Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Best Western Station Hotel 3 stars

49 Lovers Walk, Dumfries, DG1 1LT, United Kingdom

#11 of 24 hotels in Dumfries

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 339 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    9

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    8.5

  • Free WiFi

    8.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some carpets and furniture were a bit worn.

    Lovely spacious and comfortable bedroom. We were at the front of the hotel (facing the station) - thought it might have been noisy but was very quiet. Lovely food. Plenty of choice for breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room - Four Poster
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Brilliant hotel. Sensible pricing. Have stayed here twice now and would recommend it highly. Food is superb. Clear the owner has her finger on the button and her standards are there for all to see.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Have stayed before so know what to expect. Spacious room with huge bed and nice bathroom, lovely evening meal and breakfast. Beautiful outdoor area for drinks.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The hotel made me feel very welcome. I check in the lady said it was a single room which was what I booked. Once in the room was large and had a double bed. Bathroom had a shower which was great. Bed was comfy and had a excellent night sleep which is what I needed

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely fabulous! Perfectly located, nothing was too much trouble for any of the staff. Room and facilities were spacious, clean and comfortable. Wouldn't hesitate to return or to recommend.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good to have freshly cooked food at breakfast - not buffet style. Very good shower and cosy bathroom. Very central with free parking a bonus. Aileen was very helpful with local information.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I understand it is difficult to employ and retain good staff but service for evening meal and both breakfasts was very slow and seemed to be only one person trying to do it all

    Beautiful Victorian building with attractive entrance and amazing staircase

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very cosy & comfortable bedrooms, lovely white fluffy towels and a good location for the Town Centre. Very nice breakfast choices with most efficient and helpful staff. Good free parking facilities for Hotel guests.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Seriously nothing. The shower staff felt a little small but it's a standard size that you would purchase in a DYI store as a second shower for your home. I was very happy with this hotel

    The staff were amazing, went out of there way to ensure I was comfortable and well taken care of. This is the front staff as well as the restaurant and bar. The hotel was located about a minute walk from the train station which more than handy, AND I never heard a train all night and I faced the station. I had clear directions on how to get to the center of town which was about a 7 min walk. The staff were concerned I was leaving in the morning without having breakfast so gave me a cup of tea in a to-go cup free of charge. I wouldn't hesitate to highly recommend this hotel to everyone travelling in that direction!!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel is very dated. A picture on the wall in your bedroom might help brighten up the room a little. My colleague and me were the first people in for breakfast yet the bacon and sausage where served cold ???

    Central location. Lovely staff on reception.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room - Super King
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were a little cool despite heating in ensuite and room being on constantly. They are big rooms with high ceilings so difficult to heat.

    Staff were excellent and building maintained it character whilst providing all that new hotel would offer.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing could have been better

    This is a lovely old railway hotel which has kept its ambience. The breakfast was superb--everything anyone could wish Parking right outside Warm rooms Good price

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Poor en suite, shower sprayed everywhere due to the screen being too small and the bath raised to accommodate pipework etc.

    Room was large but en suite tiny, unkempt and urgently in need of renovation. Location is good and the walk is short into Dumfries.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The initial booking in on arrival missed the fact that I had paid a month earlier when making the booking. Closer scrutiny of the computer screen would rectify this error.

    The hotel is what one expects - and hopes for - from an old railway hotel. It is comfortable and extremely conveniently located. I have known it for about 60 years.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room - Super King
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Felt the room could have had more tea making facilities as there was just enough for one cup

    The staff were very nice & friendly & the room was lovely

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were four cyclists on the first day of our tour. The staff were very helpful in providing secure storage for our bikes. The rooms were excellent, comfortable and reasonably priced.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perhaps more drawer space in the bedroom, it was ok for a couple of nights but we would have struggled if we had stayed longer.

    Breakfast is served to you rather than buffet style

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The woman on the front desk, Ms A. McGhie was rude, overbearing and downright offputting - what a horrible woman. That this place is still in business ( I gather she has "run" the place for years) is a miracle !!! Never been "interrogated" by any frony of house staff. Would categorically never stay there again and would recommend all others to avoid the place

    Very basic Hotel, much in need of maintenance

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room - Four Poster
    • Stayed 1 night

    NOTHING

    this property offers real value for money.....next to railway station but you cant hear a sound as double glazed windows....perfect food with variety.....i think it is too CHEAP..

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing at all.

    A spacious and comfortable room; the bed especially comfortable. The hotel building also very imposing and enjoyable to visit and explore. Also very handy for exploring the town centre and its amenities.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room - Four Poster
    • Stayed 1 night

    This is a lovely old hotel which has kept the original features very well, we particularly liked the four poster bed and the Jacuzzi bath (tho didn't have time to use it) and didn't have to pay a lot for this room like most hotels.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    All the team were friendly and helpful. They went out of their way to meet dietary needs. If ever we need to stay in a hotel in Dumfries again we'll stay there.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    The hotel had an 'olde world' feeling, which I enjoyed. The whole building was kept very clean, and there was a lovely garden area outside. The food was excellent, and the staff were most friendly and helpful. The train station was just across the road from the hotel, and a bus stop just outside, and the town was within easy walking distance. I would very much recommend this hotel, and hope to visit it again.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room - Super King
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything, brilliant hotel. Nothing was to much trouble. The restaurant was wonderful and breakfast great. There was nothing we could find wrong and would very highly recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was perfect.

    Located in a great area right next to the train station and very close to the centre of Dumfries. On arrival we were greeted by a very pleasant Receptionist. All public areas were very clean. Our bedroom (room 30) was very spacious and again was spotless. We had an extra large bed that was very comfortable and we had a great night sleep. Breakfast was excellent and there was a wide choice of cooked and cold dishes. All staff were very attentive and happy to help with all inquiries and requests. I would definitely recommend this hotel and we do plan to stay again.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was really warm when we stayed and the room was stifiling...no breeze through the windows. Also parking is very limited on site, but we were extremely lucky and happened to get a spot on the street (which was only okay because we were late enough on a Saturday and leaving early enough on Sunday to not have to pay or have a permit).

    The breakfast was very nice and the people were all very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is a hotel with history, built in the 1800's, and although the rooms have had some recent investment and are very modern, the communal areas such as the lounge could do with a revamp but at the same time respecting it's age & history. The breakfast was very good and the evening menu looked nice but we didn't try it.

    The room we had was large, modern, clean and comfortable. The location is good, within easy walking distance of the town.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Some of the furnishings in the lounge areas are tired and worn, but it looks as if they are gradually being replaced by comfy leather sofas.

    We didn't eat an evening meal in the restaurant, however the breakfasts were excellent. There was a tasty cold-self service buffet to start us off, with juices/individually boxed cereals/fruit/ yogurts/ cold meats etc. We ordered tea and toast- plenty arrived- and there was a great choice of delicious cooked breakfasts, which were brought to our table promptly with a smile and friendly chat. It was an unusually hot weekend, and staff provided us with an electric fan as soon as we asked and they happily refroze our picnic freezer pack for our daily outings (which was VERY helpful!). Tea/ coffee/ biscuits in our room were replenished each day.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast, though good sized proportions, really lacked tflavour

    Room size, comfortable bed, friendly staff, cleanliness of room and hotel in general and the food at the evening meal was excellent.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was at least one large bus tour group staying at the same time as we were. Luckily we always seemed to be one step ahead of them else I think we'd have been waiting forever to check in or get breakfast. They did have some difficulty getting our breakfast order right. We were in a hurry so we just ate what they gave us. The food quality was good, but a bit pricey for what you got.

    You cannot beat this location, it is literally across the street from the train station, yet quiet. Also convenient to restaurants. The room was comfortable with a small table and chairs. The hotel has some old-world charm in spite of the "Best Western" label which in the US usually labels a very cookie-cutter kind of hotel.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing really

    The room was a polished hotel room, bed was comfortable, the pillow was good, the shower was good, the room was warm, the staff were helpful and friendly, breakfast was good. Over the top of this, the rooms are set in this wonderfully historic building in a good location. Also didn't hear a train once.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/A

    Our booking specifications were met with the added bonus of our room being upgraded which was an unexpected surprise. The staff were pleasant and friendly, both James and Kieran were a credit to the team. We commend the kitchen staff, the food was lovely and therefore we are unable to comment on other restaurants/pubs as we chose to eat all our meals at the hotel because of the quality and extended menu. It was also nice to speak with the Owner of the hotel during our stay and would definitely go back.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had to leave.

    Staff were extremely helpful, it was our first trip away with our baby (3 months old). Staff were also friendly, professional and welcoming

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room - Four Poster
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not much atmosphere in the bar in the evening probably because hotel is in the middle of Dumfries and there are other bars and restaurants around

    We had a spacious bedroom newly refurbished. Staff were very friendly and helpful

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive Double Room - Super King
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lovely old Victorian hotel next to the station in Dumfries that has retained its character. We had a spacious and modern room on the second floor. The proprietor Aileen was very friendly and amusing and suggested places of interest on the Solway coast. It's a quick walk into the centre of town. Superb Scottish breakfast!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room - Super King
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel was old and had character which I like. on arrival the receptionist was very nice and helpful. our room was very spacious and clean. the breakfast was nice and plenty to choose from. would recommend this hotel .

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were friendly and chatty and the breakfast good ate in the restaurant one night food was delicious the room was clean and the bed huge and comfortable plus the weather was good to .

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The tea. I would have liked my own pot of tea on the breakfast table rather than having weak tea from a thermos pot poured by the waitress.

    The hotel is a grand old building near to the station and within easy walking distance of the town centre. The staff were helpful and friendly. The room was spacious and nicely updated to look comfortably modern with a very good shower room. An ample breakfast with a good range of choices set us up well for the day ahead at the near Caerlaverock Wetlands Wildlife Trust reserve.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The food was very good in the restaurant, but as a space it was a bit gloomy, though it was clean and comfortable and the staff were excellent

    The room was large. It was equipped with a good desk and a couple of easy chairs.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2017

    • Couple
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location needs to be as signposted both physically and internet as possible. They will lise business because of lack of address details. More easily accessible maps!

    Very welcoming,, very comfortable traditional hotel with mod cons. Food and staff excellent.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room temperature too warm, lighting in bathroom not adequate

    Efficient reception, well appointed room with proper comfortable chair and very comfortable bed

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I believe it to have been the manageress! Attitude shocking any simple request seemed to be a problem and were made too feel unwelcome. Rest of the staff were great

    Bed was comfy and breakfast and breakfast staff were great

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The revolving doors are really awkward to get your cases in and out. The hotel not disable friendly.

    Scottish breakfast was lovely. Staff in restaurant really friendly.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2016

    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was all good

    Just a lovely friendly hotel and the food is five star can't get over the excellent value for money had a lovely weekend no faults to find

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the location next to the station was very good,not far from town centre,the staff were very pleasant,the room was a good size and the food was very good

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A lack of more guests! A few more folks would have given a bit more atmosphere. Great if you are OK with this though.

    Location is close to the town centre (10 minutes walk) but far enough away to miss any noise. Some sounds from trains but nothing to worry about. Room was clean and warm. Staff very friendly and helpful. Breakfast very good and not overpowering. Pity it is not just a bit busier. We will be back.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Knowing that the roomwas going to be very warm I would have adjusted the room thermostat .

    The hotel was clean and tidy with the staff being very friendly, the food was of excellent quality as was the refreshments, The mornig breakfast was welcoming and thoroughly enjoyed , all floors had lift access suitable for all.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room - Super King
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Shower could have been more powerful

    Staff were outstanding. The Scottish breakfast was everything I had heard about...............wonderful! A great start to the cold morning.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room - Super King
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Bistro is down in what is effectively the cellar and is rather pub-like. The approach from the residents' lift is somewhat off-putting. A pity, the food was fine, the service good, and the prices very reasonable.

    The bedroom and bathroom were elegantly refurbished to an impressively high standard. The super king bed was very comfortable and the room was large enough to spread out in. The welcome (from the owner) was warm and friendly.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room - Super King
    • Stayed 1 night

    Some of the staff were needing to smile and be more sociable. Hotel was clean but needs to be updated, a bit tired. Was also expensive for what you got.

    It was clean and the breakfast was good

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was a bit too hard and the noise outside disturbed me a little, but to be expected when next to the train station

    I love the building itself, it's beautiful

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was no heating in room/bathroom at all. I was refused upgrade as manager could not be flexible as I had booked with Booking.com. As I had been in room 10 mins. I was to be charged with it - even if I changed. I was later provided with blower heater. I cancelled my next 3 nights booking and moved elsewhere

    The evening meal was ok

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I wasn't too keen on the attic room, could do with a light as you enter as the light is round the corner and you can't see in the wardrobe

    I had the full Scottish and it filled me for the day, egg's just the way I like them.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was a wide range of breakfast items from which to choose. The Danish pastries were delicious. A friendly welcome at reception on arrival was most agreeable.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Loved it all.

    Meals were beautiful in a stunning restaurant. My bedroom was comfortable and best of all the hotel was just a few steps from the train station.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2016

    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Décor a little "tired"

    The staff were friendly. Breakfast was served very quickly and efficiently which I appreciated. It was also very good with a good choice. There was ample parking.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the hotel was good but Dumfries needs a revamp . nothing open after 6.000 and what is a very historic area does nothing to promote itself.

    the central location was good. the staff were helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is a little dated but room and bed were great and breakfast in bistro was excellent. I arrived late due to a cancelled train so was happy just to fall into bed, after welcome cup of tea in room.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Only one small easy chair, two larger ones would have been better for a bit of TV watching. More biscuits with room drinks would have been nice and not everyone likes shortbread

    Good room and bed, Modern TV, en suite excellent. Quiet and peaceful, very restful

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2016

    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed was so comfy it was hard to leave it n the morning. TV was in the best position for viewing in bed (0f course!) I am disabled and find that I struggle most in confined spaces and with the positioning of amenities, but here at the Station Hotel the bathroom was ideally positioned for me being in a straight line from the bed. The super double walk-in shower without a door was a bonus. So many thanks to whoever designed the room layout. (no.12) Staff were all lovely, efficient and friendly.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I think maybe the dining room staff could improve somewhat. Be as friendly as front office staff would go along way.

    Comfortable room. Meals were not great, but were adequate. Liked the front office staff. They went out of there way to be helpful.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Being invited to be critical, two things only. 1. I never worked out how to run the shower properly so ended up having to have a bath which I haven't done for years ! Not sure if it was faulty or I was faulty ! 2. Not very slick breakfast. Very nice young man. Disinterested girl who needs to learn to smile. Had to ask for a number of items - napkin, butter etc.

    Location. To step off the train after a long journey and step into the hotel was indescribable. Style of hotel - perfect. Reception staff - wonderful Bed comfort divine ! Top hotel.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room that I had was poorly lit in the area of the wardrobe

    The parking was good. As a single occupant my bedroom was very comfortable. I enjoyed my breakfast very much, good selection and good service. I am only sorry that I did not have dinner, as I was being entertained in the evenings.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel interior is a little tired and could do with some updating

    Huge and comfy bed and pillows Very friendly and helpful staff Lovely food in the bistro

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    With warm weather there wasn't any air circulation in the room. No A/C and no window screens, which normally isn't an issue but this time it was...

    The room was nicely appointed and spacious; staff was terrific; nice bar and pretty good restaurant.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Lack of staff and wait after ordering food in restaurant in the evening. They did have a function on in another part of the hotel but waited nearly an hour for our meal.

    Large room, equipped with everything we needed. Varied menu, food was lovely. Breakfast service was excellent.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2016

    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Reception staff efficient but not friendly. Crack a smile, guys. Loo in room/bathroom filthy. Hadn't been properly cleaned in a while. Poor sound insulation between bathrooms. Hotel as a whole in need of a proper deep clean or a major refit. Decor of public areas and room looked as though it was last given some attention in the 1980s. Exterior scruffy -ie peeling paintwork, dirty windows. No one cares - that was the overall impression.

    Convenient location close to town centre and station. Very helpful staff at breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had to fiddle with the shower door as it kept coming off its runners.

    The room was larger than most of the places we stayed in previous,and far more comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2016

    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Speed of getting hot water in the bathroom, also no fresh air in bedroom due to seizure of old sash windows

    Just across the road from the railway station. Friendly and helpful staff. Nice to see kippers on the breakfast menu.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Constant drone throughout the night from the ventilation system directly below and the fact that I had no sleep whatsoever didn't bother them one little bit! Eventually got another room at 5am after being told the night before they were fully booked and no spare rooms. Receptionist not interested.

    Clean enough modern in parts. Bistro downstairs was good along with the food.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room - Super King
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bedroom and bathroom very roomy and quiet and comfortable. Meal choices good and breakfast wellpresented. I did think my stir fry vegetables were a bit charred.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing in relation to the hotel. Everything great.

    The staff were extremely accommodating, friendly and willing to go above and beyond. The room was lovely and comfortable. A fantastic hotel, would recommend to anyone.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room - Super King
    • Stayed 1 night

    No complaints.

    Lovely characterful hotel. Spacious bedroom. Solid walls with not a sound from another room. Secondary double glazing enabled opening windows when required. Double aspect room but no traffic noise intruded. Comfy duvet and lots of pillows. Restaurant/Bistro with warm décor and friendly staff. Excellent evening meals and the included breakfasts. Helpful and welcoming owner. Free parking. Lift. Wi-Fi. Costs as anticipated.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast choice was good but not quite up to the standard of the dinners.

    The dinners were superb! A plumbing problem was solved immediately and efficiently.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not enough staff on when it got busy took ages on our first morning to get someone to take our cooked breakfast order.

    Fairly good choice cooked breakfast was ok.

    Stayed in August 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: