Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Eden House Hotel 3 stars

North Parade, Grantham, NG31 8AU, United Kingdom

#15 of 16 hotels in Grantham

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 664 hotel reviews

7.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.3

  • Comfort

    7.2

  • Location

    7.9

  • Facilities

    7

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    7.4

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    6.7
    You get what you get I suppose but I have stayed in nicer hotels, that were not much more price wise
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The throwback salmon pink bath suite was a shock to see. No hairdryer in room and the one in my sisters room didn’t work Room was tired and dated

    Standard room with standard facilities

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    8.3
    nice room in good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    windows opened only a little bit and the room was a bit too hot- couldn't sleep well at night. But there was a fan provided which made it slightly better.

    spacious room and bathroom, good location: right next to the A52 so avoidance of the town traffic

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    5.8
    Location was good for my needs.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very out dated and needed sum money spent. Was unable to fill bath with hot/warm water as tap just ran cold.

    Location was good for my needs. The one staff member that I saw was polite.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    5.0
    Value for the money, but don't expect anything special.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Too hot. Needed black out blinds. Needed hooks on back of bathroom door (ie not enough storage space in bathroom). Bathroom door lock didn't work. Nowhere in shower to put shampoo/ soap etc/ couldn't open shampoo/ shower gel sachet without scissors. Light fittings were not straight. The whole place had a lack of attention to detail, but it was ok for the price per room. Would only stay there again if it was in the perfect location for the reason for staying, which is why we stayed there this time.

    \perfect for where we wanted to be

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    7.1
    Clean, basic, fairly decent value for money for one nights stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The guest house would benefit from some cosmetic refurbishment; there was a large mark on the carpet in my room, and the tea tray was cracked. The room where the reception was held though a fair size, it looks a little tired and the air con didn’t reach most of the room so it was very stuffy. It’s also a pity that there’s no lawned garden area with something for children to play on. The patio at the front is good but got very crowded and smoky.

    All staff including housekeeping were friendly and polite. Food for the wedding reception I was attending at the guest house 7/7/18 was of very high quality and delicious. Comfortable bed and crisp bed linen. Huge new tv in my room. Also the fan in the room was extremely useful as it was stifling hot! Public area was welcoming, and a basic wheel chair ramp was provided. Nice breakfast. Ideally located minutes from the town centre. Surprisingly quiet despite being on a main road and having the cross country train go by every 5 minutes!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    7.1
    Underwhelming
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No children’s menu. I had to buy adult meals for my 5 year old son. When I sent my food back as they gave me the wrong meal, food was just scraped off the plate and then bought back to me.

    Lovely helpful staff.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    6.7
    OK for what we wanted.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Better toiletries in the bathroom, much more modern curtains and bed hangings (some hooks missing so they fell down) Cooked breakfast was fine but only cheap white bread for toast, so we didn't bother ( or was that the intention?)

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    4.6
    Extremely disappointed!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is over priced, and run down! They didn’t have enough staff and I was there for my brothers wedding! The room I was staying in, the glass in the window had a big bit out of the window that just left the sharp window edge. I didn’t try to open the window with fear it would break the glass even more, which wasn’t ideal in 30 degree heat! I’m certainly disappointed!

    Good location.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    6.7
    Good location, ok hotel but nothing special.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There should have been more staff. There was no hot water. It is just a little out dated with the decorations and fittings.

    There was only one woman who was working and she was fantastic, she was doing the front of house, waitress, receptionist and bar staff.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    7.1
    Ok stay
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Carpet floor seemed kind of dirty, when arriving to the reception, we were informed that wi-fi is not working and that it will not be working for another week. After coming to the room, I tried it anyway and it worked?! Breakfast is rather poor in choice. If you take full English breakfast, is not self service, but you get served and no possibility for refill.

    Rooms are nice, spacious, free parking

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    5.8
    Will not be returning
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room very uninviting - needs update. Curtains hanging off rails. Windows frames very dirty. Only 1/3rd toilet roll left. And only one shampoo. Although bathroomvery spacious no where to hang or put clothes. Breakfast adequate but not particularly appertising.

    Lovely fluffy towels and nice bedding and pillows.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    7.5
    Would def stay there again .. and hope that they had managed to repair the windows by then!
    • With a pet
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was great, except that the window frames were broken in two of our rooms and therefore had to remain permanently open .. not good!

    Everything was great, except that the window frames were broken in two of our rooms and therefore had to remain permanently open .. not good!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    9.2
    Adequate but we wouldn't choose to return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No lift to upper floors and we were given a room on 2nd floor despite the hotel nor appearing to be full. Restaurant was disappointing although the receptionist did her best to make us welcome.

    Friendly welcome at reception and efficient check in. Comfortable and pleasant lounge area.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    5.8
    The staff, bed was comfortably
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No toiletries in the bathroom phone didn’t work very tired room. Only one towel between the two of us. Long wait for breakfast.

    The staff, bed was comfortably

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    7.1
    Lovely staff and ground floor areas--decor and presentation...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • House Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms and common areas above the 1st floor --the carpets were old, floors creaked and appeared that the second floor had had a quick coat of paint. If these areas are improved to the same standard as the ground and first floor it will be fine.

    Lovely staff and ground floor areas--decor and presentation and cleanliness.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    3.8
    Looking on Booking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Looking on Booking.com it looked nice and suited my needs. However this is a very out dated hotel and needs sorting out such as painting the rooms. The rooms are very basic and smell damp and windows in two of the we put in did not work. 3rd room we were in was not great again damp smelling bathrooms frankly needs ripping out. Toilet flush was broken as well and bed was stained. Then we come onto the breakfast freshly cooked ok but not great again basic. While eating they started to tidy up everything in a way made me feel rushed to basically get out and hurry up! So don’t go pictures you won’t get that hotel room ! Reception staff were pleasant but also have dual roles such as bar staff, kitchen porter! Poor girls

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    4.6
    Hotel a bit tired and a shortage of staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bedside lights were not working and when I reported this at reception was told that there was currently no-one who could look at them but someone would be in later and he could have a look but he never appeared. The water in the shower was only slightly warm. Every time anyone wanted a drink in the bar they had to go and look for someone to serve them

    The member of staff on reception was friendly but didn't see any other staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    7.9
    Value for money but no extras
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Neither of my bedside lights worked, only one had a bulb, the light over the mirror also didn’t work. The floor would have been comfier than the bed.

    The hotel was satisfactory for my needs, the staff helpful and polite, the hotel clean .

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    7.9
    Has the potential to be a great hotel when the renovations are complete.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lots of noise making it difficult to sleep. The bathroom had cracked floor tiles, the extractor fan didn't work, there was no lock on the door and worse of all the bin had not been emptied from the previous guest.

    Good size room, friendly staff, excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    9.2
    The staff were lovely/very helpful although the rooms were tired looking/in need of refurbishment
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was tired looking and needed freshening up. It was a shame that the rest of the hotel had clearly had a recent refurbishment but that this had not been extended to the bedrooms. Although clean looking there were marks on the wall, the separate bathroom and toilet was dated and we overlooked the bin area at the back of the hotel although this had been cleverly disguised by a frosted sheeting on a window that we could not open. Having said that, the bed was comfortable and I would definately stay again.

    The hotel was in a good location and you could not hear the train track across the road. It was well laid out and the main rooms of the hotel were newly decorated and the staff were very friendly and accommodating. We arrived to find that there were two separate functions that evening and a wedding fair the following morning although the functions were well contained and there was no noise overspilling to the rooms.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    4.2
    I would avoid this hotel if you want a comfy stay or even average stay, overall needs a refurb
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    - The room was very tired (just like the rest of the hotel), very dated but most importantly do not expect a comfy stay! we could not sleep in the bed, we felt every spring and spent most the nite re-arranging pillows/flipping them mattress - They had no alternative pillows at all! the pillows provided are like paper, they provide no comfort at all, when asked for harder pillows we received blank stares and made to feel that we were being awkward, 4 hours later and 2 staff members later we could only be given 3 more pillows of the same type we had - Customer service was awful, no genuine care or consideration given and the manger was very rude and gives the impression "its his way, or no way"

    - car park had amble room i guess

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    5.8
    Not worth the money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • House Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pillows were very thin - we had to ask for more. Room seemed very tired and uncared for. The bedside lights didn’t work. Bathroom tiles needed to be regrouted, toilet paper awfully cheap. Dirty sofas in reception area.

    Pleasant staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    5.0
    It was somewhere to sleep after my mums funeral. However not to be repeated
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No bath only dirty shower. We kept banging our feet on the feet of the bed as the room was so small and the bed was creaky whenever you rolled over. We had to wait for 10 mins before we were acknowledged and served for our breakfast as only one member of staff working.

    The staff were very friendly.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    9.2
    The couple who own the hotel are lovely people.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The couple who own the hotel are lovely people. They only took over the premises in January and so they have a great deal to do, but they were very friendly and the rooms were very basic but clean and tidy and ideal for what we wanted.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    6.3
    Beds were the saving grace for this hotel!
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking!!!!! Major problem getting parked. It appeared to be a free for all! Yet when checking out next morning-car park was empty, so obviously it wasn't filled by staying guests! Bathroom door had handle on one side only so could not be closed properly unless folded newspaper wedged underneath! There also appeared to be a non working extractor fan! Window could not be secured open, so had to leave it closed overnight-room overlooking a flat roof! Room door looked as though it had been previously forced open and did not seem very secure. Very steep stairs and no lift!

    Fairly comfortable beds-once we turned the mattress over to the cushion top side! Why it had been turned upside down is anyone's guess.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    5.8
    Convenient location to Arena UK, staff helpful and cheerful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very hard bed, quality of food average, bathroom looked tired and not as fresh/clean as expected.

    Convenient location to Arena UK, staff helpful and cheerful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    7.1
    Good cooked breakfast, tired, small display of fruit. Comfy bed. Not very clean hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Given the wrong room to start with, but on request, it was corrected. Apparently the hotel has changed hands several times recently. Not sure who owns it now. A Portuguese family seemed to be living in it and looking after it at the moment. The hotel is generally looking dirty and is in need of a spring clean and a lick of paint. Other than that, it could be a lovely hotel, and it’s an excellent location for Grantham town.

    The breakfast was delicious - lovely scrambled egg and bacon. The waiter told us, halfway through the breakfast that it was not included in the price. Luckily I had email confirmation that the room rate included breakfast. This was not an unpleasant stay, and the low cost reflected the condition of the hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    4.2
    Very disappointed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old, very basic, poorly decorated rooms, lights and fixtures not working. Very disappointed with the experience, especially the bedroom condition.

    Location good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    6.3
    Ok it suited a purpose, though wouldn't probably return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bedroom was very basic and bland, toilet and separate bathroom was very old fashioned. Some of the décor in the 'wing' where we were staying was very tired looking, the door into the area definitely needed a coat of fresh paint!

    Public areas were nice, though we couldn't use the lounge in the evening as full with some visitors from a function of some sort. Staff were friendly and the location suited us and we could take our dog.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    8.8
    Good for the price
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Took forever to get a cooked breakfast, my last day there were 3 of us waiting over 15 minutes. The waitress was also covering the checkout desk! I asked for toast without spread and sauce, toast came buttered and I’m a vegan. Plus I’m still waiting for the sauce to arrive,

    Breakfast room was pleasant.The waitress was very courteous,

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    6.3
    We stayed for one night and, for the price we paid, it was OK.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The reception was unmanned most of the time that we were there. We had to find members of staff to help us. There was one member of staff dealing with breakfast and he seemed a little stressed and this reflected in his manner. The rooms were tired and in need of decorating/updating. I found the mattress on my bed to be extremely soft and consequently I didn't have a great night's sleep.

    The public areas of the hotel were comfortable and spacious. The staff we encountered were pleasant and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    5.8
    Some small attentions to detail would make a big difference.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Dated room and bathroom. Some cobwebs and dust. One towel for 2 people. No hairdryer or fridge as described. Lack of plug sockets. Very thin, cheap pillows. Noise from passing trains. Breakfast took over 30 minutes to arrive, despite only one other table in there, and was not as ordered. Cold selection fruit was dry.

    Nice entrance and reception area. Good parking. Staff were friendly.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    5.8
    OK in an emergency only!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    On arrival we discovered that the hotel is directly opposite a busy railway line. Thankfully not much activity late at night but a fair amount before then. Room was very tired looking, Wallpaper peeling off the bathroom wall. Mold on the rotary shower handle. One of our (two only) milks had been previously opened..... horrible thought!

    Very helpful staff. Beer was cheap. Bed was comfy.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    3.8
    Very uncomfortable.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    This was the worst accommodation ever. No heat, no hot water, old, dirty, a sink in the room, an dnot cheap. Not at all what I expected.

    It was convenient to Belton House.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    7.5
    Room ok for one night stay but probably not their finest hour due to busy function
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No hairdryer, had a function on which filled the car park, nowhere reserved for residents, bathroom decor poor, breakfast not until 8am then no one around until 8.15!

    Nice enough rooms and clean

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    10
    Great value for money hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I could not get the bathroom light to come on. I did report this but by the time I came back to stay for the second night it was not fixed and I was not offered another room.

    Friendly reception staff. Good bed and large room.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    5.8
    Appearances only
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No main light in bathroom,no light on landing, complained but nothing was fixed.Terrible dinner menu and expensive, staff and chef only attending a large table of foreign friends or family,almost 3 hours at table to eat soup,an awful sandwich and cold rock hard brownie.

    Lovely reception area and spacious beautifully furnished room.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    7.5
    Hotel functional for a short stopover. Beds highly rated for comfort.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel very dated, carpets worn & dirty, bathroom floor tiles broken, tile grout could do with a good deep clean

    The bed was very comfortable, surprisingly so!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    7.5
    it was fine. i wouldnt have been happy to pay full price but wasnt too bad for what we paid
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a crack in the window pane which was coming away but there was a double glazed unit over it to protect it but it didnt look very nice. the sink was in the main room not the bathroom.

    the room was spacious. The bed was Comfy. plenty of plug sockets. Tea and coffee ect in the room.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    6.3
    Room we stayed in is in need of a bit of love.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is lovely from the outside but very disappointing when you get to the rooms.

    On a positive note the staff that we came across were really helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    9.6
    Excellent value for the money, staff fantastic.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I could have done with a bath that night, aching after a long day.

    Very tidy and clean. Could not ask anymore of the staff, they were fantastic. Enjoyed the food. Room upgraded without asking. Will stay again.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    7.1
    Value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not much really. The Hotel has had a recent change of ownership/management again and most of the long established staff have left. I wish them well but time will tell

    The room was one of the refurbished ones and very well presented and clean, with a comfy bed.Although it would have been better if the bulbs in the bedside lights had been refitted and not left missing!!..Otherwise fine

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    8.3
    Good value for money on a one night stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The window pane was broken with a 3mm gap to allow the cold air in. The bottom of the shower door was very dirty.

    The room looked lovely when we first went in, the bed was comfy, the staff were very pleasant and helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    5.0
    Ok wouldn’t stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room felt very dated and not clean. At checkout they had already taken payment from my card which at checkin I said I wanted to use a different card or pay cash. Was not happy as the reception said this would be fine.

    Location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    5.0
    Bedrooms basic, tired looking and bathroom mouldy and dirty. Some staff were deflated.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bedroom we ended up in was very basic and the bathroom was grim, dated, dirty and full of mould. Our first room wasn't nice either and the bathroom door didn't shut or lock. We changed room and gave them a chance to rectify this. I asked for a nice room and this was the best they could do? Really disappointed.

    The public areas were nice. Lobby well furnished and the Brassiere was comfortable. Some staff we're pleasant.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    5.8
    I was so cold in the room, the radiators were off when it...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was so cold in the room, the radiators were off when it was snowing outside and I had to use two duvets to sleep. The staff in the morning said the radiators had been on but mine definitely hadnt

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    6.7
    ok
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The reception was poor and disorganised. rooms were not ready even though we arrived at 7.30pm. We had been assured the day before on the phone that everything was ready.

    bed comfortable room was warm

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    5.8
    Good value for the price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very noisy, guest where very load from 11.00pm until about 1.00am. We did not have breakfast as our last visit was poor. Room comfortable and fairly clean.

    Good Value

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    4.2
    A nightmare
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A frightening experience. Took a young child and the three rooms next door were loud until around 3am. All young men drinking heavily. There was swearing and shouting most of the night. I would have remonstrated with the staff, but didn't feel able to leave the room and the telephone next to the bed was out of order. When we left the staff were clearing up spirits and beer bottles. Never again.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    5.8
    Fortunately we had a comfy bed, and good breakfasts, apart from that I wasn’t impressed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A room with a door that locked from the inside, instead of a dubious safety chain! And seeing as we were on the fire escape a window that could actually be accessed by an adult .also a shower door that closed properly would have been nice.

    Breakfasts were lovely .

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    8.8
    I have no major kwarms, other than what's been mentioned.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room generally needs some attention to its decor; bath chipped, shower slow, the room could do with some proper/needed tlc.

    The bed was comfortable and room warm, drink making facilities generally ok. For the value it was suitable.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    5.0
    Freezing!
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I had to turn the radiator on when I entered the room at 17:30 and it took forever to warm up so I used the quilt of the second of the twin beds. During the night the heating went off completely and didn't come back on until after 6am. I get up at 5:30 so with temperatures of -6 it was pretty miserable.

    The fact that I could get a room when it was snowing and that it was in the centre of town.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    7.5
    Very comfortable bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Reception seating area cold...but a very cold day..

    Very comfortable bed.Warm room.Owner was very inviting and friendly.He made a point of greeting us and talking to us during our stay.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    7.5
    Great friendly service on arrival but poor service at breakfast and check out lets this hotel down.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We could not connect to WiFi properly during our stay. In the morning we could not find a member of staff at reception desk or in the breakfast room, so we had to wait a long time for even a cup of tea. When we checked out, the reception was again unmanned and we had to wait a long time for someone to arrive so that we could pay for our stay. We were in a hurry to leave, so this was very frustrating.

    The receptionist on arrival was incredibly friendly and helpful. It was snowing heavily and we were delayed arriving due to the bad weather. The restaurant kitchen was closing but she kept it open for us so that we could have a hot meal.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    8.8
    Served an important purpose adequately
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The window was covered with plastic frosting. As a preference I would have preferred a net curtain for privacy. The room was cold at times. The decor a bit worn. Saying that it was spotlessly clean and we were on a tight budget as we were visiting a sick relative so totally acceptable

    The staff could not do enough for you. The price was very cheap for the area. We did not have a remote in our room so they went to the shops to buy one straight away. The previous person must have packed it by mistake. The breakfast included in the excellent price was lovely.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    7.1
    Nice staff. Done the job for one nights stay. Good breakfast choice. More work needed inside.
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The mattress had seen better days you could clearly see the dip in the middle. The toilet could do with a good dose of bleach, the bath needs re enamelling. Don't know when exactly the room was last 'cleaned' as had only half a toilet roll to share for two. The window had some kind of plastic sheet on where you couldn't see out of, there was however a little 'peel back' where you could establish exactly where you were. Who ever sets heating done so all wrong. Evening freezing & I woke up dead of night gasping for air (I'm asthmatic) then in the morning it was freezing! Walls were paper thin there was someone knocking on window or door that was annoying. Make sure if it is B&B you specify on your booking you want breakfast. That is included on the bill.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    5.8
    Location of the hotel and free parking
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I booked two rooms at the same time for the same price. One room was very nice, spacious, updated the other room was like the poor relation. Very small and in desperate need of updating. Other guests staying were very noisy and a group were having a conversation on one of the landings for about 2 hours during the early hours of the morning, I had to go and ask them to be quiet as people were trying to sleep. We got up at 8.30 the next morning and left for home, I did speak to the staff and said it was a shame as other guests were putting the hotel in a bad light but I am sure somebody (staff wise) would of heard them. We were on the second floor and I couldn't see the people just hear them.,

    Location of the hotel and free parking

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    6.7
    convenient for walking into town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    our room was cold bath and toilet we now very clean. fire door to corridor did not close properly . continental breakfast only contained cereals and toast. no rolls or meats . room decore very dated. would not stay here again.

    convenient for walking into town

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    9.6
    pleasant but wood have got ten out of ten if it wasn't for the poor bathroom.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No proper shower, a hose from the taps is just not good enough in this day and age.

    food was fantastic, one of the best club sandwiches I have ever had, and I have travelled allover the world.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    7.1
    overall a pleasant stay, the staff were very friendly, and the breakfast was very nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our mattress was not very comfortable, it was too soft for our liking and you could feel all the springs through it. (it was only for one night though) Pulling out the bedside drawers it was obvious that they had'nt been moved recently by the cleaners as there was a great deal of dust and rubbish deposited there.

    we had our dog with us and the room we were allocated was large and slightly set apart from other rooms so making it less of a worry for us if our dog had decided to be more vocal (which he didn't).

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    4.6
    Stay away - I want a refund
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Stay away - Well where do I start. The car park is dangerous, bits of metal everywhere and generally just untidy. On arrival, it took 15-20 minutes for someone to come to reception, even though the bell was pressed 3 times. The gentleman who served me looked exhausted, and had his daughter running around the hotel. We were given two rooms, for the same price, one a lot better of size than the other. On entering the room, the carpets where dirty, and iron stained. The toilet seat was broken in room 102. It was cold. We went out for dinner, and came back to have a drink in the bar. We ordered two hot drinks, and 2 cold drinks. The head on the Guinness we ordered was huge, and the two hot drinks where cold. Ive never known chocolate syrup and pouring cream to be added to a hot chocolate as well as squirty cream and hot chocolate powder, that was very shocking. The lack of generally making a simple hot chocolate is worrying. However, due to traveling upwards of 4 hours, we were exhausted and went to bed. The breakfast was average. Fruit on the table was far from fresh and the milk was room temperature. This doesn't even top our visit off, we paid for the visit on our credit card fully at the end of our stay, however both of the rooms where booked under my debit card. They then took more money from my card details on site. Id advise you stay away.

    I cant say that there was anything I really liked about this hotel. I'm completely mortified about my stay.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    8.3
    Clean comfy bed, quiet. Overall acceptable expectation for rate paid
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only warm water in bathroom and shower screen had some mold, bath had chips so enamel was flaking off under feet. But it was only £31 for a late booking and I believe you get what you pay for.

    Nice bed and location

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    9.2
    Great value for money
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Single glazed windows let in the traffic noise

    I had a suite, which was great. Loads of space, which makes a nice change. King size bed, which was comfortable. Large bathroom. Great choice at breakfast

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    4.6
    Owners need to consider customer experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • House Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bedroom heating did not come on until after 5pm therefore freezing. Lounge and bar areas just as cold, therefore uncomfortable and unwelcoming. I had a cold already but we were so uncomfortable that we decided not to stay a second night. Bill settled with good grace.

    Friendly and helpful staff. Evening meal by Chef Adam excellent.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    7.9
    Good for what we needed it for, however we wouldn't go back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • House Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    1st room we were given had no bulbs/bedside lights, over mirror light etc , however on complaining they moved our room, however although better the bathroom mirror light didn't work or the shaving plug. The radiator didn't work either.

    It was clean and the staff were helpful.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    5.0
    Tired, cheap, no-frills hotel close to the centre
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bedrooms needed a total renovation. Broken and tired tiles in the bathroom, towel rails missing, replaced panelling not painted, door hooks falling off, first toilet was blocked and room had to be changed. Took 15 minutes to find someone to check in at 8pm. Check out by a very tired member of staff - not really professional. If you wanted cheap and close to the centre and you visited 10 years ago this would have been an ideal hotel

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    6.3
    Was alright barring above
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • House Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom was a bit worn Booked large double bed ended up with twin single beds, though the hotel said this booking.com's fault as they can see at the time what is a available

    Shower was nice and powerful, single bed was comfortable, breakfast was decent and overall price was good for NYE

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    5.8
    Overall ok. Was only for 2 nights & just somewhere to sleep whilst visiting family.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service wasn't that great but I understand its under new ownership with new staff. We left our key at reception as we were going out for the day. I had to look for someone on our return to get the key back. Not ideal when you're on your own with a child. Service for breakfast was very slow. I think the rooms facing the road need better windows to keep the noise out.

    The bed was comfy and the rooms were very spacious. The hotel itself is a little dated & could do with a facelift.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    7.5
    It was very handy for the town centre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was very noisy at night. Sounded like a child running and jumping about. Doors slamming.

    It was very handy for the town centre. The breakfast was very good

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2017

    9.2
    Get some staff
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I don't wish to criticise the staff as there seems so few of them. When I checked in the poor lad was also busy waiting on tables in the restaurant so i had to wait a few minutes. Worse followed the next morning. The poor lass on reception had to wait on tables and breakfast took so long, she probably made it herself. The second day was better, with more staff.

    Lovely rooms and the wi-fi worked well. Breakfast was tasty.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2017

    9.2
    Nice comfy clean hotel, I would come again
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    They forgot to freshen my room after the first night, however didn't really matter as it wasn't that messy. There were no ticket things to say 'freshen room' to put on door. A bit more difficult to find from A1 going North than South..

    I liked the fact it was clean and there was a bar. The décor was fresh and modern. The price was good, although I guess it goes up at other times of the year. Easy to reach from A1 going South.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    3.3
    do not waste you money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    the room was very old looking and smelly you cannot see out of the windows they had plastic over them and the breakfast was very poor

    I did not like anything about the hotel the whole place was run down .

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    3.3
    Worst hotel experience ever.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn’t like anything about our stay. I complained at checkout, was promised a call from the General a manager, which I still haven’t received.

    Horrendous hotel. Room door wouldn’t lock, which was just the first issue. Room was dated and smelt damp, we were there for a Christmas party, so the standard of room wasn’t our main issue as we weren’t planning on spending much time in there. The food was so horrendous that we ended up not eating anything at all. There was a cat wondering through the restaurant whilst food was being served, which wasn’t their cat, so not their issue apparently. We decided not to stay for breakfast. Worst experience of any hotel I’ve ever stayed at.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    4.6
    Nice to see family, dissatisfied with accomodation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The manner of the receptionist on arrival and when leaving left a lot of room for improvement, she was unfriendly, sharp and abrupt. The room was at the top of the building and there was no lift. My husband has a heart condition and the receptionist was unco-operative when we asked if the room might be changed. The hotel boiler was not working which resulted in no heating and no hot water for showers. The barman did actually find us an electric fire for the room, but this did not help the hot water situation. We had travelled for over 3 hours to get there and left the next day feeling dirty and grubby to travel over 3 hours to get home again before being able to shower.

    We had a lovely evening with family in the hotel reception area and bar staff were friendly.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    3.8
    The pits
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    As above

    Poor is an understatement. Our room had no towels and only a small amount of toilet roll. The room was large but out datedwith bad decor. In the morning we had no hot water so we had to go to a very important meeting dirty. If you want a good hotel in grantham don't stay here it's disgusting.

    Stayed in November 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: