Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Blunsdon House Hotel 4 stars

The Ridge, Blunsdon, Swindon, SN26 7AS, United Kingdom

#6 of 18 hotels in Swindon

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 508 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.3

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    8.5

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    7.5

  • Free WiFi

    7.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Family Room (2 adults + 2 children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was not comfortable (room 374 )view was not so nice- overlooking parking. Spider webs on the balcony. Very dissapointed with swimming pool- looks like it is more for children lesson (not guests in the house) when we arrived we were asked to not to disturb children while they have swimming lesson ! First time we can experience something like this. We also asked lifeguard to lend us ONE foam so our 3 year boy can swim - first he said in 5 minutes when (again) children’s swimming lesson will finish and then, he said no ! we were very dissapointed about swimming pool experience.

    Good location, nice staff, clean rooms, nice atmosphere, good prices on the menu, nice bar, good food, clean room, spacious with large bathroom. Well equipped with small toiletries and coffee machine with loads of coffee and hot chocolate.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great hotel, lovely pool, beautiful views from Terrace, rooms are fine, nothing luxurious but comfortable and very clean, corridors a little tired but overall a good hotel

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hair dryer wasn’t very powerful and got quite hot to hold after a while also been in the bathroom when my partner wanted to use the bathroom at the same time Also in the morning the cleaners banging and talking loudly outside our room early morning

    The room was very spacious clean with a comfy bed good pillows the facilities in the room were very good having a trouser press iron and ironing board and coffee machine Aswell as kettle

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was to be our anniversary treat to each other and we were looking forward to the dinner but I was unable to eat the steak or even cut it so had to send it back. We had guests for lunch the next day and they felt the starter and the desserts were not as good as on previous visits. The cold tap in the bathroom was very poor in its output not what you expect from an hotel of this quality. I had asked for blankets rather than duvet in one room and was told they did not have an alternative to the duvet!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was long and dark( 1 small window), no a/c, 1 bath robe for 2 people, the cooler cabinet didn't work. Breakfast was not included, we were told that was because we didn't book direct, we thought we had, apparently this annoys a lot of clients, so why do you use the agency. The duty manager did not come to see me but sent a message

    The location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Can't think of anything, it was a really nice hotel.

    Rooms were comfortable and spacious, breakfast was excellent. Swimming pool was nice and warm and was family friendly. Staff were all professional and helpful, also the location was pretty and very well kept. There were lots of things to do.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Family Room (2 adults + 2 children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurants were very expensive and the building and contents were very dated.

    Very friendly helpful staff, loved the pool. The room was lovely with plenty of complimentary bits and bobs.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night

    cot not installed as per request on booking form but easily recitified very quickly safe did not work curtain fell off the rail childrens time in swimming pool could be a little longer than 7pm

    bed very comfy nice sized family room actual chairs to sit at a table

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Family Room (2 adults + 2 children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was great apart from a dirty tissue on the top bunk and no tissues in bathroom. Staff were friendly. I would say the bedrooms need updating. Very old fashioned and carpet was stained and old.

    Swimming pool, tennis court and playground

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bedrooms need a refurb but I understand the cost of this would have to be reflected in the rates ad I would rather have an affordable break and the comfy beds and cleanliness make up for this.

    Lovely location and grounds with great facilities for families - pool, playground, tennis courts and outside area. Our family room with bunk beds was very spacious. The food was excellent for a hotel, with a special mention for the carvery - I usually avoid these, but we had perfectly pink beef, great roast potatoes and desserts to die for. The staff were helpful, friendly and incredibly patient with my elderly parents and young children - there were a lot of multi generational groups and I can see why. Good for my wheelchair bound father. Great value for money considering we stayed over a bank holiday.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food was excellent, the staff are very friendly and helpful, comfortable bed and clean room. Pool and Jacuzzi were lovely, followed by a steam room and sauna. Would definitely recommend.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room very outdated, worn furniture, having to climb into high sided bath to have a shower. Lack of air conditioning in daughters room. Think £228 for 3 people b&b very expensive. Stayed because family party at hotel.

    Food was excellent

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower over a huge bath that was very difficult to get in and out of. Only one bath robe, no iron or ironing board . Hairdryer poor. Small swimming pool .

    Clean room but was period type which was not to our taste .

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The restaurant is no up to the standard of the hotel. A la carte main courses were disappointing, and the buffet diner rather basic. breakfast was good.

    Ideal for family with kids, lots of outdoor space to play and a convenient pool and gym. Close to Cotswolds and Oxford makes it a perfect base for the area

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having to pay £50 per person holding deposit on top of the room booking fee.

    Sport and fitness facilities, although why you have to pay £10 as a guest to play the 9 hole par 3 seems excessive.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Swimming pool was busy with classes, hardly any room to swim. Steam room not working. Jacuzzi not working, spa facilities very poor.

    Room eas comfortable

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked for 3 nights & understood the 1st night would be the higher rate & the following 2 at the lowet rate, but it was vice versa. We didn't realise this until after we had left, so didn't query this.

    Being smokers, it was a bonus to have a balcony we could smoke on, with an ashtray provided.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although facing the car park I was really pleased with the exec twin (with balcony) room. I can't comment on the facilities and restaurant as I didn't use them. Definitely would like to return there for a longer stay. ☺

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The decor was tired. The towels were frayed and there was a hole in the duvet cover. The food choices were terrible- no vegetarian option for a main evening meal.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Décor in the room very dull, dark, dated. Door to balcony didn't open easily, shower doors a little greasy (need to be wiped with a dry cloth after cleaning), air-conditioning noisy. Breakfast could have been better, sausage not cooked and mushrooms tasted strange.

    Comfy beds, stunning views, clean and staff were excellent.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very thin walls. You can hear everything. Rooms are outdated.

    The hotel is very clean and there is pool with jacuzzi. The breakfast buffet had a lot of choices and food was nice. Reasonable prices for dinner.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was a bit dated, definitely in need of a refurbishment. Mattress was getting close to needing replacement. Quite a long walk to get to the room, with a view of the car park.

    Bunk beds for the kids were good. Breakfast range was about right, but not fully out at 8.30am on Sunday. Excellent kids play area. Quiet

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Group
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My brother and his wife including 40 other persons met to celebrate their 50th anniversary.The room was very good but the quality of the food a carvery was very poor.Meat was tough,soup was cold ran out of rolls Yorkshire puddings,roast potatoes,and the staff were slow in clearing dirty plates from the tables,We recommended the Blundstone because we had a carvery about 2yrs ago and found it very good,We are going to write a letter of complain to the manager to get his response

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is really quite tired and needs a refurb. Many areas such as worn out carpets, wallpaper peeling in the room, broken lampshades etc.

    Electric Car charger was a lovely bonus!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Whole hotel feels very outdated. Carpets around the hotel reception were dirty on day of arrival and the following day. I was on a course and the nearest two sets of ladies toilets were either out of order or flooded. Breakfast is over-priced, it's the same as Premier Inn breakfast but £4 more.

    Very convenient as I was doing a course at the hotel. Bar staff very friendly and helpful. Room was a good size although decor was old and dated.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was no information in the room as to the hotel the area nor the Dining times. The Hotel was very busy so service was slow at times.

    Generally clean and tidy, a spacious room with good shower facilities looked good although we didn't have time to use them. Bar area was clean and tidy and staff very friendly

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    ROOM SMELT A LITTLE MUSKY NO IRON OR IRONING FACILITES IN ROOM AND NOT THE MOST COMFORTABLE BED BREAKFAST A BIT BLAND SAUSAGES BURNT

    MEETING FAMILY AND FRIENDS

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was average, dinner was cold sent back and came back warm. Hotel swimming pool was closed for 24 hours due to an ‘incident’ so decided to buy the kids a movie but the tv didn’t work and the hotel didn’t know how to fix it, they had to email their IT person who never got back to them! When we asked reception what time the leisure club opened in the morning they didn’t know. It all semmed very disjointed.

    Great hotel for kids, outside play area, swimming pool and bunk beds in large family room

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I could not find the tv remote control on returning to my room one evening. I eventually found it lying just under the top of the duvet so, when making my bed the room cleaner must just have pulled the duvet back into place without properly making the bed.

    When it was open (closed on the first day) the swimming pool, sauna and jacuzzi. All were much needed after a twelve hour day on my feet.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Personally bed too soft for me. Spa day lovely but disjointed and would have liked somewhere to relax with book in between using pool/ sauna etc. Otherwise nice stay.

    Spacious room, clean lots of cupboard space. Nice toiletries and good selection of hot drinks in room. Had treatments at spa lovely and relaxing.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only few members of staff wanted to rush us during our meal, but overall staff were excellent!

    We had a lovely relaxing stay, the room we booked definitely exceeded our expectations!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Got woken up at 2am as the couple in next room was having a row a lot of swearing and shouting had to call reception to keep them quite. I came to the hotel with my wife and daughter as we were attending my mum funeral the next day. What happened that night did not help the way I was feeling. I will be contacting the hotel.

    Very nice location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were in rooms in the main hotel and they are very dated. This is not a problem however the shower, even with the boost facility was not worth standing under! The room was also very hot and we could not open the window. Having said that the beds were comfortable. It just needs an update from the 1990's rag rolled decor and dark wood.

    This is a lovely hotel with a friendly relaxed atomosphere. We ate in the Flame restaurant and although the menu was restricted due to a problem in the kitchen, the food we ate was lovely. Breakfast was plentiful, hot and replenished quickly. The bar area is comfortable and welcoming.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rather grumpy young woman who showed us to our table in the restaurant for breakfast, she also created a long queue at toaster making 5 slices,putting them in a toast rack and taking them away. All other staff were very friendly and helpful.

    The buffet breakfast was excellent, fresh and hot. Pool was lovely for the family. Would have been good to stay longer.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not having a directory in the room explaining hotel services, dining options, leisure centre opening hours etc. Not having any bottled water in the room/mini bar. Balcony being slippery with green algae on metalwork (spray with a product called 'Wet n Forget' which will keep this clean) and no door mat so muck was brought in onto carpet.

    Pavilion room, hotel ambiance, attentive staff

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room didn't have air con or couldn't see it so it was really hot in the night. We had to open the windows.

    Lovely room. The staff were really helpful especially as I got the dates mixed up. The food was excellent.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Executive Family Room (2 adults + 2 children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool and spa facilities were a little tired and in need of attention. Also some of the facilities were out of order which is little disappointing.

    Room was nice and big nd very quiet.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was impressed by the hotel, staff and facilities! Very child friendly and the swimming pool was great for us and the kids! Good food for dinner and breakfast! Definitely recommend the place!!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room wasnt sound proof at all could hear outside all the time. Dated rooms the coffee machine was extremely old and the plug sockets were the old round pins

    Stayed in executive room, nice and spacious, good bathroom with bath and seperate shower

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a bit dated and all of the corridors and the room had chipped paint. The furnishings and decoration would have been very nice back in the eighties but could do with modernising now. The room also smelt musty as if it had been damp and had not been aired.

    We were given an executive room which was very spacious and quiet.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Reception staff can be close to curt. Directions given to room in the "Pavillion" were misleading leaving us staring into what appeared to be a private dwelling. Bar staff needed some persuading to show us to our rooms. When told go to the building with a clock on the front, it helps if it is either daylight or illuminated!

    Fabulous rooms and the pork chop in "Flames" restaurant is excellent. sausages at breakfast are a credit to the butcher.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was like a furnace made it uncomfortable. Floor was so hot on one side of room. Couldn't get temperature down. Had to sleep with window open. It still too hot.

    Pool was fine temperature just right bit small but deep enough

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The part of the hotel I stayed in was quite dated (but was clean and well maintained). The area with the swimming pool and restaurant and bar seem quite new - they seems to have recently renovated this - hopefully they'll get round to the rest of the hotel soon.

    The location of the hotel is great and the hotel grounds are lovely. The parking was ample and easily accessible and the hotel had a good range of facilities. The staff were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were given a room that was not what we booked. Room was absolutely not sound proof. Can hear every move from the room upstairs! Size of the pool was like a joke and sauna (kind of a box) was not in use!

    Location was ok

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy neighbours that were partying at 3 am

    Food was lovely and staff were very good,found bar staff a bit keen as one was serving and other told us how much it was with out asking if we wanted anything else ,didn’t have breakfast as wanted a lie in

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food was very expensive, for what it was. However the food was good, and drinks were reasonably priced.

    Beautiful location, lovely friendly staff. Our room was gorgeous.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bookings.com said the pool was shut till the 11th and it was still not open on the 16th but the duty manager was lovely and sorted us out .

    The chef was really helpful as my daughter was vegan. The duty manager was superb as the pool was out of order - many thanks

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Entry to rooms in Pavilion through two sets of doors not easy- automatic doors needed. Room description included mini bar - small fridge but no contents. No hotel info in the room apart from Room Service Tariff. No info about operation of heating ( although quite simple). The bar served a liqueur in large straight glass and a Brandy in a whiskey glass. Unable to use the pool in the morning to heating malfunction. Requested Sunday Express and got Sunday Times.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing could have improved our stay & we are looking forward to returning.

    Everything was excellent without fault. Staff professional, room exceptional, food lovely, area very nice, pool warm & inviting. The pool was closed due to low temperatures but once we explained that we didn't mind the lower temperature (we didn't notice the difference) the management opened the pool for us & it was lovely. 10/10

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Dark car park and entrance. Not a friendly welcome, dated rooms, thin walls (kept awake by a snorer next door). Breakfast questionable.

    Decent sized gym

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel is in desperate need of a total revamp - rooms, decor, food.

    The beds were old and uncomfortable. The carpet had mold. The sink had matted hair under the plug. The shower had grime around the base. The breakfast was very basic - did not like the look of the bacon/sausages.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was dated although clean. I had no sleep due to a technical issue in the hotel causing considerable noise in the night. I had to ask for a refund and for the noise I would have expected this to be offered, however, I had to request it. I did get 50% off but even so it did not detract from the fact that I had no sleep and had to complete a full days work I felt the receptionist thought I was being difficult I won't be staying again - I can't risk another sleepless night

    Clean room

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We cannot think of any need for improvement.

    Food was excellent as was our room. Friendly and efficient staff. We look forward to going back if there is a need in the future.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Family Room (2 adults + 2 children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel was undergoing refurbishment which we were NOT advised of ahead of our stay and even when we checked in we had no idea (Receptionist could not wait to get rid of us and give us our room key)! We only found out when we took 2 excited (young) children down to the swimming pool to find out it was closed - cue tears!! - and the main ‘sports’ bar was also shut........ very frustrating and if we had known before arriving at the hotel we would have cancelled our reservation.

    Breakfast was ok

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The restaurant was great in terms of food quality, cleanliness, decor and range of choice. But my God the staff in there were dour. There was a very strong and consistent level of moodiness, haste to get you out (even well before breakfast was scheduled to be over). Some of the younger British staff simply did not want to be there, and it showed. In my own experience to get such a consistent miserable mood it comes from the top. Not nice at all and really spoiled the stay. Strange as the bar staff were great. Zero warmth.

    The staff in the bar were very friendly, but this was the exception. The gym was a great facility. Parking was very good too. Room was good value and very clean. Good with replacing coffee and shampoos etc.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room very very dated. Not the best cleanliness and shower cubicle very old and dirty. Balcony had good views. TV not working. Breakfast very poor quality.

    Good WiFi and easy parking.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were 5 rooms and we were all split up although the booking was made months prior to our stay ! We were then placed in the pavilion and this required coats & a walk etc when we left our relatives..... When we got to the pavilion we had a frightening experience when the hands on the clock started to spin spontaneously and didn't stop till we took the batteries out ! Resturant was freezing !!!

    Staff moved us without question when we complained about the appalling room we were put in !

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The pool heating had broken so was pretty chilly, the jacuzzis were closed (on a saturday afternoon!?) the main bar area was closed for renovation work. We hadnt been informed of this before our arrival so were a little disappointed.

    The panelled bar is nice and cosy - good bar food. Interesting Hotel with lots of quirky features.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    For £140 for one night, needed more in the room like personal touches. There was tea and coffee but no water to drink. Also the shower has some mould and needed to be cleaned better. It’s expensive for just the night and not getting that extra touch. Also someone knocked on our door at 9am asking to clean the room. We didn’t need to check out until 11am so woke me up and was disappointed. Also check in at 2 is late for the amount of money and early check out at 11am. I think you should take this on board and make some changes.

    I liked the bar and restaurant

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately the boiler had broken down in the spa. Manager recompensed by free supper and breakfast and was very apologetic.

    Restaurant was fantastic food, attentive friendly staff and wonderful decor. Bed was amazingly comfortable, great balcony with lovely mosaics table and chairs, room very large with plenty of hot water in great en-suite.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Absolutely everything from the very start. Unfriendly welcome which didn't improve.

    This is the most user unfriendly hotel I have ever stayed at. The staff were generally unhelpful and having asked for a room as close to amenities as possible I was informed that, because I had booked an executive double room, I had to be in the pavilion which was a long walk away, for someone with mobility issues as I have. The room could not be changed, it seems so I left after one night. The food was very ordinary for dinner and didn't eat breakfast as it was pouring with rain and I had a long walk to the restaurant for breakfast, hence I left.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Check out is at 11!!!! To extend that time they wanted £10 per hour. Breakfast finished at 10...on a Sunday. Staff at reception, leisure club and Spa could have been more enthusiastic/friendly. Changing rooms in Leisure club provided, were very old and security provided by the lock that I had to hire was very poor.

    Nice bed, big room, lovely outside.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower in the room was permanently cold The swimming pool was 5 deg And the bar was shut for refurbishment which ment we could not watch the international rugby in the bar and have a drink

    Not much

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are not sound proof, we could hear people's conversations from the other rooms.

    The view from our room was beautiful, nice balcony. Nice surprise plate of sweet treats was bought to our room for our anniversary.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything was fine - wouldn't change a thing.

    We had Sunday Carvery at this hotel which was very good and there was plenty of choice. Also we had a snack which again was very tasty.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Slightly strange smelling water in the bath and the towels and robes were frayed and had holes in them. Decor slightly dated.

    Bed was so comfortable - could have slept for a week! Very clean and staff professional and friendly.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only criticism is it needs updating and just a bit of painting which I understand is in progress now

    The food was all faultless breakfast was exceptional and the carvery was amazing three courses for only just over £16 and there was plenty of it and a wife selection. All staff were so helpful and polite a credit to the house nothing was to much trouble. The fireworks were exceptional also

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast, not worth £12.95, had better at a services on the motorway. Breakfast served to order would be better and happier morning staff.

    Beautiful view from our room, lovely and quiet area, unexpected great fireworks display. Flame restaurant was lovely for our evening meal, great food.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower enclosure barely that

    Pastries a little dry and crusty for breakfast; would have got my own coffee rather than waiting and then having to ask waiter

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast containers could do with an update as they are too staff canteen like from ‘80’s, More choice of breads not just sliced bread for toast. Pastries looked a bit unappetizing - suffering from the frozen cheap offerings. Corridors in bedroom area need touching up. Main bar area corners under tables etc need to be hovered. Chrome cast great idea but did but did not work.

    Lovely welcome and ambience. Bedroom decor nice. Towels on bed nice touch. You can tell the owners care about the hotel and it’s offering.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The doors to the patio did not lock.

    The room was larger than most hotel rooms and individually furnished. The bathroom was well equipped with separate bath and walk-in shower and make-up mirror. There was also a pretty patio outside. Also appreciated the courtesy tray which contained filter coffee and biscuits.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    No water bottles in rooms and cold tap in bathroom ran warm for a long time. The room tea was limited to a low quality brand with no herbal teas available for the evenings. Bathroom shampoo products/gels were poor. Shower cubicle was grotty around the edges. Breakfast was fit for purpose but not great (quality of sausages and bacon). Double bed was in fact two singles with a ridge in the middle - mattresses felt tired.

    Staff were all pleasant and helpful. Nice surroundings with a good loop run around the village. A range of facilities on site such as Gym and pool.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room 302 was not up to lever expected (looking tiered), bathroom ceiling had been patch repaired and had evidence of mould, chairs in Bedroom had stains, TV signal kept dropping out and wall paper on the ceiling in the bedroom beginning to hang down, also I guess that there were condensers on the roof above the room which at night make a lot of noise. Apart from that the building is terrific

    Staff and food excellent

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Fridge didnt work, TV (NEW System) awful - problem on weekend of visit apparently - hopefully fixed for your next visit. Attached to an Elderly peoples home, Lamp next to vanity area didnt work. Plug sockets next to bed 'round' so your charger wont fit! (Other plugs available). Lift only went to 2nd floor, not to 3rd. (we got moved though as v helpful staff!!

    Old style bar and spirit choices. Friendly and helpful staff, Parking easy. Clean rooms.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room wasn't what I had booked or had any resemblance of what is on your website. Room had cobwebs in and was really warm. Temperature control in the room only gave our heat and no real climate control in the room. Banging from someone next door to me for the majority of the eve. Price I paid for the room wasn't good value for money. Bed was like sleeping on a wooden slat. I had an executive double room.

    Easy check In

    Stayed in October 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: