Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Black Boys Inn 4 stars

Henley Road, Hurley, Marlow, SL6 5NQ, United Kingdom

#11 of 12 hotels in Marlow

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 261 hotel reviews

7.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.2

  • Comfort

    7.3

  • Location

    7.6

  • Facilities

    6.9

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    6.5

  • Free WiFi

    6.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Run down basic facilities in the room: shower was leaking onto the floor, ineffective ventilation in shower room, heating switched off (even after asking), mouldy, damp, moist room, unclean unhygienic room.

    Nice location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Terrible bed, no mattress or pillow protector. 3 pillowcases missing on arrival. Coffee machine in room - no pods available to use even on request. Furniture grubby (bedrooms). No staff in morning to get breakfast or even a coffee even after wandering the building, knocking on door and telephoning their number. Did't eat so can't comment although the pub seemed nice. Good drinks service in evening.

    Nice staff, when they were there and lovely location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately despite the effort by the owners, the layout isn’t suited to host rooms of this price. I was part working part pleasure coordinating at a nearby wedding. There is no WiFi in room which made things very hard and phone reception is weak. Most rooms are against an extremely busy main road. We demanded to change our first room after one night as there was no curtain, so freshly painted it made me quite ill and then we had deliveries at 6am crashing beer barrels around on trucks outside the doors, which all face outside into the courtyard. It was an exceptionally poor stay the first night - but the owners very accommodating to what were avoidable issues and I would urge them to make some small changes to make stays bearable. The second room whilst again was stunning, backed onto the kitchen where the extractor fans went all night long coupled by what sounded like a boiler at about 3am. Two unacceptably early starts back to back and a 17 hour day meant we didn’t complain again, we just packed up an left. The look of the rooms/fresh renovation doesn’t warrant the price. Such a shame, it has so much potential but until then, best avoided.

    The rooms were beautifully decorated and the location very handy for Hurley. Staff excellent except on the first morning when because the chef was sick, they didn’t open at all, couldn’t get anyone to answer the phone and the whole place was abandoned despite needing to speak to someone urgently. Myself and another guest and delivery man just left wondering what to do.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room had cobwebs , damp in the bathroom, shaver light and shower light didn't work. Shower head was leaking. The food was very average and very over priced, the photographs on the website don't reflect the true condition. There was a mobile office area with PC in the main bar?? the armchair in the bar was soaking wet!! Overall this was a very expensive night and very poor !!

    comfortable bed

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Decor in the room was a bit tired - a strangely hung picture was hiding a damp patch, and the carpet had dirty marks. Bathroom fan was noisy and it was lacking a lightbulb. Service in the restaurant was a bit slow even though not many people were dining

    Excellent location minutes from the river - we cycled in to Marlow and Henley easily. Staff were very accommodating and friendly The food was excellent - especially the breakfast The pub was really cosy and atmopheric

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bedroom was OK but some things didn't work such as the heated towel rail and the shaver light. Tidying the room in a morning was by request. The owner's dog was around most of the time in the restaurant. The breakfast was very poor. We weren't offered cereals or fruit just fruit juice. The breakfast table wasn't set properly e.g. no side plates, no second knife for putting butter etc., on toast.

    The owners were very friendly and the bar/ restaurant was OK. As mentioned the view was excellent.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Much more description is required for this inn. The room are right on the pub garden so any peace you might want is not possible. Constant stream of people walking past. Stayed in room number 2. The room above us sounded like it had a family of pacers staying in it and the constant creaking drove me mad! Bathroom is decent in size generally but horrendous shower, anyone over a size 8/10 beware of your elbows, head and shoulders. Room itself although was nicely decorated could do with some love and much more attention to detail. Broken coat hook. Blue tac stuck on walls. Large chips in paint work. Cobwebs on ceiling. Squashed bugs on wall. £85 for this small room and en suit without breakfast was overprice, £69 would have been much more suitable for amenities provided.

    Staff were amazingly friendly

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tv did not work , poor breakfast facilities, in need of restoration, including the furniture. Very old tea cups looked like they hay been purchased at a boot sale. The guy that cooked our breakfast his white top was disgusting, looked as if it had not been washed for years .

    How close it was to where I needed to be

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was neat and tidy but didn't look like it had been used in quite a while. There was a layer of dust across the headboard and on any area not regularly used. The toilet had been used and left unflushed, which was unpleasant to find.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only portable heaters for room heating. Room not serviced daily. Evening meal option was not available during part of our stay.

    Views from room, good.Breakfast - good

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a tad noisy. The road noise I was happy to accept as it’s an old hotel but I could hear one of our neighbours snoring all night. Granted I didn’t mention this to the manager as truthfully not much he could have done about it if I’m honest (hence not much of a reduction in my rating!!). If your neighbour doesnt snore you won’t have a problem....I did feel more sorry for the partner in that room 😂😂😂😂😂. This did not detract from the room though which was clean tidy modern and just what I expected for the money I paid!!

    Henry the lad who welcomed us was brilliant he’s a credit to the hotel. He dealt with other guests (who were trying to get a discount from their stay by complaining....unnecessarily I might add!!) with kindness and empathy he was great!! Our room was sufficient for our needs; double bed, tea and coffee facilities and a bath and shower. Not really much to fault.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was not clean food was bland and lots of things in room need maintenance restaurant has lost I s ambiance they added a large TV not idea why in country inn

    Been here before and it was excellent but it has changed hands and gone way downhills

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Two night stay two rooms one of which not cleaned on arrival or after ( toilet unflushed ) . Neither room cleaned or linen changed on second day . Won't be recommending .

    Friendly Staff

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    See above

    Heating, lighting, shower didnt work. cleanliness was awful. Stank of damp. Carpets were filthy. If I'd had more time we would have checked into another hotel. Lads running it did their best and the breakfast was really good. Standard of hotel generally was terrible. 2 star at most. Very disappointed.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Radiators weren't on; heaters slow to heat room. Food good but basic, and a bit expensive for what is was.

    Well located for walking the Thames Path. Comfortable room, if basic. Friendly staff (and clientele). Despite location on main road, traffic noise not a problem.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Being charged before we were even shown the room. Being overcharged. Restaurant and bar closed. Hospitality tray contained dirty cups and glasses. Toilet did not flush properly and was not very clean.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Room not serviced during stay. When mentioned response was card not placed outside door. Short staffed more like. Breakfast day 1 not cooked to temperature - had to be returned.

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    On a very icy evening the metal steps up to the room were quite slippery. Breakfast was lovely but at £10 extra on top of the fairly high room rate, expensive. Especially when we found we were charged extra for tea, coffee and orange juice.

    Staff were lovely and very helpful. The room was nicely decorated, warm and very comfortable

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hot tap was broken and consistently dripping and that made the tank keep igniting so noisy. The heating cane on at 1 in the morning so made me very hot. Also no milk in the morning for tea in my room.

    Soft bed

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Dreadful! I was made to pay in full on arrival but I didn't even stay, I found somewhere else to go, I felt like I was in a nightmare, no owners staying at the property, kitchen closed (wasn't told prior to trip) I was a woman travelling alone, bar area full of locals (all men) rooms not attached to the property, very frightening place indeed!!

    NOTHING!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Getting a little tired. Rooms and bathrooms lacking any attention and a little dirty. Food overpriced. Drinks overpriced. Expensive. Bar empty. Stayed a year ago but it seems like the owners have given up on what was and should be a wonderful expetience

    Great location

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The shower was in need of some maintanance and could be a bit cleaner.

    Very comfy bed and nice decor in the room. Friendly staff and helpfull. Interesting features in the Bar and in the car park .

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room (in an external building) was quite cold with no obvious way of adjusting the heating. The curtains were thin and didn't entirely cover the windows. The bathroom was adequate but with a weak shower and strange red lighting.The toilet had some kind of cistern issue which meant it could be heard throughout the night. There's also quite a busy road nearby which distrubed the rural calm. Also, the Nespresso machine had no obvious capsules to accompany it. Breakfast was not included in the price of the room and, while substantial, was of a fairly basic standard.

    The staff were friendly and happy to accommodate an early check in. The room was large and the bed comfortable. I wasn't around long enough to appreciate it fully, but the surrounding countryside was attractive. The Christmas wreath on the door was a nice touch.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room, bathroom, lack of staff to speak to (except chef who was very friendly though). Just tired, shabby accommodation, pub restaurant dirty and messy, with dog bowls on floor next to the tables. All needed a good hover, dust and tidy up.

    Tired, run-down ad shabby. Just needs a overhaul / modernising asap. Won't stay there again.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The radiator in our room was jammed on at the highest setting so we sweltered all night. We were rather disappointed in the food and the dining room was cold, so we went from being rather chilly to very hot in the bedroom. Our walk was along the Thames Path and there was no sign for The Black Boy Inn on the path which resulted in us walking on to Hurley and then back to the pub - a considerable distance.

    Our room looked very attractive and the en suite was of a high standard. The service was helpful and pleasant.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This is a pub with rooms so not as slick as you'd be expecting from a hotel. For instance, no milk or instant coffee provided with the tea making facility. There was a Nespresso machine without instructions and one pod. The thought of using it with possibly very stale water didn't appeal so I had to have black tea each morning. Also, not curtains on the windows - just a light net. Breakfast also only started at 7.30am so not ideal for people travel on business who need to be in the office.

    Staff were friendly.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Double charged me after calling me and accusing me of leaving without paying. Credit card cancelled to prevent second charge by card company. Serious attitude problem by owner over the phone to resolve.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Extremely disappointed. The door to the room had been broken, the cups where dirty, a tap dripped all night. The bathroom needed a deep clean. This room cost £100 for the bed only vastly over priced!

    Very little

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was a bit tired. No clean water glasses. Lighting needs to be improved in bedroom. Add fresh fruit to breakfast menu. Water/ condensation on window - booklet about the pub was soaking wet on window sill.

    Tasty breakfast. Lovely surroundings. Comfy bed. Nice oak beams in room.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Reception is in the bar. I was greeted by lots of men sat around the bar which made me very uncomfortable. Room downstairs with door next to the bar, very noisy when people left or arrived.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of WIFI , lack of choice on the menu ( only 3 items on the menu that night ) got charged twice and it took 3 weeks and 5 email to get a refund on the second payment , most of the time staff where no where to be seen and finally they had run out of beer

    Nothing , very bad experience

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room itself was filthy and very unkept. Bins hadn't been emptied, bathroom and linen not clean. Carpets looked as though they hadn't been vacuumed in weeks. Room was tiny and musty smelly.

    Location. Great riverside location for the Hurley- Marlow walk.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing really. We did not have the opportunity to try the dinner menu due to our very late arrival.

    We arrived after 11pm. A gentleman presumably, the owner was ready for us. Very welcoming. Not rushing us. Good room with everything you could reasonably expect including complimentary coffee and biscuits. Breakfast was very good and the young lady serving was very nice and reflected the welcome we had had the previous evening. So very consistent service.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    • Couple
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was not clean. In the shower were empty shampoo bottles on the floor from the previous guests. Cobwebs present. Matresses poor.

    Surroundings. Good walks.

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Manager indifferent, poor quality room, many things broken, e.g. Lights, shower door, shower handle, no proper wardrobe, poor breakfast - when it came.disappointing

    Location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The mattress could have been a little firmer but I'm used to a hand-tuffted orthopedic-type bed (very firm!), so that may be just my princess syndrome!!

    The owners were lovely and welcoming - we had our dog with us and they were particularly welcoming to her; true dog-friendly places are difficult to come by. Staff in general were super helpful. Our rooms was in the garden, which we loved. They also got our room ready for us by just after 11am as we had a wedding at 12noon in Hurley. We stopped in the bar for a libation and tea and my partner said that the beer was very good - I was too busy trying to revive from our drive with my pot of tea but he's beer mad so it must have been. They have a beautiful dinning room but on this occasion with our busy schedule we were unable to use it. Do try to get up early (5/5.30) when it's fine weather as the countryside is stunning with the mist hovering over the fields

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, all was good value for money. I was visiting family, the Inn is rustic and pretty, and looks out onto the beautiful Berkshire country side.

    The breakfasts were delicious, and served until 10.30. The staff very helpful, polite and friendly.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    To many mistake which I had to solve myself, overall happy but needs a lot of improving and need to make sure that the bills are check before charging! They charge the room teice and now I have cash that I have to change and will lose money.

    The breakfast and staff were great

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wine and prosecco was overly priced and had to wait over an hour and a half for our main course in the restaurant even though there was only 6 people in the restaurant! The meal was very average when we did get it , I asked for medium rare and got a rubbery hard well done without the chargrilled top ! Very unappetising and just very basic pub grub.

    The rooms were nicely decorated and co ordinated, friendly laid back staff and relaxed atmosphere with fabulous country side around the property.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room was small. If we were fussier, we would have thought it was not clean enough.

    The room was modest and we were disappointed when we drove up. Ultimately, though we had a wonderful time. The building is so old the walls are really thick, so you don't hear any traffic noise or noise from the beer garden. In the evening we walked to the Thames path and enjoyed a lovely walk along the river, which you can do from Black Boys. Though the restaurant menu is limited, the food and service are excellent. The friendly waitress selected a great bottle of wine for us. The overall atmosphere was so warm and friendly that we want to return to the Black Boys Inn as soon as we can!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The seals around the shower and washbasin needed replacing.

    Warm welcome and pet friendly. Close to the river so there are pleasant walks. Didn't eat dinner in the restaurant but the breakfast was excellent.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service very poor. Had to wait 50 minutes for breakfast despite arriving at the very start of service due to the need to make an early dash. Only ordered poached eggs. Had to dash and no time to finish this. Menu very poor choices due to which we went out on the second night of our stay

    Good location for Henley and Marlow . Only short walk to river Thames

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ok see above

    Staff very friendly. The view on the Thames Valley very beautifull from my room on the backside. Maybe necesary to put up some thick curtains for the light sleepers under us. Wake up at 6:30 by morninglight

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to fault at all!

    The staff were fantastic. Particularly the deputy manager. The views were beautiful, food was stunning and the room was decorated to a high standard. What a fantastic hotel and team. Can't wait to visit again.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no food available when we returned from Henley at just after 8pm despite the website saying they served until 9:30pm. Dirty glasses and plates in the garden. TV did not work. Thin walls so were kept awake by our neighbour snoring and the traffic. Window over had had no blind so light poured in at 5am. Staff didn't seem very interested in ensuring we had a nice stay or enquiring as to how our stay had been.

    The location was very pretty.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We stayed in this hotel three times with three different owners. The new one has just taken over and so our room was not made after our first night. But a cleaning lady started working the next day. The rooms at the bottom floor need a makeover and there is no cupboard space. Parking is great, breakfast needs more love to details. Good for a short stay.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely loved my stay here, I was staying with my sister for our sisters birthday along with my little chihuahua who throughly enjoyed every part! Nicest staff I have ever come across anywhere, lovely setting and a great lentil soup! I will be back again.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bathroom needs attention. Overflowing ashtrays near entrance, in the garden and outside out room. Being charged for drinks at breakfast even though we had booked B & B

    The view across the valley. Bruno - enthusiastic and helpful member of staff

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No openjng window in room But for us it wasnt an issue as room was beautiful (room 4)

    Dog friendly warm welcome lovely hosts large selection of alcohol close to Thames path great views very comfortable

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room rather small, shower inconvenient, towels not changed and nowhere to dry them. Not 4 star!

    Good location for walking Thames Path, staff friendly and helpful, food fine. Limited veggie choice on menu but happy to produce alternative for second night of our stay.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I don't think it should be a 4 star , paint in bathroom was peeling off ,very dusty , no milk and limescale still in kettle and I had to ask for toilet rolls

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The inn displays an AA 4star sign but it is difficult to see how this is justified. The first room we were allocated was dark as its one window had a blind which could not be raised. The owner attempted to do so by standing on a chair - which we were certainly not going to try in our mid eighties, The second room was comfortable enough but had only one chair, no plug in the wash basin and an inaccessible shaver point. beverage making facilities included two tea bags and two coffee sachets but there was a coffee machine.Both these rooms were outside the main building and approached past an untidy store room (the door was always open) The inside of the kitchen door looked extremely dirty . As we did not use the restaurant facilities we cannot comment on the catering standard. The young couple running the place were very friendly but perhaps rather inexperienced. The inn is in a good situation with pleasant views and it has potential to be a really nice place .

    Ease of access to Henley and Marlow

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bedroom was stuffy - only one small attic window - difficult to reach

    Management and staff were friendly and helpful Full English breakfast was excellent

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    we stipulated a twin room as we were two males whom were working down there. When we arrived it was a Queen Ann Double Bed. We had to ask for another room. They had not one available so one of the men had to sleep on a camp bed. We paid for a twin room.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms are in need of refurbishment. No hanging space in the smaller rooms. This hotel has potential of being a top venue. Excellent parking and views across open countryside. The owners are lovely people but a little more money needs to be spent to make the rooms fit the location. The smaller rooms have no hanging space, only pegs on the bathroom door. The larger coach-rooms have wardrobes. The rooms do need cleaning and some items need changing. We did have cobwebs and a damaged door. Having said all that, and to be fair, the owners have only been there since last year, so there is a lot to do to make it a top venue. The breakfast was very good but we had to ask for the resident dog to be removed, which it was. Dogs should not be in a restaurant. The dog designated area is fine in the bar, but of course they have access to the restaurant as well. I want the owners to know that this is not a complaint but just advice from two well travelled people. I am sure this hotel will be spot on as time goes by and we will return at some time in the future. Don't be put off folks it is a lovely place. Ask the queen, I spotted her sat on a bench outside. The Hotel Inspector.

    The very friendly staff plus the owners. The breakfast was very good.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Although breakfast was not included in the booking I messaged the hotel to ask for breakfast. When my guys booked in they were told that breakfast was not included so they went elsewhere, and I questioned this with the hotel by email and by phone with no answer

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2017

    • With a pet
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The evening meal was not great despite the fact that there were no other diners. At breakfast there was no menu.

    The owners and staff were so very welcoming to us and our dog. Lovely dog walks from the property. The poached eggs at breakfast were perfect.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Maybe could be closer to Marlow, as it was spring period and temperatures were not to high I could not enjoy the hotel landscape.

    The breakfast was great! The staff was very friendly. My best stay in Marlow area.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    This is a great place to stay - its small and very personal and they love dogs ! managed very well by Phillip and Nicola and the rest of the staff were very friendly and helpful and keen to please . An excellent welcome when we arrived despite it being a short notice booking . Good atmosphere in the bar and restaurant and some very nice touches throughout. Bedrooms are very comfortable and well equipped dinner and breakfast was excellent I cannot fault the place and would recommend it highly

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Curtains fell off the window. Bathroom bulb couldn't be replaced. Room very basic. The whole place needed a little extra attention to detail

    Not a lot

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2017

    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was charged a service charge of £3.25 for the breakfasts we ordered on the day we arrived but we were NOT charged a service charge for the evening meals we bought.

    The staff were very welcoming. The evening meal was excellent

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The wifi in the room didn't work. I was charged £2.50 for a glass of orange juice. There was no light bulbs in the public bar toilets. The room temperature was very hot when I arrived and I had to keep the room door open in the evening for it to cool down.

    Friendly staff, and wonderful setting. Luxurious furnishings and comfortable bed.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The spiders and insects in the room. There were cobwebs behind the headboard, a spider on the headboard and spiders webs above the bed on the wooden beams

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tiniest thing. The room was far too hot, even when radiator turned down. The towel rail in the bathroom was the same. Had to open the door at night to get cool air into the room. That's it tho, very small thing and didn't ruin the stay whatsoever.

    Owners were really lovely. Breakfast was great, we both really enjoyed our very different breakfast choices. The staff were all great too, very helpful and friendly. Will be staying there again next time I'm in the area.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Several lights in the bedroom did not work. The switch for one bedside light was under the pillow. Bedside light flickered Breakfast was poor

    Lovely situation and pretty old pub

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location great in between Henley and Marlow and Thames Path a short stroll away. Friendly owners and staff. Tastefully converted stables as bedrooms. Free parking.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    First room had been used and not cleaned (bed hadn't been slept in as if that made a difference!) Freezing cold - sub zero temps and the radiator hadn't been switched on! Even 2nd room was chilly Owners were using lounge area and it felt as if we were intruding on a family gathering - sat in the bar when what we wanted was to use the comfy seating

    Breakfast was first class Staff very friendly and eager to please

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Internet wasn't good in the rooms

    Staff/owners were very welcoming and helpful. Fantastic breakfast, definitely will return next time I'm passing.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Better light on the external staircase would be beneficial but the candle lanterns were lovely

    Room was lovely. Very clean and comfy. Fab views across countryside. Only downer and this applies to most hotels, B&B's we've stayed in, no where in the shower to put your bottles etc

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The service was awful. I waited ages for breakfast and wasn't served only to be told that the chef hadn't come in. I had to leave before anything was resolved as I had to get to work and no one seems to care. On the second day I said I would make my own arrangements as I didn't want the hassle and upset again. I have stayed a number of times a couple of years again and loved it but I won't be going back again.

    The rooms are really nice and it is in a great location

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Awful junction onto an extremely fast road,traffic noise constant throughout the night.Tired rooms quilt too small for the size of bed.Useless coffee machine, waste of space.No juice or milk for breakfast coffee undrinkable.

    Fresh milk offered on arrival.No food served on a Sunday after 4pm. Wonderful choice of welcoming restaurants in Henley will stay there in future.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A good varied breakfast and dinner menu catering for all tastes. Staff very welcoming,friendly and helpful . Room well presented with a comfortable bed and pillows!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing I didn't thoroughly enjoy. Excellent all around

    I stayed in a 500 sq ft carriage room that was decorated to high standards. The inside of the Blackboys and grounds are beautiful and idyllic. Roaring fire on in the evening and excellent food with lots of variety. Great hospitality

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Menu on the table was a desert menu and the only visible breakfast items were cereals on a very small table. Was surprised that you could order cooked items but when my husband got his salmon and scrambled eggs on toast the bread was cheap and the scrambled eggs were overdone. My poached eggs were underdone, white of the egg very runny. Room was small but comfortable, a little cold and the grouting in the bathroom looked like it needed work.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to say here, a well run comfortable hotel with great customer care and focus

    Very friendly staff. The hotel staff clearly had one focus in mind and that is to ensure the guest had a positive experience. Nothing was a problem for them. A clean, tidy and warm main building and bedroom was very welcoming with modern decor and comfortable. Defo return next time I'm in the area.

    Stayed in October 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: