Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

Reviews of Birmingham Marriott Hotel This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

12 Hagley Road, Five Ways, Edgbaston, Birmingham, B16 8SJ, United Kingdom

#25 of 78 hotels in Birmingham

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 1099 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    8.7

  • Location

    8.5

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Paid WiFi

    6.4

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: July 15, 2018

    10
    This hotel is great , I have stayed here many times and the...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    This hotel is great , I have stayed here many times and the staff are efficient friendly and helpful. The hotel is always spotless the breakfast is great and they take care and pride in their work place - you don’t find that often these days. It’s a great location and a doddle to find and park etc.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 10, 2018

    6.3
    The hotel is a little tired. It's on a busy roundabout and parking cost £13 for the night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hottest time of time of the summer and no complimentary water in room as we had a 'standard' room. This is the first hotel I have stayed in for a long time that does not provide water in the bedroom. How much more would it cost to provide a bottle of water when buying in bulk? The duvet cover was worn and ripped.

    My son used the spa which was lovely

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 10, 2018

    10
    I can describe the Birmingham Marriott and the staff with one word.... EXCELLENCE!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Customer service was EXCELLENT!!! I loved everything about the Marriott in Birmingham, from first impression upon check in, right to the very last minute of our stay. I wish more hotels were like the Marriott at the Birmingham location. Traveling from so far away (the Cayman Islands) to be received with so much attention, prompt customer service and happy faces as indeed an amazing experience for me and my family. THE MARRIOTT TREATED US LIKE FAMILY.......THANK YOU!!!❤ I look forward to staying there again on my next trip to the UK Greetings from the Cayman Islands, Eunice.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 10, 2018

    10
    I enjoyed my stay . i will definitely come visit again
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    there is no sleepers in the room. and no complimentary water

    bathroom ceiling need painting , the paint is coming off, right above the shower at the top right conner

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 8, 2018

    7.5
    Lovely comfy bed in air conditioned room, best nights sleep...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The changing room in the leisure centre was dirty and wet towels everywhere, we piled them up to make room for us and commented on our way out & then we checked the room was empty for the male attendant to sort.

    Lovely comfy bed in air conditioned room, best nights sleep in weeks. Breakfast super.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 8, 2018

    6.3
    It was OK. It’s not a family friendly place.
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I had to pay extra for WiFi, about 4 £ for an hour. The steam room and whirlpool are restricted to guest over the age of 16. The pool was busy with an exercise class. My children ( 10 and 13 years old ) never got to swim. The pool was the deciding factor of this hotel. It was disappointing.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 5, 2018

    10
    The staff were very accommodating and friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing, loves our stay!

    The staff were very accommodating and friendly. The room was spacious and clean. We had an amazing stay at the hotel and will definitely stay there again.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 3, 2018

    6.7
    Cleanliness
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There were no plugs close to the beds to charge our phones and the single sofa additional bed was just not comfortable and too inappropriate for a big hotel like Marriott

    Cleanliness

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: July 2, 2018

    8.3
    Our stay on Saturday 30th june
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The male receptionist caused me so much stress and upset that was not necessary. There was no helping me, just following protocol rather than asking his manager if there was anything he could do to help. I left the reception so upset and stressed out that it has actually put me off staying here again. I have actually stayed here twice now and spent nearly £700 on rooms each time and to be treated the way I was, was absolutely disgusting. I would not go back here until someone accepts the way the receptionist dealt with my problem is sorted out and resolved.

    Spa is lovely, rooms are Fantastic, other staff were lovely

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 2, 2018

    9.2
    Great time and would stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    I felt the standard of the breakfast could have been a little higher. It didn't seem very organised in the breakfast room. Also, the booking was clearly for 3 people, we had 2 beds. we were happy to share but it would have been nice to have had an option.

    The room was very comfortable and the bathroom facilities were great. lots of towels :)

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 1, 2018

    7.5
    We wished we could stayed longer
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothinh

    The location , parking . Family room with two double beds . We stayed only one night left early to attend a meeting . We may stay few more days next time for relaxing.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 30, 2018

    3.8
    3star hotel standarts
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There was no fridge in the room. We couldn’t keep our drinks cold in this hot weather. We asked for it but didn’t get one.

    They let us check out 1pm so that was helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 30, 2018

    10
    We will be back! Highly recommended.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing I didn’t like.

    The welcome we received from front desk staff was outstanding - we all commented about it in the lift. How helpful and friendly the lady was. All staff went out of their way to be friendly and polite and smile! It’s so important in this industry and it made such a difference to our stay.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 30, 2018

    6.7
    Comfortable, excellent food and helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I didn’t read the lower part of the booking.com website and so didn’t realise that we would have to pay nearly $26 per for on site parking. So won’t stay there again if we ever need to visit Birmingham again.

    Comfortable, excellent food

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 28, 2018

    10
    Top Birmingham Choice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Having to pay for wifi

    Love this hotel - got a nice big room with a huge comfy bed. Nice facilities, welcoming staff. Handy for Broad Street and Edgbaston. Excellent value

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 27, 2018

    8.8
    Good place to stay but don't expect to be fed unless you like bar food
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The food was ok except that for a hotel or it's standing there was only bar food and not a proper food menu where you can have dinner

    The hotel was clean central location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 25, 2018

    8.8
    Perfect mini-break for two!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A summer weight duvet - the air con was very efficient but lighter bedding would have been better.

    Great location for our day at thew WTA tennis at Edgbaston Priory and for eating out in the city later on. Lovely pool for a pre-breakfast swim and delicious breakfast afterwards, Very quiet for a city centre hotel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 22, 2018

    10
    A very pleasant stay in a nice location, well looked after by the staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The lockers in the spa were a little tired looking - but to be honest it didn’t really matter

    Super friendly and welcoming staff, including those in the pool/spa, which we used in the evening. Room was lovely and clean and breakfast was excellent!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 13, 2018

    9.6
    Friendly and welcoming
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The pool tiles around the sides could do with a scrub and the showers could of been more maintained

    Bed was comfy, room spacious. Staff was friendly and very accommodating Sam from the bar was excellent all very professional

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 10, 2018

    10
    Best nights sleep in a hotel.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I liked it all. However I would have liked a USB port on the room. And I loved the carpet ! See my instagram for photo.

    Best pillows, comfy bed and sheets. Lovely to go for a swim before breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 5, 2018

    9.6
    Amazing relaxing good quality hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Having to leave to go home

    We had a small issue with the room it was immediately dealt with the staff are super friendly and it's a great hotel to take the children too. Pool is excellent and good is delicious. Overall excellent hotel

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 1, 2018

    7.5
    Very comfortable stay, will definitely use this hotel again.
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing really to dislike!

    Very comfortable beds & pillows. Had very good sleep! Excellent choice of dishes at breakfast, very tasty and set me up for the day. Staff were all very friendly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 31, 2018

    10
    Fantastic service and great experience and very good...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Fantastic service and great experience and very good breakfast and helpful staff. Shopping and city centre at walkable distance. Worth staying and value for money .

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 31, 2018

    6.7
    The staff was lovely, handed our kids a goodie bag with...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The sink in the bathroom did not work so we had to wash our hands in the bath, the room was small and not as impressive as you would have thought, at the end of the day it's a Marriott!

    The staff was lovely, handed our kids a goodie bag with crayons, colouring book, juice and double chocolate cookie. They were very happy especially after a 3 hour drive. The staff at the swimming pool provided us with some extra swimming gear for the kids (ages 1, 3 and 5) to make it safer and more enjoyable. No time limmit for the kids swimming which waa great- we have been to a few that had a 30 min children swim time limit (a bit disappointing). All in all we had a good time.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 30, 2018

    8.8
    A good experience after a problematic first night.
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Staff member did not offer any helpful resolution to the faulty issue on the first night apart from procuring a very small fan as a substitute for faulty air-conditioning to a fairly substantial room. Excuses were given with regards to bank holiday, not being able to call for repair staff during the holiday weekend and overbooking or non availability of similar rooms. No further alternatives were given on the day but offered us a room change the following day stating that hotel staff will change the room and arrange for our luggage be transferred during the next day when we went out. After explicitly informing the early morning reception staff the next day about the situation before we went out for the day, nothing was done when we arrived back to the hotel on the second night.

    The staff supervisor, Ellis, was very helpful in immediately resolving the issue we had with the room having air-conditioning fault on the first night the following night. She offered to help with our luggage during the change of room and contacted us once we settled. Apology was expressed.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 29, 2018

    9.6
    Great staff, great location, decent food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bar staff less friendly and attentive. And bar food was disappointing for the price.

    Staff extremely obliging and friendly at reception and breakfast. Nothing was too much for them. They organised a big group of us efficiently. Breakfast was plentiful and nice. Easy access to the social hub of Birmingham.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 28, 2018

    2.5
    Room was ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No slippers and bathrobes in the room. No minifridge. You need to pay for parking £13 per night and £15 for internet per night. Really, in 21st century pay for internet at your hotel stay... On the hallway smelled like urine. Defenetly not a 4* hotel. Never gonna comeback

    Room was ok

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 25, 2018

    8.8
    Great Room & Pool and service,shame about cold breakfast food
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The RECEPTION STAFF they could not find my booking and they had a poor understanding of English! I found it very difficult for him to understand me & I did not understand him. I had to tell him several times who i had booked with and that the hotel had already taken £139.00 off my debit card even before i had checked in ( 9 days prior to my arrival actually! )of which i was not happy about and I was given no apology for that. I asked if we could have adjoining rooms as it was my Hen party of 8 and we wanted to be close to each other, ( I had already REQUESTED this by email prior to our arrival!!!! ),and basically we were one side of the 4th floor and my friends were on the opposite side of the 4th floor no where near us!! The Air con did not work and our room was very stuffy and hot, the small fan that was provided did not keep the room cool enough. We could not open any windows either. Most of the hot breakfast food was cold ( Scrambled egg and baked beans).

    The Hotel is lovely,I love the old style of with its revolving Doors, no noise from traffic we were on the 4th floor We found the reception staff very polite and helpful.The bed was so comfortable I fell asleep straight away, best nights sleep in ages. The pool & steam room was lovely and great opening times from 7am-23.00pm The breakfast had a good selection of cereals, fruit, bakery and hot food. It was definitely a good choice to chose this hotel, except for a few minor issues...

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 23, 2018

    9.6
    Pleasant relaxing stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Not charge £13 to park in the car park for 24hrs. Wasnt stated on booking.com just advertised parking available at hotel. Bar was expensive £8.60 for two drinks one was a soft drink too.

    Room was nice. Bit if a funny smell in the bathroom. Very clean. Comfy bed, all you needed in your room. Facilities of pool etc really good. Breakfast really good range of items. Helpful staff on reception. Pleasant staff in restaurant area. Good location. Highly recommend.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 22, 2018

    9.2
    An all round very good trip, it has a high standard like all...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    An all round very good trip, it has a high standard like all other Marriotts. The pool and changing area was a little dirty but apart from that, the cleanliness was faultless.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 18, 2018

    6.7
    Noisy
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Hoped to sleep late as check out wasn’t until twelve which is why I chose this hotel as I knew I’d be working on my laptop till two or three in the morning. At 8am a deafening sound of hammering and drilling from either the next room or somewhere above me woke me up and didn’t stop until I left my room at 11. Told staff at reception who just said “sorry about that” and offered no explanation. The Marriott Group have clearly let standards slide.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: May 17, 2018

    9.6
    Lovely hotel can’t believe it’s where it is.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The pool area is very tired and although being redecorated it’s the mirrors that have gone black as had all the silicone corners that let it down.

    Nice staff. Very clean. Comfy room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 17, 2018

    7.9
    Warm and traditional decor.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room was little bit tired but nevertheless very clean and spacious. Spa advertised sauna but there wasn't one.

    Warm and traditional decor. Breakfast was great!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: May 9, 2018

    10
    Should be 5* hotel.
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Excellent service provided both in the hotel and restaurant. Couldn't fault our stay at all. Room very good size and contained everything we needed.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 8, 2018

    7.9
    Lovely relaxing weekend with friends in the sun!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Directions to car park, ended up driving through Morrisons car park to find entrance!

    Great location with excellent staff. The outdoor terrace was a bonus with the beautiful weather.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 8, 2018

    8.8
    Lovely
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Did not like paying for parking at the hotel!!!!!!!!!

    The hotel provided activity bags with a drink and snacks in for the children, this was an excellent touch and entertained our children throughout our stay. Also provided colouring at breakfast. Perfect.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 7, 2018

    8.3
    Comfort
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There was a lot of mould on the inside of the outer windows (there are also inner windows as insulation against traffic noise) It would be unhealthy to open the windows. The A.C. was also on strike I think... So it got a bit stuffy.

    Comfortable beds! Very clean room, housekeeping was excellent. It's nice to have a swimmingpool especially with kids. Nice staff! We were very happy at the Marriott.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 5, 2018

    10
    Relaxing, luxurious and fun!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing!

    The staff were exceptional - they went above and beyond to make sure that we had an amazing stay and really went the extra mile to bring us joy.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: May 4, 2018

    9.6
    I would definitely return
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Confusion at the reception as to who was paying my business stay.Obviously they had my company's details from the online booking but expected me to produce the card at check out. I've never had this happen which became embarrassing.It left a bad feeling after such a great stay

    The bed and duvet were incredibly comfortable, and the black out curtains allowed a daily nap.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 23, 2018

    8.8
    Lovely hotel, spa and dining bit of a let down.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We had a spa day whilst staying which we had booked separate. ( which isn't by any means cheap ) There is only one steam room, no sauna and a very basic pool area with little else to do. No drinks offered at all such as tea or coffee, only a dirty looking cask of water with a little in the bottom in the waiting area. This spa really lets the hotel down and could do with a lot of improvement. Treatments were ok. We only spent a couple of hours at most and even dressed before treatments. We booked the 3 course meal and as the restaurant was full we were made aware that we would be in the bar, we were fine with this and the bar was stunning! However, the wait times were very long and no explanations or apologies made. We nearly walked out without dessert as this took 45 mins after our plates were cleared from our main. The restaurant was full with a private function. On leaving the hotel I had to explain of the £25 deposit on my card that I had already paid, as I was being overcharged. The receptionist was even asking for receipts, until luckily another member of staff explained to her.

    Lovely hotel, decor nice and staff were all lovely. Room booked was a basic room, however had everything we needed and was very large in size, no need for us to upgrade. Room was very clean and beds large in size. Linen and towels all clean. We would consider staying again but would not be eating at the hotel again, nor using the spa. Only a few downsides, but making these improvements would make this hotel very good!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 23, 2018

    4.6
    Ok but won’t stay again very disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Restaurant- very limited choice of food to the point we were seated had a drink and then left. Should have thought something as the we were the only ones there Spa/ Swimming pool- lovely and warm but very unorganised. No one around so went straight into pool to only be told off for not signing in, then to follow on told off again for having shoes close to the pool. All points I understand and happy to follow but you can’t do what u don’t know. Around the swimming pool was dirty, rubbish was laying around the sun beds and lots of dirty towels had just been left dumped. The water had lots of hair floating and the water wasn’t the clearest

    The room was lovely very spacious and comfortable (bar the pillows) lots of tea and coffee and on request was given more. Location was brilliant was just a few minutes walk from bars clubs and arena which was very helpful Staff very helpful with car park

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 20, 2018

    6.3
    Average for a Marriott, pool was a treat for the little ones, which they loved, hotel needs a refurb
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Service and availability of more choices

    Breakfast nice but Marriott Zurich had so much more on offer, we had a nice Spanish waiter, but service from the hostess was poor

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 20, 2018

    9.2
    New Favourite in Birmingham
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Having stayed at many of the nearby hotels on Broad Street, this is a cut above. Excellent large room and comfy large bed. Great facilities and bar. Will be coming back.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 18, 2018

    8.3
    Very pleasant - I slept well
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    All was pretty good. I’d love to have a quarter pint of milk in the fridge as a few of those little pots don’t go far....

    Very comfortable room - spacious & light with comfy bed, duvet & good pillows.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 16, 2018

    10
    Our stay at the Marriott hotel was fantastic from the minute...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Our stay at the Marriott hotel was fantastic from the minute we arrived the staff were welcoming. The room was perfect and the bed was super comfortable. It was perfect for our one night stay. Also the next day we left and I left a ring behind when I rang the hotel to see if it was found they were so helpful and happy enough to post it to Nottingham for me! Thank you sooo much, we will be back again definitely

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 16, 2018

    10
    Highly enjoyable
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Evening Dinner & Bar menu needs to include some more everyday style of meal, rather than just burgers or snacks

    All was excellent with the (minor) exception that the evening dinner menu was a little restricted in variety. I stayed for 3x nights and had become 'bored' with the menu by the third night.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: April 15, 2018

    9.2
    Great stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The staff were very polite, friendly and accommodating especially as it was my hen trip, so I felt at ease. They also were able to let us check in earlier which was great. I loved the choice of food at breakfast especially the made on request pancakes and omelettes. Especially loved that at breakfast I was surprised with a glass of bubbles, fruit and brownies! I wish I had her name to thank her personally, but it was a lovely surprise. Also loved that my veil was found after a night out- Thanks again Mohammed. Overall great stay and would definetly recommend to anyone. It's close to city centre with lots of choice for a night out.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 10, 2018

    9.6
    Fantastic and will stay again. Already recommended hotel to friends.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The swimming pool was cloudy and the changing rooms were dirty and messy.

    The staff were lovely, the room was great as was the breakfast and location of the hotel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 8, 2018

    9.2
    Would recommend for a city stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very very hot!!! Turned the heating off but the whole hotel just seemed very warm. You could not open the room windows to remedie this (guessing this was health and safety) but meant i struggled to sleep due to being so warm.

    Comfy beds. Clean rooms. Great breakfast. Lovely bathroom with a powerful shower. Large room. Friendly staff. 5-10 minutes from bars and restaurants. Despite being in a very busy area you could not hear traffic in the room.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 6, 2018

    7.5
    We had a lovely time though
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We were not informed in advance that we cannot use the swimming pool on thursday morning 9:30-10:30am, due to some private lessons

    Their was a very nice lady who was incharged of the swimming pool

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 3, 2018

    9.6
    Enjoyable, Comfortable and very relaxing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I didn't like all the children in the pool when we were there. I'm not complaining about children using the pool, But if i would have known that there was a Mother and Infant class on, I would have gone to the pool at a later time.

    The bed was very comfortable, The croissants were to my likeness, I like a croissant to be nice and flaky and i really appreciated what i got.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 27, 2018

    9.6
    Best quality hotel we have found in Birmingham
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Location is a little away from touristy bits but only a 10 minute walk away

    Staff were all amazing, all areas of the hotel were very clean & the restaurant & bar very good. The Spa was excellent & pool / jacuzzi / steam room excellent. Nice big well stocked rooms with comfy beds. We have stayed at a few of the quality chain hotels in Birmingham as our kids do dance + Cheer competitions in the various arenas. The Marriott is not as conveniently located as others, but is well worth being an extra 5 minutes away. An excellent hotel that we will stay in exclusively from now on. Try it and see for yourself... PS Very child friendly!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 27, 2018

    9.2
    Marriott Birmingham stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The pillows were far too soft for me personally but that is obviously a personal opinion.

    A great position just far enough away from the Broad Street to be quiet but close enough for a 5 minute wander to the restaurants and bars. Breakfast was lovely with plenty of friendly attentive staff floating around to help if needed.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 22, 2018

    8.5
    Rooms very spacious and very comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bedroom windows are sealed up, and would not be easily broken in the event of a fire. For this reason I would not stay here again.

    Rooms very spacious and very comfortable. Staff very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 20, 2018

    7.1
    Marriott break
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Rather annoyed because of a £13 parking charge per night, considering it was on the hotels grounds.

    It was a lovely hotel, rooms were very large clean and warm.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 19, 2018

    9.6
    Great space great location feel good place
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No fridge in room No bathrobe in a spa hotel room Food not all that in restaurant.

    Nice staff. Great bath. Room felt nice to be in Location fab Nice hot chocolate Glass water bottles

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 19, 2018

    9.6
    The Spa makes this hotel even more worth the stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We got lost trying to find the hotel with the one way systems and building in the city centre, Although this is out of the hotels control, better signs in place would be beneficial to someone who doesn't know the area. We didn't like not being able to open the window at all and felt a bit trapped at times but the rest of the hotel made up for this.

    The staff are very friendly and welcoming and cant do enough for you. Breakfast was lovely with plenty of choice for everyone's taste. The Spa was lovely and Jacuzzi was the best we have ever seen and very powerful, worked wonders on my husbands Arthritis. The room was clean and very comfortable and had all the basics required along with a very large TV.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 19, 2018

    9.2
    Have stayed here for 3 years yearly and like it
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Parking charge notification. Having booked through booking.com 4 rooms at over £1000 I didn’t expect yo be hit with a £78 extra bill to park our 3 cars for the weekend. This charge needs to be bolder in the app with a yes/no request . Was not charged last year for same stay

    Peaceful,location just away from noisy centre,spa facilities excellent.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 18, 2018

    8.8
    All in all another good decision to stay at the Marriott, will use again, thank you.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing we didn't like

    Reception staff very helpful and accommodating. Good welcome when going for breakfast. Food at breakfast, plentiful, tasty and all staff very attentive even though very busy. Comfortable bed and facilities in bedroom meets the standard required. Due to the snow we decided to stay an extra night which the reception staff were very helpful and found us a room.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 16, 2018

    10
    We travelled as a group celebrating a birthday with six...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We travelled as a group celebrating a birthday with six teenagers - we were looked after really well. The Birthday girl was treated to a dessert with a birthday message on it. We were situated really well, all three rooms together. Breakfast was wonderful. The star was Winnie house keeping manager who went above and beyond to accommodate us. Thank you Birmingham Marriott and thank you Winnie

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 16, 2018

    7.5
    Room was very comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Parking was a lottery for staying guests which was difficult when travelling from a long distance. The wardrobe door was off its hinges which was not good.

    Room was very comfortable

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 15, 2018

    7.1
    disappointing
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The dinner could have been hotter. Soup was luke warm. Steaks were not hot. Was not aware that there was a parking charge of 13.00 a night even after paying 209.00 for 2 night stay.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 15, 2018

    8.8
    Very comfortable overnight business stay
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Restaurant food was good, but prices were relatively high Quite tricky to find entrance to car park (on busy one way system)

    The Staff I met were all excellent (front desk, restaurant, breakfast, Leisure Club) Pool areas good Room very spacious, with good well-lit desk facility at which to work Classic "Marriott" feel about the hotel

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 3, 2018

    6.3
    Good central location for city centre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Pool not suitable for young children unless fully supervised. Changing rooms need modernising.

    Good central location for city centre. Room suitable for family of 4. Good selection on buffet breakfast.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 26, 2018

    7.9
    Room was nice, staff extremely friendly and helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Would have liked robes and slippers available as we used the pool - was annoying that we had to get dressed after a swim as didn't want to walk back to room in a towel!

    Room was nice, staff extremely friendly and helpful

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 26, 2018

    9.2
    The hotel was gorgeous and the facilities were really good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The hotel was gorgeous and the facilities were really good. The spa was lovely however there was an issue with trying to get robes etc but otherwise was perfect. Would really recommended. I went on a girls spa weekend but its suited for couples etc

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 25, 2018

    10
    Had everything we needed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room a little small compared to our previous room in Marriot Sunderland at same category but overall great

    Staff so friendly and attentive Great service

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 19, 2018

    9.6
    Nice comfy stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Picky - another chair in the room would have been nice.

    Comfy bed, lovely fluffy towels and quality toiletries. Nice shower, clean room. Very nice breakfast.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 19, 2018

    9.2
    Fabulous visit, my husband and I enjoyed ourselves immensely.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My only criticism would be that the pool changing room needs a makeover and the scrambled eggs at breakfast left a little to be desired - I'd go for the freshly made fried eggs at the hot plate stand in future!

    Fabulous visit, my husband and I enjoyed ourselves immensely. We even got a small 30th birthday treat delivered to the room. We enjoyed a late night swim in the pool and were the only swimmers at that time.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 18, 2018

    8.3
    Comfortable, conveniently located hotel, with friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Food service in bar in the evening was very slow - difficult when staying with hungry, impatient children.

    Great breakfast and pool/gym facilities.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 18, 2018

    10
    I enjoyed the jacuzzi, swimming pool and steam room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room was very clean, the bed was comfortable, I liked the fact I could connect my Bluetooth to the tv and listen to music.

    I enjoyed the jacuzzi, swimming pool and steam room.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 17, 2018

    8.8
    Excellent location, clean and very comfortable, great facilities. Just sort our your breakfast staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Staff at breakfast were awful. Often Not present. Had to chase coffee 3 times and took nearly 10 mins to get a cup. Chef on the omelette bar wasn't about for 10 mins so had to wait

    Clean and comfy

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 14, 2018

    7.1
    Lovely hospitality but food in bar was poor and room was stuffy
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Food was overpriced in the bar for the overall quality which was poor. Room was stuffy and airless - we all slept poorly.

    Staff were very friendly and helpful and welcoming

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 8, 2018

    6.3
    OK overall but not the best
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    When we arrived my booking wasn't correct on their computer and they tried to charge me nearly £50 extra then what I'd booked on line luckly I'd printed my confirmation off to show them. Also we were not informed at check in that the boiler hadn't been working all morning so when we arrived we had a knock at the door for someone to have a look at the thermostat, we was also told when we arrived down at the pool that it was going to be cold but it would warm up within the next couple of hours, unfortunately we didn't have that time to wait...

    The staff on breakfast duty was very friendly and welcoming and the cleaner was happy to help when we couldn't get onto our room to start with.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: February 6, 2018

    7.5
    The room is spacious and clean.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room is not entirely dark at night probably due to the spot lights on the building exterior wall.

    The room is spacious and clean. Very quiet and peaceful.

    Stayed in February 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Birmingham Marriott Hotel Traveler Photo Gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: