Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Magherabuoy House Hotel 3 stars

41 Magheraboy Road, Portrush, BT56 8NX, United Kingdom

#6 of 8 hotels in Portrush

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1128 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.7

  • Location

    8.5

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    5.8
    Good Place to lay your head.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very old looking, smells of old ness, staff were ok not that friendly, room was average, food hygiene rating is a 4 which I think is poor for a hotel. It’s ok for a sleep but I wouldn’t want to spend much time here.

    Looked nice from outside, bed was comfortable. Free parking.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    5.4
    We won’t be back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The check-in was very poor. Check-in is 3pm and we were there before 3 but we didn’t get into our room till almost 4.00. Very little by way of apology. Room very impersonal but functional I suppose. Breakfast was ok but coffee was like dish water - undrinkable.

    Plenty of free parking

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    7.9
    All in all an enjoyable break.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We found beds very hard. The television in room very small. The WiFi wasn’t the best.

    The hotel was very convenient and large car park. The scones in Leona’s cafe were delicious. l

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    9.6
    All round a great experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We thought the towels were a bit of a let down. They were clean but most appear to have seen better days . But this is a minor point .Also a bit of art of any description in the bedrooms would be nice.

    Staff were outstanding . Breakfast excellent and the whole place was spotless

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    9.2
    Great location and comfortable hotel. Excellent food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the bar/lounge was very quiet. would have enjoyed some entertainment and given the weather a beer garden would be a lovely touch!!

    great food!! plenty of choice for breakfast liked the idea of self service....eat as much or as little as you like!! hubby says scones are amazing!!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    10
    The location, the size of the room and the bed was very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Accessible Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I liked everything about the hotel, although we had excellent weather and enjoyed walking into town, if you have trouble walking you might want to stay somewhere closer, or taxi in.

    The location, the size of the room and the bed was very comfortable. The staff where friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    7.5
    Good, basic accomodation with decent food and friendly staff. Well located for travelling and sights
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Constant low-pitched hum in the room; washbasin didn't empty quickly. Main eating area lacked atmosphere and decor.

    Great breakfast, although not the same food available both days

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    9.6
    Lovely hotel for a few days, but better to eat out locally in the evening.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The food we had in the bistro on our first night was 'average' and the room lacked any atmosphere. The waitress brought the wrong meal for me, however, I decided to accept it as I was hungry and couldn't be bothered to wait for the correct food to be prepared. As recompense I was not charged for half a pint of Guinness I had previously ordered. The meat in my wife's pie was tough and partly inedible.

    Our room was spacious, clean and quiet, however we had to ask for the heating to be turned on as the weather had recently turned cool. Plenty of parking and the staff were helpful and friendly. Breakfast was buffet style and very good. The home baked "wheaten bread" was fabulous.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    6.7
    Comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was served in a function room, with tables that probably seated 8 people around the room. It was like being in a wedding reception when all the other guests had left. Perhaps for couples or two friends, smaller tables could be provided. The buffet was adequate. The service for tea and coffee was very slow. When we asked the waitress for our tea / coffee, she said she would get it and then went back to laying a table!?

    Very large bedrooms and public rooms, which was good, but it made the atmosphere a bit clinical. Receptionist was very pleasant. Plenty of parking. Breakfast was ok.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    8.3
    Pleasant hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Limited selection for breakfast and dining room lacked atmosphere due to rather plain decor.

    Very friendly staff. Bedroom was huge and very comfortable bed.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    6.3
    Hotel rooms clean & comfortable, food awful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel was let down by the catering. The breakfast was tepid at best & the eggs congealed. They appeared to sit from beginning of service at 07:10 & if you were in later- they were still there. The hotel was quiet at this time, but a fresh breakfast should still be provided at the price they charge. We were told there was just what was on offer although room service had other options available. The staff were hovering waiting to lift your plate. We tried the "bistro"(bar) food once & the chips were inedible. There was a wedding on last day of stay & we couldn't get ice as they only have a small ice machine. If catering for hotel guests & functions there should be adequate facilities. Overall would not recommend.

    The reception staff were very helpful & the rooms were clean bright & airy. There was plenty of car parking space. It was a 5 minute drive into town & main car parks.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    10
    Excellent and would visit again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Basic Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bedrooms were spacious and comfortable. Manager was pleasant and patient sorting out a payment query. And Breakfast there was a wide range of choice and tasty

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    10
    Good experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing I didn't like about the property.

    The room was excellent and the bed was very comfortable. The staff were friendly and courteous.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    8.8
    Excellent Hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Accessible Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have liked to dine in the restaurant on Saturday night, but it was not open, bistro was alright, but not for a celebratory meal.

    Staff were excellent, especially at breakfast. Reception staff were also very helpful in organising suprise flowers for the room.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    3.8
    Dissappointing stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    As a family we have had a stay here for at least 1 night per year. Very dissappointed at the lack of cleanliness of the room. The carpet had a massive stain on it at the bathroom door... black hairs lyin round the sink from previous guest

    Dont think i will be back

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    8.8
    rebooked for following month thinking i had free...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Accessible Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    rebooked for following month thinking i had free cancellation (my mistake) but didn’t had to pay £50 and hotel wouldn’t waive fee even though it was clearly a mistake:(

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    5.8
    Unique but disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful on the outside but badly needs updating on the inside. Rooms were large and ok, except for a tiny tv and old rock hard pillows. All Reception rooms looked like more of a retirement home. Staff in Reception were pleasant but everyone else seemed like they would rather be somewhere else.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    7.1
    Lovely hotel in Portrush with good location. Avoid restaurant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The toilets were dirty. The restaurant was not nice at all and nobody came to check if our meal was nice. Group of 6 and everyone had cold food and some incorrect orders.

    Nice facilities, particularly for Portrush. Lovely rooms. Great location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    4.6
    Would not book again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Atmosphere

    Disappointing overall ; poor service in restaurant ; no resident bar as indicated on booking ; night porter trebled up as cleaner ; security ; and if lucky bar man ???? Hotel was fully booked but poor facilities would not recommend ;

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    8.3
    The hotel felt very comfortable and a secure car park
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints

    Very comfortable and large rooms, staff very accommodating. It would have been nice if the bathroom towel rail had been on, would not have needed clean towels.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    10
    Relaxed and pleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I could have arrived earlier !

    I arrived very late on the Thursday . The reception was warm and awake. All the staff were engaged and friendly and breakfast "hit the spot" on the following morn. The Hotel is a nice place to stay.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    10
    Staff were friendly, welcoming & attentive.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were friendly, welcoming & attentive. We were doing a charity cycle sportive & needed to shower afterwards. We checked out at 7am but Michelle at reception kindly arranged for us the use of a room at 2pm when we were finished. Thank you so much for facilitating this for us.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    7.9
    Thoroughly enjoyed our stay, very pleasant staff and reasonably priced enjoyable food
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The beds are a little hard and uncomfortable.

    Stayed here on more that one occasion (different rooms). We really like this hotel, one of the best - the staff are really great. Location, cleanliness, food, parking etc are all excellent but sadly the beds are not the most comfortable. Otherwise, it would be perfect.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    7.1
    Please improve your mattresses & pillows please , i'd love to stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Im afraid i found the bed too hard to sleep on therefore i had a very poor nights sleep

    The staff were very nice and the location of the hotel meant therewas no noise at night

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    4.2
    Doesn't live up to its exterior
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Property was very tired and in need of some TLC. Carpets were old and stained bed was hard with poor pillows. Lights in the hallways were on motion sensor so you continuously felt as thought you were the only guests in the place.

    Location was convenient

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    7.5
    Bed very comfy
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast wasn't great. Poor choice if you don't want an irish breakfast. Bananas were black and jam lids pierced. Not impressed.

    Bed very comfy

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    8.8
    Bed was very comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No sausages available at breakfast. Went for breakfast at 0935.layout of breakfast food not particularly good.

    Bed was very comfortable. Room very clean.staff friendly.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    6.3
    The location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Basic Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My bed was very uncomfortable,lumpy and had collapsed at the bottom half of the bed. Also the sink in bathroom was blocked and wouldn't drain properly.

    The location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    7.9
    Nice break but due to bed did not sleep well.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was very hard and uncomfortable.it was actually missing wheels or feet on one side.

    Room was warm and clean. The staff were very helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    10
    Very relaxing and comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing everyone and everything was fantastic

    The room was immaculate bed was very comfortable and the breakfast was top class Very polite courteous staff

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    8.3
    Great weekend with family.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast could have been later,10 am was too early to close.

    Very comfortable rooms and lounging areas.Reasonable distance from the town, definitely walkable.Courteous Staff and good entertainment available.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    7.9
    Breakfast let it down
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was very poor, little choice and what there was had been sitting for ages and was like a brick!!

    Staff very friendly and bedrooms were very spacious.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    10
    We really enjoyed our stay! Warm comfortable bedrooms especially as weather outside was cold!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldn’t get shower to warm up in bathroom otherwise bath did the job! I reported a loose steel lip on carpet in corridor where husband tripped over! Could you possibly get them all checked or replaced to prevent further mishaps.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    7.9
    This is a charming hotel served by dedicated staff and, with a few tweaks, it could be even better.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    In parts, the hotel is a little "tired". Both mattress and bedding needed replacing.

    Staff were warm and helpful and the hotel was spotless. The pancakes at breakfast were a highlight and we liked that the breakfast was cooked to order.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    5.4
    Just okay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Carpet tired looking both in corridors and in room. Windows had no latch on them. Bathroom was unclean upon arrival but was cleaned immediately upon my notification Car park needs some work to reflect a better impression of the hotel In general the hotel needs a wee bit of work, however we did enjoy our stay

    Within walking distance of Portrush. Staff very friendly and helpful Sunday carvery excellent

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    9.6
    Lovely staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The wifi in the room wasn't great and kept dropping.

    Staff were excellent, very helpful and friendly. The room was lovely and comfortable. We were attending an event at the hotel and it was very well run and organised by the hotel.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    7.5
    Great for an overnight stay close to Portrush.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very warm, no obvious controls to adjust (may have been missed by us). Immediate view from window was rear-view of someones house and garden.

    Nice room, definitely worth the upgrade to superior room. Clean, tidy. Friendly helpful staff. Plenty of choice at breakfast

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    7.5
    Large clean, comfortable room with spacious ensuite, Pity about the breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was mediocre, hard fruit, no natural yoghurt, also breakfast finished v early for. Sunday, 10am

    The room was spacious, very clean & comfortable with a big bathroom, plenty of room for 3 people & the single bed was a really good size as well

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    8.3
    Would recommend to a friends and family! Excellent!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were extremely friendly and helpful and the room was clean, tidy and comfortable with the necessary facilities. Close to the town and very close to Lidl and a Spar shop. Easy to find.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    9.6
    Enjoyed ...but breakfast was disappointing .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Paid the extra for breakfast in our room ...when it came it wasn't warm and we had to wait another 10 min for our tea and coffee .

    Staff were so friendly and helpful

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    8.3
    V good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Accessible Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could do with larger TV in bedroom,especially as room catered for disabled so if partially sighted the tv would be difficult to view from bed!

    Good breakfast

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    8.3
    The staff at the hotel were all very friendly and welcoming.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The staff at the hotel were all very friendly and welcoming. I booked a single room and ended up with a huge room that had a double bed as well as a single bed!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    10
    Once again a fantastic stay
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is nothing we could fault

    The room's are big the bed's are big and so comfy the food is always well presented and hot and very tasty nothing is too much trouble for the staff we keep returning to the hotel because we can't fault it and it is well situated for travellers

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    7.5
    Would stay again if in the area
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Had meal in restaurant and whilst the meal was very good I had to ask to see the dessert menu and then ask again for our bill.

    Breakfast was excellent and bed was very comfortable. Room very clean

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    10
    Lovely peaceful well run hotel to stay & eat in in a great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only one fault my partner drinks brandy and was offered this is an ordinary glass not a brandy glass ... because the Barman said people steal them ... my partner was offended as he’s a business man well dressed .

    We were here for New Years lovely quiet hotel great band played after our fab steak dinner ... thank you to all envolved... we will be back 😊👌

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    9.6
    Thankyou to all the friendly staff, lovely setting, would stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    For the price of our stay the hotel was very good, it could do with a little refurbishment in some of the areas also noticed several cobwebs within the room but pleased we didn't see any of the 8 legged creatures that created them 😂. No fridge in the room. Breakfast table had no cups,saucers,cutlery. Had to request for tea coffee to be sent to our table. One personal preference is to have a waitress take an order for hot breakfast/toast tea or coffee from our table, after making our own choice from the cereal/juice bar.

    Overall a lovely hotel....very quiet which was great..no disturbances from noisy guests...the staff were very friendly an accommodating..set in a quiet area with only a short distance from the scenic routes. I would choose to stay again. Lovely atmosphere within the hotel, plenty of areas to choose from for seating. Loved our choice of room worth paying a little extra for..it was very large..with everything that we required and more, toiletries, iron press, safe, robe,slippers,towels all provided. Food was very good in the restaurant and an ample buffet breakfast.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    10
    Nice, relaxing weekend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The heating was on in the room, very hi and constant. That was the only downside of our stay which wouldn’t bother everyone.

    Lovely hotel with great staff who were very accommodating. Food was really nice and reasonably priced. Very relaxed weekend, exactly what we wanted. I would definitely book again and recommend to friends and family. Thank you.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    10
    Had a great time, lovely breakfasts, pleasant staff and great dinner menu
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tv in room could be bigger, as you get a little bit older you need a bigger screen

    Loved everything, have stayed here before and this is why we returned, spotless rooms, lovely staff and great food, enjoyed everything, will return

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    10
    We had a great stay, and will definitely visit again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Staff were all excellent and very friendly. It was our 45th wedding anniversary, and when we arrived our room had been upgraded by the hotel to a superior room, with a sea view, at no extra charge. We were delighted.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    9.6
    Perfectly lovely short trip up to the north coast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed was a little on the firm side for me, but my husband loved it.

    Breakfast is served from 07:00 which suited us really well as we had to be away early. On what was the coldest night of the year, the hotel and bedrooms were really cosy and warm.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    10
    A wonderful hotel with first class facilities quality ambience and great staff beautiful location .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I can’t honestly think of anything that disappointed us .

    Everything beautiful clean rooms of an extremely high standard with all facilities , beautiful restaurants with a fantastic selection of food for breakfast , lunch and dinner also breakfast in bed option and a superb bistro coffee house and bakery on site all with great on site parking really close to portrush with a superb ambience , the staff themselves were an absolute credit nothing was too much trouble all in all a superb hotel for a short break or even longer stays no hesitation whatsoever in highly recommending this fine hotel .

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    9.2
    Very relaxing weekend overall.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room definitely wasn’t as nice as before. Ground floor. Tired decor.

    Have stayed twice before and were extremely happy with location and venue on both those occasions.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    8.3
    Very poor nights sleep nice enough hotel nice staff and breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had extremely poor nights sleep 😞 Couple in room beside us we're talking just before 3am which woke us up so u can hear everything through wall. Also there was some form of ?laundry room opposite our bedroom and at 4.45am it sounded like there was a vehicle engine running outside our door! We looked out our door and staff had left ?laundry room door open and the noise was very loud!

    Good location, good for parking, lovely staff, pleasant breakfast.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    10
    Enjoyed weekend break. Staff helpful and friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    In house entertainment at weekend could be an added attraction for hotel management to consider.

    Excellent hotel and great location to see and visit local atttactions.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    10
    Fantastic weekend so relaxing and lot's to do
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is nothing we don't like that is why we keep returning to the hotel

    We love everything about the hotel the size of the rooms and the comfy beds and the food is always excellent nothing is too much trouble for the staff

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    8.8
    Overall,we enjoyed our overnight stay and would recommend it to others as well as returning ourselve
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Evening meal was not great. We ordered fish and the batter was almost black, greatly over cooked. Parts of the hotel need a facelift, a bit dated.

    Room was a great size, hotel staff, very pleasant and helpful. Breakfast was very good. Good value for money.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    10
    Great hotel , spacious rooms and comfy bed. Staff very friendly and helpful, great location and beau
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Loved the very large fresh scones at breakfast, a brilliant selection to choose from. We also had the 2 course evening meal it was very good and great offer with free drink. Staff very friendly and helpful. Would highly recommend.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    7.5
    Nice stop off en route from Derry to Antrim. Very quiet.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Decor is a bit dated.

    The rooms were bright and spacious and the temperature was perfect. The beds were very comfortable and the pressure in the shower was super. The breakfast was dry nice also.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    9.2
    Fantastic stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom had cobwebs on all corners of bathroom ceiling.

    Room was a great size and furnishings to a high standard. Staff were friendly and helpful. Plenty of hot water and rooms were warm. On site private parking. 15 minute walk into portrush down a single straight road which there is a bus stop into the town if your not up for the walk.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    8.8
    The cheerful brake
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were excellent happy in there work full of info

    Rooms were ok in size .bed was very good a bakery cafe in the complex fantastic buns and coffees

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    6.3
    You get what you pay for.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Long, dark halls where the lights came on as you walked past, key locks that wouldn’t work so you were locked out of your room,large, sterile dining room & holes/stains on the towels.

    The lounge around the log fire ...even though it was only on one night...not sure why it wasn’t on every night as the weather was wet & cold. Most of the staff were lovely & tried to make our stay as comfortable as possible.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    10
    Wonderful,Relaxing,and a great Hotel to stay if you want to "Chill"
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is nothing we can suggest to change as we had a great visit

    We loved the breakfast staff where great, the bedroom was so comfy the staff where outstanding always going out of their way to make your stay wonderful. We tried the Bistro and the staff where attentive to make your visit to the Bistro a memorable occasion the food was amazing. We had such a relaxing stay well" chilled" we would recommend this hotel to others.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    9.6
    Great value
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were friendly. Room was clean and excellent size. Breakfast was good with deletion of tea,coffee cereals fruit and toast with a hot option too. 15 minute walk too train station and town centre. There is a local bus which you can take up too the hotel if not got a car or it's raining.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    9.6
    Would definitely use this hotel again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Believe it or not the only thing that slightly irked me was the room temperature was too hot, but then again I never did anything about it so I shouldn't really complain

    Friendly, private and value for money.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    10
    Lovely spacious hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was very busy with several functions at the weekend one went on into the small hours of the morning. These visitors were very noisy when leaving. We did feel that the number of functions inconvenienced the hotel guests.

    Room large and comfortable , very clean. All members of staff friendly and chatty. A good location and plenty of space for car parking. Enjoyed the food and service good. We would stay again.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    6.3
    Hotel seemed dated and tired
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was tired . Crack in the wall near the TV 3ft . Lampshade old and tatty. Bathroom skirting old and faded and cobwebs . Stain on the carpets re outside bathroom doorand hole in the carpet near the bed . Wall marked near the table . Room 104

    Bed very comfy . Location was easy to find .

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    8.8
    Great location, had a great stay at this lovely hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It just needs a little lick of paint and updating.

    Comfy bed, great shower, lovely spacious room,and it wasn't a superior room. Great selection at breakfast. Lovely friendly staff. Great food choice in restaurant.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    7.1
    Lovely hotel, good location, excellent rooms, shame about the breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Accessible Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff in the breakfast room were not so friendly. Breakfast was poorly presented and quite a let down for the rest of the hotel which is lovely, however the breakfast room was like a very dated canteen where you just try to find a clean available table and try to find something scattered around a buffet table there were what looked like the remnants of wheaten bread and a pancake available. The cooked option of bacon sausages beans and scrambled eggs was also available it appeared that there may have been other options but these where not replenished during our time in the dining hall. Breakfast was available from 8-10am we were there approx 9.20am.

    The room was perfect for our family check in staff were friendly and helpful

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    7.1
    Basic, clean and great location, very exensive
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Accessible Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff not very helpful, bar closed really early and no food available if you sleep after 10.

    Comfortable and clean but very expensive for such a basic room! Would be great for disabled but I think as we are not disabled would have preferred a non disabled room, i.e. A bath would have been nice.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    8.8
    Comfortable Stay, Would stay again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Needs some new decor/furniture, it needs brightness in reception, and maybe music on a sat :)

    Staff made the experience great, meaning the reception staff and managers at the reception, Hotel i would stay again, but reception needs new decor, flowers candles for a start, and some new leather furniture, bit dated Breakfast nice, room needs new decor, but other than that we would stay again!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    9.2
    We would go back....
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Despite the hotel being full, we found it a little strange that the bar/restaurant was almost deserted by 9.30 in the evening. It was a hive of activity around 6/7 o clock, but we were the only people left after 9 - perhaps it was because it was a week night, and it's busier on weekends?

    The rooms were spacious and clean, and we all thought the beds were the comfiest we had ever slept in. The selection of gins at the bar was great, and the Guinness was top class - a really well kept pint. We ate in the restaurant both nights and the food was excellent, particularly the fish - our compliments to the chef. Breakfast was good, with quick service. Location is great if you don't want to be in the middle of town - easy access to all the local tourist attractions. What impressed me most is the honesty of the staff - my son left his i-pad in the bedroom, and we only discovered this a few days after we had left. Expecting never to see it again, I called the hotel and was told the cleaning staff had handed it in, and they arranged to package it up and post it first class to us - Thank You

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    8.8
    Clean and comfortable with large, well appointed rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Clean and comfortable with large, well appointed rooms. Staff at reception were friendly and helpful. There was a lot of choice at breakfast, including some gluten free options.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    5.8
    Very Disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was really squeaky when you turned at night in bed and even if you sat on it as well. No bottled water in room to take medication at night had to ask for it . There was a hole in the duvet didn't see it till we where getting into bed. Yes they did change it the following day but it should never been put on the bed, should have been through out. Level of service was lacking particularly at breakfast , on our first morning, had to wait on the bacon and eggs to come out from the kitchen which meant that the rest of our breakfast was lukewarm. The tea didn't come till after we had nearly finished and we had to wait ages on the toast.

    Location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    10
    The hotel is well-suited for sightseeing attractions such as...
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is well-suited for sightseeing attractions such as Dunluce Castle, Carrick-a-Rede Rope Bridge, The Northern Hedges, a very good restaurant in the hotel and friendly staff.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    10
    Cant wait to go back and stay it is so relaxing and your made to feel really welcome
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There is nothing we did not like that is why we coming back to hotel

    This was are eighth stay at this Hotel the rooms are big the beds are comfy the bathroom has shower and bath which is excellent .the staff are always so helpful nothing is to much trouble the food is outstanding and its great to come down in the morning to such a great choice of breakfast

    Stayed in August 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: