and yoghurt was available but the lone server couldn't be bothered to get it, told us they'd run out, which was BS. No selection of teas either- same deal as with the above.. Poor customer service.

    Great reception staff, and Nicola, the chef, cooked a lovely evening meal for us.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was OK but very small variety.

    Clean, nice staf, big room, big and comfortable bed, shower and bath in the bathroom double sink for family room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The was nothing I disliked about the hotel.I have stayed in it before many years ago. I have family in Thurcroft anyway.

    The big bed very comfy and the room was big. Plenty of room to move around.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The wifi signal was quite poor, I'd also have preferred mugs instead of cups and saucers in the rooms.

    The hotel was really clean and comfortable and the staff were very friendly. We had a ground floor room due to my husband's mobility problems, which was lovely and spacious. We didn't eat in the restaurant so I can not comment on their quality of food.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    we requested a double room & got two single beds & two bunk beds, bathroom shower leaked & water went cold when the basin was run also water flow pathetic also a bad smell in the room. Breakfast the staff were no where to be seen for nearly 10 minutes while we waited to be seated & then they had to clear a table, one of many needing to be cleared, no cups & saucers or glasses or orange juice ready to self self

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    receptionist was on the phone to a friend when i arrived and didnt even acknowledge me or apologise not a good start

    Male receptionist next morning was fantastic very helpful and friendly even upgraded my room

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I COULD NOT FIND ANY INFORMATION IN MY ROOM REGARDING THE FREE WIFI AND SO I WAS NOT ABLE TO UTILISE IT ON MY STAY. IT WOULD HAVE BEEN GREAT TO HAVE SOMETHING IN MY ROOM, SO THAT I DONT NEED TO CONTACT STAFF AFTER I HAVE RETIRED TO MY ROOM.

    Desk staff was friendly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    very basic Tea & Coffee in the room, no information about the hotel in the room we had to ask at reception about meal times and location of restaurant & bar

    good size bed in the suite

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Really great staff; friendly and efficient. We had travelled from Devon and had spent the day with a relative in hospital. We asked the lady checking us in if she could possibly provide some 'real' milk for a cup of tea. She came back with a pot of tea and some biscuits. It is the little things in life that prove that kindness is still present. Tea may be a small thing but on a very difficult day it meant the world to us. Maybe the hotel is 'just' a stopover but with staff like that I would love to stopover again!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Restaurant shut on first night, no Key Cards available so staff had to open the door every time I wanted to be in the room, and the shower was poor!

    Staff were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was ok.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was very hot in the room no Aircon . The key system was down and the staff had to run up and down the stairs letting us into the room.

    Friendly staff . Location was good for where we had to be .

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast definitely not worth the extra £10. Basic sliced bread to toast, make your own instant porridge from a pot, no yoghurt, fruit, croissants. Possibly worth it if you have a full English and fill up on everything else but not good value. Staff were nice though. Room was over heated and on a noisy road so not practical to leave the windows open, but for £36 you get can't really complain.

    You get what you pay for with the room. Very dated but cheap, clean and spacious with everything that you need. Plenty of free parking.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is very reasonable in price and other than minor problems such as small maintenance checks re: light bulbs all working and TV updated etc. Nothing to complain about since the staff were more than willing to help.

    The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. On arrival, there were minor hiccups eg the TV required re-setting but the staff immediately set out to solve any problems and did so willingly. Nothing was too much trouble for them, even though they had 3 weddings at the w.e. and were all extremely helpful and as I mentioned to them "still smiling". I was attending a family wedding, which was beautiful. They had made extra effort to ensure that everything was to their wishes; The food was superb and more than plentiful!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    On arrival was told we had to pay, when in fact we has already paid, this was quickly resolved. On the night we were there, the room card keys for whole hotel did not work - was told to ask at reception who would send someone up if we needed to be let into our room. Radiator in bathroom was full on all night due to faulty valve which made room very hot. Couldn't get wifi to work. Music from wedding party immediately below our room meant we couldn't to sleep until around midnight. Otherwise OK.

    Nice big bed, friendly staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No key cards - system not working so staffhad to let you in. Bedroom right over wedding disco. Air Con no remote in one room. Not working in 2nd room. No TV remote for TVs and couldn't be provided one that worked. Couldn't use Bar as there was s function on.

    Staff were very friendly. Bedrooms were huge.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The reception there was very little help I was told on arrival that I had booked a double room when I was there with my son and I clearly booked 2 single beds there was no key to the rooms they said there was a problem with the electronic keys and they were waiting for the engineers to come we were told to keep the door on the latch so the door would not shut the room was small the view was of the roof the bed was very uncomfortable to soft and lumpy I was told I couldn’t go and sit at in the bar as there was a wedding reception and was told to go to the local pup just down the road I booked breakfast to be told that it wasn’t on until 8am we had to leave at 7am so we did not get breakfast the shower was totally inadequate as there was no pressure so we had to make do Over all I was very disappointed with this hotel and it certainly was not worth the stay and I will not be staying there again

    nothing

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room was infested with ants, Staff very laid back When I asked to change room because of the ant issue at 9am I was told it could be done at 2/3pm, no apologies for the issues at all. No key to my room (because of some tech issues) so i had to wait till someone was around at the reception to let me into my room. Horrible stay will not be staying again!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Needed repairs and bed was no good it was worn out with stains on it. Couldnt have a key for the room as the key card machine wasnt working. Breakfast was awful worst i have ever seen. Staff were unhelpful .

    Nothing

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booked a suite and was given smallest room complained and was given a larger room but not a suite manager said they were all taken but I don't believe it the hotel was practically empty we also had ants in the room

    Leaving on the Sunday

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast expensive; not suitable for the disabled: steep stairs to climb, no lifts to access rooms which are all on the first floor. Soap dispenser broken, had to ask reception for shower soap/shampoo.

    Clean comfortable beds; room we were in was quiet and spacious.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were ants in the room and the room didn't receive the free wifi advertised

    The staff were happy to combine orders when there was a mistake booking

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Night porter needs to learn how to speak on a phone and smile more . £8.99 very disapointing breakfast no little choice no bowls had to ask for juice didn’t cook my bacon as I asked .

    Day reception staff very nice. Clean towels everyday

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi didn’t work. No phone in room to contact reception. No book regarding details of mealtimes, choices etc. Hotel very tired looking but staff helpful and friendly.

    Breakfast - good choice. More fresh fruit available would greatly improve it

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    DO NOT STAY HERE! Ants in our room, cobwebs dangling from the ceiling - no offer of recompense and no response to several emails detailing my complaint- they are also no longer part of the Best Western group however still carry their signage and their Facebook page directs you to Best Western as well. Maybe they didn't leave the group - likely that they were kicked out! POOR HOTEL AND LACK OF CLEANLINESS - nothing but ignorance despite the fact that there are pests in the rooms.

    Friendly staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Uncontrolled heat in the room made it too hot to sleep. The staff knew about this and supplied 2 fans. Why not sort the problem out? Air conditioning controls not supplied so assume that did not work either. Ant infestation in room too. Removed quilt from cover to sleep with just the cover, and found blood/ faeces stain on it. Member of staff on reception when we arrived has an attitude problem.

    Bed and room good quality.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't find the heat easy to cope with the air conditioning was broken, the bed also had a waterproof mattress protector which made me hotter!!

    Lovely breakfast choice, very friendly staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Found empty lager bottle in bathroom on checking in room. Rest of room ok though could do with bathroom refurbished as crack in sink and low pressure from shower. Corridors and stairs needed vacuuming.

    Price

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were a few ants in the room walking across the dresser and the TV had no signal so no channels to watch. Air conditioning was broken/turned off but there was a fan in the room to make up for it

    Bed was comfy and location was good for an event in the village and it was good value

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms always clean and comfortable

    Not enough staff to cover breakfast. Constantly running out of things and felt bad about asking the one person on duty

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Another guest appeared to have been smoking in their room at an open window and was flicking cigarette ash on our car below and also through the butt on to our car

    The staff are so friendly and helpful

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very unclean hairs, broken jacuzzi, broken air conditioning - dripping water till 4am, double bed we asked for was 2 singles pushed together!

    Location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was not clean. There were marks on both the mirrors. The tea cups had obviously not been washed. Hairs around the bath. The shower did not work at all. When I took the shower head down to inspect why shower was not working, found shower head to be dirty. Kettle had not been emptied from previous occupant and tea/coffe marks on kettle. Moved bin To tie bin bag at end of stay and found litter which was not mine behind bin, bottles etc. I paid for breakfast but it didn’t start until 8am which meant that I did not have time to eat anything much. It was a Sunday though so this may be why breakfast was later.

    The room was large and there was minimal Disruption from adjoining rooms on the floor. The car parking was ample, check in was seamless. The bed was comfortable. The noise from the road outside was minimal which is surprising given the property is located on a busy road.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    £3.80 for a 33cl bottle of Budweiser!!!!!!! Would have have appreciated the gent on reception offering to assist with my bags when I had to move to a different room. He just sat and watched me struggle. WiFi was a bit intermittent

    Lovely staff Had a slight issue in the first room on my first night, but it was quickly sorted and was even upgraded to a bigger room! Great location for commuting Comfy bed! Nice big bathroom - clean! Lots of free parking Felt very homely

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unable to use tv as no remote and did not work manually. The photos do not represent the room. Wifi did not work either. Only amusement was watching the ants, am still scratching.

    Bed was comfortable

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower took a while to warm up when it did get hot it was very temperamental. The shower leaked a lot onto the bathroom floor.

    Hotel was lovely and comfortable. The room was very warm.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower did not work, so had to have a bath chipped cup and no remote for tv or air con.

    Tea, coffee and biscuits in the room, bed was comfy and room was a good size.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect rooms and the price is great,why people complain about this place is beyond me what do you expect for £30 a night 5 star Rooms? I have stopped in lots of places through work and this place is far better than most big chains hotels. Restaurant and bar are good,pub over the road and takeaways in the local village and posh bars and food places are 5 minuets away in wickersley for the trendy people.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Arrived to find the were totally confused about the booking which we had paid in advance for over two months before back in February. Gave us rooms and 3 out of 4 rooms we walked into find they already had people in. As my mother went in one it was obvious there was someone In The shower. The other 2 has clothes on the beds. Returning to the reception we felt it was not handled professionally. We were made to feel awkward. There was a panic as to what they were doing and the young lad on the desk was trying to be polite but was very stressed and confused. I said as we had one room we would store all our luggage there and go out for tea while they sorted it to relieve the pressure. We returned about an hour and a half later to be given 3 more rooms and again 1 of them had some one In already when my mother in law walked in. Eventually we had 4 rooms that we could actually use but felt it got so embarrassing that we felt like we shouldn’t be there. There was no offer of something to make up for the inconvenience such as drinks while we waited or a meal or a partial refund on the rooms. I think just anything to show a genuine apology would have been good as we do understand things don’t always work out but the way a company handles it has a huge bearing as to whether customers feel wanted and will return. All we got was the blame game, blaming booking.com, which may be the case, but they did have all the relevant sheets when they actually went through them but had got confused somewhere before we got there and give some rooms to other customers which meant they were fire fighting when anyone else checked in. We understand they are no longer with best western and possibly have new management so hoping that if we do ever choose to stay there again things will improve but are not keen on returning for that reason. We have stayed many times over the years before this and as long as the weddings have not got rowdy it has been a nice hotel in a good position to stay in.

    Rooms are comfortable and reasonably clean.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cobwebs in the room and in the corridor. Paper peeling off wall. Security lock only held on with one screw. Soap and shower liquid dispensers empty. Only one set of towels for a double room. Telephone socket hanging off wall. No wifi. No fraught beer in he bar. Room noisy next to a generator and outside metal staircase. Smell of damp in corridor. Heated towel rail not working. Missing cold water tap cover missing (looked very grubby).

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    1. Our room had booking had been cancelled due to another guest having the same name. 2. Heating couldn't be turned down and this was very uncomfortable, Windows had to be left open all night. 3. Shower stopped working before rinsed off.

    Staff tried to be as helpful as possible.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The male receptionist from Barcelona is very rude and ignorant. As the face of reception people want a warm and friendly welcoming not a cold and frosty reception. Heard a few others in the bar complaining about him too. His interspersonal skills are shocking!!!

    Value for money

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    some noise from hot water system in rooms above (thankfully all quiet after 10pm); limited choice at breakfast (no fruit/yoghurt/marmalade); wifi in room temporarily out of order

    Bed was very comfortable; bathroom clean & well equipped; excellent full English breakfast; receptionist friendly & helpful

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no phone so couldnt order room service that was suposably offered. There was no remote for the tv and when we told the staff they told us to make do. Staff seemed to avoid us. The bathroom wasnt like any thing in photos or description. There was dust and cobwebs in there. The visitors book had brick dust in it . The key card for our door didnt work, then when we told them a member of staff patronized us saying we were using the key card wrong and when he realised the card was faulty we didnt get an apology of him.

    Was close to a great steak house

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was uncomfortable and the pillows were very very thin. I woke up with a very bad neck ache. Also the fans on the roof appear to run all night long so there is a constant low hum keeping me awake. Worst rooms affected are ground floor near 105

    The hotel was cheap

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dirty restaurant, rooms not properly cleaned, careless receptionists, terible noise though the hotel was empty, cold and mould smell at the ground floor rooms. poor breakfast - we received 3 small portions of Nutela for 5 people staying in 2 rooms: family and double and Nutela was the only thing the kids could eat. When we asked another 5 grams, there wasn't any left; broken beds: the bunk beds that we paid extra for the kids were woobly and couldn't be used.

    I can't say I liked something. I had to ask to receive what I paid for.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    -

    Brilliant stay, we booked last minute and had brilliant service from the chap at the desk. Lovely room and lovely staff, very clean- and at an amazing price!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds spilting apart as they were singles fixed to gether not a double bed . WiFi not working hed to change rooms three times t.v. remote not working or no remote at all. Whirlpool bath not working view looking at a roof at the extension.

    Staf were great

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wifi wasn't working (they were changing from one supplier to another) when I stayed but the staff arranged for their administration wifi to be accessed via dongle(!)

    Good sized room. Helpfulness of staff when wifi access was needed and their wifi system was down.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not enough tea coffee sugar milk in room but reception staff sorted us out.

    The guys on reception were fab. Even found us an iron and ironing board which we expected to be alreafy in the room

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was noise from some sort of machine most of the night. I was in the Laughton suite rm217. This noise_a loud whirring went on for much of the night, certainly til 3am then it kicked in again around 630_700.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bathroom, hotel lobby & breakfast area - too hot. The bathroom radiator thermostat had sheared off so you couldn't control it - it was like stepping into a sauna. Stayed 3 nights - based on our experience at breakfast on the 1st & 2nd mornings I would not return to this hotel. However the 3rd morning everything listed on the breakfast menu was available. First 2 mornings: No fruit juice (some appeared from behind the bar area because I made a fuss (being a non tea or coffee drinker) but other people (T&C drinkers) were told there wasn't any!) No butter or substitute and a third of the cooked ingredients of a full English on the 1st morning weren't available and only a few of the continental choices were available. No internet for whole stay! I wondered if was due to the recent split from Best Western group as the login still stated BWConsorthotel. Have stayed here before and standards have slipped!!

    Nice sized room- we got given double bedded room rather than the 2 single bedded room we had booked. The staff were great - nice and friendly

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The first night we stayed here we had an evening meal. The food we chose wasn't cooked properly, and the plates were swimming in grease, and there were only 2 other diners, I did complain, but didn't receive any feedback. The breakfast was fine the first morning, however the second breakfast, although the food was cooked ok, there was no fruit juices or marmalade available.

    Reception staff and the lady serving at breakfast were friendly, polite and helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was ordered as a twin and finished up with a double bed. When getting into bed noticed that the sheet was soiled in a number of places. Unmentionable from rear end. I had to deal with this and remove the sheet. Believing bed not to have been changed from last occupant, it left me having an uncomfortable nights sleep. Could not leave quick enough and would not use again.

    Car parking and location to where I needed to be.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wow WiFi bad. 1/2 roll toilet paper no toilet brush Bath taps broken Restraunt and bar bad Breakfast I asked lady on menu it says mushrooms she said we don’t have any that sums it up as to dinner Rump steak and chunky chips ? Was frying fatty steak please view picture And 2 x frozen onion rings and frozen chips plus 1/2 tomato

    Parking was good j

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    when they say breakfast is served from 7;30 to 10am on a Sunday they mean you really should have finished your meal by 10am... I would prefer slightly better toilet paper for a 3 star hotel

    cheap and cheerful hotel with convenient access to M18 and M1. They were giving the place a new lick of paint this time stayed which is welcome.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No tea bags in the room !!!! One or two small things didn't work in the room (eg a light) Breakfast: friendly staff, but the menu could have been that much more varied and exciting !!!

    Comfortable & relaxing; arrived late and a meal was prepared for me

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wifi was very patchy in room

    People excellent, bedroom very good, breakfast superb but the wifi was a bit poor. If they sorted that it would get a Great all the way.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only downside the bed was two single beds and it caused discomfort and there was no remote for the tv other than that i would have given you 10/10 but i would use you again.

    I liked Dave the receptionist he made feel important and special promote him

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is very dated with a lift and online breakfast started at 7:30 am but didn't start till 8am. As we were timed this made us anxious. We did get to our appointment on time.

    The staff were ready to help

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The noise from other residents who where staying in the hotel in the middle of the night which was not acceptable. Did make a formal complaint to the hotel .

    Location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Limited breakfast choice and poor quality sausages also burnt tomatoes. Hard beds with waterproof mattress cove that makes you perspire all night. Dirty lace curtains.

    Disabled parking was good Hotel was warm throughout

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Few teething problems with one of the boilers. Smell of fresh paint because of refurbishment on rooms. Will be looking great once completed.

    New owners just taken over. Staff willing to help you.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    a/c didnt work but was given another heater.

    Large suite room for a very good price, friendly staff with very clean room. The bed was spot on and would stay here again.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything. I didn’t sleep for the 4 nights I was there due to the bed being so bad. I have a bad back due to this stay at this hotel. My room was 205. It was noisy in the hallway outside of my room. The door used to bang every time someone was walking in the hallway. The shower was like being dribbled on I was so cold having a shower it was unreal. My keys was faulty and kept locking me out on the second day I went to reception to get a new key but no one was there. I walked around the whole hotel looking for some staff but could not see anyone. 15mins later someone appeared and they had a bit of a attitude. I spent £157.50 on a very bad hotel. I booked on the rating which I think they are fake.

    The most horrendous hotel experience I’ve ever had and I did not like anything thing about this hotel.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Unfortunately, if you haven't got a car, there's only a Coop near you, that's it - but it's not their fault ;) The breakfast could be a little healthier. The full English is not up to scratch, and there's no fruit nor veggie alternatives.

    Easily reachable, was good for where we were working. Spacious and clean bathroom, same goes for the room. Had a good temperature, was not noisy, managed to relax well.

    Stayed in February 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: