Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Black Mountain Lodge 4 stars

Glasbury On Wye, Glasbury, HR3 5PT, United Kingdom

#4 of 8 hotels in Glasbury

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 387 hotel reviews

9.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.3

  • Comfort

    8.8

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    8.6

  • Staff

    9.5

  • Value for money

    8.6

  • Free WiFi

    7.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    In room 6 you hear too much from room no 6 bathroom not nice first thing in the morning 😱. Looked tired in places in the dinning room . Big crack in our sink and plug hole bit nasty. A germ collector.

    The lounge area.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lack of facilities and such things as no bottle of water in the bedroom.

    The hotel has a lovely location, though difficult to get to from Hereford Station if you don't have a car. The hotel shines because of the lovely, friendly staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Toiletries not replenished each day. Buffet breakfast a little uninspiring, but cooked breakfasts good. Only one set of keys supplied, which was a problem when we went different ways, as the keys could not be left in reception, which is closed and locked up for several hours during the day.

    Lovely room (superior double) and pleasant grounds. Good location, within walking distance of nearby village of Glasbury, across fields and lanes, and 10 minutes drive from Hay on Wye. Unfortunately the restaurant was closed for evening meals for three of our four nights, but the meal we did have was very nice, though a long wait.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately couldn't turn on the cold tap in the shower and the hot water was extremely hot. Only stayed one night and discovered it too late to report it in the evening and had no time to get it fixed before leaving in the morning. Staff sort of apologetic. Simply said it would be fixed for the next occupant.

    Great location just out of Hay on Wye and on the same road as the Hay Festival. Good breakfast

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I felt I got confused with paying for the room . I was under the impression Booking.com sort the payment out but I had to pay with my card . I’m going to the bank today to make sure it hasn’t come out twice

    It’s a lovely place to stay. Very friendly and clean . Lovely breakfast

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Can't think of anything!

    Gorgeous Barn Conversion with original features retained. Breakfast was varied and the staff member was friendly and nothing was a problem.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beverages expensive.

    Fabulous room with stunning views. Huge comfy bed and bath plus walk in shower. Spacious room and dressing gowns provided. Good choice at breakfast

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pretty ordinary breakfast offering. No in-room wi-fi.

    Pleasant grounds and view of local farms. Good location if you have a car. Comfortable rural accommodation. Good value.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast sausage could do with more than one side seeing heat !! Hot water pressure varied annoying when in shower!! Toilet seat slipped off bowl !!!!

    In general stay was quite good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just a tiny dislike - the pillows could have been more comfortable.

    My daughter and I were delighted with the accommodation. The rooms were very clean, bed linen and towels immaculate and the food was delicious! All the members of staff were a pleasure to meet and very helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mattress on bed was a little on soft side

    Great location, really friendly and helpful staff. Food in restaurant for both breakfast and dinner was delicious. Our room was amazing, lots of space and storage and everything catered for. Bath robes were an added bonus

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The walls were very thin. Able to hear people in neighbouring rooms very clearly. Particularly when showering, talking. The floor boards were very creaky and could be heard from other rooms. Whilst the renovations were excellent, the rooms really did need to have better noise insulation properties.

    The rooms were extremely clean and the staff very helpful and accommodating.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    We loved the friendlyness of the staff. The food was very good as well. We stayed in room 1 and we both stay in lots of hotels (Most of our working week). our room would put most 5* hotels to shame. As would the service.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had an amazing stay at the Black Mountain Lodge. It was so peaceful and in such a beautiful place. The staff were so welcoming and so friendly. And the food was amazing!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had room 15, which is a ground floor room in the detached lodge building. Some noises from room above. Wifi was only just available in the window area of the room, although to be fair only in main building was guaranteed and was fairly fast there.

    Friendly welcome, comfortable bed, warm room, great breakfast, beautiful rural location, reasonable bar/restaurant prices, cosy seating area and easy free parking.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was nothing we didnt like the place was Excellent

    The bed was brilliant so comfy the staff were excellent so helpful with everything we needed and very polite :-) Will definitely be returning again the food was also Excellent.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was a little bit dirty on the window ledge spilled liquid not cleaned up? Dust from the fan in the bathroom had fallen in the bath and dust and cobwebs next to the bed on skirting board- It’s a a barn though and Was generally ok as bed clean and cosy so didn’t put us off.

    Very comfortable bed.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This is a lovely place to stay near to Hay-on-Wye in a quiet country setting. Excellent building with nice restaurant and bar / lounge atmosphere. Breakfast is excellent and even cooked meals included in the price. The rooms are very comfortable and quiet. The staff are very welcoming and attentive.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I can’t think of anything I would criticise

    The friendly service, nothing was to much trouble and the large bedroom and bathroom. Also nice to have windows on 3 sides. We had room 1 a brilliant choice and worth every penny. The meal in the restaurant was excellent,very well cooked.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Soundproofing not great in rm 11, could hear the guy underneath us! Also a tiny bar of soap! A green light on the ceiling, really odd, annoyed my husband who needs a dark room to sleep.

    Evening meal was excellent and so was the breakfast. Veggie, vegan options all available. Staff very helpful trying to find alternatives as my husband was on a special diet, they were great.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast quality didn’t match the previous nights evening meal quality but still ok.

    Lovely location, clean and comfortable room, very relaxing bar area and the food was beautiful. Great stay.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was small. One side of the room was the outside stone structure of the hotel- it made for a good ambience but on the negative side, the wall remain stone cold throughout the night inspite of the heating. Small children liable to catch a cold if they are sleeping next to the wall. Mine did

    Breakfast was good. Good location.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant closed for evening meal on our second night - but, this meant that we found the fabulous restaurant at Foyles down the road.

    Excellent breakfast. Staff very friendly.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food was good but, and I’m probably being a bit picky, a little over cooked in places.

    Excellent customer service. Friendly staff. Very comfortable bed.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bedroom was on the cold side and tv was very small. Pleasant room so only a small recommendation.

    Fantastic staff. Beautiful food and great location to just relax.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Double room was quite cramped and bed now as bit small for tall people!! But could may and warm in room.

    Location great, very near Hay on Wye. Friendly staff, good standards of cleanliness. Easy parking and pretty gardens.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Only one TINY comment - a lamp near the mirror in the alcove of room 1. Lighting for makeup was limited.

    Location and lovely room - great big bathroom with jacuzzi.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing!

    The rooms was clean and warm and the bed comfortable. The bathroom was well equipped and there was sufficient storage. The restaurant food was excellent, the bar well stocked and the staff superb.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Basic small room but comfortable and clean. Food in restaurant good and hearty, ideal after a cold day out and about. Breakfast selection good too. No easy public transport into Hay on Wye but there are local taxi companies. However, they get quickly booked up if there are events in Hay. Ideal for an overnight stay in the area.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Being very picky the only thing id have liked was more of a breakfast selection

    Fantastic room And views. Beautiful lounge and restaurant and friendly staff. Would def stay again.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Would have like more sofas in the lounge area only two available and otherwise hard chairs or stools.

    Very comfortable bed lovely hot water decor lovely and really warm

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very limited menu choice and even more so for vegetarians - this was the case for evening meals and breakfast. The kitchen seemed to rely heavily on a microwave! By 7:30 on the evening we arrived they had run out of pasta. What really spoilt our stay however was the noise on the second evening from an event in the function room; this went on from 6pm until just after 11pm. It was so loud we could hear every quiz question. This detracted from the advertised peaceful setting!!!

    The superior room was attractive with exposed stone walls and this was a feature of the bathroom too.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The light & fan in the bathroom stopped working and the staff were unable to deal with it immediately. They were able to let us use the bathroom in another room however and were very apologetic. (They also gave us a discount for the inconvenience)

    The food in the restaurant was great

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was a little soft for my personal preference. Slight shortage of shelf space in bathroom.

    Staff were all extremely helpful and friendly. Food was good quality and generous portions.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Having to come home!

    WOW Factor, pictures really show the location, surroundings & lodge accurately. Our stay was linked in Black Mountain Activity Centre. Staff are amazing & very knowledgeable. You really feel at home.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower did not empty fast enough and could have caused leaks..I had to remove the metal plug totally for it to empty.Wifi was only available in the main building and not in the annexe where we were.

    The bed was very comfy ,food of a very good standard.Room was excellent with plenty of room to move around.It has lovely views of the countryside.The variety of young staff were always very pleasant;wanting to satisfy our requirements.Good dining room service.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing identified.

    A great relaxed atmosphere in a tranquil setting. Facilities great. Staff excellent ++++ The dining room was first class, food of a high standard.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing

    The room was spotlessly clean and all of the staff were friendly and helpful. Nothing was to much trouble for them. The breakfast choice was good and the evening meals were excellent. All in all a first class stay.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Weird little things like: Toilet cistern would not fill unless that tap had been run. Lightbulb(s) failed. Not enough to spoil the stay.

    Location, friendly staff, excellent bar.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The toilet seat wouldn't stay up, which my wife & I both found annoying, but minor.

    Beautiful stonework in entire building. Very friendly & hospitable staff. Fantastic supper

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Honestly, nothing.

    Liked everything! Had super deluxe bedroom - very spacious and comfortable. Large bathroom with bath and shower. Lovely view. Both breakfast, and one night's dinner were excellent.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We had a twin bedded room with comfortable beds but space was very limited.

    Wonderful welcome from Holly, very efficient staff, great food and wine at excellent price. Would definitely stay again. We also introduced a local friend who had supper with us and who loved the meal and the whole ambiance at Black Mountain Lodge.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 1 night

    Tacky, tasteless, cheapest of the cheap fittings, pathetic TV way up high, with super ugly plugs visible, tiny room, rubbish shower, non-existent sound proofing = adjacent 3am toilet visits vividly audible, nauseating dining room decor, scallops served cold inside = instant food poisoning - sent back only to have them represented but with only 3 on the plate as opposed to the original 5. Owned/spec'd/run by amateurs. Couldn't get away soon enough

    The breakfast pastries were nice

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was a little dark and a chair rather than a small stool at the dressing table would have been preferable.

    The dinner was superb and so was breakfast. It was so nice to have cooked breakfast served to your table by efficient friendly staff

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If there was a minor criticism the only thing was nowhere to put your soap or shampoo in the shower , needs a ledge fitted or holder, but very minor and didn't knock any points off for that! A little out of the Brecons so always a long drive anywhere.

    Everything from the comfort of the room , the jacuzzi bath was amazing and the softness of the bed , to the stunning views, food was excellent, we had 2 dinner meals but ate out 3 rd night as menu would have been repetitive, but breakfast was great so just couldn't fault our stay !

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We enjoyed the delicious Full English breakfast, the conversation with personable & accommodating staff, and the amazing beauty of the property. Thank you!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff a bit too formal. Waitress not able to identify the local cheese by type or location from dessert menu.cooked Breakfast medicore eg baked beans hash browns. Black pudding and fried tomatoes would be better

    Space to store bikes and the beer

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Everything about this place was lovely, I just couldn't fault it. The staff were lovely and nothing was too much trouble ... the breakfast was fab and really set us up for a day of Gorge Walking.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food was amazing, staff couldn't have been any nicer! The grounds of the lodge were beautiful, room was perfect with a comfy king size bed and a jacuzzi bath tub! Could not recommend this place any more :)

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only negative was that there was a bench outside our window and a couple came back at around 1.30am and sat on the bench having a cigarette talking loudly which woke us up!

    Great location beautiful littke seatjng area outside the restaurant and staff were very friendly.. Food in the evening was lovely.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I couldn't fault it.

    Fantastic staff- Holly and Daisy were so helpful as I had made a mistake with my booking but they sorted it and it was lovely. Lovely place lovely people. At breakfast staff put tables together so we could have a family group. The breakfast was great. It was all lovely. We arrived after checking in time but even that wasn't made into a problem.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    I stayed here to attend a friend's wedding locally. Having contacted the Lodge earlier in the week, they couldn't guarantee an early check in as a number of other people had already requested this on that day, but said they would try their best. Getting there a couple of hours before advertised check in on the off chance that an early check in would be available on the day, I was delighted to find out that it was so! All the staff from the early phone conversation to check in, breakfast and check out were friendly and helpful. The room was a good size with TV, WiFi and a very comfortable bed. Breakfast in the morning was delicious and filling.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our room was quite small had to negotiate the space around the bed carefully. Ceiling lighting in room and bathroom could be improved (with spotlights?). Not keen on carpeting in bathroom area.

    Good quality food. We all thoroughly enjoyed our evening meal in the restaurant. Good choice of local drinks at the bar. Pleasant bar and garden seating area. Wifi worked in our rooms in the main building. Comfortable bed

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything good

    Very nice lodge with comfortable rooms . We were in the main building so bar , restaurant and reception all in the same building made it very convenient . Spacious grounds around lodge make for a great setting . Excellent breakfast with some of the best bacon we have tasted.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A lot of cob webs in side windows, also main front door , not nice to see when entering, floor in room could be renewed in some places.

    Plenty of room, bed comfortable, lovely bathroom.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff continually saying "not a problem" when we were discussing very routine things -like ordering from the menu with no special requests

    Very nice modern room, friendly staff, good food in restaurant, pleasant grounds

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No negative comments at all. We would certainly book again - probably for Hay Festival next year!

    Excellent breakfast, close to Hay Festival. Room was a little small BUT as this was a very last minute booking we were quite happy with it.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Peerless - the edifice has a richness in detail. A la carte sublime, all credit to chef de cuisine. Room cleaned, refreshed every day. Hospitality and attention to detail excellent.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor/no wi-fi reception in room. Not easily accessible on foot to Glasbury or Hay-on-Wye. A walk along quite a busy and fast road.

    Lovely breakfast and bar/restaurant. Friendly staff. Quiet location.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2017

    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    If there was a footpath from Glasbury to the property which is only about 600 metres outside the village and the 30 MPH speed limit extended beyond the property it would be superb.

    The property is a converted stables with a high roof and many rustic features. The rooms are huge and well equipped. We loved the jacquzi bath. The restaurant has a good menu that should suite most tastes. There are other restaurants nearby, but you would need to drive to them. The views are stunning.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    we slept in unclean linen (not changed from previous guests) and found a phone charger between 2 pillows. The room (4) was supposed to be 4 star as all other rooms in the main lodge but did not rate a single star. It was small, pokey, claustrophobic and dirty. Will not return.

    food for dinner and breakfast excellent

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy room with regards to heating etc...But won't stop us returning.

    Everything, it was our second visit here, as we both loved it the first time. Great comfy rooms and lovely breakfast. We enjoyed a dinner too one of the nights - could not fault it, looking forward to our next visit.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    A very comfortable stay with very friendly service and a superb breakfast. We lodged here during bike trip through Wales and it was very cosy and clean. Everything we wanted from a B&B.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room wasn't at all as displayed in the booking.com website. This was evidently a 'secret room' that was lost in the 1980's - only missing the net curtain. Nasty marble blue shag-pile carpet and floral Laura Ashley / B&Q wallpaper. 'Frilly' glass wall lights. Lots and lots of brown varnished doors. Unpleasant décor. With full on 80's style clutter, including glittered plastic poinsettias. Nasty metal '4 poster' bed that squeaked in tune with the floor boards. On mentioning this on leaving - we were advised that the other rooms are more contemporary. We booked the 'Deluxe Room'.

    Mattress was comfortable. Shower lovely. Staff delightful. Meals okay. Varied menu. Very warm and cosy. Convenient to Hay on Wye.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dinner was OK but breakfast was poor - should upgrade to espresso coffee to allow for cappuccinos or lattes, freshly squeezed orange juice always preferable, would have liked croissants or artisanale bread (which was available in Hay and other places we went to) rather than white and brown processed bread. My personal preference is plain yoghurt and honey but only flavoured yoghurt were available. New ensuite bathroom but tiny shower although space allowed for much bigger.

    My room, biscuits,view, bed, storage all excellent. The location was exactly what we wanted for our purposes.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    See above

    Excellent Hotel with delightful staff. Very good value for money but as it is 3 star it is short on cupboard and drawer space. Longer than 3 days would be uncomfortable, especially if you are walking in the rain.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I can't think of anything!

    The staff were very welcoming, professional and friendly. After we decided not to eat in their restaurant, Holly on Reception recommended The Old Barn is Glasbury and phoned them to book us a table

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent! From check-in, throughout the stay, the staff were exceptionally attentive, warm and welcoming. We had forgotten to bring the route of the walk we were planning and they very kindly printed it out for us - just little touches like that really make the stay. Our room (superior double) was a good size, very comfortable bed, lovely hot and powerful shower. Compliments to the chef for fabulous food, both evening meal and breakfast. The setting is beautiful and we enjoyed a couple of Brecon g&t's in the garden before dinner. We will definitely return.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No heating on when we arrived at 8.15pm, would have been good if it had been put on around tea time to warm up the room. Bed soft but that is just my preference.

    Location, Breakfasts good.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    I would add another comfy settee or two though, as we had to stay in the restaurant as there weren't enough settees for all of us in the lovely bar area!

    We will definitely stay here again. Staff, facilities and value for money were exceptional. Will recommend to all our friends.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only down fall was that our room number 2 everything creaked, all the floor and the bed it was a bit annoying.

    The staff were excellent, always there to answer any questions and friendly, the food was delicious and very reasonably priced and in a lovely quite location.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Soundproofing between upper and lower floors in the barn. This did not in any way spoil my visit, but it was noticeable.

    The staff really made us welcome and the food was excellent!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Carpet in the bathroom, would have preferred tiles but this is only a construction comment. The bathroom was immaculate.

    Lovely guest house with perfect facilities, lovely staff and excellent food

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wifi in bedrooms but not a big deal as fine in bar area.

    With a fantastic location on the northern edge of the Black Mountains and easy road access, the Black Mountain Lodge is stylish yet comfortably informal. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful with good knowledge and a love of the local area. The restaurant was excellent with locally sourced ingredients and an interesting menu. Our whole visit was a truly Welsh experience and one we will hope to repeat!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No mobile signal or wi Fi in rooms. If you are getting away from it all - perfect. If you are trying to keep in touch with business - a little frustrating.

    Very comfortable bed and crisp clean sheets and towels.

    Stayed in February 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: