Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Blackwell Grange Hotel 3 stars

Blackwell Grange, Darlington, DL3 8QH, United Kingdom

#22 of 28 hotels in Darlington

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 650 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8

  • Comfort

    7.9

  • Location

    8.4

  • Facilities

    7.6

  • Staff

    8.3

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    7.9
    Nice stay.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The double room I stayed in was clean but a bit tired in terms of decoration. The corridors and lifts could do with a refurb.

    Nice location and well kept gardens. The front of house areas of the hotel were lovely and up to date. A good bar, relaxation areas in and around the lobby and nice classic decoration. Very helpful staff.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    9.2
    The room was very spacious and the bed very comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bar man on Saturday night was unsure of how to run a bar. He wasn’t confident in making drinks and was unsure of basic drinks such as a gin and tonic and which glass/garnish to use. We felt sorry for the barman (young boy) as it appeared he had received no training and really could have done with another member of staff to support him.

    The room was very spacious and the bed very comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    9.6
    Very enjoyable. We will return
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They are about to de do the bedrooms ...Nothing wrong with them but updating never a bad thing. The new reception and function rooms are lovely.

    The ambience. Good choice of breakfast. Lovely Sunday lunch

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    7.9
    the building was beautiful and full of character, gardens...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the hotel was particularly busy with a wedding on - we felt staff were a bit slow to clear up some of the communal areas and the bar areas weren't particularly sufficiently staffed in our opinion but individually very friendly staff.

    the building was beautiful and full of character, gardens amazing. Location was really good, not far off the motorway and access to many local attractions, staff very friendly. Good menu in the evening in the restaurant.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    7.1
    No real problems. Would return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom short of surfaces. A long wait for bar food.

    Everything went smoothly. Staff pleasant and competent. Comfortable feel....inviting. Food good. Swimming facilities easy to access.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    10
    A luxurious stay apart from the points mentioned above.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower over the bath a let down.. Cleaner left a wet towel on the floor and hadn't cleaned the loo or renewed the shower gel. Bar Prices..

    Comfort and spaciousness

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    10
    Nicest stay away from home.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    IT had been the best hotel I’ve stayed in, all the staff were extremely helpful, polite and also took time every now and then to make my 4 year old daughter laugh. The pool was just right for my daughter to enjoy herself and for me to enjoy it to, the breakfast was great with a large selection. The building itself was incredibly beautiful inside and out with lots of stunning features. I will definitely stay there again soon. Considering they had a large wedding party they were well equipped to cater for guests and party attendees without letting either side down. I can’t write enough to praise this accommodation.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    3.8
    Never again,what a shambles in a former mansion,home of Lady Profumo in a previous marriage.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Complete lack of service. When key returned at end of stay the receptionist said...”cheers”. This sums up the lack of training of the staff and attitude !

    Liked...beautiful setting,but that was it! Well furnished public rooms but the rest of the property was faded and in some areas dirty. Poor housekeeping in bedrooms,carpet dirty,beds adequate but mattress protector loose with previous hairs.Wallpaper showing signs of water penetration from above and mould

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    7.5
    Location and comfort with the refurbishment
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fan not working in room. The following day it took until the evening and second request to have it replaced.

    Location and comfort with the refurbishment

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    10
    Absolutely Brilliant, would recommend to anyone, only a short drive away from all the amenities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking was a little tight but there was a wedding on so it couldn’t be helped. Still managed to park safely round the back near the leisure area.

    The Beds were extremely comfy and the room was huge

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    4.6
    The main entrance and hall gives you this amazing...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very narrow and noisy corridor to the rooms, The doors to each room slam shut and can be heard in the adjoining rooms. There is no air conditioing

    The main entrance and hall gives you this amazing traditional country house. But the accommodation wing is a complete let down.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    9.2
    Overall a good stay, good value for money.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The pool is pretty small but ok if you want a splash and a jaccuzi. The gym is not the best but again ok for a one off workout whilst away on business but no cardio machines. If the rear of the hotel is refurbished to the same standard as the front it'll be a great hotel.

    Really nice reception area and front of the hotel. Apparently it's been refurbished recently. The bar area was good, restaurant is a big open space so perhaps lacks a bit character, and the meal was good.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    7.9
    The bed was very clean and comfy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No breakfast menu either in room or on internet. I did not have breakfast as I was told it was a full English but what does that mean? I think menu for restaurant should be in each room.

    The bed was very clean and comfy.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    4.2
    The drive up to the property and the first view is fabulous...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was tired dated the rooms were like sweat boxes - the hallways stairs and landings were dirty carpets marked and stained chairs were dirty fitness suite is a complete joke!

    The drive up to the property and the first view is fabulous and then that’s where the good news stops

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    9.2
    I would recommend this Hotel, and I don't usually say that!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Actually nothing

    This was a last minute booking. When I drove up to the hotel I thought I was in the wrong place as the room rate was the same as the Holiday Inn. It was really good

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    6.3
    The venue and approach to the hotel was lovely;
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bedroom was tired, dated and shabby... taps leaked and the shower was poor; with a shower curtain which stuck to you and very little water flow. Carpets and furniture dated and shabby. Very disappointing... staff said refurb is planned but it would have been nice to know that in advance.. sure it will be good once their 5 year plan is complete.. The staff were very friendly and breakfast was pleaseant.

    The venue and approach to the hotel was lovely; the common areas pleasant.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    8.8
    Convenient for what we wanted. Comfortable stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not very much parking. Booked a family room and when we arrived at 6pm the last family room had been given to someone who had booked a double. We had to wait while a suitable room was found and a third bed set up.

    Bed was comfy.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    7.1
    Lovely location very nice rooms beds are very comfortable...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor bar service , pool area could do with a update looked much better online shower pressure in our room was poor

    Lovely location very nice rooms beds are very comfortable complimentary toilet products are nice also fantastic large very white towels

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    10
    Fantastic Stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff very pleasant. Room was fantastic, furnished lovely overlooking the lawned area. Exceptionally clean everywhere. Food in the restaurant was excellent and service was also excellent. Breakfast was plentiful with loads of choice and of good quality. Outside seating area very relaxing. Would highly recommend to anyone and can not wait to return.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    10
    Relaxed enjoyable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    The refurbishment of the hotel has really improved it even though there was still more work to do it did not disrupt the enjoyment of our stay. The outside seating was lovely looking out on the grounds. The staff were very friendly and the room was comfy and modern but with a cosy feel. It has great access to Darlington and the walk is only about 15 mins to the town centre where you will find an excellent curry house in Cafe Spice. 2nd time back and we will be back.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    5.8
    Nice and adequate
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel was a little tired,this was recognised by the hotel displaying signage of future refurbishments,the lift to the room was very small and inadequate.

    peaceful in a nice setting,not hustle and bustle,the rooms were nice and lovely and quiet during our stay.Breakfast was well presented and not rushed,all staff were amenable.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    6.7
    Basically, a single serving old folks home. L
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I think some of the staff working here think this place is something special and therefore act that little bit pretentious. It's not. It's decent at best, a little run down in some areas. When I got to my floor there were some dishes from room service left suiting on a chair at the lobby landing. Those same dishes were there the next day when I went to check out! £13 for a standard buffet breakfast. Paid the same for each of the kids who literally had 1 slice of toast and nutella. Again, no options, so you take it or leave it.

    Nice bar, beer garden area. Great bar staff.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    6.7
    Average hotel with 4 star price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is in need of refurbishment, I understand this is ongoing. Breakfast was average buffet affair, no better than a premier Inn. I think £95 for bed and breakfast is expensive, given the average nature of the room I stayed in.

    Reception area is really nice, hotel looks impressive from the main entrance and is set in lovely grounds

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    7.1
    Great value for money, as we booked last minute. The location was great only 15 min to the centre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The spa was a lot smaller than expected, just a small swimming pool and jacuzzi and the sauna was in the changing rooms which meant enjoying it on my own instead of together with my partner. Rooms were a little dated.

    The food in the hotels restaurant was outstanding, one of the nicest meals I’ve had. Breakfast was great too. Great location and the hotel is stunning outside

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    8.3
    I would recommend this place - friendly and pleasant - just make sure you get thick mattresses!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I had asked for a twin room but we were given an unmade double when we arrived. Once sorted, the next room had mattresses that were so thin it would have been more comfortable to sleep on the floor. I had to ask again three hours later before something was done. Shame that the ugly breakfast setup had to be in the lovely dining room. Proper cups and saucers and teaspoons on the table at breakfast would have been nice!

    Once the room issue was brought to the attention of the marvellous young duty manager, we got a bigger room with lovely thick mattresses instead. The food was really good, I highly recommend the lamb and the beef!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    10
    Made us want to return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could have done with more drawers in the room.

    Query over a piece of furniture that I am sure my Father in -law made! Fantastic help from the staff beyond the call of duty. No evidence unfortunatlely. Also staff most helpful over dietary needs.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    7.5
    Altogether enjoyed our stay. Food was lovely will return next year
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms need updating which is planned in the refurbishment schedule. Night porter a little rude told us to be quiet in hotel lobby at 12pm although guests still checking in were noisy aswell. Bar shuts to early

    The refurbished parts of the hotel are beautiful

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    10
    Absolutely fantastic
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The door that lead into someone else's room kept coming open.

    The restaurant food was amazing. The staff were friendly, the room was big and clean.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    7.1
    A short stay but meet our needs and think when renovations are complete will be something special
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No drinking water in the room Top price when still some areas are in need of attention

    This is good hotel but some tried parts which we understand is slowly being renovated Didn’t get time for using leisure facilities this time but would come back if in this area

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    7.5
    Not sure it's worth £90 a night
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Base of the bed was grim covered in spilt drinks? Bedroom window didn't open and the camp bed in the family room has seen better days. Staff were friendly.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    8.8
    The staff are very helpful, nothing is too much.
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff are very helpful, nothing is too much.The hotel is having work done so you can't see it's real beauty. Our room was clean what more can you ask for.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    10
    very good
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    You can tell there has been a lot of refurbishments done to the hotel since we last stayed there five years ago. The reception and hotel look much better and the new gym facilities are a vast improvement.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    4.2
    Very poor
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything behind the reception, corridors and rooms haven’t been touched in 20 years plus, it’s literally like walking back in time, it needs a serious make over, never again will I stay there, room was not the cleanest either.

    Reception is nice

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    7.1
    location nice and old building
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Breakfast was extra Terribly noisy when there was a wedding party - banging and crashing till 2 am

    location nice and old building Dinner good quality and reasonable price

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    5.8
    Glad it was only one night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds were awful - small, springs sticking through & the room was not up to expectation based on the price paid. In comparison to (for example) Bannatynes Hotel or the Holiday Inn Scotch Corner, this hotel is not on par.

    Location, initial look of hotel & grounds

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    7.5
    Not worth the price paid, will not be going back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed, the noise

    This hotel is very dated and in need of a refurb, beds had springs that stuck in pit backs, on mentioning this the receptionist said they were getting replaced soon - not much use to us, we were kept awake all night by slamming doors, on the 3rd floor so wasn't like it was the ground, however, staff very polite and let me check in early to get sorted for my wedding party, I thought check in was 2 and it was actually 3 so that was very kind, can't fault the staff at all.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    7.9
    A pleasant place for a relaxed evening meal.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nobody was serving behind the bar in the afternoon, so getting a drink was more trouble than it should have been.

    Value for money in the bar and restaurant. I didn't visit the leisure club during my stay.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    9.6
    I left refreshed and replenished. Nothing more needed!
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I loved the refurbishment to compliment its location. The 'modern' room blocks are an eyesore but can't be helped and what is great the rooms are perfect inside. Clean, fresh, equipped.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    9.6
    Id stay there again for business or pleasure
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    £5.10 for a pint of guiness and no real ale :(

    free wifi, cracking breakfast (though going to the restaurant just after a coach party had been through it - bad idea), lovely surroundings

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    10
    Looking forward to our next visit to our favourite hotel. Keep doing what you are doing - it's great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely nothing! (Boring, but true!)

    We liked the lot, it's our 4th visit and Blackwell Grange just gets better every time. Didn't know about the change of owner, but it seems to have been a good thing. Refurb and tidying up has worked wonders, our room was the best ever. Evening meal-fantastic! Menu, changed but still superb! Staff are the best (again!) Can't wait for our next visit in a month or two. We live in Sunderland, but so look forward to our break in Darlington. Last time, couldn't get in to Blackwell Grange, went to the Mercure. Won't be going back.Blackwell Grange feels like home! Well done, all!Breakfast superb, bed comfortable - what's not to like?

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    8.8
    The gym and pool area wss disappointing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice bedroom

    The gym and pool area wss disappointing. Saunas were in the changing rooms so could not take a sauna with gf and the swimming pool was a bit small.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    6.3
    The main rooms in the hotel are nicely done out.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms were misleading, we were ones which were yet to be renovated, so the furniture was tired. The loo is so close to the wall it was uncomfortable. The pool and spa needed a good clean/renovating too. It wasn't terrible, but it was a bit disappointing after looking at the photos provided by the hotel. It was good value for money I guess.

    The main rooms in the hotel are nicely done out. We were a long way from the main part, which had a function on , so we weren't disturbed by noise. It looks pretty from the outside and the gin was great.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    5.0
    Cheap and cheerful but don't expect too much
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Upon arrival we went to the bar for a drink. We waited approximately 10 minutes before eventually being served. The staff had no sense of urgency about them despite the fact there was a queue of 6 people standing at the tiny bar. Was very frustrating after a long journey to the hotel. Depsite the main reception area and function room were very well presented, we did note that the beautiful tulips were all dead or dying. A real shame and let the place down. We sat with a large group of friends who were eating and drinking at the foot of the main staircase. Empty glasses and plates soon started to pile up on the tables and during the course of 1 and half hours, not one member of staff came to clear them away. Very disappointing, and not what I expect. The bedroom was in a totally different part of the hotel. It was very basic and the walls were paper thin, so we could hear everything happening in the room next to ours. No mod cons whatsoever. Very disappointed to be honest and it did not feel like value for money.

    The main reception area and function room were very well presented.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    8.3
    Great value for money really enjoyed the leisure facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The door locks were very difficult to use and you had to really bang the door to close it and lock it

    Staff very helpful, leisure facilities were great, very convenient and easy to use

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    9.6
    Perfect until the last 2 nights when the wedding from Hell guests arrived,no respect whatsoever.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The fact that there was a wedding on the Friday and that there were children running around and banging on doors.When we came back from our day out the place was totally trashed kids running everywhere and allsorts on the floors,even a knife on the stairs,cocktail sticks bits of paper and anything else you can think of.They certainly give Northern people a bad name,they were so loud and the language was horrendous.We didn't get much sleep that night and it did spoil what up till then had been a perfect getaway.

    The bed was so comfy and the so much space in the room.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    7.9
    Lovely hotel, staff were brilliant. A few minor things wrong but did not affect the overall experien
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel was not pram friendly - very small lift and one of the double doors only had one door unlocked. Maintenance was also being conducted and there were tools left out in one of the hallways which could be dangerous for children.

    Staff were extremely helpful and friendly

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    7.5
    acceptable at short notice
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    i could not find my room and no one offered to show me, the main reception of the hotel is exceptionally good however through out the landings where the rooms are located especially where my room was it is somewhat old and worn out and felt like a prison until i reached my room then all was well again.

    accessible at short notice. friendly and polite staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    7.9
    Hotel comfortable, no luxuries, staff friendly and helpful.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room does not match renovation - basic and bed very hard and uncomfortable.

    Staff very friendly. Hotel has recently been renovated; looks lovely downstairs. Good menu choice. Extension lead provided for fan in bedroom.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    10
    will return when in the area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A couple of problems with the room but this was soon sorted with the offer of a free upgrade. Booked a table for evening meal in the restaurant. Arrived quickly, piping hot and very tasty.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    5.0
    Don't fall for the photos of the property - you will end up felling "cat fished"
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Whoever did the photography for this hotel deserves a gold medal! As mentioned before outside and reception area have been updated and look great but that's where it ends. Once you leave this area the rest of the hotel is tired and old. The rooms are functional and clean but that's it. I actually booked the hotel for the gym or "leisure centre"......walked in and walked back out. Service from the staff does not make up for all the above shortcomings. To get a smile would be nice - they look depressed.

    Nice building from outside and updated reception area.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    10
    Lovely comfortable room, exceptionally polite and helpful staff and a great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The swimming pool is nowhere near as large as it looks in the pictures. Our room was located to the rear of the property so the view we had was of some shipping containers and a skip which wasn't great. We had an issue with the people in the room opposite being loud but the hotel can't be held responsible for inconsiderate behaviour of other guests.

    The room was large, clean and comfortable. Staff were very polite and helpful - definitely rate this as some of the best customer service I have experienced on my travels. Food was excellent. Loved the history and the location. Will definitely return.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    7.5
    Average
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cooked Breakfast this time freezing cold, shame however informed reception but they still charged me £10 for it. ( which really should’ve been removed off the bill)

    Stayed before so knew the hotel hence came back

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    9.6
    Lovely stay would defibetly reccomend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some of the hotel could of done with a lick of paint and a bit of modernising.

    The staff were really friendly and welcoming. The beds were extremely comfortable and rooms very clean. The food was delicious and the hotel had that authentic charm.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    7.5
    The beds were comfy and facilities were good
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Furniture was a bit old and marked and there was little soap and shampoos for a family room the shower was very slow and not much pressure

    The beds were comfy and facilities were good

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    5.8
    I do know the hotel for many years and hope it will regain its former glory.
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I did not like the new decor in the reception and the main hall - very gloomy. Bad colour for a beautiful building like this. Too much furniture in my room - overpowering - did not like the colour scheme in here either.

    The bed was very comfortable. The majority of staff were good but some in reception were a bit dismissive - maybe because I was an elderly lady on her own - ie unimportant. The young bar staff were excellent.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    5.0
    It’s an amazing old building but starting to look tired!
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No TV remote, TV was faulty, mattress was very thin, quilt was thin, fire alarm went off late at night

    It’s an amazing old building but starting to look tired!!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    7.1
    Put a friendly person on reception and all is good!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Receptionist not a customer facing type of person. She was miserable - not a great welcome. Hotel needs decorating/updating in parts but you can see they’re trying to do that currently. Internet photographs make it look much nicer than it actually is.

    Gym staff very friendly and helpful

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    5.4
    Sorry to say that I would have probably slept better in the car
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was cold, on contacting reception, a staff member said he would need to manually start up the boiler, that was within the cottages we were staying in. What I wasn’t expecting was the intermittent generator type noise that came with it! Think I managed 4 hours sleep, prior to my 150 mile journey the following day. Still awaiting contact from manager....

    Beautiful reception hall. Clean pool.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    6.7
    Disappointed
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    As above

    Lack of trained staff, the waitress did not know what a pepper mill was, the bar staff had no idea how to make a proper gin and tonic. Lots of potential just no training!!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    7.9
    Great location - but really needs some money spending in the bedrooms as well as the reception area
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bedrooms are tired and need to total revamp. The bath taps were difficult to shut off once opened and it’s a shame that almost half of the meals in the restaurant have a supplement added

    The location is excellent

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    7.5
    Overall a very pleasant stay would use this hotel again
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Evening dining room staff were quite young and a little timid not always looking to see if guest were trying to catch their attention, extra training would help them, however they were all very pleasant and helpful. Breakfast on our last morning was not as good as previous days, hot water dispenser for tea was not available replaced by two flask type containers and the water was luke warm, when advised staff immediately brought hot water in. Buffet was half empty no fried eggs, bacon or hash browns, a few sausages, scrambled egg look tired and dry. After advising member of staff the empty trays were replenished.

    Hotel is undergoing some refurbishment and so far its looking splendid, décor very pleasant, comfortable bed, good sized room for our 4 night stay. Reception staff very welcoming and happy to help. Nice quiet location to chill out at but still very handy for the town centre and surrounding area access.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    10
    A very good experience, thank you.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No complaints at all.

    A very comfortable room, an excellent bar meal and a hearty breakfast. Friendly greeting from staff on Reception. Good to see the initial renovation underway. An enjoyable swim and jacuzzi

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    10
    Lovely relaxing hotel with nice staff and facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The bed was massive and really comfortable. The leisure facilities are a welcome bonus and the location and setting of the hotel are excellent.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    4.6
    Good location but very cold.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I arrived at the hotel on Saturday Afternoon. The hotel was very cold and the heaters stopped working. After informing the staff also the issue was not resolved and my daughter did not sleep whole night.

    The afternoon hotel staff were quiet receptive.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    7.5
    Relaxed enjoyable break.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Slightly out of date although undergoing renovation. Slight fusty smell in bedroom wings.

    Something different from chain hotels. Nice setting, sauna was very good pool is small but a bonus for the price. Darlington lots of nice places to eat good train service but the hotel is a half hour walk from station the walk thru the park was the quickest and nicer.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    6.7
    Location, parking, wifi.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Major building work being undertaken during my visit. Bit of an assault course to get to the dining room and leave in the morning. Bed was large but the base of the divan was giving way (I'm 15 stone). Restaurant looks nice but the food looked better than it tasted. Dinner was way overseasoned and tasted like Bovril. Breakfast was equally disappointing. Self service buffet style fried egg was hard on the outside but runny on the inside (you tell me!). I imagine that the place will look very grand once the building work is complete and no doubt, the prices will increase substantially once it's fully revamped. Location is great for Darlington.

    Location, parking, wifi.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    10
    Amazing!!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing however we noticed the other reviews mentioned work been done on the hotel it was a little eye sore but I can imagine the end result will make the hotel look fab this did not effect our stay at all.

    The staff was very helpful. Room was clean. Bathroom was nice and bright. And beds were comfortable. We used the spa facilities our little boy really had fun the staff were so helpful especially in the spa department we didn’t use the restaurant but it did look very nice and great value for money.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    9.6
    Would recommend this hotel and would like to visit again when we are next in the arePlease see above
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    The food was outstanding. The staff were lovely, which is a vital part of the experience in any hotel stay. Although renovation works were ongoing at the time of our visit, it was managed in such a way that we were largely unaware it was happening. Would recommend this hotel and would like to visit again when we are next in the area. Thankyou very much.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    3.8
    Never again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed, dirty environment, drafty restaurant, dingy with the main entrance sign missing most of its letters!!

    In refurb but didnt mention this when booking. The room picture bore no relationship to the room itself. At best it was a poor premier inn, maybe when its refurbed it will look better. Cold, damp and smelly with a bed made of bricks

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    10
    Excellent all round
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was really comfy room was a bit small though booking again for two weeks with bigger room other than that good quality food excellent all round really enjoyed my stay and all staff really helpful and friendly

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    9.2
    Welcoming staff, excellent location will be wonderful when refurbished!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Smoke alarm went off at 7 in the morning. Was it due to a shower? If so a notice advising to shut the bathroom door may prevent unnecessary evacuation s. However glad it went off in case it had been a fire....

    Quite location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    3.3
    Hotel was undergoing major renovations with dust and...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel was undergoing major renovations with dust and construction works to get through before you got to reception or your room. Room in no way reflected the images on the website - more like premier inn. Extremely disappointing

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    5.0
    If I had the time I would be demanding a refund after an evening freezing cold in a building site
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fawlty Towers due to major renovation works - unknown in advance. Inflexible staff. Both bars closed simultaneously for cashing up leaving many many disgruntled customers including myself.

    The bed was comfy, the bathroom was newly tiled.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    4.6
    Won’t be going back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No restaurant or bars open to residents for private party’s only so we had to stay out all night

    I expect it will be a nice place once the work carried out is finished

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2018

    4.2
    Would only come back after renovations and if they have changed mattresses and clean rooms properly
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Renovations, also main issue, dirty room and the mattress must have been 30 years old, no stings left, you sat on the bed and there was no give you just hit the bedframe. Also lifting bedding up noticed filthy mattress very poor. I would have stayed longer but pleased I only booked one night and moved to another hotel where the food and bed were top standard

    Location

    Stayed in January 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: