Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Popinjay Hotel & Spa 3 stars

Rosebank, Larkhall, ML8 5QB, United Kingdom

#2 of 2 hotels in Larkhall

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 441 hotel reviews

7.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.7

  • Comfort

    7.4

  • Location

    8

  • Facilities

    7.6

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    7.3

  • Free WiFi

    6.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    7.0
    Dissapointing
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We travelled for 6 hrs and were tired, we were given room 7 which we went to, first Imprecious were OK, clean, very presentable, hoping for a good nights sleep. We got into bed the wife said what's that noise (a loud humming noise) also doors banging until 11pm and again from 6am in the morning. The noise continued all night, hardly slept at all, in the morning I looked to investigate the noise to find 2 large condensers on the wall outside our window, when we went for breakfast I found what the banging was, the swing doors between the kitchen and restaurant were bang bang all the time we eat breakfast and our bedroom was above the kitchen hence our very disturbed night and I would not recommend that or neighbouring rooms to anyone, I think that a refund would be in order, we did our business and drove back for 6hrs in very trying conditions returning home at 10pm shattered.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    9.2
    Well worth a visit.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some areas need updating and the pool ceiling needs a fresh coat of paint.

    The staff are so friendly and helpful. The hotel is great for people like me with poor mobility. The food was great. The room was comfy with a good wet room. It's in a beautiful area with plenty to see and do. The pool, spa and steam room were a nice bonus.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    5.0
    Do yourself a favour...........move on!!!!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Club Double Room with Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    A loud `whistling` sound from heating/plumbing which came and went randomly. It was reported to reception, but we had no feedback from them to say anything had been done. Noise still audible next morning. Table in the bar was dirty and sticky from previous customers glasses. The bar itself was untidy. When we asked at the bar was it possible to get some sandwiches we were told it was too late. It was 19:55, in a hotel!!!!! Really???? Too late to get a sandwich. Cannot recommend this place at all.

    It looked nice from the outside................. Easy access from motorway.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    9.2
    The staff were all lovely, made us feel welcome, nothing was...
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was s little dark & dull, windows didn't open , trouble getting hot water for shower.

    The staff were all lovely, made us feel welcome, nothing was too much trouble for them.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    6.3
    Rooms needed refurbishing, carpets needed to be changed as they were heavily stained and dirty.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No veggie sausages..Some gym equipment not working, and vents covered in heavy dust! Rooms were dated and needed freshening up.

    Hash browns were perfect! Nice Hotel entrance area

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    6.7
    Lovely setting.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Club Double Room with Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast has hair in it, breakfast food was dry and cold. Room are stains on carpet and wall

    Lovely setting. Staff were friendly and dinner was excellent

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    10
    Great Hotel for a night stopover in a lovely location. Dinner and Breakfast was really good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bedroom was a bit dated and could do with decoration but the bed was really comfortable, had a good night sleep.

    The staff were very friendly and the food was great lovely evening meal and breakfast could not fault it. Good location for a stop off on the way to Scotland.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    3.3
    Hotel is old and unfortunately our carpet dirty.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel is old and unfortunately our carpet dirty....the whole place needs a upgrade. While staff are friendly most were inexperienced and couldn’t answer questions... there is no wifi in rooms and intermittent in common areas... will not be recommending

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    5.4
    Just a stopover from Scotland to home
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Filthy black silicone around bath. Dirty marked bedroom carpet and dirty stair carpets. Lack of hot water despite running tap fo a time., then plug not holding water in sink. Co!our of toilet water when flushed

    Comfy beds .Friendly staff

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    10
    Lovely staff, fabulous food - just need a wifi booster!
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The food portions were far too large, I don't like to waste food but I didn't want to burst! The wifi didn't work in our rooms which was a shame - the connection wasn't quite strong enough

    The food here is excellent, we arrived when they had just changed the menu and I have to say - try the haggis nachos! The beds were very comfortable and rooms spacious, we did have an issue with one room having a party but the staff dealt with this professionally and quickly, also offering aa change of room in case of further noise issues of which there was not after the room were advised to be quiet. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The lady who was serving us that evening was exceptional - so lovely to speak with and helpful with the menu.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    5.8
    Ok value for a night whilst travelling
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room 29 had one of the worst beds I have ever tried to sleep in. Hard as a rock and like lying directly on the springs. Shower temperature was impossible to regulate. Either cold or screaming hot. I can handle the stuffyness and old decor but the bed and shower had the stay quite uncomfortable. Mound on the shower curtain and around the sink too.

    Ok value for a night whilst travelling

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    10
    don't ever let your chef go . and thankyou for a lovely
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Club Double Room with Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    everything .. the food was awsome the brie in a crispy batter I think gordon Ramsay would like . everyone is lovely . happy to help . our room 2. was lovely. four poster bed very comfortable mattress and clean . spa facilities were so relaxing .. gym and spa membership available but included in price . we will be back this was our mini honeymoon .

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    3.8
    Carpets were dirty and there was a smell of sewerage in our...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Club Double Room with Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Carpets were dirty and there was a smell of sewerage in our bedroom, decor was shabby, , the place needs a facelift and investment. Very young staff, probably budget constraints. Food was fine and the ambiance cosy but overall a disappointment.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    7.1
    Wonderful staff - so friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No lift ☹️ not good when I am struggling to walk as 8 months pregnant The shower took ages to get hot and made an awful whistling sound the entire time (room 7)

    Wonderful staff - so friendly and helpful. V clean room Lovely breakfast 😍😍

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    3.3
    Room was shabby,dirty ,neglected and way over priced.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was shabby,dirty ,neglected and way over priced. Torn curtains,dirty walls and carpet Bathroom had broken rusted towel rail ,mould and very neglected. Corridor carpets dirty. Overall very disapoointed. Cost £105.00 for one night to stay in filthy disgusting room. Never again!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    6.7
    Hotel swings from 4 star to 1 star, what's good is really good & the poor needs immediate attention
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast very average, rooms in need of updating, no hot water for shower, some carpets showing signs of wear

    Staff excellent, bar area & prices good, Restaurant (evening) Good.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    7.5
    Ok stay, good location.
    • With a pet
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The place needs a bit of an update. Our room didn't smell too nice and could probably do with a new carpet.

    Friendly staff, easy check-in and check out. The grounds around the back are nice.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    5.4
    Staff were fantastic especially Helen and Megan.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was badly needing touch ups and this was a new room. Creaking floor boards, dirty carpet and hard bed. Everytime someone turned on their taps or shower a loud noise like a hand dryer came on. From half 6 when people are getting ready its constant and keeps you awake.

    Staff were fantastic especially Helen and Megan. Very helpfull and accommodating.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    8.3
    Very enjoyable stay in a friendly hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Swimming pool needs a little maintenance. A few problems on timing at evening meal but this was rectified superbly by staff without needing any prompting - superb response!

    Very friendly - staff could not do enough to help, both at hotel and spa. Excellent selection at breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    3.3
    A real nightmare!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We have been terribly disappointed by this creepy and grimy place! Our pictures describe it all! When we first book this hotel we have been convinced by good reviews and pictures. Please, do not trust them! We have been given room 25 and as soon as we entered a terrible smell welcomed us. Not to mention the old and dirty moquette, damaged ceiling and walls, bad conditions of the bathroom: light over the mirror did not work, the tube of the shower has been locked by plastic ties preventing people to regulate it or even remove it. Furthermore the intensity of water could be compared to leaking; drop after drop... Sink with two separate taps were used around 34-40 years ago in England. Last but not least, breakfast has been a complete disaster. Of course, we complained about it all and they guaranted us a refund of 25£ (over the 84£ we had already payed)... hope to see this amount back soon.

    Welcoming and helpful staff. Toilet paper good quality

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2018

    7.9
    Staff & food & facilities good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Club Double Room with Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room could've been doing with being refurbished,but then,were supposed to bring along a dog,even still,room could've been improved.

    Staff & food & facilities good

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    4.2
    Not worth the money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Swimming pool needs a lot of revamping. Staff like to assume. Things loose in bedroom asked to be fixed and wasn't. Bed not that comfy pillows rock hard.

    ...

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    9.6
    Fantastic overnighht
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The garden is stunning spent hours sitting chatting and having a drink , comfortable bed and clean room , food was great all in all a cracking night was had

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    7.5
    Great staff, food good. Rooms very clean. Hotel just a bit shabby, certain areas, dining room dirty
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Put into a room that had full westerly sun all day, with no ventilation, given a fan but the hot hair was just circulating, nowhere for it to go. The windows were sealed, I do believe this is a huge health and safety issue, especially for older residents.

    Banana Fritters delicious great sized pool. Staff lovely, especially the gentleman on the night shift that helped us move rooms in the middle of the night. Thank you

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    6.7
    Very very friendly staff, nothing too much trouble.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Club Double Room with Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very over priced, room was shoddy, and had stained lamp shades, rusty bathroom accessories, very poor sealant etc round sink. 1 wall light not working, bathroom vanity light not working, carpet worn especially in stairs, chairs chipped and wobbly, bird poo all over windows, shower temperamental, tv hard to work on guide, no info to chanels available. Also, knowing I was traveling alone with 2 dogs and my bags etc, 3 flights of stairs wasn't the kindest option .

    Very very friendly staff, nothing too much trouble. Lovely location , beautiful garden, nice breakfast .

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    6.3
    Was good but probably won’t be back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was roasting, windows don’t open properly, room faced Main Street so could hear every car, van, truck drive past. Tv is on opposite side of room from the bed so people in the room next to us could hear it better than we could. Jacuzzi is lethal partner cut his toe on a bit the water jets come out of.

    Room was massive, had everything you could need. Staff were friendly and helpful when my partner hurt himself in the jacuzzi. In a good enough location and looks nice enough.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    6.3
    It was clean and staff friendly.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was like going back in time .. reminded me of faulty towers. Had the kitchen extractor was located by my window which was on all night. So in peak summer time I had to keep the window shut....

    It was clean and staff friendly. Budget looked like it went in the gym

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    7.5
    Friendly staff and tasty breakfast, swimming pool
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    How they can advertise WiFi in all areas is beyond me. I have stayed in 3 different rooms in this hotel and in all 3 it was useless. Even the restaurant WiFi was sketchy. The most recent stay was in a room that had been refurbished. It was far too warm (due to the weather and sun heating the room) and someone in their infinite wisdom painted one window shut and ran the tv aerial cable through the window frame of the other! The fan provided was broken, a replacement fan just blew warm air around.

    Friendly staff and tasty breakfast, swimming pool

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    2.9
    Not worth the money!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    As soon as you got past the restuarant/bar toilets the place went down hill, with stains all over the carpets, banister falling of the wall, strong smell of urine. Staff in the spa area useless and wanting to go home. The pool itself absolutely disgusting with the ceiling peeling off and the changing rooms falling apart. Going up to the rooms the floobaords creaked and it felt as thought you was going to fall thru them and it was alot worse in the room! When you walk in the room it smelt as though someone had been smoking in there with a cigarette burn on the carpet. The toilet seat was falling off! Shower way too small! No top blanket on the bed and its boiling hot in the room so had to remove the duvet from the cover. The staff - we was waiting in the bar with a girl sat at reception who saw us but didn't serve us instead went and got another person. There was only 2 people on. Then when we went for some dinner the restaurant was not set or ready and service starts at 5pm. One of the main windows had condensation inside it so you couldn't see out of it. Overall very very disappointed with our stay here. From the outside it looks luxurious but when you go in it just goes to down hill. Wouldn't recommend!

    The garden area where you could relax in the sun

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    5.8
    The staff were really friendly and helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't like the fact we had to move rooms 3 times. The first room was OK but in the main road and very noisy, the second room was really run down and dirty and nothing like the photos they have put up, the 3rd room was OK but we was in the disabled room. The pool itself was clean and nice to swim in however when you look up to the ceiling the paint is peeling and falling off. Breakfast was terrible when we went down a little while after they started serving there was hardly anything there. There was one yought and one pastry left and nothing was refilled. We also waited ages for toast to come out

    The staff were really friendly and helpful

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    5.0
    It is a shame our second visit was not as good as the first but it is still a beautiful hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel staff were ok on this second visit, i would reccommend service with a smile on arrival never hurts. Our tv unfortunately buzzed all night long we didnt notice as we had been in gardens most of day. Complained in morning to reception she apolagised and offered us breakfast free of charge. We went to breakfast and it was awful, my plate was a pool of grease and burt. We didnt really want breakfast but if i had paid for it i would have demanded a full refund. Breakfast was much to be desired. Also the showers at the pool area were broken and pipes hanging of the walls, one shower worked and was scalding hot water. I also caught my foot on something broken in the centre of the jacuzzi.

    The hotel is a beautiful getaway spot, need a car/ taxi to get there though very hard if travelling with public transport. I liked the decor of the room. Beautiful gardens to relax. Friendly staff throughout hotel. Bar staff, housekeeping, waitress/waiters. A nice pool despite the roof needing redecorated. Nice sauna. Good gym facilities.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    6.7
    A tired hotel which needs some serious updating. OK as a last resort. Staff friendly.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bar and lounge area is very tired and dated and the hotel has a generally grubby feel. The windows in the restaurant were filthy. Not possible to open bedroom windows - old and filthy. Menu is like the hotel - tired and dated. Food OK, but disappointing - a "beef tomato and onion" side salad, turned up as an over dressed green salad, with a normal tasteless sliced tomato on the top, with some diced red onion. This place needs some money spending on it. The shower was a dribble and made an awful whining noise (bit like me with this review - sorry but its the truth).

    The location of this hotel is good and the staff very friendly. Bed was reasonably comfortable and linen clean. It has a gym and pool (although not used).

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    9.2
    Thoroughly enjoyable couple of days at this hotel, and good value for money. Food delish too.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bedroom doors when closed, slam really hard which when busy was quite a lot during the night. Even a note on the corridor doors to remind guests to close there door quietly at night would be good.

    Staff are very friendly and pleasant. Treatments really good. Lovely hotel, but could do with a bit of maintenance. If a few issues with the building were fixed this would be a fantastic hotel overall.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    7.1
    Lovely location by the river Clyde.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Could not easily figure out how to operate the tub/shower controls and the hot water took a long time to arrive.

    Lovely location by the river Clyde.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    6.7
    The staff and parking was good, good food. Hotel seems tired and dated.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room, the bathroom taps were loose and difficult to use. No air conditioning and the tv needs replacing as it worked but the screen was too dark to see. Room 9.

    The staff was friendly and professional. The food was very good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    2.5
    Bathroom, towels and location,
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shabby, run down , When asked for a drink were told bar would be opened for 10 minutes until girl on reception went home at 11pm had breakfast (full scottish) burnt hash browns, pork,Not Scots sliced sausage and horrible undercooked bacon Only good thing about hotel was modern bathroom and nice fluffy towels Was in this hotel few years ago and standards have slipped

    Bathroom, towels and location,

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    6.3
    Dinner in Restaurant was good, staff hard pushed but...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was poor. Room, though nicely decorated was overly warm with only translucent window. Quite noisy fro Kitchen fans

    Dinner in Restaurant was good, staff hard pushed but delivered cheerful service

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    6.3
    Overpriced and underwhelming.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room smelt strongly of bleach when we checked in but was later replaced with a smell of damp and mustiness. Noise from the road was very loud.

    Staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    7.9
    Location fabulous
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Club Double Room with Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Think need of staff training we girl at breakfast struggling on her own Monday morning

    Helen on the reception desk upgrade our room with a view which was very kind of her made a big difference to our stay spa staff nice all staff nice enough lovely grounds

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    5.0
    Was very disappointed with room as this is why I paid for deluxe room for a decent view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When we booked up the room was described with garden/river views but all we had was a brick wall view with the air con unit making noises all the night

    Room was spacious with everything we needed

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    4.2
    Not great
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel is run down compared to the pictures shown. Bed was lumpy and uncomfortable. TV only had two channels. Mould in room and wallpaper hanging off. Kettle, old and dirty. Fire Alarm went off in the night and had to leave the room (false alarm).

    I survived.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    7.5
    Great stop off on our way further north
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms could do with a fresh coat of paint, alongside the swimming pool ceiling! Bathroom wasn't the cleanest there was something suspicious on the side of the bath opposite the toilet, but as only for 1 night, we made do!

    Very hospitable staff, lovely to be greeted by a warming fire and a smile. Bed very comfy.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    5.4
    NOT informed re charge for dog.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The carpet in the corridors leading to our room was very badly stained in places, a low window on the stairs was absolutely covered in dirt/dust on the ledges and opening mechanisms, the carpet in our bedroom had been vacuumed but the areas in the corners and near the skirting boards were thick with dust and dirt, NOT good! Someone should train a cleaner to do the job properly!

    The garden and grounds were superb and very well kept, in lovely order. The meal (dinner) we had was quite good too.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    9.6
    We both loved the scenery and the hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Portion sizes of starters were really small and the mains didn’t have the same on both plates even though we ordered the same thing.

    I brought my boyfriend here for a few days for his birthday. The staff were so friendly and helpful, the food was lovely. The room was more than what I had expected it to be as I only booked a standard room, it was lovely and the bed was so comfortable. the hotel building is beautiful and so are it’s gardens also the Clyde walk way is just at the bottom of the car park. The facilities at the hotel are great and the town has beautiful scenery and garden centres would definitely recommend and will be coming back.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    7.5
    It was pleasant enough.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The sloping ceiling in the room. My husband banged his head a few times. As we were only there a few nights we never asked about moving. The noise from the traffic all through the night. They really need to see about double glazing the windows. Again, as we were only there 2 nights, didn’t ask about moving. If we ever came back, would request a room at the back of the hotel without a sloping ceiling.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    6.7
    It was ok, the food and spa treatment were be best part of the stay. Not much to do around the hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Club Double Room with Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel did not know we had booked through booking.com. Therefore there was no booking for us when we arrived. We got the last room available but we were stuck in the middle of a wedding party floor so it was very noisy all night especially when the party had finished. The doors were fire doors so they constantly were slammed shut.

    The spa treatment I received was excellent, as was the spa area. The room and bed were comfy. The food was also very good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    2.9
    Stay if you must but look elsewhere
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were hopeless !! Stood at reception for ten minutes while person sat speaking about weddings stuff and ignored us ! Food was not properly cooked and poor waitress was unable to help as cook said it was ok when left kitchen !! Without even checking our complaint ! Were advised to call spa for appointments only to be told we need to book at least two weeks in advance if any treatments required but no where does it state this !! Windows look like they are about to fall out ! Staff really not interested and quite rude !! Would not stay again or recommend ! Have been several times but this time is the last !!! Shame as it used to be good

    It was relaxing enough when at evening time , good facilities if you knew what was expected from you Decent menu if properly cooked

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    6.3
    Unfortunetly we would not go back due to the size of the room and low water presure.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was much smaller that in the pictures. The bed was up against the window. No room to walk down the side of the bed. Other side very small room between the bed and the wall. Water pressure was very low when having a shower.

    The swimming area is v.good. Nice and clean. The bar area was warm and cosy. Staff were nice and friendly.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    8.3
    bar the first night better stay than a premier inn
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    i was woken up at twenty to one in the morning by someone playing music i tried phoning reception and by two o'clock i went down to complain at first i thought it was the gym room but when i came up with the night porter it was someone in a room further down to me .. this was resolved by the night porters professional approach to these people when i had a polite word with them

    They went out there way to make a pack lunch when i could not stay for breakfast

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    5.0
    dated and lacking atmosphere needs a clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    dated. in need of maintenance. bedroom not very clean. poor service from waiting staff with lack of organisation or anyone taking lead or clarifying roles!!

    location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    7.5
    Enjoyable but could have been better!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tv remote for tv in room. No local amenities for shopping. Need a car.

    A fairly welcome arrival. Room we had at first was nice on first look but the toilet tiles needed grouted and cleaned properly. Bashed my toe on a stop cock in room that should be under the floor. Mattress not fit for purpose. Hole in it and spring showing. Alerted the lovely gentleman at reception he gave us the Clyde Suite. Although this was a much more luxurious room as the bridal suite you would want it pristine, it indeed was not. The couch is ripped from one end of cushion to another and there was no tv remote. We used the pool, sauna and jacuzzi quite a lot. Was nice and relaxing but pool Ceiling flaky. I understand there has been a flood in the men’s changing area but the temporary repair looks like it’s ready to collapse at any moment.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    7.0
    Rooms badly need updated need a big improvement before I return
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having to wait 1/12 hours for dinner ordered drinks but had to go to the bar myself no barman he was checking people in at reception poor

    The food was good for evening meal nice cosy drink bye the fire in the lounge

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    5.8
    Staff were very friendly
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bedroom had a funny smell coming from the bathroom so we had to keep the fan going all night. The bedroom was a bit shabby and could do with some fresh wallpaper or paint. Smoked haddock on the breakfast menu but was not available

    Staff were very friendly

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    4.2
    Wasn’t really happy at all with the stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were put in a room which wasn’t superior king size it looked like the boiler room, they did move us but the next room wasn’t any better, very dated and the food wasn’t the best. Very disappointed with my stay

    Wasn’t really happy at all with the stay

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    5.0
    Overpriced and disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wi-Fi fluctuated between awful and non existent. Glaciers melted quicker than the time hot water came out of the shower when you switched it on.

    Quiet room

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    9.2
    Great value, will stay again. Good gym facilities.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Some of the hotel is slightly worn, I had to stack all the pillows which adohned the bed to the side to sleep. I was worried these may topple over in the night and suffocate me.

    Good value, food very nice and friendly staff. The gym and lesure facilities are very good.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    7.5
    Excellent staff but let down by a few basics which prevents hotel reaching its potential
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Club Double Room with Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Although it tries hard the hotel simply doesn't live up to it's billing and aspiration. It is obviously short-staffed; on several occasions we had to ask for someone to man the bar so that we could have a drink. It needs some TLC. Black masking tape covering trip hazards in the main reception area is not a good look. The thin corridor walls could do with some sound-proofing; as other guests opined at breakfast "it is a very noisy hotel". People speaking at normal voice levels can be clearly understood in the bedrooms and noise travels freely between bedrooms. Being told on arrival that the pool was out of action was disappointing too We had a four-poster room which was well decorated but two of the bulbs out of three lamps were not working. One was replaced after a couple of hours and the other did not appear until the next day. The fact that two were not working indicates that the functionality of the room is not being properly checked before and after each occupation. In general the food was good although having asked for smoked haddock which is on the standing breakfast menu, I was told none was available. I was most surprised therefore to find than none was available the following morning too. Obviously no one had bothered to get some more in and didn't consider it important to correct a shortcoming. More complacency. We were told that the electronic keys "are a bit temperamental when placed near credit cards etc. Leaving aside the fact that it is dubious that this would occur and that my credit cards are kept in a shielded wallet to prevent 'wireless intrusion, it is clear evidence that there is something wrong either with the system (unlikely) or the machine used to program the keys. In any event, from the outset it always took several insertions and retractions for the lock to operate. This needs to be addressed and the fact that the hotel management is 'living with the problem' speaks volumes.

    First the good: We stayed here for a couple of nights to attend a 60th birthday party which was held in the Perch Bar. It was a great evening and the staff could not have looked after us better. Overall, the staff were excellent, cheerful, helpful and keen to please, The housekeeping staff were swift and unintrusive although they could have benefitted from checklists (see below)

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    5.4
    It was ok but won't go back in a hurry
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The pool was freezing. The Jacuzzi wasn't working. the rooms could be cleaned better. the decor could be doing with freshening up & the cold taps gave out hotter water than the hot tap at times.

    food was good

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    8.8
    Excellent and great friendly staff and variety of things to do to facilitate all ages.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Late notification of the pool and jacuzzi been out of order due to heating issues and waiting on new parts to be fitted although to be fair staff were extremely friendly and helpful about the issues and the weather was not a great help ether as was hazardous conditions for general community and staff as it was thick snow and ice.

    Bed was really comfortable

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    7.1
    Needs some time and effort spent on the rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was rather tired and carpet in particular was grubby. Washbasin was tiny with no shelf to put toiletries etc. Many of the spa facilities were out of action at the time of our visit.

    Quality food, pleasant and friendly staff and super location.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    4.2
    Disaster
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were not advised that they were unable to provide dinner until we went to the restaurant at 8pm. There was no leadership with dealing with the problem. Breakfast of poor quality.

    .

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    3.8
    Very disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Jacuzzi out of order swimming pool unusable due to temperature. Notified at 7pm that restaurant would not be serving hot food, booking for dinner was at 7.30pm

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    9.6
    Lovely hotel in a beautiful location, hope to be back soon.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No issues.

    Staff were very friendly and knowledgeable, couldn’t do enough for you. Thank you! Room was lovely, comfy bed and it was spotless, as was the rest of the hotel. Enjoyed spa facilities too. Oh and I highly recommend the fish and chips, best I’ve tasted in years.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2018

    4.6
    okay, but not clean at all
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The cleanliness of the rooms are below standard, the rooms badly need repainted. I had to be given a different room and when shown all the other rooms i was shocked at the standard of them. One of the rooms i was shown i walked into the bathroom and the handle nearly came off in my hand. There are many chips and dents in the wall and wood, with dust everywhere and badly stained carpets. The pictures online were a lot more luxurious than what it actually was. The food there however was good and the majority of the staff were lovely. Although i would not stay there again and would not recommend the hotel, for the money i paid i was better off staying at the Dakota hotel whereby their standards are much higher. The photos i have added are a little unclear but i can assure you the dirt and grim in the rooms was shocking, i also did not take any photos of all the marking or cracked walls but believe me they are there in every room.

    The location has a good view

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    7.5
    Overall a lovely hotel in nice location but swerve the Scottish Breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Club Double Room with Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast on Saturday consisted of a ‘Scottish Breakfast’ which was awful.....the black pudding had a horrible taste, the sausages were strange tasting and there was hardly anything in the continental selection, no pastries or croissants. The hot water took a good 10 minutes to come through before you could get in the shower and there was very low pressure so difficult to wash your hair. The ceiling in the pool area is rather scruffy and needs painting.

    Service was good. Staff friendly and helpful. Bar and relaxing areas were nice. Swimming pool good size. Hair drier and straighteners in pool changing rooms.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    3.8
    Over priced under equiped and a poor experience over all . Dinner and drinks yes stay over NO
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Other than the areas open to the general puplic such as the bar , restaurant, and reception which are very modern and nice . The rest of the hotel was very dated and not very well maintained . Flaking paint , handles broken and or missing , broken emergency buttons. Undertrained or uninterested staff on the whole made the experience one to remember for the wrong reasons . Poorly equiped spa and ensuite, no thermostat in the room to control temp your only cold when the hotel decide. The worst view i have ever had , a walled 15ft quadrangle , with no sign of light and a great view of a fire/maintenance door

    Large comfy bed

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    7.5
    Wedding night.
    • Couple
    • Club Double Room with Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I phoned prior to arrival to let them know it was my wedding. I asked for a bottle of Moet and half a dozen red roses to be in the room which wasn't done. I was disappointed with that.

    Locstion

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    7.5
    A good location for what we wanted, with good facilities although we didnt use the spa.
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was a bit cool on a very cold day of the year so we were given a blow heater. The door wouldn't lock but this was quickly sorted out. The price for a double was £60 per night B&B but a twin was £105pp so I don't understand why a £40 difference??

    Staff friendly and helpful. Room was large with plenty of space for 2 people - enough room for a sofa as well as twin beds.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    5.4
    Could be much better, such a shame.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The biggest gripe we have is the water pressure was diabolical and actually is the main thing we remember about the hotel it's such a shame, because it could be amazing. The water pressure at the swimming pool and room showers was so poor, that 4 of us ended up not showering. The overall maintenance of the hotel needs reviewed - a lick of paint would go a long way. The cleanliness of some areas was lacking - showers in the pool area, coffee stains up the wall beside the bed, bits of dust.

    Fantastic location for our needs, great to have the pool, restaurant and rooms in one location after our long day. Staff were fantastic.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    5.0
    Very disappointed it was very expensive for what it was.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room was cold, no hot water, tv didnt work, floorboards were very creaky and breakfast room was cold , my husbands full cooked breakfast was not great think it had been kept warm for too long.

    THe male receptionist was very friendly and helpful. My poached eggs anfd muffin at breakfast were lovely.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    8.8
    Overall the staff were very friendly and helpful and our room was really clean and fresh.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little more heat in the breakfast room on the Friday morning but it was minus 5 outside, Saturday morning was a lot warmer.

    Helpful staff, we arrived late and the night porter was waiting on us, we got help with directions, which were accurate! Breakfast was brought to us on the Friday, whatever we asked for and Saturday it was self service as it was busier. Waitress was very friendly both mornings and we were served promptly.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    7.1
    It was ok but place needs better cleaning and sprucing up!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom could do with a better clean, spa ceiling was flaking off badly, we got a disabled room (not requested) with a massive boiler filling up the cupboard....

    Comfy bed and nice jaccuzzi.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    5.8
    Dissapointing! Moved to the Radstone which was excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cobwebs/ uncomfortable beds/ restaraunt service very slow even though not busy/ no card machine at the bar had to go to reception to pay for drinks

    Bar staff very good and friendly

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    8.3
    Great short break location in the heart of the Clydesdale valley.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No need to leave the hotel once you are there. Plenty of small seating areas located around the reception where you can relax and enjoy. The spa and leisure facilities are great..

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    5.0
    Very comfy bed
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast cold, food only Luke warm then on to a cold plate.... Booked dinner for 8.30 dining room being set up for breakfast all around me while I was eating made to feel as if it was time for me to go even although I had to wait 20 mins for starter grudgingly asked if I would like dessert when I declined no coffee or liquor offered just cleared table Room to small to put up dog cage no floor space room very old and scruffy no water pressure water either cold or roasting very little control. Appreciate it was a pet friendly room but not quite suitable

    Very comfy bed Dog and myself made very welcome

    Stayed in November 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: