Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Black Rock House 5 stars

10 Stanley Road, Hastings, TN34 1UE, United Kingdom

#7 of 30 B&Bs and Inns in Hastings

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 161 hotel reviews

9.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.6

  • Comfort

    9.7

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    9.5

  • Staff

    9.8

  • Value for money

    9.1

  • Free WiFi

    9.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    9.6
    We recommend this B&B to everyone who want some luxury and a little bit different B&B experience :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Double Room w/ Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Everything was fine and we had lots of good advice on good restaurants etc.

    This B&B was very beautiful and clean and the room was so lovely. The host himself was fantastic and so were the other guests, as well.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    10
    An extraordinary haven for two pirates homebound from another great weekend in Hastings.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Double Room w/ Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to add here!

    BlackRock house is a gem to be discovered by all - words cannot really describe the warmth of our reception, the level of service including all those little but very important details and every moment there guaranteeing a relaxed, happy and stress free stay.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    10
    FABULOUS
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Turret Room w/ Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    NOTHING

    Superb accommodation, attention to detail and a fabulous host who was very welcoming with drinks in the front garden and, providing suggestions of local restaurants and other attractions near and wide throughout our stay. We stayed in the turret room which had a bedroom and bathroom with large dressing area with views to the town and sea views. Quality bed linen, soft towels and lovely toiletries which were regularly changed and replenished. Breakfast was in the lovely drawing room of the large and airy Georgian house where the continental breakfast was fresh and plentiful with all needs catered for and, were we met other guests from around the globe. We were encouraged by our host Vincent to use the beautiful facilities and if it was our home and, we truly relaxed and thoroughly enjoyed our stay, we were sad to leave our new friend, here's to the next time, thank you so much. J+L

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    9.2
    A very nice and little hotel, just some few hundred meters...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Double Room w/ Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A very nice and little hotel, just some few hundred meters from the sea. The owners were very friendly and serviceminded. Especially the breakfast were memorable. We had a great stay.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    10
    Absolutely superb stay in Hastings - we will stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Luxury Double or Twin West View Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We loved our stay - this is the bar a lot of 4* London hotels attempt to reach but often do not.

    Fabulous welcome from Vincent with a drink on the terrace even though we were early, twin room meant a family suite with two bedrooms - very comfy beds, quality and comfort of a 5 Star hotel, highest quality toiletries, a fridge with cold water waiting for us, a continental breakfast with Fortnum & Mason jams, curds etc.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    10
    An amazing experience and a special place cant wait to visit again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Double Room w/ Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    An amazing place, comfort and a breakfast to die for. The host and owner Vincent really can't do enough to make you feel welcome and special. Recommendations and knowledge of the area along with the best fresh croissants we have ever eaten.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    10
    Lovely weekend in a lovey location, hosted by a entertaining and welcoming host.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Turret Room w/ Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Don’t think there was anything I did not like.

    Warm welcome from Vincent, including a chilled beer on the terrace. Vincent provided lots of information about Hastings, recommending restaurants, pubs and places of interest, including Sissinghurst Castle which was a delight. Great breakfast around one large table, so plenty os opportunity to get to know the other guests. Also have to say, Vincent has a strangely English sense of humour, which we loved. We had a lovely few days and would recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    10
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double or Twin West View Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Vicent and Black Rock House are worthy of all of these positive reviews, the room, facilities, food and service are top class. Vincent could not be more helpful in making sure you have everything you need and with helpful tips of the local area.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    10
    Delightful accommodation and excellent host highly recommended.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Turret Room w/ Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There wasn't anything that detracted from the enjoyment of our stay.

    The property has classic style is comfortable and attractive. It has all the inclusions to make your stay enjoyable. The host is very accommodating and helpful providing information to make the best of a stay in Hastings. We had a car and found parking without difficulty close to the property. I highly recommend this property.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    10
    Simply perfect! Couldn't recommend more.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Double Room w/ Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Steep hill from the town so might not be suitable for less able people. Wifi didn't seem to work in our room but wasn't a problem for us.

    Can't fault Black Rock! Beautiful clean, bright and airy bedroom. Lovely power-shower with fancy Aesop shower gel & shampoo. The softest, fluffiest towels and dressing gown. Insanely comfortable bed, with pillows that you just sink into. Delicious simple breakfast, incredible selection of Fortnum & Mason jams. Just a short 15min walk to the Old Town and beach. Extremely friendly & welcoming host, Vincent made us feel at home right away.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    9.2
    We had a really great time, and were made to feel so welcome, that it far exceeded our expectations.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Bray Brooke Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Nothing Vincent or Black Rock could do about this, but it is up a steepish hill...

    Vincent was the best host you could imagine. Breakfast became a lovely event, and not just because of his croissants or beautiful scrambled eggs, but also because he somehow turned it in to a very relaxed but enjoyable social event, as all the guests sat round the same beautifully laid out table. He also was very helpful in providing information about local and nearby places and events. The room was delightful and the bed comfortable. Excellent!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    9.6
    A wonderful experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Double Room w/ Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We can fault nothing at all.

    The owner Vincent was friendly, attentive, generous and could not have done more to make our stay special. His attention to detail was wonderful e.g. when he noticed an empty Prosecco bottle in our room waste bin he left champagne flutes in the room the next day! He was keen to help with local information, places to visit and places to eat & any ideas we had he would investigate if he had no experience himself. Without doubt we would return.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    9.6
    Birthday weekend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Double Room w/ Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was perfect and in an excellent location, Vincent was a brilliant host , excellent knowledge of the area and good advice, a very relaxing weekend and we will definitely go back.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    9.2
    Wonderful to be had in this exceptional guest house.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Lovely accommodation, welcoming and charming host. Very helpful and told us of the great places to visit and where to dine. Breakfast was wonderful and the building stunning. A truly wonderful spot and one that I can not recommend highly enough.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    9.6
    Superb!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Bray Brooke Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is quite a steep walk from the Town but Hastings is hilly so that's to be expected. Not a problem at all for us, but worth considering if you are not able bodied! Plenty of cabs available though and only about 10 minutes walk to Town/Seafront.

    Amazing hosts; helpful, genuine and so welcoming. Went out of their way to make guests feel at home. Beautiful house, lovely, homely, elegant atmosphere. Classy rooms with beautiful decor and quality bedding...so comfortable! Breakfast superb, fresh fruit and squeezed juice, the most amazing array of preserves, croissants and coffee to rival any Barista! Thank you for a brilliant, relaxing stay! Highly recommended for anyone preferring a small relaxing Guest House away from the Seafront, run by incredibly nice people!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    9.6
    I often travel for work and this was by far the best guest house and warmest welcome ever.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Double Room w/ Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bed was a little soft for my taste but still had a great nights sleep and it's really a minor point in an otherwise perfect stay.

    Vincent was clear and concise with contacts u to the booking. The house was easy find from the instructions. The welcome was excellent, Vincent was warm, friendly and very helpful in every way and at every stage of the stay even introducing me to other guests at breakfast. The room was beautfiully appointed and the whole house was impeccably decorated and looked like it had just been finished everything was so pristine. I had a great view, lovely windows. the bathroom was a very high standard, rain shower, lovely tiles, under floor heating. Great towels too and lots of them. Breakfast was lovely fresh fruit and yogurt, lots of very fresh orange juice, the most perfectly cooked croissant and luxuriously smooth coffee (Vincent is french but even by french standards this was top quality). oh and a choice of cereal or toast with high quality jams and preserves. No cooked breakfast but then i felt a lot healthier for it!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    10
    Brillant stay. Can thoroughly recommend it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Turret Room w/ Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only issue for less fit people is it is an up hill walk from the town. But we are late fifties and found it ok. However taxis are available for this short journey.

    Vincent was extremly friendly and welcoming, location was excellent, parking was easy with a permit available from Vincent. Breakfast was amazing. With Fresh fruit. And fresh orange juice and made to order croissants. Room was light airy and very comfortable. Huge bathroom and facilities in room were excellent.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    9.2
    Impeccable room, high standards and very clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Impeccable room, high standards and very clean. Vincent has been an exquisite host from the very beginning and accommodate our requests and provide us of a lovely breakfast with fresh produces and croissants and helped us enjoy the week end with his tips and info . Highly recommended!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    9.6
    Relaxing and convivial
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Turret Room w/ Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Vincent made us very welcome and was a delightful host. The room was exceptionally comfortable and the whole house was beautifully decorated and furnished.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    10
    We had a most relaxing and delightful stay, and very much hope to be able to return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Bray Brooke Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The weather? Nothing to dislike at Black Rock House.

    Our hosts were delightful and could not have done more to make us feel comfortable and the breakfasts were superb!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    10
    A little patch Of heaven
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Turret Room w/ Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The house is perfect and full Of Character .We didn’t like Leaving to be honest !

    When we arrived we relaxed With the owner Vincent. Vincent is the Perfect Host. A drink Prepared on arrival. Gave us great advice On the best restaurants and events going On that weekend . Anything we needed was sorted. The room was bright and fresh with the best bed I have stayed in for a long time . Breakfast is a relaxed affair with A fantastic choice Of fresh quality food. Good Coffee too. We arrived as guests and felt treated Like good friends. Go experience It For your self .

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    10
    Lovely atmosphere, beautifully decorated and an amazing host.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Bray Brooke Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Can't fault anything, we had a wonderful weekend

    Lovely atmosphere, beautifully decorated and an amazing host. It's a 10-15 minute walk from the old town, so handy to get around - although there's a pretty steep hill to climb to get home again!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    10
    A fantastic comfortable,hassle free convenient B&B
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing,,,, apart from our drive from Oxford

    The owner was extremely friendly and very helpful re:-places to go and eat and all things Hastings & surrounding areas!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    10
    A calm oasis, lovely and relaxing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Double Room w/ Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Vincent the host is charming and nothing is too much trouble for him. When we returned in the evenings it felt like coming into a relaxing oasis. There is great attention to detail from the china, tea and coffee selection in the bedroom to the jams and fresh berries served for breakfast. Overall a very good experience and lovely to chat to Vincent.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    7.1
    OK but wouldn't stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Double Room w/ Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hard to find. Parking is on the roadside and in our case there wasn't any we had to park in the next street, not ideal.

    Host was very good. Room was quite nice.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    9.6
    Very welcoming and friendly hosts and a lovely place to stay for a couple of days.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Although parking in the street wasn't a problem we did have to pay (council charges) to leave the car during the day when we didn't want to use it.

    Breakfast was lovely, a nice choice of fresh fruit and yogurt, an overwhelming choice of preserves, bread for toasting and freshly warmed croissants of a good quality. Eggs and ham if you wanted. Coffee was good! The bed was comfortable and we slept really well. We appreciated the fresh milk for coffee which we could keep in the rooms own quiet fridge.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    6.7
    Excellent location, friendly welcome
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Turret Room w/ Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The rooms weren't cleaned on our second day. It would have been nice to have had clean cups and the tea, coffee and milk to be replenished without having to ask.

    The rooms were excellent and comfortable. The breakfast was different and really enjoyable

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    10
    Amazing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Turret Room w/ Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Absolutely spot on stay at Black Rock House. Vincent and Julian were both lovely, friendly and accommodating hosts with a fine eye for detail. The bedroom was great and the breakfast was delicately delicious. Definitely stay again!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    10
    Feel at home in Hastings
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Double Room w/ Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Black Rock House is a Victorian brick house setted in a quite neighborhood with no traffic noise. Our room was bright and clean with a nice fireplace and very good views of the city and the sea. The bathroom was large and had everything you need and more. Breakfast (which consists of: fresh fruit, croissants, toast with a wide choise of jams, eggs, coffee, tea and more) is served in a cosy room on a large table with the other guests. Our host, Vincent, was very welcoming and accommodating. He made us feel at home and suggested us where to eat. We will miss the sounds of the seagulls in the morning! We will definitely be staying here again in the future. Martina & Marisa

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    6.7
    The room was comfortable;
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Turret Room w/ Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I specifically booked a room with a turret feature, but this wasn't available when we arrived. The house owners told us that they are thinking about leaving the B and B business and I think this uncertainty shows.

    The room was comfortable; breakfast was nice. There was a welcoming g and T and nibbles and introduction to the area. Vincent who we had most contact with was very nice.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    10
    An exceptional stay in an exceptional house!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We liked everything

    The Black Rock House is a lovely property and every room is wonderfully furnished. We especially appreciated the twin rooms (two nice rooms sharing a spacious bathroom) for our sons, as they are already 16 and 23 and they liked to have a room of their own. The wonderful breakfast (fresh croissants and - my special favourite - the lemon curd!) served in the cosy breakfast room - it was the perfect way to start the day. Vincent provided us with helpful tips what to do in the surroundings and where to eat in Hastings - we really did enjoy it. A big thanks to our hosts - they were simply perfect and made us feel like at home! We certainly would stay again.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    9.2
    We had a very pleasant stay. Vincent & Julian struck the perfect balance of relaxed and attentive.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There's nothing I did not like about the property, and we were made to feel very welcome, with good advice given of the local area and restaurants. There is a fairly steep hill to get up from town, so if you're less able, I'd recommend driving to wherever you're going.

    The guest house was lovely. It has a really nice atmosphere, and Vincent & Julian were very welcoming and accommodating. It was very clean and tastefully decorated. The bed was comfy, toiletries lush, breakfasts plentiful. It's only about a 15-20 minute walk into town, with permits available for parking outside the property. I would definitely recommend Black Rock House.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    10
    An excellent place to stay in Hastings.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Turret Room w/ Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fruit, cereal and yoghurt for breakfast were delicious. We also loved the cheese and coffee. Our room, the Turret room, has a sea view and was very comfortable. The water for the bath was hot and plentiful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    9.6
    A 'home from home' in Hastings
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Bray Brooke Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Parking can be an issue as it is a residential area but again, Vincent had the answers so no real issues. Close enough to the town to walk down the hill, taking around 10 minutes....another matter if you decide to trek back up the hill! Thankfully taxi's are plentiful and reasonably priced.

    Extremely attentive hosts...when offered a drink on arrival (9:30 PM) you might expect a "tea or coffee" but no -"a glass of wine or perhaps a gin & tonic?" - G&T was excellent! A Victorian property still retaining many of its original features - "just make yourself at home...if you want anything just ask" .... a fairly normal offer at most B&B's we have found but coming from Vincent (Mein Host) he actually meant it, nothing was too much bother. We actually had 2 rooms (3 days for my wife and I and 2 days for my mother-in-law and daughter) so a 'double dose' of attentiveness! All in all a most pleasant experience and we WILL be back!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    10
    Perfect Place to Recharge Your Batteries
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Turret Room w/ Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very, helpful and friendly staff, who make you feel valued and welcomed. Quiet street not too far from the town centre. The room was comfortable and roomy with the added luxury of hot water as soon as you turned the taps on. Good quality food - no cooked breakfast, but lovely fresh fruit, croissants, toast with lots of exotic jams, eggs and continental ham. Since it is hard to avoid fried food in Hastings the breakfast is a bonus. Certainly would stay again.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    9.2
    Black Rock House is highly recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Double Room w/ Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    Black Rock House is a grand Victorian house in a quiet part of Hastings. We had a 'superior' room with a sea view, though it is a 10 minute walk to the sea front. Our host Vincent was helpful in all sorts of ways, chatty and informative, and nothing was too much trouble. Although a cooked breakfast is not provided, the spread on the breakfast table was more than enough. Amongst the places we visited was the Hastings Country Park Nature Park reached via the West Cliff lift; the wonderful Electric Palace cinema in High Street in the Old Town, the Maroc restaurant next door, and the fantastic pier which has deservedly been awarded Pier of the Year 2017.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    10
    delightful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Bray Brooke Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a delight from start to finish Vincent was a perfect host and exceeded all expectations. From the Fortnum and Mason champagne marmalade to the Aseop toiletries (i will now have to buy ) to the the super bed linen it was lovely. Thank you :-) from us both.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    10
    Julian and Vincent are very welcoming and could not have...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Double Room w/ Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Julian and Vincent are very welcoming and could not have been more helpful. The room was very clean and comfortable. The breakfast was a lovely change from basic full english - with meats, cheese, eggs, fresh fruit, yoghurt, toast and croissants. The champagne marmalade is to die for! The location is perfect - very quiet and only 5-10 minute walk from the centre of town - although a gentle warning the return journey is up a steep hill.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    10
    Black Rock B&B 5 STAR
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Double Room w/ Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our stay was for my partners birthday treat. What a beautiful B&B. Top class. The owners are so lovely and nothing was too much trouble. They made us feel so welcome and their recommendations for restaurants was spot on. Our room had a beautiful sea view. The bed was very comfortable and the cleanliness of the room was superb. The bath towels soo soft. Vincent and Julian have thought of everything to make your stay a true delight. Breakfast was fabulous, hot croissants, fresh fruit lovely meats and cheeses. I loved the fact that it was served to what ever time was convenient to the guests. No set time. I have already recommended the Black Rock to my friends and would definitely return in the future. Philomena

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    9.2
    Quality room and breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The location was up a steep hill from the town in a very nice area. Fine for people in cars but a nuisance for those who like to walk everywhere and are no longer young. The taxi service in the town was good though.

    Very helpful. Everything good quality.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    9.6
    A hidden gem on the South Coast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!!

    We very much enjoyed our stay- we received a very warm welcome from our charming host Vincent who made every effort to make our time there both memorable and enjoyable, nothing was too much trouble and everything was of the highest standard from the bed linen to the marmalade! We spent an enjoyable check out breakfast eating excellent croissants and drinking wonderful coffee while swapping stories with our host a bon viveur of the highest calibre. A hidden gem on the south coast highly recommended

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    10
    A refreshing, luxurious overnight stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    As I visited with my mum, I would definitely have taken a taxi there as arrival is uphill if you are walking, but there is also a shortcut from the station so do contact Vincent before if you are not that mobile and arriving from the station. Taxis are cheap and convenient so this need not be an issue at all.

    A lovely B+B in a quiet residential street and an easy stroll down to the sea front and shops. We received a warm welcome and perfect shopping, eating and sightseeing tips from the owner, Vincent who made our stay extra special. We loved the generous, relaxing feel of the house, which is as well appointed as a good hotel but with more of the touches of a comfortable home including loads of great books and fresh flowers. Breakfast was generous and convivial, with plenty of fresh fruit, lovely pastries and great coffee. I'll definitely be back.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    10
    Just perfect in every way.
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Turret Room w/ Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was not an issue for us but had we of stayed for a number of days then parking the may have been a problem although Vincent could supply parking permits.

    Just perfect in every way.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    10
    Hastings Gem
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double or Twin West View Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to complain about !!

    The owner Vincent was an excellent host throughout our stay. Welcome drink of ice cold beer was much appreciated on a very warm day. Breakfast was very tasty with good quality ingredients. Suite was spotlessly clean and well appointed.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    10
    Absolutely fabulous. 100%
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Bray Brooke Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing......

    From the moment we pulled up to the hotel it was a Truly relaxing experience. I felt at home straight away. Vincent the owner was very helpful and nothing was too much trouble. Even checking which restaurants would be open for our evening meal. All the little things that seem to have long gone were in place. Drink on arrival ( Tea with the host) The venue itself was stunning and arty. Really high beautiful ceilings and original features. Crockery and cutlery was even of excellent quality. I could go on and on because it's been a very long time since my husband and I have found a place that ticks all the boxes and more..

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    10
    Delightful Victorian home with a welcoming heart.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Turret Room w/ Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Vincent, our host, was very welcoming. Delicious breakfast included fresh fruit, croissants straight out of the oven and fresh Brazilian coffee! Historic, well maintained Victorian home.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    10
    Excellence in every way. Superb Guest House which sets the bench-mark for quality and comfort.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Bray Brooke Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Could you make the beds less comfy .... I almost overslept !

    What an AMAZING find this is. I have just spent one of the most perfect nights I can remember in a Guest House - which felt more like a luxury hotel than anything else. From start to finish I was blown away by the warmth and comfort of Black Rock House. Everything about it screams luxury, comfort and attention to detail. Vincent, the owner treated me like a long-lost brother and made me welcome with a glass of prosecco and nibbles as he told me about the many things to do in Hastings. His thick french accent made everything sound intriguing and delightfully mysterious ! .... Hastings is an oft ignored gem on the British sea-side scene - and this is the perfect place to stay to enjoy its charms. I asked to see a few of the rooms which were all super clean and well-kept. The sheets and bedding were of an unusually high standard and the mattresses seem to have magical 'sleep-inducing' power! Set on a hill a short walk for the station it was great to be above the noise and bustle of Hastings itself in an oasis of calm. I was even allowed to go and spend time basking in the sun in the garden which was a glorious treat. Everything about my stay here was exceptional .... I can't understand the negative comments on here about the Breakfast which was EXACTLY as advertised; fresh croissants, cereal, fruit, fresh orange juice and marmalade from Fortnum and Mason's ... and with artisanal coffee from the Algerian Coffee shop in Old Compton street - I didn't miss in any way a greasy fry up, that's not what's on offer .... this was unabashed luxury and was healthy and just tremendous. I almost booked a second night just to enjoy the amazingly comfortable beds, crisp sheets and that sea-view. I don't usually gush on these reviews with such enthusiasm, but when something is excellent ... it needs to be said.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    7.9
    Gorgeous property and fabulous hosts!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Turret Room w/ Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Curtains did very little to keep out the light so we were woken very early. Also, the lack of cooked breakfast was a bit of a let down as we would have expected one for the price paid. A larger savoury section for the continental would benefit those without a sweet tooth.

    Hosts were just fantastic. Gorgeous room and bathroom, both overlooking the sea and a short walk from the station and town centre. Nice and quiet.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    7.1
    A bit disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast options were EXTREMELY limited at best. The cereals were all mixed up together for some reason and it took an inordinate amount of time to deliver requested items i.e. toast coffee and tea. Also a communal dining table isn't for everyone.

    Very comfy bed, fresh coffee in the room

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    10
    Stay here!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Turret Room w/ Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    One of the best B&Bs we have stayed in. We were welcomed with a glass of beer on the terrace and given a quick guide to Hastings as it was our first trip. The house is beautiful, spacious and very calming. Exactly what we needed! Nothing was too much trouble, the bed was extremely comfy, the road was quiet and we had a wonderful few days. Vincent's breakfasts were amazing, full of unexpected surprises. Rhubarb compote one day, chocolate covered coffee beans the next.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    10
    Classy, homely accommodation
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Turret Room w/ Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/a

    Vincent was an excellent host and went the extra mile to make us feel comfortable. The atmosphere is very informal and it felt like home rather than a hotel. Vincent managed the balance of attention and giving us space to relax perfectly. The gin and tonic pre- evening was a perfect touch. We can't wait to go back

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    10
    Best guest house in the world.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Double Room w/ Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    I've been lucky to have stayed in some of the best hotels in the world . This guest house could teach them about service and friendliness . From start to finish this was an amazing place . Bedroom , bathroom , breakfast . You name it , it gets 5 stars . Well done .

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2017

    8.8
    Well looked after
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Double Room w/ Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were very happy with the stay.

    Lovely welcome and well looked after during our stay. Room spotlessly clean and bed really comfy. Breakfast was very tasty.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2016

    9.2
    Mega luxury and mega relaxed
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Double Room w/ Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing!

    So much thought had gone into everything one might need in the room and bathroom - all of the highest quality. A warm welcome when I arrived with delicious cake and tea (not charged for when I received my final bill). The breakfasts were fresh, delicious and like everything else totally faultless.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2016

    10
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bit of a distance from old town but manageable

    Can't fault anything about this guest house. Facilities excellent service brilliant totally recommend

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2016

    9.2
    Fabulous!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Turret Room w/ Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The safe could have been bolted to the wall! We didn't use it as you could pick it up and walk off with it!

    The bed duvet and pillows were more comfortable than any 5 * hotel. The breakfasts were high quality and delicious with local fare and home made bread! Staff very friendly and accommodating too!

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2016

    10
    It was very well appointed, it was beautifully clean,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    It was very well appointed, it was beautifully clean, everything had been thought of to make your stay comfortable, the breakfast was first class and the service was excellent.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2016

    9.2
    Perfect stay in a comfortable place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double or Twin West View Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Paint was peeling off the ceiling in the main bedroom.

    Rooms looked great & were very comfortable. Choice of breakfast was very good & cooked well.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2016

    6.7
    Elegant B&B
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Bray Brooke Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very expensive, we had B&Bs on our trip which were just as good or better, (even one on the seafront) which cost a lot less.

    Walking distance to town and still a quiet location. We had booked a room which had little daylight and were kindly given a room with a sea view. Fresh fruit and fresh orange juice for breakfast. Soft sheets.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    9.2
    Short stay quality
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Double Room w/ Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Steep walk to centre and sea front, only an issue to less able quests or people with wheelchairs/buggies

    Friendliness,service with a smile, very comfortable room .

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2016

    10
    Excellent and relaxing time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Double Room w/ Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Steep hill down to the town would be the only thing, but didn't spoil the time there.

    There is not much more to say than excellent. The decor, breakfast, staff and owner made the two night stay very enjoyable.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2016

    9.2
    Lovely getaway for a couple
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Turret Room w/ Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There is a note in the bathroom that the towels will only be replaced after three days. That I understand. What I didn't understand was the staff refolding and tidying-up our still wet towels and washcloths. The parking situation is good --once you understand it. But the information that was emailed to us was difficult to understand.

    Great location. Excellent breakfast. Beautiful room. We had a wonderful view of the English Channel. We even saw a sunrise over the Channel!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2016

    9.6
    Great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Bray Brooke Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Minor issues only - Room was a little dark (others would be OK) it was last available. But could have had stronger lights.

    The welcome and the breakfast particularly good.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2016

    10
    Top notch bed and breakfast hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double or Twin West View Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The owner Julia is very accommodating. The menu for breakfast is amazing. You name it, it's on the menu. You can start on excellent fresh fruits with fresh yoghurt, then follow on with cereals and finish off with a full English breakfast if you're still hungry. The bread is divine, like the bread my granny used to make at home. Honey and jam plus marmalade for the toast. There are even kippers freshly cooked, salmon too. It really was a banquet of a breakfast. Crisp White bedding and fluffy towels plus dressing gowns. Excellent quality toiletries provided too.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2016

    9.6
    Very clean B&Q with superb breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. People with mobility problems may find the steep walk from the beach an issue.

    The cleanliness and facilities in the room and an absolutely amazing choice of top quality breakfast food.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    7.5
    Lovely place but a bit far from the sights
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double or Twin West View Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was a bit further from the old town that I would have liked though this probably meant it was a bit quieter. I

    The bed was very comfortable and the staff were lovely. Breakfast was very good with some different dishes compared to the normal run of the mill places.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2016

    7.1
    Beautiful small boutique guesthouse
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Double Room w/ Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location was at the top of of steep hill, which was quite exhausting if walking from the old town / seafront - there are no local services / shops or pubs in this area (all of these can be found a good 10 / 15 minutes walk away). This hotel would not be ideal if you do not like walking and have no car available for your break, if visiting for leisure.

    The location of the hotel (in a residential street) meant it was very quiet, which was great for relaxation. The decor was lovely, it was comfortable, and the staff were great and very welcoming. I would definitely return if staying overnight in Hastings.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    10
    Absolutely fantastic!!! 5* all the way
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double or Twin West View Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to hate only that we didnt book longer

    Fantastic hosts. So clean and modern. Fabulous breakfast. All round fab. Cant wait to return

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    9.6
    Beautiful house immaculate with great facilities and hosts...
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Bray Brooke Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful house immaculate with great facilities and hosts were lovely.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    10
    Everything was excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was excellent

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    10
    Amazing :)
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Amazing room, breakfast to die for! This is the second time I've been and I'll go again!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    10
    This is definately the place to stay. Stylish,relaxed,comfortable and a charming host.Don't hesitate
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Double Room w/ Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The relaxed atmosphere

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    10
    The hosts were extremely welcoming and provided lots of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Bray Brooke Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hosts were extremely welcoming and provided lots of useful information on what to do and where to go.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    10
    From the time we arrived nothing was too much trouble, Vincent always had time to chat and assist.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Turret Room w/ Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Comforts of home, and made to feel very welcome

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    9.6
    Everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Turret Room w/ Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing at all.

    Everything..... A perfect host in a beautiful house.

    Stayed in September 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: