Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Innkeeper's Lodge Cardiff

75-77 Cathedral Road, Cardiff, CF11 9PG, United Kingdom

#38 of 46 hotels in Cardiff

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 903 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8

  • Comfort

    7.7

  • Location

    8.5

  • Facilities

    7.4

  • Staff

    8.2

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    6.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more- opens a dialog box
Write a review

Showing 1 – 75

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2018

    9.6
    A brilliant place to stay for the rugby.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can't think of anything to dislike about the INNKEEPERS Lodge Cardiff.

    A brilliant place to stay for the rugby. All the staff are so helpful and friendly. Free parking. Comfortable rooms and beds. Easy to find.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2018

    10
    A night out in the city and the Innkeepers Lodge was for us the perfect place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Absolutely ideal for our purpose, so no complaints from us on that score. The only thing letting the side down was loose or damaged fittings in the bathroom.

    Perfect location for the city centre; secure overnight parking; clean room; good food in the restaurant and plenty of choice from the breakfast buffet the following morning - what's not to like?

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2018

    5.8
    Not a great place to stay unless your off to rugby
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All the surroundings of the innkeepers lodge felt and looked tired and old and unfortunately the same with the room. Whilst every effort was made to supply every you require for your room the overall feeling was tired old room and surroundings. If your off to rugby with your mates then it’s a good place to stay with the pub being downstairs

    Avalibility for parking

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2018

    6.7
    Its ok ......
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Customer service skills lacked, no explaination how to access the facilities eg breakfast etc. Room did not have secondary lock. Shower didn't work, receptionist didn't seem bothered.

    Room was warm and comfortable and in a perfect location for my requirements. Parking was free but car park small and you have to get there early for a space.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2018

    4.6
    A real disappointment. We couldn’t recommend this hotel to anyone.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff in reception were offhand and unfriendly. The public rooms were dated and depressing. Our room was a little better but the bathroom facilities badly needed updating. The breakfasts were poor: on both mornings the croissants were burnt and the pain au chocolat dried up. The coffee was lukewarm - we had to ask for hot coffee. No serviettes. A poor choice of food.

    The bed was comfortable. The hotel is located in a pleasant part of Cardiff, convenient for the city centre.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2018

    4.2
    Cardiff is a place to be, but next time we'll choose for sure a different location to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The friendlyness of the Lodge personal wasn't nice and helpful, if we don't ask we wouldn't get any informations. "If you need more details see the papers on the wall in opposite of the reception".. wasn't an answer we expected. The bathroom was efficient or in real terms very very small. The offered breakfast buffet has a good varity but the fruit salat and croissants were'nt fresh.

    The Lodge is located close to the park and with a short walk you reach the castle and city. The parking ground is a valuable place to park.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2018

    5.0
    The pillows were firm and comfortable
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was extremely noisy. The gentleman in the room above was having a telephone conversation, and I could hear the person on the other end, as though they were in my room. Also a washing machine was switched on at 10pm, and it sounded as though it was in my wardrobe. The room was clean, but very tired

    The pillows were firm and comfortable

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2018

    10
    For a budget hotel close to the SWALEC stadium you couldn't get better.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Budget hotel with public bar. Staff were superb and the bar prices were unbelievably low which made the bar lively on the Saturday night despite this the rooms were quiet and we got an excellent night's sleep.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2018

    7.9
    OK stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Property was not easy to find as it is located behind a hotel with a different name and Cardiff has all sorts of traffic problems. Once we found out where the free parking was, we felt a lot better.

    Nice hotel, nice breakfast. Friendly staff. Free parking.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2018

    5.4
    Very busy place and great for sport if you like that but prefer something a little more modern
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Upper part of building needs airing. Bed had Blue pen marks on sheets. Shower was the worst I have ever experienced. Buffet breakfast was not great. £120 per night

    Bed was comfy. Close to town. Car parking

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2018

    8.3
    Very convenient, but would like to have been a little warmer, enjoyed the meals.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No lift to bedrooms. Friend had difficulty coping with stairs. No heating in bedrooms. Stair area very warm. Bedroom and bathroom cold, most especially late evening and early morning.

    Proximity to town. Secure car parking at night. Happy with the meals served. Ideal for bus stops.No lifts

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2018

    8.3
    Good value and location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower was very small, don't drop anything as you will have to get out to pick it up

    That it's a pub as well as a hotel, easy flat 20 min walk to Cardiff Castle and city centre

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2018

    6.7
    Good location and great to have car parking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not even close to 4 star. A little grubby. Grab handles on bath almost broken off. Lumpy pillows. Bedside lamp didn’t work properly. No internet that we could figure out. Sorry :/

    Good location and great to have car parking. Staff were friendly and good tea and coffee making items. Good value but not sure if we’d stay here again.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2018

    7.9
    Would stay again because of conveniece
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    All the pillows in our room were really lumpy. Bathroom needed a little tlc. Water pressure was very low.

    Rooms were a good size and clean with nice bedding. Bathroom was a good size as well. Breakfast was ok but not kept stocked up. Convenient location, twenty minute flat walk into the centre through a pleasant park.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2018

    7.5
    This hotel has very real possibilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Furniture must be replaced and only one chair. Walls really need a quality paint job. Door stop in bedroom was at right angles to opening which was very dangerous, foot/toes easily stubbed. Health and safety issue. Staircase was very narrow and steep.

    Large room and excellent double bed. Good bathroom with solid walls off small entrance hall. Over all, a quiet room with nice carpet.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2018

    8.3
    Great place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    That the hot breakfast was not included in the price.

    Good selection of continental breakfast items. Great availability of car parking. Didn't actually use the car while we were there, everything within walking distance. Room had really high ceilings, made it feel really big.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2018

    7.9
    Fun in the city
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was immaculate. So much so I told a member of staff, Tundi (hope I spelt that correctly). Staff that good deserve a pay rise - just saying!

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2018

    7.9
    Would stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very noisy unfortunately - other guests and kitchen downstairs - didn’t sleep well Didn’t realise you had to pay for a cooked breakfast

    Great location, nice clean and tidy rooms and a lovely continental breakfast

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2018

    4.2
    Close to city
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had my granddaughter in my room with me and I told reception we were cold as couldn't turn heating on and asked if it could b on for second night but it wasn't put on not happy paid a lot of money for a cold room !

    Close to city

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2018

    10
    Great place, good staff and will stay ahain
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rate says 'breakfast included' but it is not clear that this is a cereal based breakfast and not traditional cooked fried breakfast. The Fried breakfast is extra starting from 3.79 to 7.79.

    Excellent Hotel for the money, good location and great staff/company. Room was spacious and good sized en suite bathroom, nothing too much trouble.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2018

    7.1
    The location was great and the continental breakfast was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed wasn't very comfortable, very soft and the pillows were poor. Also you could hear the some sort of aircon unit switching on and off all night outside. Which didn't make for a good night's sleep

    The location was great and the continental breakfast was good.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2018

    6.7
    Innkeepers lodge
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Avoid room 6... tiny shower.. far to noisy...washing machines used till late at night..people banging doors...stomping around on the upper floors..no consideration to others

    Good cheerful friendly staff... close to town centre..

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2018

    5.0
    Hotel needs investment
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Window open when checked in , room cold, tv didn’t work initially, cobwebs in room, shower curtain dirty, shower very weak, pastries at breakfast over cooked

    All staff were good

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    7.5
    Rooms are big, breakfast is good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some areas need some maintenance and repair. It didn't spoil the stay, but needs looking at soon.

    Rooms are big, breakfast is good. Plenty of wall sockets, decent beds. Free parking, gate is closed at night for security. The restaurant is good, and like a "sizzling pub" with skillet meals, which we like.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2018

    7.1
    Good value for money for a short stay in a lovely city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although the hotel and pub are nominally separated, this was basically a pub with accommodation. The room was the only place to relax (other than the pub) since there's no lounge area. The absence of air conditioning (not unexpected) meant that as the room was quite hot, the open windows allowed road noise - at times disturbing sleep. The public areas require some 'brightening up' - it was a little 'tired'. The need to climb quite a few stairs to reach our room was not unhelpful to our need for exercise!

    Location was great. Just 20 minutes easy walk from Cardiff Castle, the Parks and city itself. Room was comfortable with normal expected facilities eg TV, hairdryer, ensuite bathroom and adequate storage. Food (taken in the pub) was of a reasonable pub standard. Prices for the evening meal were good. Staff were friendly. We were 'upgraded' as on arrival there were few guests and since the price paid wasn't excessive, we considered we had quite good value for money.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    6.7
    Having come in to the restaurant via the hotel part I was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Having come in to the restaurant via the hotel part I was not aware that you needed to go to the counter at the bar to order food. Thus I wasted quite a bit of time just sitting and waiting for attention from a member of staff. Think that it would be a good idea for the staff to make potential customers aware straight away that they need to order at bar.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    9.6
    Good option for central Cardiff, clean and comfortable rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff at breakfast just took our room number and we had to follow them to the bar to order the cooked breakfast. Perhaps they could think about including real coffee with the breakfast instead of instant?

    Nice comfortable room with a great view onto the leafy street. Thought it great value for money. Good pressure shower - couldn't get the bath tap to work. Friendly check-in. Decent breakfast - we paid a reasonable price to upgrade it with a cooked meal. The location was fabulous such a nice walk through the park to the city centre.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    7.1
    Alright but won't be rushing back
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very noisy from the floor above, not other guests just old flooring/ poor sound insulation. Booking said breakfast included but we were told it was continental only, didn't say this on booking. Choice was poor just the basics.

    Good location, small free car park and managed to get a space. Very clean.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    8.3
    Good value for a one night stay in Cardiff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staircase a challenge with large bags. Pillows not the best but may not be an issue for others.

    Good location, easy walk to town centre. Spacious room with all the facilities you would expect. Comfortable beds.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    9.2
    Great place, would recommend!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower wasn’t great but that was minor for us

    Loved the room and beds so comfy, was perfect having pub underneath and great breakfast, fantastic location for walking into town and the beautiful gardens. Check in quick and easy, free parking always a bonus with a car!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    8.0
    My stay was very enjoyable and I felt quite at home in both the neighborhood and the Inn.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast provided was just OK. The coffee was either instant or the brewed coffee was not very good.

    Having a full-service pub downstairs from the room was great. They served a great burgers! The neighborhood was quite nice too, although it was a bit of a walk to town.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    7.1
    Hotel is a good location but is in need of TLC!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The pillows were worse than woeful, lumpy and exceedingly uncomfortable. There was heavy rain during our stay and the bathroom window let in a torrent of water, fortunately it was all channelled into the bath. Clearly a repair has been attempted on this before as a perpex screen had been screwed to the inside of the bathroom window.

    This hotel is far enough away from the city to be in a quiet location but close enough to walk in about 15minutes. Sophia Park & Gardens is a very short walk away and this leads to Principality Stadium, Cardiff Castle and the city centre. A lovely part of the city. You can get a water bus from near the castle that takes you to Cardiff Bay. A continental breakfast is served as part of the price with a cooked option available at additional cost. The hotel is part of a pub that serves good, standard pub grub and there is a good range of drinks at the bar.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    9.2
    we like the way we got welcome to the room and the kindness...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the shower stream was slow

    we like the way we got welcome to the room and the kindness of the stuff through out all our stay. They were very kind to advise us where to go and how.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    8.3
    Comfortable location to stay and explore Cardiff or nearby.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast buffet was a little disappointing, didn't get around to trying the full english. Lack of proper coffee in the buffet made it a bit unappetizing.

    Bed was comfy. Hotel was in a location very convenient to the city centre, Cardiff Castle and Bute park. Parking was protected, off-street (although not sure there was enough in a busy season).

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    6.3
    Location was okay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No elevator, tiny lobby! Dark dingy stairway and hallways. Steps into rooms and hallways and even into the bathroom in some rooms. Narrow passageways into some rooms making it difficult to get luggage in! No air conditioning and outside noise from open windows! Room 4 has an impossibly small bathroom and shower!

    Location was okay. Newer carpeting in rooms!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    5.4
    Main positive for us was onsite parking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dingy entrances, wifi non existant in room, filthy shower with mould and grime on tiles and under silicone, walls in room dirty with stains. Bed hard and uncomfortable , pillows next to useless. Noise under room from kitchen staff from 5.30am.Breakfast vey basic continental. Would not stay again

    Main positive for us was onsite parking. Room ok size and sheets clean

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    5.0
    Disappointing ,below expectations
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff were not overly helpful. Check in was 3pm we arrived at 2:54pm our not so warm welcome was "A bit early aren't you "! We had the continental breakfast . All of the meats / bread / cheese /croissants etc had no utensils to choose with it was everybody's fingers only. When I asked for a fork to eat my food with I was told if I had ordered a cooked breakfast I would have received a knife and fork. I was then reluctantly handed 2 forks and no serviettes. You had to ask for a shower mat ! I thought this was a mandatory health and safety requirement !

    Location only

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    10
    Lovely friendly helpful staff !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely friendly helpful staff ! Breakfast was perfect Rooms were lovely comfy and clean Close to centre and uni (walking distance) Defo stay here again So convenient as has parking

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    9.6
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wonderful location, just a short walk from the city centre. Nice, clean, spacious room (I cannot remember the number). Welcoming and helpful host. Free off-road parking, although the car park is very tight and I would have had problems if there wouldn`t have been two spaces and that gave me room to reverse :) Lovely breakfast. Great price.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    5.8
    Good Value
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was picked over and not topped up when we came down. Soya or semi-skimmed milk should be an option, for those on low-fat medical diets.

    Location, both in terms of neghbourhood and access to city centre and stadiums.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    6.3
    Good location, but overpriced for the standard of accommodation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The bathroom was in desperate need of refurbishment - the fittings of the shower head were only loosely attached to the wall and finally came crashing down on our last day. The rest of the bathroom furnishings & décor looked cheap and outdated. Also, the room faced the back and an outdoor seating area, so it was noisy until late in the evenings.

    The location was excellent with the town center only a stroll through the park away. The staff were friendly and the bedroom was spacious & comfy enough. Good pub downstairs.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    8.3
    Good location for cricket ground.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was busy and needed more staff Ran out of bowls and cutlery, generally a free for all with guests loading up their plates with food.

    Great location for the cricket ground.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    10
    Innkeeper's Lodge is in a great location, serves excellent food and its rates are very reasonable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    WiFi was on offer but no information on how to access it.

    Good location. Free secure parking. Fantastic food. Excellent rates. Large comfortable rooms. Lovely clean bathroom. Within walking distance of the city centre, Cardiff Castle and a must visit Sophia Gardens and Bute Park.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    6.7
    Good hotel in great location
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were on the third floor and the Windows were restricted to a little opening, which did not let any air in during the hot weather. Maybe consider air conditioning. There were also some random stains on the wall and ceiling.

    The hotel was in a great location and the layout of the room was great. The breakfasts were great, staff were friendly.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    6.3
    OK for business trip
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No ironing set. Windows facing to car park and place with dust bins where in midnight staff was throwing rubbish. Room facing west while no AC, pretty hot in the afternoon. First night no remote control, next day it appeared. Tiny shower place. And noisy when somebody in the room above was walking very early - I could hear every step.

    I met the staff only at the breakfast. Wifi was very good. Comfy bed.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    10
    A good place to stay in Cardiff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed one night at the innkeeper's lodge. The room was spacious and confortable (a plus as we were travelling with a baby). The personel really nice and helpful. Our room was right over the pub's entrance, but we didn't experience any disconfort due to noise. The hotel is well situated, near a park and the Cardiff Castle. We had a really pleasant experience!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    8.8
    Suitable for my needs on this occasion. Pleasant, quiet , not sure I would stay there again however.
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No one in reception as I arrived. Other people also waiting. A very small area for reception , cramped and a very hot day. No one available at other times to enquire about taxis etc. No lift. The room was like an oven all night. It was a very hot day/night but a fan would have been nice as no air con. Only a telephone number for emergencies to ring when I arrived back from my functions . Never anyone around to ask either at more standard times . They seemed busy running the pub . Maybe they should employ reception staff dedicated to helping their clients needs in the “hotel” side of things. Staff were friendly when they were there.

    The facilities were good , the bed was comfy and the en suite spotless. The shower was over the bath which was tricky getting out of (I’m not as young as I was) but the shower itself was easy to use with good temperature control. Excellent location for my requirements . Breakfast options fair

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    5.8
    Disapointing as we paid £129 to stay and didn't sleep - lumpy pillows and very noisy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We have stayed previously and felt that it has gone downhill. The pillows were extremely lumpy and it was very noisy. Hardly slept. The boy who welcomed us wasn't very friendly and he had the same attitude at the bar when we ordered a meal. Shame as previously we have had a lovely welcome. Doubt we will go back

    Excellent location. Breakfast was good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    10
    Great atmosphere and friendly staff, was busy as it’s open...
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great atmosphere and friendly staff, was busy as it’s open as a pub to everyone but great food and would definitely return 👍🏼 great location for the principality stadium

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    10
    Met my expectations.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing

    Clean and neat. Staff friendly and helpful. Environment warm, friendly, welcoming and comforting. Breakfast was great. Everything was wonderful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    10
    It was a comfortable and enjoyable stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The pub menu seemed a little limited but I guess that's how it is in pubs. Other than that everything was good.

    It was a lovely stay at this property, It is rather conveniently located, walking distance from the castle and the city centre. There is a beautiful park to walk through or take a ferry to the bay. The rooms were quite comfortable and we even got a discount for dinner at the the adjoining pub because there was a rugby (?) match on so the pub would be noisy with all the cheering. There was some cheering but it made the place more lively than disturbing. The breakfast was also good, the croissants were delicious. The staff was quite helpful too.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    7.9
    Close to the cricket ground, and only a short walk to centre.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Paid for cooked breakfasts and had an hour long wait

    Close to the cricket ground, and only a short walk to centre. Pub at the hotel was good value for food and drinks.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    7.9
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was very cramped. Shower was mouldy. TV didn’t work.

    Great location. Good parking. Bed was comfortable. Food in restaurant was good for both dinner and breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    9.6
    A good choice all around.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We were generally happy with everything.

    This hotel is perfectly located within easy walking distance to central Cardiff. It is also a lively venue with nice budget dinners and drinks if you don't feel like going out again. Satisfying breakfast was included. All around, a good choice. We'd come back again!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    7.1
    It was nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    However, the property does not include an elevator and we were not offered any assistance with our suitcases (to the top floor). The toilet was a bit hard to flush (but that is a situation I came across a few other hotels in Britain), and the WIFI would not connect to my phone, only to my laptop.

    The location was nice and with 15 minutes walking distance from the things we wanted to do and see, the beds were comfortable and clean.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    8.3
    Convenient location for central Cardiff
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    no air conditioning, so left windows open as room hot. Woken up just after 6am by traffic noise as in front of hotel.

    large room with king sized bed. Excellent continental breakfast. Car park at back of hotel. Friendly and helpful staff. Very reasonable cost.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    8.3
    On the whole, an enjoyable 2 nights' stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The name "Innkeeper's Lodge" could have been more prominent. The pillows were a bit lumpy. Serviettes at breakfast would be appreciated (without having to ask). The basin plug in room 8 needs replacing.

    Not too far for walking into Cardiff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    7.5
    Breakfast fair location was good parking was good people...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms to hot pillows had lumps in it joining beds could have been better not even felt like like two singles

    Breakfast fair location was good parking was good people very helpful cleaning lady very helpful

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    7.5
    Good value for location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The building was too hot and stuffy. The shower was weak. Noisy at night from people coming in late. Bed was lumpy and hard.

    Staff were friendly. Location couldn't be better for city centre and lovely street. Clean bedding and nice decor. Good price for the location. Big room and bathroom. Perfect for when you do not intend to be in the hotel much and just need a place to sleep. Breakfast was tasty with croissants and cereal.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    7.5
    Room for improvement
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too hot in bedroom with no air conditioning or even a fan.

    Really lovely staff, good location and really good food downstairs and definitely get your moneys worth (burgers are amazing!)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    4.6
    Just ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Earlier breakfast, we needed to eat at 7am, but the restaurant opened at 8am on weekends. Same thing with the parking. Check in person was glum, unfriendly and didn't even say hello.

    Parking onsite

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    8.3
    Would stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good continental breakfast and small cooked was £3 and large cooked £5 but not required. Bed very large and comfy. Loved the local area and easy walk to city centre through park.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    9.6
    Great location, lovely rooms, good breakfast!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bar was very busy and noisy but it wasn't a major issue and it was a very busy weekend (monster jam, royal wedding and football) so understandable. I only raise this as we stayed with a 6 year old however, had we been child free, it would not have been an issue.

    The breakfast was perfectly adequate; cereals, croissants, cheeses, meats, fruit, juices etc which was included in the price and if you wanted a full English the price was very reasonable. The location was fantastic, close enough to the city centre that it only took 10 minutes to walk (through the beautiful Sophia gardens) but far enough away not to be over rowdy. There is a free car park which, although small, is locked at 11pm and opened at 7am so the car was secure. The beds were very comfortable, rooms very clean, tea and coffee in the room and the curtains actually blocked the light (absolute godsend with an early rising child in tow!)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    7.9
    Shame as room was nice and location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pub/restaurant was in need of a refurb... chairs falling apart and tables so i would not eat there and I'm sure there is something in the carpet as my feet felt eeby jeeby on the carpet .....i would stay in room but eating/ drinking facilities were so poor I would not return..shame cause staff were lovely .... thanks Anita 07515891659

    The bedroom was clean and fine for my needs

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    8.8
    Good value for money excellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stayed for a meal on the first night and my sisters glass which she had poured some Cider into had a cigarette butt on the side on the inside not noticed due to the ice etc., prior to commencing pouring. No quibble at the bar the glass was replaced with a clean one but there was no offer of a new bottle of cider even though the barman could see she had already poured some in. Breakfast was a little disorganised they had run out of lots of things and when asked for more e.g Cups they just bought 1 or 2 out so next guest also had to request too.

    The location was excellent an easy walk into Cardiff along the river through the park.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    7.9
    Enjoyed the stay it was as we expected
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We were in room 2, could hear all movement and bathroom noise from room directly above

    Suited our needs shame the bar closed at 11pm for residents aswell

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    8.3
    Comfy room for Cardiff weekend
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would have preferred real coffee rather than instant with my breakfast. Possibly the smallest shower cubicle I have ever used!

    My room was spacious and very comfortable. The breakfast at the hotel was ample and there was no need to order any additional cooked breakfast. All of the staff I dealt with in the hotel and in the bar were friendly and helpful. Because the bar is a just outside the city centre, it was always comfortable to have a drink and read my book. It’s a busy bar, but even on the night Cardiff were promoted to the Premier League and the pubs in the centre were crazy, I managed to have a good night.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    7.9
    Good value for money, central location so suited our needs on this occasion.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very small and my husband could only just get down between the side of the bed and the wall to get into bed. Lumpy pillows.

    Central location. Extremely helpful and friendly staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    6.7
    Hotel was great lovely staff and great bar downstairs.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was absolutely roasting even with the window open.No ventilation at all. Pillows were really bad and bed like concrete.

    Hotel was great lovely staff and great bar downstairs. Great location only 10min walk to city.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    10
    Good value good staff comfy accessible to Cardiff!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    As a vegan maybe some soya milk??

    Staff super friendly. Kindly let us leave our car parked on check out day until 3pm we went to rugby game! Easy access to hotel facilities comfy bed quiet just lovely!!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    5.8
    Terrible, would not stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Attitude of staff when I complained about the noise from upstairs all night. I complained that the people in the room above us were moving around until about 3am,and I had to be up at 430am, so I didn't sleep a wink. There was no-one at reception to complain so I phoned later on in the day, and the buck was passed from one to another, and they tried just giving me an apology, when I should've got a refund or similar.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    9.2
    Great basic accommodation with great location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Had a single which had plenty of room. Tea making facility. Nice desk to do my homework. The room was spotless. The only bad point was the shower which was rather small but no biggy. I had breakfast (continental) which I enjoyed. I also had a meal at night which was very nice. Small car park which is a little tight.Great location for Cardiff castle and stadium about 5-10 min walk. Good clean basic place to stop

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    9.6
    Perfect hotel, perfect location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pillows were very lumpy & uncomfortable which was a shame as everything else was faultless.

    Perfect location to get around Cardiff without having to move the car. Hotel was very clean & comfy, breakfast was spot on too. Staff were very helpful. Rooms cleaned each day & towels changed which was unexpected as only stayed 3 nights.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    7.9
    Ideal base for exploring Cardiff. Staff accommodating. Hotel a bit outdated.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We had to move rooms as there was a leak in the roof from the heavy rain in the first room but this was dealt with very efficiently. The pillows were lumpy and the doorstops were lethal. I still have a bruised toe from walking into one of these! The room was a little cold in the afternoon but fine from the evening round to the morning.

    The staff were excellent, especially Chelsea who carried our luggage up two flights of stairs! The bed was comfy although the pillows weren't great. Breakfast was good and you had the option to upgrade to a cooked breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    7.5
    Great value for money
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The double bed was 2 single matrasses put together which made the bed uncomfortable at times

    It was a nice location, very quiet and the staff were great!

    Stayed in March 2018

Showing 1 – 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: