Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Best Western Garstang Country Hotel & Golf Club 3 stars

Bowgreave Drive, Garstang, PR3 1YE, United Kingdom

#1 of 3 hotels in Garstang

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 139 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.9

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    8.5

  • Free WiFi

    8.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perhaps breakfast could be served a little later on a Sunday morning

    Very helpful, accommodating, polite, friendly staff in every single part of the hotel and facilities

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We only stayed overnight so everything was great for that length of stay.

    A warm and friendly welcome, the room was clean and well appointed and everything worked as it should. We ordered from the breakfast menu not the buffet which was very tasty with good service.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice hotel let down badly by the condition of the golf course: 1. No next tee signs...so many were hidden behind trees, which slowed play trying to find them 2. Greens were a mix of moss, grass and bare soil...very bobbly, very poor. 3. No flag on the 6th hole 4. Worst of all, NO 7th hole whatsoever...the tee wasn't marked and the green wasn't there for this par3 5. Some bunkers already filled in with grass, presumably for ease of maintenance They were charging £19 but it felt like a poor municipal course and as the course is the main draw of the hotel ( there is no pool), then it needs urgent serious attention...it wouldn't even be costly to fix and keep on top of the issues above

    Hotel was nice with a relaxed atmosphere. Food was decent Staff were good

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is in a lovely setting looking onto the golf course The staff were very courteous and helpful It was a beautiful room and very clean The food was lovely and a three course dinner for 19.95 was good value and very tasty

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I can not fault anything from my visit there.

    The reception lady was friendly and polite when we arrived. The room was big, and clean. The bed was comfy. The bathroom was clean. We took dinner in the restaurant and was amazing, my partner and myself enjoy the food, we thought that was good quality and cook really well. Breakfast was good.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Dangerous, insanely hot water in bathroom basin tap, fortunately only caused a minor scald. Potentially made the bathroom unsafe for unsupervised kids.

    Comfortable hotel, splendid, peaceful location with lots of things to do in the area. Excellent value for money at £45 a night.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    If you want peace and quiet this is the place even when there is a child's party on in the function room you will never know 5* for that.

    Was in the best surroundings you could ask for

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Large bedroom. Very hot water which is great. Evening meal excellent value. Breakfast had everything. Best bit....staff!! Laura on reception was amazing and restaurant staff were so helpful and polite. Loved it...will definitely be back

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the price could have included breakfast which we found a little expensive ,consequently we ate breakfast elsewhere

    very nice hotel but for room only a little overpriced

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing.

    having been travelling for over 6 hours and being stranded at Preston I was really pleased to get in to this hotel, the night staff member was fantastic and made me some sandwiches. I found the hotel to be brilliant in every way, I would strongly recommend this hotel .

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I always look for a no pets policy due to bad allergies of animals. I thought this said no pets but my allergies told me different. Good job i only booked for 2 nights.

    the room and the breakfast

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the attitude of the staff on the phone when i enquired about check in . i rang to ask, they came out blatantly and said that it wont be ready because "wedding guests are our priority" unprofessional

    bed, breakfast and area

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booked a twin room and was given a double bed. I was with a business partner and one of us didn't have a bed. This was very poor. As I booked a TWIN room. Will not be coming back to this hotel

    Easy to find

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Hot tap extremely hot - needed warning. On two of nights hotel booked for weddings and therefore noisy at times in the corridors.

    Good bed and spacious room. Good breakfast at a reasonable price.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Disturbed twice on secong night with drunken wedding guests. Very very disturbed night and foul language and very loud voices. Not pleasant. Wondered whether a refund might have been good on thrir partz

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A fire door separating the first floor communal corridor was located immediately outside the room. This unfortunately banged shut every time someone walked through it causing a bit of a disturbance late at night and early in the morning. Perhaps just replacing or adjusting the closer would sort this.

    Comfortable room

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was brilliant. All fresh hot food, not greasy! The little bottles of juice/milk were a lovely little touch. Staff were great with my kids. Very comfortable and good sized rooms. Enjoyed the relaxed atmosphere.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    everything was OK

    On a business trip so important that the restaurant was taking food orders up to 9.00pm (late arrival) and breakfast was from 7.00am. Food ok and reasonably priced. Plenty of free parking, clean room, comfy bed, hot powerful shower. Nice and quiet location.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything from the lovely room, food was fantastic and I can honestly say I don't think I've stayed anywhere that the safe have been so helpful and always with a smile. Will definitely be visiting again. Highly recommend to anyone.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I had a lovely room overlooking the Golf course which was comfortable, clean and quiet. The staff were both friendly and helpful. I really enjoyed the fantastic breakfast and although I did not eat in the restaurant at night, my room service meals were excellent. I shall be returning but the next time with my wife.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No towels on arrival. They had wedding party and had ran out of towels. Had to wait until they could source more. They then did not bring to room we had to go looking for them. Not a good show. Public areas untidy due to large number of guests at wedding.

    Very good breakfast. Within easy reach of where we wanted to be.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy wedding party running about late into the night banging on doors disturbing residents - staff didn't challenge the people, very poor. Offered a 20%discount as an apology - not good enough

    Location

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The mattress was a little bit lumpy, could do with replacing it.

    Being non golfers we still found everything satisfactory, even having a lift.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Location peaceful good breakfast spacious bedroom

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was beautifully decorated for a wedding..rooms where spacious and clran

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    really nothing, I liked it all

    the room was spacious, the garden view lovely, the bed was great. Lovely location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very clean and comfortable

    Excellent service and setting

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Being woken up at 1am with fighting and arguing right outside the room

    Beautiful location Excellent facilities

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The duvet was far to heavy and very warm, in fact too warm

    Very large and comfortable bed

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The very heavy duvet with a rather high tog rating for me, too hot for me

    Very large and comfortable bed.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great hotel, very very good value for the money

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shame about the weather. Rained a lot...but no-one has a crystal ball!

    Wouldn't play golf on my romantic holiday, be somewhere like Hawaii.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Everything, especially the staffs eagerness to please. I have no complaints whatsoever.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely hotel perfect surroundings, beds so comfy

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Carpets look mucky but think they just need replacing.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Comfy bed and warm room

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Pillows were too hard

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All the staff were very helpful. Room was comfortable and the breakfast was yummy.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved the size of the bedrooms nice and roomy! Staff were lovely had a nice stay thank you

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    General situation. Peace and quiet

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The bed was comfy. Everything was clean. The room was spacious. The bar sold good beer.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A long way from the centre of Garstang and taxis not readily available

    Very efficient helpful staff

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food was good, we were very satisfied

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing all good

    Large comfy bed, nice food friendly staff

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quietness due to situation of my room, even though Christmas parties were on.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lovely homely hotel

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn’t have anything to complain about.

    Every thing, food very good, staff were excellent and so helpful

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I booked a twin room and was then allocated a king size room

    Beautiful venue and lovely breakfast

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food was just edible

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Quiet room facing the golf course was ideal. Very friendly staff in the bar/dining area.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    leisure facilities ie: gym/sauna would be nice

    Excellent breakfast

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Staff were helpful

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    The location was perfect for the wedding would recommend. Staff go the extra mile to make everything perfect.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was cold.

    Room cosy and comfy. Very clean. Reception very friendly, genuinely happy to help.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything was excellent! Only minor complaint was toughness of sausages!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wonderfully friendly staff made the stay a pleasure

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    lovely quiet location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff very helpful and friendly.

    The location was very nice, very clean rooms , lovely restaurant, quiet surroundings perfect for a relaxing break.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location and food

    Dinner at restaurant was excellent

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location. Well maintained and modern accommodation. Simple but very good food, service etc Good value for money

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very friendly staff, great food and perfect hotel for business and leisure trip.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillows hard

    Staff

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    na

    staff so friendly ++

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Good all round really. Comfortable, easy accessibility for nearby Company we were visiting. Good food and bar :D Staff were very polite

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/a

    N/a

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Furniture in rooms a bit tired and outdated

    The location was outstanding and the staff helpful and friendly. Breakfast was good and

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stained towel - replaced immediately

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Weather?

    From reception, staff were friendly, informative, and happy to help.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothing it was value for money

    the location and the quality of the hotel.the staff were friendly and helpful

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Everything was fine. I have no complaints

    The quiet location and the quiet room.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed three nights, weddings on two of the days.

    Proximity to golf course

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Nearly getting hit by a stray golf ball, which was actually quite funny.

    Everything was spot on. From the comfort of the beds, to the value for money for food and drink!

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2016

    • Solo traveller

    Nothing

    Lovely location, nice and quiet, not too busy, could easily have stayed longer if not moving on that day. Was only looking for night stop breaking long journey.

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Possibly a small gym in the hotel would be nice. Golf course closed due to adverse conditions on the course. Not their fault.

    We really enjoyed our stay as usual. Comfy beds. Cleanliness. Good breakfast and casual dining. Bar area and sports bar has been refurbished which was very pleasant. Very quiet situation and therefore a good nights sleep

There are also 66 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: