Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Holiday Inn Birmingham City 3 stars

Smallbrook Queensway, Birmingham, B5 4EW, United Kingdom

#39 of 78 hotels in Birmingham

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 3235 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.2

  • Comfort

    8

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    7.8

  • Staff

    8.3

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    8.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    8.8
    Safe Stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing that is worth mentioning

    Location & Location AirCon in my second room Prompt service when asking for room change right after check-in. Compensation cupon for waiting 10 minutes for new room. Staff

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    7.9
    Really lovely staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was construction work going on that no one told us about. This started early! We had the ‘do not disturb sign’ on the door, we were the only ones on our floor with it on, and for some reason house keeping parked their trolleys right outside our door on both mornings. Very noisy!

    Really lovely staff. Allowed us have an early check in which was great as we hadn’t slept the night before. Michelle, the lovely woman from Carlow working the coffee counter and in the breakfast area is so lovely.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    10
    Apart from some hickups really enjoyed my stay
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didnt have a shower curtain on first night an i slipped an hurt my back. Also was not informed that the fire Alarm was a false alarm until we found a member of staff an asked.

    The comfort and friendly helpful staff

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    5.4
    Drilling noise ruined the stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The drilling at about 7:50am on a Sunday morning that was a huge inconvenience to our sleep. After a night out this was the last thing needed and disturbed the rest of weekend. Apparently the drilling was supposed to start at 11am. This was completely unacceptable

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    8.8
    Comfortable no nonsence good value for money stay
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    More information on the air con system. Front of the hotel was very noisy, although I was in a room at the rear and it was great with no noise, others in my party at the front were kept awake

    Clean with good facilities. Comfortable rooms and lounge area

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    7.1
    Horrendous weekend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were not informed that there were going to be works going on the whole weekend from about 9 am each morning with a hammer drill above our room.

    The location and the rooms are great

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    4.2
    Not happy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They've got building work going off and they decided to start using jackhammers at 3pm Saturday when we got there we wanted to watch the football and have a snooze ready for the night time to go out couldn't hear the TV for the sound of electric breakers and on the Sunday at 10am the same! you could feel the vibration on the furniture when I was laid on the bed you could feel it to. Nothing was said when I booked the room nothing was said when I was booking in or checking out to apologise

    The location was good

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    8.8
    Nice room for value, unfortunate about fire alarm wake up.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Fire alarm went off at 6.50am and then drilling started in room next door at 10.00am no apology or explanation given for either disturbances. Understand can not be avoided but meant for a very disruptive sleep.

    Nice clean room for money paid and useful location for a last stay in Birmingham, very central.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    10
    We would recommend this hotel it was my birthday and our 24th wedding anniversary so a special occas
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were very lucky as we couldn't find fault with anything

    From the moment we walked through the doors it was welcoming .we came in a t5van so couldn't use there parking but someone from reception came out to point out a car park just over the road that we could park safely and was £20for 24hours .we were walking distance to so many places there is so much to see and do .we left the van for 2nights and only drove it on going home

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    4.6
    How close it was to the station & shops .
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The state of the bedrooms & in particular the beds themselves in a terrible condition . We did complain .

    How close it was to the station & shops .

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    7.1
    Good central location, airy room poor bar facilities!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bar not having any beer on tap and the price of bottle beer quite expensive! Not being told about cheap voucher for breakfast the night before. Had to pay full price next day!

    Close to New Street rail station and the bull ring.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    8.8
    Great value and good breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Could do with a bigger lounge area with sofas rather than the desk setup.

    Great breakfast and comfy beds. Very good walk-in shower and everything was clean.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    10
    Nice hotel with helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Screaming girls coming back from clubs!! Not the hotels fault though.

    Nice hotel with helpful friendly staff. I requested a room on the back of the hotel which I thought would be quiet from the busy road noise and they provided this. Very good breakfast

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    9.6
    We will definitely be back soon
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nobody to serve us at Starbucks counter on Sunday morning, so we went elsewhere

    Modern new decor in reception, bar & breakfast area, very welcoming, excellent choice for breakfast, rooms clean & bed comfortable Reception staff were very helpful when we reported the air con was out of order & sorted us a fan out immediately

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    8.8
    Stayed during heatwave and the room was very warm, inquired...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Didn't really have any problems, though we didn't try the food so cannot vouch for that!

    Stayed during heatwave and the room was very warm, inquired about a fan being brought and was told this could be done for us immediately, it was delivered within maybe ten minutes. Also able to store luggage for free which was great when our train wasn't till 5:30pm and we had a whole day planned! Overall great service and facilities for a budget hotel.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    7.1
    Breakfast was really enjoyable and lots of varied choice
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Air conditioning did not work - couldn't open windows as street noise went on till 5.00am in the morning so sleep was minimal

    Breakfast was really enjoyable and lots of varied choice

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    7.5
    Had lovely stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Second room we got moved to was good but cleaning could have been alot better lots of hair in shower plug hole :(

    Had lovely stay. staff happy to help ! Had to be moved because air conditioning was not working staff moved us straight away

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    10
    Perfect location to Birmingham New Street station and city centre!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect location to New Street station, very comfortable bed and pillows, air conditioning, flat screen tv, combined bath and shower, tea/coffee facilities, iron/ironing board, safe for valuables. Close to restaurants where there is a wide choice. Good for couples, friends or business travelers. Would stay here again, great staff!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    10
    happy to have stayed the one night ,i would definitely stop here again and stay longer .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    air con not great ,but we could open the windows . its more like a fan blowing out hot air .cant really complain ,as the room was bigger than we hope for .maybe some cold water in fridge would have been nice ,as awelcome .

    beautiful suite ,had a great veiw ,the bed was big and pillows had chioce of two ,soft or firm ,so cleal big bathroom ,and great location .the staff on the front desk ,especially chrissy german girl so lovely ,we will stay again .

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    7.1
    Close to train station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As it was quite hot we were disappointed that the air conditioning was not working, however a fan was provided when requested. The mini fridge was barely cold.

    Close to train station. My wife says the ladies will appreciate the good lighting when doing make up.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    7.1
    Did the job but stayed in far more friendlier hotels in Birmingham
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check in experience And was given no information what so ever about the hotel Where our room was located where the dining room was etc

    Bed was really comfy Shower was fabulous

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    8.8
    For an overnighter this was excellent value for money - particularly excellent breakfast!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Needs a bit of tlc in the rooms, bedroom carpet was loose and had ridges in it and no earplugs in the card beside the bed. Shampoo in the dispenser by the sink?? would be better if it was hand soap and old key cards in the leaflet holder suggested it had not been cleaned very effectively.

    Breakfast was terrific, staff were friendly and it was excellent value for money.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    9.6
    I arrived in the early hours of the morning, and there was a...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I arrived in the early hours of the morning, and there was a really cheerful, efficient receptionist with all my check in forms ready and waiting to be completed in a swift manner so I could get to bed as quickly as possible. The hotel is a stones throw from New Street Station and was extremely convenient for my late arrival and early morning onward travel.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    4.2
    Will not be returning
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cracks in wall Tap fell off Rust in bath Uncomfortable beds Red hot in rooms Air con doesn’t work Attitude from staff

    How close to town we were

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    6.7
    Ok but nothing special
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was too hot and air conditioning did not cool it down. Fridge and air con only worked when key card was in room, not much help if you want to leave things in fridge to keep cold whilst you are out...and have cool room to come back to. Large crack in wall next to bathroom.

    Room was a good size, breakfast had good choice

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    6.7
    We would come back for the next visit to BH
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Unfortunately we first got a not very nice room on the 9th top floor with a defect air conditioning. As it was very hot at the time we stayed in BH the first two nights were a nightmare, we had to sleep with an open window, but it was soo loud we could hardly sleep. We complained at the reception and were allowed to move into another very comfortable modern room on the sixth floor, the air conditioning worked and we couldn't hear any noise at night. I wish we would have gotten this room straightaway.

    It is a very convenient located modern hotel and the staff is nice and helpful. When we complained they gave us a nice modern room. Everything is clean. There is a breakfast area downstairs and a cozy TV corner similar to a living room.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    6.3
    Oversl
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room and floor we were initially on (S floor) looked very tired and in need of refurbishment. Our room at the front of the building and proved very noisy. This resulted in us having to phone reception to arrange to be moved rooms at 3am. The location of the room and potential noise should have been highlighted upon check in.

    The check in was very quick and efficient.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    8.8
    Great location and comfortable stay.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was too springy, there was no spare pillows in the room. The windows were not easy to open and close. T.v. in the room was too small for the size of the room.

    The bathroom was very clean and the shower was awesome. The reception had so many working stations and I spent all day there with my laptop and coffee.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    5.8
    It was okay for 108 pound a night I would have excepted more value for the poor state of our room.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The noises from the hall way. The bed base was covered in stains, there was dust everywhere, curtains hanging down and stains on the ceiling and no hangers to hand our clothes.

    The choices of breakfast and the food was great. Staff were helpful and very pleasant.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    10
    Lovely, friendly staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The reception staff were very friendly and helpful! We’ve stayed here quite a few times and she offered us which room we’d like which has never been done before. The room was great and the view was nice, we didn’t mind being opposite the lift.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    8.3
    Good value for money
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Clean room , comfortable bed and very quiet , this is the second time I’ve stayed here and have not been disappointed .Its 2 min walk from Birmingham central .

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    5.8
    The hotel was very near my training event and close to the...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The building was very hot 😩. It was uncomfortable to sleep at night . I had the room on the lowest setting . I was put in a room opposite the lift so that didn’t help . The room looked very worn . Two beds shoved together which made it uncomfortable at times . The plug sockets were all at difficult places to reach !

    The hotel was very near my training event and close to the train station.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    7.9
    Convenient and comfortable. No complaints.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was fine. I did notice that the standard room tariff was far in excess of what I paid. I wouldn't have paid what was advertised in the lobby! I strongly object to this fashionable policy of changing prices and room rates depending upon the demand. I am paying for the room - not the availability. The room never changes - nor should the price!

    I booked early so I benefited from a sensible room rate - £120. It was in an excellent position and all amenities were clean and functional. I especially liked the fact that the shower and the bathroom were of a sensible size - not too cramped and plenty of hot water.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    5.4
    A big dissapointment
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Aircon very poor. The super king bed was a two dingles together. The shower head did not extend. The bed not very stable. Room temp was to high.

    Nothing

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    10
    Was like home from home
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Came with my daughter We were both blown away by the place So clean and spectacular The cost off our room was fantastic The staff were friendly and helpful Bonus they serve Starbucks Food is absolutely wonderful Ordered dinner supper and breakfast Would highly recommend to anyone and will stay here again

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    7.5
    Good place for a short stay but after our first visit our second was disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldn't have not drink at bedtime as much badly cracked and not safe to use. Bacon was hard and cold which spoilt an otherwise excellent breakfast!

    Very good choice of anything you could want for breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    8.3
    Nice Venue - very close to 02 Academy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only problem we had was the towel radiator did not work in the room. Attended a concert on the evening, returned to the hotel and showered, placed towels on the towel radiator. Towels where still damp when we came to shower in the morning. Noise level outside was high but as to be expected when in the town centre.

    Overall expierence was good - was attending an event at the 02 academy, which is only short walk away. Staff very helpful regarding parking and directions.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    10
    Brilliant would definitely use again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was a Saturday night so was a little noisy, but other than that nothing

    We were upgraded to Exec suite no extra charge made, breakfast was fantastic. Checked in early and left the bags very secure

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    7.5
    Great location, tasty breakfast, managers need to work on their customer skills.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bar staff great but his boss (assume it was a manager) was very rude. From the street, the site has a balcony but it's not accessible (which is a shame).

    Great breakfast, fantastic location.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    10
    The location was perfect!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I couldn’t work the air con so it was a bit stuffy and hot. Apart from that, no probs.

    The location was perfect! Right in town and handy for me needing to head off from the train station which is about 100m up the road! And great nightlife and restaurants nearby. Would we stay again. And full buffet breakfast for only 9 pounds!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    9.2
    Good location and a very modern styling make it one of the best in this area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately like many areas near the station there are a lot of homeless people sleeping rough nearby. It’s the only drawback to an otherwise great city.

    Very comfortable room, friendly and helpful staff and one of the best breakfasts we’ve had!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    5.8
    Very disappointing
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The check in experience was not welcoming at all and we had a very disappointing experience with a male housekeeper who was very rude when we simply asked for some milk. I was so shocked by his manner and the reception staff did not even address the issue or ask if we had a good stay on checkout. Very disappointing stay especially as this is such a well known brand.

    The location was good, there was a mini fridge which was handy and the room itself was nice

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    8.3
    Comfortable, tried and tested. Good value for money.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Expensive parking.

    Excellent comfortable room. Good breakfast with a great cooked selection as well as good fruits and juice. Good location, next to station.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    10
    a pleasant experience with very helpful staff and great room
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is nothing that I don't like

    It is close to the train station and most of the clubs and all the shops and the staff are always very helpful all the time

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    5.4
    Location excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stayed on 9th floor in a room that didn’t reach the standards I’d expect from a holiday inn - shabby, worn furnishings , used coffee cups not replaced on 2nd night, toe nail cuttings in bath ! Given cost for two nights disappointing.

    Location excellent

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    9.6
    Excellent especially at short notice.
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was very comfy. Booked literally last minute as trains disrupted but everything went smoothly. 5 minute walk from station which is great when you have heavy bags. Croissants were excellent. Also, if you forget anything they can provide items free of charge. eg. Toothpaste and brush, comb etc.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    7.5
    The breakfast is lovely!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Early check in as standard rather than waiting until 2, I know you can request it but I’d rather just have it and then request a later check in

    The breakfast is lovely! Especially after a hectic weekend just to sit there and chill out.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    7.1
    Comfortable stay, some things could be better
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The shower facilities in the room were disappointing. I'm 6 ft 3 and I couldn't stand up straight in the shower. The head was quite low and so I couldn't enjoy my shower properly. I had friends staying in another room and theirs was much nicer than mine, even though I paid more.

    Breakfast was great, there was lots to choose from. The central location is very convenient. The air conditioning in the room worked really well. The long term parking costs are actually quite reasonable if you are staying for a few days.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    4.6
    Close to railway station
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor neighbourhood and property poor condition - reception and restaurant all clean and ok some rooms renovated those not poor condition

    Close to railway station

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    10
    happy to have stayed the one night ,i would definitely stop here again and stay longer .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Air conditioner a bit dated ,a little to warm in room ,but could open the windows so not a big issue.

    great location ,lovely and clean,spotless bed linen ,soft or hard pillow choice ,everything we needed was there .reception staff were lovely ,no noise from traffic ,would recommend this hotel ,as value for money ,lovely .

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    8.3
    Expected 2 singles not a double.
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Expected 2 singles not a double. Room was small. We were involved in a 3 car pile up on m5 We phoned hotel to say we were still coming. I would of at least expected a are you both OK. Would you like a drink or anything? Customer service not rated at all

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    7.5
    Great location, rooms need a little TLC
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The front entrance was full of beer bottles and just have bad impression. The fan / air con system wasn’t sufficient the rooms where extremely warm which went you had to have windows open and it’s opposite a club open till 4ish which was extremely loud. Curtain was ripped so getting bed late because of the noise and heat meant the black out curtains didn’t work and sun came shining through the rips in the curtains and 5 and just made the room look shabby.

    Location was excellent.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    7.1
    Great Location but room not up to standard.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom didn't smell fresh. No plunger in sink - there was a separate plug - but without that in just an open hole .... could easily drop a ring eg down it. No net curtains - had to close main curtain for privacy. The room in general just felt very "tired" - not the standard I remember from previous times I have stayed there.

    Excellent Location for New Street Station and Bullring Shopping. Love the new Entrance and bar area. Staff Friendly

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    7.1
    Spacious and clean bedroom and interior. Average staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff could have been a little friendlier / chattier. The external building was a bit dull and the inner foyer / lounge was a bit dark

    My room was clean and a really nice size

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    8.3
    :)
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The reception staff was very helpful with my laguage left at the reception hall because I arrived to the hotel at 10.00 so some lady from reception let my luggage stay there . Mr Blazej ( Polish) from the reception desk was very nice and helpful ,too. In my room 724 there was not one bub at bed desk and the bathroom was not full comfortable because the bathroom door opens against the sink having blocking and reducing this sink & bathroom area and the shower curtain was sticky to bath while showering. In the room you could not open the window ( 7th floor) because of not nice smells from the down area-cooking?kitchen?

    1) reception staff 2.location -100 m from Birmingham New Street train station and the centre =shops+banks ,etc 3.nice view from the window 4.nternet for free 5.two lifts 6.nice hall 7.good comfortable bad

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    9.6
    Nice stay but hope the lift is working next time!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The lift wasn't working during our visit which meant we had the climb the stairs up to the 8th floor. The carpet in our room was taped together in a number of places.

    Perfect location for visiting the Hipporome. Great facilities at the hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    5.8
    More expensive if booked in advance
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff not very patient Booked a twin room and got given a double for a business stay Road works going on outside until after midnight and with windows shut still very very loud - no sleep

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    8.8
    Good rooms comforty bed ,good facility in the room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Holiday inn have spent a lot to up grade the hotel,they have signs up about the cost of the lift upgrade,it's a pity the still break down,and this causes problems,only tow lifts in the building 🙁

    Good rooms comforty bed ,good facility in the room

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    2.9
    Horrendous experience worst hotel and stay I have ever encountered
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel itself had nothing at all in place to support disabled guests. No offer of parking in order to get suitcase into hotel, no offer to assist. Booked a room with a bath, this was not given. Only very small badly set up room with shower, due to disabilities could not use safely. The hotel had bad windows with no soundproofing. Every car motorbike and person walking by could be heard. Thee were s lot of homeless people outside the hotel practically under my window, I could here them talking and shouting all night. I did not sleep at all neither did my partner. Totally disgusted and had to pay £135 for the unpleasant stay. Worst hotel I have ever stayed in. This has put me off using booking.com and will never stay in any holiday inn Again.

    Good breakfast but would never stay here again as this was the only part of the stay that was acceptable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    10
    Great experience, would recomend this hotel to friends and would definatley use again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking prices were extortionate. should have dedicated parking dor customer. Tv was mounted so close to the wall i was unable to access the hidmi port

    Very clean, plenty of open space. friends staff, the lobby was stunning.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    6.3
    Rooms were nice, friendly staff, lovely breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location was dirty and run down. I would of given this an overall rating of Good, however we had a terrible night sleep because our room faced the front of the hotel which overlooked "Snobs" nightclub. At approximately 12am on a Saturday morning taxi's start beeping grabbing potential customers attention I guess, which went on relentlessly until 5am!!! When I mentioned this to reception the next morning upon checkout, I was told that it was an ongoing problem and if I was returning then to ask for a room at the back of the hotel. So this is to warn all potential guests, that if you stay on a weekend, ask for a back room!

    Rooms were nice, friendly staff, lovely breakfast

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    8.8
    Very good location, just across the train station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Rooms need renovation. Old curtains do a bad job at preventing light from entering the room. Lifts are under renovation; hopefully will work better when renovation is finished.

    Very good location, just across the train station. Plenty of restaurants and shopping areas in the vicinity. Spacious room. Good to have a spacious safe in the room. Good and silent fridge. Excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    9.2
    Great breakfast, lovely room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The windows could’ve opened a little more as the room was like a sauna or better air con

    The breakfast was amazing and they catered for my veggie needs. The bed was comfy and the room was nice and spacious

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    6.7
    Budgetary choice if location is your first priority
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Boring English breakfast. Old decoration in room. Elevators(on the ground floor) run slow and one of them always run out of service after I had breakfast...

    Great location. Easy access to shopping center, canal area, and Chinese restaurants. A walking distance to New Street Station.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    6.7
    Modern room in good location
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Receptionist was rude and because we wanted to pay by cash, they wanted us to also pay £100 ‘security deposit’ . Penalised for paying in cash?! In the end I suggested using my card - weirdly she then only held £50. Oh and then there was hair in the shower in our room. Not great customer experience

    Modern room in good location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    8.8
    Good facilities, nice chill out lounge on ground floor, room very nice, comfy bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tray left outside in corridor outside our room from when we arrived a 2pm until we went to bed.

    Lovely breakfast, nice clean room, location perfect for night out.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    7.9
    Clean, comfortable and a great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast a little bit pricey but otherwise a nice stay.

    Hotel was in a great location for us as we went to watch a show at The Hippodrome. Good value for money, nice atmosphere in the hotel bar after the show, overall we had a nice visit to the city.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    9.2
    Hotel in great location , staff very helpful and willing to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lots of noise from surrounding area at night , didn't get much sleep - bit hotels fault

    Hotel in great location , staff very helpful and willing to help . Best breakfast I have seen in hotels for a long time

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    8.3
    can iron the clothes and have a fridge in the room,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was not very clean, the shower gel was finished the second day. I did not have a room like in the description

    can iron the clothes and have a fridge in the room, comfortable bed

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    9.6
    Overall a great comfy stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had to remind staff to replace towels/ clean room..as I had a do not disturb sign up til 10:30 each day of my stay and they did not come back to service the room without me telling reception.

    Great location. Loved the comfy room, decent sized TV and a bonus to find a Fridge as standard!!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    10
    We enjoyed it
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All was good But I did ask for a fruit to be put in my room as a surprise and that was not done. I was unhappy about that. But it got done and all went ok end the end

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    8.3
    Central location, comfortable bed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bit of a nightmare finding it using google maps to direct us in the car!

    Staff helpful with regard to directions to parking. Rapidly changed our room when bed found to have a leg missing. Easy walking distance to restaurant area

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    8.8
    A good city break helped by the good weather
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stay was almost spoilt by the room not being cleaned until late afternoon on the Sunday of our stay.

    Beds were comfortable, sheets / duvet covers were excellent. Location good for station, town centre and theatres. Staff were pleasant and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    7.5
    Good location, but i would prefer the holiday inn in snow hill, at least i can get some sleep done
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All doors keep banning, when ever a people comes in or out the room, it has a huge noise, this include in the middle of the night like 3 am.

    Location is good, 2-3 mins walk to bullring, train station

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    5.8
    Great Location and Comfortable beds
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No soap or shower/bath mat in bathroom. When I asked reception for these items, they gave me a soap bar and said somebody would come up to my room to supply me with a bath mat. This never happened

    Great Location and Comfortable beds

    Stayed in May 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: