Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Black Swan Inn 4 stars

Fearby, Masham, HG44NF, United Kingdom

#11 of 13 hotels in Masham

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 274 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Paid WiFi

    7.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    6.3
    Great location, lovely village - but the inn itself is rather over-priced
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were in one of the ground floor rooms in the annex at the back, which was very poorly lit. The controls for the underfloor heating didn't seem to work at all and the room was very over-heated, even in September. We had to pay extra for 'real' coffee - why?!

    Great location for walks in a wide range of Yorkshire Dales' (and elsewhere) locations. Fearby is a lovely village and there are great views from the inn. We were in one of the ground floor rooms in the annex at the back, which was nice and spacious, but very poorly lit. The controls for the underfloor heating didn't seem to work at all and the room was very over-heated, even in September. We had to pay extra for 'real' coffee! Breakfast was definitely lacking in choice for the continental/not cooked options - only grapefruit segments and prunes for fruit, and no choice of yoghurt etc. Overall, very expensive for what is actually offered, particularly in contrast with the budget chains. Free wifi worked well.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    10
    The room was clean and modern which you expect but what made...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was clean and modern which you expect but what made it for me was the country bar next door,the people were really friendly and the food was amazing,all freshly prepared and sourced locally,will definately go back in the future

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    6.3
    With a little attention to detail it could be amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booked a bath but were told not to use it as it leaked into the room below, cleanliness ( window, windowsill and shower head) the view of their junk and dead flower boxes.

    The staff and the food. The distant view. This place has the ability to be amazing with some tweaks in the negatives.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    6.7
    Average.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cracked sink in our bathroom, difficult room lights, noisy extractor fan in bathroom above our room and kettle that didn't switch off.

    Large bedroom and huge bed

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    8.8
    Lovely location, pleasant staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The outside of the inn needed tidying up, cigarette butts around the main entrance, generally a feeling of being unkempt. Hanging baskets needed watering We had folded our duvets back to Air , the beds were the samewhen we returned at the end of the day. Water glasses not washed,still there with water in from the night before.

    Location, good service & excellent food. The food seemed to be really fresh local produce. Hospitality tray

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    6.3
    Really great location and welcoming staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rooms need to be updated - for example new bed linens and plusher pillows/duvet and comfier mattresses (this affected my partner more than me) and maybe just lighter colours as the room itself was quite dark. The bathroom was perfectly fine but the cleanliness could have been improved (there was hair in the plughole for example). Whilst I thought the hot breakfast was good, I thought the cold selection could be improved and things like the fruit should be covered properly so the flies can't get to it!

    The size of the room was really decent, and you couldn't really ask for a nicer location. We went for a drink in the bar which was lively and welcoming, and the hot breakfast in the morning was nice. The staff were really friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    8.8
    Nice location with good room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Open planned bathroom, could have done with some kind of door.

    Nice location with good room. Restaurant in the pub was very good. Nice food and good wine list. Staff friendly and attentive. Breakfast was good too.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    9.6
    A really great place to stay set in beautiful countryside
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The staff were very friendly and helpful. The food was top notch. The room was fantastic. It was large with plenty of storage space. The bathroom had everything you needed.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    5.8
    Adequate but over priced hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel does not mention large caravan park next to the bedrooms and seating area for public right outside the bedroom door.

    Bed very large and comfortable Lovely meal and breakfast

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    6.3
    July 2018
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was if you where laying on the floor and the pillows where like rocks . Price was high to say no breakfast included

    The room was very spacious and clean. Adequate facilities for your clothing

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    2.9
    Should not have booked there.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was dingy,at the rear of the property with no outlook, only the rubbish which had accumulated there. It was close to the rear door of the kitchens and very smelly and disturbing. Had to leave early because of this and lost the money I had paid up front ,which I may add,had been taken immediately after booking. Not a good deal!!!!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    7.1
    Good location. Relaxing environment incl. the bar , but avoid the breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The English breakfast was very poor (over cooked) and expensive for what it was. We were in a group of 10 and everyone was disappointed with the breakfast. One of the staff also was less than friendly in pointing out that we could not take food to our room

    Location. Relaxing environment. Friendly front of house.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    10
    Great stay at a great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom light was quite bright and due to the lay out of the room it lit the bedroom when switched on - slightly annoying when someone is a night time wee-er!

    Comfy bed and lovely bathroom. The room wasn’t far from the pub and dining room (the food was delicious!) Great location, short drive from Masham.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    8.8
    Excellent location in a beautiful area
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Slightly dissappointed with our evening meal on our first night. Mentioned to the waitress but unfortunately had no reply

    Very roomy bedtoom. Made us feel very welcome on arrival by giving us both a free drink

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    7.5
    Enjoyed the lovely situation and very good food but a bit of refinement would improve things .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rough finish of building extension. Poor quality wood work. The whole place seemed poorly finished. Good sized bedroom but why such a pokey bathroom ?

    Situation. Good quality of bed linen and towels.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    8.3
    Excellent views from the beer garden. Friendly, efficient staff made stay enjoyable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very cold despite high external temperature. However we were provided with an electric heater which did the job.

    Excellent shower - hot and powerful. Good breakfast choices and well cooked and presented.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    7.5
    The location is just over 2 miles from Masham, which...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The location is just over 2 miles from Masham, which normally wouldn't be a problem but there is little or no public transport, no pavement or street lighting on the road so you wouldn't to walk it at night and the local taxi firm charges £8 each way if one of their two cars is available. If, like us, you're visiting primarily to visit the Black Sheep/ Theakston breweries I'd recommend you either stay in Masham itself or even Ripon and come in on the bus The WI-FI, whilst excellent in the bar/restaurant was excellent but very poor in our room (which was one of the closest to the bar area)

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    7.1
    Great location, quiet at night, lovely shower room - but no wifi in our room
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No wifi in our room, despite this this being signaled as available. As this was one of the primary reasons for staying at the Black Swan, we were extremely disappointed. Although access to wifi in the bar or in a separate room (away from the bedroom) was offered by a member of staff, for a small fee, this was not appropriate given our working requirements. Only one chair in a double room also seemed rather strange, and made working difficult. The lack of wifi is a real problem for business travellers. Limited selection of cereals and fruit at breakfast, although the cooked food breakfast was very good. No proper coffee available when we requested.

    Great location, quiet at night, comfortable bed, lovely new shower room with nice complimentary toiletries.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    10
    Excellent short stay in lovely surroundins
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No negative points

    Excellent room - really large and light. Well appointed bathroom with luxury towels. Good menu choice and reasonably priced wines. Well kept real ale. Very good Yorkshire breakfast - there was also other choices. Will certainly be returning.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    7.5
    A nice stay, breakfast was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    On arrival the staff in the bar was not customer friendly ie he stared at his computer whilst answering my questions, poor communication skills? In the bathroom some of the fixtures and fittings were cosmetically damaged.

    Location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    9.2
    Exceeded expectations, the ambience of the Inn, the welcome and the FOOD!! Amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Inn sits on the Fearby Road about a 1.5 miles from Masham so you need transport.

    The Food was absolutely amazing, our group had sea bass, cod loin and the pie with beautiful vegetables. In fact in comparison to a Michelin star restaurant I ate at in East Yorkshire only a week ago, The Black Swan, Fearby topped it. We all agreed the best meal we had had in a long time. Good wine menu reasonable prices.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    4.6
    Great location just room lets it down
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleanliness of room poor needs new bathroom as mouldy and falling to bits. We had to move rooms due to faulty bath after booking better room.

    Location and bar

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    9.2
    Excellent location, very spacious room and superb food...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Free wifi access limited to 30 minutes. Most places now have free wifi

    Excellent location, very spacious room and superb food especially the porridge at breakfast. Staff are excellent, especially Scott and Lucy

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    9.2
    Fabulous stay, will be back!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only downside was that it was a little too far from Masham but that didn't spoil our stay.

    Views where brilliant, service excellent, room very spacious and clean. The campsite facilities were very good and site very clean with good views.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    7.5
    Very friendly place, lovely food, good service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not applicable

    Scott was a great front of house. Food good, breakfast good, overall a very good pleasant stay. Overall staff and owner very friendly and polite, couldn't do enough for you.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    5.4
    Trying.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Gave me a room that was not made up, in-fact no bedding on the bed and a huge pile of used towels piled up in one corner of the room . When they eventually found me a room that was made up I found the bed very uncomfortable "Very Hard Mattress!!" Breakfast was not included in the room rate, which I found poor.

    Reception Staff " Scott" very pleasant and embarrassed at the state of the room he assigned to me.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2017

    10
    Lovely overnight break.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very cosy pub. Hosts were very welcoming and friendly. Lovely evening meal and full Yorkshire breakfast. Room was huge! Very warm, immaculate and comfortable. We will be back!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    10
    Surprise Birthday stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were great, nothing was too much trouble and they really looked after us. The food was delicious and there was plenty of choice! Breakfast the following morning was hearty and also delicious!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    8.8
    Fair value in a nice area with good local walks.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booking said there would be a bath but there wasn't, with no incentive to compensate this offered (money off the bill, a drink at the bar etc). Our room was at the front on the main road so a little noisy at closing time, but that's a minor quibble.

    Clean rooms, good food, nice views, nice pub.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    7.1
    location very pretty staff was very friendly evening meal...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    our room was under ground room 11 glad breakfast was a long time as they had 2 large parties in and the scrambled egg was runny

    location very pretty staff was very friendly evening meal lovely

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    2.5
    Staff but not owner
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Horrible rude owner! Filthy jacuzzi and owner not even bothered to look ! I was so distressed by my experience we didn't stay and returned home!!!

    Staff but not owner

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    10
    Delightful stay, super bucolic location, friendly warm welcome awaits at the Black Swan.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The fact we had to leave. Our stay was lovely and we will definitely aim to return.

    Super bucolic location. Views at every turn. The Black Swan Inn offers the traveller a friendly welcome, warm hospitality, good food and drink. Nothing is too much trouble. Music entertainment very good.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    7.1
    Room was spacious bed was comfy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quite away outside masham so not really a walk especially at night as no pavements or lighting. We ate in the restaurant on a Saturday but it was far too busy for the staff to cope and our meal took over an hour to arrive and was not cooked correctly. Breakfast was good so just seemed they were a bit greedy in terms of packing the restaurant with probably only one chef

    Room was spacious bed was comfy

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    10
    The most comfortable bed we have ever slept in!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rather muddy and uneven where car was parked. (minor complaint!)

    The most comfortable bed we have ever slept in! Clean large and private room. Easy access as we have difficulty walking. Most obliging when we added friends to dinner at the last minute and delicious food. Friendly and courteous staff.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    7.5
    Great value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not over keen on having a room with walk in bathroom with no door. Maybe that's just a personal preference? Reading lights needed new bulbs. Food varied a little. Steak was excellent, but chicken extremely chewy. Pea soup really just tasted like puréed peas! Maybe we were a little unlucky as people around us seemed really happy.

    Proximity to masham was excellent. Staff polite, helpful and attentive. Room had lots of space. Parking easy. Excellent value at £110 for two nights (2 people). So, can't really complain at that overall. V pretty village. Tucked away. Great quiet area.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    8.8
    Lovely room although perhaps on the small side but very comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Thought some meals in the restaurant although tasty and nicely presented, were a little on the pricey side - ie £15.95 for Chicken Curry, £12.95 Gammon. Most desserts were £5.95

    Warm welcome from staff and accomodation of a high standard, although room was quite small it was adequate and the bed was very comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    7.1
    Good sized rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast very poor, small tea pot huge plate with not a lot on it , no beans only one slice of toast and little butter no marmalade and all this for £8.95 not impressed.

    Good sized rooms

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    10
    My husband and I stayed here for a couple of nights & we...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    My husband and I stayed here for a couple of nights & we were very impressed with the room. Though a little small, it was sufficient for the amount of time we spent in it & as we only booked it a week before we went, we were not disappointed with the view. We overlooked the front of the property which was picturesque & quiet. We ate in the restaurant both the evenings we were there & the only thing we can say is.......YUMMY The choice of food & wine was great, very tasty & well presented. The portion sizes were just right & everything cooked to order. On the second night we had to wait a little for our cheese course & we were compensated with a free drink.....always a lovely bonus. My husband is wheat intolerant, and it was nice to be able to have some GF bread available for him. We will definitely be returning here and have already recommended this beautiful place to family & neighbours.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    6.5
    Disapointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the place is a bit scruffy around the edges Not many seats in the bar Please remember this is just a pub with rooms out the back on a caravan site so a bit noisey

    food was good as were the staff,

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    7.1
    could not go any where , no taxis and a bit remote
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    the food was very over priced and the takeaway menu was better but on ordering the takeaway menu we could not eat it the pies were burnt and the fish undercooked also the burger was raw and not cooked properly at £8 for these we did not even get our money back but offered a free pint not realy acceptable

    the scenery

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    10
    we have had a wonderful stay and would love to come back again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was ideal for couples and possibly 1 small child, but was a bit cramped for the 4 of us.

    The bed was comfy, the food was outstanding and the staff were very friendly. The view from the room was beautiful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    10
    Excellent value, warm and friendly, we would definitely stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Could have been a bedside lamp or switch to switch off the bedroom lights after getting into bed. We had to use the light switch by the door then manoeuvre to the bed in the dark.

    The rooms were well appointed and clean. The staff were very friendly, polite and accommodating. We stayed for 1 night and had our evening meal and breakfast at the property. The evening meal was excellent and there were choices to suit all. The full breakfast set us up for our day ahead. We would definitely book again in the future.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    10
    A great place to explore the Dales with lovely views and excellent food .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Could have done with a few local walking maps .

    Very relaxing ,informal but still welcoming in all areas and good choice of food menu and interesting wines.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    10
    We shall return
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillows were a little hard, that's all

    This place is a little hidden gem beautiful views over the Dales, a fabulous restaurant and comfortable rooms with good toiletries

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    8.3
    Very enjoyable, relaxing, comfortable.....
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    30 mins free wi fi seems an oddity nowadays, thereafter £3 a day? No biscuits in room with coffee/ tea making materials. Breakfast choice could have been wider - beans instead of half a tomato, didn't see poached eggs as a choice etc. Didn't realize the place was out of town - 2 miles or so.

    Warm & friendly staff, very polite & courteous, every one of them. Rooms were spotlessly clean & modern. We ate both nights there. Seemed a tad pricey, but little choice elsewhere.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    7.1
    Friendly flexible staff good value. Food an unexpected strength
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast should have been included in the price Should have been clear the pub was not in Masham Internet should be free 24 x 7

    Choice and flebility to accommodate personal likes Quality of food Friendly efficient staff

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    7.1
    Good breakfasts but indifferent evening meals
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Evening meal indifferent to tasteless, with 30+ minute delay, ate in Ripon on second night Could not get WiFi signal to work in cottage we were occupying. Understand wifi is only "free" for short time in any case No light switch in reach of bed that we could find Local village lacks character

    Friendly staff. Good sized room. Excellent breakfast. Local beers and produce. Quiet. Easy parking

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    9.2
    Great place to stay, polite staff and excellent food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing it was good value and a pleasant place to stay.

    The accommodation was good, the staff were excellent. The evening meals were exceptionally good. Great place to stay and venture out from.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    3.8
    will not go back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the room was a huge disappointment down some steps at the back of the kitchen...no outlook, dirty skirting boards, mould in the bathroom, scuffed paintwork in the bedroom, At £125 per night excluding breakfast a total rip off

    food was good pub food

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    7.5
    Good for a country visit
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff in the attached restaurant were quite slow and forgetful with their service. Free internet (WiFi) was available for 30mins only, and was extremely slow - not their fault though as it was a local area thing.

    Comparatively large motel style room. Hotel located in a quaint little village in the countryside.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    8.8
    Good quality in a quiet village
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is a good restaurant here (very warm!), but with only one vegetarian option.

    A very comfortable night in a lovely location. Helpful friendly staff.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    7.1
    good place to stay although a bit pricey
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Although a nice place to stay I think it is somewhat overpriced for what you get. I would expect to pay £60- £80 a night for this stay. The bar area was very small and when we arrived there was no where to sit, possibly more of a problem in bad weather as when warm the beer garden was well used. Due to the adjoined camp site the bar area can be really busy with children and families.

    Spacious rooms, breakfast was good, staff friendly. Had a really good evening meal.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2017

    3.8
    Awful stay, not child friendly at all!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The manager was so rude the worst I've ever experienced in all the hotels I've stayed in around the world. My 3 year old was made to feel completely unwelcome which of course made us as a family feel we weren't welcome at all. If I hadn't prepaid I'd have tried to find somewhere else to get some food and stay. We weren't allowed in the restaurant or any where in the bar, and had to have a takeaway after our 4 hour drive. The food took 30 mins for 2 paninis, they were awful, which isn't surprising as the chef was smoking for 10 mins by the stairs to our accommodation while I was waiting. When we left the staff member didn't even ask how our stay was, all they asked was had we paid. We had prepaid... it's a shame, such a lovely building but terrible management hospitality and people skills. The worst I've experienced by far... I was gobsmacked!!

    The rooms were very clean and comfortable, an absolute credit to hotel and cleaning staff, we couldn't have asked for more.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    10
    Staff really welcoming.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff really welcoming.; food and drink was excellent; accommodation was spacious and in a great location. Only stayed one night as was passing through but will be returning to stay longer and explore the area.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2017

    9.2
    Mid-week break.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast not included in the price for 2 nights booked through Booking.com, however it was included for an extra day booked later over the phone. Same price, though, so feel a bit cheated! Not cheap, either, at £8.95 each and surprised to be charged, as email confirmation said breakfast was included. Knocked the shine off our stay.

    Spacious, comfortable room. Evening meals. Friendly, helpful staff.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2017

    9.2
    Accommodation and meals were those of a four star hotel
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The final bill was not easy to interpret as items were not in chronological order.Accommodation

    The friendliness and attention from the staff could not have been better.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    5.8
    Beautiful location if you like a fabulous view of caravans.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Please see above.

    The room was very basic considering the discounted rate of £129 for bed only. The mattress was of mediocre quality (could feel the springs). There was no bottled water in the room nor were there any bath robes or iron and ironing board. To top it off there was no full length mirror. Also there were many scuffs on the walls and there was a large gap underneath our window where there had either been some movement int he building or rot. However, our stay was quite enjoyable. The food was passable. The drinks were very cheap and the atmosphere in the evening was very good. The staff and service were exceptional and the team there are to be commended. We didn't bother with breakfast because given the quality of the accommodation and the food at dinner I wasn't prepared to spend the best part of £20 on a breakfast. We went home early and I made a full breakfast at home (we only live 45 minutes away). Finally, although the village is beautiful and the pub almost quaint I did not anticipate that we would be staying on a caravan site. The view across the Dale was substantially impaired by mobile homes!!!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    5.8
    Slow service , too expensive
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Too much pressure on the kitchen , our supper was an hour late. Slightly too pricey compared to more luxurious with better food in the same area

    Food pretty good, staff doing their best.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2017

    8.8
    Lovely stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Don't think there was anything we were unhappy with.

    Comfortable room with plenty of space. Pleasantly warm with lovely views. Excellent food in the bistro good choice of wine to go along with the food choices. Fantastic hot water supply. There is a wait for your food but when it comes it is very fresh and hot. Overall a lovely evening away.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2017

    6.3
    The evening meal was very good and the menu limited but with...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The photographs on the website were decidedly flattering. This was a very ordinary pub with restaurant and accommodation. The rooms are in a separate building with a walk of about 50m, not pleasant on a cold, windy, wet night. In the field behind the pub there is quite a large caravan site, this might not appeal to some folk.

    The evening meal was very good and the menu limited but with a varied specials board. It was very busy on a Saturday evening so clearly a popular local venue.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2017

    9.0
    The food was very good and the staff very helpful and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very big and clean but personally we found it lacked any character .

    The food was very good and the staff very helpful and friendly. It is well placed for visiting the area.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2017

    9.2
    Excellent stop over!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could be very. Yay in summer caravan park at rear.

    Very large clean comfy room . Evening meal excellent with 4 choices for veggie eaters! Great atmosphere in the bar!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2017

    7.5
    It was okay, but will look elsewhere next time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bed was so hard one of us had back ache as a result, and nowhere are you informed that the view is spoiled by a camp site! Look beyond this and the view is lovely, but I do feel that this needs more honest representation. We did pay for a luxury room (not including breakfast!), and we feel that it is very overpriced for what it is at £120 per night. On every sight we've looked at it states that WIFI is free. This is incorrect, as it is only free for 30 minutes! Please do something about this. We've paid £300 a night for some places, but have known why and it's been worth every penny. The Black Swan is simply over-priced for what it is.

    The staff were all great and accommodating, especially as one of us was a little poorly during the stay. Thank you. The room was clean and a great size, with a wonderful bathroom. The food was good on the whole, although pricey for what it was. Location is excellent, and the village of Fearby beautiful.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2017

    5.4
    Not made to feel welcome
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Greeted by unfriendly, unhelpful staff. When I asked about the evening menu, I was told it was not ready yet.. and that was it. Did not ask if I would like to book a table for the meal, or was not given an idea of food available. The pub is just a little further than is comfortable for walking distance in to Masham as there are no street lights or footpaths, which is OK as it is the countryside, though, when I enquired about taxis, I was told that I would be unlikely to book one and if I did, it would cost over £30 for a 2 mile journey. I proceeded to phone the taxi company myself and booked a taxi for the returning journey too. The room was ok, though had mould in the bathroom, no window so damp build up. The views though are stunning.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2016

    6.3
    Not quite sure as good as we expected.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Manager could have been more helpful. Hotel and bar seem to be undergoing a refurb with business carrying on as usual. We were in the annexe but the whole place needs a bit more attention to detail regarding "finishing off" and cleanliness. WIFI is advertised as free but only 30 mins per 24hrs.

    Food is excellent, under floor heating in the bedroom. 1 young lad seems to be doing all the work especially in the restaurant/ breakfast room.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2016

    8.8
    Short stop between Christmas and new year. Perfect location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was a little uncomfortable but the room was large and warm.

    The meals at the bar were excellent and breakfast provided a huge choice. Perfect location.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2016

    7.5
    Great sized room with nice bath and shower.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant was under staffed. 2 people taking orders, serving at the bar and serving the food, whilst the manager/owner just sat at the and drank.

    Great sized room with nice bath and shower.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2016

    8.3
    Good stay for the night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The sink wouldn't drain which was inconvenient and the place was rather cold, but overall pretty good.

    The food was brilliant and lovely atmosphere. Lots of interesting walks around too which was great.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    7.5
    Tour of Yorkshire
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Building work in progress and would appear that they had been on going for a while, and this left the building looking scruffy and unfinished.

    Great location and the room was great.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    8.8
    Not quite the standard we paid for!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast - service could be better with tables cleared and if as the menu said the sausages were from a local butcher, I'm surprised he wants to put his name to them.

    Accommodation was very good, except who thought putting a noisy masserating system in to the plumbing system was a good Idea obviously didn't intend to stay overnight!!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    9.6
    Lovely and I would definitely recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/a

    Location, brilliant customer service. Nice room. Parking immediately outside the room.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    7.9
    The location very peaceful and relaxing would have liked an...
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no breakfast included

    The location very peaceful and relaxing would have liked an other night

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    8.8
    Food and Drink (black sheep) Friendly staff, nice...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mattress not great. Room noisy with a service room outside window

    Food and Drink (black sheep) Friendly staff, nice atmosphere in bar.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    6.0
    We enjoyed our stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The food was very good The views were beautiful

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    6.3
    Smell of cigarette smoke in room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Smell of cigarette smoke in room

    Stayed in August 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: