Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Best Western Kings Manor 3 stars

100 Milton Road East, Portobello, Edinburgh, EH15 2NP, United Kingdom

#60 of 143 hotels in Edinburgh

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2441 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9

  • Comfort

    8.7

  • Location

    8.2

  • Facilities

    8.7

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2018

    10
    The very best place to stay in Edinburgh.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If I could give this property 6 stars we would. We have had the best stay of any properties we have stayed in all over the world. The staff were absolutely wonderful and provided exceptional service from Reception, housekeeping, restaurant staff, and the porters thank you all so very much..

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2018

    10
    The size of the rooms were amazing value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only negative thing I can think of is variety of meal choices on the menu... however the meals were lovely.

    The size of the rooms were amazing value for money. Clean and spotless. Would defiantly stay again.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2018

    9.6
    Good location and decent Hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Couldn't run up a tab in the bar - had to pay each time Had to go to the bar to order another drink in the middle of my meal

    Clean and quite modern Friendly staff

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2018

    8.3
    Very satisfactory.......met all my needs at fraction of the cost of staying in the centre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very good value for money. Parking excellent + easy access from bypass. On a direct frequent bus route into Princes Street. Short drive to Portobello beach. Use of swimming pool etc .......very good value for money.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2018

    10
    The staff was really good,very friendly and the breakfast...
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing that we didn't like.

    The staff was really good,very friendly and the breakfast was really awsome with many varieties to choose from.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2018

    10
    Very clean, comfortable bed, good size room which doesn’t...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing! It was perfect for my needs and I’m coming back for Christmas.

    Very clean, comfortable bed, good size room which doesn’t feel cramped. It’s in a great location only 6-7km outside the center (totally walkable). Close to portobello beach and high street which boasts some great food and coffee places. Brunstabe train station is five min away and there are plenty of buses. The hotel is nice and quiet too and the staff friendly and professional.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2018

    7.5
    The congeniality of all staff I had contact with.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Few tweaks needed in disabled friendly room. Left a letter of feedback at reception. Was disappointed I didn't get a response. I couldn't access the beach as I fell between the gap of the twin beds onto my bad knee.,and so wasn't fit enough to do the walk to beach.

    The congeniality of all staff I had contact with.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2018

    10
    A beaautiful well run hotel very welcoming of travellers with dogs.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was nothing we didn't like.

    We chose this hotel because of its proximity to Edinburgh and because it was dog friendly. The dog was warmly welcomed and even given a little goodie pack. The staff were very helpful, the hotel was very quiet. The rooms we were given were large and exceptionally clean.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2018

    5.0
    The hotel advertises as having three restaurants.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel advertises as having three restaurants. They all serve almost exactly the same dishes. One charges more for the same dishes. It is basically a choice of which of three rooms you want to eat the meal. There are very few other places to eat within easy walking distance.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2018

    8.3
    Excellent value for money
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    They brought the wrong dish after a long wait ! The waitress was very sweet but not knowledgeable on food and wine ! The hotel was close to QMU which is why I booked it but it actually took 2 buses and ages to get there !

    I had a fab fish pie really yummy ! Nice glass of house wine ! The senior staff were gracious and knowledgeable.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2018

    7.9
    Club rooms were spacious and well appointed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wheel chair access between Club room area and reception needs attention. My chair is slightly wider and I had to walk a 20m distance.

    Club rooms were spacious and well appointed.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2018

    9.6
    Glood hotel with onsite parking and easy bus service to city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All fine.

    Very comfortable and clean room. Bus stop right in front of hotel and only £1.70 to the city. Takes about 30 minutes depending on the traffic.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2018

    9.2
    This hotel fullfilled all our needs and was very good.
    • With a pet
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bedroom and bathroom were excellent, we had been given a free upgrade. The swimming pool was great and good changing facilities. Pets being allowed was the reason for choosing this hotel in this location.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2018

    9.6
    Great Hotel will be back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing I can think of.

    Staff very friendly and helpful. Rooms very clean and modern. Food decent too. Leisure facilities very good too. Plenty of parking. Good transport into Edinburgh 30 mins by bus or 7 mins by train, Good location for exploring the Scottish Borders.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2018

    9.6
    Welcoming stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast service was a little bit and miss

    Greeting on arrival was exceptional. Really made to feel welcome. Checking out was equally well done and friendly.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2018

    10
    Exceptional hotel. Highly recommended.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Fabulous hotel. Exceptional value. Great facilities. Lovely room in old building which had been done up in a modern and eco-friendly way. Very informative staff. Excellent links to the city centre via frequent buses from right outside our local train station. Wish I could have stayed longer. For the price one of the best places that I've ever stayed in. Well done!

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2018

    9.2
    Friendly staff, good food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Outside noise from other guests very noticeable and aware of noise from other rooms, possibly could do with some form of sound proofing to limit.

    Friendly staff, good food. Great location for buses and walks.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2018

    10
    If you want to be a bit outside Edinburgh with easy parking,this is the place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothing

    Friendly staff,nice big room,good food in both restaurants and plenty of parking. Portobello boardwalk and lovely beach within easy walking distance.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    8.8
    An excellent stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is no fault of the hotel...Other guests in nearby rooms shouting and slamming doors during the night.

    The pool was large and spa pool was nice. Our family room was very spacious and comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    8.8
    We would and probably will return in the near future.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our room had an extra single bed in it which could, in our case, been used as a sitting area instead. I appreciate that families might prefer this arrangement.

    Room was spacious and bed was extra-large and comfortable. Staff were very helpful and informative, especially about places of local interest.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    10
    Exceptional, would highly recommend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was a bit too hot at night

    Customer service by all the staff was exceptional. Location was very good with easily accessible bus routes. Room was clean and continental breakfast was nice.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    8.8
    We stayed as my son was in the Scottish half marathon it is our second stay for that reason.
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Clock on the wall was too bright during the night and the pillows a little hard. Quite a few people staying for Scottish half marathon including ourselves. Perhaps a mini bus to the shuttle buses might encourage more people to stay at this hotel, even for a small charge.

    Room service

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    8.8
    Comfortable and affordable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location is a bit far from the city centre though there are trains to the centre every 20min which takes about 10min.

    The room is spacious and the WIFI signal is great. The breakfast is good and the staff is nice.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2018

    9.2
    Large swimming pool, comfortable stay, lovely breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Close to Portobello Beach, some restaurants in the area with lovely food reasonable priced. We had a very good sleep and enjoyed the large pool , jacuzzi and steam room to distress in the evening.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2018

    7.1
    Average due to above issues
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food was poor,you can’t reach the bedside tables from the bed as bed didn’t fit properly,the tv remote was hard to use and you couldn’t see the tv properly from the bed

    The bath,the bed was comfy

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    9.6
    Staff work as a team room was great, we asked for a walk in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We could have done with some glasses or plastic cups in room for water.

    Staff work as a team room was great, we asked for a walk in shower as my wife has some mobility issues. It was fantastic ground floor and not far from all facilities. Easy to get transportation to city centre. Would definitely stay here again. Local area was brill for a walk, near the beach of portobello.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    7.9
    Bed was comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Glasses were not replaced in room nor towels. Room smaller than othet BW I"ve stayed in in Scotland.

    Bed was comfortable. Fresh trout was hood in restaurant. The bar man was friendly and provided ice for our room each night.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    7.9
    Friendly staff, parking available
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was full English, but of England of decades ago... Over cooked and not very nicely presented. Not to Best Western standards I’m afraid.

    Friendly staff, parking available

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    10
    I was on my own but felt comfortable from the moment I...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was on my own but felt comfortable from the moment I checked in. Breakfasts were excellent . Staff Attentive. Would definitely recommend this Hotel.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    10
    Enjoyed everything about it just wasn’t long enough
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fact I only stayed 1 night

    Was made welcome by reception staff. My wee doggy was given bone biscuits poo bags and a welcome booklet explains where there were good walks. My room was excellent and bed was comfy. 5 min walk to portabello beach. Good cafes fish and chip shops. Leisure facilities very good. Couldn’t fault the hotel would definitely recommend

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    10
    Excellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location. Ideal for the bus into the city centre - only £1.70 for adults. So handy for Portobello Beach. Lovely helpful friendly staff. All staff on reception and in the restaurant were amazing. Food was great. The leisure centre and pool were immaculate. Had breakfast up to our room and it was delicious. Cannot recommend the hotel highly enough. Would personally recommend it to anyone. Thank you all for a lovely visit!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    9.2
    A busy hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The business of the hotel on the Saturday of our stay - we could not eat in the restaurant and had to eat a rushed meal in the bistro.

    Friendly staff, comfortable room.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    9.2
    Amazingly friendly and helpful staff made staying at this...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Amazingly friendly and helpful staff made staying at this hotel a real pleasure. Location a short taxi or train ride to central Edinburgh whilst being right by the coast a short walk away

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    10
    peaceful, relaxing, enjoyable we only left hotel to go walking with the dog on the bea
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    leaving

    the property was lovely although busy quiet and restful everyone very polite and helpful, as we had our dog with who was staying in a hotel for the first the kindness of staff and the goodie bag she got made her stay special she loved getting all the pets from staff and guests

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    10
    Excellent hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent place. We stay here each time we come to Edinburgh. Very friendly staff and wonderfully comfortable hotel. We love it. Clean and spacious rooms, very friendly staff.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    8.3
    Very Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room I was given was very small (albeit it was an en-suite) although I cannot imagine that it would be used for anything other than lone travelers. Whilst this didnt really affect me, I felt that a little bit more space would have been nice. I found the bed to be quite firm as well, but didn't affect my sleep.

    Hotel is clean, well located (bus stops serving the city are right outside, nearby train station & supermarket), and the breakfast provided was very good. Bus took about 20 minutes or so to the city (same as if you were driving)

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    9.2
    Uni drop off!
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was chaos: 3 coach parties leaving at once and no room for anyone else in the restaurant which was a bit of a problem as we wanted an early start as we had a long journey. Could have done with starting earlier even though it was a Sunday to get everyone through. Food was great though!

    Staff were lovely- very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    10
    Great stay in portobello.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to dislike

    Spacious room. Our room was very quiet on ground floor. Convenient for bus into city centre. Beautiful area near beach and great cafes. Free parking. Friendly helpful staff

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    10
    Clean, bright and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food menu uninspiring, to the extent we eventually ate elsewhere. Bistro did look like a nice place to be, though.

    This is a lovely, beautifully decorated hotel with large clean bedrooms and pleasant staff. Our bed was really comfortable. The pool is outstanding.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2018

    8.3
    Large friendly hotel but could do better
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    A certain lack of professionalism. One day they forgot to clean the room. Also, I left my mobile charger and adapter in the room on departure and my calls were never returned. Perhaps the cleaner also forgot to hand it in. When you pay over 1000 pounds for a few days, you expect a bit better than that.

    Very friendly staff in reception and restaurants. Large, comfortable room and good facilities.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    8.3
    The Best Western Kings Manor was clean, roomy and quiet. I would stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Air-conditioning or at least a fan would have been appreciated. Perhaps a fan was available - we did not ask. BW Kings Manor is somewhat removed from the Edinburgh attractions but is more reasonably priced than other closer hotels.

    The room was quiet, clean and roomy.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    7.1
    Pleasant and helpful staff for late check in and early check out overnight stay.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was aware that room would be small but appears overpriced although appreciate it included breakfast that I missed due to early departure.

    late check in and helpfulness of staff

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    10
    A lovely dog friendly hotel, 10 mins walk to the beach and a short bus ride to Edinburgh.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    A newly refurbished room - they have covered all the little niggles I sometimes see in a room and more. All cold water taps are drinking water. Recycling bin in the room and throughout the hotel. A proper night light in the lovely bathroom. Huge bath towels rather than a robe. 10 out of 10 for their new rooms.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    9.6
    Friendly and comfy
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would be good if they had a dog friendly eating section as ours don’t like to be left alone so we had to find another place to eat.

    Staff really friendly and both dogs and toddler got goody packs. Nice breakfast (good for vegans even). Comfy bed. Only stayed one night so didn’t eat there but will stay again.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2018

    10
    Pets soooo welcome
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Staff were soooo helpful and friendly. We had an emergency with our puppy and they really couldn't have done more to help. Breakfast staff were full of good banter and fun. It looks a real happy place to work Loved the extras given to us as we booked in with a puppy... Poo bags, door hanger for waggy people and a book of kennel rules she needed to abide by to stay. Fabby

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    10
    Thoroughly enjoyable :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Struggling to find anything I didn't like.

    Helpful staff, great facilities (restaurant/health suit), quiet location (but close to the beach :) ).

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    8.5
    On the whole this hotel was really good and I’d stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast I had on Friday morning was grim and definitely not worth the £11 I paid. I had Haddock and poached egg which was a little mushy and absolutely loaded with salt and the coffee was like coloured water.

    All staff were very helpful and friendly. The Nuffield Spa attached to the hotel was fab and spotlessly clean. The full fried breakfast and coffee I had on Sunday was delicious (in complete contrast to the coffee and breakfast I had on Friday) and the lady seeing people into Breakfast had such a kind and lovely way about her, even when she was dealing with other staff members.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    8.8
    Nice hotel, quite expensive for just B&B, too far out of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice hotel, quite expensive for just B&B, too far out of the city centre but regular local buses. Bus stop just outside the hotel. £1.70 for a single ticket.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    7.5
    The stuff was friendly and helpful.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only downside of the hotel was the noise probably from the fan in the bathroom. Naturally I turned off the switch of the bathroom, yet the noise seemed to be coming from the bathroom of the next room. This happened the last two days of my stay. It's weird.

    The stuff was friendly and helpful. A typical Scottish auntie at the breakfast place was so kind as to show me concern for my delayed baggage. I was really glad. The breakfast was nice too. The swimming pool and its related facilities like the steam bath is a great asset for swimmers like me.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    10
    Couldn’t ask for better!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only one packet of biscuits in the room😂

    If you’re looking for dog friendly, this is definitely the place! Even got a doggy welcome pack on arrival! Staff were very welcoming and the room was clean. Even ordered Chinese takeaway one night and the receptionist went and got plates and forks for us without us even asking! Small touches like that just bring great service. Would definitely stay again!!!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    9.6
    Good location if you like walking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to dislike. Location bit out of central Edinburgh but good bus and train links.

    Good location if you like walking. Portobello has great beach and good selection of local shops and cafes Hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. Room was spacious and comfortable

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    10
    Excellent will definately return
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    The hotel was excellent, the room was large and very well decorated with a spacious shower. The buffet breakfast had a very good selection. Staff very friendly and helpful

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    4.2
    Won’t go back!
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleanliness- found an old dirty sock on the floor (easily seen). Peanut on the floor- fortunately we did not have any nut allergies. Used restaurant and had to wait 50 minutes for my meal. When I asked when my meal would be served, I was informed my order was “lost”. That is perhaps understandable but no one asked me, I was on my own, if I was being attended to! I felt I was invisible! Breakfast was just ok

    The reception staff were helpful.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    5.8
    The location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The small pokey room that looked nothing like the rooms on your website. The noise from other residents, we think there was a dog in one room as something kept moving about during the night. The fact that the restaurant was closed on the Sunday Evening. That no one told us that they sold day rider tickets for the bus into Edinburgh.

    The location

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    7.9
    Overall an average rating taking everything into account.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    We stayed 5 nights and ate in the main restaurant once and the Bistro once and on both occasions were underwhelmed by the standard of food although the service was faultless . There was a wedding at the venue on the day we ate at the Bistro and although this shouldn't have impacted the normal hotel services I feel it probably did. The prawn starter I ordered was absolutely tasteless and the lasagne for main seemed like it had been reheated from a previous day. I should have sent it back but really couldn't be bothered. We would probably stay again if in the area as it was in a convenient location but would definitely find other venues for evening meals. Edinburgh has a host of excellent restaurants.

    Room was very spacious. Staff were friendly. Breakfast was good. Location was fine for our purposes. Parking plentiful. Convenient location - a bus ride or £15ish taxi ride into the city centre.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    9.2
    Excellent service, rooms and food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This family-run hotel has certainly instilled friendliness, thoughtfullness and efficiency into its staff. The room was clean and spacious with a very comfortable king size bed, a good working area, tea & coffee facilities and the modern bathroom and walk-in shower was just the ticket. There was an excellent choice at the buffet breakfast and good, quick, friendly service. A lovely swimming pool and spa. We were particularly impressed that we were contacted very quickly by mobile when they discovered that we had left our laptop in the room after checkout which enabled us to return and collect it before we had gone too far. All in all excellent service and an enjoyable stay.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    9.2
    Great place to stay wished we'd had more time to relax around the hotel looking out and go to beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only very little niggles are would have been nice to get a drink to watch tv with in our room after bar shut even of it was only bottles. Business guests could be seated for separately for breakfast. Business conversations are boring and I wasn't even working just wanting to relax.

    Bed was huge and comfy, breakfast great choice! Good location.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    8.3
    We were attending a funeral and the hotel was adequate for our purpose.
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The reception staff were not aware that Waverly station has a passenger pick-up point. we spotted it too late, during festival time, and were not able to use it.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    9.6
    Very enjoyable. Great location to catch the bus into the city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed was too small.

    The staff were amazing. Made us feel so comfortable and welcome. Helped us celebrate our hand tying which we did in Gretna Green. Made us feel special.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    9.6
    Very good hotel, good food and drinks and fabulous staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing to say here

    The hotel was excellent in every way - food very good and not expensive - we thought the bistro was best. Staff ( or friends) were very welcoming, friendly and always smiling and helped us so much with transport, advise and showed an interest in what we were doing. I would recommend the hotel to anyone and will certainly go there again.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    6.7
    If I wanted to visit Edinburgh city centre again I would choose a city centre location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Large Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was a bit of a trek to get into city centre. We used public transport which was OK.

    Swimming pool facilities were excellent. Hotel was clean and well maintained. The reception staff were friendly and helpful as were the restaurant staff.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    8.3
    Lovely place - shame about the food
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food in the bistro was awful. I had lasagne and it was burnt on top and had then been covered in cheese (I assume to disguise it) mentioned to the staff and was offered a free drink and apology. My mum had the beef brisket in a brioche bun, the beef brisket was nice but was covered in jalapeño (a huge pile of them inside). It just seemed to need a little bit of tlc.

    The leisure centre is great and the pool nice and clean. The hotel room is lovely decorated and a great size.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    8.3
    2 night stay no problems very good hotel nice staff fair prices for food and drinks.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    NOTHING.

    the beds where very good cause I've got a bad back but slept very well. we used the bus to go into Edinburgh the bus stops just outside 15 min run £ 1.70 each, got taxi back £12,00. the hotel was easy to find ring road and next to collage just off roundabout 500 meters on right. the bar was reasonable and food good. would stay again no problem.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    9.2
    Great long weekend in Edinburgh
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Check in experience was not great. Hotel had booking for my sister but said my booking had been cancelled. Don't know who was at fault but it certainly wasn't me. Anyway, fair play to the reception staff, they gave us a cup of tea while they sorted things out. All good in the end.

    Good spacious bedroom, clean, facilities were good and food in Bistro was much better than our last visit some 4 years ago. Bus stop is right outside hotel with great service in to / from the city. Happy to recommend and we will certainly be returning.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    10
    Excellent staff friendly hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints.

    ALL staff were very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was excellent, the room met all our requirements, there was enough parking and there is an excellent bus service to and from the city centre.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    7.1
    Bus stop out front and had parking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dated property and needs updating. Had issues with a waitress in restaurant not understanding English and provided poor service.

    Bus stop out front and had parking.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    7.9
    Great value
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    As it happened, I had a reason for being in Portobello. If you just wanted to visit central Edinburgh, it's quite a way out.

    Excellent value, especially in the middle of the Festival. The "small single room" was exactly that, but had everything you'd expect in an en-suite room.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    5.8
    Friendly staff, but dirty hotel :-/
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Felt very dirty inside, both the lobby area, bistro, and room felt like they needed a major remodel and very major cleaning. The carpet in the room just felt gross. Bathroom felt dirty; dirty drinking glasses in the bathroom; and a belonging from previous occupants was left hanging in the bathroom.

    Friendly and attentive staff. A good homemade soup in the bistro. Comfortable bed, though could have used a larger sized comforter for the bed.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    7.1
    Great rooms and FAB breakfast!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel was being refurbished so we didn't see it at its best. Some of the reception staff were a little indifferent. It was our first visit to Edinburgh and as reception was our first point of contact, it would have been good to receive a warm and smiling welcome. We were unable to eat in the restaurant as there was a function. We ate in the Bistro. The food was good but we had to ask for someone to take our order and service was very slow. The waiter apologized with the excuse that there were other functions happening and they were quite busy.

    Rooms were very clean and comfortable. It was great to be able to open a window. There was plenty of hot water and a great shower. The buffet breakfast was excellent. Plenty of choice and everything replenished regularly. A big thumbs up to the attentive, friendly, polite and efficient breakfast staff.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    7.1
    Unusually big bed compared some other hotels in UK.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    First time ever there were no place for in the breakfast room. It was sold out because of some bigger groups. Some customers were not able to have their breakfast even it included to the hotel price. No place to open door for some cabinets or hotel bar, only apology because of the situation.

    Unusually big bed compared some other hotels in UK. Old but clean hotel in a peaceful area.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    5.4
    Room was tired, needed a good clean.
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was tired, needed a good clean. Pillows were like bricks. I went to super market to buy pillows. Room was too hot. No climate control, we had to sleep with the window open. Floors creaked, this must have been a bother to those in the room below.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    9.2
    you get what you expected.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rather humid and hot in the room, no air condition

    Good location in Portabello, 10 min walk from the sea beach. 30 min by bus to the royal mile and all the places of interest. Hospitable personnel. Good buffet for breakfast. Free parking). And reasonable price for Edinbourgh - what else you may wish). It is a real 3star hotel. We got what we expected and we are happy)

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    8.8
    Great location and easy to get into Edinburgh from there
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed wasn’t very comfortable. Think it was old. Also room not very soundproofed. Heard the people in the room next door talking.

    The ability to use the pool, sauna and steam room. It’s location to the station and easy access into Edinburgh

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    9.2
    I would stay there again
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Blackout blinds/curtains are needed. The sun came round the curtains and woke me up. Also the bedrooms need air conditioning.

    Great breakfast, friendly staff, quiet location, comfortable beds.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    7.1
    An OK hotel, short bus or train from the city centre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The walls are very thin, if anyone spoke in the hallway, it felt like they were right inside the room with you. The main thing that bothered me was being charged extra, without being told this would happen beforehand. I will start with saying I made a mistake, I booked a double room, but I hadn't realised I had only booked it for single use for my partner and I. We checked in together and were given two keys, nothing was said. I had included breakfast in the booking, and in the morning we went down for breakfast, and my partner came too. When we went to the desk to check out we were told we owed £11 for the extra breakfast. If we had have been told beforehand we wouldn't have bothered because my partner doesn't usually eat breakfast and only had toast. When we quibbled at the desk we were told they should have charged us £20 for the extra person, and they were doing us a favour only charging the £11 for breakfast. I think it is fine charging extra, but you should always inform someone beforehand so they have a choice. I recognise that this was my mistake and I should have checked the booking more carefully, but up until we checked out, nothing had been said.

    It was nice that you could bring dogs, and the hotel had everything you needed. The price was good and the bathroom was done really nicely done. It was a short walk to the train and bus station, and Edinburgh was only 1 station away on the train, although the trains aren't very frequent so check before you leave.

    Stayed in August 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: