Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

Reviews of Birchwood Hotel This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

2 East Moulin Road, Pitlochry, PH16 5DW, United Kingdom

Review Score

Based on 157 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.4

  • Comfort

    8.8

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    8.4

  • Free WiFi

    6.9

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: July 5, 2018

    9.2
    Clean, comfortable, great staff, delicious breakfast, will definitely stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bed not very comfy. No hairdryer. No shampoo.

    Great hotel in a good location with friendly staff. Good sized room for a single. Fantastic breakfast. Could see red squirrels from my window! Lots of information leaflets.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: June 28, 2018

    10
    Excellent. Highly recommended.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Evening meal unavailable on the night I stayed but plenty of options in the town so not really an issue.

    Very helpful host. Lovely old house, tastefully and traditionally furnished. Extremely comfortable stay.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 18, 2018

    9.2
    Very pleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Warmth of bedding

    Breakfast was lovely and John a great host. As usual for us we found the bedding too warm for our likes. That said the room was comfy and quiet with a lovely view out into the garden and no need to draw the blinds at night

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: June 16, 2018

    8.8
    A lovely old world hotel in a good location and close to the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The lounge has no atmosphere...it needs some quiet music and perhaps some soft furnishings to make it appealing. Other than that It was a great stay.

    A lovely old world hotel in a good location and close to the town centre without being noisy. Comfortable beds and fresh breakfast made to order. Very helpful operators with a great sense of humour.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 11, 2018

    9.6
    Perfect break hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Didn't get the option to book an evening meal online so made alternative arrangements only to find out the hotel did offer food. 08:15 as the earliest breakfast was a pain

    Quiet peaceful friendly staff room was clean and grounds were amazing

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: May 21, 2018

    5.4
    Has seen better times
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    A bit tired and run down. No facilities. Poor WiFi. Bathroom in need of refurbishment. Small old fashioned TV. Very limited choice of beverages (tea/coffee) in room. Staff not always responsive to calls. Breakfast ok but coffee undrinkable. No catering outside breakfast hours

    Good location close to High Street

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 17, 2018

    9.6
    Very welcoming place and good value for money. Will stay here again if in the area
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    WiFi signal a little weak in the room but this is a small quibble

    Bathroom very modern and clean. Nice room overlooking the garden, very clean, even an electric blanket provided. Run by a lovely couple who were very friendly and obliging. Comfy residents lounge with an array of books and a small bar. Good breakfast. Well located near to town in a quiet area with own car park

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: November 6, 2017

    9.6
    Staff very friendly, obliging and couldn't do enough for us. Home from home.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    The breakfast was delicious - tasty bacon and made a neat poached egg. Also included an evening meal one night and could not fault this meal - salmon and egg mayonnaise starter delicious as was the lamb main dish.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 17, 2017

    6.7
    Shame the service didn't match the great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room keys kept in hallway by unmanned reception - anyone could walk in and take one. Poor choice of vegetarian cooked items at breakfast (egg and tomato) but the poached eggs were very good. Some mushrooms and baked beans would have been good. Owners not very engaging and we felt uncomfortable at times - the man would look at you without saying anything until you did. Not told upon arrival that dinner if required had to be ordered by 4pm.

    Great location for walking into Pitlochry. Bedrooms spacious, clean and comfortable. Lovely long bath. Lounge was a welcome facility.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 4, 2017

    10
    We had a fabulous stay!
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    This is just a tip regarding the taxis. They are not plentiful in Pitlochry so be sure to book in advance.

    We had a fabulous stay! The service was very attentive and professional.The breakfasts and dinners were absolutely delicious. Beyond that, both the dining room and lounge were beautiful big rooms with high ceilings and very large windows looking out onto a leafy green yard - all very relaxing. Convenient location a short walk to town or a quick cab ride.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 26, 2017

    10
    I just can't say enough about the Birchwood.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I just can't say enough about the Birchwood. This little gem is Pitlocry's little secret. Is off the beaten track just enough to give you the quiet country atmosphere yet close enough to walk to the city centre. The stately home has all the amenities of a modern hotel in a Victorian setting. The meals are cooked on site by the owner, who proclaims to be self taught, but prepares meals like a gourmet chef. Her husband (also owner) serves these scrumptious dishes in the grand Victorian dining room. I would highly recommend this hotel!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 4, 2017

    9.2
    A most enjoyable and comfortable stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The television in the room was tiny and the signal bad and the wifi although efficient in the public rooms did not reach my bedroom.

    The breakfast is served with no queuing at buffets and the cooked part freshly cooked to order. The dinner is also very good and there is s good choice of wine. The hotel is quiet and restful and most pleasant to be in.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: August 29, 2017

    6.7
    Not on my 'certainly going back there' list.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Misleading with evening meal. Policy of hotel is that if there are not enough guests choosing to dine, then no meal will be provided for remaining guests. 'Not enough' being determined by owners at short notice i.e. on checking in at reception!.

    Overall ambience of hotel, although arguably looking inside and out 'a little tired'

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 15, 2017

    9.6
    Pleasant hotel...good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I would have preferred to have left my room key in a more secure place whilst out for the day.

    The room I had was scrupulously clean with a comfortable bed and well appointed bathroom. The breakfast was cooked to order and well presented. The hotel was well within walking distance of the town but leaving the room key on show when going out for the day was a little concerning. The staff were friendly and welcoming.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 14, 2017

    6.3
    Basic ok
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The single bed and room were uncomfortable and not user friendly the bed was so hard and no real chair to relax in not a comfortable place to spend any time very basic had no real sleep for a week but a nice bad back

    the food was basic but good qualityic

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 2, 2017

    10
    A few minutes walk, to the centre of the town. The hotel is an excellent building with characer.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    As a single traveller I often find comfortable and sizable rooms as the one i had, expensive, and single rooms cramped.

    My room was as comfortable as mine at home. The hotel has a presence to it, large dining area and lounge. It has been very well looked after including the grounds.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 6, 2017

    9.2
    Great location, comfortable stay, excellent breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Only a minor point, WiFi only really available in the lounge. But we shouldn't be shackled to our devices.

    Beautiful building, full of character in a nice peaceful location.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 6, 2017

    8.8
    Quiet, elegant, 'old fashioned' hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bedroom was small. Wifi was not available in the bedroom but satisfactory in the residents' lounge.

    Quiet, elegant, 'old fashioned' hotel. Dinner (taken on one night only) was excellent.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 28, 2017

    9.2
    Very comfortable, relaxing stay. Very clean and great food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We didn't know that we had to book dinner by 4pm and arrived at 5.30pm and had to look for somewhere to eat. However manager was helpful suggesting places.

    Excellent breakfast, very clean.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 16, 2017

    10
    A treasure in Pitlochry
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A marvellous building close to the centre of Pitlochry yet still secluded and peaceful. Wonderful, friendly and helpful hosts. Hoping to go back next year!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: June 14, 2017

    9.6
    Gentility, calm, efficiency and a quiet Scottish welcome.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I have no complaints. Internet reception is poor but they have ensured that there is a hotspot in one room. They can't be blamed for poor signal strength.

    I don't think any of your 'style' selections apply. The hotel has an attractive old-fashioned elegance fitting to the building. I would not want it to be any of the things you suggest. I only ate breakfast there and can only comment on what I sampled. The breakfast choice was good, some of the offer was home made (muesli and marmalade) and my order was always served quickly and promptly. I have no idea what Genius perks are.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 3, 2017

    10
    We had a wonderful stay. We will recommend the Birchwood Hotel to others, and stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Internet service needs improvement.

    The property was clean, the location is convenient to restaurants and shopping, the house is magnificent, but most importantly, the hosts, John and Viv are wonderful. They were very attentive, friendly, and they are excellent cooks.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: April 21, 2017

    9.5
    Lovely restful stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Lack of internet connection in the bedrooms which was no fault of the owners. We come from an area where internet is poor so understand the difficulties .

    Peaceful, quiet,food cooked to order and just the right amount , we didn't go to to bed feeling bloated and overfed.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: November 1, 2016

    9.6
    Pitlochry - a lovely place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    WLAN only available downstairs at the bar - in the room the contact wasn't really good. But that didn't bother us as we enjoyed our time outside in Pitlochry.

    John was very welcoming and we felt just like at home. Breakfast was marvellous! Bed was comfy (not too soft - loved it!) and the room beautiful. If we ever come back to Pitlochry, we will stay there again!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: October 14, 2016

    7.1
    A quirky Victorian Hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Not encouraged to have dinner at night. The Dining room was rather somber.

    We liked the freshly cooked breakfast each day. If you want a very quiet stay then this is it.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: October 11, 2016

    6.7
    Conveniently located for theatre and town without being on a busy main road.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Didn't notice wall thermostat so room felt cool til adjustment made. An information sheet would be helpful. Bed a bit hard.

    Very good breakfast.Spacious dining room. Plenty of tea/coffee in room.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: October 6, 2016

    9.6
    Great hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing to dislike

    A very welcoming and comfortable hotel with little extras that make a difference..... electric blankets on the beds ! Chocolate biscuits with tea and coffee in the room and table service at breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: October 4, 2016

    10
    would recommend and would stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Just the bed it was a little to firm and hard for me but I would still definetly stay again

    Just about everything. Food was great, staff was great and the room was really good.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: September 28, 2016

    9.2
    Fantastic!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing we didn't like although Wi-Fi wasn't great in the bedroom.

    We liked everything about this place but the food was to die for. The friendliness and service of staff and particularly the owners made it a fabulous break for us. We will go again to Birchwood.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: September 1, 2016

    9.6
    Excellent Hotel, run by the Owner
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A minibar with drinks would make it a 5 star location.

    John is a very polite and gentle owner, eager to do the best for the guest. Very good scottish breakfast. Good location close to the centre of Pitlochry. Fascinating old victorian atmosphere in the lounge, good place to slow down and to have a good glass of wine. We very much enjoyed our stay at this formidable hotel and will come back next time when visiting Scotland again. Notker & Isabel Polley

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: August 23, 2016

    10
    Well rested well fed well up for another stay soon Stella and George glass.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The owners friendly very very nice , Lovely couple our comfort was their desire. Food was all fresh no frozen food here , tasty cooked to perfection. I'm sure we left healthier than when we arrived.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: August 13, 2016

    7.5
    Big room windows would not open.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room cold could not get heating to work. Door locked at 11.15pm. Not much atmosphere in hotel.

    Big room windows would not open. No soap or shampoo in toilet. Room was clean. Breakfast very nice and tasty. Owner very nice.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: August 13, 2016

    6.7
    Room was good bed was comfy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was no wi-fi in the room I had to go to the living room and even there it was extremely poor and very slow if and when it came in Advertised as having wi-fi would not have gone there if there had not been wi-fi!

    Room was good bed was comfy

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: August 6, 2016

    10
    Beautiful hotel wonderfully maintained.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing!

    It's a beautiful building beautifully maintained in lovely grounds. The owner John is really friendly and helpful. We would definitely go again. The area is very picturesque.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: July 28, 2016

    9.6
    Warm welcome for a travelled cyclist
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    WiFi in the rooms was patchy - but it did me good to have a break from the internet!

    Great hospitality and genuine interest in making my stay as pleasant as possible.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: July 26, 2016

    7.9
    Almost but not quite.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room 11 was very small for the amount paid. Room was very dark. The shower had very limited space and the shower head kept falling down. Glass shelf above the wash hand basin restricted the basin, I hit my head on it twice.

    It was nice and quiet with easy access to the town. Breakfast were great.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: May 1, 2018

    7.9
    Breakfast and dinner were terrific !
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast and dinner were terrific !!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: October 19, 2017

    9.2
    Very clean, comfortable accommodation. Friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No lift, however owners did offer to carry luggage.

    Excellent cooked breakfast. Very well-maintained property. Very clean.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 15, 2017

    10
    A lovely couple of days to celebrate our 53rd Wedding Anniversary
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The availability of taxis from the station. The only disaster!

    My husband loved the porridge!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 9, 2017

    9.6
    A lovely weekend away with friends
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Pillows could be doing with being bouncier

    Breakfast is first class and host was exceptional

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: September 28, 2017

    9.2
    Excellent location with easy access to town. Very pleasant management
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Perhaps they could be more adventurious with toiletries.

    Best porridge I have had for years.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 21, 2017

    9.6
    Great place to stay, great breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very convenient to town center, easy parking, spotless facilities, friendly and helpful hosts.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 19, 2017

    9.6
    Excellent breakfast and evening meal in an hotel close to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Excellent breakfast and evening meal in an hotel close to centre of Pitlochry and in a quiet location Very friendly staff

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: August 29, 2017

    8.3
    Very good hotel in an excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Overall cleanliness and breakfast were excellent.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 21, 2017

    10
    excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    would ask for bedroom on ground floor again my own mistake.

    everything fine dining food best ever.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 15, 2017

    10
    A friendly warm welcome Food excellent Staff very friendly...
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A friendly warm welcome Food excellent Staff very friendly and helpfull could not ask for more

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 14, 2017

    9.6
    Altogether splendid.
    • Couple
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Not a thing!

    All services went far beyond the call of duty. Delightful place and extremely charming and helpful owners and staff.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 3, 2017

    7.5
    xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

    xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: August 2, 2017

    10
    Equals what I liked.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I have been many times and am always met with interest and friendliness.. Breakfast is excellent.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 28, 2017

    10
    Great location to explore the local area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Beautiful building, friendly staff, great breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 26, 2017

    10
    Very nice, clean and courteous service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Very nice, clean and courteous service.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 18, 2017

    10
    Great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing!

    Very clean, very good breakfast

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: June 29, 2017

    7.1
    Quiet retreat
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Lovely old building in quiet location, few minutes walk from centre Pitlochry

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 23, 2017

    10
    Excellent estabisent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The family run establishment. Very helpful and pleasant staff. Excellent food.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: June 9, 2017

    10
    great place
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    not so well soundproofed

    delicious breakfast, friendly staff free offroad parking

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: June 6, 2017

    10
    Oldstyle villa in a quiet location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Everything was excellent.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 31, 2017

    8.8
    Owners were wonderful!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Owners were wonderful!! Helpful and kind. Breakfast was good. Location excellent. Ambiance superb. Highly recommended.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 29, 2017

    9.6
    Most relaxing break away
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Not a thing, everything was ex

    Cleanliness was exceptional. Food was

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 23, 2017

    9.6
    Excellent friendly hotel, lovely stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Lack of phone signal and wifi but not the hotels fault just the location

    Very clean room, excellent large beds, friendly staff, couldn't fault

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: November 15, 2016

    10
    Historical Charm and Comfort
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Wifi throughout town is limited.

    Cordial host, charming period home/hotel in easy walking distance to sights in and distilleries.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: October 17, 2016

    10
    If you want to stay in a lovely hotel and be well looked after the Birchwood is the place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We were extremely satisfied with the overall service during our stay

    The rooms service and food were first class.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: October 16, 2016

    8.8
    poached eggs cooked to perfection
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    poached eggs cooked to perfection

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: October 9, 2016

    5.0
    What no evening meal!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The lack of an evening meal unless you book in advance, be warn

    Lovely building but could be cleaner

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: October 6, 2016

    9.6
    Very friendly welcome
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very friendly welcome

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: October 4, 2016

    9.2
    Perfect hotel for a quiet break in lovely cou
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing we can think of.

    Lovely quiet hotel, very comfortable.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: September 24, 2016

    10
    Good Breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Not Self Service Breakfast

    Good Breakfast

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: September 20, 2016

    8.8
    Very pleasant stay at Birchwood, Pitlochry
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No complaints.

    Friendly and welcoming host and team. Plentiful and tasty breakfasts.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: September 15, 2016

    8.8
    a comfortable, relaxing and friendly place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    better wifi- but perhaps more a BT problem than the hotel's!

    staff were wonderful meals were excellent

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: September 6, 2016

    9.2
    I liked the overall appearance of this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I liked the overall appearance of this hotel. All things fitted very well together. Tasty breakfast!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: September 2, 2016

    9.2
    Very friendly staff,clean and good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very friendly staff,clean and good location

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: August 31, 2016

    10
    Everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Everything

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: August 30, 2016

    7.9
    Great hospitality
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Hospitality great as with the food

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: August 30, 2016

    10
    Relaxing end to our scottish adventure!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing really.

    Very relaxed and friendly atmosphere when we arrived. Lovely room with everything we needed. Will definitely return!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: August 20, 2016

    9.6
    A very Scottish inn ..,
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The upper crust tongue and cheek of the owner and yet his very friendly attitude with an outstanding sense of humor .

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: August 14, 2016

    9.6
    Friendly staff in a very quiet location close to centre
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Friendly staff in a very quiet location close to centre

    Stayed in August 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Birchwood Hotel Traveler Photo Gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: