Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Talbot Hotel 3 stars

5 West Street, Leominster, HR6 8EP, United Kingdom

#2 of 5 hotels in Leominster

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 493 hotel reviews

7.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.6

  • Comfort

    7.2

  • Location

    8.2

  • Facilities

    7.1

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    7.5

  • Free WiFi

    7.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A lovely historic building, a very clean hotel with Staff that was very polite and helpful, The breakfast has to be paid for as a extra but it was very nice . Hotel is in the town so great for walking around Leominster which is lovely.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our room was set up as double bed arrangement when we arrived although I had booked twin beds. The receptionist got this sorted quite quickly for us.

    Good cooked breakfast

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No proper shower only an attachment that could only be used while squatting down in the bath causing water to spray everywhere. Lighting was very dim even with all available lights on during daytime. The wifi was particularly slow and dropped connecton

    Good quality towels and size of room. Staff courteous and friendly.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    after changing rooms because of noise, I was allocated Room 15. This was directly under the hotel's smoking area. My room and bathroom kept filling with tobacco smoke. On both Friday and Saturday evening there was noise outside the window at early hours of the morning. A lot of noise!

    If one could find a member of staff, I was told that no managers work over the weekend, except a night manager, but this was actually an ineffective night porter, they were friendly and helpful. but, they were so rushed off their feet, that they were ineffective.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was clean enough, though if you looked closely there were cobwebs around the lamps etc. We did not have breakfast but the evening meal was mediocre and the white wine was warm.

    The room was spacious and mostly clean. The staff were friendly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The evening meal was pretty awful for all four of us. My friend's salmon was over grossly overcooked and like a piece of leather. The other meals were not up to much either. The breakfast (cooked and continental) was fine.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Access to the room was very difficult. We asked for a double room but got a twin. Hotel very distressed - bathroom poor and shower pathetic. Some staff were helpful but others not so.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Decor a little tired but did not mind that. However the shower was cold and I was not given a refund for this even though it was very uncomfortable! Dreadful. The most important thing about a hotel is that you should be able to have a hot shower .

    Good central location and free car parking. Bed comfortable . Reception welcoming. Breakfast OK.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room to room noise ie people talking can hear everything !!!!! Creaky floor boards in the rooms and hall ways Bar food was disgusting summed up in the warm limp salad not to be repeated as for homemade I would question this very much

    breakfast was good and staff pleasant

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room was comfortable and had everything I needed, plenty of hot water. It looked like it had been given more of a 70s makeover in what was a very old building. There were some stains on the carpet, but the room had been cleaned.

    Staff were excellent, all very friendly and helpful. Good meal in the restaurant with a group of friends who were all pleased with the meal and service.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The ensuite facilities. Lack of attention to detail from a housekeeping point of view - for instance, our bathroom curtains were falling off the rail.

    The staff were helpful and friendly. The building was very old with lovely beams and strangely shaped rooms.You can't expect super modern facilities in a historic building. The food was very good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A deep clean to wipe finger marks off the staff doors in to the kitchen and get up the corners would be good. It would be good to have 2 bedside lamps in the room and drinking glasses for water in the room.

    The hotel is old and would be difficult and expensive to make pristine, but it is looking a bit unloved regarding cleanliness. The staff are very friendly and polite. The breakfast was good on the first day, but no so tasty the second. It was warm in the bedroom and the linen was clean. Our room had two comfy single beds pushed together; I imagine it is the only way you could get a kingsize bed in that section of the property.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    WiFi was pathetic My colleagues mentioned that they could hear people talking in the next room, so not great soundproofing

    A reasonable and olde-worlde-quirky hotel

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    To say it didn't live up to expectation is an understatement. The reception was closed on arrival, had to interrupt service in the bar and although staff friendly, it was a bit chaotic. The room - scruffy, somewhat dirty, no door on bathroom, curtains falling off hangings, bits on the carpet - and possibly the oldest and most uncomfortable bed Ive encountered for some years. Needs a complete overhaul. Noise from town centre pubs topped it off!

    Not a lot.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Breakfast was not worth the money and only 3 people eatin and that included us two the service was very slow the toast was stodgy and no butter but Margerine that left a right oily taste in your mouth

    Room was very good

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mattress could do with replacing in room 26 This room also suffers from noise in the bar so no good to people who retired early for the night.

    Free parking for residents in large car park. Location was great.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was dated.

    Easy and informal check in. The staff were friendly and approachable. Well located in the centre of town, but our room did not suffer any street noise.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed wasn’t made properly, when I pulled the duvet back, the under sheet completed came off as it hadn’t been tucked under the mattress

    Lovely old building and very cosy

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room needs attention hole in the wall by the socket, grubby taps around bath/shower area. Did not encourage me to try your food, toilet in reception walls half tiled. We stayed there 10 years ago and it’s still the same.

    Nothin much, staff were friendly

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although it was pay at property they already took the money from my card without my permission, apparently now they have "changed the rules"

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Reasonable value bit a bit dated Breakfast not great - fair price but some of it was cold and most of it reheated - would have been nice to have some freshly cooked stuff especially as it was quiet.

    Good location Amazing old building but in need of better beds, bathrooms etc

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was impressed that given it was New Years Day and the hotel had been full the night before, everything was ready for me when I arrived. Staff were courteous and helpful.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room had many faults including light fixture in bathroom openly dangling from ceiling, cobwebs dangling under radiator, wardrobe badly touched up with paint. Masonry dust in bathroom and you could hear TV and people talking in next room.when we complained receptionist offered free breakfast. Mine was a disaster....was told they had no smoked salmon for my order so I asked for full vegetarian breakfast instead...was presented with elements of the original breakfast I ordered (now cold) with the addition of burnt black tomatoes. When I asked where the vegetarian sausages were I was told the chef could not find them. My husband enjoyed his full English breakfast.

    Tea and coffee tray. Nice reception staff. Good parking. We were allowed to park for an extra couple of hours after check out.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was only a hand-held shower over the bath - ask when booking if you need a walk in shower. The hairdryer was very tired. Food was very good but service was on the slow side.

    This is a traditional, old-fashioned hotel with loads of character and friendly staff. Each room is unique - mine was very large and comfortable.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room had not been adequately cleaned - toiled rather blocked by previous occupant's waste! Bed covered with biscuit crumbs - Impossible to get hot water in the shower - telephone out of order. JQ

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some rooms definitely need an upgrade

    The hotel had a lot of character. Really friendly staff (although sad to hear that Kevin has passed away). Lovely bar with open fires. Good breakfast selection. Great base for the Ludlow medieval Christmas fayre - 10 minutes from the train station on foot then a 10 minute train journey. Have stayed here for the fayre 5 times

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower didn’t work because I was on the top floor and pressure was non existent. WiFi cuts out and even tv signal poor. It was cheap but would pay more for facilities that work.

    Staff are friendly enough

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    food is average, served a cold pot of tea at breakfast Long narrow corridors make carrying bags awkward

    Great service from staff. Kippers were an option for breakfast

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dark dingy feel of public areas . Bar service not great. No desire to eat there - restaurant drearily laid out unimaginative menu - burgers burgers and gammon!!!

    Breakfast very overpriced - whole place felt tired and musty . Staff excellent . Noise levels in our rooms poor and access to rooms terrible but it is an old building .

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No evening meal (no chef), fire alarm went off at 1.30 (false alarm), no automatic light in corridor to find our way out, extractor fan outside our room on and off all night and thus unable to go back to sleep.

    Breakfast was fine and staff were pleasant and understanding. Free on site car park.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The dated decor..no updates since the 70's. No lift with 4 sets of stairs to climb to our room. No chef other than at breakfast time...no evening meal avilable on our first night. The second night the staff found a chef for 2 hours but she could only provide a reheated from frozen service. My first meal was inedible but she tried again and it was ok. No hotel lounge other than a bar frequented by local drinkers. No easy chairs in the bedrooms. The fire alarm sounded for 5 minutes at 1.30am ..no communication from staff at all as to the seriousness of the situation.

    The staff were excellent. The location and parking were excellent.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tea bags in the room!! Think the cleaning staff just missed it. Not something to spoil our stay though!

    Always stay here when we make our annual trip to Ludlow. Same style hotel but for half the price! Not perfect by any stretch of the imagination but great for us. Good value, quirky features and friendly staff.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had booked this stay 15 minutes before arrival as we were meant to stay at another hotel but once we read the reviews decided to look for alternative accommodation. We paid in full using Apple Pay. When we arrived the reception was closed (we arrived before check in times stated on accommodation closed). The young bar man came to help us but both him and his colleague weren’t trained in reception & check in. We said it was no problem and went to get a bite to eat in the hotel restaurant. The food was very good and although we were going to order dessert we were told we could order after our meal. Once we had finished our meal (which was good) we went to order dessert but were told the kitchen had closed 5 minutes ago. We should have been told this or asked previously if we wanted to order dessert before it closed. We had also been told that someone was coming to check us in, in 20 mins. An hour later we were asked to go to reception where the 2 young members of staff were on the phone with someone. Who was talking them through how to check us in. I was asked for my card to pay and I showed that I had paid online in full. I was still asked for my card for pre authorisation. By this stage we were both so tired and a little agitated that I gave my card and completed pre authorisation. We stood at reception for over 30 mins while this was completed. Again to highlight this review is not against the 2 members of staff. We finally got to our room which although clean and a decent size was like a sauna. We had to sleep with the windows open although we eventually got the radiator turned off the one in the bathroom would not turn off. The next morning we went to check out at reception - before we did we put our cases in the car and stopped outside for a smoke.

    Central location. The 2 new members of staff that dealt with us were enthusiastic and although not trained this was not their fault. They were very apologetic and this review is not against them.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Yes the carpet into the hotel was grubby but hey it was straight off the outside and the first place people see, you go through a door to reception which was clean and tidy.

    Rooms were clean, staff were all friendly, would definitely stay there again. Didn't try the restaurant as we were visiting friends. Very central.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Cramped feel with narrow, rabbit warren corridors, Very unexciting evening meal options.

    Early departure had continental tray delivered to the room - excellent quality and variety even on the tray

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room 24.. we asked to be moved and were placed in room 23 which was far nicer.

    Loved the log fire in the bar area and the olde world feel to it. friendly staff, comfortable bed. Nice breakfast. Good location.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the room was poor and needed upgrading, the bathroom was awful and was in desperate need of attention

    the dining room and bar area were nice, the staff were friendly and the food was excellant

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely old hotel building but noisy as a wedding was on. Cold room as heating broken and no shower...just a hand held shower head and a bath.

    Breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There wasn't much not to like but I was disappointed that the chips on the evening bar menu were frozen and not home made.

    The room had an enormous bed and plenty of wardrobe space.There are lots of breakfast items to choose from such as cereals, fruit, yoghurt etc. The size of the cooked breakfast and the number of breakfast items would satisfy the largest of appetites. All the staff are very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    After a long day of cycling in the rain this hotel was great to get to. The staff were brilliant and the hotel is very good value for money. Facilities are fine and bar food and breakfast were good.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Rather a long trek in this old building from Room 7 to the reception. Chef had a tendency to overcook some things eg, eggs and burgers, but staff made note of this.

    The steak I had for dinner was excellent. The rooms in this older building had all the facilities expected of a hotel but the furnishings were a little "tired"

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Have never been in a bedroom like the one we were allocated (room 14) Hadn't seen a paint brush for years & the decor was like something out of the 70's. The bathroom was that bad my husband & I never even showered during our 2 day stay but had stand up strip washes instead !! When leaving we were asked if we had enjoyed our stay. After airing our complaints the very nice receptionist said we should have requested another room. WHY SHOULD WE HAVE TO. And why should some other person have to suffer this room. The lovely room shown on the website was clearly not indicative of the overall place so please be wary when accepting your room key.

    The communal areas were lovely & the breakfast choice was good but apart from that ABSOLUTELY NOTHING.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room a little claustrophobic with only one window - but probably wouldn't bother most folk. Spaces in the car park a bit cramped. If we stayed again we would prefer a room actually in the hotel and not an annex like Mortimer.

    Beds were extremely comfortable - first place we've stayed in where beds were as comfortable as our own!! Big bonus points for that. Extremely well located.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A maze of steps and corridors to find the room, the place is a bit tired in some areas, the room key cards don't always work.

    Nice staff, pleasantly informal hotel, good value for money, handy for shops and restaurants in Leominster.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Asked for tomatoes well done, poached eggs and mushrooms came out on cold plate and food lukewarm. Asked for it to be re done when I could find the waitress plate came out so hot you couldn't touch it "!! And tomatoes still uncooked and could hear the chef moaning from the dining room. Waitress had the personality of a wet teabag with no people skills at all .

    Nothing

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We booked three rooms for a stay of 6 people, one of the rooms was very dated and not in great condition, the second room was average but only had single pain windows so we felt a draft. Room three was slightly more modern but we had booked a twin room for two people and the beds were together upon arrival. Food in the restaurant was fairly expensive but good quality, £8 for a burger. Some of the signs in the property I felt were a bit rude, such as the hotel being "eco friendly" when washing towels.

    lovely staff and bar had a live band on the Saturday we went. The hotel was cosy with oak beams and character features. Check in was fast and the staff professional. Room contained a kettle with tea and coffee. The bed was fairly comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Had we known they were having live music at huge decibels right under our room until midnight followed by noisy patrons for some time after that we would have booked elsewhere. It really spoiled the trip. Honestly it was so loud you could feel your ribcage vibrating with the bass. :( :(

    Pleasant staff, helpful. Nice olde worlde building. Bed fairly comfortable. Shower good. Evening meal and breakfast lovely.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I travel a great deal with my job and stay in many hotels during the year. This hotel was poor, the mattress was thin, the pillows thin. The room was not completely clean, Dirty cups, cobwebs etc..... Very disappointed that there was no shower. The room smelled musky, we did not put our clothes in the wardrobe because of the smell. However the staff are very friendly.

    Breakfast was good. Good location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Toilet didn't flush. Wet bath mat left in shower. Chair didn't fit under dressing table.

    Very friendly & helpful lady (Mariella?) in reception on arrival.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was a bit noisy at night as we were directly over the front door which was set back about 20 yards from the street. There was a pub across the narrow street and voices carried at closing time! Access to rooms carrying luggage was a bit difficult. Up several stairs and along narrow corridors.

    The staff were helpful and considerate. It was located on a side street in the centre of town and had a limited car park on site adjacent to a public car park. The gate was locked overnight.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    See above

    The room no 16 was poor,small with high step between bedroom and bathroom and tea,coffee making facility too risky to use being located on narrow shelf at shoulder high. I have used this hotel on many occasions with satisfaction but this time the visit was at best only fair. These were mentioned to the receptionist while paying my bill.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel had taken fee in advance but then experienced a plumbing problem so accommodated us in a little used hastily prepared ground floor room next to the kitchen and reception. May be a one off

    Location

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We enjoyed ourselves and the break was wonderful. There was nothing that could be done better as the sun was shining and the hotel and surroundings were brilliant.

    The hotel staff were excellent and Leominster itself was an excellent place to visit and stay for a couple of days.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was not as clean as it should be. Both the outside of the toilet and the sink pedestal together with the wall adjacent to the toilet was dirty. Stains on the bathroom door. We paid £71 room only price which we thought was excessive.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booked on line half an hour before turning up. No problem. Excellent meal in the restaurant and singers in the bar made this a good choice of hotel on our one night stopover. Leominster is a lovely place with lots of little shops, antiques and coffees shops. Would recommend.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bath leaked into the bar beneath and when I went to mop the floor with a towel the towel ended up filthy, so it didn't fill me with confidence about the cleanliness of the room. There was some noise from the bar downstairs

    The staff were very accommodating and couldn't do enough for us and gave me some ice for an ice bath (as I was doing Lands End to John O'Groats cycle ride) and they stored my bike in a secure shed.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I opted for the full English breakfast, which I really enjoyed. However, my wife chose the basic option which offered toast, croissants and Danish pastries from the buffet bar. She declined the toast which was offered at the table, but when she went to the buffet the only other choice was a cold croissant - this was fine as it was enough for her with the preserve, but it would have been nicer if it was warm, and she would have been tempted by a Danish pastry had it been there.

    A lovely, comfortable room. We would like to stay in the same room again. Nice, friendly staff on reception and at breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The walls between the rooms were very thin!

    We had a very comfortable stay at the Talbot. It is conveniently situated for the town. We had a lovely meal in the evening. The staff were very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not very suitable for those with limited mobility as there is no lift.

    Very interesting building and well cared for generally. Staff were very friendly and helpful and meals were good, especially breakfast!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food.. way too big portions and had to wait a long time as they didn't seem to have enough staff working for a Saturday evening.... My beef and ale pie when it did come out, was delicious ......but had to send it back to be reHeated ...as it was only just warm. But staff were very helpful.

    Nice large room with large bed. it was two singles together but lovely. My daughter and granddauters room which was the same price was much smaller.. nice large bath towels...

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Television in Room reported as "Not Working on Any Channels" within half hour of arriving. No-one attempted to fix this during my entire stay.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This is a Town Centre Hotel so it can be quite noisy outside especially at weekends.

    The staff were friendly and helpful which is always a good start. This is a very old property so there are a few staircases but the room was spacious, clean and comfortable. Good food in the restaurant and a good breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Access to the carpark is tricky. Very tight. The hotel appears very run down from the outside (it's better inside) as do the surrounding streets.

    The staff are very helpful. Accommodation is basic but fair for the price.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was very noisy we could hear every word the people in the rooms either side of us said , we could even hear them cough, sneeze and snore .. I managed to sleep but my poor partner really struggled . We didn't have inconsiderate neighbours , they should have been able to talk without us being in on the conversation . The rooms need soundproofing in some way I'm afraid .

    good location, friendly staff and comfy bed.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    On driving past the hotel, weeds were growing out of the balcony and this was slightly off putting, however the place was very clean inside and the staff were friendly and efficient

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our room was dismal. The curtains wouldn't draw, the lampshade was askew with a bulb that barely lit the room, there was one wobbly chair inside the room and it looked very bleak and uninviting. I was glad it was a business trip and that we were only staying for two nights. The bathroom was so small if anyone had problems and had booked a ground floor room to help, the bathroom would not have been suitable. There were also steps leading in from the car park to the room, and although there weren't many, any steps can be a BIG hurdle to people with mobility problems.

    The bonus free wi-fi was a big pull to book this hotel, however, I was unable to locate a signal in my room or in the public rooms... not such a bonus! The food was lovely, especially breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    You get what you pay for! This hotel was reasonably priced and the facilities were good for that price - just don't expect the Ritz!

    Decor-wise the hotel and rooms are quite dated, but the rooms and facilities are perfectly adequate for a short stay! Comfy beds, tea making facilities in rooms, full length mirror, TV and WiFi! The staff were all very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The toilet would not flush during the night. Creaking floorboards from room above (an old building so understandable) Breakfast extra at £8.75

    Lovely old building, nice room, nice tea/coffee and biscuits tray. Nice bed linen, on super king bed.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor quality fittings in room, grubby phone and bedside tables.

    Staff were helpful, but lacking experience and knowledge..... where do we have breakfast..... erm????

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The size of the room and its location which was on rhe third floor with no lift facility. There was no air conditioning available and it was a very hot night.

    The helpful staff and the breakfast. The member of staff who served us at breakfast was cer friendly and chatty which was very nice.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cold coffee and cold plates at breakfast lack of fresh fruit and selection of yoghurts. Smoking area outside entrance not cleaned in 3 days and outside bin over flowing, tables sticky. No spare toilet roll provided in bathroom.

    Beds really comfortable. The fact a hairdryer and coffee and tea making facilities available.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The price reflects the fact that the rooms are tired and in need of refurbishment. Room 18 was on the small side. The furniture in the bar is worn and rather grubby.

    This is a hotel which has a real sense of history and is in the centre of Leominster. The staff are friendly.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff were absolutely amazing ....nothing was too much trouble .... Extremely clean and comfortable .....Olde World Charm . We loved it .....definitely recommend !

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was dark, low energy bulbs could be replaced with LED`s? Lots of outstanding maintenance issues were apparent. Blown light bulbs in bars and restaurant and whole place not very clean. The room was very hot and uncomfortable to sleep in.

    Good car park and the food was excellent

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was extra but the price of room did reflect this.Some street noice in the early hours but the hotel is just off the high street.

    Good central location. Lovely old building with quirky furniture. Room was large and comfortable. Breakfast was extra so did not partake.

    Stayed in May 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: