Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Best Western Moffat House Hotel 3 stars

High Street, Moffat, DG10 9HL, United Kingdom

#22 of 28 hotels in Moffat

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 667 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2018

    5.8
    Unfortunately would not stop with you again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was very cold in the room as we were across the courtyard and it did not feel as if we were in a hotel felt more like a B&B breakfast was ok but did not meet our expectations for the price also the meal in the evening was cold and the room was cold not good value for money considering the price also not a lot of choice On our return journey we stopped off at Moffat and had breakfast at the shop with clothes at the front and the cafeteria at the back it was very enjoyable lot of choice and value for money

    If I have to be honest it was ok gardens front and back lovely and the overall look of the hotel but that’s it the staff at the bar was pleasant and helpful

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2018

    7.1
    Beautiful looking hotel in great central location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom needed updating: Toilet cistern slow to stop and sealant around bath needs renewing. Bath shallow interior. Shower screen needed re-fixing at top.

    Location of hotel and parking available. Large room with dual aspect windows, good seating and tables in room.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2018

    10
    Excellent would stay there again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were only there for one night, so couldn’t find anything to complain about.

    The staff, were great especially Marriane. (Hope I got that right) who seemed to be everywhere, nothing was too much trouble, the dogs were made to feel at home. The room was very comfortable and with an 11.00am checkout very relaxed. We ate in the bar which had a very good menu, overall was an excellent stay and would highly recommend.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2018

    8.3
    Great value for money stopover
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Decor in rooms a bit tired and faded.

    Very good value for money. Central location in town, parking, nice staff, friendly. Lots of hot water and a bath which I like, Cheaper than the budget hotels and with more character. Would use again for breaking trip to Scottish highlands.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2018

    10
    excellent
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Club King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff in the bar/restaurant serving breakfast were fabulous. I had my do and they were so attentive to both her and myself. I would recommend to anyone and plan to return. Also the bed was really comfortable thank you Chris Huthchison

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2018

    10
    Would definitely stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very friendly and welcoming staff. Very comfortable room. Nice bar and restaurant menu with good atmosphere. I have stayed there twice, I would stay there again. Great central location.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    8.3
    Very large room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bedside lamps inadequate for reading.

    Very large room. Must have been upgraded to 4 poster bed room. Quiet. Good position in town. Good parking area.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2018

    5.8
    Booking.com took my money and then didn’t book the room
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booked in advance, paid up front, booking.com took the money. Turned up late evening to be told the hotel had not received the booking and was full. The staff at the hotel were brilliant and found me somewhere else to stay. Booking.com, on the other hand, seems to be a shambles.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    7.1
    Disappointed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was sure I asked to book bed and breakfast. Upon arrival I was told breakfast wasn't included. £200 pounds for two rooms , no breakfast, I'll be wary next time.

    The hotel looks great. Moffat is a wonderful little town, and the hotel is well located to explore the area.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    7.1
    Located in the heart of the town centre, it was a very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Club King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    The exterior of the hotel is very smart, but in many respects flatter to deceive. The room was adequate. The bar area looks like to was last decorated in the 1970's. I didn't eat in the restaurant but that looked quite stylish. My biggest disappointment was no hot water to have a shower. If this was a small B&B it would be mildly annoying. For a large hotel this was completely unacceptable.

    Located in the heart of the town centre, it was a very convenient place to stay. Good parking.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    7.5
    excellent comfortable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    no complaints at all we rated everything highly and would like to come back in the future

    comfy bed spacious bedroom bath different but served its purpose good tv clean tea making facilities appreciated very courteous staff well presented excellent food good car parking we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and liked Moffat

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    10
    Truly Dog friendly & home cooked food
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quality of the food was first class alongside the excellent service ,staff were extremely helpful and friendly and attentive.Our first visit to a hotel with our dog,room 21 was excellent,spacious comfy beds & good access to grounds, dog friendly areas inside the hotel enabled us feel relaxed and Flynn enjoyed it too.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    8.3
    Clean room, comfortable bed and enough amenities supplied
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room 9 needs double glazing windows to help with noise reduction from outside, suspect a fair few of the rooms that are near or facing the street are the same

    Clean room, comfortable bed and enough amenities supplied

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    8.8
    Short stay, comfortable room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    The bedroom and bathroom were very spacious. Good amount of sockets. Clean and tidy, beds very comfortable. We only met the receptionist, who was originally from Glasgow, but she was lovely and chatty. Very helpful.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    5.4
    One night in Moffat
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Brown carpets are depressing. The lighting in bedroom 10 was so poor that I couldn't read newspaper. Everything seemed to be the cheapest available, even the toilet paper! Two upright chairs just not good enough for £100 per night.

    The window box flowers were gorgeous. It was quiet.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    9.2
    Very relaxing and wanted to stay longer.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    "Hidden" steps need to be highlighted more strongly as had a fall whilst there.

    Very clean and comfortable. Food excellent and covered both our needs. Very helpful and willing to assist in any way. Wouldn't hesitate to go again.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    10
    Good value for money and comfortable
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The heating was on at the back of the bar seating and could not be turned off. Quite uncomfortable as a hot evening

    Able to eat with our dogs in the bar

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    7.1
    Ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms booked at same time but on different levels and at opposite ends of the hotel. Rooms a little dated.

    Location was easy to find, evening staff were friendly although morning reception staff were having a loud disagreement at the reception desk where visitors were sat.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    10
    It was a perfect for our needs.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dogs. We have a dog but do not have the need to drag around a hotel.

    It was a perfect for our needs. One evening stay. A lovely evening meal. Value for money.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    7.9
    I enjoyed my stay but the property needs an upgrade.
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bedroom was thin and small but ok for a single traveller for a night or two.

    The service was excellent and the food was very good too. The hotel is a little tired.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    9.2
    A charming hotel , a little dated but spotlessly clean .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    not much

    A charming hotel , a little dated but spotlessly clean .We only had an evening meal . It was very nice and good value for money . The staff were exceptionally friendly . A lot friendlier than the supposedly highly rated hotel we had stayed in the previous 3 nights for a lot more money . We would definitely recommend good car parking too .

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    5.4
    Enjoyed Moffat but feel the hotel was tired and there was an air of can't be bothered among staff,
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were just standing around in bar. Ordered morning papers which only arrived once during our 3 day stay. Did not agree with breakfast as an extra 12.50 so we did not have any.

    Very central. Nice facade. Food pretty average. B a r was a mixture of decor. Felt the whole place a bit tired.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    4.6
    Very Disappointing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Cleanliness was not good - black mould around bath, mould along bottom of shower screen, toothpaste running down bathroom door, handprints on door. Décor old and tired - low quality fittings. Average price of £85 per night (room only) - definitely not value for money. Breakfast also over-priced at £12.50. Bar area resembles a windowless function room in a bowling club! Indicated concerns at reception - told manager would call - still waiting!

    Good location, staff friendly.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    7.9
    Weekend break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Four-Poster Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bar prices very expensive £5.50 for a pint of Abbot Ale is OTT. Outside of the conservatories are in badly needing a coat of woodstain. We had steak pie for an evening meal , strange mixture of veg would not order it again

    Lovely setting in the middle of town , nice beer garden really peaceful out the back. Breakfast was expensive at £12.50 but was very nice. Room was ok but generally needs updating.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    7.9
    Central location.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Premier Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I mentioned in booking that I had a dog but réception didn’t know and I was given a 2nd floor room. The garden was nice but access was through the lounge and there was no mat to wipe my or the dog’s feet when we came back into the hotel. Also there is no lift for less able guests.

    Central location. Nice room with bath as well as shower and huge bed. It was good value, maybe because I booked last minute.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    5.0
    Great location, a real shame about the cleanliness.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms need refurbishment, especially the bathroom. At dinner there was a hair in one of our drinks. We also found a hair on the pillow.

    The location is excellent, really easy to find. The bed was very comfortable.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    8.8
    Great stop off en- route from England 🏴󠁧󠁢󠁥󠁮󠁧󠁿 to Scotland 🏴󠁧󠁢󠁳󠁣󠁴󠁿.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not too much to do around town which wasn’t a problem as we only stayed the night.

    Great location in a small town. Lovely people. Great stop off point for Scotland. Local knowledge was wonderful and very welcoming people. Suggested to head towards Dumfries and the south coast along the Solway Firth to enjoy awesome coastlines and great cafes. Red Kite feeding in the forest also worth a stop. Lovely old hotel with pretty grounds for enjoying drinks and dinner. Small play area for children.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    7.1
    Comfortable, welcoming - but the hotel just felt a bit jaded.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All the decor looked tired and the social areas - bar and restaurant- felt more functional than aspirational, but the staff were wonderful and everywhere was scrupulously clean.

    Splendid property but in need of some tlc...

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    8.8
    Excellent stopover hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was away from the main part of the hotel and a little tired in the decor. We were near the road and the locals were noisy on Sunday night.

    The staff were very friendly and helpful. Booking was easy. The food was very good. This is an ideal stopover between England and further north in Scotland.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    7.5
    Pleasant but could have been a whole lot better.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower although there was hot water was very poor you had to practically run around to get wet. The rooms seemed tired in places and for the money I thought it was expensive. I wouldn’t even consider breakfast at £12:50.

    Situation

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    10
    Will definitely stay again. Couldn't fault anything.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a stop-off journey for us and we couldn't have been more pleased.. The staff were very hospitable. The rooms were a generous size . There was a lovely garden to the rear. But most importantly it was pet friendly . Our pet dog Milo enjoyed his stay as much as us and we were all made to feel Very welcomed

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    8.3
    Very enjoyable but get your breakfast at a one of the many nearby cafes.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise from a delivery wagon at the front of the hotel, in the early hours of the morning. Noise from vehicles manoeuvring on the gravel driveway at the front of the hotel. Noise from the fire alarm at 2.00 in the morning. I would recommend a room at the rear of the hotel. Cost of breakfast far too expensive at £12.50 per person. Try one of the many nearby cafes.

    Location of the hotel

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    8.3
    Fab!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was a little tired but was clean and they are obviously trying to make the best of what they’ve got.

    Staff were extremely good. Due to staff let downs, There were only 2 staff looking after the bar, restaurant and hotel reception on the night we were there and they worked tirelessly all night. Brilliant work!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    7.1
    Relaxing weekend break.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bedroom decor a bit tired and dated. Would be better with blinds rather than heavy curtainscwhuch made the room very warm.

    Good location. Nice restaurant. Staff pleasant and helpful. Gardens to the rear of hotel are lovely

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    10
    When the door to our room wouldn’t unlock they gave us The...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing bad to say!

    When the door to our room wouldn’t unlock they gave us The Cottage instead! A 2 roomed apartment onto garden- lovely! Spacious. modern and clean.Nice grounds with a swing/ slide set. Friendly staff. Buffet breakfast excellent, at £6.99 not bad.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    9.6
    Perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was great..thank you for a lovely stay.

    Lovely hotel in great location with most pleasant and helpful staff. Great value for money at the price we paid.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    6.3
    An okay hotel, but there's plenty in the area I'll consider using next time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room ventilation, no cooling and sleeping in this hot weather was difficult. Accommodation door closures, all the doors banged shut.

    Tasty good quality cooked breakfast

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    9.6
    Good value and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really.

    Good sized room in this comfortable hotel. Near to town centre with lots of good restaurants close by. Staff friendly. Plenty of free parking.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    10
    Always enjoy staying here at any time of year. Courtyard rooms are especially nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing.

    Seating areas in back garden as the weather was glorious! Have also been here in winter and the lounge is lovely when the fire is lit. Location excellent, right on main street for shopping.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    10
    Great location. Good value for money and welcomes pets
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really great place to stay. Lovely town, very conveniently located as a stop off on the way to Mull. Hotel staff very friendly and welcoming. Pet friendly. Good food. Huge bedroom with four poster bed. Couldn’t suggest anything to improve. It is a lovely place to stay

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    4.6
    An expensive disappointment. Won't be staying here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel - including our room, common spaces (indoor and out) and the 'spa' are in need of an overhaul and some investment. Fixtures and fittings are starting to deteriorate and look tired. The spa showers and changing area was a bit grubby. Food was a disappointment and, like the room rate, far too expensive for what was delivered.

    Handy for the M6. Quiet grounds for walking the dog.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    7.5
    Was ok for one night the room wasn't what we expected so disappointed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was cold and colder during the night, and the bed wasn't comfy kept rolling over to one side thought the decor in bathroom was a bit out dated. Room not worth the money .

    The location was beautiful and staff very friendly, great place for a wedding.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    7.5
    Nice room, shame about the staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    On arrival we rang the bell and waited, we then saw two members of staff talking in the dining room, one of which made eye contact then hid around the corner, we rang the bell again and waited, the member of staff came into view again so we rang the bell again, they then moved around the corner , eventually someone came to book us into our room. We had intended to have dinner at the Hotel, but by this time we didn't feel like giving the Hotel our custom and went into Moffat to eat.

    The room was very pleasant , the huge bed was extremly comfortable and there was plenty tea and coffee .

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    6.7
    Last minuite
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was expensive. Should Have asked the price before agreeing to having it. A lot for a burnt mushroom omelette and a yoghurt. Wishedid gone across the road. More choice and better priced. A wedding was taking place that night and the couple had their dog there. Was alright until it was locked in the room beside us where it howled and cried. Very distressed. Sleep disrupted. Reception called and it was removed but then later on in the night brought back. Not fair on the dog and us.

    Beds comfortable

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    7.5
    Stay very nice
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    1st floor with pet . Drinks glasses left at 11am still there at 7pm. Also cobwebs and dead fly in corner of window in cocktail lounge

    Breakfast ,location, staff, Think pets room should all be on ground floor.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    7.1
    Lovely location, just watch the gravel car park if you are...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was very dated and reminded me of my nans old house from the 70's.

    Lovely location, just watch the gravel car park if you are on a motorcycle.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    7.5
    Pleasant stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldn't open window to ventilate the room. Room became stuffy.

    Location for activities and scenery. Setting of hotel for amenities and garden area of hotel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    7.9
    Nice early check in meant we weren't rushed in trying to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice early check in meant we weren't rushed in trying to get ready for a family weddding. Very friendly staff, particularly at check in and very helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    7.5
    Pleasant stay to break the journey
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had booked a 'classic' double room, however, the bed was smaller than a double! It would have been nice to have breakfast included; we felt that £12.50 per person was a little steep.

    Location was great, hotel very clean, room comfortable

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    10
    Lovely place to stay and highly recommend the venue.
    • Couple
    • Premier Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Difficult to say, but maybe an option for softer pillows if needed. I always bring my own nowadays. Maybe an option for a smaller breakfast - my Eggs Royale were superb, but two eggs on two muffins nearly killed me. Having said that, I'm sure I'm in the minority!

    The staff were attentive and all very friendly. The bedroom was a good size and the bed was enormous and very, very comfy. The food was excellent all round.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    6.7
    I love Moffat & it’s sometimes difficult to get rooms so was happy to get one
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was clean but in need of renovation the wallpaper was peeling off some walls slightly- not a good look! & it was very dated. The bed was very uncomfortable too

    I asked for a lower floor room which I was granted

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    10
    Wonderful cottage accommodation with hotel benefits.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Cottage
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to dislike.

    We stayed in the cottage, it was spacious and warm and had access to the lovely hotel grounds. The staff were friendly and accommodating.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    9.2
    Perfect overnight stop
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was a little tatty and annoying to pay an extra £20 for the dogs which seems excessive. Noises from room above carried ( small exciteable child runnning around for considerable time)

    Breakfast was lovely including haggis and bread pudding. Evening meal was excellent , and dogs were able to be in bar area. Room was outside , ground floor which was perfect for late night dog business. Short walk to river. Perfect overnighter on the way to Highlands

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    7.9
    Great value hotel with superb staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Continental breakfast could have been slightly better

    The staff were extremely friendly and helpful The room was clean and tidy, the bed was very comfortable and the bathroom was nice

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    7.1
    Overall the accommodation was perfect for my visit to Moffat
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Thought the rooms and restaurant prices were little on the expensive side, but bar prices were reasonable.

    The hotel was very comfortable, clean and central location within Moffat.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    10
    Beautiful hotel ,good staff and facilities in a lovely location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was very comfy but pillows were not. However I only like feather pillows which some people are allergic to.

    Lovely four poster bed! That was a nice surprise

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    4.6
    This was our 4th stay in the Hotel which speaks for itself.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Four-Poster Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The sleep experience was dreadful. We had a four poster bedroom situated in one of the outbuildings. The bed was comfortable enough but the pillows were too firm. The noise from the overhead bedroom was horrific. We were plagued by creaking floorboards from 6.30 in the morning which ruined our sleep on both nights.

    Good location . We did not have breakfast but had lunch one day which was excellent.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    9.6
    Overall happy andxeoykd stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bit disappointed that breakfast would be charged at 12.50 pp. We decided to eat out at cafes as unsure if we would be charged for a child. Plus I wouldn't eat a full English so thought it a tad too expensive.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    5.4
    ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    no central heating in room. no fridge in room. room door opened onto carpark with no privacy and old kitchen sink,worktop,dishwasher dumped just metres from door

    friendly staff central location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    8.8
    Very pleasant and made so by the very friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Being charged £6.95 for breakfast for a 2 year old who only ate one bowl of porridge and a few bites of his dad’s toast! We all only had “continental” breakfast and £6.95 x 4 for 2 adults and 2 young kids with small appetites was a bit steep!

    The staff were incredibly friendly- especially Marianne at reception. Also the chap doing front of house at dinner. Such lovely people totally made the stay for us.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    8.3
    Staff were friendly and breakfast was good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I feel the room we had was in need of refurbishment the floor was very uneven And every floor board sqeaked

    Staff were friendly and breakfast was good

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    9.6
    Better than expected, and lots of fun!
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The photos didn't do the place justice. The carpet on the rear stairs was a little thin... I'm really clutching at straws though!

    The staff were all friendly and personable. The bar was beautifully stocked. The food was yummy. The location was perfect. The rooms were a good size.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    9.6
    Perfect location to break our journey to Aberdeen and take the scenic route via Edinburgh.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom suite a bit dated compared with similar accommodation we have stayed at recently.

    Very nice place with freindly staff. Our room, no 7, was very nice. Beautiful main staircase!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    7.9
    We slept well, the staff were very friendly.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I found the decor a little dated and the food overpriced for bar food. I forgot to tell you the sink plug wouldn't open

    We slept well, the staff were very friendly.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    4.2
    Rubbish.Will not use Best Western Hotels again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Taking money from card before we even booked in. Not informing us that breakfast not included. Bed uncomfortable. Hall light shinning under door.was like sleeping with someone shining a torch in your face.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    9.6
    Can't wait for my next stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately the bar was the only place to sit and the tv was on for a rugby match. As we don't like sports we ended up sitting in our room with our drinks.

    We had a short break for my birthday and the staff made my day perfect. The food was excellent and the service wonderful.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    2.5
    Don't give them your card details as they will rip you off with no explanation
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Cottage
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were pubic hairs in the spa bath which had to be cleaned before use. There was a table and chairs outside with an ashtray which we used, but for some reason I was charged £50 as they accused me of smoking in the room. I was not contacted for any explanation they just took the money.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    9.6
    Very comfortable overnight stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The family room was huge and the location is right in the centre of everything but tucked off the road enough for it to be quiet. The staff were really friendly and the food was good. I was pleasantly surprised.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    10
    Lovely stop in wonderful Scottish town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only negative was shower taps took a while to get correct temperature. Once sorted water temp then changed again.

    Very central on Moffat Main St with local amenities within walking distance

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    9.2
    Very comfortable stay and the staff made us feel really welcome.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only negative was that the bathroom door wouldn't lock properly in our room.

    Really friendly staff,very comfortable bed.Views from the back of the hotel are beautiful.Would definitely stay again.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    9.2
    A pleasant stay, clean and comfortable room with helpful and smiling staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    For the star rating of the hotel .. nothing.

    It was as we anticipated. Nice clean hotel with good basic facilities. The staff were helpful and friendly and it made a perfect stop off for out journey south to north and back. Moffat is a nice little town and the hotel is very well located on the Main Street.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    5.8
    Good food spoiled by cold unwelcoming room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room #14 was very cold and with the electric heater we were just about able to get it warmer. It was a big disappointment. We did complain and were shown another room but that was cold as well. The remedy would appear to have central heating fitted or some one turns the heater on ahead of a guest's arrival. Don't leave it as it is!

    This hotel has friendly service and fine food.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    8.8
    Excellent value for money and very friendly place.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room décor a little dated, bathroom could do with a refit but perfectly acceptable at the price.

    Clean comfortable rooms, with tea/coffee facilities etc. Friendly helpful staff and good parking. Position at the top of the High Street is ideal.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    8.3
    Perfect for those long weekends
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was a little small and uncomfortable ... The shower was lovely and hot but unless you got it just right from the start you could be badly scolded as the temp can change very quickly at the slightest movement of either tap.. The food although Delicious was very pricey as was the Breakfast pricey ... The toaster super slow and what you ended up with was warm bread had to go through several times before toast was achieved .. The young Girl that was on the morning of the 10th was very polite but aloof other visitors were having trouble and she could clearly hear their issues but choose to ignore ... Also butter and Marmalade had ran out at request and if you are charging £12.50pp this simply should not happen

    Beautiful building and very well situated ... Lovely and clean and safely set back from the main street perfect for those early morning dog needs ...The food was Delious the Staff friendly and welcoming in particular Stacey a very warm personality and nothing was to much trouble .

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    10
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Really spotless, nice white towels and bedding . They are the most important things to me and that's what l got. Had a meal first night and it was excellent. There was four of us and all said the same, empty plates all round. Would definitely be back.

    Stayed in February 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: