Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Bishops Guest Accommodation 5 stars

135 Holgate Road, York, YO24 4DF, United Kingdom

#18 of 89 B&Bs and Inns in York

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 424 hotel reviews

9.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.7

  • Comfort

    9.5

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    9.3

  • Staff

    9.7

  • Value for money

    9.1

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2018

    10
    Very relaxing and enjoyable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really, it's what we wanted in the right location and we will be going back.

    Room was spacious and comfortable as was the en-suite, staff very friendly, breakfast was an excellent choice and well presented. Good location only a 10 minute walk from York city centre.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    10
    If we return to York this will be our first choice!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were absolutely fantastic, very accommodating and really went the extra mile. We were served by the young lady and she had a wealth of knowledge about the surrounding area and the best bits to visit (even which parts of the York castle walls / battlements to walk on for the best views). The hotel was perfect and breakfast scrumptious, couldn’t fault a thing!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    7.1
    A good choice for a fairly late booking
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Didn't actually see any staff except at breakfast but they were very nice and the food was good. I found the stairs difficult as I have arthritis so another time I would like a ground or first floor room

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2018

    10
    Amazing
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    All staff extremely friendly, extremely accommodating nothing seems to be a problem for them. They think of everything toothbrush and tooth paste in each room with a lot of other nice added touches. Amazing place to stay - second time staying with Debora & Marco and would highly recommend this little gem of a guesthouse.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    6.3
    Break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very small too hot even with fan Expensive not 5 star more 3 Floor not hoovered three days there Came down again and stayed in Hilton Hampton far better value

    Location Staff good

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    9.6
    everything is perfect,Yorkshire traditional style...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Four Poster Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wi-Fi speed is not fast enough.

    everything is perfect,Yorkshire traditional style decoration(I guess),lovely place to stay in York. The staff are very friendly and warm-hearted. All in all, highly recommended!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    6.3
    Room 1.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Four Poster Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room 1. The bed mattress was like sleeping on a slab of concrete, so hard. The noise from traffic kept us awake then when we did fall asleep we where woken up by the traffic.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    9.6
    Only stayed one night but it was clean comfortable and very homely, will definitely be back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff were very friendly and welcoming. Room was spotless and very comfortable. Parking on-site a real bonus and only a short walk into town. The breakfast was delicious.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    9.2
    satisfactory
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 10 nights

    the fact that the owner did not think our booking with booking.com included breakfast. the printed receipt from booking.com indicated that meals were excluded even though the website indicated that an 'exceptional breakfast' was included! the owner agreed to provide breakfast.

    excellent breakfast. good off-street parking. walking distance to city centre.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    9.6
    Our room was clean, spacious, decorated beautifully and very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was clean, spacious, decorated beautifully and very comfortable. The freshly prepared breakfast was delicious and generous. The staff were friendly and attentive. We really enjoyed our stay at Bishops.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    10
    Very glad we chose Bishops Guest House. Will come again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really.

    Really nice characterful guest house, just a short walk from the centre of York. Really welcoming hosts and clean, cosy, comfortable rooms. Excellent breakfast as well.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    10
    One night at Bishops accommodation
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing everything was absolutely lovely.

    Everything was lovely, the staff were very friendly, the place was very clean and tidy with lots of old decor to gaze at and smile.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    9.6
    Lovely stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    a bit of a walk to the centre (about 1 km)

    Lovely, spacious room. Everything spotless clean. Very comfortable beds. Although the B&B is located at a busy road, the room was very quiet. Host and staff are very friendly. The breakfast is magnificant! We would definitely recommend this place!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    9.2
    Excellent stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Four Poster Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit of walk to the centre for a three year old, but the bus was convenient.

    Bathroom was very clean! Bathtub was a plus. Nice homemade breakfast. The staffs were friendly.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    10
    Great place to go if you like history.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was no dislikes at all enjoyed the 3 nights we were stayed,what an amazing place to visit,the open top bus tour is a must so must history.

    everything was to our taste,good food, lovely people who own the property,made to feel very welcome, also the easy bus service to city centre run every 10 mins,no need to use the car at all excellent.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2018

    8.8
    Alternative to a hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room was right at the top of the B&B, about four flights of stairs. It was a hot day so all of the heat rose up to our room during the day and night. A fan was provided which did help matters a bit.

    Off street parking.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    5.8
    Adequate but not good enough to entice us to return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was only available from 8-9am which is limited and early when you are on holiday. The breakfast was adequate but not memorable as we have experienced elsewhere. The inference was that clients had to fit in with the owners thoughts rather than the other way round. Wouldn’t necessarily return.

    The room although modest in size was comfortable. It was possible to walk in and the free parking is great for the duration of the stay.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    10
    Fabulous
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very clean. Great facilities. Location is fantastic. Breakfast was great and the staff were very welcoming and helpful. Off street parking was an added bonus. Will definitely be back

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    10
    Bishops will be my first choice when l visit York again.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Marco was very helpful and friendly. The bed was a good size for a single and was very comfortable. Convenience- the property was only a short walk from the city centre. The full Yorkshire breakfast was excellent and was locally sourced.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    10
    Fabulous accommodation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing we didn't like.

    Great value for money, staff were very friendly and helpful. Extremely comfortable bed, we've been travelling for 6 weeks and it was the best nights sleep we've had! Room was well set up with everything needed, lovely lounge to sit and watch TV or read instead of having to lay or sit on bed. Breakfast was gave excellent choices. A fabulous place to stay, if ever we are back this way again we would definitely stay here and we be recommending it to fellow travellers!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    9.6
    Overall excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a lot of information in the room and couldn't find the wifi password, but none of that was really a big issue but I'm sure it was somewhere I didn't look 🤔😊

    The room was very comfortable and clean, the choice of breakfast offered was excellent. We wouldn't hesitate to stay there again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    10
    Highly recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely nothing.

    Everything. I like small and friendly with a traditional look and feel. This accommodation has this plus comfort, warmth and great location without the over priced commercial feel. Easy check in/out. Great tips on where to go. Good choice of breakfast menu. Bonus free parking.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    9.6
    Fantastic place to stay...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The owners & staff were terrific, extremely helpful in regards to what to see in and around the city, couldn't fault our room or the breakfasts, location is fantastic, an easy walk to the centre of town!!!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    8.3
    Weekend break with my sister
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No real negatives - If I was to stay again I would probably ask for a room at the back because of the road noise. It wasn’t that much of a problem though and wouldn’t put me off staying again.

    Very comfy and tastefully decorated room. Hosts and staff very welcoming. Lovely breakfast with lots of choice. I would recommend this guest house.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    10
    The best option for a stay in York
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing we didn’t like, we couldn’t fault it!

    Breakfast, clean, quiet, friendly staff. Although a short walk into York centre, we preferred the location as it was really quiet. Would definitely stay again if we were to come to York again

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    9.6
    Service in all areas was very good lovely staff and friendly...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No marmit on offer at breakfast haha,

    Service in all areas was very good lovely staff and friendly arival was show to our room,and one of the best sleeps we both have had in a long time.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    7.1
    Good location, clean & comfortable would definitely stay again
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn’t have wi-fi password in the room which would have been helpful. No TV reception in my room. Shower ok but not great seemed low water pressure. I didn’t have an opportunity to speak to anybody about these issues.

    Spotlessly clean and comfortable. Nice arrange of complimentary refreshment tray and toiletries. Fabulous breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    9.6
    Comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was disappointed that breakfast only run for just one hour only, because that meant we had to get up early in case we missed it. My husband and I felt it could have run between 8 till 10 for two hours as all he’s and breakfasts I have stayed in do.

    Very clean and quiet and little touches like toothbrush and miniature paste is great with packet of boiled sweet and tea n coffee facilities

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    9.6
    Lovely relaxing weekend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    N/A All good

    It was a lovely guest house very clean and a lovely well cooked breakfast the host's were really nice and caring.The bed was very comfortable with nice good quality bedding, nice white fluffy towels in the shower room and plenty of hot water.We stayed in a normal double room which was at the back of the house it was a really quiet room over looking the garden.It was about 15 minutes walk in to town which we don't mind at all.There was also a small bar in the lounge area which you could use if you wanted to.We would recommend and stay again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    9.6
    It is a family-run business which they seem to care a lot.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    My room was on top floor and I found water pressure a bit low. I addressed the issue and one of the owners promptly came to check and seemed to fix it but it was not fixed. However, to be fair, it was not their fault. I think, sometimes, water pressure can be an issue for a few locations. I have faced similar issues in a few posh locations in London! It is also possible I had somewhat unreasonably high expectations.

    Warm and friendly hospitality Attentive owners Spick and span Fresh breakfast and good coffee (!) Beautiful property with a lovely garden Very quiet atmosphere despite the fact that it is located on a busy street. Debra knows a lot about York and its surroundings, esp. its restaurants, so she makes excellent suggestions. Discussing my plans with her was very helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    8.3
    I would definitely recommend to others.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I would definitely recommend to others. The room was Lovely and clean with a short walk into the centre, i will without a doubt be staying here again if I come to visit York again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    10
    Friendly, clean, warm and welcoming.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A lovely guest house, beautifully kept and warm and welcoming. Our rooms were newly decorated and immaculate. Breakfast was delicious with a great choice of food. Would definitely visit again.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    9.6
    Lovely staff, amazing place, felt welcome upon arrival.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Shower was small, I dont think its ideal for tall people, also it seemed a little weak. (minor issue), bathroom is general was small actually. however this is a minor im sure the building is very old.

    (SUPERIOR DOUBLE) Greeted on arrival from manager, provided us with excellent customer service and made us feel welcome, very knowledgeable about the area and provided us with a tour guide map of York, showed us different routes into the City Centre and what was nearby. Breakfast was lovely, plenty of choice from the menu. Wifi speeds was okay, didnt have the best connection from top floor but it did the job. Plug sockets next to the bed! A TV that swivels so you can view from sofa bed / bed. Would definitely come here again!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    9.2
    A comfortable and pleasant surprise. A real alternative to the big branded hotels
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A fridge in the room

    Big room, very well furnished, great breakfast choices and quality presentation. Free parking and wifi Good bus service to town needed as York centre difficult for parking

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    10
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The attention to detail and the coziness. The lady who checked us in treated us like friends and went out of her way to explain stuff. She’s worth her weight in gold to the guest house owners because she obviously cares for the business like it’s her own.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    10
    A very enjoyable experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The very friendly hosts and staff, made our stay more enjoyable. The breakfast choice was excellent and cooked to perfection. The room was warm and very clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    10
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The sofa in the room we had (because it was a sofa bed) was a little uncomfortable.

    We really liked the location... not too close to the town but far enough away to be able to walk in. The service, food and room (as a whole) were excellent

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    10
    Just a short walk from the city walls pubs and restaurants. So much to see we will definitely be bac
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly owners very nice room and a good breakfast. The owner then allowed us to use the parking the following day as they did not have full occupancy ,very kind of her.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    10
    Fantastic, value for money with best ever breakfast. Highly recommended.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, it was pretty much perfect!

    The welcome was warm without being intrusive and the friendly, no problem attitude of Deborah and Marco should be a lesson to every B&B owner. The house was warm, immaculately clean and so relaxing. The room was lovely, with a squashy sofa and a television that turned to face either the sofa or the bed. The tea tray contained various types of top quality coffee, tea and biscuits. The breakfast, all locally sourced and freshly prepared for everyone individually was the best I have ever eaten, even in 5 star hotels. We were staying for our wedding anniversary during a particularly bad snow storm but we couldn't have chosen better. A twenty minute walk into York or £1 on the bus from just outside meant we also couldn't fault the location, especially as we had free parking! We loved everything about Bishops. Thank you Deborah and Marco. We hope to visit again soon.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    10
    Very good stay, slept really well in that comfy bed! Love York!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Strange stain in centre of bed cover.

    The bed was very comfy, even more than the one we have at home! The sheets were wonderfully soft. The room was lovely and warm and so was the bathroom, even the bathroom floor, which was great as it was -4 outside and packed out with snow. Shower was the best ever. Scrummy breakfast, lovely hosts. Very close to Centre and free parking on their drive.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    10
    Lovely guest house, nice big clean room really comfy bed and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely guest house, nice big clean room really comfy bed and nicely decorated. The owner was very welcoming and breakfast lovely would definitely stay again

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    10
    Great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast finished a little early (9am ) would have liked it to be until 10am

    Staff very lovely,welcoming and good knowledge of area. Near town centre Room really nice in our own little flat Clean Comfy beds

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    10
    Perfect in every way. We will be back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Clean,friendly and very accommodating outstanding Victorian property. A fantastic find. Top Breakfast vast choice. Highly recommended bed and breakfast.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    9.6
    A great plsce to stay when visiting this lovely city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The duvet was only just the size of the bed and thus tended to not quite cover you, unless you lay very still.

    Lovey building with the décor fresh but still in keeping with the building. Private parking so close to the City centre was a real bonus. Breakfast was excellent and the few staff we encountered were very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    9.6
    Amazing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. Can not fault the hotel or staff in fact anything it was all spot on.

    Everything was spot on. Amazing value for money and will 100% be back. Staff was so polite and welcoming, Breakfast was beautiful and the room was spotless. 10/10

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    10
    A Fabulous Mini Break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    At Bishops we received a very warm welcome from our hosts. They also provided us with a map and information on where to head in York. Our room was spacious, clean and comfortable. The property is very tastefully decorated. There is ample parking and it is only a 15 to 20 minute walk into the Centre of York so no need for the car. The breakfast was delicious with plenty of choice on the menu.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    9.6
    An ideal location that met my need to be near the location for a Rotary District meeting.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I have arthritic knees so climbing two flights of stairs was a challeng.

    Very welcoming and helpful staff. Excellent breakfast. Parking facilities were excellent.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    9.2
    A Lovely weekend with fantastic accommodation
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We couldn't fault the accommodation in any way, but found we could book at considerably cheaper price direct with owner rather than booking.com which was frustrating. We were charged a full adult rate by Booking.com for our five year old despite putting all relevant info in on guests at the search and booking stage. Book direct with owners-they are lovely!

    A real home from home with a lovely friendly feel. We stayed with our five year old daughter and nothing was too much trouble. Room lovely and breakfast was spot on! Easy walk into York and all main attractions.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    7.9
    Definitely somewhere would go back to
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was quite cold. Shower power very weak. Tight parking; blocked in twice. Confusion as to whether breakfast included in price - meant extra cost not anticipated.

    Very friendly & helpful welcome - lots of information about local area. Comfortable bed. Lots of storage space in room. Lots of toiletries - everything you could need.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    10
    Lovely , comfortable , value for money
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was lovely. Staff were amazing! Room was lovely, homely and clean. Stayed with a friend for a girly weekend and this was a perfect location. Could also be really romantic for a couple. Would definitely reccomend.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    9.6
    Perfect for our needs for a short break in york
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The complementary snacks in the room and the toiletries were much better and better thought about than is often the case in other accommodation, much appreciated.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    8.3
    Quick York stop over.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed a little too soft for us, but that's being picky.

    Off road free parking The best Full English breakfast ever tasted. With excellent coffee. Great host.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    9.6
    Very comfortable bed and excellent breakfast;
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Water pressure in the shower was very poor in room 8; possibly due to the "shower rush hour" in the mornings.

    Very comfortable bed and excellent breakfast; very friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    10
    Well worth it's 5 star rating!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff we very friendly from the moment we arrived offering advice on local attractions, how to get around York whether by bus or on foot. The breakfast was just as the reviews had said - excellent full English or the continental, lots to offer and alternatives if you had any dietary food needs. The hotel has been kept to it's original features but also mixed with modern facilities it really is a lovely comfortable hotel. I would definitely book again!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    10
    Opulent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing everything was amazing.

    Warm welcome with a phone call before we arrived at the home candles lit around the reception and hallways was a lovely welcome we loved on a windy and rainy afternoon. Highest quality of bed and bathroom linen, room furnishings and decorations. Tea tray was well stocked with extra special treats like Yorkie and Yorkshire Mixture which lovely. Owners are friendly and clearly love their business. Breakfast was outstanding high quality produce used. I didn't want for anything no faults what's so ever were identified.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    10
    Excellent 5stars plus !!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Four Poster Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything about the people and place

    Very comfortable nice area pleasant 15 minute walk to centre staff very attentive couldn't do enough for us room excellent every thing catered for right down to shoe cleaning breakfast more than I could ask for I can't recommend this place any higher it was wonderful and very enjoyable

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    10
    FANTASTIC STAY WOULD HIGHLY RECOMMEND IT
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    NOTHING REALLY. I HAVE BOOKED A LARGER ROOM FOR THE NEXT STAY

    THE ROOM WAS VERY CLEAN, THE BED WAS VERY COMFORTABLE. THE BREAKFAST WAS EXCELLANT OFFERED A GREAT VARIETY. THE STAFF WERE LOVELY

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    10
    Great place to stay for the perfect short city break.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing to dislike - one of the best B&Bs we have stayed in.

    Lovely spacious room including everything just as advertised. Friendly hosts. Really good breakfasts with a great selection of options. Within comfortable walking distance of the city (15-20 minutes) and frequent buses from just across the road if we wanted. Excellent parking provision - we abandoned our car for the whole time and you really don't want to be driving in York, though York is awesome!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    5.8
    The property looks nice from the outside and the reception...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was not 100% clean when I arrived. The toilet was the most obvious. The paint was peeling away from the wall directly next to the bed and above it. When I arrived the owners young relative arrived at the same time and was incredibly rude.

    The property looks nice from the outside and the reception desk staff were pleasant enough. The room was serviced every day and fresh towels, tea, coffee and snacks were replenished. Although the bed seemed hard at first it was very comfortable and the room was very quiet at night leading to a good night sleep.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    9.2
    Enjoyable weekend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a good 15 minutes walk to the city walls and then about another 5/10 minutes to sightseeing spots.

    What a beautiful B & B. The staff were very friendly. Our room was very stylish and comfortable. It was spotlessly clean and the breakfast was delicious.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    10
    Stay in York was - in a word - too short!!
    • Family with young children
    • Basic Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing I can fault!!

    The property was exceptional. The cleanest I think I have ever stayed in. The staff were very friendly yet professional to the last detail. I would highly recommend - an absolute first class find.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    9.2
    A great stay and fantastic people would stay again (hopefully breakfast times are extended)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Four Poster Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I would like to see the breakfast dining times extended from 8 till 9 to 8 till 10

    The owners and staff are really friendly and cant do enough to help. the rooms are spotless and super cosy.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    10
    We really enjoyed a very restful stay at Bishop's - a quiet haven away from the bustle of the city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was a little dark and perhaps smaller than we would have liked but every effort was made to make us as comfortable as possible. We had large suitcases which the proprietors stored for us to give more space.

    The beds were very comfortable. The bathroom was very well equipped with easy walk in shower, and toiletries.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    10
    Very enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything was excellent.. enjoyed our full English breakfast.. just the thing for a busy day.. staff very helpful told us places to visit.. thank you all

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    7.1
    Close but no cigar
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower poor, no water pressure, no shelf to put toothbrush or toiletries. Mattresses / beds rickety and poor quality. Light shining through curtains waking us up early. Lot's of stairs no help with baggage up to top floor. Furniture not up to what you would expect for the style of property or price charged, particularly in the dining room. Bacon hard to chew so left it, maybe cooked earlier and kept warm? In general, does not quite make the grade for the price they charge in my opinion.

    Room, nice wallpaper, good size Breakfast, porridge & conserves Hotel, location, style of building, high ceilings, parking spaces

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    10
    GREAT STAY IN YORK.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    NOTHING

    I have stayed here before, and it is a great place to stay, the owners are very friendly and helpful, there are some great pubs in York like the Ackhorne which is a great little pub and very friendly, i went to Malton on the Saturday and it is a good place to visit, the royal oak pub is a good pub, so is chapter two (BUT DON'T BUY A SWEEPER THERE !!) Went to Knaresborough which a great little village, i would recommend the cross keys just off the market square.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    7.9
    A good property to stay at for easy foot access into York.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Four Poster Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Thickest duvets on bed that we have ever experienced - not ideal for mid-summer ! No-one around to say "goodbye" to, as too busy in kitchen.

    Room (four poster) quite pleasant with adequate space for two people. Location very good for access, on foot, to city centre.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    9.6
    Really enjoyed would go again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Four Poster Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    WE thought there was a bar on the premises which there wasn't.

    People not far from town walk or catch the bus .The was a lovely park just down the road maybe 5-10 minutes

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    8.8
    Very friendly hosts, and they provided good information about the local sights.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Basic Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We were traveling heavy, and getting our bags to the top floor was a bit of a chore, but we managed. Aside from that, it was great.

    Very good breakfast. Property is about a 15 minute walk from the downtown area.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    9.2
    Glad we chose this guesthouse
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The 3 flights of stairs to walk up to the room. The bed was too soft for my personal choice.

    Overall a very pleasant stay in a lovely guest house. Staff excellent, breakfast provided and all amenities were top notch. It's about a mile and half walk into York centre, but an easy pleasant walk. Room very clean. Very quiet. Would recommend and stay again.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    9.2
    A good place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The attic room was well equipped with iron, board, fan, etc. The breakfast was good and the staff pleasant and helpful. However if you have trouble climbing stairs, don't get a 2nd floor room.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    10
    Great rooms, warm welcome
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Four Poster Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Took my 9yr old son to see the beautiful city of York. We have the best time staying at Bishops. Evie looked after us and made us felt so welcome and told us all the best sights to see and how to get there. We had a fantastic room with a lovely view of the garden and the breakfast is amazing. Booked up already for October :)

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    10
    Well done 👍🏻
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/A

    The levels of service very good and so helpful the house booked our restaurants for us,also a taxi when we wanted it. Well done they went that extra mile Food was good and a lovely restaurant to eat our breakfast, overlooking the garden No trouble parking and the walking into York was enjoyable,very good tour we pre booked to the Dales also good We shall go again Annette Terry Howton

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    10
    Stunning place to stay...vest in York
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Four Poster Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing...perfect.

    Beautiful room, great food, Marco, Deborah and all the staff could not have been more helpful. Bishops is a stunning B&B and a must stay location.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    7.5
    The bed was so comfy.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Four Poster Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I arrived the doorbell didn't work and the two phone numbers were off.. I sat outside for almost half an hour before somebody randomly turned up..

    The bed was so comfy... the sheets and pillows. . It was like sleeping on clouds

    Stayed in May 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: