Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Blair Villa 3 stars

Rockfield Road, Oban, PA34 5DQ, United Kingdom

#16 of 45 B&Bs and Inns in Oban

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 449 hotel reviews

9.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.3

  • Comfort

    8.8

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    9

  • Staff

    9.3

  • Value for money

    9.1

  • Free WiFi

    9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    10
    Perfect choice of B&B.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was superb, hot, filling and fantastic tea. View from the front of the building is very good and the owner was helpful, discreet and knowledgeable. The room was on the small side but had everything I needed and a few optional extras. No complaints and would stay here again if I was in the area.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    10
    Great place to stay when passing through Oban
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had no issues with anything regarding this property.

    Great location excellent staff. Clean and comfortable property with everything we needed for our stay in Oban

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    10
    Blair Villa
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could have done with some hooks on bedroom and bathroom door, and a bath mat. Otherwise it was brilliant.

    Beautiful building, interesting decor, comfortable room and good WiFi connection.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    10
    Lovely Bed and Breakfast!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was very nice. The bed was comfortable, everything was clean and our host was a gentleman and a good cook too! The sitting room was decorated beautifully, as were the bedrooms. We liked the bathrooms, complete with towel warmers too. I definitely will stay here again if I'm fortunate enough to return.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    10
    Elegant yet cozy and comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The guest house was just a few minutes uphill walk from the train station and the beautiful harbor. Elegant yet cozy, the house and the rooms were comfortable. Both the salmon and the traditional Scottish breakfast served were wonderful and the host was accessible and helpful. I would definitely recommend this place to other visitors.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    3.0
    Our stay was a nightmare from start to finish .Also b&b was not very clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was told there was roadside parking not a hope had to park a fair distance away which involved very steep climb.Also I would not have booked that b&b had I not been told there was parking in roadside also nearest park and pay machine allowed a maximum of 2 hours parking was so dissappointed with booking .com.

    There was nothing I could say I liked unfortunately

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    9.5
    Cosy B&B very close to town center with very good breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    small room parking is not so easy (narrow street)

    Choice of different kinds of breakfast Quiet room in a fancy house Excellent position to town center Cosy shared lounge

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    6.7
    Nice town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom very small. Sink was less than half size. Room wasn’t ready at check-in time. No attached parking. We were lucky and found a space on the street right nearby.

    Good view of the city. Nice breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    10
    In a quiet location, very close to Regent Road, Spotless and nice seats outside for having a drink e
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The shower, gel and shampoo were not replaced each day. I guess we could have asked, but this should have been checked when the bathroom was cleaned. The towels could be larger.

    Nice light room, Excellent breakfast and lovely, friendly staff. Thank you for helping us with our very large suitcases. You certainly will not forget them in a hurry!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    6.0
    Not for us...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    This B&B was not for us. It's on a very steep hill and rooms are up on 1st floor. The house itself is quaint, with very old fashioned furniture. Room was dark, and crammed with furniture. Bathroom was ridiculously small! My daughter has a single room which was the size of a walk-in cupboard. There is no private parking, only on the road which is already not wide enough for 2 cars. But having read all the other reviews, it seems that other clients enjoyed this place. As I said, it wasn't for us and I should have gone elsewhere.

    The owner is very kind.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    8.8
    Tasteful small BandB which served our needs well. Would stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking nearby on the street might be a problem, although it wasn't for us.

    Classically stylish small BandB (3 rooms) run by an owner with taste who cares about his property. Close to the center of town with easy access, although a short climb. Nice breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    10
    Absolutely wonderful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Really have no complaints. Would come back here in a heartbeat.

    The owner was really friendly but not overly so -- some B&B owners insist on "hanging out" with their guests, which given that we just arrived on a red-eye that morning and drove 4 hours without any sleep to get to Oban, was not what we were in the mood for. The breakfast was great -- eggs, full Scottish, salmon -- and the decor in the bedrooms/lounge area was wonderful. Little touches like welcome chocolates were welcome. Fantastic view over the bay too. Other reviewers have complained about the steep hill but we didn't think it was particularly strenuous, and as for parking, you can park right out front for free.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    5.4
    Sorry I have nothing else to add.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was most uncomfortable. I felt as if I was about to fall out every time I moved. Needless to say I had very little sleep.

    The breakfast was very nice & beautifully presented. Scrambled egg & smoked salmon.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    10
    Nice Quaint bed and breakfast place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The house was tastefully decorated and the owners were very friendly and helpful. Easy access to downtown and McCaigs tower. Will stay there again.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    9.2
    Perfect. Would stay here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location perfect for my needs, but a bit of an uphill climb from the train station. Help carrying my case upstairs wasn't necessary but would have been appreciated.

    Tiny boutique B andB perfect for my brief stay in Oban. Every single detail thought of. Lovely hosts, complete breakfast cooked to order and terrific coffee. Could not have asked for more.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    9.6
    beautiful house, kind host, very good breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    beautiful house, kind host, very good breakfast. the structure is located high above the city center. free parking on the street in front of the house. 3 minutes on foot you arrive at the port and in the center. good quality / price ratio. recommended.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    10
    Delightful accommodation and breakfast, with bonus of stunning views across the harbour to Mull
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing but just be aware the road leading to the house is steep.

    We had a very comfortable and enjoyable stay. The room was so clean, it had everything we needed and the bed was comfy and we slept well. It is a quiet location elevated from the town affording incredible views across the harbour from the lounge. Alec the owner was a nice guy and very helpful he also cooked the most delicious breakfast. A perfect place to stay when visiting the area with free parking directly outside the house.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    10
    Perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly welcome. Small but perfect room & bathroom. Really appreciated the real coffee in the room & yum chocolate too. Left at 5:30 for a v early ferry so didn't have breakfast but breakfast room looked v inviting. Thanks for a great stay.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    8.8
    Very convenient and well appointed guest house.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking on the hill outside was a bit tricky. Although the walk to the ferry was very short some might find it a bit steep. We managed ok though.

    Breakfasts beautifully presented. We tried several different choices. Smoked salmon with scrambled eggs was the favourite. Loved the lounge with views over to the sea. Comfortable room (room 1) with small but powerful shower. Great to have a small fridge in the room. Really appreciated the chocolates left for us. Everything very clean and well looked after. Very convenient for the ferry end of town.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    5.8
    Located in Central Oban & handy to Wharf area & Close to restaurants. Owner prefers cash.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Property is located atop a steep hill. In addition, when entering this B & B you face a steep staircase which requires that you lug your travel cases up to level 1. Parking is difficult as there are not many parking spaces close to these premises. But main dislike is the tiny Shower recess with a base of only 50 cms (hardly big enough to turn around in). Water pressure totally inadequate.

    Not much. Host was fine & the location on a hill allowed a wonderful view of Oban.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    10
    Great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The owner was not very flexible with the breakfast time as we needed a breakfast earlier than 8:30.

    Great location! Nice sitting room for guests to use.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    10
    Extremely comfortable and would highly recommend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Very clean and comfortable room. Bed comfortable. Toiletries provided in bathroom. Tea/coffee making facilities. Bonus of chocolates, biscuits and water. Also fridge in room. Good breakfast with plenty of choice. Pleasant and helpful hosts.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    8.8
    The views over Oban and Kerrera were lovely.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only odd thing was I was left without towels for one night for some reason, and when I went downstairs there was nobody around to speak to, so I had to dry myself with paper towels. I had towels again the next night though.

    The views over Oban and Kerrera were lovely. It was really useful to have a wee fridge in the room. Only a few minutes' walk to Oban town centre with the port, railway and bus stations.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    10
    Lovely house with a great view and delicious breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room had a great view over Oban harbour and the ensuite bathroom was really nice. The breakfast was lovely, with plenty of options, cooked specially for you by the host, which was a really nice touch!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    8.8
    Comfortable and convenient
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only fruit available at breakfast was banana - I would have expected a bit more variety.

    Comfortable B & B on a quiet street only a few minutes walk (uphill) from the centre of Oban. The room we had (no. 2) was fairly small but it was nicely furnished and we slept well. Excellent cooked breakfast, I had scrambled egg and smoked salmon and it was delicious. There is a nice lounge available to guests with a beautiful view out to sea, although we didn't have time to use it.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    10
    Highly Recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hill yo the home and steps are not suitable for people with limited mobility or wheelchair users

    Friendly character home with three bedrooms. Excellent cooked breakfast included in the price. Friendly and helpful staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    10
    Very nice B&B with everything you need!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had a great night in this B&B, the room was a good size and offered everything we needed, including a small bathroom with a nice shower. Our host was very friendly and we had a great Scottish breakfast. The walk to the harbour and the tower are equally short and you have a nice view over Oban. Parking was possible just over the street.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    8.0
    Oban is wonderful. Many places to visit and great scenery. Marvellous places to eat too, if you like
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed in room 1 was very uncomfortable. The springs twanged every time we moved. Need a new mattress or even a new bed. Also the pillows were weird. One normal sized one each, but too thin. And 1 square shaped one each - also too thin. Not even comfy when we folded them in half.

    Excellent location. Friendly and knowledgeable host. Great breakfast

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    10
    Excellent all round!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Blair villa combines modern, fully equipped bedrooms, with a house full of history and charm. Alex was really helpful and friendly, the location is great for our needs, and everything was as said.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    9.6
    Lovely stay in a beautiful home in very comfortable surroundings
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bedroom was a tad small , but only if you have large and several cases, weekenders with light baggage would have no issues

    Great customer service from the owner, just so helpful; really cosy , old world house and accomodation, a spacious lounge room to relax in with great view over town, Just an overall, very cosy, a feeling of being in a home and being part of the family almost.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    10
    Aussies in Oban
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was perfect

    Generous breakfasts. Gorgeous view over the sea. Warm comfy room and bed. Lovely elegant decor. Helpful suggestions from owner re restaurants places to see. Wonderful position overlooking the town and short walk to centre for good shopping

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    8.8
    The house has a very special spirit, especially the lounge...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The house has a very special spirit, especially the lounge with an amazing view and the telescope. The host is very friendly and we have got some useful informations about Oban and even our upcoming journey. The breakfast was rich and delicious, we loved the smoked salmon. On top of that very good coffee. Highly recommended.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    10
    Stunning views
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very friendly and welcoming owner. Classic ambience of the house. Room comfortable with amazing views. Breakfast delicious and beautifully presented. We enjoyed our stay very much.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    7.9
    Very enjoyable would recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The mattress needs changed as you role away from the centre in bedroom top landing left rear room.

    The house is lovely, the views are great, the host is excellent, location good food good. Facilities good very quite.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    7.9
    It was comfortable, ideally located with pleasant hosts.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would have liked a desk/ bureau to work at in the bedroom, I had to use the bed. WIFI wasn’t mentioned and I forgot to ask, the previous occupants toothbrushes were still in the bathroom and a grandfather clock chimed throughout the night which kept waking me. There was a cafetière in the bedroom, but disappointingly only instant coffee. The cereal selection at breakfast was only Kellogg’s and didn’t include muesli or porridge, although the Yeo Valley organic yoghurt was a pleasant alternative.

    The location was very central, ideal for my needs, decor was very nice, the bed comfy, the trouser press was in good working order, I loved the shower; brilliant power and even a digital temperature gauge. The TV had clear reception and plenty free view channels to choose from.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    7.9
    Very good value for a short stay in Oban.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bedroom was too warm and difficult (unable to adjust) to cool down from 26- 27C at times. Needed to keep both windows open. I suppose better too warm than too cold though!

    House has character. Proprietor was very nice.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    7.1
    This is a good and economic choice for a short stay in Oban.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very small and the heater didn’t work properly, it got quite chilly early in the morning. The tea/coffee cups were not washed very well, there were stains.

    The place was easy to find, in a good location right in town close to all restaurants and bars. It was also an economic choice for one night.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    10
    Comfortable bedroom as well as a spacious living room to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Comfortable bedroom as well as a spacious living room to relax in. The property is set in grounds containing woodland and is very handy to walk down to the harbour or take the cliff walks.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    10
    Awesome stay in Oban
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the mattress was uncomfortable for me, but as i have back problems i really used to sleep on the floor. the carpet was convenient enough :)

    oh, the breakfast. i couldn't forget! it was really fabulous. the room is small, but everything is there, what you might need, the decoration is lovely. the city central is really close and the owner is extemely friendly. highly recommended to stay here and i'll definitely do it again if i'll have a chance.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    9.2
    We went in the beginning of November for 2night room was ideal for myself and my partner
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower a bit neat for size but was manageable

    Very welcoming room was clean and comfortable. The location was great although it was a small steep hill I found it a little bit of a struggle and the road does have quite a few cars using it daily and it doesn’t have a pavement fine of 2 adults though

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    9.2
    The hotel which made our holiday
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The host is an amazing person: he loves his job and puts all of his heart in trying to deliver a fabulous experience. We stayed at Blair's Villa for three nights, and the atmosphere was magical. It felt to be at home once going back from the tiring yet wonderful islands near Oban. The location is very central, five minutes walk to Oban pier. A particular mention goes to the excellent breakfast choices and the wonderful taste of the owners for the furniture and atmosphere they manage to create in this wonderful gem in Oban. It definitely was the addition that made our stay in Oban so great.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    9.6
    Very nice stay, beautiful old house, nice hosts, great...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    a replacement of the mattresses would be nice

    Very nice stay, beautiful old house, nice hosts, great breakfast, perfect location - just a few minutes to the main street

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    10
    When you are away from home,it is nice to have a clean comfortable bed and a decent breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    poached eggs on wholemeal bread just as I asked for. Plenty breakfast with healthy choices on offer. We were asked when we would like our breakfast not told when we were having it. Slept very well as place was nice and quiet.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    9.6
    Very welcoming owner, excellent breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking

    Very welcoming owner, excellent breakfast. Room was a little small and shower/wc even smaller Otherwise a great stay with good location for town centre. Parking is a lottery, we were lucky with a small space outside but on steep hill used as a rat run. Would however recommend

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    10
    Just perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice rooms, super friendly hosts and delicious breakfast. The lounge room is also really nice. Just a couple of minutes up the hill from the city. The parking spaces in front of the house are a little bit tricky, but there are easier obersten further up the hill.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    9.6
    Only there for one night but would happily have stayed longer.
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Steep hill although there's a shortcut which more than halved the length of the climb

    Small but perfectly formed single room. Had everything you'd need, even a little fridge. Nice toiletries, great view from room. Excellent guest lounge with a great selection of books, binoculars, a telescope to view Oban Bay. Very hospitable owner

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    10
    Excellent, comfortable circumstances.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was no such.

    The room was comfortable and clean. The view from the room was wonderful, a could see the see and the town. The breakfast was excellent, and the owner was very polite. Blair Villa is a very elegant, friendly guesthouse. Excellent value for money.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    9.2
    Convenient place to stay with high comfort level.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    This is a great place to stay. Building is looking a little tired, but it is old and is very typical for it's age.

    Our second visit to Blair Villa, and would consider no other place for future visits. Owner is super nice and helpful answering whatever questions we have. Blair Villa is very convenient for walking to ferry or shopping, which is good, as parking on extreme hill is difficult and it is good to not have to more your car.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    10
    Would stay here again in the future. Good value.
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    no elevator (but of course it was a home not a hotel!)

    It was really a B and B- not particularly a romantic or boutique hotel. The owners/proprietors, who lived on the first floor of the "town house" were hospitable, knowledgeable, helpful. Breakfasts cooked to order and very good. Easy walking distance from town. Beds were very comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    5.0
    Glad that we only stayed one night!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    On arrival there was a woman who immediately asked us what we wanted for breakfast, without offering a welcome, introduction or options. Our room was very small but had good facilities, however the bed sagged and pillows needed replacing. Breakfast was limited with very small portions if you didn't have the Scottish breakfast. The whole experience was spoiled by our various interactions with the woman whose attitude at best was unhelpful. By contrast her husband was pleasant when we met him at breakfast.

    View from residents' lounge with telescope.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    10
    Great location for town but in a quiet residential street
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    This is a grand welcoming property in a fantastic location, Alex is a perfect host and a good cook, breakfast was great. Good recommendations for dinner and knowlage of local area. I parked my motorcycle outside, very quiet road no hassle and safe as a nice residential street.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    10
    Really good value for what we paid and would definitely return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking wasn't brilliant but we were lucky when we arrived there was a space.

    The owner was really friendly and helpful. Made us feel welcome without being intrusive.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    9.6
    Recommend Blair Villa
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very minor issues. Only street parking, and for those with walking difficulties you might find the walk in to the main town area a challenge. It's not far, just a little bit uphill.

    Although the single room was small, it was well appointed. There was even a small fridge in the wardrobe. Owners were great and breakfast was lovely. Very clean room and comfy bed.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    10
    Cozy night in Oban
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I arrived around noon in Oban and is was a short walk from the train station to to Blair Villa (5min) where I was welcomed by the super friendly Alex. I left my luggage there and went off to explore Oban. The room was small and so cozy - lovely decoration and an amazing view over the bay of Oban. I spent the evening sitting in the living room, feeling like I´m a guest in a manor and enjoyed the view over the bay and the cozy interior. I can´t recommend Blair Villa enough and will definitely come back!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    9.2
    Enjoyable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower a bit temperamental. Property up quite a steep hill.

    Friendly owner, good breakfast and comfortable room. There was a lounge with a great view.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    9.6
    Very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The pics on Booking do not do the property justice. Lovely period property. Rooms were nice and parking was roadside but there appeared to be enough of it. Gentleman was waiting for us at the door and was able to store our bicycles in the basement overnight. Breakfast was lovely and filling. Only thing was booking price indicated £83 but price on day when paid was £95. Place is 5 mins walk down hill to Oban, perfect.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    9.6
    Short trip to Oban
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The weather.

    Great views over Oban and the sea. Very short walk into the centre of town and it's many attractions. Great restaurants and pubs within a short stroll. We did a trip out to the Isle of Mull which was great and best of all smooth seas.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    10
    Lovely B&B with good views and lovely breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beautiful old Victorian house, decorated in high Victorian Scottish style. Set on the hill above the town the views are lovely. Nice 1st floor lounge with telescope. The owners were very attentive, informative and very pleasant. Our room was small, but perfectly formed, with a beautiful chandelier above the bed. The shower room was very bijoux but a good shower and good light. Plentiful choice of teas, a cafetiere and ground coffee, and biscuits in the room. The linen was a lovely quality, and bed very comfortable. Breakfast was excellent - I had the smoked salmon and scrambled egg option - it was the best I had eaten in our two week tour of the Highlands - thank you.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2017

    10
    An excellent place to stay in Oban.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints.

    The room was comfortable and warm. A good full cooked breakfast. A sitting room was also available for guests, which was a nice place for a cup of tea and had views over Oban Harbour.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    7.9
    Good place for one or two nights.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    On a very steep hill.

    Property is well looked after. Lots of small touches made it a pleasant stay like chocolates in our room, nice crockery and table settings. House well decorated.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    10
    Extraordinarily good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maybe it would be a good idea to have a box where you can recharge the battery of your smartphone.

    The view from the living room windows was magnificient - so it didn't matter with the view from the room. Oban is a totally pretty and alive town. A boat tour to see seals resting on the rocks was refreshing/interesting. Lovely place.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2017

    8.3
    Comfortable and good value B&B
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The ensuite bathroom was very very small and cramped which was fine for us but would have been impractical to use for some of our family members.

    Very hospitable owner. Parking at the door is great although beware its on a hill. Small but comfortable and well equipped room. Large and tasty breakfast. Lovely sitting room with piano and views. Short walk into town although a steep walk and not suitable for older people or people with walking difficulties.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    7.9
    better breakfast would make this a great place to stay in oban
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Oh dear, the breakfast. Think it had been cooked earlier when other guests ate and left in a hot oven. My scrambled egg was tasteless with one very meagre slice of salty,cheap smoked salmon. My partner's full Scottish was dry and again without flavour.Probably due to the quality of meats used. Good cup of tea though!

    Quirky property which was handy for the centre of Oban. Room was small but very nicely decorated. Overall cheaper and better presented than a lot of b&bs in oban. Plus location is really good.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    10
    A very comfortable and friendly place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was great , nothing to mention here.

    Location was excellent to park the car,the host was very friendly and helpful.We stayed a little bit longer after the check out time and there was no problem at all. The room was great ,neat clean and tidy and the same goes for the bathroom. The bed was great especially after a long day of travelling and walking around it was a remedy for our exhaustion. The breakfast was very generous portion and there are lots of options. Totally recommend for couples or friends that want to visit Oban

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2017

    9.6
    I especially liked the sitting room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Struggling to think of anything.

    I especially liked the sitting room... very nicely decorated. My room was fine for a short stay; a bit small but no issue, really.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2017

    10
    Amazing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Really close to the city center. Small room but cosy, warm, comfy and welcoming. The host was lovely and helpful. Great full Scottish breakfast. Absolutely recommended!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2017

    7.9
    Good value and friendly hosts in the heart of Oban
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I was expecting a refrigerator, based on my room details, so ended up throwing out some food I'd bought (though I probably could have asked to put it in the house frig, but didn't think of that until just now.) The wifi doesn't really work, which was confirmed by another guest. It was OK for checking email, but that was about all. It's just too slow/overloaded for even accessing Twitter most of the time. Also, there is a grandfather clock. The kind that chimes every 15 minutes...

    The hosts are lovely, and the location is great. The room was clean and the bed was comfortable, plus there was a nice view out the window. Breakfast was tasty, and generous.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2017

    10
    Absolutely perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cosy and welcoming. Perfect location, great breakfasts, thoughtfully prepared. After a day exploring it was so nice to get back to the comfortable room and relax.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2017

    8.8
    Clean, Tidy, Warm Welcome & Excellent Breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Good welcome, warm, clean, tidy, lovely interesting old house, super breakfast. Close to town centre. Value for money & better than some of the Oban hotels.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2016

    9.6
    Lovely little place - great value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only negative was the shower which had very low water pressure - but apart from that it was great!

    Lovely host and property - fantastic value for money! Highly recommended

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2016

    7.9
    Very Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room a bit cold even although radiator on but it was exceptionatly cold that weekend in November.

    Everything you needed in the room even more than some hotels we have stayed in. Room a bit small but was still good value for money. Breakfast was excellent. Would definitely stay again.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2016

    10
    chilled stay in Victorian style surroundings
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Personal taste - my matress could have been firmer ( room 3).

    Loved every little detail of this Victorian style B&B! Even the bread was griddled and the butter under a little cloche. Breakfast was superb- all you want from a full Scottish! Room was clean and very tastefully decorated- as was the whole house; that is if you like Victorian decor. The owner was very friendly and "chilled", which added to the whole experience of a calm but fun weekend away from the big city. Lovely to have a lounge for guests with a piano and a telescope!all complimented by free WIFI.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2016

    10
    Smart place in Oban
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing.

    This is my second stay at Blair Villa. It´s perfekt situated. Just drive up the hill and park outside. Deliver your bags and 5 minutes later you are downtown Oban. 5 min later you are in the bar at Oban distillery ;-). The host is very nice and kind and always like a chat. The living room has a marvellous view of Oban to sit and relax. I´ll be back!!!! It´s also very easy to reach the coliseum building on the top. The icon of Oban.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2016

    10
    Brilliant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ordering breakfast the night before (but only because I'm 6 months pregnant and I didnt want what I had ordered by the time morning came - was good though)

    Comfy bed and pillows Location Value for money

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2016

    9.6
    Excellent value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent value for money. This is such a beautiful old interesting house with loads of character. Our double room was very nice and really quiet. Great views from upstairs sitting room!

    Stayed in October 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: