Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Best Western Woodlands Hotel 3 stars

13 Panmure Terrace, Dundee, DD5 2QL, United Kingdom

#11 of 19 hotels in Dundee

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 898 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    8.3

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    View of the bins from the room and that it wasn't available on arrival.

    nice grounds and Brought Ferry is a nice area. Good if you want to be near Dundee but not in the city where there are lots of good hotels near attractions.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great location for visiting daughter at dundee university good value hearty breakfast with extensive selection good bar / lounge area nice pool very friendly reception staff

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing worth noting

    The location of Woodlands is generally quiet, the room was large with comfortable bed. Excellent breakfast. Staff were polite friendly and efficient. Just right for a good overnight stay on our tour of Scotland.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room was very stuffy and hot and the windows would only open 3 inches. We spent as little time as possible in the stuffy room and didn't sleep well. The staff said they were unable to unlock the window.

    The location was perfect for visiting our family and friends in the area.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I can't really fault anything it is a very nice hotel

    Close to transport links & pool & gym facilities are also good also very quiet location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air con. With the hot weather we are having it was difficult to sleep in a hot room.

    Everything was lovely, Quiet, great size rooms with great facilities.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom could do with upgrading. Quite a long walk to town centre there & back!

    Warm welcome from staff, clean & comfy room, great leisure facilities.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed was not very comfortable & there was no bar of soap, shampoo etc that you usually get which was the only downside. Otherwise it was a very enjoyable stay & we would certainly recommend it

    Staff were approachable, friendly and very helpful. Facilities were great & hotel was modern, clean & fresh. Room was good size & it & en suite were modern & clean also. Would definitely return

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room location had lots of windy stairs luckily we didnt have much baggage to carry. The room itself and ensuite both were quite neat for size which could have been tricky for larger size people.

    The staff were very friendly and hotel very clean

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I ordered a glass of wine and it was flat which was disappointing, there was only some stains on the bed sheets which let the room down.

    the staff were very friendly and the location was great, lots of parking available too. the breakfast was very enjoyable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    One of the windows in bedroom would not properly close due to what looked like a broken mechanism. Also the shower pressure changed constantly, which was slightly annoying

    The leisure centre. Friendly staff. Good buffet breakfast

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Fan that keep me awake all night ( one end of the hotel has kitchen fans the other the leisure centre fans) and a weekend a noisy place to stay

    ok as a business venue and a busy wedding location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I stayed on a Sunday night and was advised the kitchen closes 8.30pm with no room service - this was disappointing but I managed to get some sandwiches and fries just before they closed. They were delicious

    Staff were brilliant. Hotel pretty dated but delivered on comfort and had everything you need. A wee bit away from Broughty Ferry centre but nice and quiet. Pool, sauna, gym were a bonus for extra relaxation. Definitely a quiet getaway - the night I stayed at least.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was awful!!! The iron surface was all burnt and I never noticed and burnt my jeans. The door had a gap of about 2 inches missing from the bottom which we had to cover with pillows.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff were lovely and very helpful. The food was amazinng The accommodation was comfortable. xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Roll-In Shower - Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was very poor. Food was dry. The staff at breakfast time weren’t very friendly and pretty rude. Probably as we arrived for breakfast at 1min till the end of breakfast serving. However I feel they should meet expectations and professionalism until the end

    The room was excellent. Very comfortable and very clean

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel looks a little dated in places. Bed and pillows weren't very comfortable. Mattress was very soft and pillows too hard.

    Friendly and helpful staff. Good value for money. Good to have a leisure facility/pool to use. Breakfast was plentiful. Omelette was huge!! Love a hotel that offers biscuits with the tea and coffee facilities.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Large Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Dinner was not great. For the price of the food, there needs to be a better chef in the kitchen. The description of the food is fancy, but it is so very basic when it comes out. Not much flavor at all. Breakfast buffet was pretty nice, and was much better than dinner.

    Great hotel in Dundee. Very clean and comfortable, situated in a quiet residential area. Our GPS put about 2 houses down from the hotel, so if this happens to you... just drive a little further. We were very confused, but found it quickly. The hotel is in an old mansion, with new addition. Everything is renovated and really nice. Walk down to the ocean is about 10 minutes. Nice place. Staff were all so pleasant and kind.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Cleaning service uses too much chlorine, which means it smells everywhere in the morning. The same taste of tap water.

    Peaceful place with owls shouting at night and seagulls during the day. Quite lively, with locals arriving for the funeral tea or wedding party. Oat porridge was good every morning.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel could do with a bit of updating. Creeking floors do not lend for a good nights sleep. The bathroom was very small and had no bath, something I would expect from a decent hotel. More attention could also be placed on cleanliness (we found a used battery next to (not under) the bed and cobwebs hanging from the ceiling). The biggest negative for me was the food. Way overpriced and very poor quality. I had a chicken burger which cost £11.50. This is expensive by most standards for a burger, however I do not mind paying extra for good food. It was mediocre to put it mildly. A plain bun with a poorly cooked bit of chicken drenched in way too much onion chutney with grated cheddar and frozen chips. No salad, no garnish, and just overall very poor considering the price. It looked like a school dinner and was hardly edible. The other meals were below average and over priced as well. Due to this we did not even attempt breakfast. The hotel itself I thought was overpriced for what it is and not great value for money.

    The hotel is in a good location for access to Dundee and Golf Courses (7 minutes from Monifieth Golf Course). There is plenty of free parking. The beds and pillows are comfortable. We did not use/see the leisure facilities so cannot comment on that. The staff were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is excellent all round. We really enjoyed our stay here. The staff make the place always there to help and Can never do enough for you. Rooms are lovely too, Very clean. The food and the breakfast also amazing. We will definitely stay again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom decor a little dated. Bar not opened to 12.30 on a Sunday. No food menu around the bar

    The spa, the water pressure, (filled the bath very quickly and water was really hot), shower was really powerful, the violet gin

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was in the original mansion house attic space, with a very small window and the walls between rooms were not well insulated. To reach the room, you had to carry all your luggage up 3 flights of stairs, as there is no lift in that part of the hotel. The bathroom was extremely narrow and the shower pump for the room next door appeared to be located in my room, as it was noisy when the neighbouring guests were showering.

    The restaurant food and service was very good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Large Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was slightly too warm for us, but not unbearable

    Have stayed a few times now. Always positive. Lovely hotel. Great staff. Nice meals. Cater well for families. Lovely leisure facilities. Good size family room.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Beautiful location and good facilities. There is pretty much everything you need access to in a nice 'country like' location in the city of Aberdeen. This is a great mix of country and city.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    My room was very small and dated also had no bath. Our friends who stayed at the same time had a lovely new room with kingsize bed.

    The rooms, bar and swimming pool very clean

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The members of the spa/fitness facilities are extremely arrogant and territorial. For thirty years they have had three 'adult only' sessions per week. This meant that my 9 year old grandson who was very excited at the prospect of swimming had to wait until the next morning, as we arrived on a members only night. In the morning when we got in at 6:30 there were several members doing lengths and their attitude was extremely unpleasant. Although we stuck to one very small corner at the shallow end two women still swam unnecessarily through us too close for my comfort as if we were in their way! I feel strongly that adults only sessions aught to be curtailed to between 11am and 2pm between check out and check in for guests. Another solution may be roping the shallow end off for guests with children but honestly, members really need to be reminded the spa is for guests as well, not just them and respectfully requested to adjust their attitude and manners!!!

    The breakfast is really good, wide range of choice and good quality. The rooms at the back of the hotel are very quiet-total silence. The bed and bedding is good quality-very comfortable and the bathrooms really clean. The staff are efficient, professional and really helpful and friendly, they create a happy, relaxed atmosphere.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom needed a massive upgrade. The shower cubical was small and the shower had little or no pressure and the heat setting further affected this. Heated towel rail didn't work properly meaning that the bathroom was freezing, not good when it's -2° outside.

    The location was good.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower broken, no heating in room overnight in freezing conditions, dirty plates at breakfast, no reply at reception when called, staff dismissive of complaints.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Comfiest bed I’ve slept in. Leisure centre was out of use but unfortunately these things happen. Never used much of the facilities but was still a good stay!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Tired room in a chain hotel. Fine but nothing to really recommend it.

    Nice dinner in the restaurant in the evening. The hotel staff are helpful and pleasant.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was overheated, with no instructions for the air con. The bed was rock hard. The shower room was badly designed, I trapped my finger between the bathroom door and the sink.

    It was convenient for a family party. The bar prices were reasonable.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My bed had seen better days, it was comfortable enough for 1 night though anymore would’ve given me back problems.

    Location and Parking are great for the Dundee area, and at £4 a pint I can’t grumble. The food was excellent and fresh. The staff were friendly and helpful. I would definitely stay again.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Please see above comment.

    Overall, we were very pleased with the hotel, but felt that the room was rather small for a superior room. However, as we staying only for a few nights we were very pleased with the food, the staff and the cleanliness of the hotel.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great hotel, very comfortable and clean. Nice and friendly staff. Great facilities and plenty room. Nice grounds and pitsoor seating. Very good leisure facilities. I also got a free upgrade to a double room as I only booked a single. 10 out of 10

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    They gave me a free upgrade just because it was xmas time, the room was very quiet and the spa is fantastic. Breakfast was also really good and all the staff are lovely

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The jacuzzi in the pool area was not working, and whilst one receptionist was aware of all aspects of the hotel was friendly and a delight to talk to, the other lady was not. Not sure if she is new to the hotel staff.

    The room was immaculate as ever and was so comfortable and very quiet. Just perfect for a nice long weekend stay. Food was wonderful and the choice was fantastic.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room with Roll-In Shower - Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night

    Carpark and walk to the hotel was still icy despite some limited attempts at putting slat / grit down. For such a big carpark this should have been addressed as the weather changed

    quiet surroundings !!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service a bit slow in bar and dining but it was near to Christmas!!

    We got a walk-in shower which was perfect for my husband and I only thing was the water leaked out onto floor a bit but plenty of towels and changed frequently

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Large Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    breakfast staff seemed very harassed though not sure why as there were lots of them. need more direction and training - use trays to clear tables as food and crockery was being dropped left right and centre!

    we asked for a tripple room and unlike almost every other hotel in the country it was fully set up for 3 people - 3 glasses, 3 towels etc etc - other hotels for some reason don’t seem to manage this!!!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    • Family with young children
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fact that when I asked to book dining slot for Saturday night was told they were fully booked and I should have booked 5 days in advance Claimed an email sent to me reminding me of this requirement when no such email was received and all folders were checked including trashed etc etc Did not stipulate time , was willing to fit in At 8.45 went down to go out in dreadful weather to walk to a pub 2/3 mile away Checked in dining room to find at least 8 tables empty Managers attitude was dreadful and obviously had no intention to accommodate

    Food

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Carpet gritty and unhoovered on arrival. Thought it might have been an oversight, so didn’t say anything, but carpet still gritty the next day, after room had been serviced. Corners, skirting boards dusty as well, though bed, bathroom etc all well cleaned. A couple of other maintenance issues, (bathroom radiator not working; window wouldn’t stay open) which I reported. Ok, but slightly disappointing in one or two areas.

    Comfortable and mostly clean etc. Generally good facilities.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff did not seem to know how to smile.

    Good size, comfortable room with a good well-lit desk for doing some work. Good parking. There was a bizarre housekeeping issue with my bathroom, and I received a personal apology for this the next morning, which was nice.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Picky, but I deducted a point for steamer cabinets at breakfast, although they will cook your poached eggs fresh.

    friendly staff, easy to locate and park, food very good, room well equipped and comfortable. check in and out fast and efficient.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Just the one minor thing that could be better...... water pressure for the shower was a little low.

    Great staff - resolved a mistake I had made with the booking. Great breakfast. Lovely clean room.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little bit of a walk into town but buses were regular and it was only 10 minutes in a taxi back.

    All aspects were satisfactory, staff extremely pleasant.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Small Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nightmare Room 120 worst room ever been in and being a Building Surveyor soon realised above boiler for complex heard kicking in every 10mins or so was so bad nearly went down to sleep in my van at 2.15am. Second night complained at desk not very helpful told me old part of hotel above kitchen supposedly not correct you do not have chef in at 3.00 am in morning boiler again I soon seen heating cupboard vented downstairs directly above my bedroom .I could even put up with hearing music from function suite both nights but noise from boiler kept me awake both nights.No wonder non returnable booking and money taken in advance nice clean room yes but the noisest ever highly recommend if booking state do not want room 120 or take industrial ear defenders sorely let me down nice hotel but staff never even apologised poor customer service.Even recorded level off noise on my phone it was that bad no doudt many people complain about this room although will be denied disappointed Best Western .

    Nice location and lovely building

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    I arrived late at night and asked when the restaurant closed - 5 Minutes The lady quickly checked me in and booked me into the restaurant - the meal was very high standard. The room was large, fresh and clean. Highly recommended

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed was very uncomfortable, I can feel the coil spring in my back. The room is small.

    Plenty of parking space, location is not too far away from the main street

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very rude reception staff, un-proffesional, do not stay here if you want to get fed, hotel overcharge and do not deal with complaints. Room service stops at 8:45pm, hotel charged an upgrade twice for a room on the ground floor. 'Kingsize' bed was two single beds pushed together with an uncomfortable join in the middle. Charged for breakfast despite leaving too early to eat breakfast - reception were aware. Complained at hotel, nothing done, through booking.com to hotel & told 'no refund'

    NOTHING TO LIKE HERE

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Large Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restriction on pool access for kids (several days no kids in pool after 2pm). Maybe relax this during school holidays? Also could do with a high chair in swimming changing room to allow a safe place to put baby when getting ready

    Lovely rooms, nice breakfast, helpful friendly staff. A

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not applicable

    The hotel was so clean everywhere. Room very comfortable, and excellent leisure facilities. Staff very helpful and friendly. thought breakfast had excellent choice, and well cooked

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower was terribly dirty. The shower head was mouldy. The bathroom door didn't shut. The male staff at the restaurant weren't welcoming at all.

    The hotel was beautiful and quite large. Plenty of parking and decent breakfast. The waitresses were lovely

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    4 sachets of coffee instead of 3 it meant that only one of us could have a second cup minor gripe

    The location,staff were friendly, room had everything we needed and the food was excellent what more do you need.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pillows could have been better but I accept that pillows & beds are all personal preference. Some noisy guests in adjoining rooms & as the doors don't close quietly, this didn't help.

    All the staff were friendly and helpful

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No lift, which could present some less mobile guests with an unanticipated inconvenience upon arrival. Our room, in an older part of the hotel building was a little cramped, especially the en suite which lacked convenient space to lay out toiletries. Water temperature in the shower was difficult to control. As it turned out, we got used to these things and none of them was unbearably inconvenient.

    Hotel attractively situated in a quiet neighbourhood, but with easy access to main routes. The public areas are roomy and, at the same time, homely. Ample parking in the hotel grounds. Menu, pleasingly, not over extensive or extravagantly expensive. The dishes we chose were well prepared and enjoyable, as was the house red. Our room was comfortable and peaceful (subject to slight irritations). Pleasant and helpful staff. Taking everything into account, an enjoyable stay.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Second time we have stayed at this hotel and very disappointed! Got up early on Sunday to use the steam room jacuzzi and sauna showers were cold jacuzzi was cold seemily problem with boiler been tripping for over a week and wasn't told till we were in the pool! Would think if it was such a busy hotel it would b there top priority.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff could have been more attentive.The cleaning staff were pleasanter than dining room staff.Standing talking amongst themselves, one chewing gum.

    Location and parking

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Honest review: * Room was very small but clean. A new carpet had been laid and you could smell that it was new. It also made the door very difficult to push open. ** The shower has to be the worst shower I have ever experienced. There was no pressure at all and it took forever to heat up. So did the water at the sink. I did mention this to the receptionist when we checked out (this was all I got the chance to say) and was told that the pressure in the 'old' wing was bad and maybe a lot of people were trying to use it at the same time. However we tried it 3 times and it never got any better. We ended up going for a swim and using the shower down there instead! *** There was a wedding at the hotel, so upon arrival we had to walk past all of the guests with our suitcase and other bits which was a little embarrassing if I'm honest! It was obvious there was a wedding, but it was not obvious that this meant noise in our room late into the night. Therefore it would have been nice if the receptionist had apologized for this in advance (with a warning) and let us know what time it was due to end. Or even better would be to put guests not part of the wedding away from that area. **** Every time we flushed the toilet we nearly had heart failure thinking it was going to over flow. Not a nice feeling every time you use it! No idea why it kept happening. ***** Breakfast quality was good, plenty of choice, buffet style, or you can choose to have something to order. The service could be improved though. Had to ask for plates to be taken away, and apart from the girl who showed us to the table no one was very friendly or smiley! So overall there was more bad than good here. Very disappointing I have to say. When we were checking out it was made very clear that you can get a better rate with them if you book directly, so this may be how to also get a better room, or a more informative description of it at least.

    Nice enough hotel with a pool. Plenty parking. Receptionist was friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only a small point but omelette was over-cooked.

    Quiet location. Staff friendly & helpful. Plenty of wardrobe storage. Excellent choice of food at breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a 3rd floor room with no lift but we booked late. Next time we will book earlier and specify another room!

    Excellent breakfast and extremely helpful and friendly staff.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room smelled disgusting - must be under some part of the kitchen and the intense smell of old chip fat was really nauseating. Not even opening the windows wide could dispel it. This spoiled our stay as otherwise the room was well laid out and bed comfortable.

    Comfy bed

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Broughty Ferry was just too far to walk, however taxis were not a problem and reasonably priced.

    We were a party of 16 golfers. I had contacted the hotel well in advance and on arrival they were very efficient when booking in. All were happy with the standard of their rooms and bathrooms. Car parking not an issue - even though we had a mini-bus. Easy taxi into Broughty Ferry - just too far to walk. We did not eat in the hotel but found the bar very accommodating. Staff were very efficient and helpful - which makes booking in and out so much easier for a large party. The leisure centre was appealing, however our golf schedule meant we couldn't indulge. We would all recommend a stay.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our room smelled of bad oil from the restaurant. The rooms windows did not open, the bathroom was very very dated. No elevators in the wing we stayed.

    Nothing

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Roll-In Shower - Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bar lounge is rather dark, dull and dismal with very heavy furniture. Really needs an update/makeover of décor, lighting and furnishings asap. Not impressed by unimaginative menu and ate elsewhere. Tatty red carpet for wedding and unpolished brass ,along with untidy "fag ash alley" and uncollected glasses adjacent to the entrance hardly gave a good impression on arrival. A Best Western associate but consider this hotel is trading on its reputation.

    We slept the night in large double bed in comfortable room with wall colour tv and tea/coffee tray. Hot shower worked OK -clean-but not easy access over bath. Reception,who contacted us before visit, was friendly and efficient and provided porterage, Sunday newspaper and taxi on time..

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our room was not serviced or replenished. Our evening meal was not good quality or quantity. The breakfast room was not well organised i.e. place settings incomplete, our room number had already been scored out that we had eaten, staff pointed to a table we could sit at but did not come to sort out tea/coffee/order from menu.

    Good location. Good room size. Good reception staff.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms needing freshened up. Very noisy with the room doors being heavy and when people open and shut the doors they bang behind them. Was awake very early after a function here due to the constant banging of doors of people leaving or going for breakfast.

    Lovely location, beautiful Hotel and breakfast was lovely. We were upgraded as we requested a bath, which was a lovely gesture.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having to leave.

    This property is one the best I have stayed in during my three month tour. From the beautiful grounds to the quiet elegance of the I interior it was lovely. The restuarant was excellent with a great high tea. The staff are wonderful. They are exceedingly helpful. If you have any problems talk to the staff.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was nothing not to like.

    The hotel is in a very secluded location but yet only a short distance from the centre of Broughty Ferry and a short drive from the centre of Dundee. The food was excellent and the staff very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Lack of air conditioning so the temperature in our bedroom was much higher than in the public areas of the hotel on the ground floor which was much more comfortable.

    Well appointed hotel which pleasant bar and dining area. Good quality swimming pool.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing.

    the situation of our room. The staff were excellent, friendly and really helpful. The food was great. The spa was lovely. We will go back.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was up two flights of stairs which was difficult for my husband. No lift available at this part if the hotel.

    The food was super and great value. There to celebrate a birthday.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Large Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unlike our evening experience lead member of staff very abrupt almost rude. Waiting for breakfast to start and when we went into the restaurant just after 7.30 with a very hungry baby she advised 'not open yet '

    Good dinner menu helpful baby friendly staff. Prompt service nothing to much trouble Staff at reception friendly and efficient

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The standard rooms are small with not much space to move around. Apart from this the stay was excellent.

    Very friendly helpful staff. It was very well situated;a short walk to Broughty Ferry and short car drive into Dundee in a very quuet residential area. Lovely gym facilities with a swimming pool, steam room and sauna. The restaurant also catered well for my gluten free dietary needs and nothing was too much trouble for the staff. My family and I stayed in the standard rooms which were clean and nicely decorated. The only down side was the rooms were quite small.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Large Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was ready but not prepared as booked. Took some time to sort out as there was a wedding on.

    Staff friendliness, cleanliness. Dinner was good value for money.

    Stayed in August 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Best Western Woodlands Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: