Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Bishopsgate House Hotel 3 stars

54 Castle Street, Beaumaris, LL58 8BB, United Kingdom

#6 of 8 B&Bs and Inns in Beaumaris

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 288 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    8.3

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    8.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2018

    8.8
    Great stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Personally the duvet was very thick and the room too warm but I appreciate this is personal taste, as our room was on the road at the front of the hotel I was reluctant to open the window.

    Staff were very friendly and accommodating. The room was beautiful and clean and the little touches made the visit extra special.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2018

    5.8
    Excellent restaurant,food very good(dinner and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bedroom 3 allocated cheaper to booking.com wear a crash helmet!,Room is shaped into an apex in roof.Mind your head and be prepared to stoop. Book direct with hotel,for an extra £9.00 you will be allocated a very nice room.

    Excellent restaurant,food very good(dinner and breakfast)lounge very nice.Hotel very good. Hotel recommended.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2018

    10
    The hotel was lovely and quaint, perfect location the room...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was lovely and quaint, perfect location the room was amazing spacious comfortable bed and a jacuzzi bath The breakfast was fab and the staff were friendly and helpful

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2018

    7.5
    Birthday stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Last came here in 1987 and stayed in the same room. Nothing had changed apart from the TV so Hotel requires some updating. Untidy reception area affecting first impressions

    Very friendly and helpful staff. Boutique Hotel charm with a very comfortable bed and nice extra touches such as real coffee and sherry in the room

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    9.2
    Excellent short break, pity about the weather
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No hand rail on or adjacent to bath for anyone older who finds stepping in and out of bath difficult. ( shower is over bath).

    Newly refurbished comfortable room with view and friendly staff. Good food in restaurant.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    7.1
    I would not go back until the place has had a face lift.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The whole place needs updating, especiallythe bathroom, we stayed in room 1 there were odd tiles in the shower (not matching) the waste pipe from the sink to the shower are linked when the sink is emptied the water comes up in the shower, not great! the bath panel was lose and not alined properly, and a drape over the table was dirty.

    For the money we paid this was a pleasant stay,

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2018

    8.3
    It was alright
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My idea of a deluxe room & theirs is a completely different thing. All photos booking.com show 4 poster beds however we were given room 1 which doesn't come with a 4 poster bed. This was rectified as soon as possible.

    The staff were all exceptional.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    7.1
    A pleasant stay. Very enjoyable evening dining.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We didn't get the room we thought we had booked but we're in a very cramped room in the attic up a lot of stairs. This is due to booking with Booking.com instead of direct with the hotel.

    Good breakfast, plenty of choice.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    7.9
    It was a very good location for the Beaumaris Food and Drink Festival
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Would have been nice to have been asked if we wanted to help ourselves to cereals, yogurts , croissants and juice, instead of just being asked 'what can I get you' when we sat down. I had to say, 'do you do juice?' and was told yes, but not then told yes and we have cereals etc etc. We weren't offered jam or marmalade with the toast, but I could see others had it on their tables.

    Bed was very comfy, breakfast good quality ingredients

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    9.2
    Can’t wait to return
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to grumble about Look forward to returning

    Room lovely comfortable bed nice veiw of the sea, Breakfast excellent I’m a vegetarian and well catered for Staff helpful and pleasant nothing to much trouble

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    7.5
    It was like stepping back in time.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was like stepping back in time. Definitely not a modern hotel. Needs a bit of TLC but that just adds to the charm. The staff were lovely and helpful. Breakfast was lovely

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    10
    A fabulous hotel, great location and lovely staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The comfiest bed I have ever slept in. The staff were so friendly and helpful and the hotel was exceptionally clean. I loved the tea/coffee tray in the room, gorgeous biscuits. Great artisan bakery just around the corner too.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    8.3
    Old fashioned but clean and comfortable hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room and bathroom a little dated but more than adequate. Evening menu a bit pricey but very enjoyable

    Location for motorcycling event on Anglesey. Comfortable residents lounge,, comfortable bed, easy chairs in room. Good range of pubs and restaurants within walking distance. Breakfast -lots of choice and nicely cooked and presented

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    9.6
    Bedroom was very compact, it had everything you would need.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing I didn’t like was the height of the bed !! I am a 68yr 5ft woman !! And I found it hard too get into.

    Bedroom was very compact, it had everything you would need. A full length mirror was ideal, so many hotels don’t provide them. The dining room was lovely and the service was excellent.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    8.3
    A welcoming hotel convenient to town and beach and an enjoyable stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bed was extremely comfortable and presented beautifully with snowy white bedding. There was plenty of storage and the tea/coffee facilities were thoughtful and generous. Thank you for the lovely chocolate!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    7.9
    Pleasant stay in good location with nice restaurant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was in the attic which was quaint but low beams & double (not King) bed. Bathroom & some towels etc were tired. Would have been nice to have been offered fresh milk for room. Very poor choice of beer in bar.

    Pleasant hotel. From our bed we could see Beaumaris pier. Nice breakfast & dinner with good food. Comfortable lounge & bar area

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    9.6
    Great stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great stay. Very nice and personal staff, good restaurant. A very nice touch I found the book in which all reservation were noted in writing, very authentic. Nice litte village with a very old castle.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    6.7
    Good aspects made up for disappointing room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room very small with very small window not allowing much air in ( particularly in very hot weather ), smelt musty.

    Friendly staff. Good breakfast.Excellent position near seafront.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    10
    Nice stay, friendly and professional staff,
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing I did not like about the property, filled all our spectations to the full, will book again.

    Clean and friendly, in a perfect location to pubs and restaurants

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    4.6
    I will not be returning
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room very small and too warm. Generally hotel well past its best. Inadequate access to power socket. TV did not work. WIFI very poor. No desk in room. Hotel not suited to a business stay.

    Hotel location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    6.7
    Comfortable friendly hotel with good service and food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Some noise - street outside, macerator in bathroom (no problem to me as only operated when in bathroom but must have disturbed other guests?), reception a bit close to room.

    Convenient private parking, short walk to pier with lovely views., nice room, good restaurant

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    8.8
    Happy with our stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Always a risk with a small old hotel, but the roof space in our room was very limited. To be fair it did say this when we booked, but several sore head bumps on the converging beams in our room, room 3, we worked round it not being in the rooms much, and we are not particularly tall, but could be a big problem for others. Hence the lower ratings on this aspect of our stay.

    Breakfast service and food was excellent. Nice atmosphere in the hotel. We did not eat or drink in the hotel other than breakfast. Staff were lovely and friendly, nice and welcoming.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    5.8
    Disappointingly expensive, not good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    On arrival we were told we were in an inadequate room, and if we had booked with the hotel direct, we wouldn't have been put in it. No point in Booking.com. We were 2 floors up, no lift and we are elderly. The room was an attic type room with very low ceilings over half the room. Being quite tall, i inevitably banged my head several times, I was not happy. The shower/toilet was quite small, and with the shower cubicle door shut, very difficult to wash easily. The price of £90 per night, was, in my mind, extortionate. The rest of the hotel was tired and jaded, with frayed and worn stair carpet. Could do with some TLC

    The staff were friendly and helpful. The breakfast was very good, with plenty of choice

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    9.6
    Lovely freindly hotel with excellant food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Towels not really large enough. Milk wasn't replaced in room for making own tea. very hard to get in and out of tiny car park with large jeep !

    Food excellent nice to have fresh cooked breakfast not buffet ! Very friendly welcoming staff. Good comfortable rooms

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    8.8
    Excellent short stay location in a beautiful area. Would return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bathroom sink tap moved when turned off.

    The whole ambience was excellent. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Food was excellent. Bed was very comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    9.2
    Central Location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room a little dated, but in keeping with the hotel decor. Room and bathroom clean. Wouldn’t hesitate staying again.

    Central Location. Great little window seat in room 3

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    8.3
    short stay with american friends
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bar prices were a little on the expensive side,

    Nice room, although I had to be careful sometimes not to bump my head on the eaves. Very spacious bathroom with bath and walk in shower. Breakfast very good, good quality bacon and sausages. hotel in excellent location in centre of town. and convenient to visit more of the island. Didn't eat in the restaurant as the menu didn't suit all members of our party.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    10
    Thoroughly enjoyable experience, with well-appointed rooms and superb food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Maybe use a different coffee, but this is a very minor point.

    Food was to die for..!! The owner Hazel was a very friendly and full of local knowledge. Being only 9 rooms, it offered a very cosy and homely experience, with an excellent location on Castle Street.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    7.5
    A very short stay but fine.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Knew I would arrive very late so telephoned to check how to access my room, very helpful lady said they would leave a key under a flower pot! All went to plan and as I had to leave early they even left me some juice and snacks for breakfast - thank you.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    7.9
    Convienient for my stay, but maybe a change of bedroom might help
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room floor sloped and there was no chance of ventilation as the window did not open. The bed was on the small side for a 6 foot plus man

    Very central location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    9.2
    Bishopsgate House Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bi fold doors into bathroom which didn't exclude any sound. No suitable for tall people as there was z sloping ceiling on one side

    Staff couldn't do enough for you. Anything requested was provided. Cauliflower cheese soup w to die for

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    8.3
    Excellent stay, lovely location, second time we have used Bishopsgate
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I am concerned that a pending payment for the hotel was taken on the 6th, which the hotel told me was Booking.com and it would be cancelled, and I have also paid the hotel. Currently there are two pending payments waiting for the same booking and no clear explanation as to why.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    9.2
    Great hotel in the lovely town of Beaumaris
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Generous sized rooms, Cosy restaurant although lacked some atmosphere as not many guests present. Great breakfast with variety of choices. Fantastic location with only a minutes walk to everything in Beaumaris and on-site parking available.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    7.5
    Quirky accomodation, great staff and food
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms could be brought into this century, but overall this is a very charming hotel, and as someone who stays at chain hotels a lot with work, this made a pleasant change

    Beaumaris is a lovely place - this is a nice hotel. The food and the staff are excellent, with nothing being too much trouble. Rooms are a little tired, but the facilities are very good.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    9.2
    We had a lovely first visit to the Bishopsgate good food, staff and service. We will be back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The shower was adequate but the water pressure was not great. It is an old building with character so you have to take this into account.

    The hotel was comfortable. The breakfast was really good and freshly prepared to order. The restaurant had a good choice and the food was high quality. We really enjoyed our stay and will certainly be back.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    10
    I was traveling alone but the scale of the hotel made me feel comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was in the eaves so the occasional banged head was the result!

    The hotel has character and is conveniently placed. Bed comfortable and a good tea tray.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    10
    A great Romantic getaway with an outstanding restaurant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing to not like

    The Hotel never fails, a Huge thanks to Hazel for her outstanding care and attention to detail. Despite having a party of guests using the Restaurant, we were accommodated early and space made in the lounge to relax and enjoy coffee. The room was outstanding and the bed was the best nights sleep in ages. Many Many Thanks.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    8.3
    Would definitely recommend and will probably return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom needed attention, sealant around bath, crack in washbasin, but very clean .

    Excellent breakfast and dinner, food delicious. Bed was very comfortable, excellent nights sleep, really friendly staff, friendly homey atmosphere. Nothing too much trouble. Great location with the bonus of a hotel car park.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    6.7
    The bed was so uncomfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was so uncomfortable.it was too high and very difficult to get in. Also the base of the bed moved when you turned over making it quite dangerous.Also we didnt get any toast with our breakfast until we had finished eating.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    6.7
    Enjoyable time apart from the room
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room...we were put into an attic double room meant for one person that neither my wife or I could stand up straight in places in the room and a dreadful and tiny bathroom....as I had changed the room through booking.com to show 2 people in the room, not sure who missed the change as I did receive confirmation from booking.com to the change. Our friends had a double room which would have died for but the hotel was fully booked.

    The friendly staff, excellent breakfast and dinner, great service...cute little hotel with a good location. The manager was professional and helped us with our room issue.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    9.6
    Pleasant, friendly, good food, central
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The white bed could have done with some elbow grease, as there was old dust on the bed mouldings, but otherwise I couldn't fault the Bishopsgate.

    Recently refurbished de-luxe bedroom, spacious, with a sea view. The 4 poster bed was extra comfy, I slept through without waking. Additional Illy ground coffee supplied, very nice. Ignore the colour of the dining room, the food is excellent! Staff are courteous and offered to carry my case upstairs.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    5.0
    It was comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property needs some TLC bath sheets please towels to small Only one robe in the room . Definatley not delux room

    We had parking,we got into are room early

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    10
    Great place to stay, comfortable room and very good breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing really, just a great convenient place to stay when visiting Beaumaris and Anglesey.

    Comfortable room and friendly attentive staff. Cooked English breakfast was done to order and excellent. Only a small car park but on road parking is easy and OK until 11 am the next morning.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    5.8
    Disaster in the Attic Room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our bedroom had very low beams and we spent our time bent over, couldn't stand up straight or we would have banged our heads. If we had stayed more than one night we would have requested another room. Parking was another disaster. Not impressed at all.

    Breakfast was good. Staff was friendly.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    9.2
    Comfy, clean room and very nice breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The sliding sash windows in the room didn't seem to stay up on their own so had to prop them open, but apart from that all was good with our stay.

    We had a room with a lovely comfy four-poster bed. The shower was over the bath was but easy to access and worked well. Breakfast was cooked to order and plenty to choose from. Staff were very pleasant and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    8.8
    Friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Car parking in the hotel car parking was difficult. On 1 occassion, I had to park in the street because I couldn't get into the spare spaces

    Friendly staff

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    7.5
    Lovely location, staff and breakfast but avoid Room 3 if you dont want a head injury.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Constant smells of cooking due to the restaurant downstairs. but the breakfast was really good. Shower was temperamental. Room 3 is attic style and has a low, protruding ceiling. How it has a health and safety certificate is hard to say as you regularly crack your head no matter how careful you are.

    the staff were lovely and the bed very comfortable. The location was superb, right in the town centre on the sea front

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    8.3
    Very enjoyable and relaxing
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The Hotel did not know that I had paid for the room in advance through booking . com so I had to provide proof, which was a little embarrassing Booking . com need to make sure this information is correct for the benefit of both parties

    All very nice made to feel welcome

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    8.8
    Nice little hotel in one of the most beautiful little towns on Anglesey
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    car parking at the rear was a little challenge, the locals seemed to park on the yellow lines that made it challenging to get out but minor issue really

    a nice small hotel in a good location, staff were really helpful when i advised i needed to leave before the 8am breakfast and made sure i had a breakfast tray available. very clean with lots of character and history, the guests lounge was a nice touch with papers and mags. really good value.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    9.6
    Sunny stay in Beaumaris
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    Room 1 with four poster bed (very comfy) a homely feel with huge bathroom and nice touches with complimentary sherry and fancy nibbles. Set at the back of hotel with skylight windows but view of the lovely church. Have not been to Beaumaris for many years and was pleasantly surprised with the upbeat and modern restaurants cropping up all around town. As always fabulous views over to Snowdonia from the sea front, perfect. Make to feel very welcome at the Bishopsgate, super breakfast and parking was a bonus.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    10
    Wonderful stay, we will return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing really.

    The whole experience was wonderful. Even the loan of the proprietors rain coat my husband having left his at home thinking it was summer !!!!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    9.2
    The hotel is classy (some roooms more than others- so check ...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    very slow wi fi on the second floor

    The hotel is classy (some roooms more than others- so check beforehand the room you will be given!) and the staff very friendly and efficent. The location is unbeatable!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    7.1
    Welcoming and comfortable, but needs to improve some services.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Narrow stairs and no lift. Car park access difficult. No self-service counter at breakfast - all ordered from menu which led to forgotten order of orange juice and a lengthy wait, with two extra prompts for an indifferent croissant.

    Spacious bathroom and facilities. Generous welcome tray with sherry and chocolate (pity don't drink sherry!) Relaxed atmosphere.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    9.6
    Great hotel location in Beaumaris
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Whilst breakfast was good, I was a little disappointed that there was not a full vegetarian breakfast on offer.

    Lovely hotel in a fantastic spot. Dinner at hotel was very, very good. Staff were knowledgeable about area. Room very comfortable.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    9.6
    Good ,dog friendly, small hotel, Beaumaris.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Period property, nicely decorated to compliment the age of the building. Very convenient location situated on main street in Beaumaris. Dog friendly.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    9.2
    Excellent location and charming hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was really high and I'm not v tall so it was a bit of an effort getting in to it! (Not the hotel's fault I am on the short side to be fair!). A suggestion could be to have some useful info in the room e.g. Wifi, breakfast arrangements (the lady booking me in told me but I have a memory like a sieve), what to do in local area etc - I could not find this info if it was present in the room.

    Staff were very friendly, the property is right on the seafront in a lovely spot. Free car park and breakfast included were a bonus. Very good value for money. Lovely period wardrobe in the room. Room had all that was needed e.g. Hairdryer, tea/coffee making facilities, nice toiletries and plenty of towels. I would recommend and I would return here. Thanks for a lovely stay!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    10
    Lovely place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were very helpful and friendly.took our luggage up to the third floor.Breakfast was very good.well stocked tray in bedroom,with plenty of everything,much appreciated.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    9.6
    Lovely quirky hotel
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    My husband is disabled & we were in a room on the top floor with uneven , twisty stairs.Staff very apologetic & said if we'd booked direct with them this could have been addressed.

    Staff extremely helpful & the food in the restaurant excellent.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    9.6
    Very cosy hotel. Would certainly stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Having a room on the top floor there were two beams very low down which meant stooping when walking round part of the bedroom.

    All the little extras that were included. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The restaurant food was excellent.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    9.6
    Welcoming, friendly and comfortable.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing!

    The location in the heart of Beaumaris is wonderful, the restaurant on site is great but there are several really good ones within easy walking distance. Access to shops, boat trips, pubs, the shore etc. are all a few metres from the door. You know that you are in a very old building, (it would be difficult to find a floor level enough to store a bowling ball) but it is very well maintained and clean. Very welcoming, highly recommended .

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    6.3
    Not quite super deluxe but we still enjoyed our stay
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Advertised as dog friendly, but charged an extra £3 per day for the dog, this wasn't mentioned anywhere on website. Our room was supposed to be super deluxe, but it wasn't, the decor was a bit tired, with carpet stains and very creaky floor. And it was up on the 3rd floor, under the eaves, steep stairs, with no lift. If this had been mentioned on the hotel website, I would have requested a more accessible room. When we booked in we were told we couldn't change rooms.

    Staff were v friendly, bed was comfortable, lovely linen.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2017

    9.6
    Welcoming, friendly hotel with great food.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing. I felt welcomed.

    Wonderful hotel set in a lovely seaside location. An old building with an abundance of character, friendly smiling staff and great food - what more could you wish for?

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    9.2
    Great place with exellant food in a great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I am afraid to say the bed was very soft and sagged in the middle.

    Bishopgate was in a great location on the edge of the village and within easy walk of food outlets and attractions.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    6.7
    Ok staff but would recommend to make a few changes to decor etc.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sadly a little maintenance required to match near £100 per night paid. Breakfast portions minimal and the place is so very dark! Car park is a squeeze.

    Great location and close to everything. Staff were generally nice but not over friendly.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    9.2
    Hotel was lovely and in a great central location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel was lovely and in a great central location. Had a room on the top floor which had pretty low ceilings which was ok for me as I'm only 5'5 but a taller person would have found it a bit of a squeeze. Breakfast was great. Car park was a bit hard to find and parking was a bit tight but considering the location it was great to have parking so close to the hotel.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    8.8
    Wonderful staff, good facilities, great breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Taking a car into Beaumaris is a challenge, but Bishopgate did have a carpark--crowded and difficult, but way better than street parking.

    Hazel and her staff were wonderful. Breakfast was very good. Even refilled coffee cups.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2017

    7.5
    Charming overall
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    It would have been nice for someone to explain how to open the door and use the shower. Also, I missed the parking - I am not sure if the sign is clear enough.

    The rooms are very quirky. The staff are very friendly.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2017

    9.6
    May well return
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great location for me as I was walking the coast path and the hotel is right on it. Excellent evening meal and breakfast. Only stayed one night, may well return with my wife for a proper break.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    8.8
    breakfast was good,with plenty of choice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Carpet on the bathroom floor,I don't understand why in todays day and age why anyone would use carpet,especially around the toilet area

    breakfast was good,with plenty of choice.No complaints.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2017

    9.2
    Great hotel ,lovely staff, v good food , great staff ; would stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Slight attention to detail. Each room would benefit from a cheap and cheerful bluray player. As we booked late we had to change rooms for ths second night ( MY issue not the hotel , they shifted the diary around to accommodate us 😄) First room had a DVD player which we used late after a great meal and a few drinks , second room didn't albeit the hotel had a selection of recent dvds. Couple of defunct brackets in the en suites which needed removing , didn't like the old school toilet mats and things like a shabby radiator which needed a ten min paint job let it down ever so slightly. Each room would benefit from a mini fridge. Yeah I'm being picky , but in a constructive way. I'd stay again with no worries. Great comfortable hotel with a great atmosphere. We REALLY ENJOED OUR STAY

    Very friendly , approachable owner , great staff , good to v. Good food. Loved the querkyness of the hotel and have to say it was great value for money. Located in a fantastic spot. Unless you were a diva expecting 5* everything you couldn't want for a better stay. Mike and Leann

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2017

    9.2
    Cosy
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The window was hard to open. I did bring this to the management's attention

    Old style hotel with intriguing architectural quirkiness yet all mod cons supplied. Staff friendly and obliging. Vehicle parking nicely discrete.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    9.2
    Lovely historic building; comfortable stay; good food
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bathroom perhaps needed updating, but it's an old, historic building so there are obviously limits as to what's possible.

    Very pleasant stay. Staff helpful and friendly, room comfortable, plenty of seating available in bar and lounge area. Restaurant food was excellent and good value.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    10
    Perfect Easter Weekend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to dislike

    All of it. Staff all very pleasant and helpful...breakfast was perfect and light lunches in the bar were offered. Chocolate Easter Bunnies in bedroom was perfect and unexpected

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2017

    6.3
    Clean, decent location, slightly aloof atmosphere
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Slightly aloof atmosphere. Probably wouldn't return but no real complaints about our overnight stay.

    Clean, decent location and Amy on reception is a real asset to the business. Very helpful in informing us how to get around the island.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    10
    A delightful and relaxing romantic weekend by the sea
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The car park is a little tight for manoeuvring, fine for competent drivers but be aware if you're a little nervous behind the wheel!

    Excellent location, a minute from the sea front. Staff were lovely and re room was wonderful.

    Stayed in March 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: